MCG motivates Proteas

Graeme Smith says his side can’t wait to play in front of a capacity crowd on the opening day of the second Test in Melbourne on Friday.

The MCG ranks alongside Lord’s and Eden Gardens as one of the dream venues to play a Test. However, the Proteas have never won a Test in Melbourne and will need to make history again if they hope to wrap up the series with a match remaining.

“We have had three of the toughest tours this year with India, England and now here,” said Smith. “We drew in India, we won in England and, if we can close off this series here in Australia, it will be an incredible performance for this team and probably the most successful season ever for South African cricket. That is what we have the chance to achieve and to beat Australia in Australia is something everybody would like to have in their career.

“As a sportsman, a Boxing Day Test is one of those great occasions. We will obviously discuss a few things and be as well prepared as we can from that side but on the day it is a motivation to perform well. There is no greater occasion to perform well.”

The South African captain said it was also a chance to reflect on his own life and career and the changes he had gone through since his last tour to Australia in 2005.

“It is nice to come back here and see how far I have progressed in my life and my career and how things have changed,” said Smith, who is playing with a chronic elbow injury.

“Mentally you look forward to coping with it as best you can. Fortunately I have been batting well through it and I have been able to adapt my game quite well. But it is something that we need to deal with in the longer run because I can’t keep treating it like this over a long period of time, so we need to plan the way forward. At the moment our focus is purely on this Test match and we don’t want anything to get in the way of that.”

Smith also commented on the pressure the Australian team has been subjected to since Perth.

“I was surprised at some of the media reports and statements after the test match. It wasn’t something I expected. Having played against Australia for some time they are always composed and well directed, so it did come as a surprise. But it does not affect our preparation or the way we think. They have picked a formidable team for this test match and they will come out to play an aggressive game and take the game to us, so we will have to be focused and ready.

“We put our peg in the ground at Perth and we have made them respect us a huge amount as we do respect them. But from a psychological aspect we know we have got a lot more petrol in our tank. It took something special to win the test match and I expect much the same again with a pretty even contest.”

– Ashwell Prince, South Africa’s other casualty with a cracked thumb, had a try out in the nets on Wednesday and a decision on his availability will be taken after Christmas Day’s practice.

PROTEAS’ TEST RECORD AT THE MCG

1993: Match drawn
Australia 342/7 dec (Mark Taylor 170, Mark Waugh 84); South Africa 258/3 (Hansie Cronje 71, Andrew Hudson 64 retired, Kepler Wessels 63*)

1997: Match drawn
Australia 309 (Ricky Ponting 105, Steve Waugh 96) and 257 (Paul Reiffel 79, Mark Taylor 59); South Africa 186 (Gary Kirsten 83) and 273/7 (Jacques Kallis 101, Hansie Cronje 70)

2001: Australia won by 9 wickets
South Africa 277 (Neil McKenzie 67) and 219 (Jacques Kallis 99); Australia 487 (Matthew Hayden 138, Steve Waugh 90, Justin Langer 85) and 10/1

2005: Australia won by 184 runs
Australia 355 (Ricky Ponting 117, Michael Hussey 122) and 321/7 dec (Matthew Hayden 137, Andrew Symonds 72) beat South Africa 311 (Herschelle Gibbs 94) and 181

293 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.JL1: Reply to this comment

#248 SodaJoe: By the time you get up it is highlights of day 2 almost :lol:

• 252.AB: Reply to this comment

#249 JL1: Its my little break-away haven, lots of little physical jobs, like moving fences, cleaning water reservoirs, and chill in between! Just glad the Dstv is not on that slow signal! :-)

• 253.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#247 SodaJoe:

I have not met anyone off Keo but I had a funny incident the other night when I was watching internet live streaming sport. You can blog while watching a game and the messages come up at the side …. someone from China started going on about ‘Opium Pushing Slave Traders’ … hehe (and yes it was him)

• 254.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#251 JL1: lol

• 255.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#242 SodaJoe: #249 SodaJoe: #251 church – like chch but pronounceable: #238 wooden spoon:
    Happy Christmas boys.
    #231 jerimiyah:
    Feb, 2nd, you and I, at UCT, come show yourself…I will be sittting at the south end near the gate.
    Come meet me and we will ‘talk’.

• 256.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#253 church – like chch but pronounceable: amazing. Don’t really get it. But whatever.

• 257.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#252 AB:

I thought that I was badly off because my cable internet cut out earlier and I have had to plug in my HSDPA wireless connection :-)

• 258.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#255 Pietman: C’mon boet. You know that you’re not going to throw punches and make yourself look like a doos.

When I get to Seoul I am going to drink till we “Gambai” no more. But I will not eat Kimchi.

• 259.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#255 Pietman:
    Cheers Pietman

Don’t going doing anything silly now

• 260.AB: Reply to this comment

#255 Pietman: Dagse ou maat! Geseende Kersfees vir jou en Pampoentjie! Ons kan nie wag om julle erens in Februarie te sien nie!

• 261.JL1: Reply to this comment

#253 church – like chch but pronounceable: Now that is funny

• 262.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#261 JL1:

and he called himself ShagHaiDoc

• 263.JL1: Reply to this comment

#262 church – like chch but pronounceable: It gets better :lol: ????? :?:

The man seems to hate a lot of things but opium and slave trading are always in the mix

• 264.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#263 JL1: He might even say that religion is the opium of the masses.

• 265.JL1: Reply to this comment

#264 SodaJoe: The man is on his own wavelength

• 266.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#265 JL1: Ground Control to Major Tom.

• 267.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#265 JL1: You seemed pretty strident about not going back to SA the other night. Not even for a holiday?

• 268.AB: Reply to this comment

#265 JL1: How can you call him a man? He is a being from Goofy planet, not to be confused with human beings!

• 269.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Tell you what I would like for Christmas – John Mitchell to coach the “not so” Golden Lions.

• 270.JL1: Reply to this comment

#268 SodaJoe: No, I still go back for a holiday all the time, imho it is just not safe in Gauteng form me or the family

• 271.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#268 AB: C’mon AB. Let’s all stay out of the dirty water in the ditch for a while.

Where are you “farming” at the moment? I am sure others know already, just asking.

• 272.JL1: Reply to this comment

#269 AB: True and eating deep friend cockroaches is surely not helping him at all

• 273.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#270 JL1: Oh I see. Same as many here then. Bloody far for us – about 24 hours door to door.

• 274.AB: Reply to this comment

#271 SodaJoe:Ok sorry for that, apologies all round! I have a game farm 20kms from Pilgrims Rest, but I reside and work in Gauteng. I have not been here for two months so its busy busy over here, but lekker!

• 275.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#274 AB: Wonderful. As a boy my family used to go to Pilgrim’s every year about September and trout fish the Blyde. God’s country boet (sorry Skops), simply gorgeous.

Terrific bud. Enjoy it.

• 276.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#275 SodaJoe: I might be the worst fisherman on God’s (sorry Skops) earth.

• 277.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#262 church – like chch but pronounceable: What’s the betting on All Blacks winning RWC 2011?

• 278.AB: Reply to this comment

#276 SodaJoe: “worst fisherman” same here my friend, I always say to fisherman that I prefer having my beers at home!

• 279.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#278 AB: Was in Dullstroom fishing for trout in the dams one year, guys were puling out their quota in an hour or so.

I was so desperate I got naked and stalked them.

Didn’t work.

• 280.AB: Reply to this comment

#279 SodaJoe: :-) Ok I need to do the lamb chops now, see you all around in the morning (very early) Go well and God bless!

• 281.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

happy Christmas guys

• 282.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

I am off for my Christmas lunch too.

• 283.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#281 CoachPete: You too my friend. Good morning. Having a good day?

Nice & white here. A bit warmer, but still cold.

See you later maybe.

• 284.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Ok yeah its very cold here blustery winter day

• 285.Harder-Faster: Reply to this comment

92/3 – Windies the last team to beat Oz in Oz in a series.

1995 – Oz the first team to beat Windies in Windies since 1972/3 to
    take over the reign as World Test Champions until,

2008/09 – ?

• 286.Harder-Faster: Reply to this comment

Win the toss and bat bat bat! The Aussies are sick of us batting after Perth D5.

• 287.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

I heard, and I do not know if it is correct, that there is a claim that the MCG will be helpful to fast bowling, In that case, winning the toss, I will sent the Aussies in to bat. They just maybe all out before lunch time. History do not teach anybody

• 288.Harder-Faster: Reply to this comment

#287 dWeePer: If you’re serious with the “all out before lunchtime” comment we can’t really take you seriously.

• 289.Puma: Reply to this comment

Good luck to our Proteas for the cricket tomorrow.

• 290.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

This is not a great Aussie team. I have hope for SA

• 291.kwas: Reply to this comment

#144 Pietman: Piet, I respect your decision not to blog here any longer, but by running away you are merely handing victory to Skoppie & other likeminded nondescripts.

• 292.church - like chch but pronounceable: Reply to this comment

#287 dWeePer:

Did you put any money on that? :-)

• 293.goyougoodthingPlumtree: Reply to this comment

#292 church – like chch but pronounceable: Hey, that song by Joy Division is called transmission… there is a great version of it on youtube and also in the movie

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.