The final insult
29 Aug 2008
The Springboks are expecting gracious favour from Lady Luck, God and the Highveld hoodoo but none of these intangibles will be enough to prevent another historic Australian win.
Slim chances of re-entering the Tri-Nations race evaporated with the capitulation at Kings Park, and there’s been subsequent talk about how this Ellis Park fixture is an opportunity to regain some pride. But what if the Boks fall to Australia on the Highveld for the first time since 1963? That would be the final insult. It would complete the plummet from champs to chumps in less than 10 months.
Keo.co.za looks at several reasons why Robbie Deans’s tourists will head back Down Under on a high.
BATTERY TAKES IT’S TOLL
Another week, another casualty. It’s a phrase that be will used to describe the Boks’ 2008 Tri-Nations campaign in years to come (as well as a few less-than-kind adjectives). The disaster in Durban cost South Africa another first-choice winger in JP Pietersen, a loss that comes just a week after Bryan Habana bowed out with a hamstring tear. CJ van der Linde has been banned for four weeks and will also be missed in a tight clash. For a side that’s already struggling, it’s almost unfair to expect the reserves to gel with the incumbents, let alone provide gamewinning touches.
The Aussies’ appeal of Rocky Elsom’s ban proved successful allowing the blindsider to hold onto his starting position. The Wallabies midfield looks no less formidable with Timana Tahu replacing the injured Berrick Barnes. The tourists may have lost lock Dan Vickerman but it is the hosts who are the more depleted and deflated outfit.
KICKING CHAOS
While it’s tempting to get stuck into those less-than-kind adjectives and phrases, it’s best to look at Peter de Villiers’s own errant slurs when it comes to tactical kicking. De Villiers assumed the Aussies had an inferior tactical kicking game ahead of that Kings Park Test, but Matt Giteau went on to break the Boks with his well-weighted chips behind the defence. Aside from Tahu, every member of the visiting backline has a healthy boot and the back three is strengthened in this area by the return of Adam Ashley-Cooper.
De Villiers has ignored last week’s result and picked two wingers not known for their kicking prowess, ditto the centres. Conrad Jantjes has the goods, but has failed to deliver in this vein in 2008, and the same goes for Butch James and Fourie du Preez. Why wasn’t Percy Montgomery selected for a match that is bound to see plenty of tactical kicking? A back three of Montgomery, Jantjes and Jongi Nokwe provides more balance in this regard.
BREAKDOWN WAUGH
Rumour has it he’s been locked in a dark cellar for seven days and fed on nothing but small scraps of meat, but Deans has finally decided to unleash the rabid force that is Phil Waugh. George Smith earns a break ahead of the Wallabies’ more important fixture in Brisbane, and so Waugh gets an opportunity to show the new coach what he can do with a start.
The problem with the South African back row is their failure to fire as a unit, and the persistence with Pierre Spies and the axing of Joe van Niekerk could prove costly. Elsom’s beat the law and you’d expect him to produce another big performance at the tackle point, and watch out for another prominent breakdown beast in Tatafu Polota-Nau.
SET-PIECE SCRAP
The scrumming was a positive for the Boks last week, but the problems at lineout time cannot be ignored. There was talk about the Aussie jumpers encroaching on the Boks’ side, but you’d expect experienced players like Victor Matfield and Juan Smith to rise above this sort of pressure. Hugh McMeniman and Elsom will look to spoil South African ball and James Horwill is one of the most underrated players in the Aussie side. They’ll miss Vickerman, but another bumbling Bok showing in this area will make their jobs a whole lot easier.
Prediction: It’ll be a sad end to a disappointing tournament for the world champions. Although they’ve been hit by numerous injuries, they will lament their own mistakes and perhaps finally admit that the current approach is flawed. Australia by 5.
Springboks – 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Butch James, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Andries Bekker, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Luke Watson, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Percy Montgomery.
Australia - 15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. Peter Hynes, 13. Stirling Mortlock (c), 12. Timana Tahu, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 10. Matt Giteau, 9. Sam Cordingley, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Phil Waugh, 6. Rocky Elsom, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 4. James Horwill, 3. Matt Dunning, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson
Subs: 16. Stephen Moore, 17. Al Baxter, 18. Dean Mumm, 19. George Smith, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Ryan Cross, 22. Drew Mitchell.
By Jon Cardinelli

1,238 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 25 » Show All
29 Aug 2008, 01:05 am
I do so wish that Snor would pick all the players who can deliver to him….”his vision”.
Then this debate could be settled sharpish.
…..but who would be the next coach?
Gert Smal maybe?
I can’t see anyone else being interested.
saying that…for R5mill, I’d give it a go.
29 Aug 2008, 01:06 am
Keo i think you left out a 0 on that prediction.
29 Aug 2008, 01:07 am
#49 TahRoo: To paraphrase Paul Keating, “this is the loss that we have to have”.
29 Aug 2008, 01:08 am
#45 CoachPete: Some people can run fast because they’ve had plenty of practice running away from the police.
29 Aug 2008, 01:14 am
aussies to win by 50
29 Aug 2008, 01:18 am
Is everyone fu^%%$E
29 Aug 2008, 01:19 am
this is ridiculous. tye worst i’ve seen on here
29 Aug 2008, 01:19 am
running away from police. we’ll win on sat
29 Aug 2008, 01:21 am
anyone there?
29 Aug 2008, 01:24 am
Hi Mutant
Working late, taking a break
29 Aug 2008, 01:28 am
yes still here
29 Aug 2008, 02:04 am
sh*t
thanks for keeping the faith JC….traitor.
29 Aug 2008, 02:08 am
truth about that Tatafu Polota-Nau boy…he is faster then george Smith and Waugh apparently, to the breakdown.
29 Aug 2008, 02:30 am
#62 greatest13gerber: We want him to go with the aussies as he got 6 out of 6 wrong so far in this Tri Nations!
29 Aug 2008, 02:31 am
DOHH! Keo’s site has tipped the Wallabies, now the Boks must win.
29 Aug 2008, 02:31 am
#64 Disa: I cant really talk as i only have one right so far and that was the second NZ vs Oz game
29 Aug 2008, 02:42 am
JC has got every prediction wrong so far, expect a Boks win on Saturday.
29 Aug 2008, 03:01 am
#67 Big Hit: He’s playing a long shot this times….. good odds?
29 Aug 2008, 03:02 am
Here is a classic “We didn’t say we will win or lose, we have no control over whether we win or lose. But we don’t work to lose,” said De Villiers.
29 Aug 2008, 03:04 am
#68 SA Barbarians: I think Australia will win, but obviously I’m not ruling out a shock win for SA.
29 Aug 2008, 03:05 am
On the river! PdV will pull it off.
29 Aug 2008, 03:06 am
#71 Mutant: are you being serious?
29 Aug 2008, 03:09 am
Ja, he’ll keep the faith up. Look I don’t think he’ll be fired so he has to
29 Aug 2008, 03:10 am
#73 Mutant: You don’t think the backrow are going to run into problems? three games in a row they’ve been outplayed and three games in a row they’ve been re-selected
29 Aug 2008, 03:12 am
#53 ansie: for the first time ever, I have to agree. How many sick results do we have to bear before he realises that that a total game does not exclude basis such as (effectively) hunting and securing and keeping GOOD ball to run at the right time, in right field positions, with the right lines with which is not away from support. But juggling pans and pots and eating afterwards, seem to more appropriate………….
29 Aug 2008, 03:12 am
Perhaps they’ll play more conservatively this week.
29 Aug 2008, 03:16 am
#70 Big Hit: How good will that really be for SA Rugby? Damn, I love supporting my team in any test match, but when is the bigger picture of a well drilled and confident team for the future more inportant than one test?
29 Aug 2008, 03:17 am
Looks as if everyone is now simply too embarrassed to mention the Boks and the words “world champions” in the same sentence! This is most unnatural humility.
29 Aug 2008, 03:17 am
“Play Whats in front of you” that’s what CJ did and he copped 4 weeks.
it’s also what Frans did: It was Luke in front of him. He copped at least one week huh!
29 Aug 2008, 03:18 am
#77 SA Barbarians: It could be the start of something big? I don’t know. I don’t think SA will win anyway.
29 Aug 2008, 03:19 am
#78 TheTackler: On the contrary I think people do mention it a lot in their criticism of PDV.
29 Aug 2008, 03:23 am
Looks like Meyer is on the verge of signing Caucau:
Rupeni Caucaunibuca is due in London this weekend for talks with Leicester despite having been called ‘a disgrace’ by an international colleague.
The Fijian wing, 27, had been due to restart his troubled career in Paris with Second Division club Racing Metro and join compatriot, Sereli Bobo who has accused ‘Caucau’ of reneging on his contract to sign for Leicester instead.
‘It’s a disgrace to all Fijian players who have made their mark in the elite French competition,’ said Bobo.
29 Aug 2008, 03:23 am
#78 TheTackler: Having slithered down to no 3 in the world ranking perhaps explains it? We do celibrate robustly when we win WC’s, but we also do have (often barely noticable) judgment when things get this bad lol
29 Aug 2008, 03:27 am
Ja maybe, but the rest of the team will arrive. I’ll be Springbok guts
29 Aug 2008, 03:29 am
#84 Mutant: Guts/passion only last the first 10 minutes though but im with you i think we will take it
29 Aug 2008, 03:30 am
#80 Big Hit: We can only hope so….. but I do not hold much hope with crazy barbarians style rugby when playing better teams..
He HAS to get a fetcher followed by enough coached clearners to the break downs in low body positions. Ans stop this **** of suicidal running from behind your own line!!
29 Aug 2008, 03:32 am
cheers guys, need some serious shut eye. Catch you tomorrow and Sat
29 Aug 2008, 03:36 am
#86 SA Barbarians: Agreed, I think he has squandered the chance to pick a fetcher.
29 Aug 2008, 03:41 am
Guys its tough being a Saffa in Australia. And now with the POMS knocking the stuffing out of our cricket I got them on my back too.What a trifecta- Aussies;Kiwis and POMS. PDV get the hell out of rugby.You and your government bosses are making it difficult for us expats
29 Aug 2008, 03:42 am
Morning all, nice day in paradise…!
29 Aug 2008, 03:43 am
#89 quota: Quota jou bliksem, thought they deported you a long time ago
How did you manage to slip the knot this time?
29 Aug 2008, 04:04 am
#89 quota: HAHAHA I don’t envy you buddy, Proteas touring Aus this year as well. Man up fella, tough times ahead!!
29 Aug 2008, 04:11 am
The Boks could surprise everyone this w/e, as already stated this game is a dead rubber for the Ozzies they only have history to play for.
All their changes are injury related, bar the Waugh/Smith rotation thing and perhaps Tahu over Cross ,one proven leaguie for another unproven (in union at least) leaguie. Funnily there’s alot less of those ‘you guys are the worlds best’ articles this week too from the Walla’s….blowing smoke up your …I think they call it. Deans the zen master will focused completely protecting his squad for Brisbane at this point I believe, remember Hugh McMeniman playing for Oz A and for Wallabies V France in the same 24hrs, they still have depth issues as we all do at this level, at this point of the comp.
Can you imagine the national focus Richie and Dan will get in the ‘test’ V Samoa E team, the whole country will sigh in relielf if/when they walk off in 1 piece.
Re Pdv when he was called a puppet by Dowd the Boks bounched back. How much more pressure could Pdv get, a loss this w/e will get massive amounts of egg on alot of faces. No excuses will suffice with another loss this w/e.
Side thought with all this political stuff isn’t your WC winning coach’s last name ironic.
In Durban their were a couple of blown chances/overlaps.That Bok 5m lineout in the first 2minutes would have been a rolling maul try last year and I remember yelling at the TV for FDP to look left instead of right at one point with a 3 man overlap and big Joe similar.Those chances just need to be converted this w/e.
The Bok players I feel the most for in the starting 15 are Butch and Matfield, both have been playing since S14 2007 and neither seems as accurate as normal (watch Dan Carter in 2009 3N for same problem maybe). Butch looked like one of his problem knees was going to blow out last w/e, he played with plently of heart in Durban but he almost needs to get injured to have a break (la a Smit….lets not get into how), Butch is straight back to Bath after the 3N isn’t he?
The scariest thing about Pdv to me is he does seem to be learning much as he goes, a quote I’ve seen posted on this site many times is ‘the definition of insanity is to do the same actions over and over and to expect different results’.
If his vision to take the Afrikaaner traditional strong forward play blended with black/coloured backline flair, the 3N is not the time to experiment that is what the eoyt is for I thought. The ABs ironically(after numerous WC lessons in this regard) are finally playing stoogey to win, perhaps because we have no other choice personnel wise, I guess that is why we get called arrogant not only do we expect to win, but to do it in style (he who laughs last though hey) and it seems that this is Pdv’s grandiose vision, but you have to ‘walk before you can run’ and you ‘can’t ‘have your cake and eat it too’. When you are the head coach and your head is in the noose (la a GH), do you play loose and free….hmmm, and maybe he’s realising now that he needs the wins to afford him the time to change the Bok ethos. Critisisng the team won’t be helping unity much though. And I won’t get into your selections because who really cares what I think, but it does seem a few names should be in the 22 that aren’t (big Joe for one) or at least rotating the bench with starting players like Ricky for Fourie for freshness and a kick up the arse for under preformers in the squad.
The crime is here in Oz in the msm I’ve heard no reports of last weeks win, but then the Olympics has stolen the limelight somewhat (disclaimer to Ozzies thanks for having me,lovely country and people and I have a job thanks, and I grudgingly respect the Wallas..I just don’t back them after the AB’s sorry).
Sorry(again) if post is boringily too long or regurgitating much talked about points, there’s just too much to read this week. Now my head is empty I’ll go hide in the shadows again.
Go the Bokke!!
#89 quota:…here in Victoria when I mention union to the locals they say ‘oh yeah Melbourne storm’(local league team), it makes losses easier to take.
29 Aug 2008, 04:17 am
The Springboks should win saturday, if not just for the mere reason that JC predicted the opposite.
Chances are we are going to win because in highveld we are simply unbeatable, furthermore our team is desperate and the will to win is always higher when the Sbringboks backs are against the wall, we rarely desapoint in that situation.
I may not like De Villiers’ directions but Lord knows he needs to succeed at this job otherwise it will taint not just his reputation but reputation of many that are of the same ilk and creed.
All the best to the boks
29 Aug 2008, 04:32 am
The Fetcher Myth
=============
When things aren’t working in an area of the game it’s natural for people to look for a simple solution. We’re not fetching well -> so get a dedicated fetcher. Simple right?
Not necessarily. It’s one possible solution, but why assume it’s the only solution, much less the best one. Jake White made a different case, and it deserves to be aired.
It all starts with what problem you’re trying to solve. I suppose different folks would characterise it differently but one construction is that we’re trying to WIN BREAKDOWN BALL, particularly trying to WIN TURNOVERS. If that’s the challenge then what are the alternatives?
Putting words in the mouths of both Jake and PdV, my assertion is that the TACKLER and NEXT ARRIVER have key responsibilities on defensive breakdowns, and that the SUPPORT PLAYER has key responsibilities on attacking breakdowns. Not only is it unrealistic to assume as a general rule that any of the above players are the designated fetcher in the non-experimental laws (Jake’s World), but one might argue that in an ELV world in which fitness (and therefore pacing oneself) is paramount, and in which loose forwards might be covering for the wing that is covering for the fullback that is chasing a kick, or simply dropping into the line to catch their breath, it is simply naive to expect a designated fetcher to do the fetching. In other words you could argue that fetching skills are core skills for everyone, much like tackling, catching or running.
The current SA breakdown problems are more interesting than the “hire a fetcher” conversation suggests. Fundamentally PdV is predicating his breakdown strategy on refereeing that manages the “lazy lying” and offside interference problem. The keo contributors that have promoted a return to rucking have a point – our rucks aren’t working because our guys are not allowed to deal with cynical ruck play (studs get blown and CJ-style tactics draw a chorus of tut-tuts plus a 4 week ban) and the refs aren’t doing it either. But PdV’s breakdown tactics can’t work while that kind of play is allowed. Our current plan would seem to be that all 15 on-field players know how to “fetch”. And it isn’t working.
The second issue is that we are losing the ball in contact. This is not a fetching issue, neither a “let’s get a fetcher” issue nor a “train everyone to be fetchers” issue. It’s just about good protection of the ball in the tackle, noting that you are playing folks that really know how to tackle, turn you and present the ball to their guys as part of the deal. Bok supporters groan when just about every one of our guys has shown an aptitude to lose the ball in this way. We’ve seen it from Schalk, Juan, Pierre, JP, Bismarck, CJ etc. In the forwards our best protector of the ball is probably Beast, and Bakkies is usually pretty good.
The problem is compounded in the way that the Aus/NZ guys “drive” over the breakdown. The trick is that as long as you come through the gate and step over the breakdown “bound” to another player you can get into what would be an offside position as an unbound player, and effectively block the SA support players from getting to the ball. That may not be a perfect description but you get the drift. This is what we have seen from both Aus and NZ throughout the 3N. Obviously PdV must be seeing this, and his response seems to be that we need to move more quickly at the breakdown, rather than commit more power. Here’s the rub: Moving more quickly at the breakdown is not about hoping the tired designated fetcher can get there quickly after however many minutes of play; it is about the nearest bok getting the ball and getting it away from the breakdown as quickly as possible. Once again it is about 15 fetchers.
So … you can disagree with the plan, but for those that are calling for a dedicated fetcher you should recognise that both Jake and PdV regard the idea of absolving 14 players of fetching duties is a step backwards.
The breakdown problem we have is that PdV’s plan requires refs to stop the cynical play at the breakdown, but refs are happy enough to let it go. Obviously that means PdV’s plans need to change, but it does not necessarily mean that PdV needs to subscribe to the fetcher idea.
Bottom line: We don’t think in terms of a dedicated tackler; why do we think in terms of a dedicated fetcher?
29 Aug 2008, 04:36 am
#51 St.Petersburgbok:
in the new south africa mediocrity is the new excellence. to date the boks have been excellent at best….
29 Aug 2008, 04:36 am
#95 funkyzoo: ‘Bottom line: We don’t think in terms of a dedicated tackler; why do we think in terms of a dedicated fetcher?’
Because it always seems to be the same guys in the opposition teams doing the damage, i.e. McCaw and Smith.
But you make good points.
29 Aug 2008, 04:40 am
#97 Big Hit: Fair enough. But there is a view that they are playing an old style which is overly dependent on a couple of guys running themselves into the ground, and that they can be beaten by a team that knows how to get the ball away from the breakdown quickly without that superman dependency.
29 Aug 2008, 04:42 am
#95 funkyzoo: Good post funky and hard to fault. Which ever way you look at it, we have been outplayed at the breakdown for 3 games in the last month, it does not seem that we adjusting but trying the same old…
29 Aug 2008, 04:48 am
#98 funkyzoo: True, if a team can manage to hold on a little longer and make them work a little harder we may see a different result. Suppose AB v Oz in the last tes is an example, the Oz fetchers were nowhere…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 25 » Show All