Fiji break SA hearts
29 Mar 2009
Fiji denied South Africa their first ever Hong Kong Sevens crown as they held on to claim a hard-fought 26-24 victory.
Fiji came out flying in the first half blitzing South Africa with three quick tries to run out to a 19-0 lead. But the Bok Sevens were not going to be run over and two tries by Renfred Dazel and Robert Ebersohn put South Africa right back in contention at the end of the first half.
The islanders struck back in the second half as they scored their fourth try and moved out to a 26-12 lead. Fiji then had a man sent to the bin, and Vuyo Zangqa scored South Africa’s third to bring the gap back to just seven points.
With less then a minute left Fiji had another man sent off and Mpho Mbiyozo scored South Africa’s fourth try, but Mzwandile Stick’s drop attempt went just wide as Fiji held on for a famous win.
“You can’t chase 19 points against a team like Fiji and expect to win, which is what makes the final so disappointing,” Treu told sarugby.co.za. “We missed too many tackles in that first half but I was pleased with the character the team showed and the way they came back.
“Overall our performance was back towards where it should be; we rediscovered our intensity and stuck to the gameplan after some below par performances in recent tournaments. We were much better focused here and it may have helped that we have set the players small performance goals within tournaments.”
South Africa cruised into the final with some impressively controlled displays. The Springboks enjoyed emphatic play-off victories over Australia in the quarter-finals (24-10) and Samoa in the last four (29-3) having come through their Pool with wins over Korea (29-7), Uruguay (53-0) and France (26-12).
“We didn’t concede a try against Samoa and the way we played against Australia and France was definitely a huge improvement on our performances at the World Cup,” said Treu. “But it’s still a sore feeling: maybe I’ll feel better when I wake up tomorrow.”
For a full list of results click here.

568 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
29 Mar 2009, 18:47 pm
#490 goyougoodthing2: The idea of a predominantly black team is to kill off the myth of white superiority forever…but then again…there are bloggers on here who still think that JPP and Adi are quota…maybe not worth the effort…and yes it may cause a few suicides
29 Mar 2009, 18:50 pm
#500 grant10: Not sure we need them Grant.
The game plan has changed. Just got to hope like hell Snor is better at his job than he has looked. I have my doubts, in large doses.
29 Mar 2009, 18:52 pm
#496 goyougoodthing2:
Me too, I demonstrated against apartheid, had my picture taken by BOSS et al. But it didn’t make a better society. Unfortunately the term racism seems to only find application by those who have a ‘begging bowl’ mentality – always worth a few cents extra.
There’s a bit on Youtube enitled Ms. Anne by James David Manning PhD which seems soemthing Clitto should watch. BTW, the guys a black american.
29 Mar 2009, 18:53 pm
#502 goyougoodthing2: that front rows i saw on the weekend were poor…especially stormers and bulls…sharks not much better…ruan out and not kicking…give me PDV S no…i will call him personally…
#498 amazon: THey were world beaters without the blacks….WHEN????? Is that what you are trying to prove…that racist twats are superior
#501 Cuito Carnivale:
there are some here who think Januarie, Bolla and Jantjies are not quota too!
29 Mar 2009, 18:55 pm
#501 grant10: He gets calls all the time mate…letters in the post…special deliveries..Bullet or the money stuff
29 Mar 2009, 18:55 pm
#501 Cuito Carnivale: Yes, so touché then. *** for tat, white is better than black, black is better than white.
Hmmm, in terms of sport there is some fairly strong evidence that black people are better at some kinds of sport. Athletics (but not the power events for some reason). Nor Pole Vault. American Football, Basketball, Tiger Woods and even Lewis Hamilton.
Whities are better at other things like gymnastics and then there are the Chinese.
And then there are exceptions. And then again, I doubt how much you pay them, you aren’t going to find many Indians in the front row. You will find them excelling at cricket though.
Point is, best player for the position should always be, because you do get exceptions to every rule, always.
29 Mar 2009, 18:56 pm
#507 Osama bin Jan: Many…except the twats who think that Andre Pretorius, loffie and Naka are not.
29 Mar 2009, 18:57 pm
Cuito
Credentials ?
Man now you talking like a white ou.
What’s up your sleeve.?
I don’t want to talk off the issues with you .. . Stick with the issues.
As you have brought up in the last three aguments I presented you. You have not aproiached one of these arguments directly. Strange .?
You will be remembered as a joke
Come on . Take me on directly.
I can’t start bringing up race isues in crimes stats in SAfrica. Cause then the white against black issue would hurt your argument too much.
So ill be easy and talk rugby.
29 Mar 2009, 18:58 pm
#506 Osama bin Jan: i dont think Januarie and Jantjes were quotas …Bolla fortunate to get chosen imo….i was at newlands ..i think 2005…when januarie hounded dan carter to distraction and we won the test…he is not on form but i saw Lance Sherrel and a whole host of players that became boks a lot luckier than the 3 you mentioned??
29 Mar 2009, 18:59 pm
#509 Cuito Carnivale:
So you agree that it’s the best player for the position irrespective of race then?
You’ll find a lot of common ground on that here.
29 Mar 2009, 19:00 pm
#505 Cuito Carnivale: Cuito, what if it were proven that racist t’s as you call them, are superior?
Of course I am not saying they are, but what if, what then. What would you do? I’m not sure I’d be happy personally, but could you handle if that was the way it is?
29 Mar 2009, 19:03 pm
#509 goyougoodthing2: At the moment Rassie, Loffie and Naka( Jury out on Ludeke) have been shown up to be kak coaches… They are considered to be teh best in teh country… PDV, Treu, Sauls are doing a much better job with thei respective sides..I will be a racist to Say therefore Black is better than white at coaching….but lets face it…I could use that to show up the farce of merit in he eyes of whites
29 Mar 2009, 19:04 pm
#511 grant10:
Januarie last year was not in the same league as Kocky who was adjudged (by the Oz/AB commos) as the best in SA. The fact that Bolla was called up ahead of Kocky (never mind Januarie) by PdV was diabolical.
).
Jantjes is not even as good as Percy (watch out Carol will get you if you say otherwise
I’ll give you either Januarie or Jantjies may have been good enough but not all three.
29 Mar 2009, 19:04 pm
#513 goyougoodthing2: the keo poll has a huge amount of bloggers wanting bj and cj back…J smit at 3 is an unneccessary and silly risk in my opinion
29 Mar 2009, 19:06 pm
#513 goyougoodthing2: the mere raising of that possibility is repulsive and not worthy of comment or discussion.
29 Mar 2009, 19:06 pm
#513 Osama bin Jan: Your merit and my merit may be different….who is the best no8 in the country at the moment????
29 Mar 2009, 19:10 pm
#514 goyougoodthing2: Hitler introduced industrial excellence to teh world.. He was an absolute genius when it came to transforming Germany from fkedup farm to a world power…Hitlers legacy lives on in modern germany…4th biggest economy in teh world…so do we praise him???
29 Mar 2009, 19:10 pm
#515 Osama bin Jan: well i am saying a lot of players have got lucky as the coach backed them…coaches choice…remember trvor Halstead…,Jake bringing back andre snyman when the Ndugane twins were cooking at the time…tim dulane not getting the nod when on song…luke in 2006…jano vermaak on form probably the best 9 in the country today…Point is lots of lucky springboks and lots of unlucky players…nothing to do with color?
29 Mar 2009, 19:11 pm
Cuito
Sleep we’ll. I don’t carr what race you are.
Sleep well all the other racist non white ,see through white, black and coloured supporters that think cuito is an idiot.
What would change things is to see the guy face to face blogging.
Brave idiots online have real backbone in real-life.
Sad for cuito
Poor man
He though will respond asap with. ” I have no poor life amazon” actuallu the opposite !
Etc etc etc etc .
The expected.
Its amazing how so many south africans try make our country work and you have the vocab defunct Cuito as the odd one in million who will try break up any bridges built thus far.
Idiot of note. Not in south african context . In life context. Geez , that oke still tells his kids that dad is the hero. Shame
29 Mar 2009, 19:11 pm
#518 Cuito Carnivale:
3 choices:
Spies
Kanko
Watson
All have different attributes so it’s a matter of ‘horses for courses’.
Spies is a ‘direct approach’ individual
Kanko ‘fleeter of foot’ that Watson or Spies.
Watson probably closer to Kanko but maybe too small.
So, if I were PdV I’d play a combo of
Spies/Kanko
or
Watson/Kanko
depending on the opposition.
29 Mar 2009, 19:15 pm
#522 Osama bin Jan: watson out and out fetcher flank at 6…not 8
29 Mar 2009, 19:15 pm
#520 grant10:
Grant, depends on the coach. Problem is that since the RWC we haven’t exactly been ‘on song’. I agree that there are some Bok’s who shouldn’t have been, and under different management.
One has to say the same with guys like Brent. Losing a game and White won’t put on a potential ‘game breaker’?
All coaches have their favourites and there lies the rub. It’s not always based on colour either. Provincial affiliation is probably a greater motivator (and the rewards it brings).
29 Mar 2009, 19:16 pm
#522 Osama bin Jan: rassies bull **** of playing luke at 6….imo messed up his career last 2 years…schalk a 7 …duane vermeulen 8…
29 Mar 2009, 19:17 pm
#517 grant10: Of course it is, but i was illustrating a point about truth or what that means.
#514 Cuito Carnivale: I agree that those 3 clowns are useless and that True is great. Not sure about Sauls but my jury is so far out on Snor I can’t even see the coast.
I think he’s useless, I hope I am proved wrong.
Let’s leave it there shall we, I get your point, you get mine, there is nothing malicious either way.
Have a good evening.
29 Mar 2009, 19:18 pm
#524 Osama bin Jan: agree
29 Mar 2009, 19:22 pm
goodnite all…outta here…
#522 amazon: Still not told me of your claim to fame…I have written some really good stuff on racism, rugby and economics…Many of my articles have been published in newspapers…ranging from the Sunday Times to Business Report..I put myself out there constantly…I have a website containing loads of my articles and papers..I have chosen to be careful on this site…I want teh freedom to vent here…
My Bok team on current form:
1. Beast
2. Bismarck
3. Jannie DuP
4. Bakkies
5. D. Russouw
6. Watson
7. Spies
8. Kanko
9. Vermaak
10. F. Steyn
11. JPP
12. JdV
13. Adi
14. Odwa Ndungane
15. Louis Ludik
Cuito
I’m amazed by the coward you are.
Man. I( read my previous. Posts)
Tried hard to reach out to you. What do you do ? Reach out or break down?
You are a coward cause you won’t take. Me on the issues. Geez after I ask you a question firt ask what my credentials are?
Man , I warn you now ( as insulting to your black skin it could be) that you awill raise racist in you home.
Shame of note for a guy who tries to hold a moral race high ground.
Go for it now , , elastic. Don’t think, don’t be humble , never appologise , be the hero small man. Good. LucK.
29 Mar 2009, 19:23 pm
#529 grant10: Cheers mate…got a few pics from Friday night …will email you later
29 Mar 2009, 19:24 pm
#528 grant10: Missed you, some other time xx
29 Mar 2009, 19:28 pm
#528 grant10:
Cheers Grant,
As always, it’s a pleasure doing bloggs with you
29 Mar 2009, 19:31 pm
#532 amazon: Always the hero mate…you the one who got fokkol to show for you life…You the one who needed to be classified as white to get an advantage in life…you the one who can’t compete on a level playing field…
29 Mar 2009, 19:31 pm
#530 ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks & Wallaby supporter:
AGree with you on #15 but (contrary) would have Stefaan there as 1st choice but Ludik is certainly the second bset option by a country mile.
Stefaan
Ludik
Kirchner
Top 3 FBs
29 Mar 2009, 19:35 pm
#537 Osama bin Jan: He got F Steyn at 10….LMAO
29 Mar 2009, 19:35 pm
Eish cuito
More and more useless than I thought.
Take me on (repeated 5th time) on the things at hand. Not your issues.
You so scared now that you trying to reach out to the other peope (white) you have fought with before so that you feel more secure in your argument later.
Geez. I don’t knoiw how old you are but you have a lot to deal with.
Credentials wise my friend you have eff all on me. You a piss willy article writing(which -ve done before for years). Idiot who thinks he knows it all. Man I don’t need to tell you where I have lived . Yes lived idiot . Not visted. I don’t need an idiot like you to realistically believe you are the moral equilibrium for all here on the site. Geez . I’m chuiffed how the other guys bear you. You are a scrawny little twat who wants to feel big.
Met many of your type before, on and off the rugby field.
Go for it man . Every day that passes is another day when someone realises what you realy are.
Do your children look at you and say. “I want to be like you”
Shame on you you below par human being.
29 Mar 2009, 19:36 pm
#533 carol:
You having a fight with G10? Only two XX?
29 Mar 2009, 19:37 pm
#537 Cuito Carnivale:
Need someone who can tackle ‘in the channel’ to support JdV who can’t.
Not a bad pick.
29 Mar 2009, 19:41 pm
#536 Osama bin Jan:
Agree on Stefan (my original first choice) but his age marginalises him in my selection. Dont think Ludik is far off so he gets the nod because he is a better option going forward
#537 Cuito Carnivale:
Funny I know but who else right now? Think Steyn will only get better in the coming weeks. Problem will be Ruan’s return from injury. Steyn might not want to move back to 12 and his form wont warrant him moving back there. What to do, what to do
29 Mar 2009, 19:41 pm
#539 amazon: Do you realise that I have been in a very constructive debate with GGT2…We have argued on many occassions…but we tend to get somewhere close to a better understanding of issues ….You on the other hand have displayed fokkol to argue about….so here is your chance….lets debate….Tell me what your issues are. Allow me to annialate you with logic..I may have to repeat some of teh stuff I have already written…seems like you are a bit slow
29 Mar 2009, 19:42 pm
#539 Osama bin Jan: Do you think he is being shortchanged tonight?
Well we did not actually chat so it was a brief one!!
29 Mar 2009, 19:43 pm
#541 ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks & Wallaby supporter:
Right now, on performance alone, Stefaan. Ludik as a good back-up. In the future not too much to touch Ludik around.
29 Mar 2009, 19:44 pm
Useless cuito
What hero?
Sorry character you are.
As a person ( will not go into credentials as you love). I am way above you. Look up! You still won’t see. Me. Man I love rubgy and sa people. You love to try like the racist dutchem you speak of , belittle. Whites , make them seem non relevent and poor in what they do. SO that you The cuoto . Can be the non white hero.
Go for it .
Repeat history
I appologise for any personal insults and still extend my hand. I don’t want to fight.
Come meet me halfway on the bridge.
29 Mar 2009, 19:46 pm
#543 carol:
I’m not going to even attempt to answer that one. This is a rugga site not Jerry hehe
29 Mar 2009, 19:50 pm
#541 Osama bin Jan: Tackle in teh channel…only if that is the only thing he isexpected to do…Like i Said before…I will play him deep…far away from any set play…There must be clean air between Ruan and Adi…no obstacles to obstruct expansion…In other word he needs to be a passenger for most of the game…NOT A GOOD IDEA
29 Mar 2009, 19:51 pm
When AMAZON and CUITO have finished playing “My dieckie is bigger than your dieckie” will somebody please ring the bell so that we can have a normal and civilized chat on the blog?
Anyway, I’m now off here…
To the friends I’ve missed here, have a good evening, sure we’ll chat properly tomorrow…
29 Mar 2009, 19:54 pm
#547 Cuito Carnivale:
??? JdV missed more tackles that led to tries than any other player in the 3N last year. That’s a fact.
Steyn made more yards than JdV – that’s also a matter of record.
Best possy for JdV is on the wing where he has actually played his best games for the Boks – and he has the line to cover him.
Only wing spot for him would be in place of Habs. JPP is just too good.
29 Mar 2009, 19:54 pm
#546 amazon: WTF you on about…I must look up to you because….you are white. Come on now, give us some credentials…you sounding like a broken record now…If I am so much below you, you should start be giving a bit of evidence
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All