The final insult
29 Aug 2008
The Springboks are expecting gracious favour from Lady Luck, God and the Highveld hoodoo but none of these intangibles will be enough to prevent another historic Australian win.
Slim chances of re-entering the Tri-Nations race evaporated with the capitulation at Kings Park, and there’s been subsequent talk about how this Ellis Park fixture is an opportunity to regain some pride. But what if the Boks fall to Australia on the Highveld for the first time since 1963? That would be the final insult. It would complete the plummet from champs to chumps in less than 10 months.
Keo.co.za looks at several reasons why Robbie Deans’s tourists will head back Down Under on a high.
BATTERY TAKES IT’S TOLL
Another week, another casualty. It’s a phrase that be will used to describe the Boks’ 2008 Tri-Nations campaign in years to come (as well as a few less-than-kind adjectives). The disaster in Durban cost South Africa another first-choice winger in JP Pietersen, a loss that comes just a week after Bryan Habana bowed out with a hamstring tear. CJ van der Linde has been banned for four weeks and will also be missed in a tight clash. For a side that’s already struggling, it’s almost unfair to expect the reserves to gel with the incumbents, let alone provide gamewinning touches.
The Aussies’ appeal of Rocky Elsom’s ban proved successful allowing the blindsider to hold onto his starting position. The Wallabies midfield looks no less formidable with Timana Tahu replacing the injured Berrick Barnes. The tourists may have lost lock Dan Vickerman but it is the hosts who are the more depleted and deflated outfit.
KICKING CHAOS
While it’s tempting to get stuck into those less-than-kind adjectives and phrases, it’s best to look at Peter de Villiers’s own errant slurs when it comes to tactical kicking. De Villiers assumed the Aussies had an inferior tactical kicking game ahead of that Kings Park Test, but Matt Giteau went on to break the Boks with his well-weighted chips behind the defence. Aside from Tahu, every member of the visiting backline has a healthy boot and the back three is strengthened in this area by the return of Adam Ashley-Cooper.
De Villiers has ignored last week’s result and picked two wingers not known for their kicking prowess, ditto the centres. Conrad Jantjes has the goods, but has failed to deliver in this vein in 2008, and the same goes for Butch James and Fourie du Preez. Why wasn’t Percy Montgomery selected for a match that is bound to see plenty of tactical kicking? A back three of Montgomery, Jantjes and Jongi Nokwe provides more balance in this regard.
BREAKDOWN WAUGH
Rumour has it he’s been locked in a dark cellar for seven days and fed on nothing but small scraps of meat, but Deans has finally decided to unleash the rabid force that is Phil Waugh. George Smith earns a break ahead of the Wallabies’ more important fixture in Brisbane, and so Waugh gets an opportunity to show the new coach what he can do with a start.
The problem with the South African back row is their failure to fire as a unit, and the persistence with Pierre Spies and the axing of Joe van Niekerk could prove costly. Elsom’s beat the law and you’d expect him to produce another big performance at the tackle point, and watch out for another prominent breakdown beast in Tatafu Polota-Nau.
SET-PIECE SCRAP
The scrumming was a positive for the Boks last week, but the problems at lineout time cannot be ignored. There was talk about the Aussie jumpers encroaching on the Boks’ side, but you’d expect experienced players like Victor Matfield and Juan Smith to rise above this sort of pressure. Hugh McMeniman and Elsom will look to spoil South African ball and James Horwill is one of the most underrated players in the Aussie side. They’ll miss Vickerman, but another bumbling Bok showing in this area will make their jobs a whole lot easier.
Prediction: It’ll be a sad end to a disappointing tournament for the world champions. Although they’ve been hit by numerous injuries, they will lament their own mistakes and perhaps finally admit that the current approach is flawed. Australia by 5.
Springboks – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Percy Montgomery.
Australia - 15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. Peter Hynes, 13. Stirling Mortlock (c), 12. Timana Tahu, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 10. Matt Giteau, 9. Sam Cordingley, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Phil Waugh, 6. Rocky Elsom, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 4. James Horwill, 3. Matt Dunning, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
Subs: 16. Stephen Moore, 17. Al Baxter, 18. Dean Mumm, 19. George Smith, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Ryan Cross, 22. Drew Mitchell.
By Jon Cardinelli

1,238 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 25 » Show All
29 Aug 2008, 11:46 am
#590 SyKoPlaya:
They’re starting to do that. The S14 unions have finally realised that they need to work together with their S14 partners.
29 Aug 2008, 11:47 am
#585 Buck: It is the absense of Bakkies Botha. He informed the opposition in no uncertain terms that he will hurt them if they try to steal our ball, and it seemed to work.
29 Aug 2008, 11:47 am
#585 Buck:
I think that most teams would prefer not kick the ball out – even when they are not playing against the Boks.
John Smit’s throwing into the lineout is hugely under-estimated. I remember seeing some stats that showed JS being the most accurate thrower of all the hookers in last years’ S14 and 3N.
The current Bok team is just a shambles currently – lineout included. There appears to be too much confussion as to what it is that they are trying to achieve.
Do these thoughts assist you???
29 Aug 2008, 11:48 am
#538 Pietman: Sê hom Pieta!!!!
29 Aug 2008, 11:49 am
#593 vindicated: I am. Just being honest.#594 David: Yeah I suppose he did.
#544 vindicated: Rathbone is strong,really fast and runs good lines, but does that make him one of the best centers in the world.
Nemesis, you can please join in, in answering my shocking rugby knowledge
#598 cab:
You quite right. I’ve noticed that as well. Last week the Wobblies were jumping across the line. Of course another additional factor could be that with Bekker at 2, Bismark can’t see who he’s throwing to further in the L/O.
Puma
What do you think of Juan Smith as Bok captain?
29 Aug 2008, 11:50 am
#591 Pietman:
yoh, baie duur, het jy daai vis geeet wat baie giftig is?
die vis blaas homself op wanneer hy kwaad raak. dink die japanese chefs gebruik presies die reg amount, anders sit die client met n probleem.
29 Aug 2008, 11:51 am
#599 AWESOMESTORMER: How explain?
29 Aug 2008, 11:51 am
#592 iori Yagami:
Good, I’d say.
We are going to pull off a close one, but still the record at Ellis Park will be defended and kept in tact, my gut feel…
Go Bokke, Go PdeV !!!
29 Aug 2008, 11:53 am
#611 Pietman: Jy moet met daai span jou praat. Julle moet asb die Nulle wen…..sal my naweek so bietjie beter maak.
#592 iori Yagami:
About the same as PDV speaking in a gruff voice in his post match interview
iori Yagami
The point im trying to make is that Bismark is poor at the lineout, not that accurate
#607 David:
huge hey, whats he 6ft`10 or something ridiculous.
29 Aug 2008, 11:54 am
Lineouts:
Is it my imagination, but it also seems to me that against the Bok lineout, the opposition also do not throw in straight down the centre. I do not believe that this is policed well enough by the ref’s and touch judges. The Bokke seem to be very naive and continue to throw down the centre and therefore allow the opposition to contest our put-ins more often ….
#604 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ouboet…. jy ook hier ?
#611 Pietman: I hope you are right i am also optimistic for tomorow. Du Preez should be match fit and sharp after starting 3 games in a row now. So there is no excuse for him to underperform. Spies should also start paying back in performances what the coach has offered him in faith and gametime.
29 Aug 2008, 11:55 am
#614 AWESOMESTORMER: Oh ok but he makes up for it in bustling runs, awesome handoffs and frequent turnovers.
29 Aug 2008, 11:55 am
#617 grootblousmile: Ja jong. Hangover en al.
29 Aug 2008, 11:56 am
Puma
Simple! Under Jake everyone played for him, it was not for the team. One example is Schalk look how poor he has been
#608 AWESOMESTORMER: He would be better than Victor. But John Smit just has to be our captain. He has all the respect of the Refs and other captains around the World. That means a lot to the Bok team. He also keeps the team together. Speaks well too. We need him more than ever especially for the Lions Tour next year and the 3N. Also need him to lead us at the end of year tour. Just hope he does pick up any more injuries.
#609 cab:
Nee, net gehoor van daai nonsens..
Maar ek eet maar by die huis. of daar by die vrou se restaurant, SA kos, vleis aartappels rys, soet pampoen, en so.
Verder braai ek elke naweek vis of n speenvark, of maak n hoenderpot.
Weet nie van die nader lot nie en wat hulle eet nie, wil ook nie weet nie, hehehehe!.
29 Aug 2008, 11:57 am
#615 cab:
6″7″. It just occured to me what a problem he must pose for Bismark. If the call is anything other than 2, Bekker still has to look as if he’s competing, which means that Bissie has to actually lob the ball to clear him.
29 Aug 2008, 11:57 am
#618 iori Yagami:
Should have started with Ricky though….
29 Aug 2008, 11:58 am
#621 AWESOMESTORMER: Yes the whole team respected Jake. You could always see that. They played with huge hearts under him. Jake respected them too and one thing about Jake he is one huge motivator. You need that in a coach.
How come Biff suddenly has tennis elbow.
Suspeeeeeeeeecious
#622 Puma: John Smit is indispensable but he needs to stay with the team until 2011 World Cup.
#620 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: My oge voel soos muisskaamdeeltjies in paartyd vandag………. rooi en woes seer en jukkerig !
29 Aug 2008, 11:59 am
howdy all.
sombre i am to read of gbs maximus. thoughts and prayers to the gbs family.
dit wys wat redelik belangrik is in die lewe.
618 iori Yagami
Schalk Brits is better at that!
#612 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
Klaar gepraat, ons wen met 4 punte op Loftus, wees gerus.
Joe Pietersen motm .
29 Aug 2008, 12:00 pm
#625 Pietman: I agree but its too late now he already gave du Preez starts in 2 games already which means Du preez should be more match fit than Ricky. IMO Du preez should never of started any of the tri nations games.
#629 grootblousmile: Gisteraand weer daai tequila, pynappel en tabasco eish. Maar dis ook al hoe ek vrugte inkry.
#621 AWESOMESTORMER:
You’ve put your finger on a major problem. Jake was the focal point of that side, not the players. Look how he threatened that many of them would go overseas if his contract wasn’t extended to the Lions tour.
29 Aug 2008, 12:01 pm
#627 Dawn:
onset of obesity
#632 Pietman: Daarsy!!!!!!! Maak dit 8 punte asb.
#621 AWESOMESTORMER: Schalk played for Jake in the under 21 in 2002 and has always played his best under Jake. This year his has been taken off a few times as Watson comes on. Not sure how he is feeling about that. Also last year the gameplan was different. Suited Burger. I think we have to bring in some of the old style with the new. Not all this complete change. Its crazy thats why we cant win. I think we may tomorrow but only because Aussies have pulled some of their players out and it at the highveld.
29 Aug 2008, 12:02 pm
#623 Pietman:
die braaie klink lekker, buggerall plek in paris vir braai. wat is soet pampoen?
#624 David:
must be exaggerating again, thought 2.08 was taller than 6″7?
good luck for the Boks tomorrow and to you Peter De Villiers, asb nie meer kak nie.
#617 grootblousmile:
julle bulle fans kan seker nie wag vir die game vanaand nie.wp is mos deesdae n walking bonus point.
#631 AWESOMESTORMER: Maybe on par ja but not better. Bismarck can play tight or loose. Brits can only play loose. Bismarck’s lineout throwing is also much better than Brits’
I saw the most horrible show on MNet series the other night.
That half-baked tennis player and useless TV personality Mark Phillipousis (sp)choosing himself a wife from a bunch of airheads.
I swear. If just ONE of those women said “Oh My Gaaaaaaad” one more time I would’ve taken a flamethrower to my TV.
29 Aug 2008, 12:03 pm
#574 SyKoPlaya: the reason why some of us( speaking from black players perspective) its because of the cruel provincial system, the system works out. Its simple, just google or go to sarugby website, check out Thabang Molefe record and then whoever is playing in his place at the Lions.
Please guys join in and you will see why
#636 Richie_7:
It’s not obesity … it’s called BIFFNESS.
As in “how biff are you?”
#642 Dawn: shhh Dawny, you talking about an Aussie superstar, thats why they call him the “poo” ….
29 Aug 2008, 12:04 pm
#642 Dawn: haha, i saw that too.
he started with the over 40′s and then they gave him a bunch of 20 yr olds.
hmmmm……….wonder who he will choose?
Tennis Elbow – as described in Wikipedia
“Anyone who does a lot of work involving lifting at the elbow or repetitive movements at the wrist is susceptible to tennis elbow”
And we wonder why Biff has it !!!!!!
#635 David: They all respected Jake not just as a coach but a person. I think they just may have gone with him if he left then. He fought like a huge battle to have them as his team always. He stood up for them. That makes a player play their heart and soul out for their coach that respect them that much. Thats missing this year. No one really knows where they stand really.
29 Aug 2008, 12:05 pm
#630 rangerman: Dankie !
#634 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Eishhhhhh, ek sal nou graag ‘n paar tequilatjies wou deurwerk met ‘n pynappeltjie of 2.
My lae rug vat stress, voel of iemand my met ‘n plank gebliksem het…. of, of ek vir ‘n week lank aanmekaar gespyker het !
29 Aug 2008, 12:05 pm
#639 cab:
Gewone boerpampoen, wat in stroop gekook is met skil en al…ek dink so, vrou maak dit, ek weet nie presies hoe nie, eet net !
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 25 » Show All