McCaw returns to ABs

Richie McCaw has been bracketed in the All Black team for the Bledisloe Cup match in Sydney on Saturday – along with four other changes.

McCaw hasn’t played in the Tri-Nations after spraining his ankle in the second Test against England, but has been named with Daniel Braid as the openside flank options. McCaw was only supposed to return at the earliest next week, but he’s made a surprisingly speedy recovery and he’ll make a late fitness call on his availability to start.

“He’s 50-50 really. We’ll see how he progresses for the rest of the week,” Graham Henry told the media.

“The expectation was that he wasn’t going to be ready until next week [against Australia in Auckland] at the earliest.

“But he’s got the determination and the desire to play, he’s done all the rehab and he’s making good progress.”

Other changes to the team that lost in Dunedin include the surprise axing of outside centre Conrad Smith for Richard Kahui, Brad Thorne returns from suspension in place of Anthony Boric, Anthony Tuitavake replaces Rudi Wulf on the wing, Greg Somerville resumes at tighthead as John Afoa drops to the bench, while either McCaw or Braid will take over from Adam Thomson.

McCaw’s decision on whether he’ll play or not could be left as late as Saturday.

“For Richie’s sake, he will not make a decision whether he’s going to be competitive or not before that,” said Henry.

“He’s playing against two of the best sevens in the world – [George] Smith and [Phil] Waugh – and he doesn’t want to be disadvantaged in that competition and he wants to make sure that he can be competitive.

“If he thinks he can be competitive, he’ll play.”

New Zealand – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Anthony Tuitavake, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Andy Ellis; 8 Jerome Kaino, 7 Daniel Braid/Richie McCaw (c), 6 Rodney So’oialo, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock. Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 John Afoa, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Sione Lauaki, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Conrad Smith.

54 Comments

• 1.Koos: Reply to this comment

We have been short on DRAGONS of late…

• 2.stavros: Reply to this comment

Steroid Dragons maybe.

• 3.stavros: Reply to this comment

howzit koos

• 4.Koos: Reply to this comment

#3 stavros: Good and you!

• 5.Staal: Reply to this comment

Hoop die Wallas wen – net omdat ek graag weer A4Y wil post! :lol:

• 6.stavros: Reply to this comment

#4 Koos: All good here!

• 7.Koos: Reply to this comment

#5 Staal: En dan voel ons nie so sleg omdat ons verloor het nie…

• 8.Staal: Reply to this comment

#7 Koos:

Verloor – wiet verloor? :lol:

• 9.stavros: Reply to this comment

…for those controversial polls that arent discussed here…

rucktheruckingruckersDOTblogspotDOTcom

• 10.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

#5 Staal: What does “A4Y” mean exactly? I’m guessing you are referring to George Gregan’s “four more years” chirp, but it makes no sense in this context.

• 11.Staal: Reply to this comment

#10 kaksioek:

It has to do with the fact that i wont be all day on the blog & before Tackler says anything on any thread i would like to remind him! So i say it in advance! :lol:

“but it makes no sense in this context” seriaaasly 5% of comments on this site is “in context!” :lol: that’s what makes this site special! imo.

Taking the posts on this site seriaaaaas is certifiable! ;shock: (imo)

• 12.stavros: Reply to this comment

#11 Staal: in that case. Tackles, 4 more years Mr Tonsil.

• 13.Staal: Reply to this comment

#12 stavros:

• 14.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ok cheers guys. Gee Tackler gas!

• 15.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

Staal and Stavros you are really mean towards Tackler. You are giving him false hope about winning the World Cup when we all know they’ll just choke again.

• 16.Francois Steyn is over-rated: Reply to this comment

I know we didn’t deserve to win on Saturday and the Aussies looked hungrier then us, especially at the breakdown, but have you seen these stats from rugby365?

In the first Tri-Nations match, between New Zealand and South Africa, the scrums were 23, 2 resets, 3 collapses.
    In the second Tri-Nations match, between New Zealand and South Africa, the scrums were 13, 1 resets, 3 collapses.
    In the third Tri-Nations match, between Australia and South Africa, the scrums were 23, 10 reset, 16 collapses.

Now tell me why in the wet, slippery conditions of NZ hardly any scrums were collapsed, yet when we play the Aussies in good conditions most scrums were? I think its time refs looked at what the convicts are up to in the front-row. That said Aussies, you out thought us again, well done. I’m just not sure its was legal out-thinking.

• 17.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

The Kiwi’s will have a big advantage of seeing how the Aussies beat us. If they can slow their ball they could easily beat them. If their backs get the chances we got in the first half they will put the Aussies away. I look forwarsd to the game and hope the Aussies can do it for SA. This (possibly last) tri-nations is turning out to be even more exciting than usual.

• 18.It is just a game: Reply to this comment

#16 Francois Steyn is over-rated: All Blacks have good scrumming technique, Springboks have poor technique and Aussies have no clue how to scrum.

• 19.stavros: Reply to this comment

#17 Olivergm: Oliver, did you enjoy the game? Did you end up at Harry’s?

• 20.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Well aside from result ya I enjoyed the game. It rained a bit so Harry’s was a bit quieter than usual – not a bad thing considering we lost and I was in my Bokke short. Ended up drowning my sorrys till 2am at the Wine Bar at Riverside Walk.

• 21.stavros: Reply to this comment

#20 Olivergm: I know there was a big SA crowd at Unka Bunka (Spelling).

• 22.stavros: Reply to this comment

#20 Olivergm: Do you live around that area?

• 23.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Ya in Fraser Place Robertson Walk at the moment but are porbably moving out in the next few months

• 24.stavros: Reply to this comment

#23 Olivergm: Ye, prices are a little on the steep side here at the mo, should be seeing a drop off now, but I reckon they could come down another 25 – 30%. Have you found the South African Shop yet? Their billies aint too bad.

• 25.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

If Thorn, Williams, McCaw & Sommerville are back everybody knows it will make a huge difference, of course that is no excuse for losing to the Bokke at the Brook but this pack will have much more grunt and experience to the one that played in Dunedin.

• 26.David: Reply to this comment

#25 NZINCHINA:
    To be honest, I hope Ritchie isn’t fit as I’d be interested to see how Braid performs at this level.

• 27.stew: Reply to this comment

#25 NZINCHINA: They will also have the best fetcher in the world which will mean a huge difference

• 28.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

#17 Olivergm: I really believe the Aussies beat you moreso because of the intensity of the last two game they had just played against the AB’s, rather than actually being a superior team. I think if the Boks and Wallabies had played, both fresh,and the same intensity they palyed the AB’s the Boks would have won- no doubt.

• 29.stew: Reply to this comment

#26 David: Braid reminds me of Neil Back – very class act but has to have lived in Ritchie’s shadow.

• 30.stew: Reply to this comment

#28 captain fantail: I think that is an excuse – at the breakdown was where the game was lost – too many turnovers at crucial times

• 31.Snoek: Reply to this comment

It sounds to me that McCaw faked injury to skip playing the world Champs.

Bloody whimp.

• 32.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

With those players back its clearly a different team. Somerville is the one probably least missed with Tialata and Woodcock going well together as well.
    Cant wait for Kahui to get a run.
    If the referee is watching the resets from the Aussies I think the NZ pack will get on top and it will all start from there.
    Giteau and Carter is a must see match up. The big old bloodhound Stirling Mortlock, Nzs undoing on a number of occasions.
    Australia seems to produce a never ending supply of World class loose forwards with Tongan ancestry ie Smith, Kefu Ofahengaue now, Palu as well.
    Pretty hard to pick between the big three, all were the best player in the world in their position for a significant period. Who can forget Toutai Kefus last second try to hold onto the Bledisloe cup in John Eales last test. Willie O bursting on the scene to rival Iceman and Zinny. One of the very few players to have won more games against NZ than lost.
    And now Smith the ultimate pain in the ***. Stealing, pinching, tapping,stripping just a constant thorn to any side he plays.
    When NZ and Aus play in rugby if both teams click then its the greatest collection of passing movements,spectacular tries and U tube moments in the rugby World.
    I hope henry and deans plan is to attack one another. it could be a humdinger.
    NZ will have learnt a lot from Carisbrook.
    More than the Wallabies in Perth I’d wager.
    The ABs will bring the real heat which the Aussies haven’t faced yet this year. The Boks should of brought it last week but they seemed to blow a gasket.

• 33.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#26 David:

Braid is a good player but McCaw’s experience and ethos on the park is irreplaceable, Sydney should be dry so hopefully the backs will also get to show what they have got.

• 34.David: Reply to this comment

#33 NZINCHINA:
    Ritchie’s in a class of his own, I agree. Iwas very impressed by Braid, though, and wanted to see how he stood up at this level. You guys are lucky to have such a talented understudy.

• 35.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

#34 David:

At the rate we are going we won’t have any understudies left shortly, Masoe gone today, its a real shame these guys are all leaving obviously you can’t blame them but NZ rugby is going to be seriously weakened as a result.

• 36.David: Reply to this comment

#35 NZINCHINA:
    We’ve also lost a whole front row. Experienced props are not easy to find. Did GH know about Masoe as I couldn’t fathom why he didn’t play him against the Boks rather than moving Rodders from 8.

• 37.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Goed om te sien Anthony Toe-oë-te-vakie® kry weer speelkans.

• 38.stodders: Reply to this comment

Interestng. Why is Conrad Smith on the bench?

Does that mean Kahui to 12, Smith to 13 and Nonu to wing if an injury occurs. That’s an awful lot of changes if a winger goes down.

• 39.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Mr Mcaw… Beware..

• 40.Borderboy: Reply to this comment

I’ve said it before and i’ll say it again. NO WAY SHOULD MILS START AHEAD OF LEON McDONALD!!!! One is Chalk and the other is class

• 41.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Because McDonald is battered and bruised. Henry values his players as Deans values Mortlock.

• 42.sards: Reply to this comment

#39 Tbozknows:

george last week was in rare form.dont know if he can still do it week in and week out but you have to think hes been with the wallabies forver , even before gregan( or so it feel).and hes actually not that old.he could right now be coming into his prime.richie on the other hand looks a bit jaded.ive never been a great fan,for obvious reasons,but his combination with the other two rippped the heart out of the boks.the thieving buggers.

” George Smith (born 14 July 1980 in Manly, NSW) is an Australian rugby union player. He is a flanker for the Brumbies in Super 14. He has won 83 caps for the Australian national rugby union team since his test debut in 2000 against France in Paris. He is the second most capped Wallaby forward behind former captain John Eales.”

hes only 28 , go figure.

• 43.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#42 sards:

The burden of the captaincy will be too much to bear.

• 44.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

It’s the Richie and Robbie Show

• 45.stew: Reply to this comment

#42 sards: Richie looks jaded …. watch him come back and show the Wallabies a rugby lesson

• 46.sards: Reply to this comment

#45 stew:

i certainly hope so.he has become a hard target for refs throughout the world.in fact if i recall hes been pinged more and more this year than before.and you can be sure a saffer ref will give him no leeway.

• 47.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

Why does the tittle say ‘returns’ ?

• 48.Slaine: Reply to this comment

I’d give him the last 30mins max. There’s no way he’ll be match fit yet. No need to rush him either. We beat the Boks without him – and we can beat these Wallaby wannabes too.

• 49.ohtanisjacket: Reply to this comment

I’m more concerned about whether Ali Williams can last the Test than whether McCaw plays. Apparently he was limping badly in training.

• 50.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Go Braid ! Smash them “shackle draggers” :-)

• 51.wpforever: Reply to this comment

49 He should be fine….was it not Ali that came to training once in a Marvel superhero costume ?

• 52.CHAZ: Reply to this comment

#15 It is just a game: Get a life tosspott

• 53.CHAZ: Reply to this comment

#31 Snoek: Go and blow your other nose

• 54.ohtanisjacket: Reply to this comment

I wonder how much of this was gamesmanship. I also wonder how much Deans really prepared for McCaw.

At any rate, I look forward to seeing Braid play.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.