Wikus back in charge
2 Jul 2008
Wikus van Heerden has recovered from a rib injury and will captain the Bulls against the Sharks.
Van Heerden played the first 40 minutes against the Lions in the season-opener, but had to sit out last week’s loss to Western Province. In accommodating him, Danie Rossouw shifts from flank to lock and Francois van Schouwenburg drops to the wood.
Joining Van Schouwenberg on the bench are Derick Hougaard and Zane Kirchner, who have both recovered from their injuries. Hilton Lobberts has paid for his indiscipline after receiving a yellow-card in Cape Town, and will be replaced by Namibian international Jacques Burger as loose-forward cover.
Blue Bulls – 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Marius Delport, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 John Mametsa, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Pedrie Wannenburg, 7 Wikus van Heerden (captain), 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Derick Kuün, 1 Jaco Engels. Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Rayno Gerber, 18 Francois van Schouwenburg, 19 Jacques Burger, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Derick Hougaard, 22 Zane Kirchner.

95 Comments
2 Jul 2008, 14:00 pm
Is Marius Delport really the best 13 they have at the Bulls? He was a very so-so wing and he’s even more of a non-entity in the midfield.
2 Jul 2008, 14:01 pm
Oh dear how unfortunate
Not that I whant him injured just for this next match would have been good. If Deysel was back for the Sharks I may not have even worried but now … Oh well lets just hope they play Lobberts!
2 Jul 2008, 14:04 pm
Sharks are going to struggle to overcome this lot, I fear
2 Jul 2008, 14:05 pm
# katman: I don’t think they’ve really discovered the use of centres yet
2 Jul 2008, 14:05 pm
Wie kus die meisies so daar in Blou bul land?
2 Jul 2008, 14:07 pm
#2 GirlShark: Don’t be so worried GS! You guys are going to roll over them!
2 Jul 2008, 14:08 pm
# katman: Yep! Cupboard is bare! They could move Steyn to centre and “Liefling” to flyhalf!
2 Jul 2008, 14:08 pm
#4 robdylan: Hey Rob, there you are. Not freeloading off Keo’s popularity anymore I see…congrats
2 Jul 2008, 14:10 pm
#4 robdylan: Home already!
2 Jul 2008, 14:10 pm
The new kid Burger…
He’s from Namibia?
2 Jul 2008, 14:11 pm
#4 robdylan: Dey fink a centre are de soft staf in a choklitlog.
Griquas
Lions
WP
Bulls.
Winning teams this weekend.
#6 Sniper: A tad worried that we don’t have a proper blindside flank
#10 Kobus: New Kid? He played many games for Grikwas – didn’t he?
2 Jul 2008, 14:12 pm
Alweer ‘n Bulls storie, het julle niks beter nie?
#13 robdylan: Worried about the Bulls – now come on!
#12 PissAnt: Please go and tell that East Rand appie on the Bobo thread this. He’s already breaking out the Cold Duck.
2 Jul 2008, 14:13 pm
#10 Kobus:
Yes, had quie a decent World Cup, good player who played for Griquas before.
2 Jul 2008, 14:13 pm
#11 katman: Naa – it is the centre of their universe:
2 Jul 2008, 14:16 pm
#18 PissAnt: Isn’t he the bloke who breaks his nose within the first ten minutes of each game?
2 Jul 2008, 14:16 pm
Ahhhhhhhhhhhh dit lyk beter byrie Bulls span…….. Lobberts gepos…… Danie Pakslae slot toe……
Nou kort ons net ‘n freegin ordentlike buitesenter…….. wonder wanneer gaan Wayne Julies herstel van sy besering sodat ons hom op binnesenter kan sien met Meisiekind op 13………
2 Jul 2008, 14:18 pm
#21 grootblousmile: Move Steyn to centre and “Liefling” to Flyhalf man! Only option at present.
2 Jul 2008, 14:18 pm
#9 Sniper: it was only a 3.5 hour flight
2 Jul 2008, 14:19 pm
#21 grootblousmile: dink hulle moet Steyn skyf binnesenter toe en Hougaard losskakel……Steyn goed op senter
#14 Sniper: #19 Sniper: Indeed.
Should be more than apt replacement for Lobberts.
#22 Sniper: see exackerly what I said
2 Jul 2008, 14:20 pm
#23 robdylan: That means you were in Angola, Malawi or Mauritius! Mmmm
2 Jul 2008, 14:20 pm
#22 Sniper: Ja……… dis beter as om Marius Delport te speel, that’s for sure………
2 Jul 2008, 14:21 pm
#26 EEE: Great minds think alike!!!
2 Jul 2008, 14:21 pm
#28 grootblousmile: Stem, ek like hom niks nie, en hy het amper dieselfde arrogante houding as daai klein Burger van die cheetahs…
2 Jul 2008, 14:22 pm
#29 Sniper: we could also say fools never differ but we will NEVER say that
#28 grootblousmile: Marius looks out of place at centre – a much better wing – me thinks!!!
Without JP Nel the sharks may battle to take this but i think they may sneak it by the fact that Ludeke is still the boss.
2 Jul 2008, 14:23 pm
#31 EEE: Don’t go there China! Wise men think alike sounds much better and we also agree on Marius!!!
2 Jul 2008, 14:23 pm
#12 PissAnt: I think the Valke will make it this weekend they are playing well for a change!
#6 Sniper: I wish I could be more positive but our loosies are a problem. If Deysel was playing I wouldn’t be so worried, but he is out for another 3 weeks
2 Jul 2008, 14:24 pm
#33 billy: without JP and Lobberts we might be able to play this game without getting a card….who knows
2 Jul 2008, 14:24 pm
#34 Sniper: Weet iemand wat Wayne Julies se beseringstatus is ??
2 Jul 2008, 14:25 pm
Is Werner Kruger a posssible Bok tight head ??
2 Jul 2008, 14:25 pm
#35 GirlShark: You are always so concerned GS! Have faith in your team! Don’t be a doubting Thomas now! Maybe doubting Thelma then –
2 Jul 2008, 14:27 pm
#37 grootblousmile: Nee ek weet nie! Maar ek dink hy sal ook ‘n groot verskil maak!
2 Jul 2008, 14:27 pm
#37 grootblousmile: ek weet nie GBS, sal ook graag weet van Heinie….
2 Jul 2008, 14:28 pm
#37 grootblousmile: Moet ook kyk wie ‘ref’ die game! Mmmm
2 Jul 2008, 14:30 pm
#12 PissAnt: I’ll go for Boland and Valke
#37 grootblousmile: Ek dink dit is ook tyd dat die Bloubul Unie ‘n bietjie geld ‘spend’ en twee goeie senters koop – selfde met WP wat twee goeie stutte moet koop! Wat dink julle!
#30 EEE: Daai klein arrogante Burger is my goeie tjom Thys, se seun………. sies, skaam jou !
Ou arrogante Phlippie Burger verdien so R 172 000,00 per maand skoon, dan is sy verblyf en alles reeds uitgesort, Thys sê die mannetjie het glo vir hom ‘n moooooosa Villa gekoop daar in die Suide van Frankryk.
2 Jul 2008, 14:32 pm
#27 Sniper: no. I was in Greece. You just assumed the wring value for “home”
2 Jul 2008, 14:33 pm
#44 Sniper: Janee die Bulle kort ‘n senter so dringend as wat WP stutte kort, dis veseker !
#45 grootblousmile: was nog altyd vir my ‘n wonder hoe Thys Burger se seun so uitgedraai het!!!!! en al verdien hy 1 milj ‘n maand sal hy maar altyd ‘n klein kuk bly
#33 billy: I am worried, but as Bulls you should not feel too secure, its not as if you are doing any better than the Sharks at present. You have better loosies, but our centres are better, although having said that Meisiekind has played well these last two games, and we do not know whether Barritt is back at centre or at fh? oh the tension I cannot stand it! Maybe I should give the CC up, at least next year with Butchie and Smittie back we will take the S14
2 Jul 2008, 14:34 pm
#46 robdylan: Gotcha!
2 Jul 2008, 14:35 pm
Derick Kuün the most arrogant over-rated hooker in the competition.
2 Jul 2008, 14:36 pm
Is the Sharks team announced yet
2 Jul 2008, 14:37 pm
#47 grootblousmile: Moet ‘n bietjie by “Cheetahs Cheetahs just down the street” gaan shop!
2 Jul 2008, 14:38 pm
#52 Johnny T: Naa
2 Jul 2008, 14:40 pm
#51 pinkfloyd: Dis verseker. When ever is Chilliboy Ready?
I mean ‘ready’
#39 Sniper: hehe
you are right! this will be the last time I will doubt my team
If we could only get another flank and I wish they would just let Barritt go and do what he knows best inside centre I wouldn’t have these nerves!
2 Jul 2008, 14:41 pm
#49 GirlShark: Are you at son’s rugby practice again? On the cell phone I presume!
2 Jul 2008, 14:41 pm
#38 pepinillo:
I think he has a lot of potential. He lifted Rayno Gerber as first choice in 1 s14 season. He also scrums very well and gets around the field.
2 Jul 2008, 14:42 pm
#55 Johnny T: Chilliboy is also always on the injury list….man the Bulls need him!!! although Maku is not that bad, has impressed the few times he has come on
2 Jul 2008, 14:43 pm
#57 GirlShark: You know I rate Barritt and was mad that both he and Kokkett didn’t make the Bok training squad! He is waisted at Flyhalf and should move back to where he belongs. I still think the Sharks have what it takes!
2 Jul 2008, 14:46 pm
#60 EEE: Also think the Bulls could invest in another hooker! Maybe you could give Province a good prop and they can give you one of their hookers! Mnnn what ya think!
2 Jul 2008, 14:46 pm
#58 Sniper: Not yet, but will be shortly
They practice at Woodburn stadium, and its really cold there, yesterday I had to give up on blogging as after my third sherry I had problems reading the letters on my phone
2 Jul 2008, 14:48 pm
#60 EEE: Bandise Maku is baaaaaaaaie beter as Derick Kuun………. hulle moet net bietjie werk aan sy lynstaan-ingooie.
#63 GirlShark: Thought so!!! Only joking now.
#62 Sniper: maybe….maybe not
2 Jul 2008, 14:49 pm
#60 EEE: Never seen him play. Mayby he will get a start aginst the lesser teams like WP and Vrystaat
2 Jul 2008, 14:50 pm
#64 grootblousmile: wel dit kan nie erger as DK s’n wees nie kan dit? hehehe enige iets is ‘n verbetering
2 Jul 2008, 14:51 pm
#66 EEE: Ok then! I rest my case!
2 Jul 2008, 14:51 pm
#67 Johnny T:
2 Jul 2008, 14:52 pm
#61 Sniper: Agreed, Barritt and Murray are the best centre combinations, Murray seems really last without Barritt passing to him (what I was writing before was going to sound a bit like something Brokeback would enjoy), I think its Barritt who made him look good. I am stuck here because I would say play Monty at FH, but I was so hoping he would replace oom Steph!
2 Jul 2008, 14:52 pm
#67 Johnny T: At last we can
2 Jul 2008, 14:54 pm
#71 GirlShark: Hehe he would love that. You really have got in for Oom Stef now. Remember Monty’s gone home now but Smitty is back!
2 Jul 2008, 14:57 pm
#73 Sniper: Until he learns to pass and that he is NOT the star in the Show I will continue to call for his head
Yes I know he is home, back in KZN after a stint in France, and of course I am talking of none other than Monty Dumond :Mr Green:
2 Jul 2008, 15:00 pm
#74 GirlShark: I am getting worried! It is the second time I got the
2 Jul 2008, 15:02 pm
#74 GirlShark: Sorry thought you were talking about Monty Monty! Sorry!!!
2 Jul 2008, 15:04 pm
#72 Sniper: Can what?
2 Jul 2008, 15:04 pm
#77 Johnny T: Laugh mate
2 Jul 2008, 15:09 pm
O, eks nogi so lekker slick met di icons nie.
2 Jul 2008, 15:10 pm
#79 Johnny T: Dit is lekka om met hulle te speel! Jy moet probeer. Try om jou kurser op een van hulle te sit en dan tik jy wat dit vir jou se. ‘n lekka speel ding jong.
2 Jul 2008, 15:11 pm
#75 Sniper: Hehe, the
was not intended for you. lets just say that at this moment when I think of oom Steph I see a try go begging and its all shaded in red
2 Jul 2008, 15:13 pm
#81 GirlShark: I know!
actually looks a bit like Oom Stef. What you think? Take a good look now!
2 Jul 2008, 15:16 pm
#82 Sniper: A spitting image of him when he gets the ball and sees three defenders coming for him and an unmarcked wing, as through his mind goes “I will bash through I will bash through!, yep I’ll make it!” and after turnover ball “oh okai maybe not”!
2 Jul 2008, 15:20 pm
#83 GirlShark: What do you say the score is going to be on Saturday? Bokke vs AB and Sharks vs Floubulle?
2 Jul 2008, 15:22 pm
They’ve got 2 Yoghurts now in their squad – Derick and Francois
2 Jul 2008, 15:28 pm
#84 Sniper: ABs vs SB: 21-17 to ABs (but am praying that it will be other way around. BB vs Sharks: 17-24 to Sharks
But I am praying more for it to be 28 -21 to the Sharks so we get bonus point.
2 Jul 2008, 15:31 pm
#79 Johnny T:
Pukke bied ‘n graadkursus aan om aan daai behoefte te voorsien
2 Jul 2008, 15:35 pm
#86 GirlShark: OK then! Me thinks AB 29 SA 13 – I hope not though and BB 9 Sharks 13 – low scoring game!
#87 Sheriff: Why Pukke? Mmmm
2 Jul 2008, 15:40 pm
#88 Sniper:
Ok Tukke then
2 Jul 2008, 15:43 pm
#89 Sheriff: Sharp ne!
2 Jul 2008, 15:47 pm
#90 Sniper:
Lecturers darem, is jy op vakansie?
2 Jul 2008, 15:51 pm
the bulls seriously do not have a bad team….i think on paper they are alot stronger than lions, province, cheetahs.
I like morne steyn, and well i never expect much from pretty boy at 12 but marius delport at 13 is interesting. He impressed me as a junior and noth with bonehead nel gone, finally gets his chance. hopes he grabs it with both hands! dont know if he will able to dominate the position, have seen little in top flight rugby to suggest he can
Only 3 players of colour in 15, i wonder if the BB union just jopesnt give a rats ***? maybe they eventually establish a Republic….break away, align with mugabe to have a devleopment feeder team, Naas as President…the ox wagons seperating them from jhb
sharks forever
2 Jul 2008, 18:58 pm
Seven!
Damn right brother. Lots of furtile ground and fat cattle and then the Bulls can win the World Cup!!!!! Maak die Bulle almal Bokke!!
3 Jul 2008, 07:41 am
#91 Sheriff: Yep!
3 Jul 2008, 11:18 am
Watch Derek come out and win this one for the Bulls, if they can be motivated. They will move Morne to centre when Derek comes on. Bulls to win by twenty. Should’ve beaten Province last week but lost to team that was more motivated.