Boks call up big guns
12 Aug 2008
Percy Montgomery and Fourie du Preez will start against the All Blacks on Saturday.
They replace Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes in the starting line-up, with the other changes coming at lock, where Andries Bekker starts in place of the injured Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger in for Luke Watson at openside flank and Danie Rossouw and Frans Steyn coming onto the wood.
Montgomery will earn his 100th Test cap at Newlands in a back three that won the World Cup and one that started when they broke a 10-year losing streak at Dunedin earlier in the tournament.
“It’s a special moment for me, particularly because it’s at Newlands where I spent a big part of my career and against the All Blacks. You couldn’t have asked for a better script,” he told keo.co.za. Montgomery will share his special occasion with Juan Smith, who makes his 50th appearance for the Springboks.
Du Preez was somewhat of a surprise inclusion given how loyal coach Peter De Villiers has been to Ricky Januarie. However, there can be no question that Du Preez offers a more complete option, particularly from a tactical-kicking perspective.
De Villiers said it was a hard decision to drop Januarie but pointed towards fatigue as a decisive factor.
“We can’t live in the past. We have to move on,” De Villiers said in response to the question of whether Januarie’s performance against the All Blacks in Dunedin wasn’t enough to warrant a start.
“If you look at Ricky’s workload this year in the Super 14 and in the Test matches, you’ll realise that a lot has been asked of him. The legs were definitely starting to get a bit heavier and it was time to make the change.
“I’ve always promised players that I’ll be honest with them in all areas and while it was a hard call to make, I feel it was the right one given the type of game we want to play. It’s great to be in a position to say to two players who have done nothing wrong, ‘Look sorry but you’re not going to start’. It’s a blessing.”
Du Preez and Montgomery’s inclusion hints that their play may be characterised by territorial dominance gained through tactical kicking. De Villiers refused to confirm the game plan, saying: “I might as well invite the All Blacks to our training sessions if I told you that.
“Ricky and Conrad don’t have bad kicking games at all,” he asserted. “But Fourie is very good off the boot and Percy offers us a left-footed option which is valuable. We know how we want to play against New Zealand and those players offer us the strengths we need to play the game we want to.”
Asked whether their inclusion was partly designed to take some kicking pressure off Butch James, De Villiers said: “I aim to have 15 perfect players who are able to execute a wide range of skills. They will read the situation and play accordingly. But it’s always soothing to know you have two players who can do that job and that frees Butch to shift the ball.”
Captain Victor Matfield said he expected a physical contest. “We’ll give each other as good as we get. It won’t be a lot different to traditional Springbok/All Blacks Tests.”
In Dunedin the All Blacks dominated possession 58% to 42%, while they spent 66% of the game in South Africa’s territory. Despite this, the Springboks scored two tries to their one and crafted the better scoring opportunities. This also speaks volumes about the defensive work done by the visitors, who began to slip tackles late in the match (a total of 22 to New Zealand’s 6) but scrambled desperately in search of redemption. They made 205 tackles in total – massive by Test standards.
Asked if they expected to defend as much as that this weekend Matfield was non-committal.
“If you look at the stats from games over the last two years you’ll see that often the team that has less possession won the game. Maybe there’s a trend developing there,” he said.
“But decision making will be key. We put a premium on keeping possession but it’s important that we read the situation and make sharp decisions and execute accurately. Using the ball in the right manner is extremely important against the All Blacks.”
Springboks – 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Frans Steyn, 22 Conrad Jantjes
By Ryan Vrede, in Cape Town

731 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 15 » Show All
12 Aug 2008, 13:45 pm
All Blacks by at least 15
12 Aug 2008, 13:45 pm
i jsut we had a decent reff the kiwi refs r the worst against the boks!!!!!!
12 Aug 2008, 13:46 pm
as long as we can slow down mccaw i dont fear the breakdown we have to stop the 8th man from nz that giant luaki
ja i can see the abs winning but i hope not
#164 rangerman: Yeah but one big tackle on a prone little Puma doesn’t make you a tough nut, does it?! Still think we need an enforcer.
#189 iori Yagami:
What is “lmj”?
And we really need to get over BJ…the guy is going overseas…he was planning to all along. Time to move on fellas.
181 – Slumtown
Do you think Big Joe deserves to be in the squad even though he went behind PDV back by signing an overseas contract??And why does the arguement has to be between him and Luke,not him and spies??I like spies but I think he hasnt been to his best since he came back from injury.I dnt hear anyone saying anything about incredible schulk,do you think he is our best option in this new rules???
#199 vindicated: those cc players in our side again?
12 Aug 2008, 13:47 pm
#204 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Laughing me jas
12 Aug 2008, 13:47 pm
#198 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: Kombuis Afrikaans
12 Aug 2008, 13:48 pm
#199 vindicated: care to elaborate?
#160 stew:
“Also the Boks seem far to complacement and relying on home advantage – bad management.”
Where on earth did you suck that one from?
#203 BigScrum: he wasnt prone and he plays in probably the rouhest leagues on earth-france. he was in the wc squad and is a hard nut himself.
i am not saying he will be an enforcer but i think he will cope just fine.
Pardon my conflicting opinion. Ricky had 1 bad game and got dropped. Forgive me for saying it but Fourie du Preez should be on the bunch just like Jacque Fourie was expected to… how quickly we South Africans forget. The last time we played this team in the same venue Fourie du Preez was warming the bench for the current incumbent. We won. The first time we beat New Zeland in the House of Pain guess what, Ricky was again the key.. yet the minute FdP comes back from an injury during an decidedly average S14 season we drop Ricky.. how typical.
NEW ZEALAND: 15 Mils Muliania, 14 Richard Kahui, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock. Reserves: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 John Afoa, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Adam Thompson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Isaia Toeava
12 Aug 2008, 13:49 pm
#196 flanka:
As Flanka and Tighthead debate the merits of their respective positions, Saffa, The Ex Ball Boy, chuckles are their short sightedness. Without the Ball Boy (i.e. Saffa’s position) their would be vokol game. The Ball Boy Is Baas, Klaar!!!
#196 flanka:
What are you talking about?
I never mentioned the tight head.
Tacticus at # 40
Over the past few weeks I have read quite s few stories on this site. What I find desturbing is your posts. If Luke Watson has a good game, then it is said that it was weak opposition, but Bakkies did not have even an average afternoon before his injury and yet nothing gets said. If you look at Saturday’s game with both your eyes open, you should try and count the turn-overs Watson made. You should also look who was next to Big Joe when he scored his 1st try, who was next to Adi when he scored and who was right behind Spies when he scored his. LUKE WATSON in support. Did you maybe see his try saving tackle, I doubt it. The man is not the tallest loose foward in world rugby, and unfortunately some people are like stuck records, carrying on and on about his height. He knows how to carry, how to off-load in and before the tackle. Go look at how he actually plays and stop K@king in your pants about how short he is. I would also love to know how many penalties Luke has conceded in Tri-Nations ’08 compared to Joe. And how many points was scored off those penalties.
12 Aug 2008, 13:50 pm
are = at
#211 David: he sucked it from the depths of cyberspace.
really informed comment eh david?
lmao!!
whatever happened to gary botha his his bok days over?
#213 Crown as in Thomas: ja boet, but if we are going to play for territory, as i expect the case may be, then pdv would have shot himself in the foot if he picked ricky.
he is a great hooker
12 Aug 2008, 13:51 pm
#191 siener:
I think that Percy’s there to run on first at Newlands for his 100th cap. Nothing more. PdeV could have started with either.
12 Aug 2008, 13:51 pm
#221 klippies101: Was
12 Aug 2008, 13:52 pm
#213 Crown as in Thomas: ricky aint dropped but the coach obviously has gone for a tactical game ergo FdP.
in addition, whilst ricky snaffled it at dunedin, butch plays better with FdP.
ricky will get gametime though.
#221 klippies101: Dale Sandton still sets the standard. Legend.
#207 rangerman: no not so many this week obviously – but, heres the funny thing – last weeks side looked a lot more dangerous than this side – probably something to do with impact from the bench
#205 flanka: Nope, you select the BEST players available for the Boks, and it doesn’t matter whether they play in SA or not. There is nothing that prevents players who play outside of SA being chosen (we could have 15 in the team).
BJ is currently our best tighthead and whether it matters or not (it doesn’t) he is currently playing in SA anyway. Something fishy about his exclusion…
#219 klippies101: Klippies, hy was ge-Schalk Brits!
12 Aug 2008, 13:53 pm
Hey what a team!!! I reckon Snor’s pretty much satisfied everyone – except maybe the Watson haters.
Percy at the back should add stability in the opening half hour – non of that k@k they dished up at Ellis park!
FdP and James combo will hopefully get our backline away – Habana and JP with ball and space…devastating!
Loosies, we need to find a combo and stick with it. If Spies gives some grunt at the contact we should hold our own. Juan is possibly lukcy to be there – he’s been very average this season and with Joe red hot he’ll be looking over his shoulder. Still glad he’s there though, he’s a warrior.
Now its just wait for game time!
A lot of the posters here are so small minded regarding their little provincial games it makes me quite ill.
Who gives a flying fack who comes from where or which province has representatives in it etc etc ad nauseum?
It’s really time to grow up and support the team placed on the field. I would think there are more pressing issues, such as quotas, to discuss and complain about rather than which part of the country some player happens to be have his contract with at a particular point in time.
Hey, if it’s your brother or your best friend then perhaps some partiality is called for, but this sniping which – (to put some coals on an already open fire and leaves me open to calls of hypocrisy) seems largely to come from north of the Jukskei, should cease.
It reminds me of a journo in that Jakaranda city who used to see a kid playing for some obscure team somewhere and then back him to within an inch of the Northern Transvaal team. Then having made it on the back of lavish praise and no little pressure from said hack, this poor lad would do the rabbit in the headlight stare thingy and promptly go back to the hutch from which he came.
In a more serious vein (and less of a flame), the team chosen must be one of the best since the World Cup win. I’m especially pleased that Fourie Du Preez has made it back – watch Butch James improve by leaps and bounds. (I’m still not convinced – Peter Grant is surely the real next flyhalf)
Still, the real test is the following weekend and more so, the one after that when this romp against Argentina will start to tell on the stamina of our blokes.
#218 rangerman:
Yeah, you’d swear some guys live with the Bok side and management the way they comment.
#211 David:
Seems you’re behind with the latest doomsdayer trends. The latest is to justify the negativity by that which cannot be measured.
#226 Windhond_Sharks: Grant, why is my comment awaiting moderation??? is it because i could post the NZ team before you guys could pull the finger? Come on boet…..
# 216 is for Tacitus at # 40. Sorry!
206 Virus
Well based on who is going overseas and who is not you could argue the same for Bakkies Botha. I know where youre coming from. personally I’d have Wickus or Botes or Grobelaar in the team instead. I have Big Joe vs Watson as a replacement because he can play both flank and eighth man.
Spies was a lot better this match than he has been.
Schalk Burger still remains one of the most integral players in the team due to his dominating physical approach, hard work rate and huge tackling abilites. He was never in any doubt in my mind. Who is looking decidely weaker this year is Juan Smith. He looks slow at times when taking the ball up and loses a huge amount of ball in the tackle somehow. He is a solid player – but he has not been in his World Cup form this year. Perhaps Schalk should be at 7 and we should have a better fecther at 6?
12 Aug 2008, 13:54 pm
iam tired of the boks being branded as a dirty side thr aussies r far worse they r thugs oof and on the field
#200 klippies101:
You really are dof huh. The All Blacks are playing. Kiwi refs aren’t allowed.
Boks by 8
12 Aug 2008, 13:55 pm
href=”#comment-960310″>166 tight head: definitely a yes to the last 2, the breakdown a weaker yes though….FDP and Percy’s inclusion proves this considering Januarie really is NZ’s bogey opposition player…and we really had no other options at 8, but we know how the incredible schalk plays like a man possessed whenever he returns from a sabatical. Besides, Russouw being on the bench is the best insurance policy
#224 rangerman:
I agree, with Monty and FdP, we’re clearly going for the tactical, kicking game. Good move. Nothing to do with Ricky being hard done.
#204 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5:
Lag my jas
12 Aug 2008, 13:56 pm
#224 rangerman: If we’re honest mate Butch looked good throughout the game against Argentina. He had a solid game from the first minute. That said to go from the starting number 9 to the bench is being dropped in my language. Time will tell but I still feel bummed for the lad. I think Ricky has shone this year and should own the number 9 jumper like he did in 2005.
12 Aug 2008, 13:56 pm
#215 tight head: my error, i apologise…time to get the glasses out..mistook “in the tight” for “the tighthead”
12 Aug 2008, 13:57 pm
#226 vindicated: lol, in the starting lineup how many changes have been made?
habana for nokwe
FdP for ricky (is ricky cc material?)
schalk for luke
bekker for bakkies(injury enforced)
percy for conrad.
thats not too substantial now is it?
you amuse me.
the bench shows exactly two newcomers.
boks by 10.
12 Aug 2008, 13:57 pm
we need another andre venter in our bok team
12 Aug 2008, 13:58 pm
NEW ZEALAND:
15 Mils Muliania,
14 Richard Kahui,
13 Conrad Smith,
12 Ma’a Nonu,
11 Sitiveni Sivivatu,
10 Dan Carter,
9 Jimmy Cowan,
8 Rodney So’oialo,
7 Richie McCaw (c),
6 Jerome Kaino,
5 Ali Williams,
4 Brad Thorn,
3 Greg Somerville,
2 Andrew Hore,
1 Tony Woodcock.
Reserves:
16 Keven Mealamu,
17 John Afoa,
18 Anthony Boric,
19 Adam Thompson,
20 Piri Weepu,
21 Stephen Donald,
22 Isaia Toeava
12 Aug 2008, 13:58 pm
#227 wooden spoon: agreed…definitely something we don’t know about
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 15 » Show All