From the penthouse to the shithouse
17 Nov 2008
The drop in form for the world champion Boks – and in particular 2007 IRB player of the year Bryan Habana – has been dramatic.
In Edinburgh this morning the talk is rightfully of heroism, bravehearts and lost opportunity. The Scots, ranked ninth in the world, were a try away from upstaging the world champion Springboks. In South African cities the rugby talk rightfully is of disgust at the performance of the Springboks.
One country’s support base had no reason to believe a victory was possible, while the one in which we live had no reason to believe defeat to the sad Scots was a possibility.
Scotland are an ordinary side, so any attempt to justify or applaud this Springbok performance must be rubbished. This was no come from behind win; it was an insult to what was achieved by many of the same players a year ago.
Something has to be seriously wrong when Bryan Habana, the player of the year in 2007, is substituted 30 minutes before the end on successive weekends, and the only surprise is that he wasn’t yanked 30 minutes into the respective matches.
It is becoming tiresome, not to mention repetitive, to hear the players, in their post-match summary, talk of how they went back to a structured game plan at halftime and how they focused on doing the basics and playing to a style that complimented their strengths.
The players may mean well, but in attempting to articulate the performance they condemn the coaching staff because the words are those of players at odds with the coaching philosophy.
This is not a healthy Springbok side. They don’t have the aura of a year ago and it is because they don’t have the fitness, confidence, discipline and self-belief of the side that effortlessly arm-wrestled all opposition at the World Cup. They also don’t have the intellectual capital in what is a very inexperienced coaching trio.
There has been no rebuilding of the side, so that can’t be an excuse, and there has been no growth.
The Boks, for all their failings, may squeeze past England on Saturday, but again it will be more reflective of the limitations of the opposition than any South African revival.
The continued doublespeak in game plan; the contradictions in romance and realism; have left loose-forwards on the wing, locks in the midfield and props at first receiver, with the occasional clean out at the ruck coming from a wing, centre and flyhalf.
South Africa’s strength is physicality at the breakdown and dominance in contact. Against Scotland players attacked as individuals, got isolated and were often turned over, and when the Boks did get numbers to the breakdown there was no discipline. Put bluntly, there was no plan as a team or for individuals, especially Habana, who internationally has gone from the penthouse to the shithouse.
Habana’s decline is alarming and if he is not injured then it must rank as among the more dramatic reversals of form. Currently he can’t catch a ball, run a support line or even make an intercept count, and to see a novice Scottish winger beat him on the outside, much as Welsh wizard Shane Williams did earlier this season, is more mystifying than it is embarrassing for Habana.
Habana should not be playing against England because his form does not warrant inclusion ahead of Jonge Nokwe. A few others should also not be playing against England, but the insular selection policy that picks Brian Mujati ahead of the northern hemisphere-based CJ van der Linde and BJ Botha and Earl Rose ahead of Bath’s Butch James means some of South Africa’s best players will watch Saturday’s Test from the stands at Twickenham.
Fourie du Preez’s injury means there is a scrumhalf crisis, but a bit more innovative thinking could have turned a mishap into an opportunity with the selection of Saracens and former Stormers scrumhalf Neil de Kock, who has consistently been the best scrumhalf in England for the last three seasons.
That, however, would require having a plan – and like with Habana, if there is such a thing I know I am not alone in failing to see it.
These are disturbing times for the Boks because damage is being done now that will only come to the fore when the British and Irish Lions tour South Africa next June.

692 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All
17 Nov 2008, 16:10 pm
#548 Dawn:
.. sigh …
and so you keep on breaking my heart!
17 Nov 2008, 16:11 pm
To perform at the highest level certain combinations must come off.
6,7 and 8 altho big stars in their own right should play as a unit. Let the backs run off them and things will change dramatically.
I thought Juan’s work rate was superb!
17 Nov 2008, 16:12 pm
#593 Zulushark: Mmmmmmmmmmmm njammie….. I have a problem though…… that sounds about the size I would eat right now….. not a serving for 4 !
17 Nov 2008, 16:13 pm
#580 GBS TONIC
Jy ken jou rugby. Brussouw op 6, Schalk 7 en Jaun 8. Spies of Kanko op bank.
Sonder Brussow sal die treurmale met die loosies net voortgaan. Hierdie “seniors” is lankal sy “juniors”. Ervaring is ‘n relatiewe begrip – kry dan vir Frik, mof, Teuns, Gerber ens as ervaring tel.
17 Nov 2008, 16:14 pm
#599 asha1: Netso ja…. as hulle verder gesukkel het hulle dalk ‘n opblaasswembad-verwyderings-operasie nodig gehad !
17 Nov 2008, 16:14 pm
I think if one thing was shown it was that we need a dedicated fetcher. I said a week or two ago I’d play the following combination:
6. Heinrich Brussow
7. Juan Smith
8. Schalk Burger
17 Nov 2008, 16:16 pm
#598 grootblousmile:
Howdt pardner,
Wouldn’t drop Spies for the England match. We need his bulk. Kanko could come on when the game gets lose.
Would put JdV at #14 (he spent most of the afternoon there anyway) and put FS and JF at centre to improve the mid field strength.
Mujait to carry the bags to improve his strength for the next year or so.
17 Nov 2008, 16:17 pm
Once again i shout from the tree tops..how can thousands of supporters see that we need a fetcher but the bok management can’t!game after game we get nailed at breakdown and there is no change..why why why
17 Nov 2008, 16:17 pm
#605 WP Till I Die:
No 8 needs to be able to use his feet. Schalk has as much foot control as a 1 year old with his shoe laces tied together. He’s been tried there and was an absolute failure.
17 Nov 2008, 16:18 pm
#594 Zulushark:
Yep … that they do.
That food looks lekker.
17 Nov 2008, 16:19 pm
#603 AP: Hel….. ek het mos lekwarrrrrr flank gespeel in my dag des lewens tot ouderdom 26….. so ek ken bietjie van daai dinge jong !
Netso sal ‘n ou soos Tight head of Boerboel ons mooooooooi kan vertel van stutte se spel en wat nodig is…..
Loosies is ‘n kombinasie jong, nie enkelinge nie, hulle moet as kombinasie party toe kom, elk met sy spesialiteite !
Ek was woes beindruk met Juan… en dit wat hy uitstekend gedoen het pas so reg in ‘n goeie No 8 se kraal !
17 Nov 2008, 16:20 pm
#608 OCO: Yip, yip, yip !
17 Nov 2008, 16:22 pm
# Sheriff:
Yup Juan was great and so too was Schalk who (apart from diving over the rucks) got around the field well. Problem is that there was no co-ordination (linking) between the two.
17 Nov 2008, 16:23 pm
#606 OCO: Are you still alive…. Osama Bin OCO ??
17 Nov 2008, 16:23 pm
#611 grootblousmile:
Not gonna happen though but let’s face it, the combo did better in the RWC and scored more tries.
We can only dream!
17 Nov 2008, 16:25 pm
#612 OCO:
Yeah but Schalla must be smarter, he is impressive with ball in hand but fail to get players to link up with him.
It’s either he passes straight away or runs and dont pass. He needs to do both.
Still concerned about Pierre’s ball handling skills after all these chances. Seems to be a personal favourite of PdV’s
17 Nov 2008, 16:26 pm
#613 grootblousmile:
Only just, chasing sales right now. Not a good time in the current economy. Q8 stock exchange was closed late last week and only reopened today after government intervention.
Although you might be refering to last nights ‘head banging’ with the ‘comrades’ ?
17 Nov 2008, 16:29 pm
#615 Sheriff:
As I was saying to GBS, would be nice to put JdV on the wing (he plays well when wide) and FS/JF at centre (hell, Pdv has tried everything else).
However, yup, SB is a great player but he’s more of a ‘tank’ and hits anything in his way. I’m not sure that he has the skills necessary under the ELVs. Pity if he can’t come right as we need him. Would be a winner if he could offload better. Maybe with a ‘smarter player’ as a link it would go better?
17 Nov 2008, 16:32 pm
617 oco: having a good fetcher might help schalk also,as the fetcher will be there 2 support when burger makes his runs etc.now there are not any support runners often enough
17 Nov 2008, 16:32 pm
#616 OCO: Head banging ??
That was more like “yapp-trapping”….. hulle het ge-yapp en ons het getrap !
17 Nov 2008, 16:33 pm
#617 OCO:
PdV will not play Jean on the wing, never.
Jean is the type of player that he likes. My guess is that he will play Fourie at 11 on Sat and give Habs a rest/ play him from the bench.
17 Nov 2008, 16:35 pm
Life is about balance….. loosies are about balance….. we need loosies with balance to make our lives more balanced…
You get my drift ??
Hahahaha
17 Nov 2008, 16:36 pm
#619 grootblousmile:
hehe, yup. Only contribution from the 3 stooges was asking questions but refusing to answer those posed. Could have done with a judge to demand answers to the questions we posed.
Typical childish behaviour from them, like two year olds.
17 Nov 2008, 16:36 pm
#604 grootblousmile:
sou jy dit af- of opgedruk het?
17 Nov 2008, 16:37 pm
#621 grootblousmile:
i thought life was about structure?
Who mentioned Ig!?
#623 asha1: Ja !
Haha
17 Nov 2008, 16:38 pm
#626 grootblousmile:
ja wat?
17 Nov 2008, 16:38 pm
ANyone for tickets tickets to Twickenham on Saturday?
I have and can get some if you are keen? price £60-£71 pounds, lower east, around the 22m
17 Nov 2008, 16:39 pm
#624 asha1: Nooooo, life about belense…. I have to belence on my round feet after a bottle of Jerrekie-pik-my !
#621 grootblousmile: Yes we need balance, also in the front row and the second row, etc… The team must be balanced, even the bank must be balanced (I mean the reserves, these days nobody can balance the banks!).
Sit nou vir Spies terug op vleuel. ‘n Loosie wat sy kop intrek en oë toemaak onder in losskrum is bang man. Hy sal die ouens op vleuel nou stukkend hardloop – Lomu?
#618 ruggalover:
More or less what I’m saying. SB needs someone to ‘tidy up’ behind him and keep the momentum going. Not sure if SPies can do this as he is slow off the mark. Maybe Kanko who is probably one of the fastest in the team but he doesn’t tackle as well as Spies – at least ‘stop them in their tracks.
Difficult decision.
17 Nov 2008, 16:40 pm
Actually the same applies to 11, 14 and 15.
Percy, Breyton and Slapgatjips still one of the most dangerous combinations in the recent past.
Habs, Connie and JP do not play as a unit.
17 Nov 2008, 16:40 pm
#628 JL1: Don’t tempt me
17 Nov 2008, 16:41 pm
#628 JL1:
Does that include air fare?
17 Nov 2008, 16:41 pm
#630 Boerboel: Sien ek het jou aangehaal as ‘n voorrykenner hierbo êrens !!
17 Nov 2008, 16:42 pm
#620 Sheriff:
JdV has been more effective on the wing than he’s ever been at centre. History shows us that. The combo of FS/JF at centre is the best SA has ever had – results show this.
But yeh, you’re right, PdV isn’t giving any opportunities to FS/JF to stake their place at centre. He won’t do it, come hell or high water.
17 Nov 2008, 16:43 pm
#636 grootblousmile:
en dit …
dit is die vaste vyf
iets soos daai?
17 Nov 2008, 16:43 pm
#627 asha1: Op en af !
17 Nov 2008, 16:44 pm
#633 Sheriff:
Jantjies is the problem. Run into the opposition or kick a Garry Owen. No variation, no joining the line like Percy or ST (or many other for that matter).
#636 grootblousmile: Sien so.
#639 grootblousmile:
geen sekspraatjies nie
hiers kinners oppie site!
17 Nov 2008, 16:45 pm
#635 Dawn: No air fare, and only for serious takers
Tickets to Twickenham
£60-£71 face value
lower east around the 22m
17 Nov 2008, 16:47 pm
Hey ek waai nou……… mense het gearriveer !
17 Nov 2008, 16:49 pm
#644 grootblousmile:
You just reckon ther’s a dop with your name on it in close vicinity. Come on admit it
17 Nov 2008, 16:51 pm
#637 OCO:
But you and I have had this discussion before.
And I think we disagreed then as well. For me Jean is also a 12 or 13 esp because of his vision. He could stretch himself by working on his kicking ability ie to be able to relieve pressure off 10.
Fourie was impressive when he came on and deserves to make the run on team.
17 Nov 2008, 16:52 pm
What that team needs is Doppies le Grange.
17 Nov 2008, 16:53 pm
Hello everyone!
My 2 cents for what they’re worth. We were kak. No doubt about that. We showed tactical naivety and played poorly. It’s not the first time in the last 5 years that we’ve done so against so called “minnows”. Scotland gave us very close frights twice under Jake Whites tenure and both of those were in SA.
Now I’m not defending De Villiers. I think he is out of his depth, but I agree with Pissant that you cannot simply coach the BASICS out of a player. Habana, Spies, Burger Botha and Smith have all been average this year. Dropping balls, getting isolated, missing tackles etc etc. A gameplan is all well and good and offers structure, but if you have players who are simply out of form or struggling with the basics eg. staying on your feet at ruck time, not isolating yourself, catching a ball and not being beaten on your outside when you are the “quickest” wing in world rugby, then you are not making life easy for yourself.
Gameplans are great in the changeroom, but at the end of the day you should be good enough and organised to play what you see on the field. Did anybody else notice how well Jaque Fourie marshalled the defence from the wing when he came on?
17 Nov 2008, 16:53 pm
#640 OCO:
He had one of his poorer games on Sat and certainly has not been a stand out player over the last while. But had a few solid games.
I agree. He needs to work on his ability to join the line and by doing so create the overlap.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All