Habana doesn’t haunt Sharks

Sharks backline coach Grant Bashford says they’ll be making a fundamental error by focusing too intently on blunting Bryan Habana.

In 2007, Habana stole a victory for the Bulls over the Sharks in the Super 14 final with a sensational solo try at the death. On Saturday the Bulls winger will return to Kings Park with the wound he inflicted still gaping, despite the Sharks’ assertions to the contrary.

Habana has had a relatively quiet season by his standards, scoring just three tries in the Absa Currie Cup. He does, however, remain a player for the big occasion and is certain to punish the hosts if granted space and time.

However, while Bashford concedes that the current IRB Player of the Year is capable of moments of brilliance which change the course of matches, he was adamant that they haven’t centered their attention on nullifying him.

“Habana is world class and it would be crass of us to dismiss his threat altogether. But we haven’t thought about Habana as an individual threat at all. We haven’t targeted him for special attention,” he told keo.co.za.

“Rugby is a game of cause and effect relationships. If we dominate in the forwards, the effect is that their backline finds it difficult to play. So cutting his supply is an obvious method of limiting his influence.

“That said, he has scored many points when his team didn’t have possession [through the intercept], which speaks volumes about his ability to read the game. When a player has that ability it makes him very dangerous for the opposition because he’s not relying solely on his inside backs to create opportunities for him.

“But again, I have to stress that our focus is on the collective and not an individual.”

Speaking of the Blue Bulls’ backline as a whole, Bashford said he was “very impressed with their evolution in recent years.

“They used to be one of the most predictable backlines in the sense that they posed little threat outside of big strike runners playing off their 10,” he said.

“That was relatively simple to defend against because they posed a limited threat in terms of attacking a range of different channels. But Pieter Rossouw [Bulls backline coach] has built on the progress they’ve made in that facet of play in recent years and they are now possess an unpredictable edge.”

Bashford continued by saying that the primary catalyst in that evolution has been Morné Steyn at flyhalf.

“They often had their flyhalf slip back into the pocket to try and control games with the boot,” he said in reference to the now departed Derrick Hougaard.

“But MornĂ© has come on brilliantly this season and the biggest reason for that is that he has a range of different options to select from when he’s in possession.

“He’s also got the likes of Fourie du Preez and Wynand Olivier on his inside and outside respectively and both those players have had very good campaigns to date, which has made his job a lot easier.

“That’s why I say to isolate Habana would be a grave error because they have a number of game breakers, and if you fix your attention on one you run the risk of being hurt by the others. We don’t want to run that risk so we’re covering all our bases.”

390 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

• 351.Ig: Reply to this comment

The losers have announced there side

Vodacom Blue Bulls:
    Zane Kirchner; John Mametsa, Marius Delport, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana; MornĂ© Steyn, Fourie du Preez; Pierre Spies, Wikus van Heerden, Deon Stegmann, Victor Matfield (captain), Danie Rossouw, Rayno Gerber, Derick KuĂ¼n, Gurthrö Steenkamp.

Reserves:
    Chiliboy Ralepelle, Werner Kruger, Juandré Kruger, Dewald Potgieter, Heini Adams, Burton Francis, Tiger Mangweni.

• 352.OCO: Reply to this comment

#349 Dawn:

I was a test tube baby. The very first one. Thought they broke the tube afterwards …

• 353.OCO: Reply to this comment

#351 Ig:

Not a bad 14 man side.

• 354.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#352 OCO:

Are we twins

• 355.gunther: Reply to this comment

#349 Dawn: it must be those squeeky nubiles that surround you..

• 356.OCO: Reply to this comment

#354 Dawn:

I like to think it was accidental but I’m sure it was deliberate.
    Normally one would slap the mother but you can’t do that to a test tube ….

• 357.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#355 gunther:

Swueeky nibbles?

What do you men.

• 358.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#357 Dawn:

I mean “mean”

Vok ek is gevok.

• 359.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Sheesh, you okes can talk such a moerse lot of kak.

• 360.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#359 WP Till I Die:

But it’s so lekker!

• 361.OCO: Reply to this comment

#359 WP Till I Die:

Which is what brings you here :-) ?

• 362.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#361 OCO:

Tell him.

• 363.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#361 OCO:

I’m a pathetic loser, I have nothing better to do.

• 364.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#359 WP Till I Die:

You should try talking kak now and again.

Otherwise your brain will fry.

• 365.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#363 WP Till I Die:

Ag please man stop that now.

I have tissues? Want one?

• 366.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#365 Dawn:

Tissues for issues?

• 367.OCO: Reply to this comment

#363 WP Till I Die:

So much for SA work ethic. Once upon a time Saffas were well thought of as hard working ….
    hehe.

• 368.OCO: Reply to this comment

#367 OCO:

Then along came Keo. SA number one enemy for keeping people from doing their work?

• 369.OCO: Reply to this comment

#368 OCO:

With all that’s going on with the financial situation the local parliament here is more worried about whether they should ban you-tube or not…

• 370.OCO: Reply to this comment

Oops, 5 o’clock SA time. Now for the hard work of getting home through the traffic and car hijackings.
    Good luck y’all.

• 371.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#366 WP Till I Die: Heelloooooo Kollega, die Prins van donkerte….

Hoekom werk daai mail addie van jou nie meer by In……. nie ?

• 372.OCO: Reply to this comment

Now comes the hard time of having to out-think oneself during the ‘dark hours’.
    The good thing about having to talk to oneself is that there are no detractors and at least one gets and intelligent conversation.
    Well sometimes :-)

• 373.OCO: Reply to this comment

#371 grootblousmile:

Ag no, now the parties really getting rof.
    Howzit Brakanjepanetjie!

• 374.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#373 OCO: Salami en Afkyktwak, Osama Bin OCO !

Lovely day here in SA….

• 375.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#371 grootblousmile:

Natuurlik werk hy nog.

• 376.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#375 WP Till I Die: Neeeeee man, jou Postmaster het my ‘n failed Delivery Status Notification gestuur !

• 377.OCO: Reply to this comment

#374 grootblousmile:

Big country. Heard last that CT was not so hot. Apparently great Sunday but Monday no too clever.

• 378.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#376 grootblousmile:

Ja, ons filters is goed daarmee om kuk e-mails te identifiseer!

Hoe groot is die epos?

• 379.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#376 grootblousmile:

onthou daar moet ‘n punt wees tussen my naam en van, en dis dot co dot za

• 380.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#378 WP Till I Die: Man, Sniper het ‘n mailtjie gestuur en toe sien ek jy’s ook daarop, toe antwoord ek met ‘n gewone text message, so daar was geen Attachment of niks nie….

Ek stuur sommer NOU weer net ‘n gewone mailtjie, OK ?

• 381.OCO: Reply to this comment

Hell, online with two legal eagles. What did I deserve for this …. :-)
    On a serious note any recommendations for decent lawyer in Durbs/PMB for Estates?

• 382.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#381 OCO: mmmmm, there are’nt any decent Lawyers……… hehehe

• 383.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#380 grootblousmile:

Cool, het hom gekry.

• 384.OCO: Reply to this comment

#382 grootblousmile:

Hehe, but seriously if you know of any let me know. Tried before (via email) and got, well let’s say, nothing of interest – from their perspective.
    The only one I knew in the area got disbarred years back. Think he admitted he knew me or something :-)

• 385.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#384 OCO: I know a couple will get their details and get it to you somehow….

• 386.OCO: Reply to this comment

#385 grootblousmile:

Thanks GBS. Gave you part of the story a while back. Now gatvol over the whole thing and time to take action (belatedly).

• 387.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#386 OCO: I remember….

• 388.OCO: Reply to this comment

#387 grootblousmile:

Again thanks. If you are ever in Kuwait I’ll buy you a beer :-) .

Seriously, I owe you one (or two). One day miskien.

• 389.OCO: Reply to this comment

Come to think of it, never heard of a ghost that’s coloured.
    First time?

• 390.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#388 OCO: No problem…. I’m collecting favours for when I need them………. hehehehe

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.