St Luke slays Loftus louts

Keo, in his Business Day newspaper weekly column, writes of a player’s triumph and defeat at Loftus.

The Stormers lost in Pretoria but Luke Watson definitely won against a Loftus crowd whose game plan lacked imagination and was devoid of all invention.

The crowd behaviour was as abysmal as the quality of rugby and indeed it was Watson who seemed to intimidate the near 50 000 voices by simply accepting their challenge of continued booing by asking if that was all they had to offer.

It reminded me of former All Blacks wing Jeff Wilson toying with the Newlands crowd a decade ago. Wilson, playing for the Highlanders in the Super 12, was jeered the first time he touched the ball, but midway through the match he was begging the crowd for a reaction as he scored his third try.

With both hands reaching for both ears he gestured for increased noise levels, as he could hear nothing coming from the crowd. It was hilarious and the vocal bullies had nowhere to turn but to further embarrassment. What did these morons do 10 years ago in response to Wilson’s third try? Predictably they booed.

It was the same in Pretoria. What else did the louts of Loftus have to give? Nothing, and when Watson calmly robbed Pierre Spies of the ball in contact and fashioned another clever turnover all the crowd could respond with was another boo as effective as South Africa’s cricket challenge in recent weeks against Australia.

The humiliation belonged to those attempting to ridicule.

Watson, like many of his fictional heroes in the Bible, thrives on confrontation and conflict. Adversity is another must in his working day, as is being condemned by those non-believers of freedom of speech.

In going to Loftus, all the above elements were script guarantees for the stereotype of the persecuted and defiant Christian and naturally, armed with self-belief and backed by God, Watson prospered.

The Loftus crowd, many of them believers of Christianity, misread the contest because effectively they were doing battle with one of their own, but whereas they lacked conviction in their application of resentment, Watson was committed to his stand of defiance.

Watson, disgusted at wearing a jersey with a Springbok emblem on it, is not popular for saying so. He is even less popular for calling South African rugby a game run by Afrikaners, even though there has never been a disciplinary to confirm if he ever did utter the supposedly wicked word ‘dutchmen’.

Watson, the public relations man, is a boring project because his rants and contradictions are as predictable as the Loftus crowd booing. His rugby, though, has more enterprise and is powerful.

He has never produced a Test performance of authority, but his international career has been brief and conditions and playing circumstances cannot compare to the environment of Super Rugby, which is a world made for the skills of Watson.

His Super Rugby pedigree cannot be disputed. Whether you despise his personality or revere him, he can play Super rugby and in Pretoria he did a damn better job of it than local hero Pierre Spies, who for all his athleticism still goes into mute mode when the Bulls tight five engine can’t get out of neutral.

Watson in the one-on-one match-up outplayed Spies, which does not mean I’d pick him ahead of Spies for the Springboks. I wouldn’t, but to dispute Watson’s superiority over Spies at the weekend would be a betrayal for anyone gifted a healthy set of eyes.

Watson is a clever player, whose athleticism is matched by an ability to read the game and by good skills. He may physically struggle in contact but his mind never battles to go forward.

These factors helped him beat the Loftus louts, but because of his persecution complex about being a privileged white Watson in a black South Africa these factors are meaningless in Watson’s fight to beat out of himself the need to be a South African rugby martyr; liable for the actions of those who lived in an era he has only ever read about.

Watson, the rugby player, won in Pretoria, but it is Watson the rugby player who never wins in Watson’s world – and that will always be the tragedy of a player whose world does not allow him to simply be a rugby player.

1,045 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1121 » Show All

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

he was great

• 2.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

I’m not a fan… But I think he deserves credit

• 3.King Shark: Reply to this comment

Go to SARUGBY COM and check the stats centre. Luke really isn’t all that.

• 4.Cereal Killa: Reply to this comment

Im a stormer supporter, and not much of a Luke supporter….but give credit to the man, he played a blinder….besides loosing the ball to FDP. He sure gave as good, if not better, than he got

• 5.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

I have always defended Luke, but after his alleged comments i decided to keep quiet and let him fight his own battles.

But after Saturdays game i attended a function at the team hotel, and had a good chat to Luke, and i can honestly say this… Luke, you are the man! What an awesome guy, and anyone who met him on Saturday will agree.

Friendliest and nicest guy in the entire Stormers squad, this perceived arrogance of his is pure rubbish. I will never doubt him again, no matter what comments he makes, because i now understand where they came from and why he said them. Yes it was a brainfart, and he is well aware of that, but i can understand why he said the things he did.

Luke is the man, plain and simple.

• 6.cane: Reply to this comment

Nice read Keo……….post me my cheque by the 20th.

• 7.von Giba: Reply to this comment

Luke has to be the best flanker in SA when it comes to turn overs (Schalk has played well this year so far).

The Loftus people just confirmed what Luke was saying about who controls rugby in SA. I hear that the Beeld newspaper also got into the action by posting placards in and around Pretoria, i meant Tshwane.

Luke will always remain a hero to blacks and other white people with balls or those who dont suffer from selective amnesia.

• 8.dups: Reply to this comment

“like many of his fictional heroes in the Bible”

Keo, while I like your article, can I just point out that this statement is a load of rubbish. Most of his “fictional” heros from the bible are characters who you can read about by ‘non-christian historians’ too – and find plenty of athiests who would quite happily agree they were ‘real’ people too. You may not agree with his beliefs about what they mean … but you may as well just write that you don’t belive any other history either!

• 9.yoda: Reply to this comment

haha, luke didnt win anything.

if you think that was a moral victory or something for him, you must be crazy keo…

the loftus crowd got to him first keo, not the other way round, that is why he reacted the way he did.

when jeff wilson did it a decade ago, he didnt look like he was going to start crying any minute now.

as for him winning a ball of pierre, he also lost one in contact with fourie du preez. are we suppose to think that was also a moral victory for luke too?

no, sorry keo i disagree, the guy had a good game, im sure, but he would have been better off just playing the game and not provoking a big sector of the SA rugby public AGAIN.

but he just cant help himself can he? he just loves the limelight far too much…

• 10.King Shark: Reply to this comment

#5 Dazzler: If he is aware of his brainfart and is only “perceived” as arrogant, why did he never formally apologize for making those statements?

Since I am a “********” I have decided to stop defending him. In fact, I currently despise him for his puke remarks and until he unequivocally apologize, my sentiment will remain.

Apart from the whole liking or disliking Luke debate, his stats aren’t all that great. Vermeulen, Brussouw, Spies, Burger and Kanko all average better than him. Haven’t even checked Juan, Baywatch, Botes, Deysel, Daniel etc yet.

• 11.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I have said my bit on boo’s and Luke before.

I am fascinated though Keo.

Whilst I voiced my disgust in the booing Watson received at Newlands – his own supporters – not a word was mentioned by you?

Why only reserve your opinion for when it happened at Loftus?

• 12.Nautigal: Reply to this comment

To Booo or not to Booo.

It is Saturday afternoon and the big game is on. The fans are packed in and the atmosphere is electric. Sitting in one grandstand are the true sportsman. I see Morne, Chester, Gary Teichman, John Smit, Percy. Even Jonty Rhodes, Polly and Nathalie Du Toit have come to the rugby. Ook die ou manne is hier. Daar sit ou Frik en Os en Andre Joubert..

The visitors are awarded a penalty. As the kick is taken at goal, the supporters which I mentioned above, as well as the majority of the crowd, remain respectfully silent. The kick is over. They give polite applause. The opposition follow-up with a magnificent try. Once again, polite applause. Then bang. Habana goes over in the corner and the said gentlemen jump to their feet ,cheering wildly.

But over in another part of the ground there is a different sound. This sound is much akin to a troop of primates that have just scented a leopard. They Boo the opposition no matter what they do. They even boo their own players. They just boo.

Sitting in one part of the ground are the true sportsmen of the game. They are mostly intelligent, positive, successful, educated leaders in their field that come from good homes which inspired manners, respect and good breeding.

In another part of the ground sit a section of ill bred, unsuccessful, intellectually challenged, bitter losers who woudn’t know sportsmanship if it bit them in the bum.

Which part of the ground do you sit in?

• 13.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Luke the man ! had a good game.

Pitty can’t say it about the rest of the team. Don’t even wanne talk about the stormers team anymore. They playing like palukas. Something must be wrong but what ? Rassie can’t be that of a kak coach. No no , lets try again next year.

• 14.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

#12 Nautigal:

Expect a **** storm coming your way from the guys from die “Oos Pawiljoen”

• 15.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well played Luke! Stuff the Loftus “boo-ers”. Just keep on playing, and leave the comments to us all knowing Keo Bloggers……’cos the view from the couch is much better anyway!

• 16.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#9 yoda: Herein is the irony of being a bigot, the very same Loftus lot never booed Henry Tromp, now which is a bigger crime?, killing someone or telling the truth.

You okes are a bunch of morons, you malign someone for telling the truth, that has to be the most sickening thing under the sky

• 17.AP: Reply to this comment

7. von Giba

I do not think that Watson can make two overs in a season. Guys like Brussow and Grobbelaar make 2-3 turn-overs per match. Schalk is nowhere up to date. Rather pay attention and focus on your soccer my friend.

• 18.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#10 King Shark:

Go have a look at the stats on sport24… Luke is miles ahead of the rest at the moment. For example, he has missed only 2 tackles the entire season. But like so many people say… they are just stats.

Firstly, it was never proven he even used the word Dutchmen, he used the word Afrikaners. Whats wrong with that?

With regards to the vomiting on the jersey comment, yes it was a dumb thing to say, but it must also be taken in context. Its not the jersey he has a problem with, or even the emblem, it is what those controlling SA Rugby stand for that he hates. And i dont blame him. A large portion of the white population in this country are closet racists. It is easy to be all gentleman like in public, but one only needs to stand around a braai these days to realise this. I am a white male, and experience racist comments everyday, from both english and afrikaans people. I am a white male, and i’ve been guilty of it too in the past, but fortunately my eyes were opened a long time ago. Most people claim to have had their eyes opened, but once in the comfort of their own home or surrounded by their friends, their true feelings come out.

Tell me i am wrong about that and i will call you a liar.

• 19.yoda: Reply to this comment

andre wp

maybe the stormers players would be playing better if their team werent being booed the whole time because of one player.

luke is having a good season, and so are a few others in the stormers team, but while these guys are playing well as individuals, they are struggling as a team…

dont you guys think that all this negativity surrounding luke is a big problem when it comes to the mood in the stormers camp and ultimitely their results?

• 20.Magnum: Reply to this comment

#18 Dazzler: Well Said, I think the dutchmen or afrikaner should rather worry about the antics of their own people, Naka doing other peoples wives, joost doing prositutes and some other singer doing boys, eish. Ek kry skaam vir ons.

• 21.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#17 AP:

Typical example of what I am talking about… soccer? so rugby is only for white people is it?

• 22.Shrink: Reply to this comment

#17 AP: Good on you AP- this is the kind of comments that make our ******** such an unlikable race, “Rather pay attention and focus on your soccer my friend.” Ja Von Giba kry ons jou, dan m#@r ons jou!

• 23.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

Something i also find interesting, many (not all i know) use words like “coon”, “Zot”, “k@#@”, “floppy” etc etc. everyday of their lives, but one guy ALEGEDLY says the word dutchmen, and the these same people react like a war has just begun.

A nice warm cup of hypocrisy anyone?

• 24.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#17 AP: Based on your answer, I suggest you must be the one to focus on your soccer, obviously you know fak all about rugby or open side play

• 25.yoda: Reply to this comment

Xhosakid

i wasnt at loftus, i didnt boo anyone, i was merely pointing out to old keo that i didnt see the incident the same way he did

as for you generalising and saying “you okes are a bunch of morons”. you and old luke and all your ANC cronies deserve each other. you seem well spoken and therefore i believe you to not be a “moron”, but when reverting to calling people names over a internet blog, you fail to make your point miserebly

• 26.Tisme: Reply to this comment

#12 Nautigal: Amen, as a staunch Bulls fan, no matter how much I despise Luke I will never boo! Sadly I cant say the same for my fellow Bulls fans of opposition Stormers fans when the booed their own team!

IMHO give the devil his due, Luke is having a good season….. but he is hardly up to the standard of Burger, Vermeulen, Spies, Kanko, Deysel, Botes, Baywatch, even Pedrie! Coupled with what a disruptive person he is in a team sport he is better left out of national duty to go puke on his own! Poor boy his father really F@cked up his carrer

• 27.cab: Reply to this comment

A very good article, keo has hit it on the head here, been a while.

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

#10 King Shark:

Now now King Shark, we have all said stupid things. But people do not hang onto every single word, that King Shark, cane or Yoda say.

My understanding, is that the “Dutchmen”, comment is ALLEGED. With no proof of it’s context, tone, timbre or even it’s reality.

The young man has a burden to carry….his name.

Cut him some slack.

• 29.khoisanking: Reply to this comment

king luke did well playing in front of thousands of plaasjapie animals

• 30.spinnaker: Reply to this comment

#12 Nautigal: Well said and I agree with you. As one of the cheap seat Bulls supporters, I was utterly disgusted with the behaviour of the crowd. All the booing, posters and negative energy only served to inspire and motivate Luke to play his heart out. On the day he play some of his best rugby this season. Well done Luke.

To come back to the morons on the east side, jeez I wish that I can take them for some lessons in being gentlemanly, as I saw a Bulls supporter dad teaching his young children to boo everything that is percieved negative towards the Bulls, even though they clearly does not understand the game. Its ironic actually, the crowd booed him for saying we are dutchmen, but it just reinforced his statement.

I am sorry for the reaction of the crowd, and I wish they would stop and think, what harm it does to a team with such rich history and proud traditions. Rugby was always been the sport of the gentleman, but I fear that it has become the love-child of the unwashed, uneducated and unrefined mob.

• 31.Nautigal: Reply to this comment

#14 PissAnt: Not a “piep from the guys from die “Oos Pawiljoen”so far. Newlands south stand has also gone quiet.

• 32.seamus: Reply to this comment

He was magnificent at Loftus, but a doos he remains. Until he changes that about himself, he’ll never be anything but a disruptive force in the Bok setup.

Say sorry, Luke. It’s easy. Your performances on the field deserve a call-up… dont be too proud to deny yourself a proper run in Bok colours. Isn’t there something about pride in the Good Book?

• 33.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#25 yoda: anyone who sees fit to boo Luke when they never booed Henry Tromp is a racist moron, that is not a generalization, that is a statement of fact

• 34.AP: Reply to this comment

24 XHOSAKID

You should watch all the matches before making these comments. Review the statistics – that is if you can count!

• 35.cane: Reply to this comment

#27 cab:

Keo swings both ways (so to speak) cab.

He will post any article, he thinks will get hits.

What does Keo really think….who knows.

• 36.yoda: Reply to this comment

cane

long time no talk, how are things in NZ? how do you feel about your hurricanes chances for the S14?

• 37.Snoek: Reply to this comment

#28 cane:

Howzit Cane,

Forget about luke.

How’s the feeling amongst the NZ’ders after that 6-0 game.

Very disapointing to see a great team like the Crusaders play like that. Your team is doing well at least.

Do you see any other team than the canes from NZ reaching the playoffs?

• 38.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

And yet again Luke Watson is being proven correct by the reaction of bloggers here on keo.

#17 AP:

Go and look at the stats, my friend. You’ll see that Luke was one of the leading gainer of turnovers of all SA sides last year. But hey, rugby is just for the whites, right, judging by your soccer comment?

#23 Dazzler:

Yes, it is always amazing how in public they are political correctness itself but as soon as they are at a braai the racist talk comes out. I actually prefer an unashamed racist to these “closet racists” as you call them, at least they are not hypocritical.

• 39.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

#29 khoisanking:

Saying things like that makes you no better than them, keep it clean pal…

• 40.Jester: Reply to this comment

Well written Mark……

I am a Bulls supporter but I almost had to admire the man when he gesculated to the crowd asking for more…. There wasn’t the two or one fingered salute as is the weapon of many a moron but a defiant “do your best boys” attitude…

I Do dislike the man intensely not because of his values but because I do believe there firstly suspect in the sincere department, ie noteriety has kept Cheeky and family in the spotlight and because he seeks to impose his stance on others who hold differing views as is with the Springbok argument….

• 41.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#27 cab:

Yes, reminds me a bit of his Geo Cronje/Rudolf Straeuli days. That Keo has been gone for a while now.

• 42.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#29 khoisanking:

That is completely, absolutely unnecessary. In fact, f*ck off.

We don’t need your ilk.

• 43.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Great article Keo, it will obviously provoke many people yet again but just maybe it will enlighten some as well.

• 44.AP: Reply to this comment

18. Dazzler :

“Luke is miles ahead of the rest at the moment. For example, he has missed only 2 tackles the entire season”.

Not bad for a guy making only 4 tackles in the game!

• 45.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Luke outplayed Spies

Beat Stegmann in the turnover stakes

Stood up to Loftus and can hold his head high..PROUDLY

Boo/dislike all you want

He can take it and then some

Which is more than I can say for those “red-faced suipers” booing in the crowd

It was amazing to see him bait the crowd like that..He’d rather DIE than give in to the BS and intimidation

I ADMIRE THAT

Look like he might have a blinder of a season if he carries on like this…All courtesy of the boo boys…

• 46.yoda: Reply to this comment

khosakid

do you have trouble reading?

AGAIN i wasnt at loftus, and i didnt boo luke. if you want to go boo henry tromp so badly why dont you?

may i remind you that luke has been booed every game this season on his own homeground newlands…it wasnt just the loftus crowd that booed him.

• 47.Snoek: Reply to this comment

About the booing thing I have only this to say.

The fans in PTA and CT must please grow up. It is a childish thing to boo anyone.

The fans of these two great teams of SA should be ashamed.

Go Sharks! (Country of the gentleman.)

• 48.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

#43 Robzim:

Sadly, some people just can’t be enlightened, Robzim.

• 49.bergbok: Reply to this comment

From SA rugby stats centre provided by Verusco

Clean Brakes, Def Beaten, Innefective Passes, Metres, Missed Tackles, Off loads, Passes, Runs, T/O’s conceded, Tackles Made, Tries Scored

4, 7, 3, 333, 19, 3, 17, 40, 5, 29, 4 (minutes playes: 314)

2, 4, 5, 229, 2, 6, 44, 34, 4, 44, 0 (minutes played: 261)

Clean Brakes
    Spies: 4
    Watson: 2

Def Beaten
    Spies: 7
    Watson: 4

Offloads
    Spies: 3
    Watson: 6

Passes
    Spies : 17
    Watson: 44

Tries
    Spies: 4
    Watson: 0

Spies : 8.3 meters per run on average
    Watson : 6.7 meters per run

Spies: successful tackle every 11.5 minutes
    Watson: successful tackle every 5.9 minutes

Spies: missed tackle every 16.5 minutes
    Watson: missed tackle every 130 minutes

In other words – Tackle effectiveness
    Spies : 60 % (29 from 48 attempts)
    Watson: 95% (44 from 46 attempts)

• 50.cane: Reply to this comment

Any Watson thread…..guaranteed 300 (minimum) posts.

An articulate, concise appraisal of any Cheetahs game……5 posts (max).

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1121 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.