Bok scrum expect AB onslaught
Springbok captain John Smit has highlighted the importance of outscrumming the All Blacks in the first Tri Nations Test in New Zealand.
It’s been a disappointing facet for the Boks, as they struggled in the first Test against Wales and then against a third-rate Italy front row. The man who lent them stability, BJ Botha, is not on tour while there is a possibility youngsters Brian Mujati and Beast Mtawarira could come up against Tony Woodcock and Greg Somerville.
Smit told Die Burger that this set-piece will present the most significant challenge of the 5 July fixture.
“The All Blacks have dominated their opponents in the scrums in every match they’ve played this season,” he said. “The All Blacks got the upper hand, despite England’s strong scrum. That’s a feather in their caps.”
The English didn’t provide much resistance for New Zealand, who scored comfortable victories in both of the two Tests. These were merely warm-ups for the upcoming clash against the World Champions.
“There are some Test matches that you know will be hard,” Smit said. “The All Blacks in New Zealand is one of those in which the physical aspect is non-negotiable.
“If you don’t stand up in that respect, you’re going to be on the back foot from the outset. We must not let ourselves down from a physical viewpoint.”
Smit said the absence of All Blacks captain of Richie McCaw won’t debilitate the hosts.
“The All Blacks would, of course, have liked Richie to be part of their team but there is no such thing as a weak All Blacks team. And they’re playing at home, which is a huge factor.”
The Bok captain also denounced the new laws. Saturday will be the first time he plays under the ELVs having spent the European season with French club Clermont.
“They never tried to reinvent the wheel before, so why do it now. There was nothing wrong with the old laws, and you couldn’t find an empty seat in stadiums in France.”

July 2nd, 2008 at 11:37 am
Brin back Florence! Bring back Florence! He’s also been playing in France so he MUST have learnt something about scrumming? Seeing as he knew bugger-all before he left?
Oh dear, the mind boggles….
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:38 am
#199 rangerman:
Yeah dammit I know the feeling Saturday seems ages away and we’re creeping towards the game and then suddenly il be sitting in front of the box Saturday morning bleary eyed wishing for a beer and probably wearing my Bokke shirt inside out!
You gotta love it!
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:38 am
WHY IS THIS SITE SOOOOOO FRIKKIN SLOOOOOOOW???
Speed it up, gents, or you lose your bloggers.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:39 am
st.a.t.w #178 : congrats on new addition……… I have a better suggestion ..emigrate to NZ like a lot of your country men/women and he can play for the AB’s….. now that would be something, instead of chasing the silver fern he could be wearing it!!!! Cheers
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:40 am
#189 Thameside Bok fan:
I have it on good authority that this is the case.
Our team is on merit with the caveat of 7 players of colour. However you work that out I just don’t know.
But at least we have;
Habanero
Februarie
Jantjies
Who are definitely on merit.
Adi, a bit suspect given the horses for courses approach.
Beast, great prospect for the future as is Mujati.
Odwa, JPP, Chavs all could be on merit, but haven’t shown the class at test this year.
That’s why i say, a few injuries and we are in trouble with this commitment.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:41 am
#110 Dazzler:
Dazz, you are being like a child in the playground mate.
Of course it is my opinion, and just that.
Nobody has to agree with me.
You know, agree, disagree, like a forum for debate!!
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:41 am
#202 Thameside Bok fan: It’s only Wednesday – know the feeling bro! Roll on Saturday
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:43 am
#206 tight head: Register him at Keo’s Creche!
#199 rangerman:
howdee ranger…
i can honestly tell you thnat no girl ever “asks to be raped” the biggest mount of hogwash to justify our buffooning society and moral degradation… sad in fact, cause none of my male friend will ever condone any kind of violance or unappropriate behaviour towrds woman…
iceman – I agree. But we have have bigger problems at centre.I have just read that Ma’a Nonu wieghs 104kg and Conrad Smith 95 kg, so if PDV thinks 88kg Adi Jacobs is good enuff to stop Conrad Smith then it truely is night night sweet prince. PDV has to play Steyn(100kg)/JDV(98kg) at 12 and 13 respectively.
There are already 2 big problems for the Boks, no settled front row and no settled centre pairing.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:44 am
#210 grunt: Remember that old saying: “The bigger you are the harder you fall!”
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:48 am
Sniper – Yes i do. But honestly 88kg is not heavy enuff for test rugby. Even Marius Joubert at 92/3kg started to struggle in 2005 and was dropped for the 96kg hard man Jaque Fourie.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:49 am
It worries me that Smittie is starting off the season with a kak attitude – why are things different , why? But I liiiiked them before.
Smit get your head out. It IS like this, now work with it. Use the rules to your strengths. It doesnt help to say after the game well wellThe S14 has been a lot more interesting that n the tripe dished up in Europe, inlcuding the Top 14.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:50 am
Helloooooooooooooooooooooo
Barra Bing Ting Ting
I’m also worried stukkend about the Bokke scrums against the All Blacks…. maar noujaaaaaa, ons sal seker Saterdag sien….
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:50 am
Dammit!!
It doesn’t help to say after the game ” Well IF we were still playing the old rules we would have won”. You are not playing old rules.
NEW RULES
Stop BITCHING.
You sound like the Bulls did at the beginning of the season. Look where they got.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:52 am
#215 SjamBok: Agree: Adapt or Die!
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:53 am
#211 Sniper:
Yeah, a saying created by smaller type guys wanting to ease their nerves. Point is, the bigger they are, the harder they’re going to run at you. Plain and simple
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:54 am
Smit not alllowed to comment on BJ omission?
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:54 am
#214 grootblousmile:
hallo gbs, how you doing dear sir?!
i will speak late again, first the mr price pro and the ovean is calling me!!!
ciao ciao
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:55 am
#210 grunt:
Agreed I cannot see Adi being defensively sound against a side as quick and powerful as the ABs. Conrad Smith ripped the English centre (and old Charlie!) a new one. Adi has documented difficulties on defense, he’s not a big guy and man I think we’re gonna pay for it on Saturday. Pick Steyn who may not be as creative but he’ll defend like a demon all afternoon. This is Test rugby we need the hard okes with experience who won’t take a backward step!
Sniper #211 …but what about the other saying ” the smaller you are get out of the way quick”
#210 grunt:
It will be suicidal to put Adi up against that big Nono®; you’re asking for concussion
Nono® is a confidence player and the moment he breaks the line once, he will try it the whole game and it can become a long day at the office.
My guess is that Carter will pop him a delayed pass and if he gets ONE gap it’s basically tickets. So the plan will be secure 1st phase ball fromthe scrum in particular and then run hard at the 10 -12 channel; play the situation from there.
The remedy is to make him defend and stop him dead in his tracks every time he touches the ball. Conrad Smith also an unbelievably deceptive player with slick hands.
later and ocean, geeze my excitement gets the better of me hee hee…
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:57 am
#214 grootblousmile: #186.
We want this game at least just as much as the AB’s! Hope a few players can pull the cat out of the bag for at least one day.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:00 pm
#223 crikey mate did you see that shark: Hey homely girl…..
You should have been in or near Pretoria today….. we are having a bit of a Keoling drinking session in Pretoria………. (for those brave enough to attend)
#222 Sheriff:
Adi is a Wales/Italy centre he’ll do for the smaller sides in world rugby, there is no way on the Lords good green earth that he should be starting against the Abs, especially when you have a look at Nono and Smith, even with JDV and Fourie we’d be having a helluva contest in the centre. Picking Adi could sink us.
#107 tight head: TH, you seem to forget that in the pool game against England at the WC, BJ folded like an accordian against Sheridan and in the Newlands test against the Aussies last year, he got outscrummed by Donut Dunning…Matt Dunning!!! BJ’s got a reputation based more on make believe than actual performance – like Richard Bands.
We never really struggle against the Aussie and NZ scrums because we play them so often, guys know each other inside out. That’s why its not that big a risk including Mujati in the Tri-Nations.
We usually struggle against NH scrums, principally because they’re better technically, but also because there’s no familiarity with them. As evidence, look at the Australian scrum in the Tri-Nations as opposed to their games against NH opposition. They always seem to hold their own against SA and NZ, but always get dominated when they head North.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:01 pm
#221 breakaway: OK
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:01 pm
#224 shooter: Hey, you still remember the drinking session we initiated…. tonight at 18:30…..
AB, Kwagga, K9, myself & Bonzai GBS…. Fern…… yourself….
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:04 pm
#218 greatest13gerber: G13G, when have you ever heard of a captain commenting on a guy that’s been ommitted?! Even if he was upset by BJ’s ommission, he wouldn’t be much of a captain if he started crying to journalists about it.
Only in South Africa do we see conspiracy around every corner…speaks to our laager mentality.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:06 pm
#229 grootblousmile: Ek dink tussen julle (waarskynlik insl. mini GBS) gaan ek die minsdrinkfikste wees, eish. Hoe sal ek weet wie julle is
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:06 pm
#229 grootblousmile:
Hoekom is ek nie genooi nie.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:07 pm
#222 Sheriff: Sheriff, Nonu is playing inside centre, Adi will be defending against Smith…they’re just about the same size I think. Nonu will be JdV responsibility. If the defence is organised enough Nonu on Jacobs shouldn’t happen…at least not from a set-piece.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:08 pm
Sheriff – I am going to get lambasted for this one, but i would even have JDV/WO over JDV/Adi any day, but that is me going for the Jake White route whenever JF is injured. I think PDV made a mistake by not keeping Waylon Murray in the fold the way he has with JPP.
When is the Bok team being announced?
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:09 pm
#233 crazy ******:
Id worry just as much about Adi against Smith as against Nonu. Smith has some silky skills and while Adi can attack he just cant defend for love or money!
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:10 pm
#231 shooter: Jy sal weet……… moenie komkommer nie…….. as jy inloop skree net……… “shooter”……. of nee wag, netnou dink die mense dis ‘n holdup……. skree net “GBS, Kwagga, AB”
Man, ons sorg net dat ons goed eet……. dan is daar meer plek virrie drank…. ek’s self nie te drinkfiks nie……… maar ek wordtie dronk nie, net moerrrrrrrr moeg op my ronde voete………
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:10 pm
#234 grunt:
Bradley Barritt anyone?! He’d have to adjust but Id rather have BB there than Adi.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:12 pm
#226 Thameside Bok fan:
That’s why I used the word “suicidal”
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:13 pm
Thameside Bok fan – PDV was told by everyone that if he wants to do the impossible by beating the ABs in their own backyard TWICE, he would have to go with as much of the RWC 22 as possible. Already he has seen fit to ignore that advice and has gone with his own agenda, which is every coaches perogative, but we will just have to wait and see.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:13 pm
#210 grunt: You can’t just make up player stats and use them to justify whatever arb point you’re trying to make.
The official SA Rugby site lists Jacobs as 91kg and not 88kg. This is not a lightweight, by any stretch of the imagination. Compare him to Carter (91kg), Tuitavake (89kg), Muliaina (92kg), Wulf (90kg) and he appears to be rather average. And that’s just some of the AB backs. Shall we start comparing him to players like Giteau?
So you pick the heaviest example – Nonu – and say we must match that? Which means that we should have picked a 120kg winger whenever we played Lomu or we wouldn’t have stood a chance.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:15 pm
#235 Thameside Bok fan: Not so sure, Thameside Bok…I can’t remember what happened in the S14 when the Sharks played the Hurricanes? Personally, I think it depends more on our defensive system rather than individual players…anyone can miss a tackle (eg. Frans Steyn against a much smaller Tate in the WC final). Normally, when you focus on individuals out wide, the AB’s end up scoring down the middle or close to the forwards.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:16 pm
#233 crazy ******:
No but the point is Adi does not deserve a run on place against the AB’s.
That’s fact. PdV might have a different view, but having watched Adi for a long long time I dont think he is that great.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:17 pm
katman – Good point. Alls i’m saying is Adi Jacobs doesn’t have that BMT needed for the real deal test arena, but i hope he proves us all wrong. But your are very right about your stats, i never saw pint size Paulse once back down from Lomu, but does Adi have that kind of right stuff?
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:19 pm
#239 grunt: Grunt, as far as I can see, beside the guys that are injured or retired, most of the WC final 22 are in NZ.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:19 pm
#234 grunt:
Maybe someone has already responded to this, but here’s my view on what you have to say:
a. Wynand Olivier – he lacks the vision and flair to really excel at the highest level; he has at times defended well but not a man for the future; despite all the chances he had in Jake’s time
b. Waylon Murray – a strong lad but not a natural ball player. Appears awkward at times and occassionally has a good game. His feel for the game and hands his biggest liabilities.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:21 pm
katman – I remember Jeremy Thompson from years back, great player for the Sharks but a dud for the Boks. But actualy to prove your point Halstead was a wopping 106kg but was a real let down for the Boks. So who knows!!!
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:22 pm
#243 grunt: Nonsense, that’s not the point you were making. You were talking kak about his weight. Now it’s suddenly is supposed lack of BMT, which is another complete thumbsuck. How do reach this definitive conclusion? He was actually one of the decent backs for the Boks recently – didn’t seem to be overawed at all. You’re speaking complete nonsense here just because you don’t like the guy. For whatever reason.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:23 pm
Sheriff – I guess we are all worried about Saturday coz all want the Boks to do the impossible and win these 2 games.
When is the team Bok being annouced?
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:24 pm
#239 grunt:
Ive said it a few times and il say it again I worry about his ego, it could cost the Boks in the long run.
#244 crazy ******:
That they are Crazy, but its whether they actually play or whether he sees fit to languish them on the bench, or worse the stands that worries me. Also on your comment 241 yes the team needs to be defensively sound but the team is made up of individuals if one guy misses a tackle the whole team pays the price. The Boks as a team are known for being defensively excellent, which is why Adi’s selection grates so much he clearly isnt a defensively sound center.
July 2nd, 2008 at 12:25 pm
#242 Sheriff: Sheriff, that’s not fact, its an opinion. It’s fine if you don’t rate Jacobs, but the national coach and his backline coach clearly do.
Up until last year, a lot of people on this site thought Jon Smit/ Monty/ Januarie/ etc. didn’t deserve their places. Some people even refered to Habana as being a quota player when he first made it into the squad.
Now you hear the same thing about Jacobs/ Jantjies/ Mujati/ etc.