Boks call up big guns

Percy Montgomery and Fourie du Preez will start against the All Blacks on Saturday.

They replace Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes in the starting line-up, with the other changes coming at lock, where Andries Bekker starts in place of the injured Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger in for Luke Watson at openside flank and Danie Rossouw and Frans Steyn coming onto the wood.

Montgomery will earn his 100th Test cap at Newlands in a back three that won the World Cup and one that started when they broke a 10-year losing streak at Dunedin earlier in the tournament.

“It’s a special moment for me, particularly because it’s at Newlands where I spent a big part of my career and against the All Blacks. You couldn’t have asked for a better script,” he told keo.co.za. Montgomery will share his special occasion with Juan Smith, who makes his 50th appearance for the Springboks.

Du Preez was somewhat of a surprise inclusion given how loyal coach Peter De Villiers has been to Ricky Januarie. However, there can be no question that Du Preez offers a more complete option, particularly from a tactical-kicking perspective.

De Villiers said it was a hard decision to drop Januarie but pointed towards fatigue as a decisive factor.

“We can’t live in the past. We have to move on,” De Villiers said in response to the question of whether Januarie’s performance against the All Blacks in Dunedin wasn’t enough to warrant a start.

“If you look at Ricky’s workload this year in the Super 14 and in the Test matches, you’ll realise that a lot has been asked of him. The legs were definitely starting to get a bit heavier and it was time to make the change.

“I’ve always promised players that I’ll be honest with them in all areas and while it was a hard call to make, I feel it was the right one given the type of game we want to play. It’s great to be in a position to say to two players who have done nothing wrong, ‘Look sorry but you’re not going to start’. It’s a blessing.”

Du Preez and Montgomery’s inclusion hints that their play may be characterised by territorial dominance gained through tactical kicking. De Villiers refused to confirm the game plan, saying: “I might as well invite the All Blacks to our training sessions if I told you that.

“Ricky and Conrad don’t have bad kicking games at all,” he asserted. “But Fourie is very good off the boot and Percy offers us a left-footed option which is valuable. We know how we want to play against New Zealand and those players offer us the strengths we need to play the game we want to.”

Asked whether their inclusion was partly designed to take some kicking pressure off Butch James, De Villiers said: “I aim to have 15 perfect players who are able to execute a wide range of skills. They will read the situation and play accordingly. But it’s always soothing to know you have two players who can do that job and that frees Butch to shift the ball.”

Captain Victor Matfield said he expected a physical contest. “We’ll give each other as good as we get. It won’t be a lot different to traditional Springbok/All Blacks Tests.”

In Dunedin the All Blacks dominated possession 58% to 42%, while they spent 66% of the game in South Africa’s territory. Despite this, the Springboks scored two tries to their one and crafted the better scoring opportunities. This also speaks volumes about the defensive work done by the visitors, who began to slip tackles late in the match (a total of 22 to New Zealand’s 6) but scrambled desperately in search of redemption. They made 205 tackles in total – massive by Test standards.

Asked if they expected to defend as much as that this weekend Matfield was non-committal.

“If you look at the stats from games over the last two years you’ll see that often the team that has less possession won the game. Maybe there’s a trend developing there,” he said.

“But decision making will be key. We put a premium on keeping possession but it’s important that we read the situation and make sharp decisions and execute accurately. Using the ball in the right manner is extremely important against the All Blacks.”

Springboks – 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Frans Steyn, 22 Conrad Jantjes

By Ryan Vrede, in Cape Town

731 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 » Show All

• 451.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#441 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:

What do you mean, Zim is way above us in the medal standings at the moment?

I think Komphela should call a meeting of this lot and demand some explanations.
    Dis kuk hierdie dat ons so sleg vaar..hy moet sommer hulle paspoorte intrek.

• 452.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

#426 Dawn:

Thats your perogative.

But the standard of No.8 play since Zinzan retired has been questionable.Only Ron Cribb showed similiar abilities but he was a hothead and retired early(went to Japan)

Rodney is the best around with Parisse.Not impressive though

• 453.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#424 mshiniwami: You’re right, Lorrie has had a couple of good games at Tight Head prop…

That said… I would still have loved to see Heinke at Loose Head Prop… with Beast on the bench.

I could not disagree more with you regarding Mujati…… but hey, everybody’s got their own opinion right ?

• 454.madvillain: Reply to this comment

vindicated

That to me is a very good question. SA has poor athletic standards.

The only thing we do well is to fight for years about which race should play hockey, swim or run only to find a waste of cash in the final analysis.

We are pathetic in athletics, we can’t even dominate the continent in most sports, whether track or field.

• 455.klippies101: Reply to this comment

oh the shop of the chilli mussels stis a friends winkel u wont know it

• 456.Corndog: Reply to this comment

#443 st.a.t.w: agree he did look could and is settling down nicely, I expect PdV to start with him in the 2 Aus tests but it is a big one for Percy and think he deserves a run on for his 100th.

• 457.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#438 BuckT: Thanks Buck! The trip was fantastic, best holiday I`ve had. In fact, we liked the Kei so much we`re going back there next year to
    do the hike from Port St.Johns to Coffee Bay. Huge mussels on the rocks, and fish was cheap to buy from local fisherman. Had some nice Dageraad
    and Elf. Had a strange round of golf at Pezula though, out in 47 and back in 38! While in durban we went out for a fantastic curry with the Rangerman and
    his lovely lady. How`s the little`un doing? Keeping you awake at night I suppose?

• 458.Puma: Reply to this comment

#454 madvillain: But we are the World Champions in Rugby!!!

• 459.klippies101: Reply to this comment

we r okay at swimming

• 460.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#441 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Zim are there – they are 19th on the medal table

• 461.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#455 klippies101:

Is it in Danville?

• 462.EEE: Reply to this comment

#441 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Zim wen ons met die medals :wink:

• 463.klippies101: Reply to this comment

no where in danville?

• 464.ansie: Reply to this comment

Very pleased to see the Beast in the starting team. Best we can do, given the injured players, except for Adrian Jacobs who is an old hack. The sooner that bleskop retires the better.

• 465.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#459 klippies101:

Not any more!

• 466.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#451 Pietman: Kan nie dat hulle nou terug kom nie. Wat van die hele SAUK en hulle familie wat daar is om te gaan kyk?

• 467.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#463 klippies101:

Ek wil so graag Danville toe een dag maar niemand wil my tour guide wees nie.

• 468.adj nm: Reply to this comment

we need to have some crime related events at the olympics then we will see some medals – hell the ones we don’t win outright we will steal anyway

100m plasma on your back dash

• 469.Puma: Reply to this comment

#460 vindicated: We do have some good marathon runners. So will wait for that event.

• 470.siener: Reply to this comment

There’s a poll at rugbyheaven (the kiwi one) asking whether the AB line out will be able to handle the Boks on Saturday. So far more than 60% of people have voted yes.

Never say never, but I’d be bloody surprised if the AB’s have anything to counter Vic and Bekker.

• 471.klippies101: Reply to this comment

ja i omnly knw one swimmer van biljoen

• 472.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#460 vindicated: Yes I think they have 2 medals. Ok….Swaziland then? Or do they also have a better synchronised swimming team than us?

• 473.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#465 Dawn: How was the interview?

• 474.katman: Reply to this comment

#464 ansie: Shut it, groot krokodil.

• 475.Puma: Reply to this comment

#468 adj nm: If crime was part of the olympics not one would beat us. We would be certain for a gold medal there!!!

• 476.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#473 sondebok:

The interviewer never pitched.

• 477.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#468 adj nm: Hehehehehe…while someone is shooting at u.

• 478.katman: Reply to this comment

#469 Puma: Is Mulaudzi running in the 800m?

• 479.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#466 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:

Wonder waar kry hulle die geld.
    Dis sommer hier naby my en ek sien nie kans nie, die mense vertel my dis donners duur daar.
    Praat nie eens van die hotelle nie, sommer net kaartjies en alledaagse uitgawes.

• 480.EEE: Reply to this comment

#467 Dawn: het jy nie “song vir katryn” gekyk nie, dit het deels in Danville afgespeel

• 481.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#479 Pietman: Waar dink jy?

• 482.Puma: Reply to this comment

#470 siener: They must have it wrong, must be 6% have voted yes!! hahahaha. Just because they were better than Oz in the line does not mean that they are going to win that battle with us. Don’t think so even if Bakkies is not there with big Vic.

• 483.klippies101: Reply to this comment

i saw today in the news that the cops here r so underfunded tis like 1 cell phone to 5 cops eish

• 484.wazza: Reply to this comment

WOW, that must be a first… no one said that stupid “Dragons” thing… what ever its suppose to mean.

• 485.Saffa_Guy: PdV's Boks By 5: Reply to this comment

#478 katman:

Yep, he is in with a chance.

We could also surprise in the mens 4 X 400mm relay. LJ and Alwyn are not to shabby.

• 486.katman: Reply to this comment

I’m really impressed with Luke Watson, though. He have up a place on the Beijing team – and an almost certain medal in the one mile cross-country watermelon carry – to focus on the tri-nations. That’s pretty selfless.

• 487.EEE: Reply to this comment

#472 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Zim has Silver and Bronze, both for one girl in the swimming…….

• 488.Puma: Reply to this comment

#478 katman: Not sure.

• 489.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

#464 ansie:

That “old hack”-Jacobs is the best runner into space in the country at present(only back intelligent enough to take advantage of fwds/backs mismatches so far),hasnt put a foot wrong on defence(which every1 questioned),best distributive 13 in the country.Fourie is better at one thing only-ROCK SOLID on Defensive-good basics.

Even if Fourie was fit,Jacobs would have started.

You might not rate him but he is playing well.

• 490.EEE: Reply to this comment

#486 katman: ag nee man katman…. :lol: dis te laat in die dag hiervoor!!!!!

• 491.EEE: Reply to this comment

Our swimmers will do better in the short courses I think, (actually I hope)….they are good in the 50m individual events

• 492.siener: Reply to this comment

#475 Puma: You underestimate your fellow countrymen. If crime was an Olympic event it would have to be cancelled because the SA team would have already stolen all three medals before the opening ceremony got under way.

• 493.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#476 Dawn: Wasn`t for a government position by any chance was it?

• 494.Saffa_Guy: PdV's Boks By 5: Reply to this comment

#489 mshiniwami:

Don’t even bother. The hopeless bleck is Ansie’s tired old sh*t stir …

• 495.adj nm: Reply to this comment

#486 katman: Our only medal hope!

• 496.Bullsh1t: Reply to this comment

This is definately the best team available and we will be able to send the ABs back home with their tails between their legs!!! If I could I would have made one change – Wickus for Watson!!!

• 497.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#476 Dawn: maybe someone warned him / her

• 498.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#487 EEE: Seker paar keer oor die Limpopo geswem…….

• 499.Puma: Reply to this comment

#492 siener: Hahahahahaha. Good one.

• 500.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

#478 katman:

Watch young Kgotso Mokoena..World junior champion a couple of yrs ago.World indoor champ 2008(triple jump)

Hasnt been much coverage for Malaudzi these olympics….

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.