Boks call up big guns

Percy Montgomery and Fourie du Preez will start against the All Blacks on Saturday.

They replace Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes in the starting line-up, with the other changes coming at lock, where Andries Bekker starts in place of the injured Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger in for Luke Watson at openside flank and Danie Rossouw and Frans Steyn coming onto the wood.

Montgomery will earn his 100th Test cap at Newlands in a back three that won the World Cup and one that started when they broke a 10-year losing streak at Dunedin earlier in the tournament.

“It’s a special moment for me, particularly because it’s at Newlands where I spent a big part of my career and against the All Blacks. You couldn’t have asked for a better script,” he told keo.co.za. Montgomery will share his special occasion with Juan Smith, who makes his 50th appearance for the Springboks.

Du Preez was somewhat of a surprise inclusion given how loyal coach Peter De Villiers has been to Ricky Januarie. However, there can be no question that Du Preez offers a more complete option, particularly from a tactical-kicking perspective.

De Villiers said it was a hard decision to drop Januarie but pointed towards fatigue as a decisive factor.

“We can’t live in the past. We have to move on,” De Villiers said in response to the question of whether Januarie’s performance against the All Blacks in Dunedin wasn’t enough to warrant a start.

“If you look at Ricky’s workload this year in the Super 14 and in the Test matches, you’ll realise that a lot has been asked of him. The legs were definitely starting to get a bit heavier and it was time to make the change.

“I’ve always promised players that I’ll be honest with them in all areas and while it was a hard call to make, I feel it was the right one given the type of game we want to play. It’s great to be in a position to say to two players who have done nothing wrong, ‘Look sorry but you’re not going to start’. It’s a blessing.”

Du Preez and Montgomery’s inclusion hints that their play may be characterised by territorial dominance gained through tactical kicking. De Villiers refused to confirm the game plan, saying: “I might as well invite the All Blacks to our training sessions if I told you that.

“Ricky and Conrad don’t have bad kicking games at all,” he asserted. “But Fourie is very good off the boot and Percy offers us a left-footed option which is valuable. We know how we want to play against New Zealand and those players offer us the strengths we need to play the game we want to.”

Asked whether their inclusion was partly designed to take some kicking pressure off Butch James, De Villiers said: “I aim to have 15 perfect players who are able to execute a wide range of skills. They will read the situation and play accordingly. But it’s always soothing to know you have two players who can do that job and that frees Butch to shift the ball.”

Captain Victor Matfield said he expected a physical contest. “We’ll give each other as good as we get. It won’t be a lot different to traditional Springbok/All Blacks Tests.”

In Dunedin the All Blacks dominated possession 58% to 42%, while they spent 66% of the game in South Africa’s territory. Despite this, the Springboks scored two tries to their one and crafted the better scoring opportunities. This also speaks volumes about the defensive work done by the visitors, who began to slip tackles late in the match (a total of 22 to New Zealand’s 6) but scrambled desperately in search of redemption. They made 205 tackles in total – massive by Test standards.

Asked if they expected to defend as much as that this weekend Matfield was non-committal.

“If you look at the stats from games over the last two years you’ll see that often the team that has less possession won the game. Maybe there’s a trend developing there,” he said.

“But decision making will be key. We put a premium on keeping possession but it’s important that we read the situation and make sharp decisions and execute accurately. Using the ball in the right manner is extremely important against the All Blacks.”

Springboks – 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Frans Steyn, 22 Conrad Jantjes

By Ryan Vrede, in Cape Town

731 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1215 » Show All

• 301.BigScrum: Reply to this comment

Is it true the Boks are out and about most evenings in the build up to this test, whilst the AB’s focus fully on a huge onslaught come Saturday?!

• 302.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Where is my weatherguy vindicated? lol. What the weather for Saturday? Wonder maybe if I must slat a leka paar choppies on the kole.

• 303.David: Reply to this comment

#255 Windhond_Sharks:
    They’ve posted it on a seperate thread. I’d sue if I were you. :smile:

• 304.vindicated: Reply to this comment

#293 rangerman: good luck – i hope you’re right

• 305.Tisme: Reply to this comment

#282 robdylan: Not Aussie…. Western force, its not uncommon for a player to play a S14 season at an oposing country franchise…. ask ex bok capyain Andre Vos? With JS back wher is Bismark going to get game time?

• 306.iceman: Reply to this comment

Nice to see youngsters like, Andries Bekker and Pierre Spies, been shown some confidence by the coaching staff and selectors alike.

This will only do them good in the long run. They are both excellent athletes who will go from strength to strength the more they play.

I do feel sorry for Joe van Niekerk though because he really is playing well at the moment and seems to be enjoying his rugby, which is a good sign.

• 307.klippies101: Reply to this comment

iam off to graze food is calling check u okes later

• 308.klippies101: Reply to this comment

sharks to win the currie cup

• 309.David: Reply to this comment

#285 robdylan:
    I wouldn’t put it past the Aussie to have already approached players before they made it legal. :roll:

• 310.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#297 iori Yagami:

Yep

• 311.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

GOOD TEAM

Would have started 1.Guthro,9.Januarie(best in the game at pressurising opposite halfbacks-Cowan not exactly CLASS),8.Joe(EXPERIENCE)

But this team can beat the AB’s

Big loss in Bakkies but Thorn isnt international class as an enforcer IMO-(ex:Botha,O’Connel,Shaw,Pelous) so he doesnt intimidate the Boks.He is a more athletic version of Greg Rawlison.Nothing to fear there,as a jumper he is decent but hardly dominant.

BIG game for Spies

Lets go Mr De Villiers

Lets GO BOKKE!!!

Boks by +3

• 312.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#283 Sonito:
    Too much Klippies and Cola???

• 313.katman: Reply to this comment

#282 Dawn:

Kalashnikov SA
    The Coach House
    13 Belvedere Road
    Muizenberg
    Cape Town

021 788 9343

info@kalashnikov.co.za

• 314.Tisme: Reply to this comment

#308 klippies101: Klippies101 to grow a brain !

• 315.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#300 klippies101:

NOW WHERE CAN I GET ONE OF THOSE WATCHES !!!

• 316.klippies101: Reply to this comment

why dies joe want to go overseas anyway he should stay and build his place in the bok squad

• 317.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#308 klippies101:
    Damn right!!!!

• 318.David: Reply to this comment

#316 klippies101:
    His mother needs the commission. :grin:

• 319.klippies101: Reply to this comment

why msut i grow a brain i saw they will win

• 320.klippies101: Reply to this comment

john plumtree is a good coach

• 321.katman: Reply to this comment

#315 Dawn: Get the AK 1000 Limited Edition.

• 322.ET: Reply to this comment

#40 Tacitus:

So a simple question then, WHO is the WATSON in the starting team if the GENUINE WATSON is on the bench.

His GHOST?

• 323.klippies101: Reply to this comment

ja that true david money is a wrong reason to say where u play the pride of the jersey is important though crime is a factor to

• 324.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Boks by 30……. :shock:

• 325.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

#315 Dawn: Wats so cool about these watches?

• 326.Windhond_Sharks: Reply to this comment

#299 BlackPanther: ja,ja….moenie eers probeer nie. ek het maar n ou dik vel seunie…hou jou kak posts van die site af asb.

• 327.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

#321 katman: What the retail on one of those?

• 328.klippies101: Reply to this comment

whis the boks forward coach muir is the assistant and gold is the backline right?

• 329.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Just win the game I dont care by how much…. 1 point is all it takes.

• 330.David: Reply to this comment

#323 klippies101:
    The only crime that Joe’s been subjected to was committed by his hairdresser in CapeTown. :lol:

• 331.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#313 katman:

Thanks

• 332.David: Reply to this comment

#325 iori Yagami:
    They’re personally signed by Jacob Zuma.

• 333.klippies101: Reply to this comment

wow mauler i wish we could beat the abs but 30 thats postive thinking

when will keo rolls the bones and let us know the score

• 334.David: Reply to this comment

#328 klippies101:
    The other way around.

• 335.klippies101: Reply to this comment

joes hair is bad true but not as bad as phil waughs he looks like the hunchback
    of notre dame

• 336.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

#332 David: Lol. That makes them priceless

• 337.klippies101: Reply to this comment

davind wat do u mean the other way around sorry iam slow today

• 338.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

good day everyone

I reckon with the squad thats there , it is a good team
    i’d say 90 % of us would have chosen this team from the sqaud he has

as they say you cant make everyone happy

• 339.klippies101: Reply to this comment

jacob zooma and oom steve hoffmeyer for presidents

• 340.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#335 klippies101: phil waugh is the original biker from the rocky horror picture show.

• 341.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#97 Saffa_Guy: PdV’s Boks By 5: And since when is Zane Kirchner a Shark? Or is there something us Sharks supporters should know?

• 342.NY_Agent: Reply to this comment

donnu much abt this Watson dude, why does ever1resent him so much….from what i can tell it has nothing to do with his rugby playing ability….and i dont think he can do much right either………heaven forgive prejudice…….

• 343.katman: Reply to this comment

#327 iori Yagami: I think they vary from model to model. The Limited Edition AK 1000 is a great looking watch, but costs over R3000 – definitely the nicest watch they have. A mate of mine has one. I can’t justify that expense.

• 344.klippies101: Reply to this comment

whats that thing round matfields arms i heard it protects a bome he once broke

• 345.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well id have been happier with bj there and bakkies

and JF there , but adi has been good so i dont see him letting us down

• 346.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

#333 klippies101:
    My boner has spoken… :eek:

• 347.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#326 Windhond_Sharks:

ek is verras hulle laat u rondrits die net gedurende die skool klasse. tee hee.

• 348.klippies101: Reply to this comment

spies wears one also

• 349.Cereal Killa: Reply to this comment

#69 klippies101:
    You kidding right….he shouldnt even be in the WP team…..he is unfortunately past his sell-by date

• 350.Pompa: Reply to this comment

Guys I was very concerned when Bakkies got injured, I even said so yesterday. But last night I had a look at a couple Super 14 games and the tests so far and I actually think that Bekker may prove some if us wrong. In the short term he may be the awnser to filling in for Bakkies but I still think longterm he will be a Matfield.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1215 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.