Boks call up big guns
12 Aug 2008
Percy Montgomery and Fourie du Preez will start against the All Blacks on Saturday.
They replace Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes in the starting line-up, with the other changes coming at lock, where Andries Bekker starts in place of the injured Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger in for Luke Watson at openside flank and Danie Rossouw and Frans Steyn coming onto the wood.
Montgomery will earn his 100th Test cap at Newlands in a back three that won the World Cup and one that started when they broke a 10-year losing streak at Dunedin earlier in the tournament.
“It’s a special moment for me, particularly because it’s at Newlands where I spent a big part of my career and against the All Blacks. You couldn’t have asked for a better script,” he told keo.co.za. Montgomery will share his special occasion with Juan Smith, who makes his 50th appearance for the Springboks.
Du Preez was somewhat of a surprise inclusion given how loyal coach Peter De Villiers has been to Ricky Januarie. However, there can be no question that Du Preez offers a more complete option, particularly from a tactical-kicking perspective.
De Villiers said it was a hard decision to drop Januarie but pointed towards fatigue as a decisive factor.
“We can’t live in the past. We have to move on,” De Villiers said in response to the question of whether Januarie’s performance against the All Blacks in Dunedin wasn’t enough to warrant a start.
“If you look at Ricky’s workload this year in the Super 14 and in the Test matches, you’ll realise that a lot has been asked of him. The legs were definitely starting to get a bit heavier and it was time to make the change.
“I’ve always promised players that I’ll be honest with them in all areas and while it was a hard call to make, I feel it was the right one given the type of game we want to play. It’s great to be in a position to say to two players who have done nothing wrong, ‘Look sorry but you’re not going to start’. It’s a blessing.”
Du Preez and Montgomery’s inclusion hints that their play may be characterised by territorial dominance gained through tactical kicking. De Villiers refused to confirm the game plan, saying: “I might as well invite the All Blacks to our training sessions if I told you that.
“Ricky and Conrad don’t have bad kicking games at all,” he asserted. “But Fourie is very good off the boot and Percy offers us a left-footed option which is valuable. We know how we want to play against New Zealand and those players offer us the strengths we need to play the game we want to.”
Asked whether their inclusion was partly designed to take some kicking pressure off Butch James, De Villiers said: “I aim to have 15 perfect players who are able to execute a wide range of skills. They will read the situation and play accordingly. But it’s always soothing to know you have two players who can do that job and that frees Butch to shift the ball.”
Captain Victor Matfield said he expected a physical contest. “We’ll give each other as good as we get. It won’t be a lot different to traditional Springbok/All Blacks Tests.”
In Dunedin the All Blacks dominated possession 58% to 42%, while they spent 66% of the game in South Africa’s territory. Despite this, the Springboks scored two tries to their one and crafted the better scoring opportunities. This also speaks volumes about the defensive work done by the visitors, who began to slip tackles late in the match (a total of 22 to New Zealand’s 6) but scrambled desperately in search of redemption. They made 205 tackles in total – massive by Test standards.
Asked if they expected to defend as much as that this weekend Matfield was non-committal.
“If you look at the stats from games over the last two years you’ll see that often the team that has less possession won the game. Maybe there’s a trend developing there,” he said.
“But decision making will be key. We put a premium on keeping possession but it’s important that we read the situation and make sharp decisions and execute accurately. Using the ball in the right manner is extremely important against the All Blacks.”
Springboks – 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Frans Steyn, 22 Conrad Jantjes
By Ryan Vrede, in Cape Town

731 Comments
12 Aug 2008, 12:47 pm
bokke!!!
12 Aug 2008, 12:48 pm
Wooohoooooooooo, excellent team…..Cant wait for Saturday!!!!!
12 Aug 2008, 12:49 pm
keo is it true bout bismark that he might be palying fir the western force one day
15 Percy Montgomery,22 Percy Montgomery
Verstaan nie so mooi nie???? huh huh? is Percy 15 or is he 22? wat gaan aan
I see Percy is on the bench as well. now thats what I call a utility player.
I cant believe it how on earth could Luke Watson be picked in front of Big Joe.
Mujati is also not better than Gurthro
I doesn’t make sense at all.
Rest of team ok maybe ??
12 Aug 2008, 12:50 pm
Looking good, is the number 22 Percy’s clone or his son?
Grant kom in oor? what is Percy playing? is he on the bench or in the beginning team?
2XPERCY??????
BEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTT
the aussie newspapers r saying there is a deal to try and get bismark
12 Aug 2008, 12:51 pm
Holy smokes, my hero PdV has perfected cloning players! PdV is a super, duper coach indeedy
Good team , good to see FDP starts with Percy at full back. We going to need all the experience for this game.
#6 sienersmirrie: I have to agree on both your observations…otherwise strong team
12 Aug 2008, 12:52 pm
Good team. We gonna take em.
I see Percy is playing at 15 AND 22 … impressive
Eish , where did we get the other Percy from.
well we can use both of them
12 Aug 2008, 12:53 pm
i cant believe ryan kanko ddint make rthe cut or spies
12 Aug 2008, 12:53 pm
#13 Andre_WP: We hope so….seems to be some confusion as Percy is to start and cover himself off the bench
what do I betya that Jantjes is gonna start?
12 Aug 2008, 12:54 pm
#18 klippies101:
Klippies ophou drink. Spies is nommer 8
12 Aug 2008, 12:55 pm
ja so he is i cant read
PERFECT team!
The Spies/Du Preez combination has won a S14 trophy together, and the Du Preez/James combination has a World Cup trophy under the belt.
Rossouw was always going to play off the bench, as he gives us so many extra options. Now, if the no.8 gets injured, we don’t have to bring Watson on as the smallest 8thman in world rugby, we have the World Cup winning no.8 in reserve. And, if we need an extra fetcher to help out Schalk, we can bring Smith off and send Watson on. (OK, I’d prefer a true fetcher over Watson, but Watson is better at the breakdown than the bigger, ball carrying loose forwards in the squad.)
It is difficult to choose a better team than this one with players currently available.
P.S. I also see that Percy Montgomery is loved so much that they have now cloned him and have him as a replacement for himself, sitting on the bench. I therefore assume that Jantjies is actually on the bench, and that the article contains an error.
I am very excited about the game after seeing the team that has been picked.
Im loving the starting team, i suspect Percy is playing with Conrad playing 22.
GO BOKKKE.
GO FOURIE AND BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASSTT!
12 Aug 2008, 12:56 pm
percy is starting conrad on the wood
12 Aug 2008, 12:56 pm
i wish bj botha was in the squad big mistake to leave him out
12 Aug 2008, 12:57 pm
#21 klippies101: Dont worry, you cant read and Grant is confused
12 Aug 2008, 12:58 pm
aaagh i jsut want ot know if the bismakr story is true ek bly n shark i cant have him playing for the aussies
The Springbok team versus the All Blacks on Saturday 16 August at Newlands:
15. Percy Montgomery
14. JP Pietersen
13. Adrian Jacobs
12. Jean de Villiers
11. Bryan Habana
10. Butch James
9. Fourie du Preez
8. Pierre Spies
7. Juan Smith
6. Schalk Burger
5. Victor Matfield
4. Andries Bekker
3. CJ van der Linde
2. Bismarck du Plessis
1. Tendai Mtawarira
Reserves
16. Adriaan Strauss
17. Brian Mujati
18. Danie Rossouw
19. Luke Watson
20. Enrico Januarie
21. Francois Steyn
22. Conrad Jantjes
Good team. Only way to make that team better is to:
1. BJ replace CJ in the starting line-up.
2. CJ replace Mujati on the bench.
3. Bakkies replace Vic in the starting line-up. (I know – injured)
4. Jaque gets the 22 jersey.
Goeie kombinasie FDP en Butch , nou gaan die agterlyn baie beter doen so glo ek in elk geval. FDP verseker die beste scrumskakel gewees verlede jaar gedurende die WB. Taktiese speler en lees die game baie goed. Sentres gaan ook goeie bal besit kry. Ja dink ons kan die een vat.
12 Aug 2008, 12:59 pm
this should be a lekker game
Not bad, still concerned that BJ is not there and perhaps Danie is the man who should be starting but thats splitting hairs really if AB comes to the party in terms of physicality.
Luke had a great game in terms of his interlinking play last week so I guess that could be good coming on at the end. The big problem is still at the breakdown, this has proved to be our achillies heel all season, hopefully ‘the staff’ are able to address this.
All things considered a surprising dose of common sense going on here.
My biggest worry with this team is Pierre Spies. We all know the breakdown is going to be key and he is probably our worst loosie in that department. Bismarck is probably going to have to pick up the slack.
I see a red door and I want it painted black
No colors anymore I want them to turn black
I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes
I have to turn my head until my darkness goes
I see a line of cars and theyre all painted black
With flowers and my love both never to come back
I see people turn their heads and quickly look away
Like a new born baby it just happens evry day
I look inside myself and see my heart is black
I see my red door and it has been painted black
Maybe then Ill fade away and not have to face the facts
Its not easy facin up when your whole world is black…..
The Rolling Stones
12 Aug 2008, 13:00 pm
#6 sienersmirrie: Mujati can scrum on both sides, so if it comes to the bench he is the better option.
12 Aug 2008, 13:00 pm
matlfied needs to work in the break down more
12 Aug 2008, 13:02 pm
tis not the all blacks i am scared of this year but aussies
#19 EEE: Jantjies on the bench i see , but i realy think we can take this one. Hope the weather plays along. That Carter is a ******* when it comes to wet fields
Spot on, good call Oom Snor!
Go Bokke!!!
12 Aug 2008, 13:03 pm
#33 siener:
Yadyadayada…The no.8 should’nt be scrabbling for the ball on the ground. He should be running at the opposition all day long. The Watsons of this world should then be in close support, ready to win the ball back once the primary ball carrier has been tackled and gone to ground.
It shouldn’t be the other way around, with the Watsons doing the running, and the tall guys having to try and fight for the ball on the ground. Sort that out, and the breakdown will look a whole lot better.
12 Aug 2008, 13:04 pm
It’s not that easy bein’ green;
Having to spend each day the color of the leaves.
When I think it could be nicer being red, or yellow or gold-
or something much more colorful like that.
It’s not easy bein’ green.
It seems you blend in with so many other ordinary things.
And people tend to pass you over ’cause you’re not standing out like flashy sparkles in the water- or stars in the sky.
Kermit the Frog
#33 siener: Yip , Spies will have to get his act right now . Been off long enough , must get his form back.
#22 Tacitus: Taciturn actually happy with something…
#27 klippies101: Ons mag nie weer ‘n blerrie turncoat hê nie!!!!!!! Hy kan eerder vir die soutties gaan speel as die blerrie convicts!!!
i think kanko should be there with botes
12 Aug 2008, 13:05 pm
#35 siener: i was just about to point that out.
also, the beast, cj and bis did well against the vaunted argie front row.
12 Aug 2008, 13:06 pm
#34 lapoftherugbygods: One of the all time bests……also love Stones’ Angie
Now this is more like it! Pity about Bakkies, we would have been lethal with him. Hope du Preez can spark some magic from Butch (who will hopefully own Carter like he did in Dunedin). Go you beautiful Bok biscuits! P.S. Percy 4 president
Great team. Joe should have been on the bench though.
#34 lapoftherugbygods: so nz wear’s black… we get it.
12 Aug 2008, 13:07 pm
#45 klippies101: kanko is injured.
12 Aug 2008, 13:07 pm
we really need a good flyhalf butch is great on defence but cant create the attack
12 Aug 2008, 13:08 pm
black is also the colour of my poo is i drank too much brandy
12 Aug 2008, 13:09 pm
#49 katman: after we fell apart in aus without a backup for schalk on the bench, i think PdV is covering his options nicely.
i really dont think you can have spies, danie (who is covering lock also it seems) and joe in the same team.
#49 katman:
I agree.
#40 Tacitus:
The problem is that Schalk is the one who does all the running. I think Joe would have added an extra option to the loosies instead of Spies.
#52 klippies101: FDP being there will help him, he will have more time to make decisions
12 Aug 2008, 13:10 pm
#25 klippies101: Is it only me that thinks CJ is not up to test standard ? His mauch vaunetd loose game usually sees him loosing the ball or leaving it behind ….
12 Aug 2008, 13:10 pm
Thats a very strong team on paper. Big things expected from your new lock and prop. Best way for them to learn though. I rate the beast. He played well over here in the Super 14. Looks a strong ball runner and improving scrummager.
The biggest loss in Botha. I dont think most of you realise his importance to your team. He’s dirty bugger, but what he does do very well is the hard grafting **** that every team needs. South Africa dont have that player in the squad now and NZ do, in Brad Thorn. I guess we’ll see if Matfield can show he can play that role or, as I think, he’ll be found out in the tight.
12 Aug 2008, 13:11 pm
#52 klippies101: hmm, watch his offloads to adi and FdP vs the argies. both led to tries.
and there was that lovely steal at the back of the lineout in the 71st minute which led to bismarks try.
but ja, he is kak.
12 Aug 2008, 13:11 pm
#56 David:
Yeah well Schalk should sort his sh*t out real fast and start doing his primary job, which is fighting for the ball at the breakdown. He is not supposed to be hanging at inside centre half the time.
12 Aug 2008, 13:12 pm
#59 Maori_Fulla:
I doubt whether Thorn will be on the field long enough to make a difference, given his recent behaviour.
12 Aug 2008, 13:12 pm
#54 rangerman: If Luke actually played as a fetcher and spent the afternoon scrapping for the ball on the deck and turning tackles into possession, then I’d agree. But he plays as a ball carrier and link-man. Which is precisely Joe’s game. Except Joe does it better.
12 Aug 2008, 13:13 pm
#63 katman:
Again, I fully agree.
No Big Joe , No Bakkies …. the only grafter in the pack is Schalk – ABs will dominate upfront and win by 10
#63 katman: ja, i also felt that but i watched the argies game again and luke effected a number of great turnovers.
i think he is much maligned.
12 Aug 2008, 13:14 pm
ja we need a larkham for a flyhalf we need an attacking okie instead of a groot crach and bash oke
12 Aug 2008, 13:14 pm
#40 Tacitus: I get while you’re saying, but I still think that Big Joe, while not exactly best of both worlds, would have been the safest compromise.
12 Aug 2008, 13:15 pm
how can aj venter not make the boks ?
#29 King Shark: Yes and then Muller as captain!…… ooooh f@ck….. he is not even in the squad……idiot
#63 katman: and i agree on joes linking game but then he should be there in place of spies, not watson.
watson covers schalk and spies. joe would cover juan and spies which danie can do.
so that leaves no space for joe as danie is needed as a lock cover.
12 Aug 2008, 13:16 pm
Has this place turned into the Twilight Zone???
Tac happy with PdV’s selections AND Tac & Katman agreeing.
Vandag sneeu dit op Tafelberg
#52 klippies101:
I don’t think we need a world class flyhalf while the great Fourie is still playing IMHO.
#64 Tacitus: All this agreement is making me uncomfortable.
12 Aug 2008, 13:17 pm
#69 klippies101: he slows the game down before it begins because the haka is over by the time he leaves the tunnel.
very good team. if spies plays as well as he did against the argies we’ll certainly match them up front. not so sure about the two locks though. where’s all the power going to come from in the scrum?
i do rate cj he is lekker and tough i wish rich bands was still around he was a tough oke
#62 David: Bakkies is the only one with balls in the SA team – big loss.
#69 klippies101: That’s a joke, right?
I should not make fun. This new found brotherhood between Tac & Katman is filling me with a warm, fuzzy feeling
12 Aug 2008, 13:18 pm
#69 klippies101: Cant go on the field in his wheelchair….
#69 klippies101:
Because by the time he’d take to run on the field, it would be half time already. Grin:
#46 rangerman:
They had 5 scrums and then it was uncontested…
bring Guthro and BJ back..
Guthro made 2nd most tackles after schalk in that dunedin test and his scrumming is way better than Beasts..
i cant believe BJ is not there. honestly.
Have CJ and beast coming off the bench, not starting.
12 Aug 2008, 13:19 pm
#75 rangerman:
Snap
#74 katman:
Maybe Tac is actually your father …. Kat Skywalker
Just can’t seem to get rid of the midget can we!
For the rest glad to see Danie and Francois back in the mix.
This team could just do it, depending on who they bring on as subs.
peter grant i think should slowly take over from butch
#77 klippies101: Another joke?
AJ and Bands? Why don’t you give us your preferred Bok starting 15. Should be amusing.
12 Aug 2008, 13:20 pm
The only problen I have personnaly is Joe for Watson…. but I guess thats helium’s decision
May the best playing team win
#75 rangerman: Bwaaaaahahahahaha
#22 Tacitus: Our props look very inexperinced compared to the ABs, I would have given Joe the run at 8 as he will be better at cleaning out the back of the scrum. I hope that Spies gets the oppurtunity to run with the ball in space to show us what he can do…Dont expect any clean ball on Saturday as McCaw and co will know thats the only way to stop Bok.
who rate zane kirchner as a good player conrad on the wing with zane at 15
Klippies,
Are you blogging to the tune of “Maak die Sjarks almal Bokke”
Give it a rest man
12 Aug 2008, 13:21 pm
#73 SharkMarine: Wake up and smell the coffee …. the Boks will struggle in this game
#69 klippies101:
He’s retired from internation rugby.
Only playing currie cup and even there he’s off form.
Purely a matter of time before Klippies throws Cabous Van Der Westhuizen’s name into the fray
12 Aug 2008, 13:22 pm
How the **** could we choose FDP. the worst scrumhalf in the world. Kick it all away. sorry butch, and the rest of the backline, you will see fcukall ball this weekend.
#71 rangerman: The point is, Luke is supposed to be covering for Schalk, but he’s not doing that job. So if he offers the same style of play as Joe, then pick the guy that does it better. Regardless of who he’s supposed to be covering.
#89 katman: Was sniggering myself
maybe we should bring back James Dalton and the rest as well, think Joos might be up for it
12 Aug 2008, 13:23 pm
#93 klippies101:
Zane is useless.
ok my bok 15
1 cj
2 bismark
3 bj
4bakkies i know he is injured
5 matfield
6 schalk
7 smith
8 kanko
9 kockott
10 grant
11 habana
12 jean
13 adi
14 jp
Spies – what a quota selection. But i suppose we all have to have a steroid freak in the team.
#83 bryce_in_oz: ja, and they got their heads out of their asses by the end of the game.
what is your point bryce? the bok scrum murdered them, check the footage!
we’re going to klap them boys…..i can just feel it. no ways this inexperienced kiwi team (in terms of caps in SA) will be able to win this one. I’m all warm and fuzzy already…..bring it on!!!
12 Aug 2008, 13:24 pm
#92 bananas: My major worry with Spies at 8, is his control and decision making at the back of the scrum.
i will always remeber how bands smashed spencer in the tri nations
Whoaaaa…Tacitus agreeing with PdV’s team selection? And agreeing with katman!
Oh noooo…the sky, it’s dropping on our heads…the world is ending!
#95 stew:
How so?
#93 klippies101: Zane was Pathetic on Friday Night……TIger Mangweni much better…….Zane tries to be too Flashy
#95 stew: It seems we are the only ppl that thinks we will loose, the AB are going to come out firing….. and I dont have enough faith in Big Vic’s leadership to hold the team together…… or Heliums half time talk to inspire confidence!
#88 klippies101: at this rate, slowly is an understatement!
#100 Dawn: Zane Adams?
12 Aug 2008, 13:25 pm
#101 klippies101:
Klippies,
Serious now. Drinking and blogging is dangerous. For all web users safety – please stop.
(PS: There’s only 14 in your 15)
ja spies is a groot oke he looks like he is on the juice
sometimesi think our boys look skinny to the aussis and abs
#98 ruffle: you’re stirring right?
#102 klippies101: no 15?
ja i know i hit enter before i added percy
Strong side but starting to get ridiculous with fluke now in over Joe.
Very frustrating.
12 Aug 2008, 13:26 pm
#107 WP Till I Die:
Please check for all of us. Is Table Mountain covered in snow yet??
#93 klippies101:
I think Zane is a good bet for the future. At the moment there isn’t a spot open.
#55 Tacitus:
My broer.
Is jy oraait.
Nice team but woul,d have prefered Joe over Watson by a long way – otherwise a nice balance
why was tondi dropped i think he played well for the stormers this year
12 Aug 2008, 13:27 pm
#112 katman:
Kirschner.
Ja, I have a big problem with Joe not being in the team. Is he injured or just not selected? Foolish.
#119 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
Not at all!
well to be honest i think frans steyn needs to be the next bok 15 i think he is kak at centre not enough space for him to run the ball plus he is good under the high ball
#106 klippies101: So, I remember Gerber slicing through the English midfield in 1984. But I’m not suggesting we drop Adi or Jean for him.
#101 klippies101: No 15 ?
12 Aug 2008, 13:28 pm
Eish,Souht Africans always whining.This is a great team.We have cover for 10 and 12 in styn,we have cover in 6,7,4 and 8 in luke and and danie.We have cover in 14 and 15 conrad,what more do you want?????????????
The beast/Bismuk-Cj are coming oraait,why do we have change them and why you still crying over BJ???ANd what is this obsessesion with Luke watson??The guy hasnt done bad and he is our best option when it comes to ELV’s.Big Joe chose to sign with an over seas contract even when he saw that he was recalled to the springboks,why do we have to waste our time with him???And what makes you think danie was just going to walk in and start at 4 even though bekker has been with the squad for quite some time now??
You peeps really irritate me sometime,you are never satisfied.Last week it was Jongi nokwe,he did well and none of you came back to admit that you were wrong about him.
Its time we accept that PDV is our coach,he aint going nowhere for the next few years,lets stop criticising for the sake of criticising.This is our best team in the moment.Lets support it.Lets criticise after the match…
12 Aug 2008, 13:29 pm
#127 klippies101:
Why don’t we rather play Henry Honiball?
For so long i was sure PdV had a quota agreement quote in his contract seeing as every bok game thus far had 6 players of colour starting……that’s my confession for the day.
Bottomline, if Spies creates/scores two tries in each game, and stuffs up two more, that’s worth it. That’s two more tries than we would have had.
He is not a low risk kind of player. In the S14 final last year he scored one try and gave one away through an interception. In the England test, he scored two tries and gave away one interception again.
Last week he scored one try, and dropped another (difficult) ball on the tryline.
The point is, he is always lurking, and it means the Boks can suddenly score out of nowhere at any time. That’s what he’s there for. Hopefully, a he matures, that ratio will shift towards scoring two tries for every one opportunity that he fails to convert into points, but in test rugby that is still phenomenal.
I was amazed when Hugh Bladen said on Saturday that the Bok record for tries by a forward is just 10 tries in an entire career. Spies is just 23, and he is already on 4 tries. If he is played consistently for a couple of seasons, he will shoot to 20 tries in no time. With many more to come after that, if he stays injury free.
You’ve got to see the bigger picture here.
12 Aug 2008, 13:30 pm
ok number 15 would be percy then bring on frans towards the end
Montgomery becomes the ninth player overall to win 100 Test caps – joining the likes of Philippe Sella, David Campese, George Gregan, Stephen Larkham, Jason Leonard, Fabian Pelous, Alessandro Troncon and Gareth Thomas.
Mirraaaaaaaaaagggggg rugbykenners & WP ondersteuners !
Mense, hierdie span is damn naby aan blerrie uitstekend…….. Bokke !
Goooooooooiiiiiii Varinkiesssssssssss !
(Maar ek is steeds bekommerd oor ons stutte en die gebrek aan ‘n ware fetcher in die Baywatch mould)
Demmittttt, nou moet onse game plan ook net ROCK ‘n ROLL !!
Great Team. Agree with watson over joe. The whole covering thing makes sense.
#130 Virus:
Eedjit.
No-one is criticising. Read!
i think muller is better than bekker
#119 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
I wouldn’t be able to say, I just knocked my head so everything’s black at the moment.
12 Aug 2008, 13:31 pm
what a team! i think we will give the AB’s a hard time.
i am looking forward to it!
BOKKE!!
#130 Virus:
Difference between having cover and the cover actually being able to do the job.
I think Watson will get through more work on the bench than the field. All he needs to do is tackle the cameraman once!
#133 Tacitus:
Hoe lyk die tamaties, my broer.
12 Aug 2008, 13:32 pm
I hope he proves me wrong but I think Spies at 8 is a mistake – I feel Van Niekerk is really unlucky because he’s done well for us recently. Perhaps he could’ve been on the bench instead of Watson, who may have turned over a fair amount of ball against the Pumas, but was selfish with ball in hand.
Damn Carter is going to get hurt this weekend!!
#135 Bullish:
No All Black has played 100?
#139 klippies101:
And I think vodka is better than brandy
the boks have 4 games in a row i think they will tire i see a loss here at home somewhere
#130 Virus:
Doomsdayers commonly suffer from Hamster on a wheel syndrome. They just go round and round and round and round and round running off seemingly endless energy and frustration
Sometimes amusing to watch other times plain f*cking annoying.
#130 Virus: The day everyone agrees on a national team is the day Hell Freezes over…. relax mate!
12 Aug 2008, 13:33 pm
nooit china brandy is lekker klippies and sprite all the time
12 Aug 2008, 13:34 pm
i think schalk britzs should be in the team as well we need a big squad so we dont get sore and tired
#127 klippies101: agree – Steyn at 15 is my bet for the future.
#132 Windhond_Sharks:
Bless you my son. Now say 10 Hail Mary’s and you’ll be free.
Love,
Father Saffa
Also feel we needed a like-for-like swap for Botha. To me, Bekker isn’t a hardman who’s going to give the AB’s a tough time with his physicality. And it’s crucial this week that we don’t turn so much ball over!
12 Aug 2008, 13:35 pm
Ricky to come off the bench and clinch the game with another pearler. Bet you the whole Hopetown going to be at the game.
#143 Dawn: Is that Afrikaans for “how’re they hangin’?”
ja frans to skop the winning 60 metre drop kick
12 Aug 2008, 13:36 pm
#157 katman:
It’s my version!
12 Aug 2008, 13:37 pm
#110 Tisme: Really dont have faith in the selections or the stupid idea to risk injuries against the Argies – the Abs showed in their last game they are intent on playing positional rugby dominated by forward supremacy ….. if anybody knows what PDV game plan is please let me know ???? ….. Also the Boks seem far to complacement and relying on home advantage – bad management.
#117 klippies101: you didn’t enter Percy, then you hit enter… get it right.
#110 Tisme: Helium?? One original dude you are.
#102 ruffle: I suggest you take some brain stimulants yourself.
#37 klippies101: maybe you can be klippies202 in a few years, just hang in there, and remember to make the most of every opportunity to unlearn your rugby education.
Great team. Can’t please all the people all the time, but I think PdV has just about got it as close as possible, we are fielding a great team! Go Bokke!!!
#53 louisbam: With the spelling in the referred and your previous post, I assume the drinking was recent…
by the way pink is a honnie for sure
#155 BigScrum: tell that to the argie who got his head smashed into the ground over the touchline by bekker.
he had the hurt put on him.
bekker will do just fine.
#157 katman:
Ek moet bieg, ek weet nie wat sy bedoel het nie. Ek is ongelukkig net twee tale magtig. My kennis van streeksdialekte is maar beroerd.
So the questions are:
Can we get front foot go forward ball in the tight?
Can we give them back foot ball in the tight?
Can we win the battle of the breakdown?
Will we play for territory?
If the answer is yes to all 4 questions then we will win.
If the answer is no to the last 2 questions then we will lose.
12 Aug 2008, 13:38 pm
#154 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: thank you father….and therefor i am free from all my impure thoughts i had about snor as well? (those will be the cursing his ancestors bits, not the other bits)
ja sucks fourie broke his jaw he is a great centre
#159 Dawn:
We in a white forum here – ons moet lekka behave vir die baase. Keep em Cullert manners to the Kaapse Vlakte pleash
Two changes I’d have made;
1. Luke far, far, far away, with Wikus / Baywatch / Brussouw involved. In this specific order as well.
2. Danie to start, with Bekker on in the last 30mins.
Ai-ja, a bit of couch-coaching dreams. Anyhow, still a mighty impressive outfit and the flame of my desire still burns red-hot GREEN! Go the BOKS!
12 Aug 2008, 13:39 pm
#160 stew: hmm, i would say the substitution of ricky for FdP would show a positional/tactical game.
but hey, thats just me.
#166 tight head: Amen….. correct as always Mr Rugby Lovvaaaaa !
#165 Tacitus:
Ek kan altyd vir jou ‘n paar lesse gee.
i have an amzing rugby edumacation
12 Aug 2008, 13:40 pm
Hosh gwala die vlag we need Bolla in the team for some ruff tuff. They grow them tough in the Bellville South!!
Goooooo Bokke! Goeie span, net watson wati daar hoort, as hy dan ‘n fetcher wou gespeel het kry iemand soos Baywatch. Maar blerrie uitstekend, sou dalk eerder met Rossouw begin het om hulle sag te maak, weti of Andries daardie werk so goed doen nie.
Hoezit GBS long time no see!
#169 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: ja, maak so jou stouter.
i think dwayne vermuulen had a good super 14 he needs a shopt at ther bok jersey one day
12 Aug 2008, 13:41 pm
#163 klippies101:
“pink is a honnie”?
What?
With the exception of BJ Botha (out of favour), Bakkies Botha (injured) and Jaque Fourie (injured) this is our strongest possible starting XV. Great news! Now let’s hope they shelve the helter skelter approach of nothingness, and we should win comfortably.
I have to agree – this is as near as a perfect team under current injury conditions as we can put together. Big cheer for PdVee Helium Snor!!!
Beast should have started a while ago. Cj is playing well (just needs to learn how to hang onto the ball when he makes those crazy breaks). Mujati (hmm – would be nicer to have Gurthro or BJ but in terms of covering two positions Mujati seems to be a good option), Danie Rossouw is a good choice as he can cover eighthman and lock and he’s big, Spies is now starting to look the part – I’m well impressed with the way he’s stepped it up in the last match, Luke Watson vs Big Joe – I would also go with Big Joe but I have to admit that Watson has been doing some good work and we need someone he is more of a fetcher (albeit his skills at this are more limited), Du Preez with Januarie on the bench – absolutley devastating, James has found form again and looked solid on Sat, De Villiers and Jacobs are breaking the line at will and both looking dangerous – full props to Jacobs as he’s stepped up to the mark and some, Percy with Jantjes in reserve hehehe wicked, Habana and a rather more in form JP Pietersen – awesome. Couldnt be better – only possible weakness’ Mujati and our fetcher capabilities (Watson). But I have faith in the boys. They just have to keep it together and do the basics right – my attitude is play more conservatively for first 20 – settle into the game and then let rip.
New Zealand – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Richard Kahui, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 John Afoa, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Isaia Toeava.
maybe pienaar could play flyhalf for the boks but i think he is a bit small
12 Aug 2008, 13:42 pm
#160 stew: Whooooa…. selections? for the life of me I cant seem to fault the selections within the current squad, some unlucky players like Baywatch, Wickus etc…. but all in all a good selection.
With reagrd to the game plan……. dunno!
Best team we could have picked…mouth-watering…and when the AB’s are tiring at the end Januarie can come with his terrier energy and annoy the sh*t out of carter…great team, PDV had a plan and it’s starting to tell. Beast is being slowly groomed for greatness, Jacobs has come into his own and showed his cameo’s off the sharks bench weren’t “flash in the pan” performances, JP is back to his best, FDP is back even though there were rumours of PDV not rating him months ago, and coz he’s given bekker a few caps we aren’t all nercous about the prospect of him fronting up to Ali and co this saturday. You gotta admit, he’s definitely starting to show what he meant about blending in new youth with the worldcup experience…GO BOKKEEE!
sucks pretoors for the lions is still injured will they renew his contract or is he time over
#165 Tacitus: Tamaties (twee van hulle, ek vermoed) is waarskynlik ‘n metafoor vir die testes. En wanneer iemand sou vra hoe die tamaties lyk, verwys hulle dan na die stand van bogenoemde testes. Met ander woorde: Hoe sou jy hulle situasie beskryf? Oftewel, how’re they hangin, bro? Ek dink.
12 Aug 2008, 13:43 pm
ag you know, all this strategising and technical analising and planning ahead all counts for nothing if the boks are not in the right mood. hopefully the all blacks do their throat slitting haka again, seeing as they started it against us and beat us in that crucial game…..i want revenge!
i think he was our only attacking flyhalf he has a good pass
brent russel was good at fullback but ithink he is to small as well
#169 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Soma cullert lmj are you jas my bru! lmj
#170 Pot Blou Gevaar: Well said
#166 tight head: I think the selection of FdP/Percy ahead of Jantjes/Januarie makes it clear that we are going to try and play for territory.
The breakdown still remains the biggest concern.
#166 tight head:
You’re right. I’m certainly not convinced that we will win on Saturday. For that our front row remains too weak, and our locks aren’t physical enough.
So basically, our tight five sucks. But we always knew that BJ would not be picked, and the loss of Bakkies was a huge blow to us. Under the circumstances, I think we have a fighting chance. And from positions 6-15 I think we have picked the best player available in every position. The bench is also looking very strong, again apart from prop. Rossouw’s presence signficantly reduces the weakness produced by the everpresent Watson on the bench, as we now have two options to bring on in the 2nd half.
But, even the best possible Bok team is not necessarily better than the best possible All Black team. I mean, its not as if we have an advantage in the coaching department, so that already puts the result in serious doubt.
Nevertheless, at least I will be enjoying the game. A win though, well, who knows.
12 Aug 2008, 13:44 pm
#176 Weti: Hellooooooooo boeta…
Dit gaat nog klopdisselboom die kant !
PS ! Geluk met jou Leeutjies se sege laas Vrydagaand……. hulle het goed gejol !
#172 grootblousmile: O ja. Gooooooo Leeus!
#123 klippies101: In all 6 games he performed well
#166 tight head: I understand your intricate knowledge of the tighthead position, but boet..rugby isn’t a 1 man game. I agree with how important the TH is but atimes you make it seem like it’s all about him…but fair enough, it’s your fortee and specialty
#193 grootblousmile: he he dankie man!
#186 katman:
Hierdie een is DRIE taalig. Hey praat ook Cullertnese
12 Aug 2008, 13:45 pm
All Blacks by at least 15
12 Aug 2008, 13:45 pm
i jsut we had a decent reff the kiwi refs r the worst against the boks!!!!!!
12 Aug 2008, 13:46 pm
as long as we can slow down mccaw i dont fear the breakdown we have to stop the 8th man from nz that giant luaki
ja i can see the abs winning but i hope not
#164 rangerman: Yeah but one big tackle on a prone little Puma doesn’t make you a tough nut, does it?! Still think we need an enforcer.
#189 iori Yagami:
What is “lmj”?
And we really need to get over BJ…the guy is going overseas…he was planning to all along. Time to move on fellas.
181 – Slumtown
Do you think Big Joe deserves to be in the squad even though he went behind PDV back by signing an overseas contract??And why does the arguement has to be between him and Luke,not him and spies??I like spies but I think he hasnt been to his best since he came back from injury.I dnt hear anyone saying anything about incredible schulk,do you think he is our best option in this new rules???
#199 vindicated: those cc players in our side again?
12 Aug 2008, 13:47 pm
#204 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Laughing me jas
12 Aug 2008, 13:47 pm
#198 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Kombuis Afrikaans
12 Aug 2008, 13:48 pm
#199 vindicated: care to elaborate?
#160 stew:
“Also the Boks seem far to complacement and relying on home advantage – bad management.”
Where on earth did you suck that one from?
#203 BigScrum: he wasnt prone and he plays in probably the rouhest leagues on earth-france. he was in the wc squad and is a hard nut himself.
i am not saying he will be an enforcer but i think he will cope just fine.
Pardon my conflicting opinion. Ricky had 1 bad game and got dropped. Forgive me for saying it but Fourie du Preez should be on the bunch just like Jacque Fourie was expected to… how quickly we South Africans forget. The last time we played this team in the same venue Fourie du Preez was warming the bench for the current incumbent. We won. The first time we beat New Zeland in the House of Pain guess what, Ricky was again the key.. yet the minute FdP comes back from an injury during an decidedly average S14 season we drop Ricky.. how typical.
NEW ZEALAND: 15 Mils Muliania, 14 Richard Kahui, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock. Reserves: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 John Afoa, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Adam Thompson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Isaia Toeava
12 Aug 2008, 13:49 pm
#196 flanka:
As Flanka and Tighthead debate the merits of their respective positions, Saffa, The Ex Ball Boy, chuckles are their short sightedness. Without the Ball Boy (i.e. Saffa’s position) their would be vokol game. The Ball Boy Is Baas, Klaar!!!
#196 flanka:
What are you talking about?
I never mentioned the tight head.
Tacticus at # 40
Over the past few weeks I have read quite s few stories on this site. What I find desturbing is your posts. If Luke Watson has a good game, then it is said that it was weak opposition, but Bakkies did not have even an average afternoon before his injury and yet nothing gets said. If you look at Saturday’s game with both your eyes open, you should try and count the turn-overs Watson made. You should also look who was next to Big Joe when he scored his 1st try, who was next to Adi when he scored and who was right behind Spies when he scored his. LUKE WATSON in support. Did you maybe see his try saving tackle, I doubt it. The man is not the tallest loose foward in world rugby, and unfortunately some people are like stuck records, carrying on and on about his height. He knows how to carry, how to off-load in and before the tackle. Go look at how he actually plays and stop K@king in your pants about how short he is. I would also love to know how many penalties Luke has conceded in Tri-Nations ’08 compared to Joe. And how many points was scored off those penalties.
12 Aug 2008, 13:50 pm
are = at
#211 David: he sucked it from the depths of cyberspace.
really informed comment eh david?
lmao!!
whatever happened to gary botha his his bok days over?
#213 Crown as in Thomas: ja boet, but if we are going to play for territory, as i expect the case may be, then pdv would have shot himself in the foot if he picked ricky.
he is a great hooker
12 Aug 2008, 13:51 pm
#191 siener:
I think that Percy’s there to run on first at Newlands for his 100th cap. Nothing more. PdeV could have started with either.
12 Aug 2008, 13:51 pm
#221 klippies101: Was
12 Aug 2008, 13:52 pm
#213 Crown as in Thomas: ricky aint dropped but the coach obviously has gone for a tactical game ergo FdP.
in addition, whilst ricky snaffled it at dunedin, butch plays better with FdP.
ricky will get gametime though.
#221 klippies101: Dale Sandton still sets the standard. Legend.
#207 rangerman: no not so many this week obviously – but, heres the funny thing – last weeks side looked a lot more dangerous than this side – probably something to do with impact from the bench
#205 flanka: Nope, you select the BEST players available for the Boks, and it doesn’t matter whether they play in SA or not. There is nothing that prevents players who play outside of SA being chosen (we could have 15 in the team).
BJ is currently our best tighthead and whether it matters or not (it doesn’t) he is currently playing in SA anyway. Something fishy about his exclusion…
#219 klippies101: Klippies, hy was ge-Schalk Brits!
12 Aug 2008, 13:53 pm
Hey what a team!!! I reckon Snor’s pretty much satisfied everyone – except maybe the Watson haters.
Percy at the back should add stability in the opening half hour – non of that k@k they dished up at Ellis park!
FdP and James combo will hopefully get our backline away – Habana and JP with ball and space…devastating!
Loosies, we need to find a combo and stick with it. If Spies gives some grunt at the contact we should hold our own. Juan is possibly lukcy to be there – he’s been very average this season and with Joe red hot he’ll be looking over his shoulder. Still glad he’s there though, he’s a warrior.
Now its just wait for game time!
A lot of the posters here are so small minded regarding their little provincial games it makes me quite ill.
Who gives a flying fack who comes from where or which province has representatives in it etc etc ad nauseum?
It’s really time to grow up and support the team placed on the field. I would think there are more pressing issues, such as quotas, to discuss and complain about rather than which part of the country some player happens to be have his contract with at a particular point in time.
Hey, if it’s your brother or your best friend then perhaps some partiality is called for, but this sniping which – (to put some coals on an already open fire and leaves me open to calls of hypocrisy) seems largely to come from north of the Jukskei, should cease.
It reminds me of a journo in that Jakaranda city who used to see a kid playing for some obscure team somewhere and then back him to within an inch of the Northern Transvaal team. Then having made it on the back of lavish praise and no little pressure from said hack, this poor lad would do the rabbit in the headlight stare thingy and promptly go back to the hutch from which he came.
In a more serious vein (and less of a flame), the team chosen must be one of the best since the World Cup win. I’m especially pleased that Fourie Du Preez has made it back – watch Butch James improve by leaps and bounds. (I’m still not convinced – Peter Grant is surely the real next flyhalf)
Still, the real test is the following weekend and more so, the one after that when this romp against Argentina will start to tell on the stamina of our blokes.
#218 rangerman:
Yeah, you’d swear some guys live with the Bok side and management the way they comment.
#211 David:
Seems you’re behind with the latest doomsdayer trends. The latest is to justify the negativity by that which cannot be measured.
#226 Windhond_Sharks: Grant, why is my comment awaiting moderation??? is it because i could post the NZ team before you guys could pull the finger? Come on boet…..
# 216 is for Tacitus at # 40. Sorry!
206 Virus
Well based on who is going overseas and who is not you could argue the same for Bakkies Botha. I know where youre coming from. personally I’d have Wickus or Botes or Grobelaar in the team instead. I have Big Joe vs Watson as a replacement because he can play both flank and eighth man.
Spies was a lot better this match than he has been.
Schalk Burger still remains one of the most integral players in the team due to his dominating physical approach, hard work rate and huge tackling abilites. He was never in any doubt in my mind. Who is looking decidely weaker this year is Juan Smith. He looks slow at times when taking the ball up and loses a huge amount of ball in the tackle somehow. He is a solid player – but he has not been in his World Cup form this year. Perhaps Schalk should be at 7 and we should have a better fecther at 6?
12 Aug 2008, 13:54 pm
iam tired of the boks being branded as a dirty side thr aussies r far worse they r thugs oof and on the field
#200 klippies101:
You really are dof huh. The All Blacks are playing. Kiwi refs aren’t allowed.
Boks by 8
12 Aug 2008, 13:55 pm
href=”#comment-960310″>166 tight head: definitely a yes to the last 2, the breakdown a weaker yes though….FDP and Percy’s inclusion proves this considering Januarie really is NZ’s bogey opposition player…and we really had no other options at 8, but we know how the incredible schalk plays like a man possessed whenever he returns from a sabatical. Besides, Russouw being on the bench is the best insurance policy
#224 rangerman:
I agree, with Monty and FdP, we’re clearly going for the tactical, kicking game. Good move. Nothing to do with Ricky being hard done.
#204 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
Lag my jas
12 Aug 2008, 13:56 pm
#224 rangerman: If we’re honest mate Butch looked good throughout the game against Argentina. He had a solid game from the first minute. That said to go from the starting number 9 to the bench is being dropped in my language. Time will tell but I still feel bummed for the lad. I think Ricky has shone this year and should own the number 9 jumper like he did in 2005.
12 Aug 2008, 13:56 pm
#215 tight head: my error, i apologise…time to get the glasses out..mistook “in the tight” for “the tighthead”
12 Aug 2008, 13:57 pm
#226 vindicated: lol, in the starting lineup how many changes have been made?
habana for nokwe
FdP for ricky (is ricky cc material?)
schalk for luke
bekker for bakkies(injury enforced)
percy for conrad.
thats not too substantial now is it?
you amuse me.
the bench shows exactly two newcomers.
boks by 10.
12 Aug 2008, 13:57 pm
we need another andre venter in our bok team
12 Aug 2008, 13:58 pm
NEW ZEALAND:
15 Mils Muliania,
14 Richard Kahui,
13 Conrad Smith,
12 Ma’a Nonu,
11 Sitiveni Sivivatu,
10 Dan Carter,
9 Jimmy Cowan,
8 Rodney So’oialo,
7 Richie McCaw (c),
6 Jerome Kaino,
5 Ali Williams,
4 Brad Thorn,
3 Greg Somerville,
2 Andrew Hore,
1 Tony Woodcock.
Reserves:
16 Keven Mealamu,
17 John Afoa,
18 Anthony Boric,
19 Adam Thompson,
20 Piri Weepu,
21 Stephen Donald,
22 Isaia Toeava
#227 wooden spoon: agreed…definitely something we don’t know about
#216 MG:
You beat me to it. Anyone of 3 players, including Watson could have scored Spies’s try. Watson plays a very intelligent game at the breakdown, deciding when to compete and when to defend the fringes.
#146 SharkMarine:
Apparently not, or as far as I can find out.
#133 Tacitus:
Ray Mordt 12 tries
Gerrie Germishuys 12
Mark Andrews 12
Bob Skinstad 11
Schalk Burger Jnr 10
Juan Smith 10
Johann van Niekerk 10
#3 klippies101: Do you have ANYTHING that can corroborate that rumour? What Aussie paper did you read it in? Who was the journalist responsible?
12 Aug 2008, 13:59 pm
no dawn iam taliing in general the when the kiwi refs r involed alot of unfair calls r made againt theboks i think we need refs from the nh
ja it was im the west australian
I am a prophet indeed.
Last week when everyone had a clafoutis about Jonge, I told them all to relax, he won’t be seen in a Bok jersey again.
How true my words.
#241 Dawn: Thanx Dawn this fool knows nothing. Where you disappear to?
12 Aug 2008, 14:00 pm
remeber the ireland game john was told go nd talk to your players and when he did the ref called play on and ireland won the game all this while john was talking to the players
12 Aug 2008, 14:00 pm
So the all black team has been announced but webmaster won’t let me post it.
no surprises, only one change on the bench.
Looks a very good team indeed…..
12 Aug 2008, 14:01 pm
#243 flanka:
No sweat, Flanka.
I was confused.
Only a prop you know!!
How on Earth they can drop the MoM-matchwinner from Dunedin – Januarie – and replace him with a player that has not been fully-tested this season – du Preez – is beyond me. FdP is a fine player indeed but form is everything at this level. It shows nothing less than favouritism and could easily cause friction within the squad. Januarie virtually won that match on his own !
Big call.
i dont think jonge is that bad a player i still think tondi should be in the boks his pace is awesome him and habana in one team is great
I hope we drop the helter skelter “swing it, swing it, look to offload in every tackle, oops there’s another turnover, tackle, tackle, tackle” approach…
12 Aug 2008, 14:02 pm
#253 iori Yagami:
Lunch.
NOW HOW CAN I GET HOLD OF A KALASHNIKOV WATCH!
Nothing more irritating than they advertise on the homepage WITHOUT ANY CONTACT DETAILS
where di u see the all black team posted any suprisies?
#245 klippies101: Jean Deysel.
#244 rangerman: Boks by 10 – based on what – home ground advantage ?
Boks will be beaten at the scrum and smashed at the breakdown
12 Aug 2008, 14:03 pm
#260 BlackPanther: en jy is n eenoog monstertjie. gaan speel nou erens anders toe. idiot.
Good team. I would have had played Joe instead of Fluke and Ruan instead of Enrico……
He can take leave until Januarie….
Dawn:For your info,he didnt disappear.We all knew that he replaced Habana because of the injury.I cant believe you still call him a fool after what he did on sat.I think you are the fool as colour blinds your eyes…
corne should hand out the jersey at newlands on satday
\and teichman should hand em out at durbs agaisnt the aussies
12 Aug 2008, 14:04 pm
#251 klippies101: it ain’t mentioned anywhere on their website. Do you have the article in front of you? Do you have a scanner?
The pressure is mounting!
#260 Dawn: Nice one. where do you work?
#266 Virus:
Read my post again. Slowly.
did cornes bok team ever beat the abs?
#231 David: ja, funny bunch on here.
#240 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: yup.
#242 Crown as in Thomas: butch defo looked better when ricky went off and the ball wasnt bypassing him, flying over his head or he was having to catch it at arms length behind him
players are rotated and belong to a squad. its not about individuals(unlike the ANC), but gameplans and combinations.
12 Aug 2008, 14:05 pm
#267 klippies101: Corne who…. loose head cannon?
#270 iori Yagami:
Shell?
now thjis team just needs the mental hardness and self belief ….and they can go all hte way – and ofcourse outstanding fitness
no i dont sorry i got a call from a firend saying he had seen it i nthe aussie paper west australian but twas a back issue
12 Aug 2008, 14:06 pm
How do I get hold of a Kalshnikov watch?
12 Aug 2008, 14:06 pm
SPRINGBOK TEAM VS THE ALL BLACKS
15. Percy Montgomery – Mils Muliaina – Mils is better
14. JP Pietersen – Sivivatu – Sivi is better
13. Adrian Jacobs – Conrad Smith – even
12. Jean de Villiers – Ma ‘a Nonu – both have a different game, even
11. Bryan Habana – Richard Kahui – Bryan probably better, (more
experience), Kahui smarter;
10. Butch James – Daniel Carter – compete mismatch, Dan Carter is better by a mile
9. Fourie du Preez – Jimmy the boozer – same
8. Pierre Spies – Rodders – Rodders is better by a mile, Spies is retarded
7. Juan Smith – Richie McCaw – McCaw is better by a mile
6. Schalk Burger – Jerome Kaino – Schalk Burger is better.
5. Victor Matfield – Ali Williams – Williams these days, as Victor sucks with his 3 2 4, lost his mojo.
4. Andries Bekker – Brad Thorn – Thorn
3. CJ van der Linde – Somerville – Yoda better
2. Bismarck du Plessis – Andrew Hore – Hore (same)
1. Tendai Mtawarira – Woodcock – Woodcock better
12 Aug 2008, 14:07 pm
#267 klippies101:
Is that an opinion or a fact?
i really hope our attack improves under gold . ja but my friend did have a copy of the paper so i havent seen the article myself
pretty good team allthough i have my doubts over fdp,he’ll do everything right and won’t let the team down however i doubt that he’ll apply the same sort of pressure that rikki would’ve applied on carter,rikki’s also a better defender
#277 klippies101: can’t have been too far back, mate – the Aussies only made the announcement 4 days ago that they were going to allow foreign players into their squads. Bismarck is not eligible for Aussie selection, so under the old rules he would not have been able to play for an Aus team.
I think you’re basically being fed a load of ****, to be honest.
12 Aug 2008, 14:08 pm
#261 klippies101:
whats your IQ buddy? You seem a bit slow. You have come up with some of the most random comments i have ever seen.
#274 Tisme: hey dude! Where’ve you been hiding?
#278 Dawn: The Kalashnikov Watch shop is right next to the Kalashnikov Gun Shop !
12 Aug 2008, 14:09 pm
#264 klippies101: http://www.rugbyheaven.co.nz
just an opinion seens gary was such a great bok and sharks captain
dankie windhond
12 Aug 2008, 14:10 pm
#267 klippies101: I’ve heard that a law has been passed preventing Corne Krige from ever touching another Bok jersey again for as long as he lives. And rightly so.
#277 klippies101:
how many have you had today ? your spelling is really slurred
#213 Crown as in Thomas:
He had one moment of brillance… Woopdedooooo
He has the worst pass of any scrumhalf and constantly gets caught with the ball… Nuggety he is but thas it.. Oh and in your face with good defense.
12 Aug 2008, 14:11 pm
#275 Dawn: Oh nice in Cape Town? I wanted to apply there for inservice but the post was in Joburg.
#263 vindicated: you keep banging that drum chap. we havent been “smashed” at the scrum this year. beaten by the AB’s in the first test yes, but smashed no.
unlike your bunch of dunkin donut dirt eaters.
i base a 10 pt win for the boks on superior tactical kicking by percy, butch and FdP whilst the AB’s have dan………thats it.
we will win the lineouts with the tallest ever bok and matfield.
we will gain parity in the scrums.
the breakdowns? well thats the pearler aint it? we shall see but expect schalk to be back to his wrecking ball best.
the FdP/butch combo will do well. mark my words, the spark will be there on sat.
habana will be hungry, jpp safe again.
and yes, it is at home, with percy playing his 100th test.
boks by 10.
#264 Windhond_Sharks:
wie u roep idioot, neuk gesig
12 Aug 2008, 14:12 pm
ja well i put klippies in my cornflakes hard to spell after that
Is it true the Boks are out and about most evenings in the build up to this test, whilst the AB’s focus fully on a huge onslaught come Saturday?!
Where is my weatherguy vindicated? lol. What the weather for Saturday? Wonder maybe if I must slat a leka paar choppies on the kole.
12 Aug 2008, 14:13 pm
#255 Windhond_Sharks:
They’ve posted it on a seperate thread. I’d sue if I were you.
12 Aug 2008, 14:14 pm
#293 rangerman: good luck – i hope you’re right
#282 robdylan: Not Aussie…. Western force, its not uncommon for a player to play a S14 season at an oposing country franchise…. ask ex bok capyain Andre Vos? With JS back wher is Bismark going to get game time?
Nice to see youngsters like, Andries Bekker and Pierre Spies, been shown some confidence by the coaching staff and selectors alike.
This will only do them good in the long run. They are both excellent athletes who will go from strength to strength the more they play.
I do feel sorry for Joe van Niekerk though because he really is playing well at the moment and seems to be enjoying his rugby, which is a good sign.
12 Aug 2008, 14:15 pm
iam off to graze food is calling check u okes later
sharks to win the currie cup
#285 robdylan:
I wouldn’t put it past the Aussie to have already approached players before they made it legal.
12 Aug 2008, 14:16 pm
#297 iori Yagami:
Yep
12 Aug 2008, 14:17 pm
GOOD TEAM
Would have started 1.Guthro,9.Januarie(best in the game at pressurising opposite halfbacks-Cowan not exactly CLASS),8.Joe(EXPERIENCE)
But this team can beat the AB’s
Big loss in Bakkies but Thorn isnt international class as an enforcer IMO-(ex:Botha,O’Connel,Shaw,Pelous) so he doesnt intimidate the Boks.He is a more athletic version of Greg Rawlison.Nothing to fear there,as a jumper he is decent but hardly dominant.
BIG game for Spies
Lets go Mr De Villiers
Lets GO BOKKE!!!
Boks by +3
#283 Sonito:
Too much Klippies and Cola???
#282 Dawn:
Kalashnikov SA
The Coach House
13 Belvedere Road
Muizenberg
Cape Town
021 788 9343
info@kalashnikov.co.za
#308 klippies101: Klippies101 to grow a brain !
#300 klippies101:
NOW WHERE CAN I GET ONE OF THOSE WATCHES !!!
12 Aug 2008, 14:18 pm
why dies joe want to go overseas anyway he should stay and build his place in the bok squad
12 Aug 2008, 14:19 pm
#308 klippies101:
Damn right!!!!
#316 klippies101:
His mother needs the commission.
why msut i grow a brain i saw they will win
12 Aug 2008, 14:20 pm
john plumtree is a good coach
#315 Dawn: Get the AK 1000 Limited Edition.
#40 Tacitus:
So a simple question then, WHO is the WATSON in the starting team if the GENUINE WATSON is on the bench.
His GHOST?
ja that true david money is a wrong reason to say where u play the pride of the jersey is important though crime is a factor to
12 Aug 2008, 14:21 pm
Boks by 30…….
#315 Dawn: Wats so cool about these watches?
#299 BlackPanther: ja,ja….moenie eers probeer nie. ek het maar n ou dik vel seunie…hou jou kak posts van die site af asb.
12 Aug 2008, 14:22 pm
#321 katman: What the retail on one of those?
12 Aug 2008, 14:22 pm
whis the boks forward coach muir is the assistant and gold is the backline right?
12 Aug 2008, 14:23 pm
Just win the game I dont care by how much…. 1 point is all it takes.
#323 klippies101:
The only crime that Joe’s been subjected to was committed by his hairdresser in CapeTown.
#313 katman:
Thanks
#325 iori Yagami:
They’re personally signed by Jacob Zuma.
12 Aug 2008, 14:24 pm
wow mauler i wish we could beat the abs but 30 thats postive thinking
when will keo rolls the bones and let us know the score
#328 klippies101:
The other way around.
joes hair is bad true but not as bad as phil waughs he looks like the hunchback
of notre dame
12 Aug 2008, 14:25 pm
#332 David: Lol. That makes them priceless
12 Aug 2008, 14:26 pm
davind wat do u mean the other way around sorry iam slow today
12 Aug 2008, 14:26 pm
good day everyone
I reckon with the squad thats there , it is a good team
i’d say 90 % of us would have chosen this team from the sqaud he has
as they say you cant make everyone happy
12 Aug 2008, 14:27 pm
jacob zooma and oom steve hoffmeyer for presidents
#335 klippies101: phil waugh is the original biker from the rocky horror picture show.
#97 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: And since when is Zane Kirchner a Shark? Or is there something us Sharks supporters should know?
12 Aug 2008, 14:28 pm
donnu much abt this Watson dude, why does ever1resent him so much….from what i can tell it has nothing to do with his rugby playing ability….and i dont think he can do much right either………heaven forgive prejudice…….
#327 iori Yagami: I think they vary from model to model. The Limited Edition AK 1000 is a great looking watch, but costs over R3000 – definitely the nicest watch they have. A mate of mine has one. I can’t justify that expense.
whats that thing round matfields arms i heard it protects a bome he once broke
well id have been happier with bj there and bakkies
and JF there , but adi has been good so i dont see him letting us down
#333 klippies101:
My boner has spoken…
12 Aug 2008, 14:29 pm
#326 Windhond_Sharks:
ek is verras hulle laat u rondrits die net gedurende die skool klasse. tee hee.
spies wears one also
#69 klippies101:
You kidding right….he shouldnt even be in the WP team…..he is unfortunately past his sell-by date
12 Aug 2008, 14:30 pm
Guys I was very concerned when Bakkies got injured, I even said so yesterday. But last night I had a look at a couple Super 14 games and the tests so far and I actually think that Bekker may prove some if us wrong. In the short term he may be the awnser to filling in for Bakkies but I still think longterm he will be a Matfield.
12 Aug 2008, 14:30 pm
good afternoon sharksgirl hun
eish our sharkies waking up again !!!
12 Aug 2008, 14:31 pm
#341 Sharksgirl:
Please no…
12 Aug 2008, 14:33 pm
#343 katman:
Egad.
Are they off their trolleys?
#336 iori Yagami: Yasakani no Magatama
Afternoon folks! Glad to see Beast in the run on side. Awesome team for Sat!
#344 klippies101:
Jy’s kuk snaaks!
12 Aug 2008, 14:34 pm
sucks brad barrit will be leaving the sharks
12 Aug 2008, 14:34 pm
#342 NY_Agent: he thinks playing for the springboks is his birthright and unfortunatly so does Pdv
12 Aug 2008, 14:35 pm
#341 Sharksgirl:
Girlfriend, i’m confused?
12 Aug 2008, 14:35 pm
whos going to fill that centre gap now
12 Aug 2008, 14:36 pm
adi and murray full time centres for the sharks could be lekker
#360 klippies101:
Yo klippies what did you have for lunch?
Told you Percy would start! Conrad watch and learn!
GO BOKKE!
well lets jsut support watson when he plays foir the boks cause if he plays well and we win nothing lost
12 Aug 2008, 14:37 pm
chips i wanted some chilli mussels and ice cold coke
12 Aug 2008, 14:37 pm
mmm nandos would be good
12 Aug 2008, 14:38 pm
#337 klippies101:
Gold is forward coach and Muir backline.
Waugh IS the hunchback of Notre Dame.
Players that will have the most pressure on them:
- FdP: Selected ahead of Januarie based on 20 minutes of (admittedly brilliant) play against an Arg team that was already beaten.
- Bekker: Big shoes to fill
- Spies: Is he up to the physical side of things against the AB’s or is he just a show pony?
- Butch: Looked better against Arg, but his form against the top teams this year has been far from his best.
So we’r going into this match without a true fetcher and a no8? Hard times ahead for the Bokke
#365 klippies101:
No chilli mussels at the shop?
12 Aug 2008, 14:39 pm
#367 David: Quasimodo? Now that name rings a bell.
12 Aug 2008, 14:39 pm
#368 siener: We all know Spies is a show pony. He’s proven that over and over again.
12 Aug 2008, 14:40 pm
Oh pleeeeeeez change the Watson subject ….. more tiring than conversations bout the weather
12 Aug 2008, 14:40 pm
great bok team. let’s just hope the game plan is suited to this type of occassion i.e test match rugby. none of this helter skelter bollocks from our own tryline. lets play the game in their half and dominate physically. the scoreboard will take care of itself. especially with the awesome backline we have combined with our potent lineout.
great that percy and fdp are in the mix from the get go.
go bokke!
12 Aug 2008, 14:41 pm
#371 sondebok:
Oooh!
12 Aug 2008, 14:41 pm
#350 Pompa: Agreed I was impressed with Bekker on Saturday as well put in some good tackles and looks like he is settling down in the squad now.
12 Aug 2008, 14:44 pm
Much better team, alot more settled backline with the 9/10 combination from the world cup as well as the 11/14/15 combination and the 8/9 combination from the S14 when the bulls won.
I am a little more concerned with the forwards though, if we get mauled up front like the Ausies did a few weeks ago, it wont matter how settled or experienced our backline is. Schalk and Bissie are going to have to compete like rabid dogs against Richie and Rodney if we are to get any decent ball.
Joe should have been there instead of Watson and BJ in front of CJ who should have taken Mujatis place on the bench.
Otherwise no real complaints, much better side.
12 Aug 2008, 14:44 pm
ja they had chilli mussels i just didnt think of it till it was to late
12 Aug 2008, 14:45 pm
i heard ross the other stormers lock is going overseas also is this true
12 Aug 2008, 14:45 pm
We should be tighter against the AB’s until we become more accustomed to the running game we are aiming to play. On saturday though we looked alot like an AB team running a NH team into submission
12 Aug 2008, 14:46 pm
i think mose tuialie is better than rodney but he has never made the abs
12 Aug 2008, 14:47 pm
Probably the best team we can field at the moment. But i agree on Guthro for Mujati
12 Aug 2008, 14:47 pm
#377 Biggles: I meant the 11/14/15 combination is the same as from the world cup in case any of you were confused by my poor sentence structure.
12 Aug 2008, 14:48 pm
#382 grunt:
Mujati can prop 1 and 3, which probably makes him a better option.
12 Aug 2008, 14:49 pm
#283 hater: Thats why the AB are the WC and not the springboks
are the boks going to keep these new skin tight jerseys for ever i like the old school jerseys like the old lion lager ones
#379 klippies101:
Yup.
12 Aug 2008, 14:50 pm
i wonder if the abs r going to keep the bledisloe cup i dont know if they can beat the aussies in brisbane then they play in hong kong right ?
12 Aug 2008, 14:50 pm
#386 klippies101: Not sure about those old jerseys. The guys looked like they were playing in tents. Suppose you have to keep up with technology so these tight ones will continue
12 Aug 2008, 14:51 pm
should be a good game no home crowd advantage i heard the boks will play the aussies in dubai next year
12 Aug 2008, 14:51 pm
#377 Biggles:
why does joe have to be ther instead of watson ,why can’t he be there instead of spies
12 Aug 2008, 14:52 pm
#384 David: You mean Mujati is “roumoured” to prop 1 & 3…….
Oh, for the love of money, I would have liked to see Heinke v’d Merwe and / or BJ Botha as the Bokke props….
12 Aug 2008, 14:52 pm
ja thats right corndog those jerseys were really baggy but alot of bok legends wore those jerseys i like the jerseys from the frik du preezdays
12 Aug 2008, 14:54 pm
#391 st.a.t.w: Agree I would have prefered Joe in the starting line up Spies has to play with one of those big colored beach balls, he can’t catch a thing this year. Joe seems like less of a liability
12 Aug 2008, 14:55 pm
it seems to me that a coach will always leave some special player according to the blogs here.(where is BJ, Joe, Kanko; include them where is X, Y, Z)…….here is a story many of ungreatful bunch may relate to….
Once there was a child born blind, he always believed that evry1 was cheating him of sumthing coz he was blind….if they gave him a glass of coke, he wud say im sure ever1 has their own litre. Give a piece of chicken he woud moan abt every1 one eating a full chicken….one day his mum gave him a full chicken, he moaned and said if he got a full chicken evry1 arnd the table must be eating half a sheep……goes to show the lengths PDV went to satisfy the needy Saffa fans, but they will always see the player he left out…..not the 14 players that he got in……..sad…..
12 Aug 2008, 14:56 pm
#380 Corndog: Yes thats what I say too. Must keep it tight against the Ab’s until we can play better at the attacking game. It will come with time but for now just keep it tight. That way we will have a much better chance at winning the game come Saturday.
#391 st.a.t.w:
Because anyone is an improvement on Watson.
Well well well…I see even Tacitus is happy with this team!
This is a very very strong side! Habana’s had a rest and Pieterson is beginning to find form again. I think at some point Steyn will come on for Adi too which will be the perfect impact once Nonu starts slacking off at the 60 minute mark.
Hopefully CJ and Beast will come through for us in the scrummaging dept, we looked good last week. Would really like to see them start blooding Heinke Van Der Merwe in the less important games. I reckon Bekker will stand up to the challenge and might get subbed for Danie later in the game which is fine as PDV seems to LOVE using his subs.
My only concern is whether Spies plays a tight enough game at ruck time to counter the All Black breakdown dominance (and our weakness). He needs to start getting stuck into that facet of play if ever wants to become a truly great and well rounded player.
I reckon we’ll take em!
12 Aug 2008, 14:57 pm
#391 st.a.t.w: That could also be an option, this is going to be Spies’ biggest test to date i feel.
If he shows that he cant handle the physicality, then he must go. He was pretty good on saturday though, albeit against what was basically an Argentinian club sde.
12 Aug 2008, 14:58 pm
#395 NY_Agent: why not hit him with a stick?
or chuck little pebbles at him?
12 Aug 2008, 14:59 pm
#381 klippies101:
That could have been said about 2/3 seasons back.But Rodney is now clearly the best 8 in NZ..even the world along with Sergio Parisse(ITALY)
Tuiali’i is going to struggle to keep his place ahead of young Nasi Manu at Canterbury next season.His time has come and gone
12 Aug 2008, 15:00 pm
gbs boet n voorry met heinke , smitty , bj sal enige scrum pap druk
12 Aug 2008, 15:01 pm
#389 Corndog: the tight ones look especially nice in pink, like the ones Stade Francais wear.
12 Aug 2008, 15:01 pm
i think spies is rusty cause of his long health battle but he will come right in no time
12 Aug 2008, 15:02 pm
#397 blhoo:
Nou soek jy vir marakkas!
Ek vermy daai naam deesdae.
12 Aug 2008, 15:02 pm
#282 Dawn: why would anybody want a kalashnikov watch? it’s the chronographic equivilent of a hummer.
12 Aug 2008, 15:03 pm
I must say I am not worried. This all-black side is probably the most mediocre to have set foot on SA soil in about ten years. That said even a mediocre All Black side is no cake walk. But I reckon we can beat them fairly easily, even without our first choice or second choice enforcer, our first or second choice outside centre and a vulnerable scrum, and even playing under new rules that our style of play is not suited to.
12 Aug 2008, 15:03 pm
#401 mshiniwami:
Buddy, your knowledge is impressive.
12 Aug 2008, 15:04 pm
which is better omega rolex or tag
12 Aug 2008, 15:04 pm
#374 stormbokbefok: Yes no daft running on our try line. If we do that they will just nail us there. Just have to boot the damn thing up and out. Pleased Percy is back for that. Jantjies is great but always just runs with the ball on our try line and thats daft. Cant do that against the Ab’s. Play it tight and MUST be very physical they hate that especially Carter. Yeah, really pleased that FdP is back. Just wish that big Joe was on the bench. Well I suppose Watson to cover for Burger for just incase but would have had Big Joe. Also like it that Danie is on the bench. Great team this . We should win this if we play smart.
12 Aug 2008, 15:05 pm
the reoson why spies peformd better on saturday was cause the boks were running away with the game and that’s the type of game he likes to play,
against the blacks the game is gonna be much tighter and everyone of the forwards is gonna need to do their part,that includes spies and victor matfield
#403 sondebok: Agree they should let all teams that wear tight jerseys have jerseys in pastel colors.
#409 klippies101: casio, with a calculator.
12 Aug 2008, 15:07 pm
#406 the peanut gallery:
12 Aug 2008, 15:08 pm
#305 Tisme: ja, but that was the old days. Ozmob have had a ruling in place that only players eligible for Wallaby selection can play in the Super 14.
#405 Pietman: Ja want Cheeky se familie blog ook hier.
#394 Corndog: Had a little laugh there. Not sure why Spies is not holding onto the ball this year. Last year he was great. Maybe he will have a cracker of a game Saturday.
12 Aug 2008, 15:10 pm
#63 katman: Sorry all, I know I’m WAY behind here, but that’s the most sense spoken about Watermelon Watson this week.
Sure, he is a decent player, and yes, he had an OK game on Saturday, for a frikking CENTRE!
I think he’s too small, too light and possibly too scared to roll his sleeves up and get his hands dirty. That’s where he belongs, NOT out in the backline away from the ball and looking for that one glory pass.
12 Aug 2008, 15:10 pm
#417 Puma: Hope so for our sake, maybe they can sew some bells into the ball or something
12 Aug 2008, 15:11 pm
#409 klippies101: Breitling
12 Aug 2008, 15:11 pm
#411 st.a.t.w: I agree with you fully there. As i said, its going to be his biggest test to date. To see wether he can play the tight game well.
I hope he does because he is a freak of nature and SA are alot better off with him playing well.
On another note, i see Freddie Michalak has said that kankowski is the most talented rugby player he has seen in SA. He said that he was from ‘another planet’ and that, barring injuries, could be one of the best no.8s ever to play the game.
12 Aug 2008, 15:12 pm
PdV managed the whole Percy situation very well. That Monty is playing his 100th test match at Newlands, against the All Blacks nogal; this is what you call a bok dream come true.
Truly a dream come true. I’m happy to see this moment come to pass and all i can pray for is that the man does not pickk up an injury this week.
413 good one katman
wat bout the watch michael knight had
it could talk to cars thats some watch
#392 grootblousmile:
Then you can add Sephaka to that list..Has been the “Rock of Gilbraltar(spelling???) since coming back from France.He is the form Tighthead in the CC better than BJ/Jannie at present.Destroyed Guthro last week.
But BJ/Heinke-prone to penalties due to “questionable” scrumming techniques.(As pointed out aplenty by Drotske/Hansen etc),plus their dimunitive size renders them a little light come cleaning time.Lastly mobility and skills wise they are not up to standard.
i kno tighthead will have my “***” for the above.But if we have to pick them,it should only be one in the XV.both at once we lose too much else(breakdowns etc)-(ex:Guthro,Bismark,BJ or Heinke Bismak,CJ etc)
Mujati will come good,great prospect.Ability wise he is on par with Heinke but better in the loose.Remenber Heinke also didnt dominate Jones(Welsh 3) last yr-so he is also a work in progress.So easy with the “saviour of Bok scrum” praise on Heinke/BJ.
12 Aug 2008, 15:13 pm
#412 Corndog: Absolutely. And the socks can be luminous green, 80`s style legwarmers.
12 Aug 2008, 15:14 pm
#401 mshiniwami:
I think Rodney is useless
12 Aug 2008, 15:14 pm
#423 klippies101:
12 Aug 2008, 15:15 pm
#22 Tacitus: Yes its a good team, but would you not have had Big Joe instead of Watson? I know if Burger got injured then maybe Watson can fit in there but Spies also played there in 2006 and was quiet good.
12 Aug 2008, 15:15 pm
and rainbow coloured scrum caps
12 Aug 2008, 15:16 pm
#418 thefeather: and exactly the same can be said about matfield.
so why when vic spends the whole game out in the backs does no-one critisize him?
When is SA gonna join the medal table at the Olympics ?
#429 klippies101:
What’s the name of the shop that sell chilli mussels?
Imagine they bring in a system where each team is allowed to veto one of the opposing players before a match.
We’d veto Carter. I wonder who they’d veto?
12 Aug 2008, 15:17 pm
#421 Biggles:
yes i think kanko is slightly better then spies ,but both of them need to give more attention to the tight facets of their game
#431 vindicated:
Here we go.
olypics smimpics who cares . sa will win gold at nuaghts and crosses
#431 vindicated:
We are boycotting the Olympics.
#425 sondebok: welcome back! how was the trip? eat any oysters off the rocks in coffee bay?
12 Aug 2008, 15:18 pm
#419 Corndog: Hahahaha. Good one.
12 Aug 2008, 15:19 pm
You have it wrong with Spies, Juan must get stuck in how many times does he ( Juan) receive the ball on outside centre, Number 8 should be there not 7,
Luke was the vrot kol he should get his nose in the gound and let Spies/ BJoe do the the running. but in stead he wants to get the shine. Luckely Sckalk is back.
Spies/Big joe/Kanko/Koster are all Gary Teichman types not Straulli, or J Cronje types
#431 vindicated: One day when there’s a huge boicot of the Olympics and it is only us and Zim competing.
#433 WP Till I Die: Reckon Schalk.
12 Aug 2008, 15:20 pm
i haven’t seen a south african fullback this year that looked so good under the high ball as jantjes looked on saturday not even percy is that good under the highball but he does bring other quilties to the side
12 Aug 2008, 15:20 pm
#431 vindicated: The games have only just started. Lets talk about that next week.
12 Aug 2008, 15:21 pm
#436 klippies101:
klippies wat is die naam van die winkel met die chilli mussels!
12 Aug 2008, 15:22 pm
did’nt percy miss a couple of crucial penalty kicks in the dunedin test
12 Aug 2008, 15:22 pm
People please don’t bother answering vindicated’s **** questions.
12 Aug 2008, 15:23 pm
#433 WP Till I Die: S. Burger of course. They fear him.
With PdV in charge i’d chill off Watson. Scheme it’s a wise thing to do.
Joe is in fine form and i would have chosen him ahead of Luke for this game but i wont diss Luke for making the team. The only thing i have to look forward to is the coaching decision which put Luke ahead of Joe and that unfortunately, can only be tested during the game.
#447 Dawn: Well said Dawn. Then maybe he will just go away.
12 Aug 2008, 15:24 pm
#441 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
What do you mean, Zim is way above us in the medal standings at the moment?
I think Komphela should call a meeting of this lot and demand some explanations.
Dis kuk hierdie dat ons so sleg vaar..hy moet sommer hulle paspoorte intrek.
12 Aug 2008, 15:25 pm
#426 Dawn:
Thats your perogative.
But the standard of No.8 play since Zinzan retired has been questionable.Only Ron Cribb showed similiar abilities but he was a hothead and retired early(went to Japan)
Rodney is the best around with Parisse.Not impressive though
12 Aug 2008, 15:26 pm
#424 mshiniwami: You’re right, Lorrie has had a couple of good games at Tight Head prop…
That said… I would still have loved to see Heinke at Loose Head Prop… with Beast on the bench.
I could not disagree more with you regarding Mujati…… but hey, everybody’s got their own opinion right ?
12 Aug 2008, 15:27 pm
vindicated
That to me is a very good question. SA has poor athletic standards.
The only thing we do well is to fight for years about which race should play hockey, swim or run only to find a waste of cash in the final analysis.
We are pathetic in athletics, we can’t even dominate the continent in most sports, whether track or field.
12 Aug 2008, 15:27 pm
oh the shop of the chilli mussels stis a friends winkel u wont know it
12 Aug 2008, 15:28 pm
#443 st.a.t.w: agree he did look could and is settling down nicely, I expect PdV to start with him in the 2 Aus tests but it is a big one for Percy and think he deserves a run on for his 100th.
#438 BuckT: Thanks Buck! The trip was fantastic, best holiday I`ve had. In fact, we liked the Kei so much we`re going back there next year to
do the hike from Port St.Johns to Coffee Bay. Huge mussels on the rocks, and fish was cheap to buy from local fisherman. Had some nice Dageraad
and Elf. Had a strange round of golf at Pezula though, out in 47 and back in 38! While in durban we went out for a fantastic curry with the Rangerman and
his lovely lady. How`s the little`un doing? Keeping you awake at night I suppose?
#454 madvillain: But we are the World Champions in Rugby!!!
12 Aug 2008, 15:29 pm
we r okay at swimming
#441 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Zim are there – they are 19th on the medal table
#455 klippies101:
Is it in Danville?
#441 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Zim wen ons met die medals
12 Aug 2008, 15:30 pm
no where in danville?
12 Aug 2008, 15:30 pm
Very pleased to see the Beast in the starting team. Best we can do, given the injured players, except for Adrian Jacobs who is an old hack. The sooner that bleskop retires the better.
12 Aug 2008, 15:31 pm
#459 klippies101:
Not any more!
12 Aug 2008, 15:31 pm
#451 Pietman: Kan nie dat hulle nou terug kom nie. Wat van die hele SAUK en hulle familie wat daar is om te gaan kyk?
12 Aug 2008, 15:32 pm
#463 klippies101:
Ek wil so graag Danville toe een dag maar niemand wil my tour guide wees nie.
12 Aug 2008, 15:33 pm
we need to have some crime related events at the olympics then we will see some medals – hell the ones we don’t win outright we will steal anyway
100m plasma on your back dash
#460 vindicated: We do have some good marathon runners. So will wait for that event.
There’s a poll at rugbyheaven (the kiwi one) asking whether the AB line out will be able to handle the Boks on Saturday. So far more than 60% of people have voted yes.
Never say never, but I’d be bloody surprised if the AB’s have anything to counter Vic and Bekker.
ja i omnly knw one swimmer van biljoen
12 Aug 2008, 15:34 pm
#460 vindicated: Yes I think they have 2 medals. Ok….Swaziland then? Or do they also have a better synchronised swimming team than us?
12 Aug 2008, 15:35 pm
#465 Dawn: How was the interview?
12 Aug 2008, 15:35 pm
#464 ansie: Shut it, groot krokodil.
12 Aug 2008, 15:36 pm
#468 adj nm: If crime was part of the olympics not one would beat us. We would be certain for a gold medal there!!!
#473 sondebok:
The interviewer never pitched.
#468 adj nm: Hehehehehe…while someone is shooting at u.
#469 Puma: Is Mulaudzi running in the 800m?
#466 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
Wonder waar kry hulle die geld.
Dis sommer hier naby my en ek sien nie kans nie, die mense vertel my dis donners duur daar.
Praat nie eens van die hotelle nie, sommer net kaartjies en alledaagse uitgawes.
12 Aug 2008, 15:37 pm
#467 Dawn: het jy nie “song vir katryn” gekyk nie, dit het deels in Danville afgespeel
12 Aug 2008, 15:37 pm
#479 Pietman: Waar dink jy?
12 Aug 2008, 15:38 pm
#470 siener: They must have it wrong, must be 6% have voted yes!! hahahaha. Just because they were better than Oz in the line does not mean that they are going to win that battle with us. Don’t think so even if Bakkies is not there with big Vic.
i saw today in the news that the cops here r so underfunded tis like 1 cell phone to 5 cops eish
WOW, that must be a first… no one said that stupid “Dragons” thing… what ever its suppose to mean.
12 Aug 2008, 15:39 pm
#478 katman:
Yep, he is in with a chance.
We could also surprise in the mens 4 X 400mm relay. LJ and Alwyn are not to shabby.
I’m really impressed with Luke Watson, though. He have up a place on the Beijing team – and an almost certain medal in the one mile cross-country watermelon carry – to focus on the tri-nations. That’s pretty selfless.
#472 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Zim has Silver and Bronze, both for one girl in the swimming…….
#478 katman: Not sure.
#464 ansie:
That “old hack”-Jacobs is the best runner into space in the country at present(only back intelligent enough to take advantage of fwds/backs mismatches so far),hasnt put a foot wrong on defence(which every1 questioned),best distributive 13 in the country.Fourie is better at one thing only-ROCK SOLID on Defensive-good basics.
Even if Fourie was fit,Jacobs would have started.
You might not rate him but he is playing well.
12 Aug 2008, 15:40 pm
#486 katman: ag nee man katman….
dis te laat in die dag hiervoor!!!!!
12 Aug 2008, 15:41 pm
Our swimmers will do better in the short courses I think, (actually I hope)….they are good in the 50m individual events
#475 Puma: You underestimate your fellow countrymen. If crime was an Olympic event it would have to be cancelled because the SA team would have already stolen all three medals before the opening ceremony got under way.
#476 Dawn: Wasn`t for a government position by any chance was it?
#489 mshiniwami:
Don’t even bother. The hopeless bleck is Ansie’s tired old sh*t stir …
12 Aug 2008, 15:42 pm
#486 katman: Our only medal hope!
This is definately the best team available and we will be able to send the ABs back home with their tails between their legs!!! If I could I would have made one change – Wickus for Watson!!!
#476 Dawn: maybe someone warned him / her
12 Aug 2008, 15:43 pm
#487 EEE: Seker paar keer oor die Limpopo geswem…….
12 Aug 2008, 15:43 pm
#492 siener: Hahahahahaha. Good one.
12 Aug 2008, 15:44 pm
#478 katman:
Watch young Kgotso Mokoena..World junior champion a couple of yrs ago.World indoor champ 2008(triple jump)
Hasnt been much coverage for Malaudzi these olympics….
#496 Bullsh1t: YES!!!! I would have too. Wickus for Watson any time.
Crikey okes. Both the Zim medals were taken by Kirsty Coventry, who lives in the United States. She was just born in Zimbabwe.
#430 the peanut gallery: I guess that’s a simple answer. Vic is there to catch lineout balls and he does that exceptionally well.
Watson is there as a fetcher… you finish the sentence.
wazza i think the drangons thing has something to do with the welsh
#486 katman:
Picnic basket? Check. Screwdriver? Check. Rubber gloves? Check. Cigars? Check. Sleeping bag? Check. Calendar? Check. Pokemon cards? Check. Coat hanger? Check. Mayonnaise? Check. Aspirin? Huh? Aspirin is not on the list. What if I get a headache? Why would you get a headache? Why wouldn’t I? Oh for Pete’s sake, I’ll bring some Disprin, just for you. The kind you don’t have to dissolve? Okay, yes, the kind you don’t have to dissolve. Can we carry on now? Sure, elastic bands? Check. Flippers? Check. Spade? Check. Gravy boat? Check. Check. I didn’t say anything. No, I mean check there. Oh. Sunglasses? Check. Picture frame? Check. Okay, last but not least, white Speedo thong? Check. That’s it. We’re ready. Where’s Adam?
12 Aug 2008, 15:45 pm
#497 vindicated: I think it was Dawn who was going to be interviewed.
#489 mshiniwami: I agree, Adi has been a revelation since he was selected again. He has been impressive and doesn’t die with the ball. Jacque Fourie is not that solid on defence his first tackle back he went in with two hand bags and came away with a fractured cheek.
Just think what a team we will have if Bakkies anf Jacques is fit – better than last years WC team!!!!!
#498 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: LOL met ‘n croc op my gat sal daar ook ‘n paar rekords spat. Ek sal ge-disqualified word omdat ek op die water hardloop
#498 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: hehehe dink sy was jaaaare laas in ZIM sy oefen ook saam met Ryk hulle in Amerika
any facebook users here
12 Aug 2008, 15:46 pm
#495 adj nm: Well, we still have an outside chance at a podium spot with Ollie in the 10m platform bomb. He’s put a lot of work into his technique.
#500 mshiniwami:
Should be an interesting tussle with Phillips Oduwu (Great Britain) then. GB rating Phillips as one of their better gold medal prospects
#506 Spill the Beans: New meds?
#500 mshiniwami: I forgot about him.
12 Aug 2008, 15:47 pm
#480 EEE:
Ja maar ek wil self gaan!
Het elke episode gekyk, ek is Valiant se grootste fan.
12 Aug 2008, 15:47 pm
#506 Spill the Beans: rantings of a slightly disturbed person?
12 Aug 2008, 15:48 pm
#508 Corndog:
It wasn’t handbags. Jacque was trying to kiss the Argie on the cheek hence went in lips first. Those Argie boys are a pretty bunch you know
12 Aug 2008, 15:48 pm
#501 Puma: Wikus was nowhere on Friday night. Outplayed by both the Lions’ flankers.
12 Aug 2008, 15:49 pm
#517 Dawn: Dan sal ek jou moet vat skattie, ons sal iets moet reel as jy eendag hierbo uitkom……..kan net nie te stadig deur die strate ry nie, jy sal vinnig moet kyk, is ban die kinners steel die hubcaps vand ie wiele af…..
i see in sa rugbys latest issue oillie le roux says he is one of the gresatest ever
#509 Bullsh1t: Yes agree. Would have been great to have Bakkies and JF. Think that the Ab’s must feel relief that Bakkies is not there so will the Aussies. I really felt for JF picking up that injury on Saturday. Still rate him over Adi although Adi has played some good rugga.
#510 adj nm: #505 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
Gesien van daai arme Zimbo wat van Beitbrug afgeval het ?
Lelike storie.
Voordat hulle hom kon red het hy twee krokodille opgevreet.
12 Aug 2008, 15:50 pm
#521 EEE: ban=bang
ja that was a dumb tackle by fourie he should have gone low
#513 katman: I heard him and Toks van der linde has also enetered the synchronized bomb event – apparently they emptied an entire olympic sized pool in practise yesterday. Should be two medals then – level with zim
#520 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Still rate him over Watson.
12 Aug 2008, 15:51 pm
#524 Pietman:
Ok ek moet groet al die mensies….lekker aand vir julle
#512 klippies101: lol
#513 katman:
Luke would make a good weightlifter.
i want a celebrity mms from roxy louw.
12 Aug 2008, 15:52 pm
#354 WP-Matador: Finally someone is speaking my language here. Do you have the Kusangi blade? Cause I want it. lol
12 Aug 2008, 15:52 pm
#522 klippies101: sy kop raas.
12 Aug 2008, 15:53 pm
#534 sondebok: howdy sonde!
but i have never liked the boks tackle method i think we always go to high
#513 katman: Ollie and Richard Bands…synchronised….will be awesome.
12 Aug 2008, 15:54 pm
Supposedly Breyton almost got picked for the mens gymnastics floor event. Reckon those flick flacks are wereld klas. Instead turned it down to focus on his career as an in studio k*k talker, ooops sorry man, meant in studio host thinga-ma-jiggy
12 Aug 2008, 15:54 pm
#529 EEE: Werk lekker halfdag nê
12 Aug 2008, 15:55 pm
#522 klippies101: maybe the greatest mullet ever he really makes the mullet speak towards the end of his 5 mins on the field.
#528 Puma: Me too.
#534 sondebok:
Spill the Beans se kop raas vreeslik.
#506 Spill the Beans:
Are you preparing for roadkill trip? Can I come too?
i am not sure that roxy will be my REAL friend though.
she may be usig me to save for a kalishnikov watch.
in which case i am not going to give her the time of day.
#536 klippies101:
Forget the tackling bit, I just like getting high …. on life, of course
i agree with your thinking on joe. definatley more solid than luke. also i do rate jantjies but feel that he is more for the future. the best way to bring him along is to let him come off the bench after percy has kept things nice and tidy i.e kept the opposition honest and on the back foot. we HAVE to play for position, especially earlier on in the game. once the game opens up then bring on conrad and company.
also am very perplexed at the continued absence of b.j. botha. surely it’s in our best interests to let the young guns learn from him. even if he is leaving, at least keep him involved for now.
i do wonder what a rugby brain like robbie deans would do with all the talent that pdv has at his disposal…?
# sondebok: sounds like you had a great time…obvioulsy took you nine holes to walk off the Dageraad!!!! hehe oh was that a fish? you hit a 4 wood for your second at hermanus? must have been into the teeth of a howling south easter!!
12 Aug 2008, 15:56 pm
#527 adj nm: I’m worried about Toks though. His focus isn’t what it should be. And the Yanks have sent a very big bombing team. One guy – a real rags to riches story about a father of two who’s life had collapsed – was found sleeping in the bushes next to a public pool. At night he would practice his bombing from the 3m board. They call him the Bag Dad Bomber. I’m worried.
#516 katman: hey there, what are you giving the little guy to ease his discomfort?
when wil the brittish lions tickets go on sale
12 Aug 2008, 15:57 pm
#539 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: was al 06h15 by die werk …..hehehehe werk al eintlik oortyd….
lekker aand almal…bye
#523 Puma: A fit JF is in a class of his own. Adi not even close.
#535 rangerman: How`s it going? How`s your subsistence-fishing plan coming along?
I think Percy should die his hair canon ash white for the big occasion.
I must say his lokke is pretty impressive – almost in the same class as the legend Helgard Muller
#522 klippies101: pie eaters, read between the vines
12 Aug 2008, 15:58 pm
What time does Midmar close?
12 Aug 2008, 15:58 pm
ja fourie is a great centre and he has agression which i dont think adi has
12 Aug 2008, 15:59 pm
#555 Dawn: Dam or liquor store?
#552 sondebok: its on hold mate.
i may have to work for those blerrie beers after all.
#543 rangerman:
How dare the makers of this dubious timepiece misuse the name of the greatest firearm ever.
#552 sondebok: geting enough sleep so far, had a few shaky moments for a while, but going ok at the mome…..zzzzzzz…….zzzzz sorry moment!
12 Aug 2008, 16:00 pm
#557 katman:
The administrators will come back from the games and blame the athletes.
The reality is that we are going backwards at a hell of a pace, in spite of the fact that we have a talent pool that is massive in our country.
Reason is simple.
Our sport is governed by people who are self serving, incompetent, short sighted, racialistic and who believe they are more important than the athletes they are meant to serve.
One big gravy train!!
I have personal experience of this.
The tragedy is that, if this was not the case, we would be world beaters with our natural talent pool.
Cry the beloved country!!
#546 BuckT: He He, the Dageraad was a fish! Plenty of oke`s out there that will give you Dagga Raad though.
I was about 14 years old at the time of striking that shot into the 18th at Hermanus, I“d never hit a par 5 in 2 before that so I thought it would be a safe shot.. That old Hogan 4-wood with the bent shaft. I loved that club.
#549 klippies101:
Your blind drunk – i’m just waiting for the brail to appear on the screen
#559 Dawn: they timed it well though.
#548 BuckT: Whatever we can lay our hands on. Our latest attempt is Magnesium Phosphate tablets – dissolve 2 in 4ml of boiled cooled water and give him 2ml at a time.
12 Aug 2008, 16:01 pm
rangerman: have to say that i enjoy ur balanced views, and Mshini
#543 rangerman:
And then have the unadulterated nerve to charge the GDP of a small country for it.
We will win gold in the stone skimming! Fikkie Van der Klippiesteen is in the final!
Bring the Medal home BOKKIE!
Holy smokes Tenielle Gibbs is one costly stikkie
From IOL
“The notice was filed as part of her application for personal maintenance of R96 500 a month, which is expected to be heard on Friday.
His wife’s list of monthly expenses includes R25 000 for rent, R6 000 for groceries, R5 000 for petrol, R5 000 for clothing, R2 500 for skin products and toiletries, R2 500 for her cellphone, R2 500 for entertainment, R2 500 for holidays, R3 000 for a psychologist, R2 000 for an Apple Macbook with a 3G Internet connection, R10 000 for her credit card and life policies to the value of R5 000.”
Can treat myself to a new Russian wife (out of the box nogal) every second month for that kind of money.
Damn gold digger Tanielle
#515 sondebok: New meds? Check.
12 Aug 2008, 16:02 pm
#551 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Agree with that. Was hoping to see JF playing this Saturday. Well its not to be. Hope he gets over that injury quick.
#547 katman: Those $&%$&% Yanks – they just keep pumping out the Bomber champs – year after year. They just have a superior Fast Food chain network – Spur just cannot compete – McD’s, Burger King, Wendy’s, Carls Jnr, Jack in a box – and that is just burgers!
“R3 000 for a psychologist”
And then, Tenielle still has mental issues
Give us males a break lady
12 Aug 2008, 16:03 pm
#561 Dawn: Dunno, but Diamonds Liquor in Chiappini Street closes at 6. And Harleys in Buitengracht is open till after 8.
Oh, you wanted Midmar because they still do papsak?
PD Villiers continues to surprise and delight me! A great balance between experience and youth. Great for Andries Bekker, i am sure he will impress and perform the enforcer role required. A bit surprised about Joe Van Niekerk, Luke though deserves the bench job as he can fill the fetcher role should, heaven forbid, Schalk go down early.
We might get some medals in rowing – bit disappointed we didn’t pick anything up in swimming.
What surprises me though is the fact that we never compete at the shooting events – you’d think that, in a country like South Africa, competitive shooting would be second nature for us?
#567 NY_Agent: cheers.
mshini is more knowledgeable than me. but he is elusive.
#568 Dawn: ag, nz can afford it. they will have to sell some fijians back to fiji and some samoans back to samoa and some pakeha back to…….uh, they will have to keep the pakeha.
12 Aug 2008, 16:04 pm
#576 katman:
Of course!
12 Aug 2008, 16:06 pm
#566 katman: if you can, try and get hold of some colief, it’s a lactase based product from the UK, which was incredible…when you add it to the milk, it breaks down most of the lactose and makes the feed more easily digestible. check the website.
#545 stormbokbefok: With our huge depth and talent with a Coach like Robbie Deans coaching us we would be the best in the world for many, many years. He does not have a lot of players to work with in Oz and he is still making a difference there. Just really cant imagine how fantastic we would have been under him!!! Just makes us think hey!!
468 adj nm you forgot some toi toi’ng as well…….
12 Aug 2008, 16:07 pm
#576 katman:
Ben got colic?
12 Aug 2008, 16:07 pm
#570 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: this is a blatant case of a whitey ripping off the cullert come good.
its marital colonisation!
12 Aug 2008, 16:09 pm
#570 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Damn white ******* messing up the coloured guys lives. lol. Watch out Habana you are next lol.
12 Aug 2008, 16:09 pm
uh, scratch that……95k is perfectly reasonable if you live in a big city like cape town.
i was there once. i saw the bright lights on the mountin.
12 Aug 2008, 16:11 pm
#571 Spill the Beans:
Where you going on your roadkill trip?
#580 Dawn: Go to Harrigntons in Harrington Street. Cheapest bottlestore in the country I think. They close at 7, and they have a separate entrance and counter for bergies so the `clientele` won`t get their clothes soiled. Not that I`m calling you a bergie, just describing the store
#585 rangerman:
I say, lets those cullerts suffer. Once you go white, your wallet will never be orite
12 Aug 2008, 16:12 pm
#570 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: can Gibbs also claim his *** 5 times a week since he was acustomed to…..no wonder OJ butchered Nicole………
12 Aug 2008, 16:12 pm
then again, herschelle was always more george bush than jesse, more guns ‘n roses than bon jovi.
seems his wife found his stash though.
12 Aug 2008, 16:13 pm
When Jake was the coach you had to wait till the team was announced until you knew the squad. Now all you have to do is read Peter Bills, Keo’s and a few other articles and you know the side before hand.
The last time PDV selected a squad without help was in Wellington since then he appears to read the papers and then make his selections obviously excluding the diabolical benching of Percy in Perth, either that or Peter Bills and Keo have all of a sudden become very apt at reading the Bok coaches mind. They were certainly never this accurate in the past.
12 Aug 2008, 16:14 pm
I am Elvis!!
Stick to coloureds Herschelle they will treat you much better. And they know what you want.
#587 rangerman:
Lights, what lights? The only time Table Mountains is alight is when its burning
#590 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: ja, when i look at gibbs, i can always see the irish showing through.
something to do with the freckles i think.
#596 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Flashing Lights blinded herschelle
12 Aug 2008, 16:15 pm
#590 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
True.
Was Boezak’s downfall as well.
This woman is crazy, jeez, they have been rarely been married! What did she contribute towards his success?
Gibbs should put a contract out on her.
Well everyone is hypo again just like before Aussie in Perth because we had all our big ball carriers going into battle then, well we saw just how effective our big ball carriers where then with no ground ball specialist or link man, its going to be too much of the same again with Spies Smith and Burger not providing steals and effective ground ball coverage and with Roussouw off the bench more of the same.
McCaw So’ialo Kaino and Thorn might just be smacking their lips and getting ready for a field day.
Bismark and Bekker will no doubt have to be the fetchers.
#577 grant10:
“PD Villiers continues to surprise and delight me!”
Fully agree with that one, mate. It is exciting to have him around!
Having said that I would have started with Rosseau instead of Bekker and bring Bekker on for the second half. I am also a bit worried about the loose trio combination that comprises of 3 big ball carriers (bashers) who do not offer much counter to McCaw on the ground or in the playmaking (linking) department. We also had this problem against Australia in Perth and came up short. Luckily we have LW on the bench who will probably be on early in the second half .
This team should win.
12 Aug 2008, 16:16 pm
#591 NY_Agent: Well you know what they say: The only difference between *** you pay for and *** you don’t pay for is that *** you don’t pay for is a hell of a lot more expensive.
12 Aug 2008, 16:17 pm
#596 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: mustve been an hallucination.
you see, i was walking along and tripped, screaming as i did so, and swallowed a funny looking mushroom. the smurfs just got off it in time.
586 iori Yagami: nothing wrong with white gals, everthing wrong with their freinds with their advises……”clean him out girl, get the best lawyer in the country”…….poor Gibbs he is probably paying the Expensive QC as well…..hope he did’t give pot…..now he really need a puff….
Cheers mense! Lekker dag verder.
12 Aug 2008, 16:18 pm
#595 iori Yagami:
Cullerts chicks are far easier on the wallet. A walk around the Waterfront – window shopping only of course, a Kentucky zinger, a frozen yoghurt and you’re getting lucky in the backseat of your taxi in an empty Green Point parking lot.
White chicks want sit down dinners, roses, handbags and fancy apartments.
Nee wat, wit meisies is te duur.
12 Aug 2008, 16:19 pm
#603 rangerman: Infected Mushroom.
ok, i am out too.
enjoy the fine day wherever you are.
may everyones dreams come true (which is hard because teniel and herschelle find themselves with different dreams).
#604 NY_Agent: Ja that true. White girls are freaks though! lol
12 Aug 2008, 16:21 pm
#606 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Ja that true dude. and a leka papsak instead of uncle jack or mr.morgan.
#607 sondebok: i think so.
but i felt fine. infectious you could say (my laughter, thats it!).
#606 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: That’s pretty ****** specific, wouldn’t you say?
#22 Tacitus: no,no takkie……we won the s14.
and then Frans gave it to you ous, so he would not have to put up with you on KEO
12 Aug 2008, 16:22 pm
Cheers Rangy, always entertaining
12 Aug 2008, 16:23 pm
If one would make a video with all the ball that Luke fetched/turned over , I guarantee it would not be longer than 2min
12 Aug 2008, 16:23 pm
#612 katman: I think he has the experience from dating a coloured girl.
12 Aug 2008, 16:24 pm
i think i’ll take Tacitus’ s advise…..”make love to a beautiful lady only in strange places………” at least there are no come backsbn there………
12 Aug 2008, 16:24 pm
#611 rangerman:
Cheers mate!
You sound about as tired as what I am…
12 Aug 2008, 16:25 pm
#587 rangerman:
The bright lights on the mountain? Dude, were you perhaps smoking some giggle-twig?
12 Aug 2008, 16:25 pm
#612 katman:
Just like Johnny Depp, I know what a cullert women wants. They call me Don Juan DeGamat
12 Aug 2008, 16:26 pm
#134 Tacitus: love is in the air, everywhere I look around.
12 Aug 2008, 16:27 pm
#619 WP Till I Die:
Reckon he must have seen those lights after leaving a student “joint” in Obs somewhere
12 Aug 2008, 16:28 pm
#606 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
Speak for yourself.
12 Aug 2008, 16:28 pm
#606 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
I agree.
12 Aug 2008, 16:29 pm
#620 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
Listen. My moer is stooting.
Shut up.
12 Aug 2008, 16:30 pm
Should it not read KFC zinger and a frozen yoghurt?
12 Aug 2008, 16:31 pm
#620 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
I thought you were just Dom Gam van Makro.
lol……which ones shag better………
#624 WP Till I Die:
When I read that I was wondering what your views are.
Thought you also had strong views on the topic.
12 Aug 2008, 16:32 pm
“When I pull a piece out nigga’s like peace out” Ludacris- Breathe in Breathe out- College Dropout- Kanye West
#626 Sheriff:
Listen, as can be seen from the above, i get by on my charms not on my grammer and spelling
#628 NY_Agent: Coloureds obviously dude hahaha
#577 grant10: Yes agree with you there. A good balance between experience and youth. Just would have had Big Joe there. Thought he would be. I suppose we will need Watson for just incase anything happens to Burger. I think Burger will play the full 80 min if he is fully over his injury. Also maybe would have started with Danie. Spies too hope he has a good game this Saturday. Has not been the same player he was last year. Otherwise it looks like a good team.
12 Aug 2008, 16:34 pm
#627 WP Till I Die:
He, he, he, absolute classic
#628 NY_Agent:
Cullerts.
#629 Sheriff:
He agrees that coloured women are easily pleased by a Kentucky zinger and a frozen yoghurt and some cheap backseat f&%^k.
I is Elvis, mos!
12 Aug 2008, 16:35 pm
#629 Sheriff:
I have very strong views
Nothing like a Bonteheuwel Bokkie
12 Aug 2008, 16:35 pm
#632 iori Yagami: i hear the loss/lack of front teeth make the BJ really smooth…….
12 Aug 2008, 16:37 pm
#638 WP Till I Die:
Or a Lentegeur Liefie
#639 NY_Agent:
Nou pra’ jy mo’
531 Dawn: yes good call – Luke would have done well in the ladies under 52kg weightlifting “clean and jerk”. Am not so sure about the clean, but surely the jerk.
Highly pissed off that nobody’s getting medal. Ryk is 31 and too old now – also the swimming SA coach sounds like an ******* not liking any of the SA swimmers training and studying in the US. Maybe LJ (another boytjie from bloem like neethling and basson) can spring a surprise either individual or with the 4X400m.
Don’t we have anyone in the obscure sports, like the clay pigeon shooting or hand airgun or some such. Dammit, we have 4 years to plan and find talent.
#639 NY_Agent:
This is true!
12 Aug 2008, 16:39 pm
#636 Dawn:
Frozen yoghurt nogal hahaha.
Nee man Saffa guy…
12 Aug 2008, 16:42 pm
#644 Sheriff:
Interest rates and inflation are a killer my friend. Gotta save a few ronds and cents for those bleckie share offers that seem to be all the rage at mo. I’ve got big dreams you – wanna be rich in 10 years time.
#642 dirt-tracker:
I have a suspicion Luke is ten times the man you are
this a good balanced bok side with a good mental health i think we can win this tri nations
you = you know
12 Aug 2008, 16:44 pm
Anywayz, enuff of my sh*t talk for the day.
You ladies and gents enjoy the evening.
12 Aug 2008, 16:46 pm
#644 Sheriff:
Ja nogal!
12 Aug 2008, 16:47 pm
#645 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
I bet a few guys reading that here on keo will actually try that out. There at the Waterfront.
You wrote that there with a great deal of authority especially the sequence of events.
So when you see the KFC bag and they’re busy ordering frozen yoghurt, you know what’s going down ….
12 Aug 2008, 16:48 pm
if we can just stray from the smoothness of a toothless ******* and concentrate on whats at hand… (thats the ruckby and not a handjob desperadoes)… im worried about cj (not bj)… the oke doesnt know how to hold tight to the balls. hes too busy trying to slam it in there when running at the defense, and he always loses the ball prematurely out of his hand while he’s going down on the loosies.
12 Aug 2008, 16:48 pm
#644 Sheriff:
Hy ken nie die storie van frozen yoghurt nie.
Gee die cullarts brain freeze.
12 Aug 2008, 16:51 pm
#653 Dawn:
I think it’s a photo finish between the cullerts and the boertjies of who gets abused the most
12 Aug 2008, 16:55 pm
Very good run on side and a strong bench, Big Joe probably unlucky to lose out to Luke, but Luke can do the job from the woodwork. Ideal opportunity for Andries Bekker to stake a claim, can he take on the role of the enforcer ??, he brings extra option to the lineouts with that height of his. Fourie needs to kick intelligently from the base and turn the AB’s back three at the right time, poor kicking by Fourie and Butch could cost us the game. Percy to resume the kicking duties a plus factor in a tight game. 100 games unbelievable !!! Role on Saturday , I can’t wait !!!
12 Aug 2008, 16:56 pm
I only have one problem with the squad……we need another fetcher, Schalk should go to 8 and Wickus or Baywatch should be in at no 6.
#654 Sheriff:
Eskhually we likes Macdonalds milkshakes.
Cheers Dawn and others!
12 Aug 2008, 16:57 pm
Think that PDV has picked the best team avaliable to him at the moment, barring BJ. Would maybe have picked Big Joe befoe Spies, but not much between them so doe not really matter.
Really looking forward to a great game at Newlands on saturday. Are the AB’s staying at the BAY Hotel, cause heard that there newest employees name is SUZI
12 Aug 2008, 16:57 pm
WP till I die, the name says it all. Two awesome games against Griquas and Valke this season man. You missed Luke “powerlifter” Watson, but don’t worry, he will be back to save the WP season soon
12 Aug 2008, 17:01 pm
#660 dirt-tracker:
At least I don’t feel the need to insult other province’s players. Are you insecure?
12 Aug 2008, 17:03 pm
Guys one issue I want to raise and I am not sure if it has been discussed on the site, if it has please ignore. My concern is what the hell was Shaun Veldsman doing awarding that last AB try to Nonu when teh AB’s thrashed Aus. I think that it was such a 50/50 call that if he had disallowed the try no one would of had a problem, in fact I still believe Nonu lost the ball. It gave the AB’s a valuable bonus point that could come back and haunt us. I am sure that if the roles were reversed an Aus or AB’s TV ref would not have ruled a try
12 Aug 2008, 17:04 pm
#659 WPjoulekkerding: As much as I am a Spies fan I agree that give the dry conditoons we have had on SA for months on end Big Joe could have been a better choice.
Big Joe for Watson woudl have been a close call.
Pity for Jaque Fourie I would have really liked to have seen him in action.
I wonder who Steyn is covering for on the bench and in what position he will be played if he is played. Hopefully not at no10.
12 Aug 2008, 17:08 pm
#660 dirt-tracker: give it up already……obsession is never gud 4 one’s soul…….go track some dirt or something…….man de way ur carring on abt dis Luke guy…..its not healthy brother……..
12 Aug 2008, 17:08 pm
There is an inherent weakness in this team and it might just cost the Boks the game on Saturday.
There is this reversion to dinosaur-type rugby in this starting XV and it lies in the #s. 8,9,10(and Danie Ross.) selections. Someone in the coaching staff is having too much of an influence. Hence, to cover up James’ inadequacies, a not yet match fit and seemingly overweight(bloated face) Fourie DuP. is picked and this neccessitates the selection of Spies(for whatever reason) in the tpye of tight game that is going to unfold which will ensure another poor performance from Spies again.
Has no one yet picked up that Spies only plays well when Watson is in the starting XV as was the case vs. Wales #1 and Argies. on Sat.? Watson makes Spies look much better than he really is in much the same way that Skinstad made Joe Van. look better early in his career. A case in point is that try on Sat. that Spies scored. It emanated from Watson’s brilliance once again, let me remind you. The Boks won the ball close to the right hand touchline and the ball moved to the left to Watson with a full backline on his left. Luke exquisitely, smartly and quickly read the play and saw the Arg.defence was to the Bok left so staightened his run and emaculately made a gap forcing pass to JP on his right who gave a litttle kick into wide open space for Spies to easily score. Please note I substantiate, motivate, argue, debate, support my claims which is how points must be made and not as is the norm here with just sweeping claims/statements.
Watson’s astounding reading of the game will not be there for Spies so watch for a down turn in his performance.
12 Aug 2008, 17:12 pm
The comment of the Beast!
12 Aug 2008, 17:14 pm
#665 ET: i must say FDP did look a little overweight, no-one seems to have mentioned it
12 Aug 2008, 17:15 pm
its a gud thing that PDV is black……had it been White……Butana would be spitting fire and ashes………….PdV is lucky coz his team selection is not critised by politician, he is actually the first coach in a long time who has the freedom to pick the best team despite the color………….
12 Aug 2008, 17:15 pm
655 ET- Some intersesting points you make, however what attacking flair 8,9, 10 might lack, they more than make up with their defensive abilities. In a game against the AB’s this is paramount. You get the AB’s attention when you paly no nonsense, direct in your face type rugby that requires real a pyhsical presence, these players have that in abundance, which I believe can give us the edge. It will be intersting to review after Sat.
12 Aug 2008, 17:16 pm
#667 flanka: he is getting bold too………
12 Aug 2008, 17:29 pm
#665 ET:
All against a team that were knocked out on their feet.
Brilliant!!
12 Aug 2008, 17:36 pm
#667 flanka:
They are all to busy watching Watson’s magnificent plays to note anything else
a href=”#comment-960979″>669 justrugby:
Attack is the best form of defence, have you not heard.
#671 tight head:
Yes, you are so correct, the BOKS really knocked them out. Is that not what the Boks should really be doing to any and all opposition? You have genious qualities, have you ever realised that?
12 Aug 2008, 17:37 pm
I would have started with January not Fdp and although I do like to have Spies in the mix I sure hope someone out of Juan Schalk or Victor is going to be able to feed him and put him into space like Luke and Joe read the game. It is actually a bit of a big pity that someone out of Joe or Luke has to sit out to accomodate 3 big ball carriers, so we have reverted all the way back to our so called ‘strength’ team, well now lets hope to hell they produce the goods.
Spies, Fdp, Butch, Danie and Percy, now is your time to show your real worth.
12 Aug 2008, 17:45 pm
Et – Attack best form of defense ???, yet each world cup so far has been won on defense based tactics !!!! If you want to watch running rugby tune into the 7′s circuit, real rugby is a combination of guts, defense and a take no **** attitude and sensible running of the ball when the opportunity presents itself !!
12 Aug 2008, 17:50 pm
#665 ET: Nothing much like a bit of unbiased gamesmanship. Spies is far from at his best.
When he was at his best last year well before the lung clot debacle he was unstoppable. At thsi point in time hefar from that stage, but even then truning in mediocre performances he is stil good enough to leap frog Lukey boy.
Now that should give you something to think about.
12 Aug 2008, 17:50 pm
#672 ET:
You have no understanding of rugby.
Even Skopskiet would have looked good in the second half against the Argies.
To come on here and try and teach people how to make a point, when you are talking absolute shite is unbelievable.
If you want to judge how your hero played, then judge him on the first half of the game.
The second half was open gates against a team that had lost their tight head prop after 10 minutes, their best loose forward shortly after half time, and then brought on inexperienced subs.
Furthermore they had never played the ELV rules, were out of season and condition, and ran out of lungs at altitude.
And you want to make judgements on our players based on that.
Imbecile!!
12 Aug 2008, 17:52 pm
#673 skopskiet: Yep I I’ll go with that. Produce or make way.
12 Aug 2008, 17:57 pm
#673 skopskiet: Skop don’t you think that Ricky is a player who puts pressure on his own flyhalf at times because he carries the ball for too long and side steps before he passes.
Fourie on the other hand is the complete business and he takes pressure away from the flyhalf because of his long pass and his ability to kick. Joost used to be the same adn that is why he was such a great scrum half.
I think Januarie as an impact player if we are ahead coudl be a good ploy he adds a bit of extra zing that does not go down well with tired forwards legs.
12 Aug 2008, 18:01 pm
#678 Objective 101:
Hi Objective.
Rugby is about mastering the basics first.
The first and most important quality you look for in an international scrum half is the length, speed and accuracy of his pass.
After that other things like abilty to kick, break, read the game in terms of decision making are important.
However the first point is non negotiable.
12 Aug 2008, 18:06 pm
I think that aftrer the 3N we will bid goodbye to Butch and Percy, I cannot see Butch with the amount of rugger he has been playing and his dodgy knees lasting until the Lions tour. Who replaces them is a lottery at this stage. Personally I’d like to see Morne Steyn get a run, he has been playing really well for the Bulls (I am a Province supporter) at least he is a specialist fly half and it would be interesting to see how he goes in top class company. The fact that he and Fourie play as a provincial partneship is also a plus factor. And at full back I honestly believe that this posistion is tailor made for Steyn.
12 Aug 2008, 18:08 pm
#679 tight head: If you are the flyhalf I woudl agree. There are many mediocre half backs around.
That’s why for me there is no issue. Januarie has zing dn grunt as well but in the passing stakes he falls well short of the mark.
12 Aug 2008, 18:10 pm
#681 Objective 101:
Agree.
12 Aug 2008, 18:16 pm
#680 justrugby: I agree with you on the fullback postion but not the flyhalf position.
Peter Grant is the obvious choice unless they want to start blooding one of the Ebersohn brothers. With a bit of coaching Meyer Bosman could offer some very good options but he is not a natural no10 although nowadays it seems as if most no 10s come from the no 12 position.
12 Aug 2008, 18:20 pm
#542 Dawn: No, that would mean I’d have to wake up at the crack of dawn every morning. You can’t come with. Has anyone seen Adam? Umbrella at the ready! En garde! Fwooop! Uh-oh! I can’t see anything.
12 Aug 2008, 18:23 pm
683- objective 101- I also like Peter Grant and he would not be a bad option, the only thing that I belive he lacks is a dominant boot which should be a primary weapon of any fly half. If he can work on this aspect of his game , i have no problem with him.
12 Aug 2008, 18:26 pm
#676 tight head:
Oh! my! how touchy and categorical again. Have you been mortally wounded that you have to now claim rugby God-like stature. Only the great TH knows rugby are we all to believe?
In the first 30 mins.(not half ) the whole Bok pack esp. tight 5 were unsure of themselves wrt the opposition who they knew have a reputation for good scrumming and hence played very tight but lethargically. Yet you, God of rugby gods, the Rugby Deity, see only one player not playing adequately. How you pervert and ridicule you god-like status and your so noble but now silly understanding of a really simple game(not unlike netball really).
I think that underpants you wear is much too tight hence the tight head you are thinking with.
” Ran out of lungs ….” my oh my, that is physiology rewritten for this physiosiologist. Please go on and educate us more with your mind-boggling pearls of wisdom oh Great tightone.
Unfortunately, I cannot wait for your erudite response as I need to revise my science now again because of you.
12 Aug 2008, 18:31 pm
#674 justrugby:
That is nowhere near the truth. When the Aussies won there 2 with brilliant players like Horan, Little, Campese Willie O’ etc., etc that was attacking rugby.
Give the whole truth and substantiate it always.
12 Aug 2008, 18:36 pm
#686 ET: Our lot were ***** in the first 30 mins and the argies were allowed to get away with murder at the breakdowns by the shittiest referee of all Wayne Barnes.
But unless I am wrong rugby matches last for 80 minutes so that is the duration of a match. No good competing for 30 and then folding in. Rumania can do that too.
12 Aug 2008, 18:43 pm
#686 ET:
I am not surprised that this garbage is the best you can do.
Like I say your rugby knowledge is extremely limited.
Which is not a problem.
You are entitled to an opinion.
12 Aug 2008, 18:43 pm
687 -ET- The players you mentioned were as good defensively as they were attacking.(perhaps not Campo) You seem to be implying that world cup finals are a run fest which is far removed from reality, therefore am I not stating the truth ?? do I need to substantiate something so obvious. I do however respect your opinion.
12 Aug 2008, 21:44 pm
#689 tight head:
Nowhere from post #665 to this point do you counter a single point, fact, idea or otherwise but merely make snide remarks,sweeping claims and eventually insults, which I have previously demonstrated is par for the course for you because like your so-called rugby, your thinking is also dinosaur.You probably still believe that white is might and white is right which is archaic in the modern world.
Almost everytime Australia beat NZ or SA or England your type of rugby thinking takes a knock because science and not size is more important to them. But you are so fixated on size and the hence bullying mentality which accompanies it from the day you set your feet on this globe that that is really all you know. And when anyone exposes you, you take it extremely personally and when you get your own medicine back you just cannot handle and tolerate it and fall apart like you do now, you just shout like a mad one.
You still think all your quotas are quotas, like Adi, for example? Your slate is nowhere clean.
Contest the facts , points etc. bully or learn to do so or simply shut up then. The herrenvolk days are long gone.
12 Aug 2008, 21:52 pm
#690 justrugby:
Australia won their WCs with tries scored by their brilliant backs if you care to check
Is the end result of attacking rugby not more often than not, tries? And did the Ozzies win their WCs just with boring penalty goals? Go and revise you thinking and understanding wrt attacking and boring defensive play in rugby and just be honest. It is good nto be honest even though your ego may suffer a wee bit.
12 Aug 2008, 21:54 pm
#690 justrugby:
BTW that implication emanates from your brain and not mine as nowhere do I even vaguely state anything anywhere close to that from #665.
12 Aug 2008, 22:24 pm
ET 1
Tight head 0
12 Aug 2008, 22:40 pm
#694 Keo: ET 4
Tight Head 0
12 Aug 2008, 23:08 pm
#694 Keo:
#695 jock36:
Thank you for your positive evaluations, that is really an unexpected bonus, like a players’ choice award. But TH is not going to take too kindly to the both of you. Keo, you may even now be suspended from this site.
Actually I would it were really:
W.P. 2 (more CC wins than they now have)
Top Four 1 (less win than they now have)
12 Aug 2008, 23:08 pm
#694 Keo: Just wondering… is this Patrick Farrell the official Keo mascot or are we going to see some of his journalistic brilliance some time soon? Hope you’re not paying him!
12 Aug 2008, 23:11 pm
It is quiet here tonight, is the Beach Volley Ball live from Beijing on T.V?
12 Aug 2008, 23:14 pm
#696 ET: C’mon ET! This site is entirely based on opinion where substance is of little relevance. Brief thru the archives and you’ll see! No matter how ridiculuos, you are permitted to make a claim.
12 Aug 2008, 23:19 pm
#698 carol meredith: Hey Carol. Don’t you think the Olympics has become a total farce? Somehow people are still holding on to the notion that it is a testing ground for determination and grit pitted against the opponents. Think it’s more about which athlete is on the better juice. And how come Lennox Lewis, Mike Tyson or any of the pro boxers can’t compete but Ronaldinho, Nadal etc can?
12 Aug 2008, 23:24 pm
#699 BokiNZ:
In my world only informed opinion really matters, otherwise too much drivel fills the space and wastes certainly my time.
But you have been quiet for a while of late. Is it the impending battle that brings you out.?
12 Aug 2008, 23:27 pm
#700 BokiNZ: Yup, Olympics just not doing it for me, although almost got excited when we Brits managed a gold in cycling and one in the pool.
What is the juice of choice this season?
12 Aug 2008, 23:27 pm
#698 carol meredith:
Not a very pretty picture you paint here of the male community. Are we so predictable to your gender?
Or maybe you are referring only to male beach vollyball?
12 Aug 2008, 23:33 pm
#703 ET: Even George Bush noticed the atributes of the Beach Volley Ball Babes. (Did you see the picture, yeukk).
Can anyone tell me when the Male Beach Volley Ball is playing. (Only joking, would rather have the Springbok changing room shot on Saturday, love the group hug)
12 Aug 2008, 23:34 pm
#665 ET: ET I think you are missing tightheads point that at the time that Luke et al was doing good stuff, they were not being pressurised any longer by the Pumas, who were to tired to get up for it any more. We have seen what happened in the S14 with teams that were not physically prepared for the ELV’s (the Bulls) and who thought they could just slow it down and play to stucture. by the second half of the game, the boks were getting so much time and space, they could do what they wanted. Don’t expect that against the AB’s.
The Pumas were ill prepared for this game – they lost to
Italy and Scotland previously, were playing a team in the middle of their season, their own players had just come off holiday, and they had no idea of the effect of the ELV’s. They were out on their feet.
As an aside, thinking “big picture” about ELV’s: The thing is with the ELV’s the structure remains if required, but they allow an attacking team to speed the game up/slow it down at will. If a team wants to dictate speed of the game, they must first get posssession. A team can only slow the game down by retaining possession, and can only retain possession by not kicking it away, which means they have to retain the ball AND slow the game down. This means the ball stays in play longer. The question for a team wanting to slow teh game down is this – is what is more tiring: Attacking constantly playing energy efficient rugby, or defending while playing the game at the attacking side’s speed selection. Either way, the ball stays in play.
PS If Luke is in this week, expect a running game from the Boks. Pop passes, free running, etc.
There is no other reason for him to be there. He is wasted on 10 man rugby.
12 Aug 2008, 23:35 pm
#702 carol meredith:
Surely the swimming has to be extremely exciting, as always. And I thoroughly enthused about the stunning Adlington victory and Jackson 3rd against there USA favoured opponent. In fact I was rooting for both of them in their semis already and was disappointed when they did not win there. Also Coventry(Zim.) was very good and was just unlucky in the final.
12 Aug 2008, 23:41 pm
#704 carol meredith:
Got sick of seeing him too often especially at this sporting event. And he could not even do a decent job for that young lady, in terms of her documented request. The backside is anatomically the backside and not the back.
12 Aug 2008, 23:44 pm
#706 ET: You are far better informed than I am. I used to love the Eventing but a bronze or two was not good enough really.
If Paula Radcliff manages to stay in one piece I will be following her progress. What do you think I should look out for in the next few days?
12 Aug 2008, 23:51 pm
#705 SjamBok:
At no stage did I make a big thing about the opposition but you still have to put the points on the board and if you do it with crowd-pleasing rugby it is so much better. And the good stuff started in the 1st hallf already. And he was attemppting to point a finger at only Watson and not all the forwards for what I called a lethargic 1st half.
TH was actually trying to be too smart and when that is too categorical you simply make yourself(TH) look ridiculous. Also there is a bit of history here with him and others who disagree with his technical preachings.
I am sure you found the game entertaining. This Sat. no one expects the same to occur.
13 Aug 2008, 00:01 am
#708 carol meredith:
Keep watching the swimmimg as it is always exciting and the new American wonder Michael Phelps is attempting to win 8 golds and already has 3 and possibly 5 as I see tape delayed finals sometimes.
The deliberate emphasis on USA and China in the gymnastics has made it boring for me but maybe you like gymnastics. Also when the athletic events starts you are ensured lots of exciting events.
13 Aug 2008, 00:06 am
#710 ET: Did I hear that Phelps arms are nearly 7 feet long?
I’ll skip the gymnastics and concentrate more on track and field.
I’m off. Cheers.
13 Aug 2008, 00:06 am
#709 ET: You made a point about reversion to “dinosaur type rugby” 9by using Rossouw et al). Now, I am not a fan of Rossouw as well, make no mistake, because his lack of skills cancels his ability to be used when skills are required. And his lack of technique frankly cancels out the advantage of his size.
I believe that a team shouls have the skills to up the ante when it matters, and the power to play that kind of game when it is required. You can never be the best at all types of play all the time. Perhaps you need to be teh best at conservative, defensicve rugby at the beginning of the game to allow a team like Oz to wear themselves out, and then be able to work it wide towards the end, when they are out of gas. Itis not a cut pattern that is required, but a recognition of when to use what style, where the oppositions weak points are, and how to make the current situation work for you.
This attitude is explained in the “Book of Five Rings” by Miyamoto – the greatest swordsman that ever lived, who remained undefeated until his death at a ripe old age. He says he does not prefer this style or that style, or this sword or that sword. He thinks that they all have a part to play at a point where they can be used to be most effective. And whatever you have, you use in a way that can be most effective. eg If you have a short sword, force the enemy into close quarters where they can’t use their long sword, or where its less effective. So you dont use Luke for 10 man rugby.
We have the athletes (big and fast) to play either type of game, and any mixture of these. What we need is the recognition of when one type of game will be more effective. eg against Oz, we should have reverted to conservative, field position rugby based on set pieces when our running game plan was being out played by the Aussies. It is stupid to do the same thing time and again and expect a different result. Unless the mere changing of time has caused a different situation.
Gavin Rich’s latest column is quite good (although I also think he doesn’t quite get what I have explained above).
13 Aug 2008, 00:32 am
#494 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: You’re right, I was sh-t stirring. Adi has done much better than most people (myself included) thought he might, but that’s not my point here. What I was doing, somewhat tongue in cheek, was to draw out the apologists and appeasers and to see whether sufficient tolerance exists in our new shiny democracy to permit an unpopular viewpoint to be heard.
The fact is that of course I hope the Bokke slaughter the ABs and that Adi (and everyone else) does well.
But mostly I want to make the point that what counts for me is excellence, not skin colour. I believe, and I’ve posted it many times before, that Beast is the best prospect we’ve had since Os, and that Habana is the best wing I’ve ever seen. The others mostly hold their own, but are capable of feats of brilliance at any given time.
Finally, to be brutally honest, I wouldn’t bat an eyelid if the entire team was black or coloured and without a single white player, provided and only provided that they were the best we have. I hope that this is unambiguously clear.
I am a South African and I have always supported South Africa. I want us to win. I want all the black and brown and white kids to have an equal opportunity, even if it means raising taxes to achieve the result. In education, in sport, in their nutrition. That’s it.
13 Aug 2008, 00:35 am
#712 SjamBok:
We as S.Africans have an obsessioin with size/brawn etc. and I see you mention ‘big and fast’ but not skill. How many great rugby players are big and fast and skilful? A very small percentage and I cannot readily think of any/many other than say Eales and he was not really big but very skilful for his size Remember, it is textbook knowledge that the physiological male is a 70 kg individual so anyone who is 100kg. or more, is really abnormal wrt. mass. How often in your life have you heard the term ‘big and clumsy’ but small and fast or small and bouncy(a low centre of gravity). You simply do not get big, fast and skilful often even and espcially in S.A. with its not so good nutrition regimen.
The ideal team should be able to play the 9-man, 10-man, 12-man or 15-man rugby game anytime the need demands but how often do you see that. I personally can only think about the 1974 Br. Lions and maybe that 95-96 NZ that can play to any such broad plan/s.
The ideal team would have every member complementing the other 14 all the time and how often have we or will we see that. I don’t know that answer.
All of this is just some food for thought.
13 Aug 2008, 01:50 am
#502 WP Till I Die: and raised til she finished high school boet…her fam still lives there too
13 Aug 2008, 01:58 am
she first went to the olympics b4 having even stepped foot out of zimbabwe, when she was a high school student in 2000, and made the semi finals for one event. Lets give little brother zim credit where it’s due, my girlfriend (shes zimbo) tells me they breed talented swimmers there much like rugga players but they never make the step up to professionalism most of the time due to lack of resources.Only went to USA for varsity scholarship which she is still on So how can we as a nation with this much talent and def more resources than zim not muster up 1 medal???
13 Aug 2008, 04:32 am
#714 ET: bobby Skinstad had everything. Spies could too if he had a bit of game time.
The AB’s team of the last few years (the one that has won 42 of 47 their games before the RWC) played like this. They effortlessly changed their plan of attack to explot the weak points at that time and for those circumstances. I am sure Richie had a hand in this. The only team to beat them in this tuime was us, and only because we had the most bloody minded rugby players on the planet, with defence as a religion.
The point that I am trying to make is that it is not body type that counts (although it helps to be bigger), but the mentality of the players. A smaller team (within limits) can use team work and gang tackling to make up for lack of size. But only if they are mentally right. But a stupid team can only play one game. And a team of specialist body sizes without the right mentality can’t change from their plan A. The right team to select is one that has the physiology to go toe to toe in the tough stuff, but the ability to change to plan B if the first one is not working. Even better, to be able to siultaneously recognise without being told that the plan must change.
13 Aug 2008, 06:49 am
#717 SjamBok:
How could I forget my favourite, Skinstad, who I actually mentioned in post #665? But I am sure you will accept that Bob was far more about brain than brawn and exceptionally skilful. The most skilful forward I have ever been exposed to.
Agree with you also on the importance of the mentality component. For me most sport is about 45% ability, 45% psychology/mental and the rest is the remaining 10%.
13 Aug 2008, 06:54 am
#717 SjamBok:
#718 ET:
Agree overall with that perception of yours in that post and it requires brainwork.
13 Aug 2008, 07:32 am
#694 Keo:
You surprise me.
I have not responded to the claims of ET because he has done nothing but make claims that are false, attempt to put words into my mouth and assume he knows my position.
I can take on this arguement and rip his claims to shreds, but do not want to engage in a rugby conversation with him, as it is futile.
I have always regarded your rugby opinion to be well informed, but now have my doubts.
13 Aug 2008, 09:06 am
#720 tight head:
I just saw the skirmish between you and ET and Keo’s assessment.
I agree with Keo that you came off second best. Although you know your subject, you are mostly too categorical in your approach and do not seem to realise that issues are not always either white or black but that there are grey areas as well.
To attack Keo’s rugby opinion as well because he has “voted” against you is not going to do your case any good.
13 Aug 2008, 09:27 am
#721 Robzim:
I challenge you to go back to my post 671.
Then read his post 672, where he started the personal attack.
Then I challenge you to dispute the facts of my post 676 from a rugby point of view.
I did not bring up the subject of Watson, he did.
I responded and clearly stated that our players (plural) could not be judged on that second half.
Then see his personal attacks on me in his posts 686 and 691 where he mentions issues like white rights, Adi, quotas, and size.
I have mentioned none of the above issues which he convienently subscribes to me.
Then he has the cheek to ask me to stick to the facts and not to make sweeping statements.
No you guys have not stuck to the facts and are all guilty of stereotyping me.
Your friend ET has twisted my posts to suit his pre conceived idea of me as a white man living in the past to suit his arguement, and I am sorry to say that you and Keo have fallen for it.
13 Aug 2008, 13:29 pm
#474 katman: If the best you can do when you read something you don’t like is to want to shut me up, then I say to you go get loved.
Typical dom donder ignorant, verkrampte South African attitude……”if you don’t agree with me then you must be wrong”…….”ag kak man”.
Thick, arrogant, small minded South African.
13 Aug 2008, 13:48 pm
#720 tight head:
The more you talk the more you ridicule yourself and no one does a hatchet job on you better than yourself. Case in point, look at your response to the Keo comment, as I jokingly predicted you go over the top. I do not even think Keo was being serious and was just having some fun more than anything else, but then again your warped reaction.It is purely that ego, believe me there is no rugby deity anywhere on this planet.
13 Aug 2008, 13:52 pm
#724 ET:
Go home.
13 Aug 2008, 14:01 pm
#721 Robzim:
That is exactly the point I made today, mostly, and also more than 3 weeks ago when I put Watson’s 20 mins. at Carisbrook into total perspective. His response that day, a few posts later, was sublimely categorical and even when I civilly challenged him to admit it was totally false wrt to that post that day.
Yesterday we had a similar situation. My post #665 is purely on the merits or lack thereof, in my estimation, in certain positions which agin I think devalues the Boks effort this Saturday. His response in post# 671 is a snide, sarcastic effort as if the rugby deity has spoken.
It is time for him to realise ther are many grey areas in all of life.
On a more pleasant note what is your take on this starting XV?
13 Aug 2008, 14:11 pm
#722 tight head:
Post #672 is a powder puff, harmless, civil response with no lies or words put inany mouth as you so claim. My this shows you have to be extremely sensitve as all that is being done is a smart turning of the tables here. You are merely being administered your own medicine, but with civility and with smartness and you cannot respond to it and less even handle it.
Talk on please do.
13 Aug 2008, 14:16 pm
#726 ET:
Read my post 722 carefully.
I challenge you, or any of your friends here to dispute what I have said.
You are guilty of the very thing you accuse me of.
Stereotyping and accusing me of taking up positions on issues that I have never discussed.
I have shown far more civilty to you in this affair, than you to me.
Go back and read the personal assumptions you have made about me.
All based on thin air and not backed up by fact as you like to point out.
Your posts are full of personal and emotional accusation and assumption.
Nothing concrete to debate about rugby.
I stand by my post 676 which is a rugby post and not an attack on any player.
The rugby facts in that post cannot be denied.
Perhaps that is why you reverted to personal attack.
Yes, that is right you fired the first shot, and don’t seem to like it when I fire back.
I will defend your right to be heard, even though I do not value your opinion.
I have nothing to discuss with you about rugby, as you are the one who starts the personal attack every time.
I simply respond.
Something that I shall no longer bother to do.
13 Aug 2008, 14:18 pm
#725 tight head:
Egg, just egg and I really like egg (especially omelette) but not RAW and not on tha FACE. And that is what this eventually all is: EGG on YOUR FACE.
Stick to the tighthead technicalities, it is, as said previously, sometimes informative.
13 Aug 2008, 14:32 pm
#728 tight head:
Your own words everytime you posts especially during buddy-time hangs you time after time.
I challenged you 3 weeks ago and again yesterday to be honest and to admit your being catergorical wrt to some rugby things and you dish out the same medicine that you cannot handle( your post 671), snide and seemingly sarcastic remarks. The ball is in your court now as you need to challenge the facts or admit being incorrect when it suits you, if you do not wish to come across as being ridiculous.
But if you wish just speak on and on and on.
DONE
13 Aug 2008, 14:44 pm
#728 tight head:
” I have nothing…….as you are the one who starts the personal attack everytime. I simply respond.”
YOUR words, BOLD but totally DISHONEST when judged against my post #665 and your responding post #671(snide, insulting).
Talk on, just DO SO. But my case is CLOSED with YOUR DISHONEST WORDS.