Superman Smith on top Down Under
7 Jan 2009
Graeme Smith was awarded the Player of the Series trophy for his gutsy batting performances, superb captaincy and remarkable courage.
Smith scored 326 runs at an average of 65.20 over the three Tests which is no mean feat considering he retired hurt in the first innings of the final game. His captaincy was acknowledged given he orchestrated South Africa’s first series win in Australia, and as far as courage and tenacity are concerned, there wasn’t an instant in Perth, Melbourne or Sydney where the South Africa skipper didn’t embody these virtues.
The game in Sydney looked to be over when Dale Steyn was trapped lbw by Andrew MacDonald, but Smith emerged from the dressing room to weather the Aussie attack. South Africa fell 10 balls short of a draw when Smith was bowled by Mitchell Johnson, but the decision to remove his cast and stride out to face the Aussie quicks with a broken hand would have won respect the world over.
“I wasn’t going to go out in the morning, but as things starting getting close and we lost a few wickets, I started to reconsider,” said Smith. “After tea I decided if there were 20-odd overs remaining I would go out there. It made my life easier that the tail played so well.”
Dale Steyn and Makhaya Ntini stuck around to record a 54-run partnership. Smith commended the effort of his frontline bowlers.
“The tail has been a captain’s nightmare for both teams in this series. I think Dale and Makhaya epitomise the character in this team. It’s great to see them dig in like that.”
Smith was obviously elated with the series win in Australia, and although they fell short in Sydney, it took little shine off an unprecedented feat.
“2008 was a very successful year for us and there was plenty of hype coming into this series. To be honest, I’m just chuffed to be on the winning side for a change.”
Had the tourists fought to a draw, Australia would have had only themselves to blame. Matthew Hayden dropped a sitter when Ntini nicked a full delivery from Johnson, a missed chance that could have cost Australia a win. The hosts were also fortunate the dark clouds gathering around the SCG never brought the expected rain.
“When I saw the storm coming through, the blood pressure did go up a bit,” said Ponting. “Luckily the weather held off and we were good enough to get home.
“I’ve been very proud of my side right through the series, even though the results haven’t worked out the way we would have liked. We’ve been in some good positions, but haven’t been good enough to hold those positions.
“South Africa have been able to turn a negative situation into a positive situation and that for me is a sign of a good team.”
The Proteas will face Australia in the first of two Twenty20 matches on Sunday. The team will be led by Johan Botha as Smith returns home to recover from injury.

97 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
7 Jan 2009, 09:52 am
Whata captain… you could see the pain on his face and he stuck to it
7 Jan 2009, 09:54 am
Well deserved.
7 Jan 2009, 09:56 am
Captain Dragon? Ag it is all so corny this dragon business
7 Jan 2009, 09:56 am
I’m very proud of our boy’s, but still think we should’ve dropped mackenzie and maybe Paul Harris.
7 Jan 2009, 09:58 am
Legend !
7 Jan 2009, 09:59 am
#3 EEE: Super dragon
7 Jan 2009, 09:59 am
I was one of the pessimists who said that we would lose the series 3-0. I am so very proud to say i was so flippen wrong !!
7 Jan 2009, 10:03 am
#7 Cheetha Champs: ai… you should have been more positive from the start… then maybe things would have gone better
7 Jan 2009, 10:04 am
#4 Wezwp: Now why would you even think about dropping Harris?
7 Jan 2009, 10:06 am
Ok, maybe not Paul Harris but definitely Mackenzie.
7 Jan 2009, 10:11 am
#10 Wezwp: I agree regarding McKenzie. You cannot have a top order batsman with an average of 37 after 90 innings.
The question is who will replace him.
7 Jan 2009, 10:14 am
#7 Cheetha Champs: You should have done what I did. Be negative and predict a 3-0 victory for us. We came close.
(It also worked in the game between the Boks and England)
7 Jan 2009, 10:19 am
Bring prince in and move everyone a place up in the order. Let’s also see what Gibb’s can do.
7 Jan 2009, 10:21 am
A sa fifa world cup commitee member was shot. He apparently was a whistle blower because there was corruption regarding the tender of a world cup stadium.
7 Jan 2009, 10:21 am
Steyn can feel a tad unlucky not the get man of the series award.
7 Jan 2009, 10:23 am
Why get rid of the springbok when there are corrupt football officials murdering anc members.
7 Jan 2009, 10:24 am
What a brilliant series performance! I would persevere with McKenzie, bring in Prince and drop Kallis; he’s way past his best and the team needs to start planning for the future without him.
7 Jan 2009, 10:24 am
#13 Wezwp: Not sure Amla wants to open, and I think Kallis prefers 4.
Perhaps De Villiers will be pushed down the order to open – then again, he’s settled rather nicely into the middle order. It seems silly to change something that’s working.
What’s the local scene like? Any up and coming opening bats?
7 Jan 2009, 10:28 am
I’m not sure if there’s any more opening batsman coming out of rehab.
7 Jan 2009, 10:34 am
#17 Porto: I feel your pain regarding Kallis. However he is still the side’s top batsman – he averages 55 and also contributes with the ball. He has almost joined an elite club of players who have scored 10,000 runs in test cricket.
Whilst his batting performances this series were one of the biggest disappointments this series he is a proven competitor.
The thing with cricket is that as a batsman you have highs and lows, periods of form when you see the ball as big as a watermelon and then periods when you can’t even buy a run. Kallis’ average of 55 over more than 100 tests suggests he has class and that this is one of those poorer periods. As a batsman you just have to bat your way through it, knowing runs are around the corner.
However, if you only average 37 after 90 innings then it’s quite clear that you don’t really have all the goods at this level, when in form or not in form.
7 Jan 2009, 10:34 am
Smith has been great, but I think choosing him was a little sentimental … Dale Steyn’s bowling and runs in melbourne secured the series. He should have got player of the series.
With Prince fit, McKenzie must go and possibly de villiers open the batting again.
7 Jan 2009, 10:37 am
#6 Sarah: Hey Sarah
Are you an imposter or did you drop the Springbok from your name? Luke finally got around to making you see things his way?
7 Jan 2009, 10:39 am
#17 Porto: Kallis aggressive batting set the tone for the 414 run chase and his decision today was a tough one. He could have gone on and we could have won, he is that type of player. Hi bowling and catching has been good this series.
He is way more valuable than McKenzie who has been way more inconsistent over the years.
7 Jan 2009, 10:42 am
I think this will change the minds of all GS doubters…I also used to diss PolyFilla but he has proven himself over time and is now the goto man for Proteas…
7 Jan 2009, 10:44 am
Well done & well deserved.
And get well soon.
7 Jan 2009, 10:51 am
Howzit guys and girls , Happy new year already , know i am late.
Wow , 2008 ended on a good note , we win end of year tour , the 7′s taking two in a row and now beating the Aussies at home. Looking forward to a good sporting year.
Super 14 we waiting.
7 Jan 2009, 10:53 am
My stance on Smith has softened somewhat, to a measure of respect and admiration. He was a bit of a palooka when he first arrived on the scene but has matured into a decent captain and an aggressive opening batsman who leads from the front.
7 Jan 2009, 10:57 am
#22 Taahirah: Dropped the Springbok… no, the Proteas showed me that no matter what the name is I’d still adore them, even if they changed it Boom Chaka Laka and had a duck for the emblem I’d still support them becuase they are and always will be my national team
7 Jan 2009, 10:57 am
#26 Andre_WP: And Stormers are gonna win it!
7 Jan 2009, 11:01 am
wep why would you wanna drop harris? in my opinion he probably enhanced his reputation on this tour than most..bar the usual suspects steyn and smith..as for kalis..wouldn even think of droppin him immediately..maybe he could retire end of the reason or the next..droppin him would require two or 3 guys to replace him.. i thought his bowling was superb this series..and batting..admitedly not up to his standards..maca on the other hand..thanx for the tons against england and bangladesh and good bye, does anyone have a breakdowns of his runs in 08! they sayin he averaged over 50 last year but would be curious what that average is minus that double hund3rd against bangladesh..after all peterson got a fiver against them..aint heard anyone callings for him to be our number one spinner..
7 Jan 2009, 11:02 am
I am not a great fan of Biff, but hats off to him. He is definitely swaying my opinion.
7 Jan 2009, 11:06 am
Kevin Pietersen has resigned as captain of England. Boy does controversy follow this guy.
Biff made me proud today to be a South African.
So Australia wins the test, but Biff’s unexpected appearance took centre stage.
Psychologically it erased the consolation.
#30 all round.zn: totally agree on the averages … you have to consider the opposition.
7 Jan 2009, 11:07 am
Guess Pietersen has discovered he didn’t have as much power in the England set up as he thought he did…
7 Jan 2009, 11:14 am
fantastic effort, one does not mind losing like this.
anyway, its a series win, well done okes.
7 Jan 2009, 11:15 am
#33 Sheriff: yay
7 Jan 2009, 11:17 am
#37 Sarah:
I see you’ve made some changes.
Did Emirates inspire you?
7 Jan 2009, 11:23 am
#38 Sheriff: No that would be the Proteas… but everybody is getting confused so changed back…
7 Jan 2009, 11:25 am
Graeme is better than superman!
7 Jan 2009, 11:26 am
#40 Cricketlover: Superman wears Graeme Smith pajamas.
7 Jan 2009, 11:27 am
#40 Cricketlover: Agree. Superman can’t bat with a broken hand.
7 Jan 2009, 11:27 am
#39 SpringbokSarah: Thats better!
In all fairness though, you may be right. No matter what they are called, they made my heart swell with pride.
7 Jan 2009, 11:29 am
Big congrats to Mr Smith, Proteas & Saffas in general
7 Jan 2009, 11:30 am
hehe… he is better than chuck norris too.
Am so proud of SA Cricket & Rugby.
Fill with pride whenever I see our boys in green.
Winners in so many ways
May 2009 bring more success.
Proud To Be A Saffa!
#43 Taahirah: I feel I’m right… they’re the national team… and no name is gonna change that for me…still call the Bokke though… but out of habit
7 Jan 2009, 11:31 am
Possible scenarios if Mac is dropped
A straight swop with Ashwell…Prince was an opener early in his career and has the technique and temperament.
Duminy to open, Prince back at 5…Duminy opened the batting in the warm up games in the UK and scored plenty of runs
De Villiers to open, Prince back at 5…this is unlikely despite AB having opened at test level before
Amla to open, Prince back at 5…Amla looks very effective at 3 and this move would unsettle the top order
Select an opening batsmen from outside the squad…Gibbs appears to not be a test option anymore, in domestic cricket there seems to be a lack of top class opening batsmen.Imraan Khan and Andrew Puttick have been the most prolific but neither inspire confidence.
I would play Prince as the opener…would be the least disruptive move.
7 Jan 2009, 11:32 am
I loved the comment, about Makhaya Ntini being the senior batsman and should have protected him LOL!!!!!
7 Jan 2009, 11:33 am
#45 Cricketlover: and good old Vern the ‘koek” Koekemoer
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All