Boks call up big guns
12 Aug 2008
Percy Montgomery and Fourie du Preez will start against the All Blacks on Saturday.
They replace Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes in the starting line-up, with the other changes coming at lock, where Andries Bekker starts in place of the injured Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger in for Luke Watson at openside flank and Danie Rossouw and Frans Steyn coming onto the wood.
Montgomery will earn his 100th Test cap at Newlands in a back three that won the World Cup and one that started when they broke a 10-year losing streak at Dunedin earlier in the tournament.
“It’s a special moment for me, particularly because it’s at Newlands where I spent a big part of my career and against the All Blacks. You couldn’t have asked for a better script,” he told keo.co.za. Montgomery will share his special occasion with Juan Smith, who makes his 50th appearance for the Springboks.
Du Preez was somewhat of a surprise inclusion given how loyal coach Peter De Villiers has been to Ricky Januarie. However, there can be no question that Du Preez offers a more complete option, particularly from a tactical-kicking perspective.
De Villiers said it was a hard decision to drop Januarie but pointed towards fatigue as a decisive factor.
“We can’t live in the past. We have to move on,” De Villiers said in response to the question of whether Januarie’s performance against the All Blacks in Dunedin wasn’t enough to warrant a start.
“If you look at Ricky’s workload this year in the Super 14 and in the Test matches, you’ll realise that a lot has been asked of him. The legs were definitely starting to get a bit heavier and it was time to make the change.
“I’ve always promised players that I’ll be honest with them in all areas and while it was a hard call to make, I feel it was the right one given the type of game we want to play. It’s great to be in a position to say to two players who have done nothing wrong, ‘Look sorry but you’re not going to start’. It’s a blessing.”
Du Preez and Montgomery’s inclusion hints that their play may be characterised by territorial dominance gained through tactical kicking. De Villiers refused to confirm the game plan, saying: “I might as well invite the All Blacks to our training sessions if I told you that.
“Ricky and Conrad don’t have bad kicking games at all,” he asserted. “But Fourie is very good off the boot and Percy offers us a left-footed option which is valuable. We know how we want to play against New Zealand and those players offer us the strengths we need to play the game we want to.”
Asked whether their inclusion was partly designed to take some kicking pressure off Butch James, De Villiers said: “I aim to have 15 perfect players who are able to execute a wide range of skills. They will read the situation and play accordingly. But it’s always soothing to know you have two players who can do that job and that frees Butch to shift the ball.”
Captain Victor Matfield said he expected a physical contest. “We’ll give each other as good as we get. It won’t be a lot different to traditional Springbok/All Blacks Tests.”
In Dunedin the All Blacks dominated possession 58% to 42%, while they spent 66% of the game in South Africa’s territory. Despite this, the Springboks scored two tries to their one and crafted the better scoring opportunities. This also speaks volumes about the defensive work done by the visitors, who began to slip tackles late in the match (a total of 22 to New Zealand’s 6) but scrambled desperately in search of redemption. They made 205 tackles in total – massive by Test standards.
Asked if they expected to defend as much as that this weekend Matfield was non-committal.
“If you look at the stats from games over the last two years you’ll see that often the team that has less possession won the game. Maybe there’s a trend developing there,” he said.
“But decision making will be key. We put a premium on keeping possession but it’s important that we read the situation and make sharp decisions and execute accurately. Using the ball in the right manner is extremely important against the All Blacks.”
Springboks – 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Frans Steyn, 22 Conrad Jantjes
By Ryan Vrede, in Cape Town

731 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 » Show All
12 Aug 2008, 15:44 pm
#496 Bullsh1t: YES!!!! I would have too. Wickus for Watson any time.
Crikey okes. Both the Zim medals were taken by Kirsty Coventry, who lives in the United States. She was just born in Zimbabwe.
#430 the peanut gallery: I guess that’s a simple answer. Vic is there to catch lineout balls and he does that exceptionally well.
Watson is there as a fetcher… you finish the sentence.
wazza i think the drangons thing has something to do with the welsh
#486 katman:
Picnic basket? Check. Screwdriver? Check. Rubber gloves? Check. Cigars? Check. Sleeping bag? Check. Calendar? Check. Pokemon cards? Check. Coat hanger? Check. Mayonnaise? Check. Aspirin? Huh? Aspirin is not on the list. What if I get a headache? Why would you get a headache? Why wouldn’t I? Oh for Pete’s sake, I’ll bring some Disprin, just for you. The kind you don’t have to dissolve? Okay, yes, the kind you don’t have to dissolve. Can we carry on now? Sure, elastic bands? Check. Flippers? Check. Spade? Check. Gravy boat? Check. Check. I didn’t say anything. No, I mean check there. Oh. Sunglasses? Check. Picture frame? Check. Okay, last but not least, white Speedo thong? Check. That’s it. We’re ready. Where’s Adam?
12 Aug 2008, 15:45 pm
#497 vindicated: I think it was Dawn who was going to be interviewed.
#489 mshiniwami: I agree, Adi has been a revelation since he was selected again. He has been impressive and doesn’t die with the ball. Jacque Fourie is not that solid on defence his first tackle back he went in with two hand bags and came away with a fractured cheek.
Just think what a team we will have if Bakkies anf Jacques is fit – better than last years WC team!!!!!
#498 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: LOL met ‘n croc op my gat sal daar ook ‘n paar rekords spat. Ek sal ge-disqualified word omdat ek op die water hardloop
#498 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: hehehe dink sy was jaaaare laas in ZIM sy oefen ook saam met Ryk hulle in Amerika
any facebook users here
12 Aug 2008, 15:46 pm
#495 adj nm: Well, we still have an outside chance at a podium spot with Ollie in the 10m platform bomb. He’s put a lot of work into his technique.
#500 mshiniwami:
Should be an interesting tussle with Phillips Oduwu (Great Britain) then. GB rating Phillips as one of their better gold medal prospects
#506 Spill the Beans: New meds?
#500 mshiniwami: I forgot about him.
12 Aug 2008, 15:47 pm
#480 EEE:
Ja maar ek wil self gaan!
Het elke episode gekyk, ek is Valiant se grootste fan.
12 Aug 2008, 15:47 pm
#506 Spill the Beans: rantings of a slightly disturbed person?
12 Aug 2008, 15:48 pm
#508 Corndog:
It wasn’t handbags. Jacque was trying to kiss the Argie on the cheek hence went in lips first. Those Argie boys are a pretty bunch you know
12 Aug 2008, 15:48 pm
#501 Puma: Wikus was nowhere on Friday night. Outplayed by both the Lions’ flankers.
12 Aug 2008, 15:49 pm
#517 Dawn: Dan sal ek jou moet vat skattie, ons sal iets moet reel as jy eendag hierbo uitkom……..kan net nie te stadig deur die strate ry nie, jy sal vinnig moet kyk, is ban die kinners steel die hubcaps vand ie wiele af…..
i see in sa rugbys latest issue oillie le roux says he is one of the gresatest ever
#509 Bullsh1t: Yes agree. Would have been great to have Bakkies and JF. Think that the Ab’s must feel relief that Bakkies is not there so will the Aussies. I really felt for JF picking up that injury on Saturday. Still rate him over Adi although Adi has played some good rugga.
#510 adj nm: #505 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
Gesien van daai arme Zimbo wat van Beitbrug afgeval het ?
Lelike storie.
Voordat hulle hom kon red het hy twee krokodille opgevreet.
12 Aug 2008, 15:50 pm
#521 EEE: ban=bang
ja that was a dumb tackle by fourie he should have gone low
#513 katman: I heard him and Toks van der linde has also enetered the synchronized bomb event – apparently they emptied an entire olympic sized pool in practise yesterday. Should be two medals then – level with zim
#520 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Still rate him over Watson.
12 Aug 2008, 15:51 pm
#524 Pietman:
Ok ek moet groet al die mensies….lekker aand vir julle
#512 klippies101: lol
#513 katman:
Luke would make a good weightlifter.
i want a celebrity mms from roxy louw.
12 Aug 2008, 15:52 pm
#354 WP-Matador: Finally someone is speaking my language here. Do you have the Kusangi blade? Cause I want it. lol
12 Aug 2008, 15:52 pm
#522 klippies101: sy kop raas.
12 Aug 2008, 15:53 pm
#534 sondebok: howdy sonde!
but i have never liked the boks tackle method i think we always go to high
#513 katman: Ollie and Richard Bands…synchronised….will be awesome.
12 Aug 2008, 15:54 pm
Supposedly Breyton almost got picked for the mens gymnastics floor event. Reckon those flick flacks are wereld klas. Instead turned it down to focus on his career as an in studio k*k talker, ooops sorry man, meant in studio host thinga-ma-jiggy
12 Aug 2008, 15:54 pm
#529 EEE: Werk lekker halfdag nê
12 Aug 2008, 15:55 pm
#522 klippies101: maybe the greatest mullet ever he really makes the mullet speak towards the end of his 5 mins on the field.
#528 Puma: Me too.
#534 sondebok:
Spill the Beans se kop raas vreeslik.
#506 Spill the Beans:
Are you preparing for roadkill trip? Can I come too?
i am not sure that roxy will be my REAL friend though.
she may be usig me to save for a kalishnikov watch.
in which case i am not going to give her the time of day.
#536 klippies101:
Forget the tackling bit, I just like getting high …. on life, of course
i agree with your thinking on joe. definatley more solid than luke. also i do rate jantjies but feel that he is more for the future. the best way to bring him along is to let him come off the bench after percy has kept things nice and tidy i.e kept the opposition honest and on the back foot. we HAVE to play for position, especially earlier on in the game. once the game opens up then bring on conrad and company.
also am very perplexed at the continued absence of b.j. botha. surely it’s in our best interests to let the young guns learn from him. even if he is leaving, at least keep him involved for now.
i do wonder what a rugby brain like robbie deans would do with all the talent that pdv has at his disposal…?
# sondebok: sounds like you had a great time…obvioulsy took you nine holes to walk off the Dageraad!!!! hehe oh was that a fish? you hit a 4 wood for your second at hermanus? must have been into the teeth of a howling south easter!!
12 Aug 2008, 15:56 pm
#527 adj nm: I’m worried about Toks though. His focus isn’t what it should be. And the Yanks have sent a very big bombing team. One guy – a real rags to riches story about a father of two who’s life had collapsed – was found sleeping in the bushes next to a public pool. At night he would practice his bombing from the 3m board. They call him the Bag Dad Bomber. I’m worried.
#516 katman: hey there, what are you giving the little guy to ease his discomfort?
when wil the brittish lions tickets go on sale
12 Aug 2008, 15:57 pm
#539 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: was al 06h15 by die werk …..hehehehe werk al eintlik oortyd….
lekker aand almal…bye
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 » Show All