Mercury plummeting

The temperature inside Twickenham is close to freezing and although rain is unlikely to affect this Test the pumping wind could play it’s part.

You really have to hand it to the spectators. It’s a fair trek to Twickenham be it by tube, train or bus, but the biggest test of endurance and ultimate barometer of loyalty is the willingness to embrace the English cold. It’s expected to be as cold as 2 degrees Celsius by kickoff, and the wind is surely to exacerbate the situation. For the local and Springboks supporters, let’s hope the players give them something to make this experience worth the effort.

Some of the local weathermen have predicted snow for Sunday and there is a small chance the icy weather may arrive earlier tonight. There was talk that the Boks were tired after a long year, and that they were lacking motivation. Several players have denied this, but their dedication will be tested today. The big hits are amplified as the mercury drops. Bakkies Botha spoke to keo.co.za about delivering an 80-minute performance to be proud of. That’s going to take plenty of heart on the part of the Boks.

Being London, the Springbok contingent is far larger than the expatriate communities of Cardiff and Edinburgh, and the grounds in and around Twickenham are prominent with green and gold. The players and coaching staff received a hearty welcome from a large crowd of supporters, and the cries of ‘Bokke’ and the wail of the vuvuzela should be audible by kickoff at 2:30pm.

21 Comments

• 1.Carel: Reply to this comment

icy dragons

• 2.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

I was at the 1st England vs SA game 2 years ago. (the one we lost)

It was damn cold (to me anyway) and apparently not nearly as cold as it is today.

• 3.Tony: Reply to this comment

Hope we tactically up to this…

• 4.Carel: Reply to this comment

#3 Tony: hope so to – i already nervous – get so upset

• 5.pale_toe: Reply to this comment

2 degrees celsius. a luxury! Its closer to 2 degrees Fahrenheit here in snow country today.

• 6.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

# Carel: Ah… I see you fully understand the Dragons thingy now…….

Goooooooiiiiiii Mieliesssssss !

• 7.Carel: Reply to this comment

#6 grootblousmile: i very slow sometimes – need some structure and tutering, cannot play like i see it

• 8.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#6 grootblousmile:
    Pas met Ross en Paul gepraat…hulle se dis warm daar by die vuur in Durbanville !
    SA Barbarians, waar is jy?
    Die manne braai daar digby jou.

• 9.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#7 Carel: You seem to be a fast learner though… hahaha

• 10.Pommy: Reply to this comment

The Red Roses are going to smash the pathetic boks in this weather.

• 11.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#8 Pietman: Janee…. miskien moet SA Barbarians die BruVVas gaan join…. sommer net daar inval en klaarkry !

• 12.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#11 grootblousmile:
    Hy is letterlik om die draai van hulle af, in Sonstraal.
    Klink jolig daar, pas met Ross gepraat, Paul stamel klaar te veel, kon nie lekker verstaan wat hy se nie, klink my hy kou braaiwors en drink gelyk….heheheheh!

• 13.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#12 Pietman: Hahaha… man ek wens ek was nou daar tussen my broeders van anner moeders !

• 14.Puma: Reply to this comment

Told you all it was going to be freezing there. Cant see us playing a expansive game or them if its rain aswell.

Just watching the Boks in 1998. Wow!!!! We were damn fantastic then. Just forgot how damn good Skinstadt and Joost,Honniball, Rassie were.

• 15.Puma: Reply to this comment

#10 Pommy: Never ever count the Boks out. Thats a huge mistake. GO BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 16.Puma: Reply to this comment

#5 pale_toe: Here is so warm a thunderstorm on its way soon. Hope it does not knock the tv out during the game now.

• 17.Carel: Reply to this comment

#14 Puma: was that the game where the english just kept the ball in the scrum during the last moments of the game

• 18.Puma: Reply to this comment

#17 Carel: No we were playing Ireland in this game they showed. Damn we were really fantastic then. Running all over. Forget how good that team were. If only Mallett kept Teich the next year I am sure we could have won that wc too. Never can you play without a captain. Aslo Skinstadt was just magnificent then. He had not had that accident with his knee yet. We forget just what a great player he was. Rassie, Honiball, Dalton, Joost so many big names in that team. We just looked awesome.

• 19.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers Carel. Out of here now. Good luck to our Boks. Hope we win and its not as close as last week.

• 20.Carel: Reply to this comment

#19 Puma: cheers puma

• 21.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

#3 Tony:

Tactical and PDV… ROTFLMAO!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.