The final insult
29 Aug 2008
The Springboks are expecting gracious favour from Lady Luck, God and the Highveld hoodoo but none of these intangibles will be enough to prevent another historic Australian win.
Slim chances of re-entering the Tri-Nations race evaporated with the capitulation at Kings Park, and there’s been subsequent talk about how this Ellis Park fixture is an opportunity to regain some pride. But what if the Boks fall to Australia on the Highveld for the first time since 1963? That would be the final insult. It would complete the plummet from champs to chumps in less than 10 months.
Keo.co.za looks at several reasons why Robbie Deans’s tourists will head back Down Under on a high.
BATTERY TAKES IT’S TOLL
Another week, another casualty. It’s a phrase that be will used to describe the Boks’ 2008 Tri-Nations campaign in years to come (as well as a few less-than-kind adjectives). The disaster in Durban cost South Africa another first-choice winger in JP Pietersen, a loss that comes just a week after Bryan Habana bowed out with a hamstring tear. CJ van der Linde has been banned for four weeks and will also be missed in a tight clash. For a side that’s already struggling, it’s almost unfair to expect the reserves to gel with the incumbents, let alone provide gamewinning touches.
The Aussies’ appeal of Rocky Elsom’s ban proved successful allowing the blindsider to hold onto his starting position. The Wallabies midfield looks no less formidable with Timana Tahu replacing the injured Berrick Barnes. The tourists may have lost lock Dan Vickerman but it is the hosts who are the more depleted and deflated outfit.
KICKING CHAOS
While it’s tempting to get stuck into those less-than-kind adjectives and phrases, it’s best to look at Peter de Villiers’s own errant slurs when it comes to tactical kicking. De Villiers assumed the Aussies had an inferior tactical kicking game ahead of that Kings Park Test, but Matt Giteau went on to break the Boks with his well-weighted chips behind the defence. Aside from Tahu, every member of the visiting backline has a healthy boot and the back three is strengthened in this area by the return of Adam Ashley-Cooper.
De Villiers has ignored last week’s result and picked two wingers not known for their kicking prowess, ditto the centres. Conrad Jantjes has the goods, but has failed to deliver in this vein in 2008, and the same goes for Butch James and Fourie du Preez. Why wasn’t Percy Montgomery selected for a match that is bound to see plenty of tactical kicking? A back three of Montgomery, Jantjes and Jongi Nokwe provides more balance in this regard.
BREAKDOWN WAUGH
Rumour has it he’s been locked in a dark cellar for seven days and fed on nothing but small scraps of meat, but Deans has finally decided to unleash the rabid force that is Phil Waugh. George Smith earns a break ahead of the Wallabies’ more important fixture in Brisbane, and so Waugh gets an opportunity to show the new coach what he can do with a start.
The problem with the South African back row is their failure to fire as a unit, and the persistence with Pierre Spies and the axing of Joe van Niekerk could prove costly. Elsom’s beat the law and you’d expect him to produce another big performance at the tackle point, and watch out for another prominent breakdown beast in Tatafu Polota-Nau.
SET-PIECE SCRAP
The scrumming was a positive for the Boks last week, but the problems at lineout time cannot be ignored. There was talk about the Aussie jumpers encroaching on the Boks’ side, but you’d expect experienced players like Victor Matfield and Juan Smith to rise above this sort of pressure. Hugh McMeniman and Elsom will look to spoil South African ball and James Horwill is one of the most underrated players in the Aussie side. They’ll miss Vickerman, but another bumbling Bok showing in this area will make their jobs a whole lot easier.
Prediction: It’ll be a sad end to a disappointing tournament for the world champions. Although they’ve been hit by numerous injuries, they will lament their own mistakes and perhaps finally admit that the current approach is flawed. Australia by 5.
Springboks – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Percy Montgomery.
Australia - 15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. Peter Hynes, 13. Stirling Mortlock (c), 12. Timana Tahu, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 10. Matt Giteau, 9. Sam Cordingley, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Phil Waugh, 6. Rocky Elsom, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 4. James Horwill, 3. Matt Dunning, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
Subs: 16. Stephen Moore, 17. Al Baxter, 18. Dean Mumm, 19. George Smith, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Ryan Cross, 22. Drew Mitchell.
By Jon Cardinelli

1,238 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 25 » Show All
29 Aug 2008, 10:05 am
#444 SyKoPlaya: Frans Stey needs to be flyhalf. He is a rare talent. If we wait any longer we will miss the opportunity of having truly great flyhalf.
#445 HangkasHarry: Yes I also cant wait for that game in Brisbane. Its going to be a real cracker as its game on. Even if the Aussies win tomorrow the Ab’s could still win as they are a point ahead just at the moment. A win there with a bonus point will do it for Ab’s but if Aus losses here tomorrow I think its all for the Ab’s taking.
#435 WP Till I Die: contrary to popular belief, I want the Boks to succeed and transform at the same time and to me these are not mutually exclusive, if NZ made it work with the Maori, why not us?. Despite what they ( NZ) may potray, they have their own issues with regard to race relations.
#440 asha1: “Playing what’s in front of you”
#444 SyKoPlaya:
wasnt it his knee? …
unless white peoples’ knees grow out of their shoulders?
29 Aug 2008, 10:06 am
#447 David: #448 WP Till I Die:
Read Funkyzoo upstairs boy, don’t miss it please.
That is exactly the way to go.
Sometimes people post early, and we miss some good ones by just getting into the last half of the thread. .
29 Aug 2008, 10:08 am
#444 SyKoPlaya: I too think that Ruan could be a great no. 10 He needs a lot of game time there but if he does just watch he could be fantastic in that position. I would move Steyn back to 12 he played well there last year. Otherwise maybe give him game time in the 10 position.
MORNING MANNE,,any predictions this morning ?
#453 SyKoPlaya:
so how come you call it “head-less chicken” if you just said “playing whats in front of you?”
29 Aug 2008, 10:09 am
#457 daneb:
Bokke by 2 points.
29 Aug 2008, 10:09 am
#454 asha1: Definately the shoulder – remember watching the game. Felt sorry for him – I think he was about 19 yrs old at the time.
29 Aug 2008, 10:10 am
#459 Pietman: Stem Pietman, dink die bokke gaan dit net net doen, Bokke by 5
#455 Pietman:
Yes, I read Funky’s post. Very balanced and inciteful. I’ve also just read Jakes latest posting where he claims that the reason for the Wobblies defence being so good is that they don’t commit so many players to the breakdown.
#461 EEE: Voel dit so in my water
#445 SyKoPlaya: It was Rudolph Straeuli not Mallet
#452 XhosaKid:
Don’t worry, I had no preconceptions about you
I remember back in 95 and also with the African Cup of Nations, the absolute unadulterated joy of seeing celebrations in the street where South Africans of all races, creeds and language were hugging each other, revelling in the success. I remember that I thought at that time that sport was going to unite our country and heal us from our damaged past.
Now I am not so sure anymore, judging by some of the racist tripe that gets dished up here on keo by some bloggers.
#456 Puma: Unfortunately he insists that he wants to play #9.
29 Aug 2008, 10:11 am
#438 Buck: You are so the man!
A lot of people here are still blinded by the shine from the Webb Ellis.
That was in 2007 and against different opposition, playing under different rules.
I’m also a disappointed Bok fan but this is a new era and we had to change our gameplan to adapt. The rebuilding, which is what we are going through, is always tough but we will reap the rewards later.
I don’t mean to preach but RSA rugby is moving in the right direction.
#449 WP Till I Die:
Ja, dis n moeilike werk, en die pay is nie te waffers hier op keo…doen dit maar vir volk en vaderland…
#459 Pietman: bokke by 10….
29 Aug 2008, 10:12 am
#78 TheTackler: which you would know f all about!!
29 Aug 2008, 10:13 am
#460 SyKoPlaya:
nope it wasnt!
memory starting to fade?
FROM SARU SITE:
Springboks meet IRB referees’ manager
29 August 2008 (Posted: 06:41)
The Springbok coaching staff had a productive meeting with IRB Referees’ manager Paddy O’Brien in Johannesburg on Thursday.
South Africa had requested the meeting to discuss issues relating to interpretations and procedures and the management of the current laws by match officials.
“We are glad we had the chance to meet,” said Andy Marinos, South Africa’s manager of national teams. “The meeting was held in a good spirit and we spoke openly about the issues.”
Mr O’Brien said: “It was good to meet and discuss areas of concern and going forward we are now much clearer from both sides.”
Both parties agreed that there will be no further comment on the matter.
Gotta go get my DVDs ………………..
29 Aug 2008, 10:15 am
I need to warn you about a new crime wave hitting the country.
Last night I was attacked and forced to the ground. The guy pushed something into my pocket and ran away. When I looked what it was, I saw it’s a ticket to the next Springbok rugby game.
Please be careful, these people are desperate to get rid of these tickets and will stop at nothing!
29 Aug 2008, 10:17 am
#475 EEE:
aaah, i see rudolf strauli jokes s starting to surface again!
Stand corrected – must be Friday.
Taken from SARU site:
Personal Details
Full Name Jean
Surname de Villiers
Height 190cm
Weight 103kg
Birth Date 24 February 1981
Birth City Paarl
Marital Status Single
Favourite Film Men of Honour
Favourite Music The Killers
Favourite Food Steak & Chips
Primary School Paarl Gymnasium
Secondary School Paarl Gymnasium
Tertiary Education Stellenbosch University
Jean’s first taste of test rugby was soured after just five minutes when he was carried from the field with a serious knee ligament injury in his debut against France in Marseilles in November 2002.
It kept him out of the game for six months and Jean still has to make an appearance in the Vodacom Super 12 although the former Under-21 star was completing his return to fitness at the conclusion of the 2003 tournament.
He was another member of the SA Under-21 team that won the IRB World Cup where he played most of the tournament on the wing as opposed to his preferred position of centre. He was one of the tournament’s leading try-scorers, with four.
Added to that gold medal were silver and bonze medals won with the SA Sevens team – the first in the 2001-02 IRB World Sevens Series and the latter in the Commonwealth Games Sevens in Manchester. Jean made his mark with his silky running and intelligent distribution skills.
At 1.90m he is a physically imposing figure in the midfield and is yet another product of the famous Paarl Gym school.
The strongly build back is equally at home at centre and wing, although he prefers to be at midfield. He has made his Bankfin Currie Cup debut in 2002, against Griquas in Kimberley, but the presence of players like De Wet Barry, Marius Joubert and Robbie Fleck at Province has limited his opportunities.
De Villiers is regarded as one of the most talented backs ever produced by this country and his creative genius should inspire the Springboks again this season, whether he plays centre or wing.
De Villiers injured a rib during the first match of the 2006 season against Scotland, but returned to play a vital role in the home leg of the Vodacom Tri-Nations. He played three of his first four Tests of 2005 on the right wing, but finished off the year in his preferred position of inside centre, starting all three November Tests at No 12.
Before being moved to wing by Jake White in 2004, his only previous
experience in the position was for White’s U21 side in the final of the
#465 WP Till I Die:
There is a picture on the WP site somewhere, of a 17 year old Bobby Skinstead at Newlands with a painted face in the SA colours, on the sidelines with his Matie mates, both arms in the air as as Pieter Hendriccks showed his fist to Campo on the way to the try-line in the opening match at Newlands….one of my favorite rugby memerabalia.
#474 Dawn:
Gotta go get my LSD…
#475 EEE: Happened to me to – they also tied my hands behind my back with a Springbok scarf.
29 Aug 2008, 10:19 am
#476 asha1: Still apt dont you think?
29 Aug 2008, 10:19 am
#452 XhosaKid: not to be trite, but if all our transformation players were as good as the maoris, bring on 15 transformation players my brother. Do you think the wit-ous would not cheer them?
29 Aug 2008, 10:20 am
#477 SyKoPlaya:
aaah, now i’m the disappointed one!
i was hoping that you’ll confirm that white people’s knees indeed do grow out of their shoulders!
jeez, how could i’ve been so wrong for so long?
29 Aug 2008, 10:20 am
#478 Pietman:
Wow, that sounds like an amazing picture.
I remember crying at that moment when Francois Pienaar lifted the Webb Ellis and that most humble, most human of people, Madiba, put up his hands to cheer.
It was an amazing experience, a day I will never forget.
29 Aug 2008, 10:21 am
#483 asha1: White men cann’t dance – this probably explains it
29 Aug 2008, 10:21 am
#480 World Cup:
29 Aug 2008, 10:22 am
#478 Pietman:
which sa colours was that?
i think i’m gonna have a look!
29 Aug 2008, 10:23 am
#480 World Cup:
29 Aug 2008, 10:25 am
#485 SyKoPlaya:
aaah, you should see me!
i only start dancing when i’m already “gattoe gesuip”
29 Aug 2008, 10:26 am
#484 WP Till I Die:
Don’t remember that, I was at Ellis Park with my cousin from Namibia…or rather, I was passed out on the back of his Nissan bakkie afterwards on the way back to Pretoria where we stayed…I vaguely remenber the flags waving, smiling faces…and Shosaloza..
29 Aug 2008, 10:28 am
#489 asha1: O Captain my Captain – Captain Morgan that is – when full of juice, must dance !!!!
29 Aug 2008, 10:29 am
#487 asha1:
Rainbow colours !
I have it still as a screensaver in my room back in SA.
They have a picture of Bobby, circled in white, and a question, ‘Do you know this player’ ?
It was some competition on the Stormers site in 1998.
29 Aug 2008, 10:29 am
Walla’s by 15
Helium in for another beeeeeeeg lesson.
I’m depressed about SA sport!
29 Aug 2008, 10:34 am
#490 Pietman: Remember it like it was yesterday. I was in a boarding school in the middle of nowhere but the atmosphere and the pictures on TV were out of this world. last year was pretty cool too. Oh happy days, and they will return.
29 Aug 2008, 10:34 am
#484 WP Till I Die:
Ncondo Balfour was the commentator that day !
Steve Tswete, Louis Luyt…Pienaar and Madiba in his # 6…that’s all I remember.
Bought the Rapport in Arcadia next day and read all about it….
29 Aug 2008, 10:37 am
#495 Pietman:
Ag nee man! Het jy jouself nou wragtig so moer toe gesuip dat jy daai wedstryd gemis het!
29 Aug 2008, 10:37 am
what is a highveld hoodoo? Is it some kind of fancy cocktail that the movers and shakers in Gauteng drink??? Is it a jo’burg version of a cosmopolitan??
29 Aug 2008, 10:38 am
Morning rugby muppits !
Thanks for ALL the support & well wishes, it means a lot to me !
Old man GBS Maksimus Snr has always been a fighter and he is’nt giving up fighting…… he is hanging on by a thread.
Prognosis is not good at all, yesterday we were called to come say our farewells, but he’s still holding on. Problem is that some of the other organs are now taking strain…. fluid in his lungs, kidneys weakening. It’s probably a matter of time.
…….but you muppits know me, I’m THE ETERAL OPTIMIST, if ever there was one, and my support structures around me are sound……. and with friends like you lot……… I’m holding up well.
My dad was quite a rugby man on his day, playing hooker for Freestate, also Northern Freestate, then moving to Pretoria in 1963…. well the obvious thing happened, he became a proud Bulls supporter and I was raised in this wonderful rugby household….
I’ve never lacked for anything in my life, having had this great man as a father. I always say that old man GBS Maksimus is the straightes arrow (reguitste mens) and the most honest person I have ever met in my entire life, but also the single most difficult individual I have ever encountered.
I still celebrate his life and what he has meant for many people.
I am allright and will be allright, I’m a fighter too !
Once again, thanks !
Goooooooooiiiiiiiii Mieliessssssssss Ou Grote !!
29 Aug 2008, 10:39 am
Moenie huil nie man! Môre wen die Bokke dan is alles weer ok
29 Aug 2008, 10:40 am
#497 grootblousmile: Sterkte Maiki……
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 25 » Show All