Give Jan the red card
23 Mar 2009
Keo, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, writes Vodacom’s Player 23 campaign is an insult to the cosmopolitan South African rugby supporter.
For 10 years South African rugby’s marketing team did everything to reflect that in a new South Africa there was a new South African rugby culture far removed from the brandy and coke potbellied types that stereotype the traditional white Afrikaans male’s bond with the game.
Zulu dancers were introduced as part of pre-match entertainment at Tests, playing quotas ensured black representation on the field and slowly blacks were enticed to experience an afternoon at the palace of what was once a white’s only affair.
There was an effort being made to change perception and to kill off stereotyping, but South African rugby could guarantee nothing outside of their control – and they don’t control who pays to go to a ground. They could not foresee Piet van Zyl, dressed in jeans and a Springbok jersey that couldn’t accommodate his barrel gut, casually wondering onto the field and assaulting Irish referee Dave McHugh when the Springboks played the All Blacks in Durban in 2002, and they could not be accountable for the actions of an unidentified individual who racially abuses another at a game.
All that South African rugby can control is that over which it has influence, and that is why the endorsement of Vodacom’s 2009 rugby campaign is baffling because all it has done is reinforce that the South African rugby fan is everything the organization has tried to convince us is no longer the case.
Vodacom, as the primary sponsor of rugby in South Africa, is celebrating the year of the fan. His name is Jan, he is player 23 in the team and he is a clone of the 1970s white Springbok rugby supporter – a walking caricature of what has always repulsed. Only they’ve given Jan a personality of being a jovial and hugely popular bloke, but perception is stronger than fact and the physical appearance of Jan and what he represents in the stands adds to the perception that rugby in South Africa is still a game supported only by grossly overweight brandy and coke potbellied types.
I have sympathy for the well-traveled and likeable modern Afrikaans-speaking South African who loves his language, loves his rugby and loves living in South Africa. This modern Afrikaner certainly doesn’t look or act like Jan and he must cringe every time he sees the advertisement.
In an evolving South African rugby audience market, Jan is in the minority at Stormers and Sharks matches, which says player 23 should be a celebration of something more than a pot-bellied Afrikaans speaking supporter. What of Gert, who is sophisticated, lean and intelligent? What of Sipho, who digs his rugby almost as much as he does soccer? What of Alice who never misses a game? What of Peter, who has always put the Springboks first on a Saturday afternoon?
Vodacom will defend their choice of Jan as good natured fun and SA Rugby will see nothing offensive in it, yet continue to wonder why the perception that their game caters only for conservative and racist whites.
The game in this country is more cosmopolitan in support than it has ever been and that is the pity of the advertisement because it reflects the past when there is so much of the current to be showcased when the British & Irish Lions visit in June.
This is not about being politically correct, but about accuracy in who supports the Springboks. There is more to South African rugby than Jan, but thanks to Jan it will take another 10 years to convince critics of South African rugby that there is life beyond the 23rd member of the team.
Things off the field have changed in our rugby and innovation would be celebrating this in the same way the Bulls and Sharks celebrated what hasn’t changed on the field, which is the ability of a good South African team to turn defence into the most lethal form of attack.
The Bulls and Sharks were brutal in defending their line against the Hurricanes and Force respectively, and the skill in maintaining defensive composure is equal to anything a team does when given the ball.
Rugby is a game played as much without the ball as with it, and at the weekend we saw two very good South African sides reinforce the stereotype that South African teams are more dangerous without the ball.
And, unlike Jan, that is a stereotype the cosmopolitan South African rugby fan should never find offensive.

1,374 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 28 » Show All
23 Mar 2009, 14:32 pm
Regular bloody old school reunion on here today.
All we need is jondood and a few others.
23 Mar 2009, 14:33 pm
#289 Pietman:
Hello Pieter
Het jy opgelet hoe uitgesluit Dawn deesdae voel?
Nou probeer sy ‘n wig tussen vriende hier op keo indryf?
Ek dink ons moet hulle omsingel daar in die suidelike voorstede, haha…
#295 Dawn:
Tried to explain this little fact, similar to how you must capitalise “Him” when you refer to ***** ******…but alas.
#288 PissAnt: Flok !
24 hours of freedom…….. hehehehe
My observation is that most average South Africans are very tired of racial issues and simply want to get on with their lives looking ahead.
Racial divide is fueled by those in positions of power in government as it is a very handy tool to keep them feeding at the trough and looking good in the eyes of the uneducated masses.
23 Mar 2009, 14:35 pm
I’m out of the closet.
I’m going to make some underpants, t-shirt and g-strings with “I love Jan” written across it and sell it on the net.
Keo forgets that SA rugby owes its prominence to old Jan. In fact, no Jan, no job for Keo.
#301 Vinnie: well, well, well…see you having a quiet day just like me, brew. Nou het ons nog net vir vleis nodig!
#297 Dawn:
Praat jy met my? Ek is “baas” vir jou.
Ek pratie werie.
#301 Vinnie:
Slat my om met ‘n nat vis!!!!
Your e-mails come back undeliverable, by the way.
#299 The-Pill: I hate the female name, Debbie !!
23 Mar 2009, 14:36 pm
#298 WP Till I Die Moet Sy Plek Ken: Partykeer is dit net makliker om aan te beweeg. Maak nie saak wie het wat gese of wat gedoen nie. Is dit tog so vreeslik erg? Julle raak nou belaglik. Forgive and forget of hoe?
#302 Sheriff:
Jou baas is hier.
Op jou kniee!!!!
#305 tight head:
Of course the “usefull idiots” are invaluable to this cause, especially those who are trying to wash away some kind of self perceived guilt.
23 Mar 2009, 14:37 pm
#300 Dawn:
You on heat again?
23 Mar 2009, 14:38 pm
#305 tight head: Amen brother!
#311 The-Pill:
That would be all well and good maar hulle raak persoonlik.
#307 Veltie:
Lol. Yes I remember old vleis. Wonder what happened to the guy.
JonnyD still potters around here from time to time. Havent commented here in ages.
I still curse you for introducing me to this damned site Veltie!
Could’ve been doing something productive with my time…
Played some ruggers with Gareth over the weekend – smashed them 80-0. Glorious day… even though I somehow didnt manage to cross the white stuff despite all those tries. So sad.
#303 WP Till I Die Moet Sy Plek Ken: Jy is nou seker die grootste poepol hier. Hou op met jou nonsens.
But then, what do I know.
I am supposedly morally-selective, a know-it-all, disrespectful, a “Mohammedan who quotes the Koran like it’s his diary”…
All I know is I have never ever been banned for a racist statement or personal, vulgar attack.
I think perhaps some people on this site are upset with the fact that I am not the stereotypical “boereseuntjie” and try to think for myself, not accepting majority opinion.
Ek moet mos my plek ken.
Anders is ek ‘n volksverraaier wat naat trek…
#314 money_man:
‘S between me and Ig.
Keep your snotnose out of it.
23 Mar 2009, 14:40 pm
#309 Dawn:
Lol. Ja I’ve chnaged jobs recently… well sort of recently.
I’ll pop you an email later today.
You well? Still giving these one-eyed whippersnappers a blogging hiding I see…
#311 The-Pill: #318 Ed_the_PROUDLions:
Forgive and forget – quite correct.
I am willing to admit my faults – and do so now.
Enough of this then.
#312 Dawn:
Dankie.
Baas Sheriff sal met die ander baas in verbinding tree.
#317 Vinnie: gareth told me you were gonna play. havnt been on here for ages either…. but couldn’t resist today…
23 Mar 2009, 14:41 pm
#324 Veltie:
Given up on saving the world then Velt?
Now that the weather is turning we need to put some meat on the fire old chum.
23 Mar 2009, 14:42 pm
#321 Vinnie:
How do you know me.
#323 Sheriff:
You are his **********.
23 Mar 2009, 14:42 pm
#324 Veltie:
They boy’s a handy second rower btw.
23 Mar 2009, 14:43 pm
The… not “they”
#322 WP Till I Die Moet Sy Plek Ken: That is the spirit. Good for you.
#321 Vinnie:
Whoops … I’m being moderated.
How do you know me! I am born to irritate.
23 Mar 2009, 14:44 pm
Nie net aanbid Dawn my nie, maar ek is ook menslikerwys haar baas.
#319 WP Till I Die Moet Sy Plek Ken:
You might consider taking yourself a little less seriously bud…
Rugby is a game… and this is an anonymous blog – no need to get all riled up. I’m scared you end up beating the wife you’re getting so upset.
Knippie sout.
#327 Vinnie:
Veltie coming end of the year. Why don’t you make a trip too?
23 Mar 2009, 14:45 pm
#326 Vinnie: would imagine he is, considering he weighs about 500kg’s!!! ja, ons moet n vleisie braai. afgelope week was bedonnerde mooi weer vir n verandering.
23 Mar 2009, 14:45 pm
From my point of view, I think the whole Jan-Player23 is DUMB. It’s so uninspiring that it highlights how far behind we are when it comes to marketing and advertising (from my personal opinion when compared with other sport promotions overseas). Eg Adidas’ +10 Campaign
Previously it was “Greatest Supporter of SA Supporters” which was ambiguous to me. Were they claiming to be a supporter of SA supporters or as I subliminally feared that they were laying claims to be SA’s Greatest Supporter of all supporters (comparison).
23 Mar 2009, 14:46 pm
#332 Dawn:
Would love to but got no leave left. Just spent a month in Thailand and planning another trip to Cambodia/Vietnam later this year.
Am down for a wedding this time next year though!
23 Mar 2009, 14:47 pm
Onto rugby then, and no more personal attacks…
How does this look for a Springbok squad to face the British and Irish Lions:
1. Heinke van der Merwe
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. John Smit (for his leadership)
4. Bakkies Botha
5. Victor Matfield
6. Schalk Burger
7. Juan Smith
8. Pierre Spies
9. Fourie du Preez
10. Ruan Pienaar
11. JP Pietersen
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Adi Jacobs
14. Bryan Habana
15. Stefan Terreblanche
16. Schalk Brits
17. Jannie du Plessis
18. Andries Bekker
19. Duanne Vermeuelen
20. Ricky Januarie
21. Jaque Fourie
22. Frans Steyn
23 Mar 2009, 14:48 pm
#333 Veltie:
He’s actually looking quite trim and fit now.
Every time I see him he tells me how much weight he’s losing – this time I actually see it. Still a bit soft but it was really good playing with him. Such a nice guy.
Time to Red Card myself.
Have fun trying to stretch this thread… arduous even for the faithful.
#331 Vinnie:
Fortunately I have no wife…I just hate being accused unfairly, and double standards.
And I do not go gently into that good night.
Simple as that.
But unfair to drag everyone else into the spat.
23 Mar 2009, 14:49 pm
#336 WP Till I Die Thinks For Himself:
Beast?
23 Mar 2009, 14:49 pm
keo, this article of yours is overflowing with prejudice.
To paraphrase your argument: Jan is fat, white, Afrikaans and male. We can therefore infer that he is also stupid, racist, alcoholic and brutish.
Remove the plank from your own eye, keo.
23 Mar 2009, 14:51 pm
#340 Vinnie:
****, I missed him, didn’t I!
Wait, let me revise that:
1. Beast Mtawarira
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. John Smit
4. Bakkies Botha
5. Victor Matfield
6. Schalk Burger
7. Juan Smith
8. Pierre Spies
9. Fourie du Preez
10. Ruan Pienaar
11. JP Pietersen
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Adi Jacobs
14. Bryan Habana
15. Stefan Terreblanche
16. Schalk Brits
17. Heinke van der Merwe
18. Andries Bekker
19. Duanne Vermeuelen
20. Ricky Januarie
21. Jaque Fourie
22. Frans Steyn
I think this Jan thing is a dumbass campaign.
Really, with all the creative types in SA you’d think they could come up with something a bit more inspiring and original.
Anyway, keo, by highlighting this and elevating it into a business day article you are propogating the very issues you are complaining about… i.e. the fact that race comes into everything.
Not really your best work Mark. If you really want to be a politically leaning sport journalist then rather be part of the solutuion and not the problem. Just a thought.
#337 Vinnie: brilliant oke.
#336 WP Till I Die Thinks For Himself: not a bad side…would have one or two little changes to that, myself…but a very good side. might even have Fourie on the wing in place of Habanero…
23 Mar 2009, 14:52 pm
#336 – To many Jans, needs more salt.
#342 WP Till I Die Thinks For Himself:
I reckon that squad will be able to beat any side in the world, except on an off day.
343: Such rationality.
23 Mar 2009, 14:54 pm
Bill Hicks take on marketing…
By the way, if anyone here is in advertising or marketing, kill yourself. Thank you, thank you. Just a little thought. I’m just trying to plant seeds. Maybe one day they’ll take root. I don’t know. You try. You do what you can. Kill yourselves. Seriously though, if you are, do. No really, there’s no rationalisation for what you do, and you are Satan’s little helpers, OK? Kill yourselves, seriously. You’re the ruiner of all things good. Seriously, no, this is not a joke. “There’s gonna be a joke coming…” There’s no f@cking joke coming, you are Satan’s spawn, filling the world with bile and garbage, you are f@cked and you are f@cking us, kill yourselves, it’s the only way to save your f@cking soul. Kill yourself, kill yourself, kill yourself now. Now, back to the show.
“You know what Bill’s doing now, he’s going for the righteous indignation dollar, that’s a big dollar, a lot of people are feeling that indignation, we’ve done research, huge market. He’s doing a good thing.” Godammit, I’m not doing that, you scumbags, quit putting a godamn dollar sign on every f@cking thing on this planet!
23 Mar 2009, 14:54 pm
Wow Keo is somebody holding you by the scruff of your neck and forcing you to watch the advert.Simply flip to another channel or switch off.Sorry Jan has just given you a red card.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 28 » Show All