Jouba: Sharks have learnt

Former Bok fullback Andre Joubert believes the experience of last year’s Super 14 defeat will benefit the Sharks in Saturday’s final at Kings Park.

The climax of the 2007 southern hemisphere showpiece will be remembered for Bryan Habana’s injury-time try and a remarkable Bulls comeback. However, the Durban faithful will look back at it as a case of the Sharks not killing off the match and losing it, rather than the Bulls orchestrating a victory.

Frans Steyn failed to convert Albert van den Berg’s try to hand them an eight-point lead, while Steyn also failed to put the ball out when the hooter had sounded. A penalisable offence from the Bulls at ruck-time went unnoticed by referee Steve Walsh, and the Sharks were left to rue what could have been.

Joubert, the World Cup-winning No 15 in 1995 as well as the rock at the back in the Sharks’ last Absa Currie Cup title a year later, believes the Super 14 final will be a painful reminder of why they won’t want to lose again.

“The Sharks have lost a few finals since ’96, but the one that will upset them the most would be last year’s,” Joubert told keo.co.za. “They will realise how one or two mistakes cost you, and how after all your hard work you can be left with nothing.

“The loss would have left a bad taste in the mouth, while the experience of knowing what that felt like won’t be great. They would’ve learnt from that, and won’t want to let it happen again,” said Joubert.

The presence of World Cup-winners from Paris last year will aid both teams, and Joubert feels these players and their leadership will be key. The Sharks can claim eight World Champions in their 22, while the Bulls are just edged as they hold seven players from that Bok squad.

“They may be different matches at different grounds with different crowds, but a final is a final. It is the same thing with the same atmosphere and the same tensions, so having those players will benefit both squads as the World Cup-winners give them balance. It just shows how much the Boks improve the standard,” said Joubert.

The Rolls Royce of fullbacks scored two tries in the Sharks’ 33-15 victory over Transvaal in ’96, and he believes the role of the respective 15s on Saturday will be even more important under the ELVs.

“In finals, the first thing I wanted to do was always to get my forwards onto the front foot. The packs are the most important aspects in finals, and you’ve got to tire the opposition by turning them around with clever kicks. You obviously have to score when the opportunity comes and try and make the defence guess by varying your play,” he said.

In the battle of the fullbacks Joubert believes the experience of Stefan Terblanche could give the Sharks an advantage in the quest for territorial ascendancy. “I think Stefan has been the best fullback in the country this year because he’s a great decision-maker. He is always positive and varies his kicking and running games. Zane Kirchner is a young, talented guy but he hasn’t been in an event like this before.”

By Grant Ball

137 Comments

• 51.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#47 Puma: He’s not really into any sport….. he’s an artist, also a musician and a graphic designer by vocation….

But he rolls a nice Vitamin Green spliffy !!

• 52.Boelie: Reply to this comment

#48 Loosehead: Great minds think alike. Yours just types a lot faster

• 53.tight head: Reply to this comment

Finals are won up front.
    It will start in the front row.
    Posession is king, but getting across the advantage line with your forwards is everything.
    The way John Smit drove the ball up across the advantage line in the last 2 games, was very good for a player coming off an injury break, and carrying a little bit of pudding.
    That is what you want a test hooker to do in a final.
    The Sharks forwards will be too good collectively as an old fashioned, disciplined, driving pack that take the ball up first.
    All thanks to an old fashioned Kiwi coach who understands that you have to win the battle up front and get across the advantage line as your first order of business.

• 54.thefeather: Reply to this comment

#3 PissAnt: PA, I’m with you, so that makes 2 of us then.

• 55.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

#52 Boelie: :lol:

• 56.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#48 Loosehead: Neeeeeeeee, dan was hy nie meer my boetie nie !

• 57.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#50 Boelie: Dink jy MY FAMILIE sou dit vir 1 minuut geduld het ??

• 58.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#38 lion4ever: Jammer om van jou kakkas te **** !!

• 59.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#57 grootblousmile: Ekskuus.

• 60.Puma: Reply to this comment

#51 grootblousmile: lol. Well that explains why he is not worried about getting married on the cc final day. Wear the Bulls jersey like I said that will teach him to get married on the cc final. hehehe.

• 61.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#59 Sniper: Jong, ek is die verligte ene in die familie…… my pa was woes en rof en het altyd gesê…. jy trou nie met ‘n hippy of ‘n Joodjie of ‘n uitlander of ‘n WP ondersteuner nie… want dan is jy outomaties onterf !!

Hehehe

• 62.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#61 grootblousmile: Some of your best friends have WP friends.

• 63.JUSM: Reply to this comment

#3 PissAnt: i’d start john smit in a heart beat. no doubt.

• 64.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#62 Sniper: Are you sure ??

• 65.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#64 grootblousmile: No!!! Guessing

• 66.Boelie: Reply to this comment

#64 grootblousmile: #65 Sniper: My brothers mate’s, sister has a friend who goes out with a guy who once dated a WP supporter. But we don’t like to talk about that too much.

• 67.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#64 grootblousmile: Both my daughters are staunch Bulls. The youngest wears a bulls jersey every now and then. Told them never to hang anything from their mirror or towbar. hehehe

• 68.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#66 Boelie: You should. It is part of the healing process. :lol:

• 69.EEE: Reply to this comment

#66 Boelie: :lol:

#67 Sniper: howdy meit…….probably your wifes good influence on the girls?

• 70.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#67 Sniper: You’ve got GREAT kids…. if you don’t want them anymore I’ll adopt them !

• 71.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#69 EEE: Hello meitjie. Yep she too supports the bulls. She has this thing that you support the team where you live. Can you imagine if we moved to Joburg. Lord forbid.

• 72.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#70 grootblousmile: I have too! The youngest is going to work for you one day. First year law.

• 73.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#67 Sniper: Gaan die kindersorg op jou sit!!!!!

• 74.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#73 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: hehehe

• 75.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#67 Sniper:
    Both your daughters staunch bulls hey……must be quite a sight mind you

• 76.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#71 Sniper:
    or cape town

• 77.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#71 Sniper: Your wife is indeed a clever lady… you yourself mentioned a while ago that you are considering becomming a Bulls supporter because you love Pretoorsdorp so much….

• 78.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#75 Zulushark: It is too – they don’t know better though. Get the sarcasm as well – but hey that’s also ok.

• 79.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#67 Sniper:
    Of course you know whats going to happen to those towbar balls if the bulls lose……a few okes are going to get castrated hehehehehehehe

• 80.Boelie: Reply to this comment

#71 Sniper: Ah supporting my Mighty Lions. Now we are talking. Nothing like going to support a home game. The whiff of smog mixing with the smell of urine and sh*t as you walk towards the stadium. Dodging the drunk hoboes. The echoing of your car alarm in the distance.
    That feeling of defeat as you trundle back to where you think your car still is..
    Ah…. Bring on the Super 14

• 81.EEE: Reply to this comment

#71 Sniper: sny sommer dadelik dan my keel af hehehehe

• 82.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#76 Zulushark: That is exactly where I was born and bred mate. Have had therapy though. Times are tough, but every cloud has a silver lining.

• 83.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#78 Sniper:

I always say that chicks are the enemy

• 84.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#81 EEE: Exactly. I would rather support Queensland Reds for that matter.

• 85.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#82 Sniper:
    All you need now is tranfer to KZN and you’ll be cured for life.

• 86.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#80 Boelie: The Coketin is not for sissies.

• 87.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#80 Boelie: Hehehe

• 88.EEE: Reply to this comment

#80 Boelie: :lol: shame man, I actually have a tear in my eye now!!!!

• 89.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#83 Zulushark: They are? :???:

• 90.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#81 EEE: Hallo EEEEEEEEEEEE

Hoe gaan dit daar annerkant die worsgordyn?

• 91.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#82 Sniper:
    You know, I was bred in Jhb, but only go back for weddings and funerals these days…but don’t tell anyone, don’t want the whole world to know

• 92.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#80 Boelie: Don’t worry mate – I know what you are feeling – seems like dejavu.

• 93.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#89 Sniper:
    Of course…every argument between two blokes is started by some women or other in some or other way.

• 94.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#77 grootblousmile: I do too. Great place indeed.

• 95.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#91 Zulushark: At least u had a good start in life.

• 96.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#88 EEE: Maiki, K9 PlaasPoedel het my noudiedag gevra of jy geregistreer is op Facebook……. hy wil sien hoe jy lyk !

• 97.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#85 Zulushark: They haven’t won since the 90′s. What cure.

• 98.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#96 grootblousmile: Haai issie!!!!!

• 99.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#93 Zulushark: Hmmm ok

• 100.Zulushark: Reply to this comment

#95 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
    Yeah sure….Yippee for Yeoville and Hillbrow….and you’ve read those comments by Boelie about how pleasant it is to go Ellis Park, sorry Coke Park

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.