Watson’s BMW bashed
6 Jan 2009
Luke Watson escaped unhurt from a minor car accident in Bellville on Monday.
According to reports, a motorist ran a red light in rush-hour traffic and hit the front of the WP flank’s black vehicle.
“Nobody has been hurt,” spokesperson Frikkie Erasmus told Die Burger. “The front of Luke’s car has been damaged. There were some surprised onlookers when they saw Luke and some of his team-mates at the scene.”
Watson was cool and calm after the incident.
“The person drove over a red light,” he explained. “It was at the intersection of Jip de Jager Lane and Voortrekker Street. My team-mates teased me as they came past. I am 100% fine. My car has been damaged, but it’s not a write-off.”

51 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
6 Jan 2009, 07:18 am
Slow news day, Simon?
6 Jan 2009, 07:21 am
” My team-mates teased me as they came past. ”
Nobody seemed to worry about his health. Where is the love?
6 Jan 2009, 07:21 am
Was Lulu part of the presidential cavalcade?
6 Jan 2009, 07:23 am
Does anyone really give a flying continental. A tree reversed into my car a few weeks ago and plenty of people laughed and teased me but I didnt make keo…..
6 Jan 2009, 07:23 am
I wonder if it was a ******** who drove into Lulu?
6 Jan 2009, 07:24 am
Luke, in English we say “a person drove THROUGH a red light’ not OVER it.
Seems rugby is not all you’re ordinary at…
6 Jan 2009, 08:00 am
I’m more surprised that the car is in fact black.
Would have thought that daddy would have bought him a green and gold one. With black racing stripes and a Protea sticker….
And a bucket in case some street vendor tried to sell him a Springbok jersey at the street corner. But then, maybe even the street vendors wouldn’t sell him a jersey.
Oh well…I suppose there is always the Spears captaincy to look forward to.
6 Jan 2009, 08:27 am
Has Keo turned into some kind of gossip site, a cyber-version of heat?
How is this story at all newsworthy?
6 Jan 2009, 08:45 am
Who gives a *****? aaaahhhhhhh I know, maybe skopppie?
6 Jan 2009, 09:17 am
I would have loved to take the credit but unfortunately I was in Pretoria and not at the intersection of Jip de Jager Lane and Voortrekker Street.
Kwagga, kan jy nie beter assassin as dit gehuur het nie?!
6 Jan 2009, 09:19 am
Does Vic Matfield and Bakkies Botha have alibis for said night?
6 Jan 2009, 09:24 am
#8 WP Till I Die: I heard that Fran Steyn had lost his cat!
6 Jan 2009, 09:26 am
#8 WP Till I Die:
well maybe luke and 10 of his teammates were in the car (hence the suprised onlookers)
or
maybe there were smoke accompanied by a sweet smell coming out of his car (but everyone thought it was caused by the impact between the 2 cars)
or
maybe cheeky now own 49% of keo (therefore the need for this article)
or
something like that!
if not, then you’re correct,
this isnt newsworthy at all!
my dearest simon,
…
i know you can do better than this!
6 Jan 2009, 09:28 am
#12 carol: he looks more like a coke guy than a cat or speed user…
6 Jan 2009, 09:32 am
Hoop hulle het sy waatlemoene moer toe gery….
6 Jan 2009, 09:33 am
Must have been the third force…
6 Jan 2009, 09:34 am
Heard there was a “third force” involved. Heard that Luke is a keen monopoly player. Maybe it’s the SA Full Contact Monopoly side trying to send Lulu a message.
6 Jan 2009, 09:35 am
#15 Supa Die Bloubul:
6 Jan 2009, 09:35 am
Arg Luke, go buy a white BMW this time…
6 Jan 2009, 09:36 am
#19 Supa Die Bloubul: it’s against his principles…
6 Jan 2009, 09:36 am
#19 Supa Die Bloubul:
wel solank die blerrie ding nie vaal-blou is nie, is alles orraait!
6 Jan 2009, 09:42 am
Can we have some updates on SA Super 14 player squads, please?
6 Jan 2009, 09:49 am
#22 puff: As usual the Stormers are claiming 2009 as THEIR YEAR… nothing new really.
6 Jan 2009, 10:11 am
Kid Omo III
Rassie has some out-there ideas. Last year, he tried to play Brits at 8th man. Now he’s looking to play young Nick Koster at wing so he can move Nakelevuki to outside centre. Plus he’s looking to convert Hilton Lobberts into a lock.
I understand his thinking re Lobberts. He has the potential to hit and clean out rucks effectively. But the guy’s 1.9m. That’s not exactly tall for a lock. I guess Rassie figures the new laws have diminished the dominance of the lineout. And when you have a giant like Bekker as your primary jumper, is it really that vital for your other lock to be a beanpole too?
Anyway, the Koster experiment is a big gamble in my mind.
Probable Stormers first-choice 22:
1. Moller 2. Brits 3. Mujati 4. Fondse 5. Bekker 6. Burger 7. Louw 8. Watson 9. Januarie 10. Grant 11. Chavhanga 12. De Villiers 13. Nakelevuki 14. Koster
15. Jantjes
16. Fourie 17. Kritzinger 18. Venter 19. Watson 20. Conradie 21. Bobo 22. Montgomery
6 Jan 2009, 10:12 am
Sorry – number 8 should read Vermeulen.
6 Jan 2009, 10:17 am
#24 puff:
here’s for hoping chavanga can hit that awesome form of last year again! (and this time stay injury free)
6 Jan 2009, 10:37 am
It’s interesting to note how many exciting wingers the Cheetahs have in their extended squad. Some will inevitably not make the final cut. Surely then we will see a few of these players being drafted into other squads? The Lions in particular are looking mighty thin.
Consider these players in the Cheetahs extended squad:
Nokwe, Nontshinga, Juries, Frederichs, Floors (why Drotske wants to convert him into a wing when he has so many wingers to choose from is beyond me), Demas, Jonker (I think Drotske’s looking to play him at wing this year and not centre), Basson (an exciting young player from Griquas).
I didn’t see Wilton Pieterson’s name in the extended Cheetahs squad, which is surprising. I wonder where he is.
6 Jan 2009, 10:38 am
“My team mates teased me as they came past”
Definitely harsh, but it reveals quite a bit.
Firstly, Watson felt hurt by what they did. Perhaps if he changes his behaviour that wont happen. Walking around with those arms and saying the things he says create every incentive for the guys to behave like that.
They feel in a way that it is justice because he is so windgat.
Secondly, why did he have to mention that to the newspaper. If he is that “big” he could have just left that out.
Finally, he should seriously consider going abroad as it is unlikely that he will regain his place in the Bok team. His performance will also be affected by the lack of harmony between him and his team mates; ie someone may just not pass the ball to him when they really should.
It’s better that he goes overseas as he is bigger than the SA game anyway.
6 Jan 2009, 10:43 am
The Lions representational stats are simply appalling. Look at the squad. Only Sephaka, Willemse and Rose. They need to recruit or groom – big time.
6 Jan 2009, 10:45 am
sheriff. sorry to tell you this but i rode past the accident and the stormers guys were out in full support of luke. there were half the bloody team standing with him checking on him and supporting. the ones who wrode past waving a him couldnt find space to park so you actually have no idea. the guys could not have supported him more if they tried. sorrry watson hater but his team mates support him big time
6 Jan 2009, 10:53 am
Did he puke?
6 Jan 2009, 10:57 am
#30 jhsmith:
So Watson lover, why did he make that comment then?
Real victim mentality.
6 Jan 2009, 11:01 am
Funny thing how luke should say his team mates teased him. Is this to suggest that there’s a good spirit in the stormers camp?
6 Jan 2009, 11:04 am
#33 Wezwp:
He’s talking about his Vodacom team mates…
6 Jan 2009, 11:04 am
#34 money_man:
Vodacom cup that is…
6 Jan 2009, 11:09 am
#35 money_man:
6 Jan 2009, 11:21 am
Lol. That’s a funny one money man.
6 Jan 2009, 12:06 pm
luke is ***
6 Jan 2009, 12:11 pm
#28 Sheriff:
This post does not do justice to your talents as one of the better bloggers on Keo.
How do you know that he felt hurt by them teasing him? It could just as well be interpreted as banter between friends. If they hate him that much they would probably not even have stopped. I also see nothing sinister in the fact that he mentioned it to the press – there could be many reasons – you really seem to be looking for something here that perhaps only exist in your very own mind.
You will have to lift your game if you want to be taken seriously in your efforts to become the premier psycho-analyst of Keo.
6 Jan 2009, 12:13 pm
#7 Shadar Auditor: Well the car is theoretically white, but has been classified black…
6 Jan 2009, 12:17 pm
#39 Robzim:
Sheriff, I forgot to say, you have the talent and analytical skills to make it imo
6 Jan 2009, 12:22 pm
I bet he drives a 530d….
6 Jan 2009, 12:26 pm
#39 Robzim:
I just absolutely love when I get a post like that. You made my day Rob.
Mate, you should know that I am a very simple man.
I would like to consider taking all of that on board, but to try and defend Luke Watson is not worth it. I mean, do you know the bloke personally?
By the way – what is this psycho-analyst business? I hardly know how to spell the word (copied your one)
6 Jan 2009, 12:58 pm
#43 Sheriff:
It is those probing questions that you sometimes ask in trying to unravel the mind of some unsuspecting blogger. Freud believed that clues to subconcious attitudes and feelings can be found by analysing people (sometimes even a slip of the tong and the associations that people make between various ideas or issues can provide a clue). If you properly interprete these clues then you can get a clear picture of the person you are dealing with. I thought this is more or less what you are trying to do.
You are anything but a simple man, do not hide behind that nonsense.
Regarding Luke, no I do not know him but respect him as a player and also for much more. I admit he made some mistakes as well. I have once spoken a few words to him at a practice session in Durbanville and since that day I always find it strange when people call him little Luke. I am just over 6 ft 2 inches tall and he is only fractionally shorter than me with a much stronger build. I do not know whether he fitted super long studs to his boots and wore double padding but to me he did not look small at all. I know that this has nothing to do with the subject but I thought I can also mention it.
I am still on vacation and do not know why I am sitting here typing
Cheers for now.
i
6 Jan 2009, 13:12 pm
#44 Robzim:
Rob
You know with me most things are tongue in cheek.
It is unlikely that I will meet the bloggers here on keo. I merely try to use all the tools at my disposal to see a profile crystalise.
Perhaps if I can accurate predict the behaviour the face becomes immaterial
There is nothing wrong to take a position like that. I respect that. Believe it or not I was a passionate supporter and defender of both Luke Watson and Jake White. I have subsequently changed my mind about both of them.
Luke cannot be that small. I saw Dave von Hoesslin once and altho very short did not strike me as small. Very broad shoulders and 100% muscle.
I did the same (when on holiday)
6 Jan 2009, 14:50 pm
Pity Puke wasn’t bashed a bit too…oh well, suppose he’ll turn out for the team after all, damb!
6 Jan 2009, 14:55 pm
That BMW… Luke us clearly part of the STRUGGLE… poor little PDI
6 Jan 2009, 15:00 pm
#30 jhsmith: Are you saying that half the Stormers were standing around some random traffic intersection waiting for an accident involving Luke?
Sounds like a planned move to me
6 Jan 2009, 21:37 pm
You guys can be really pathetic
6 Jan 2009, 22:49 pm
some of YOu people are trully sik!!!!!!! The man is in a f’#*king car accident and yet u still make fun of him!!! thats not even pathetic it inhumane….GROW UP SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All