Smith absent but Boks look slick

Juan Smith was a notable absentee from a training session on Tuesday afternoon where the Springboks continued to hone their attacking play.

Springbok communications manager Rayaan Adriaanse said Smith had returned to Bloemfontein “for personal reasons” but was unwilling to elaborate on that. He said that the flanker would rejoin the squad later in the week.

Meanwhile Frans Steyn spent the entire session on the sideline with an ice pack strapped to a thigh he injured playing for the Sharks against Western Province last Friday. There was no clear indication of when he would be able to resume training and he still looks in considerable pain when running.

Danie Rossouw, who was admitted to hospital on Saturday evening with an irregular heart rate, was a bit-part participant in the session. He’ll resume full training tomorrow.

The Springboks were welcomed to Florida Park in Ravesmead by close to 500 spectators, most of who were school kids from the community and its surrounds.

They started by focusing on set and phase plays before ending the session running through their patterns of play. The backline was particularly impressive in their execution of a number of elaborate set pieces, with scrumhalf Fourie du Preez a prominent distributor and wings JP Pietersen and Bryan Habana often moving off their flanks and receiving short off flyhalf Butch James.

While there was certainly still work to be done, the early signs are encouraging. They’ll get even more accurate in the coming days but whether they’ll translate their superb training ground form to performance in the heat of battle remains to be seen.

166 Comments

• 1.Die Dier: Reply to this comment

bokpiele drake!

• 2.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

“Meanwhile Frans Steyn spent the entire session on the sideline with an ice pack strapped to a thigh he injured playing for the Sharks against Western Province last Friday.”

I did notice he had an unusually quiet match.

• 3.brentie: Reply to this comment

Now tell my Ryan did they do this against any opposition? Why show your
    attacking moves in front of 500 spectators?

• 4.hmm: Reply to this comment

yeah i heard graham henry disguised piri weepu as a 12 year old child and sent him in with a notepad.

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

Joe at 7 if Juan pulls out? That would be a major blow, Juan is a crucial part of the pack make up.

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

Or luke at 6 in a fetcher role with Schalk at 7? Damn, dont need these problems in front of such a huge game!

• 7.toothgnasher: Reply to this comment

Go Juan

• 8.grant10: Reply to this comment

Please dont play Danie as a loose forward!! Mc Caw will have a field day pilfering!

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#6 grant10: juan is nowhere near the form that saw him named “man of the tournament” @ the world cup, but he gets played every single matchn the man is off form!

• 10.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#5 grant10:

Juan is not close to the level he used to be. He did not perform well during the 2 previous tests especially against the Aussies where Rocky Elsom completedly outplayed him. If he does not pull up his socks during this game we will be in big trouble.

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

He has been pretty average compared to the World Cup, i agree. He does however provide quality lineout option and is due a big one? Some other players have also not brought there world cup form into this season [ Butch, jp? ] but are now hitting there straps? It would be a brave call to select a no 7 flanker in Juans place? Wikus is more of a 6 fetcher for the Bulls and Danie R a lock at the Bulls. No, Juan Smith will come good, lets hope his personal issues are resolved satisfactorily and he gets back on the pitch tomorrow.

• 12.Spill the Beans: Reply to this comment

Oh oh oh booga wooga booga wooga oh oh oh. Shiver me timbers and once more ……. oh oh oh kaboom-tish. I saw that. Don’t do it again. Avoid the cracks on the pavement. A megalodon is a very big shark. VERY big!

• 13.grant10: Reply to this comment

Robzim and transformation, what would be your selection at 7 ?

• 14.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

#2 klingon_x:
    He went off as soon as he got injured.

Juan Smith’s wife is ill apparently. I’m a bit worried about him as well. We’ve got so much loosie talent in SA, that’s it’s a bit annoying if the ones selected in the team aren’t performing well enough. I definitely wouldn’t drop him yet though, he was our best player last year and deserves a few more opportunities.

• 15.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#14 silent_shadow: Yes but we would be able to cope wothout him. Schalk can go to no 7 and we can play a fetcher at no 6. Brussouw or Watson? No team calling themselves WC should loose simply because one player is absent.

• 16.grant10: Reply to this comment

14 Agreed, i havent watched a load of Currie Cup rugby but seem to remember some awesome performances by Brussouw and Grobbelaar, both fetchers? No one has really stood out head and shoulders above Juan > Willem Alberts stands out but plays at 8. No, Juan is worth the investment, i feel he will be the one to stand up Saturday.

• 17.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#13 grant10:

My selection would be Watson (6), Schalk (7) and Spies (8) , or alternatively Wickus (6), Schalk (7) and Big Joe at eight depending on the opposition and gameplan. I do not believe Schalk is an openside flanker and the mentioned combinations would provide more balance than picking 3 big runners or bashers as we have at the moment.

I have always believe that any loose trio should also have a gamebreaker or linking player and if he can also do a bit of fetching then it is a bonus. That is why I have a preferance for the Watson-type of player.

• 18.grant10: Reply to this comment

15 You are correct, great teams manage despite injuries. Pity though warhorses like Bakkies and Juan a ffected, however i am sure they will replace type with type and opt for Joe van niekerk if need be. I am positive that Juan will be there, sorry to hear about Mrs Smith.

• 19.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#17 Robzim: Fair enough but he must leave the 150 kg press up bull **** behind though and muzzle up his father. I am gobsmacked as to why a player who is almost 30 needs his “daddy” to stand up for him. Sounds like Bush Snr and Bush Jnr.

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

17 Yes , I also like the fetcher/ link man. I am a great fan of Watson, met him twice and he is a zealous ,passionate player, with age he will / has matured appreciably and will play many games for the Boks. The Schalk question is indeed a debatable point, certainly Luke has his best games when played in an outright fetcger role, as was the case in 2006 when he walked on water! The issue is Schalk also wants the role at wp and the stormers and he has freakish ability.That Brussow chap is helleva impressice as well and certainly i feel post Schalk the Boks will look at a fout and out fetcher, as most countries do. The schalk factor negates the debate to a degree, those machines only come around once a decade!

• 21.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Juan although not as his best brings a massive physical presence to the side and he is hugely respected by the AB’s, he is a class act. Let’s hope that his wife is ok and that Juan can get his focus back to Sat’s match. With Bakkies gone Juan’s presence is a must !!!!

• 22.wls1: Reply to this comment

I would leave Watson out, personally he seems to play the way he wants to and you often see a move go tits up because hes in the middle of it.
    There are far better players on the park, its been proven already.
    He is captain showboat and you can see it, he should be playing sports that arnt team related.

• 23.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#20 grant10:

It is not an easy one to decide or to agree on. The situation at the Stormers might become even more interesting next season with Koster coming into the picture and (if the rumour is true) Duanne Vermeulen also moving down south.

• 24.grant10: Reply to this comment

19 Luke has had a lot to endure and i also do not like what transpired between him and Jake. They were both guilty of pettiness and i am sure, in the cold light of day, regret there unneccessary and at times childish outbursts. One cannot fault Lukes behaviour and the manner in whish he has maintained his dignity after being stripped of the Stormers captaincy and the unfortunate way he gained selection to the Boks in 2007, bearing in mind most critics, including i , felt he should of been capped in 2006. One must give credit where it is due, Luke has kept his side of the bargain.

• 25.justrugby: Reply to this comment

wls1 – Not sure I agree with you, On Saturday a couple of tries were scored as a result of Lukes linking and reading of the game ability. In SA we are too quick to slate players who have a strong individual personality, let the coach man manage this if it is a problem and let the boy just play rugby and be judged on this alone !!

• 26.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#21 justrugby: Ask the ABs old tough nut Collins. He said the only flanker whom you know having been tackled by when you get up is Juan Smith. Not as visible but tough as they come. Schalk is the only one who comes close.

Bottom line is at this stage we do not have a replacement. We can shift players around and make a plan but Juan Smith is one of those players that comes around once in a while.

• 27.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Objective 101 – Spot on, we can only hope that the big guy does not need to be replaced

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

23 The super 14 is all about depth and that Koster really looks like the real deal. Yes, Duane Vermeulen will bring a hard edge as well, for Petes sake though the Stormers going to need some quality tight forwards and Skeate a big blow.Also heard Stormers sniffing around Jaque Fourie, that wouls be an intersting acquisition !

• 29.Stevie D: Reply to this comment

Oh dear, I feel a bit guilty at the amount of laughter I’m going to engage after the All Blacks’ man-shaming on Saturday.

Remember the days when those sheep-shagging cnuts were a force in the game?

No, neither do I.

• 30.justrugby: Reply to this comment

28 Grant 10- Stormers long overdue a tight 5 , especially a front row ,that can dominate the set phases. It irks me that all we hear is that backs are being looked at !!!! Rassie needs to get into the market and look at the Sharks, they have an abundace of tight forwards as well as oversaes if needed.

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

29 From your lips to Gods ears, may the Boks show true world champion qualities and greatness!!

• 32.Stevie D: Reply to this comment

#31 grant10: Fo sho bro!

• 33.justrugby: Reply to this comment

29- Stevie D – Like your enthsiasm boet !! It’s going to be a hell of game, they are certainly still very much a force, we must respect them but never fear them !!!!

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

30 Yes,it was all downhill once Moller got injured. Heinke and Jannie du plessis would fit the bill nicely!!

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

33 yes, respect but never fear!!! Exactly what my good mate Andy would say!!!!

• 36.justrugby: Reply to this comment

34 – agree with Mujati also in the equation it would be a strong outfit, can you see Eloff releasing Heinke !!!!! Never !!!!!!

• 37.Stevie D: Reply to this comment

#33 justrugby: Too much respect has been paid to those mofos. We beat them at home under a coach every fool with typing ability is having a go at… I was at the last Test between these two behomoths in Kaapstad.

We will win, I guarantee it.

• 38.justrugby: Reply to this comment

35- Sounds like a good man that !!!!

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

Funny , with the aussies i fear them but struggle to respect them LOL. No, not true, they a smart outfit!

• 40.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

#29 Stevie D: Don’t count your chickens befor eal teh eggs have hatched. A ***** AB team is still a lot better than a good bok team.

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

38 He is! Knows nothing about rugby though! LOL

• 42.justrugby: Reply to this comment

39- Thank goodness they do not travel that well to SA, they seem to have a inferiority complex when reaching these shores. Maybe Deans can coach that inferiorty out of them , if successful at doing this they could pose a bigger threat than the AB”S

• 43.justrugby: Reply to this comment

41 – LOL

• 44.grant10: Reply to this comment

40 This bok team is a bit better than good? Yes , respect is important, we are at home though and must stamp our authority, let them be concerned about our game plan. Go out and assert ourselves. We are the better team, turn Sivivatu and Nonu, they hate being harried! Key is 1st time tackling and structure and discipline. Our scrum simply has to stand firm, then Fourie du Preez, over to you Maestro!

• 45.Stevie D: Reply to this comment

#40 Objective 101: Bro, take some fukking typing lessons, you silly cnut.

• 46.justrugby: Reply to this comment

44- Correct, I posted on another site that our tactical kicking is paramount, turning the AB’s at the right time is vital. Butch and Fourie’s kicking game needs to be spot on or it could cost us the game. Percy also needs to kick the vital penalties that come his way. And yes do not give an inch, because we don’t have to !!!!!!

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

42 yes, they do struggle here. However they have lost a lot of there games by less than 5 points,and the Deans factor comes into play? However, i think they going to struggle if Elsom out and i am just sorry both games not being played at altitude! [ Sorry sharks]

• 48.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Steve and objective 101…….play nicely boys !!!

• 49.justrugby: Reply to this comment

47 – Yet their worst record is at Newlands !!!! (or so I have been told)

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

44 Tactically we can dictate, Butch must legally intimidate and harass Carter though, that Dan can turn a match and needs some special attention!

• 51.Stevie D: Reply to this comment

#48 justrugby: Meh. You’re a woman, aren’t you? Boks v Blacks, we need spite!

• 52.grant10: Reply to this comment

All Blacks have great record at Newlands, we should have maybe played All Blacks at Ellis Park [ coca cola park??] ,then the Wallabies at Newlands and Loftus?

• 53.rex: Reply to this comment

Time to bring in Wickus.

• 54.justrugby: Reply to this comment

50- Januarie has a knack for pressurising Carter and getting under his nose, Fourie must but pressure on him and fufill this role, Butch just needs to be Butch !!!! operation “get Carter” , legally of course !!! is vital !!!

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

What the hell, we beat them at Dunedin we will take them at Newlands!!

• 56.justrugby: Reply to this comment

51 – Stevie D – LOL, this is true.. we need spite !!!

• 57.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I wish our coaching staff would adopt an approach of when a player is siffering with form, and we have able back-up, to give him time (not send him back to CC) to recharge physically (conditioning) and mentally (mental skills coaches).

Wikus is a more than able back up for Juan at 7.

He is not having a good time of late but is still a class player.

• 58.justrugby: Reply to this comment

57 – Pissant- Wickus very unlucy to not be in the squad , hopefully he is not to far away from being included……. injuries have a strange way of dealing with and sorting out selection problems.

• 59.grant10: Reply to this comment

53Wickus is an opensider at present at the Bulls. Yes , he may be able to revert back to his old role but i think they will go with Joe at 7.

• 60.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#59 grant10:

Wikus is not a classic fetcher, but rather a nuisance like Schalk Burger who gets turn-overs through his sheer work rate.

But then, the Bulls have not employed a classic fetcher in years.

It suits their play

• 61.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

#58 justrugby: The really do dont they! Young frans may just get the chance to PDV that he is not just a player he is the future of world rugby ! I see some some pretty phenomenal drop goals coming up this weekend

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

Wickus is also headed overseas so maybe also influence selection?

• 63.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#62 grant10:

Could be.

• 64.justrugby: Reply to this comment

61 – Bullet – He is a special player , I believe when Percy calls it a day the full back berth is there for him to own for years to come, I get goosebumps thinking about what he can do with the space he will have from the full back posistion !!!

• 65.justrugby: Reply to this comment

62- Sad if this is true !!!

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

61 Now we talking , I will make a statement here and now, Frans Steyn will soon be the 1 st choice 10! Butch is a class act but those knees and workload may prove difficult,especially with Butch seemingly intent on seeing out the Bath contract. Grant and the other pretenders to the throne simply do not have the x factor. Give the kid the jersey for a period of time and mark my words, a legend will be in the making.

• 67.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Having watched the Province /Sharks game on the weekend I was concerned with Steyn’s body language , he does not look like a happy chappy, he looks miserable a though he is carrying the world on his shoulders and does not seem to be enjoying his rugby at the moment. I would like to see him smile more and look more relaxed, not sure what is going on with him !!!!!!

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

67 yip, he looks the moer in! Perhaps being cut from the squad may have something to do with it?

• 69.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

#66 grant10: Maybe . He plays 10 till he gets a bit more mature .Then goes to fullback where he will rule the world believe me. He probably will surpass Percy;s points tally by his 60th test

• 70.justrugby: Reply to this comment

66 – Agree but do not believe as a flyhalf, fullback yes, flyhalf no. He just has not got the technique to be a world class flyhalf, he had an inspirational game at flyhalf a couple of years ago against WP but never really reached those heights as a flyhalf again, in fact played some mediocre games in this posision. But then as your nic suggests you are a flyhalf , so if you believe he can become a great flyhalf maybe I need to reserve my judgement !!

• 71.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

#67 justrugby: he his 21 years old and everyone expects him not to make mistake .He deserves to be gatvol after all the **** he gets. He is started a WC final yet this year the only time he ever got to start is when Adi got bust. Now he gets recalled because of another injury.

• 72.spt: Reply to this comment

Carm down everyone, Juan Smith en his wife are having there first kid. From what i heard on Top Billing a few months ago, with an interview with Juan en his wife there baby is due in August. So it could be why he left at such an important time.

• 73.justrugby: Reply to this comment

SPT – You are the bearer of good news !!!!!

• 74.spt: Reply to this comment

Thanks.

• 75.grant10: Reply to this comment

66 Yes , i was a very poor mans Naas!! Thats why i appreciate a man of Frans Steyns talent. He is defensively strong, kicks like a mule, fast and will always keep the opposition honest as they never know when he hits that gap. He needs to temper his enthusiasm and i do feel he would grow enormously with a player like Jean de V and F du Preez around him! The problem i have with Morne Steyn , Grant and Bosman is they dont ask enough of the opposition. Dan Carter is quick , and keeps you guessing, as does Giteau. Butch also keeps the opposition on there toes,and certainly has a presence / aura. I put Frans Steyn up there with Bob Skinstadt, Danie Gerber and Naas Botha, worth the price of a ticket because they have that x factor, just special in my opinion!

• 76.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

Thank the god of rugby

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

And having said that i also feel he will make a great 15 , 12 , 13 or wing. As i said, the kids gifted!

• 78.justrugby: Reply to this comment

75- Grant 10- Then who am I to disagree !!! time will reveal all……. either way we agree he is a special talent !!

• 79.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

#77 grant10: and definetly not 20,21,22 !

• 80.klingon_x: Reply to this comment

#67 justrugby:

He seems to be holding back. I said before that all that negative, destructive criticism would affect his game sooner or later.

• 81.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Cheers fellow bloggers, going to watch CSI, will be back later !!!

• 82.grant10: Reply to this comment

78 and 79 Yes, if he were a Pom Aussie or new Zeelander he would be settled in a jersey and playing. Lets see, at the end of the day all we need is 1 point more then those schoolyard bully boys on Saturday, and i get to be there in a corporate box with my best mate! Life is good!

• 83.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So Danie’s got heart palpitations, (hope Spieses lungs are holding up), Steyn can’t run without pain, Juan’s gone off home to attend some personal business, – yet we’re all ready to go thump the AB’s

Could have fooled me.

• 84.grant10: Reply to this comment

81 cheers, nice chatting mate!

• 85.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

6. Wikus
    7. Juan
    8. Schalk

Best trio in SA

• 86.grant10: Reply to this comment

83 Not ideal!

• 87.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Screw CSI !!!!! I am back, agree with Grant 10 they are all great playes but have limitations as a unit,to similar and easy to plan against !!

• 88.grant10: Reply to this comment

85Schalk a bit clumsy for 8? They would certainly be a physical bunch, maybe lack a bit of finesse though.

• 89.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

A whole lot of hyper expectation flowing around for now, I’m not sold on Butch though for now there’s no one else, FdP last played a competitive match exactly when?

Danie Roussouw is as old as the hills almost AJ vintage, Thorn will have him for after dinner snacks. (at least its not Muller that would simply have been a catastrophe) Bekker just better stay sharp and mobile for at least 65 minutes if not more, and as for Schalk, Juan and Spies, well thats how we started in Perth and we all saw how that little experiment turned out.

Now we learn Frans can’t run without pain and Danie’s got a weak heart (apart from some unbeknown blood clotting syndrome that still mystifies and baffles everyone), and Butch’s knees are just about holding out.

Well if this is all primed and raring to go then I sure wonder what 100% fit would have seen us do.

All the more reason they maybe should listen to idiots like me, play fit strong robust fearless and mobile ball runners like Alberts, not dodgy palpitating old has beens.

• 90.grant10: Reply to this comment

Big Joe is a classy 8, never plays a poor game there! Spies is going to improve , lacks great hands though! Kankowski very special as well, but watch Koster come 2011!!

• 91.grant10: Reply to this comment

89 Jeepers skopskiet, you make me want to call my bookie and change my bet!

• 92.justrugby: Reply to this comment

89- Skopskiet – LOL apparently Danie’s condition is not serious, remember these newspaper okes create hype in order to sell papers, I think we will be ok come Sat !!

• 93.grant10: Reply to this comment

92 You right justrugby, we will witness a Bok centution , a Bok half centurion and then a dismantling of the All Blacks ! 28 to 18!!!

• 94.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Anyway its all hifalutin high polluting high stakes gambling most of the time.

We have enough quality and athletic ability in the team, Butch is a bit of a weak link at the mo, maybe now since the Argie game he’s shaken the ring rust and ready to rock n roll again. Perhaps his bosom buddy FdP is the panacea for all his woes.

Bekker and Matfield should go OK though the front 5 are going to get shoved around with Sommerville, Woodcock Hore, Thorn and Williams with plenty more grunt than we got.

Then off the loose we got all these big boy wonderkinds who all know how to bash it up, for so long, till the legs and lungs start feeling the strain. While on the other side of the scrum they digging deep and protecting and keeping it close at hand, holding it together and scrapping round the fringes and on the deck, and disrupting our own flow.

It should be a battle of wits and brawn of epic proportions, brawn we may have sufficient, wits, well lets hope so, especially round that breakdown and ruck time masterclass. Out at the back past first receiver, we should be able to give as much as we get, all depends on that crucial axis, 8, 9 and 10.

• 95.justrugby: Reply to this comment

93 Grant 10- I’ll raise my double Jamesons to that !!!!

• 96.grant10: Reply to this comment

The backline to play the Lions 1 st test next year; 15 Jantjes 14 jp Pieterse 13 Jaque Fourie 12 Jean De Villiers 11 Habana 10 F Steyn 9 f Du Preez

• 97.grant10: Reply to this comment

94 Cheers!!

• 98.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

And here we go with the moderated posts again, now what in darnation have I just said to infuriate the word police? Here goes again, hope we got the little misplaced culprit. Well if we don’t know which surname is tripping the switch, might as well censor them all.

Anyway its all hifalutin high polluting high stakes gambling most of the time.

We have enough quality and athletic ability in the team, Butch is a bit of a weak link at the mo’, maybe now since the Argie game he’s shaken the ring rust and ready to rock n roll again. Perhaps his b’som buddy FdP is the panacea for all his woes.

Bekker and Matfield should go OK though the front 5 are going to get shoved around with Sommerville, Woodc’ck, ****, Thorn and Williams with plenty more grunt than we got.

Then off the loose we got all these big boy wonderkinds who all know how to bash it up, for so long, till the legs and lungs start feeling the strain. While on the other side of the scrum they digging deep and protecting and keeping it close at hand, holding it together and scrapping round the fringes and on the deck, and disrupting our own flow.

It should be a battle of wits and brawn of epic proportions, brawn we may have sufficient, wits, well lets hope so, especially round that breakdown and ruck time masterclass. Out at the back past first receiver, we should be able to give as much as we get, all depends on that crucial axis, 8, 9 and 10.

• 99.jock36: Reply to this comment

#95 grant10: hello grant, no surprises there. i would also like to see steyn getting a run at 10, somebody just needs to remind him to pass the ball once in a while

• 100.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Aha there we have it – outwitted the dodgy word police, its all those contrary NZ expat surnames that are only half kosher round here.

• 101.grant10: Reply to this comment

and the pack against the lions ; 8 spies 7 juan 6 schalk 5 matfield 4 bakkies 3 bj 2 smit 1 beast

• 102.jock36: Reply to this comment

#97 skopskiet: i’m also very worried about the breakdown, mccaw is back and he is bad. ab’s are a different proposition with richie playing, remember we havent faced him yet this year

• 103.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I would have played Grant way back when, but thats all old hat by now, we onto the next cycle of the roundabout already, just waiting now for Butch’s last hurrays and then I guess it’ll be hail young Caesar the old Caesar is no more, nope I still wouldn’t play Steyn at 10, not unless its a Naas Botha show you all wanting to be witnessing again, and again, and again, and again.

• 104.jock36: Reply to this comment

#100 grant10: dont know about bj. i’d rather see cj or jannie du plessis at tighthead

• 105.jock36: Reply to this comment

#102 skopskiet: who should succeed butch?

• 106.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Would you mind not giving away and making public any of the Springbok training routines and new moves planned for Saturday?

I’m quite happy not knowing this if it means the opposition won’t know it.

• 107.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Black by 10

• 108.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

I bet Cane is already telling his contacts back home…probably can’t believe what he’s just found!

• 109.grant10: Reply to this comment

98 We seem to be in the minority jock 36! However you are correct about his passing, that is where a jean and fourie du preez need to keep him on his toes. I think he will flourish given the right company around him. Also, he must be given the kicking duties,if he can nail the 55m ones he can do the rest. I am all for players accepting responsibility and accountability. I hate this idea of sharing responsibility, breeds complacency!

• 110.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Could have been a better option to start with Joe or Watson and bring Spies on later, after they tired. When he’s fresh and while they still fresh its a war of attrition, Rodney and Richie will be keeping him pinned in their sights, later in the game maybe when there’s that little more latitude and maneuverability thats when his athletic prowess could have been brought to bear some fruit.

• 111.grant10: Reply to this comment

102 skopskiet i can assure you Frans Steyn is a very different proposition to Naas Botha, in every way except similar match winning boots!

• 112.grant10: Reply to this comment

109 i agree skopskiet, i would have started with joe at 8 and unleashed spies 50 min in!

• 113.jock36: Reply to this comment

#108 grant10: i remember watching steyn play flyhalf for the sharks the year after he finished school, he was raw, but awesome. if given an extended run he will develop into a great flyhalf. before we know it he will be halfway through his career without knowing what position he plays. he is too good to be wasted like that

• 114.Spill the Beans: Reply to this comment

Adam can’t come right now. He’s watching the womens 10m airgun qualifying rounds. Rivetting stuff. Load, aim …. you have 75 seconds …. shoot …… pop … pop ……. pop pop pop …. pop ……pop ………. pop. Lane 1 …. 8.5 (Crowd goes wild with excitement) Lane 2, 8.8 (Crowd goes mad and waves Chinese flags) Lane 3, 8.2 …. good grief! This is sport? It would only be vaguely interesting if they shot at each other. Almost up there with the 50km walk and womens weightlifting. I should be in charge of this lot. If it was me, the diving event wouldn’t be judged by little boards saying 5.5 or 7.2, it would be who was prepared to dive from the highest point. Screw the artistic stuff, have a dirty big crane there and the winner is the one who survives a dive from the greatest height. Fencing shmencing. Take off those silly tips on the swords and lose the protective gear. Stab the other guy! We want blood for crying out loud, not this poncy hands-on-your-hip mincing around. The shooting event should be quick draw with Colt 45s. Last man standing. Same with the archery. Stand 50m apart and take turns. The winner is the one who skewers the other guy with an arrow. And how lame is this equestrian rubbish? Walk. Good horsie. Now trot a bit then walk again. Clever horsie. What a load of crud! They should be jousting with great big sharp spears. Swimming? Who gives a toss. Let’s see who can stay underwater the longest. How bad do you really want the gold? Seriously now, would you prefer to watch this drivel or would you prefer to watch MY Olympic Games?

• 115.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Guys we can debate who should be playing against the Lions till we are blue in the face , it is fun , but in reality we do not know what the playing personnel will look like, injuries , moving overseas, loss of form , political intervention etc will all play a role as to the make up, the above aside Grant 10 your side looks good, only changes I would make is Steyn at 15 and Morne Steyn or Grant at 10. Would like to see Heinke coming in to the quation as well !! Don’t want to lose that boy to England !!!

• 116.grant10: Reply to this comment

112 jock 36 Yes, he ioozes class. Have to say though that Sharks need to give him an extended run in the 10 jumper.Leave the frenchis alone and then you wont lose the Barritts of the world? A sharks backline of ruan pienaar, frans steyn, barritt,murray, jp, odwa and terblanche would have been an awesome prospect. Kockott and a couple of other youngsters adding the depth. Pity about Barritt!!

• 117.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Spill the beans – You ok there boet ??

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

114 yes, at least we capped him!! Dont think many British passports in that cupboard my man!! LOL . Would love that Heinke with the Stormers, without doubt the strongest loosehead in the scrums!!!!

• 119.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#105 jock36:

They missed a huge trick, because now nobody knows, should it be Grant, or Steyn, or Morne Steyn, or Ruan Pienaar, or Burton Francis, or Robert Ebehrson or his brother, or Jean Louis Potgieter.

I like(d) Grants no nonsense to the ball, to the gainline, crash ball style, I prefer it to Nasty booter type rugby any day of any week, (anybody here vaguely remember a fellow by the name of Henry Honiball, well he was no master class nifty 70 mt punter or drop kick merchant ala Jannie de Beer, yet he was the deal, the one that Mallet and Teichman ran a 17 win campaign around), so yeah thats the kind of gutsy to the wall to the breaches fly half I would play, and let him offload into the tackle or just before the tackle to our next crashball maestro JdV, before popping it up to some fuid and fluent strike type runners like Jacobs, Habana, Steyn, JPP, Jantjes, Kirchner.

So its no secret, that would be my game plan.

Others like you, you like big booting wonderkinds that win games single handedly, I don’t get a rush out of that, drop kick wins are like kissing your sister, even 3 point penalties, just a vague diluted necessity to keep the opposition honest, f’ck that, thats not what I get all primed and excited about rugby for.

Steyn and Pienaar plenty class and potential, where to play them, Pienaar at 10, Steyn 12 or 13 – klaar.

And one to have on the back burner and off the bench in rhe wings, Morne Steyn – Mr. sure footed, sure fire Dependable, when the going gets rough and some no nonsense stability and dictating kicking game needs to come into play.

So like I have said ad infinitum on here already

January/FdP, Grant/M.Steyn/R.Pienaar, JdV/F.Steyn, Jacobs/Fourie, Habana/JP/Kirchner, Jantjes

Thats my backline squad for next year. (outside chances for Nokwe and Chavanga.

• 120.grant10: Reply to this comment

113 spill the beans, watch the cooking channel boet? Less stressfull?

• 121.justrugby: Reply to this comment

117- Grant 10 – A van Der Merwe playing for England would certainly give me sleepless nights !!!

• 122.Spill the Beans: Reply to this comment

#116 justrugby: Actually no, I haven’t taken my pills this evening. Well, I took some of them but not the red-and-yellow one …… the one the neurologist said I HAVE to take! There’s this loud ringing noise in my head and I can feel this irrational rage building up inside me. I think I should find the pills!

• 123.grant10: Reply to this comment

118 Skopskiet are you convinced Frans Steyn cant play on the advantage line ala Honiball??

• 124.blhoo: Reply to this comment

This week the bench, hopefully next week home!

• 125.justrugby: Reply to this comment

118 – Skop – LOL you have certainly covered all options !!!

• 126.blhoo: Reply to this comment

I’m not surprised the run on 15 looked slick, everyone deserved to be there…….

• 127.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Sill the beans – I suggest you find them quickly !!!

• 128.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#123 blhoo:

I agree, Steven Sykes from the Sharks would have been a better choice for the bench.

• 129.grant10: Reply to this comment

Peter Grant is a fine rugby player, i am not convinced he will get into the league of a Giteau or a Carter. Frans Steyn, on the other hand, and in my opinion, will be as good if not better given the chance to specialise at 10.

• 130.grant10: Reply to this comment

thats me outa here, goodnight all

• 131.blhoo: Reply to this comment

#127 Robzim:

Hi Rob, touche!!! :)

• 132.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Robzim – Sykes from the bench ??? while I do not doubt that he is a talented lock , you surely do not believe that he has done enough to be part of the Bok squad ????

• 133.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#128 grant10:

I think Steyn does not have the agility to become a top class international flyhalf. As a big man e also seems to take a fraction of a second too long to clear the ball, therefore all the chargedowns. At the top level they will target him because of that.

He does have all the attributes to become a great fullback though.

• 134.blhoo: Reply to this comment

#131 justrugby:

Rob wouldn’t take my bait…….

• 135.blhoo: Reply to this comment

Enjoyed reading the last few hours. Time to sleep.

• 136.Robzim: Reply to this comment

#131 justrugby:

As blhoo said I was just dodging him. In a year or two’s time Sykes might push for the team though.

• 137.Spill the Beans: Reply to this comment

The thudding in my head has stopped
    Anger fades, my pulse has dropped
    No more urge to take a life
    I drop the shiny butcher’s knife
    The spinning’s stopped, the world is still
    Spill the Beans has found his pill.

• 138.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Sykes, Fondse, Skeate, Alberts, even Pieterse, anyone better than Roussouw and definitely Muller.

• 139.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

#128 grant10: grant is a better 10 than steyn..

• 140.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Spill the beans – LOL -Good news, I will sleep beter tonight knowing you have found those pills !!!

• 141.jock36: Reply to this comment

#118 skopskiet: you are not wrong skopskiet, and i am also not in favour of a flyhalf dominating play with his boot, but i think steyn can do what you want a flyhalf to do and more. surely if he can play 12 or 13 then he should be able to play the role of an attcking flyhalf as well. now i’m not saying any 12 or 13 will be a good flyhalf, but steyn has the talent.

the problem is we have too many highly talented versatile backs like f steyn and r pienaar in sa. we are spoilt for choice. if these guys were from oz they would start every game

• 142.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Bekker and Matfield will be perfect. bekker looks like he has built up some more muscle. He will be very fine with his speed. I was really impressed witgh bekker.

• 143.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#11 grant10: What about one of teh Lions players at 7 – Willem Alberts? What about Baywatch at 6 back up?

• 144.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#141 Tbozknows: I thought bekker was better thanBakkies to e hnest – better carryng up the ball, better lineout work, better ruck cleanouts, and less niggle.

• 145.flanka: Reply to this comment

interesting article on NZ’s rugbyheaven site regarding ricky being benched…
    http://www.rugbyheaven.co.nz/4654377a22363.html

• 146.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#55 grant10: nice confidence Grant , but , you best us at Dunedin granted, but we had a novice locking combo (3 tests total) and our backrow were all playing out of position, and then you only beat us by a moment of brilliance from Januarie (last minutes of the match)…

This game, we have our backrow playing in their correct positions with the best fetcher in the world back, our locks return to the experienced pair of Williams and Thorn, we also have a much better scrumhalf, with crisper service resulting in more time for Carter…

Then factor in the better record we have at Newlands (5 wins from 8 games)… Still, I admire your confidence in your team, but I think AB’s by 12…

• 147.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#144 poppa69: But we have fourie du Preez, so Boks by 12.

And expect Thorn to get spear tackled in the first minute of the game.

• 148.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#145 SjamBok: yeah, but dropping thorn on his head is futile :lol: he wont feel it …

Always worries me a player coming back from injury, hope Fourie lasts…

• 149.flanka: Reply to this comment

looks like PDV is in trouble for dropping januarie…NZ’s rugbyheaven site seem to be loving the fact that he’s on the bench…

• 150.SAussie/QldRed: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry Saffas it won’t matter who you pick to go up against McCaw, he’ll make your forwards look like school boy level. Its not just his skill at the break down its also his leadership, he leads by example and the rest just follow. Bakkis in my book was the one player who could have made a difference, Kind of like Elsom for us, he is a huge loss. My prediction is that the AB’s are going to give you guys a hiding so keep debating team selections if you think its going to help.

• 151.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#148 SAussie/QldRed: Ah well, there you go, the Rugby God has spoken. We can all go home now.

Here is my prediction: Ab;s to get a lesson in running rugby from the traditionally 10 man rugby playing Boks. Richie’s influence to be nullified by teh fact that there will be very few rucks.

• 152.flanka: Reply to this comment

#149 SAussie/QldRed: Right, and we’ll take this advice from a queensland red..hahaha….and didnt australia recently leave NZ witht their tails between their legs, let the big boys show u how its done this weekend son

• 153.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#149 SjamBok: very few rucks ?? in a SA vs AB’s game ?? hahahaha thats the funniest comment I have ever read on this site…seriously

• 154.SAussie/QldRed: Reply to this comment

150. We certaintly did flanka, we got whipped, out played and destroyed the traditional AB style, Lol, and it all went wrong at the break down, maybe i should have elaborate my reasons, if you don’t win the battle of the break down everything else goes to sh**t, your backs get no time, their rushed and theirs no continuity, so when Sjambok talks about very few rucks I guess you have to win the tight contests and hold the majority of possession to employ such a game plan. Look as a neutral I hope you guys can match them but as I said without Bakkis I can’t see happening. The AB’s It would have been fair to say have lifted another gear.

• 155.Maori_Fulla: Reply to this comment

Alot of these guys forget the best player in the world wasnt playing last time they beat us! McCaw is the best player on the planet. Take him out of the team and look what happens! Take Burger out of the team and the same thing will happen to you blokes. They are probably in the top 3 players on this earth.

Juan Smith better sort his **** out. He’s been a weak link for you guys and now with the All Blacks backrow clicking, he really has to be on the ball or it will be a long day for the boks

• 156.garth: Reply to this comment

I see Luke has lost his No.8 place in WP as well. The whole Spies vs Kanko argument is futile. Nick Koster is the best No. 8 in SA. The sooner he gets into the boks, the better.

• 157.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#154 garth:
    Slowly, slowly, he’ll be there, don’t worry, as captain as well!

• 158.garth: Reply to this comment

Why wait? Schalk was there at his age or thereabouts.

• 159.husky: Reply to this comment

SAus,

Quite a lot will depend on the ref’s view or Mr McCaw’s shenanigans and hopefully PdV will whisper in his ear (the ref’s that is). Also important is that PdeV and his fellow coaches select, and the players implement, a solid game plan. How about Nokwe at flyhalf on defence so he can rocket up and practice his tackling on Diving Dan (he he).

One of PdV’s problems (and all coaches) is to have replacements that know the team’s plans and moves. I’m guessing that is why it’s difficult to bring in a Morne Steyn, Brussouw, Vermeulen or whoever cold. Is that why he’s fallen back on Danie?

• 160.David: Reply to this comment

#153 Maori_Fulla:
    The best openside in the world. I don’t think he’d show up at 1,2,3,4 or5. :grin:

• 161.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Boks should, if I guess right, just squeakily fade past the All Blacks at Newlands.

Won’t be by much. The winning margin will be inside a single score (i.e. five and under)

If so, I’m one step closer to winning the keo.co.za prediction competition of a weekend on a super luxury Zululand private game lodge with Smittie and Percy! And, bet your bottom dollar, I’ll be there to take FULL advantage of it!

And Percy will hear how he’s a woosie under the Garry Owen, and Smitty will know that Bismarck is better!

Well, maybe not… TheTackler can be a bit more tactful than when revving up the rank-and-file braggart yarps.

If, and it’s a big if, the TheTackler wins, we won’t make Percy and Smitties hosting weekend anything less than majorly pleasant.

But, there you go, hey?

• 162.David: Reply to this comment

#159 TheTackler:
    Are you allowede back in SA? :roll:

• 163.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#159 TheTackler: a weekend away with tackler. what competition did monty and smitty get the booby prize for?

• 164.BMM: Reply to this comment

Congrats to Juan Smith who has just become a proud Dad for the first time – I hope this inspres him to a MoM game on Saturday!!!!

• 165.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

TELL ME WHAT WOULD YOU MUPPITS SAY IF THIS HAPPENED:(likely)

come 2011 SA has to choose between :

van Niekerk
    Koster
    Kankwoski
    Spies
    Vermuelen
    Johnson

For Bok No.8????

Any of those guys can sign overseas in the interim/leading up to WC….

WILL WE BLAME SA RUGBY STRUCTURES FOR MISMANAGEMENT AS WELL??(ala:Barritt,Rathbone,Abbott,Liebenberg,Cooke,Joubert etc)

Too much talent,few spots

• 166.Soda: Reply to this comment

#165 mshiniwami: when i last checked there was only one number eight available per team of 15. are you asking that we try and change the rules or what?

it’s a professional game now and this is someone’s job. if they don’t feel they are going to get the top job in a particular firm (team) then why not go to another one?

it confuses me that these conversation still go on. there’s a very simple economic and self actualisation equation at work.

if anyone has a problem with people going abroad it should be because of the change in status from amateur to professional.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.