Blues belt lame Lions
10 Apr 2009
The Blues handed the Lions an embarrassing 36-12 defeat in Auckland.
Loffie Eloff’s excuses shall be interesting. We’ll bring you these as soon as possible, but Loffie will give us the same old cliched crap.
Fatigue and jetlag? Sounds like a good one but won’t fly this week, the Lions were down 14-0 at half-time. And yes, they were lucky to get nought, with the missed tackles count at 18 and handling errors from the Blues at 12 – the rain an hour before kick-off can be thanked for that.
The Lions had literally no ball in the first half-time, but when they did it was seriously embarrassing as they didn’t know what to do with it. This is a team with no direction and somebody needs to take account for that.
The defence, as the stats will tell (35 missed tackles in all), was terrible. From No’s 10-13 the Lions kept on rushing up and the gaps were capitalised on from a Blues’ side that is nothing special.
The usually solid Lions tight five were hampered by tighthead Gert Muller’s inclusion as the scrum faltered. Lawrence Sephaka ‘wasn’t fit enough to start’, according to Eloff, but he did play the final half hour. That, like much at the union, doesn’t make sense.
Scrumhalf Jano Vermaak also made an impact when he came on, but why he was on the bench is another mystery.
The only way the Lions were going to cause an upset was via another inspirational Jaque Fourie performance, but when he injured his eye after defending for the opening hour their hopes were all but gone.
The Lions looked more interested in the second half, but that is more of an indictment as to why they weren’t up to it in the first is a mystery.
An out of form Joe Rokocoko created the gap for the third try to Rudi Wulf two minutes into the second half. That the pass to Rokocoko was blatantly forward isn’t really a consideration as referee James Leckie’s numerous mistakes couldn’t even have an impact as the contest wasn’t close.
The fifth try for the Blues came from a charge down off Andre Pretorius, who yet again had a shocker and calls for him to be in the Springbok squad are misguided.
The sooner the competition closes for Loffie and the Lions the better.
By Grant Ball

194 Comments
10 Apr 2009, 08:36 am
Blues Dragons
10 Apr 2009, 08:59 am
Cant see past a blues win. The ***** cats will probably be changing their strip to black and blue after this hiding.
10 Apr 2009, 09:05 am
Keo should put up not just the team names but the weather conditions, wind direction, dewpoint, rugbyposts lean angle, players stud size, turf height(including last cut date), type of turf, is the ref wearing brill cream (affects refs speed to the breakdown) and refs id and residential address.
These are of interest so that most saffas know what their team is up against.
A saffa cannot believe their team got boned fair and square.
10 Apr 2009, 09:11 am
Walla do you watch ReUnion , the rugby program in NZ
10 Apr 2009, 09:19 am
#3 Wallabie. – ‘Keo night owls’ Superbru S14 CHAMPION!!:
Shame man is that all the factors you were looking at when your cricket team got another rodgering?
You sad sad little man.
10 Apr 2009, 09:22 am
BONE UP ON THIS LADS
Referee: James Leckie (Australia)
Touch judges: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Glenn Newman (New Zealand)
Television match official: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)
Assessor: Glen Wahlstrom (New Zealand)
Weather: Description:Scattered showers. Passing clouds. Cool.Temperature:57 °FComfort Level:55 °FWind:12 mph from 170° South by east
Players stud size: Optional – Forwards going with the longish sprigs and backs in their fashionable blades or standard sprigs.
Turf: Apologies to all the Groundman (THE MAN) was unavailable for comment…(Strongly rumoured to be at the pre-match soiree)
Rugbyposts lean angle: Approx 10 degs off to the left with variables as kick-off approaches.
Pre-Match heads up with Referees: N/A… so dunno if he is sporting the obligatory brylecreme or going on the cheap and nicking some of Mealamu’ Vaseline.
10 Apr 2009, 09:26 am
#6 RugbyRulz: Hahahaaaa great response
10 Apr 2009, 09:26 am
JIsjis you all.
#6 RugbyRulz:
Thx.
And the price of a cold one at the stadium, pse?
10 Apr 2009, 09:30 am
#7 superBul:
See you at halftime, off to watch the game.
10 Apr 2009, 09:31 am
#8 Pietman: More ou groot maat
S14 season getting to the business part, a lot of teams will get their death knell this weekend if they lose.
10 Apr 2009, 09:37 am
sjoe – tough crowd in here today
10 Apr 2009, 09:40 am
how can leckie blow a penalty for that, Ludik was offsides but had no effect on pla, the ball went into touch, pedantic refereeing
10 Apr 2009, 09:45 am
Lions are gonna get a pak if they continue like this , Blues all over them , many gaps in the Lions defense , only the continues mistakes by the Blues preventing a score so far !!\
No score so far
10 Apr 2009, 09:47 am
Fortunately for the Lions the Blues’ handling is shocking.
10 Apr 2009, 09:49 am
Try Blues. Was bound to come. Some lions backline players going for intercepts…..leaving huge gaps in the defence.
10 Apr 2009, 09:49 am
Try blues (Scrummie)! Under the posts , just too much pressure , the Blues looks like they targeted this game for running the ball from everywhere. Good play by the blues and poor defense by the Kittens
10 Apr 2009, 09:51 am
#15 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: K9 – there sure are some intercepts there for the taking though , Blues passing blindly sometimes
10 Apr 2009, 09:56 am
Helloooooooooo
Blues are controlling EVERYTHING !!
Eishhhhhh
10 Apr 2009, 09:57 am
Another knock and another try missed
10 Apr 2009, 09:59 am
Blues are controlling cos theyre cheating ********
10 Apr 2009, 09:59 am
and the ref is blind
10 Apr 2009, 10:01 am
serves Fourie right for running back into the forward pack. How daft was that?
And is it just me or is Heinke being bullied in the scrum by Afoa?
10 Apr 2009, 10:04 am
come on Lionssssssss!!!
10 Apr 2009, 10:04 am
#18 grootblousmile: Verbeel ek my of is die Blues skrum sterker
10 Apr 2009, 10:05 am
Try by the Blues again , running from their 22 the Lions are just out of it , I sense another HUGE score today
2de Drie vir die Blues….
Hulle hardloop die Lions farktup….
lions forward pack trying to be too cute, way too slow and ponderous, they get turned over and try from 60m…
ahh come on Lions are giving the game away
Jeesh – in their 22 all you gotta do is gte it out to the backline and they keep bashong away and got hammered. Daft.
10 Apr 2009, 10:06 am
F@kken missed tackles…..donnerrrrrrr!!!!!!
#24 superBul: Ek sal bietjie fyner kyk by die skrums…
#20 Slumtown: How can u say that ? They scoring tries ghosting thru the Lions backline defense that is non existing ! Here they run again from their 22
Maybe missing Cobus Grobelaar a bit, but ja Lions scrum being farked up
10 Apr 2009, 10:07 am
Lions are missing tackles, this from the 1st minute. A sure sign that they will not come close to winning the game.
10 Apr 2009, 10:07 am
#21 Slumtown: Yes he is.
Neither team seems to be playing real good rugby. Lots of individual stuff, particularly the blues with super dangerous runners. Blues will crush the lions today, but it will only serve to blind their fans to how weak their team has become.
Long live Tuitavake, Wulf, Roko, Williams and Toeava. They will singlehandedly beat all the weaker opposition.
10 Apr 2009, 10:08 am
#28 Slumtown: Sorry brother but the Lions aint giving anything away , fact is the Blues messed up at least 3 tries already by shocking handling , make that 4 , scrummie just knocked on trying to take a quick tap.
The Lions scrum is getting eaten, particularly the loosehead side.
Nous Mossie ook nog af!
10 Apr 2009, 10:09 am
#31 sparticus – http://www.capetownrugby.co.za: Just in certain loose ball situatinos theyre coming in from all sides, hanging about in Linos territory (behind scrum) and doing some fairly underhanded maneuvres in the loose. Theyre playing better for sure. No doubt, but theyre pushing it abit
10 Apr 2009, 10:09 am
and Jocnk is WAY too slow to clear the ball out. WTF isn’t vermaak playing? this is costing them the game. Fourie looks injured, that’s it for the lions if that’s the case
10 Apr 2009, 10:10 am
Afoa is eating Heinke Van Der Merwe.
Try Blues.
10 Apr 2009, 10:10 am
Bring on Jano Vermaak…
Mossie off injured… good night nurse !
Hier kom ‘n groot PK !!
10 Apr 2009, 10:11 am
#35 sparticus – http://www.capetownrugby.co.za: Theyve made some very basic mistakes and coughing the ball up – no doubt blues are playign well though. not trying to take anything from them.
But the Lions have made a number of poor decisions.
Actually ripped away – no try TMO
#38 Slumtown: The ref is poor in that regard , but I dont think it is the reason the Lions are losing , just piss poor defense so far , Blues also not playing as a team otherwise the score would have been more , they seem to rush it a bit. This is not a good Blues team much like the crusaders , whats up with the ABS teams nowadays anyway ?
10 Apr 2009, 10:12 am
#41 grootblousmile:
Vir seker.
Lions verdediging lek soos n sif op die oomblik….
10 Apr 2009, 10:13 am
Oh fok , coverage here @ work just froze and there is no-one to reset the decoder !! Dammit , well at least this spares me the pain of the Lions getting a pak , keep me updated please chaps.
10 Apr 2009, 10:13 am
#24 superBul: Hulle het die leeus minstens 2 keer teruggestoot.
#30 grootblousmile: Dagse!
10 Apr 2009, 10:14 am
Van Rensburg playing a damn good game. Lions defence is poor cos theyre bunching up and leaving gaps. Missed tackles galore as well. I wonder if Afoa is nailing Heinke or if he is going into the bind in a dodge way cos they keep collapsing that side. Suspect.
10 Apr 2009, 10:14 am
Lions and Cheetahs should be replaced by the Eastern Province Cheeky’s.
10 Apr 2009, 10:15 am
Lions skrums is onder moerse druk… bring blerrie Jano Vermaak op om agter die sukkelskrum skoon te maak…
10 Apr 2009, 10:16 am
#40 Spooner: Which again supports what I said earlier the season – everybody is calling for Heinke to be a bok but he couldn’t even outscrum Jannie when we played them…
10 Apr 2009, 10:16 am
#49 Loosehead: lets see them in a Currie Cup first – Cheetahs yes, but Lions? theyve played some very competitive games so far
10 Apr 2009, 10:17 am
Lions looking totally out of this
10 Apr 2009, 10:17 am
#47 King Shark – Die koppie kom Durban toe!: Hello boeta
Smiley is af, beseer…. goeie nuus vir die Lions
10 Apr 2009, 10:18 am
#44 sparticus – http://www.capetownrugby.co.za: Exactly – they are playing like individuals, not a team.
#51 King Shark – Die koppie kom Durban toe!: And lets be honest, Jannie Du Plessis is not feared throughout the ranks of world loosies as a powerhouse tighthead…
Nicve game of rugby though – very entertaining.
lions just aren’t up to it at this level. the coaching isn’t good enough. Bye bye loffie… too much mediocrity. Get a winner in there.
10 Apr 2009, 10:19 am
Collapsing on Heinkes side over and over
10 Apr 2009, 10:20 am
#55 King Shark – Die koppie kom Durban toe!: Stormers are a bunch of individuals, that is the problem.
JDV plays for himself.
LWatson plays for himself.
AJ Venter plays for himself, (thank god that **** left the Sharks, was a disruption).
Too many Captains, not enough players in that team.
Lemoenetyd !!
Lions have had 2 successive semis before – in 2001 they waltzed into NZ and beat the Blues and Crusaders on the cloudy island on the way to the semis – they’ve done it before and proven they can compete at this level (not to mention winning the S10).
Something else is lacking. Something that can be replaced.
Coach and certain playing personnel.
10 Apr 2009, 10:22 am
#59 Slumtown: …and it’s the looseheads job to get under the tighthead and keep the scrum up. If you look closely you will see Afoa hitting Heinke with his shoulder just above Heinke’s neck, not allowing Heinke any movement or momentum. Afoa is winning this battle hands down.
10 Apr 2009, 10:23 am
#49 Loosehead: EP are coming last in the Vodacom Cup, hardly a S14 heavyweight in the making.
They’ve won a staggering Zero from 6.
10 Apr 2009, 10:24 am
#60 goyougoodthing: Why do you consider Venter to have been a disruption?
I’m aware of the blowout on tour last year (when the Tongan replaced AJ in the semi at the last minute). Are you saying there is more to it?
10 Apr 2009, 10:25 am
Must say theres been some exciting progress by some Lions players this year.
Heinke has been decent all round (not cutting it here though)
Wepener has been tough as nails all along
Alberts has been quite a presence
but in the backline is where there has been some very good new talent emerging:
9 Vermaak – he´s been outstanding this year compared to last
10 Pretorius has made a difference
12 Van Rensburg is being quite impressive for me in this game
13 Fourie has been huge – give him the bloody Bok jersey. Adi
is great but Fourie gives a stronger more aggresive option
11 Mentz has really put his hand up and is playing some fine rugby
15 Ludik – sheesh – they should have moved him to fullback a long time ago. As a wing he was fairly anonymous but at fullback he is making his mark.
Whats happened to Earl this year? Last year he was Loffies golden boy and it seems he´s really fallen out of favour.
10 Apr 2009, 10:27 am
#66 Slumtown:
Ludik must be close to Bok colours this year, streets ahead of Jantjes.
10 Apr 2009, 10:28 am
#51 King Shark – Die koppie kom Durban toe!: Hey dis you see how upset the Hurricanes is with the ref and his assistant , you guys get away with murder according to them. Watched ReUnion for the first time this morning. a Prize went to a email calling Jonker in the same class as the Aussie refs.
10 Apr 2009, 10:29 am
#65 Spooner: Venter through his weight around at the Sharks, was a bad influence and had a bad attitude. Started to believe the hype about himself and his Wonder Woman Jenna.
In a way he was the same as Lance Kluesner at the Dolphins, in the end a real ***** that cause more problems than they were worth.
No one shed a tear when AJ left. He even said in the media ‘I want to go to a Province that wins’… nice one AJ.
10 Apr 2009, 10:30 am
#67 Pietman: unfortunately Kirchner is also playing well and Terblanche must be THE fullback this year. If he doesnt get chosen I´ll be livid with PDV. Give credit where its due. Jantjes is nowhere this year but he proved last year that he´s a one trick pony. Good under high ball, kicks well but useless on attack and very one dimensional. Not a threat at fullback at all.
Youre full back should be feared. He has to be someone you only kick towards as a last resort. That really closes down an opponents options in a game.
10 Apr 2009, 10:30 am
#56 Spooner: My point exactly.
10 Apr 2009, 10:32 am
Try No 3 for Blues… Wolf
The Cheetahs and Lions should join forces again.
Why not?
And don’t cite “because it never worked in the past.”
Firstly, the past is the past.
Secondly, the Cats reached the semis of the Super competition at one point.
Have we ever seen the Lions or the Cheetahs get anywhere close to that?
Imagine the depth the combined team would have if the fifteen best players from each union were picked to form a squad of 30.
I agree that Jantjes has been very innocuous and predictable this year. You need more than up and unders at international level.
#68 superBul: Yeah I saw. Still, the one clear mistake he made didn’t swing the game. Sharks won by 16 points, not 6.
Anycase, refereeing overall is pisspoor this year.
#68 superBul: After years of bad reffing going the way of the kiwis they now whine like kids who’ve had their ice creams stolen when it goes the other way.
Boo bloody hoo. I doubt they are cheating, just not up to the task, most of them. And our guys are better than average so you have to know ho bad the rest are.
10 Apr 2009, 10:33 am
Blues 19 / ZIP
10 Apr 2009, 10:33 am
#73 puff: Why didn’t the logistics of the Cats work in the past and why do you think it will work now?
10 Apr 2009, 10:35 am
And Frolick doen &%$&all op die vleuel. Gaan soek werk d**s!
Nog een driekie, dan is die Blues gelyk met die Bulls op 23 punte …
Nee wat, ons SA spanne help mekaar nie.
#73 puff: Won’t work. Where is home, Bloen or JHB? Different fans, marketing disaster. Money won’t allow it.
Lions are &&$%/ up my Super bru damn!
10 Apr 2009, 10:36 am
What’s the story on Jake White taking Rassie’s place as Stormers coach?
Skopskiet has been remarkably quiet since that rumour broke – I hope he hasn’t committed hara kiri.
10 Apr 2009, 10:36 am
forward pass by a bloody mile this ref is a ********
10 Apr 2009, 10:37 am
I said Blues by 12. I don’t think it will be enough to pick up the half point.
10 Apr 2009, 10:38 am
Pat Lam looks like a gangster hehe
10 Apr 2009, 10:38 am
And why dont they brin on Vermaak???
10 Apr 2009, 10:39 am
#73 puff: Lions/Cats only 3 times ever ended higher than 10th. Cheetahs, never have.
10 Apr 2009, 10:40 am
#77 grootblousmile:
Jou gese!
10 Apr 2009, 10:40 am
Earl Rose displays how **** he is yet again
10 Apr 2009, 10:41 am
pathetic, not even competitive
Bonus point try to the Blues.
#83 Spooner:
hehehehe!
Roer jy alweer….lol!
10 Apr 2009, 10:42 am
Try No 4 (bonus) for Blues….
Flokkkkkkkkk !!
#89 Pietman: Pieta, my broer, my makker, my vriend…. hoe gaan dit ?
10 Apr 2009, 10:44 am
Blues are opening up now.
10 Apr 2009, 10:45 am
#83 Spooner: His battery ran flat on his laptop, praise the lord
10 Apr 2009, 10:45 am
What’s the problem with SA rugby? Lack of quality coaches.
Serious lack.
Plummers thank the lord is great but he’s a kiwi.
Bulls HAD a great coach.
Stormers coach is muck.
Cheetahs coach not much better.
Lions coach should resign now.
Bok coach a political pawn.
1 decent coach out of 6.
10 Apr 2009, 10:46 am
Die ouens maak my net moerig – hulle is nie goed nie, maar as n swak span kak speel, dan kry jy dit wat die lions vandag doen…
10 Apr 2009, 10:46 am
SPOONER
Apparently, players confusion and loyalty to the jersey was a problem. The Cheetahs players were Free Staters and the Lions players were Joburg boys. But surely this has gone the way of the do-do. Consider South African players who go overseas and play their hearts out for foreign clubs. Surely an amalgamated local side could stir the passion of the guys who play for it?
The Cheetahs players also were away from their families in Bloem for a long time as the Cats were largely based in Joburg (although they also played down in Bloem). But this is the lot of a professional sportsman – travel and being away from home. It should be something that comes with the territory and shouldn’t affect performance all that much anymore.
I can’t speak extensively on the financial implications of such an amalgamation. It would mean less games played at both union stadiums because they would have to share. But:
1. How full are Bloem and Coke Park during the S14 anyway? A winning culture would pack both stadiums. Look at Bloem when it’s CC season.
2. If the amalgamated side starts winning, more money should come the way of the “Cats” franchise, surely?
3. What is the current Cheetahs side if not an amalgamated side, comprising of players from Free State, Griquas and now Boland?
10 Apr 2009, 10:47 am
#83 Spooner: would be great if true. Jake’s academy could get in the way though
10 Apr 2009, 10:47 am
Meyer
White
Mallett
These guys should be coaching S14 teams.
10 Apr 2009, 10:48 am
One thing all NZ teams do that we can REALLY REALLY learn from is support. Theyre up so quick when a player goes down. Even if theres no one near they come up extremely fast. Why dont we do that? How long will it take for SA to learn the lessons of what makes NZ rugby so competitive? Its really not too hard nowadays with video tech.
10 Apr 2009, 10:49 am
Please graham henry, do NOT pick Toeava for the AB’s … have never been a fan, and tonight proves why… two or three passes when he should have gone to ground with the ball… useless… would never be in my AB side NEVER !!!
10 Apr 2009, 10:50 am
#101 Spooner: yep. Sure should be. Mallet not having great success at the moment so perhaps he’s lost it, but the point remains, he should have been coaching here all along.
Eddie Jones should come and coach.
1. Du Preez, Oosthuyzen
2. Strauss, Wepener
3. Heinke, Sephaka
4. Senekal, Mostert
5. De Villiers, Labuschagne
6. Grobelaar, Brussouw
7. Smith, Joubert
8. Alberts, Floors
9. Vermaak, Jonke
10. Pretorius, Potgieter
11. Mentz, Nokwe
12. Bosman, Ebershon
13. Fourie, Uys
14. Pieterson, Juries
15. Ludik, Rose
Meyer for Stormers
White for Lions
Mallett for Bulls
Now that would bring the most and best out of the combinations.
10 Apr 2009, 10:51 am
Loose it again through poor support.
10 Apr 2009, 10:51 am
#102 Slumtown: Sharks are learning from their coach in this regard. We haven’t been turned over as much this year, except against the Canes and they are the quickest team in the comp IMO. Year upon year when I watch them they are half a metre faster than everyone else.
10 Apr 2009, 10:52 am
#104 goyougoodthing: which coach has had ‘success’ with Italy?
You can’t make a good pizza with just tomatoes annd cheese. You also need pepperoni and mushrooms. Mallett doesn’t have much of the latter to work with unfortunately.
10 Apr 2009, 10:54 am
Lions gaan gelukkig wees om NUL te kry op die scoreboard…
Hulle doen net mooi niks !!
10 Apr 2009, 10:56 am
#108 goyougoodthing: yeah granted, not every team is doing it, and why oh why is it only a team being coached by a kiwi thats doing it? I mean come on. These guys get paid to coach and theyre not. Theyre not learning from teams that are doing things right.
Support, Offload, quick recycling, fast passes, relentless forward attack, turnovers… thats what wins games.
10 Apr 2009, 10:56 am
#109 Spooner: LOL true.
I’ve been listening to the whiny kiwis on the blog going on about the Sharks and refs and cheating and yada yada.
Watching this game again highlights the illegal running lines of all kiwi teams off the ball. Every phase there is an obstruction. It’s the way they play and good for them to get away with it. My point is: stop whining and play rugby.
10 Apr 2009, 10:58 am
#111 Slumtown: 1. Our coaches are not good enough and;
2. The players are perhaps not fully into it either.
Stormers look about as happy as a Springbok on the Watson’s farm and the Bulls don’t travel too well. Lions just don’t have the staff and the Cheetahs neither.
10 Apr 2009, 10:59 am
#112 goyougoodthing: Thats what I´ve bene saying about the buggers cheating. Theres loads of off the ball intreference and obstructions.
10 Apr 2009, 10:59 am
Shoulder charge of note, where is the ref?
10 Apr 2009, 11:00 am
Now that was better from Lions. more like last wekk.
10 Apr 2009, 11:00 am
#112 goyougoodthing: now you know how we have been feeling listening to all the SA claims of NZ/Aus reffing alliance over the past 10 years… rather ridiculous isnt it ??? or different now because of what team its impacting upon ?
10 Apr 2009, 11:01 am
#114 Slumtown: Every game same thing. Not one ref has blown them for it. Combine that with Ritchie McCheat on the ground and the fringes and it makes them hard to stop. But we will. heh.
10 Apr 2009, 11:01 am
Flok
10 Apr 2009, 11:03 am
TRyyyyy Lions….. Menz
10 Apr 2009, 11:04 am
TRyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Rose! Well done mate.
10 Apr 2009, 11:04 am
the lions have understood (in the 65th minute) that to win matches you must not kick the ball away and actually play with. Not F*cking rocket science but Loffie doffie hasn’t worked it out yet
10 Apr 2009, 11:05 am
Pretorius you plick, how could you miss that kick?
10 Apr 2009, 11:05 am
Try Blues
10 Apr 2009, 11:06 am
#117 poppa69: IMO all refs are poor, but good on them for turning up, I don’t want to do it.
I know for a fact that a few years ago all the refs were told ‘in a 50/50 call, give the home team the benefit’ so that would explain a lot.
Combine this with the SA teams usually poor away displays anyway and wins on the road were a problem. At home wins were 60% guaranteed only. Must have looked like all the refs were out to get us…
Personally I think it’s a thankless job, none of them cheat, some just suck more than others. Steve Walsh didn’t give the Bulls the S14 he just missed a few things. Like Tintin didn’t cheat the AB’s he’s just muck.
I don’t car what people say but Rose has talent. Other players like Deon vanrenseburg, willem alberts don’t. They are the useless players in the team. Alberts wouldn’t even make the reserve bench for an NZ team
#118 goyougoodthing: just like you did last 3Ns ??? every supporter looks for other reasons why their team lost, but in the end they just werent good enough on the day…
and as stated earlier on this thread, no decent SA coaches, how did you win 07 world cup… oh thats right, you had an aussie coach help you.
perhaps if your coaches taught your players better, you wouldnt have to continually call McCaw a cheat… we openly acknowledge JDV as the best centre in the world, why cant you accept that R McCaw is simply the best player in his position ???
Try Blues
F0kken pateties
10 Apr 2009, 11:07 am
#125 goyougoodthing: and of course the email/fax about getting those jaapies didn’t help much either…
#127 poppa69: Fair enough. I admit it. He is dynamite. No argument.
Blues 31 / 5
10 Apr 2009, 11:08 am
#125 goyougoodthing: have to agree with you, it is a thankless task refereeing, and know I wouldnt want to do it either… think as passionate supporters we look for any excuse except the truth
10 Apr 2009, 11:08 am
At this stage, I would propose only having 2 teams from SA in the S14 comp. These useless teams are actually hurting the Sharks and Bulls chances. It’s like free money.
10 Apr 2009, 11:09 am
We at least want another try from the boys come on. Give us something here.
#130 goyougoodthing: yeah, that does raise the eyebrows… bit like Susie huh ?? lmao
Try to the Blues
Try Blues, in the corner… again
10 Apr 2009, 11:10 am
36 – 5
10 Apr 2009, 11:11 am
Blues are on fire tonight. They got the mojo today. Lions dont … pity. Would have been a nice game if they did too. But all round been a great game of rugby.
Blues 36 / 5
#126 Pirlet BEL: Agree
10 Apr 2009, 11:12 am
#127 poppa69: Hey I think it’s great with what he gets away with, it’s his job. Good on him, I think he’s a clever sod, and kudos to him. Is he ‘playing within the laws’ well, he’s definitely ‘pushing the limits’…
As for JDV, not the best IMO. But I am biased.
Remember bashing Ritchie is an easy way of getting a reaction from you lot, it is an easy bait LOL.
10 Apr 2009, 11:12 am
#140 Slumtown: as a blues supporter, too little too late IMO. they will fall away by the end of the comp, guaranteed… you cant continue to make so many handling errors when you come up against the top teams in the comp
10 Apr 2009, 11:13 am
Eloff is no good. Get rid of him.
10 Apr 2009, 11:14 am
#143 goyougoodthing: you forgot, poaching, SUSIE, Barnes, playing fullbacks at centre… always gauranteed a reaction to..
opps forgot the biggest thing we bite at
BigHit !! lmfao
10 Apr 2009, 11:15 am
#144 poppa69: For sure – I seriously dont think theyre in for a playoff position. but when they have clicked this season theyve been devastating. They need some consistency. But some awesome players all round.
10 Apr 2009, 11:15 am
#127 poppa69: The coaching thing is s serious problem here. Not sure what to do. Jake White is trying a few things, and by the looks of it it’s got merit.
My hope is that is lives up to its potential and does not become a vehicle for jock sniffers like John Alan to ride a gravy boat.
In any case, I’m glad we used Eddie and I am glad the Sharks have Plummers and his assistant from Wellington in too. Really making a difference.
Remember **** Muir had plummers as his ‘assistant’ and from what I saw, he ‘assisted’ more than the head coach coached if you get me.
10 Apr 2009, 11:16 am
#75 King Shark – Die koppie kom Durban toe!: the assistant referee made the mistake, not Jonker anyway
10 Apr 2009, 11:17 am
#147 Slumtown: they have the attack, but it seems to win anything of note you need to pay attention to an old adage
defence is the best form of attack.
Blues have some devestating runners, just seems their spines are quite often missing their hearts…
A coach, to be a good one, needs to be an Enforcer type… a strong minded fella…. an excellent man-manager… someone the Team will be willing to die for…
Not one of these Buddy-buddy types…. like Rassie, Naka, Loffie…
#146 poppa69: Ah yes, Susie the slapper from the East Rand.
Don’t think we’ll ever know the real story there, I’ve tried to get info from the inside but some things just never get talked about.
10 Apr 2009, 11:18 am
#151 grootblousmile: Rassie aso has other issues… and the players can’t respect someone like that. I don’t.
10 Apr 2009, 11:18 am
Blues are dropping like flies. Lions are doing damage in a totally different way here.
10 Apr 2009, 11:19 am
Yayyyyyyyyyy finally
10 Apr 2009, 11:19 am
Try Jano Vermaak….
Final score should be Blues 36 / 12…. if Yo-yo kicks over
10 Apr 2009, 11:20 am
Rose has been solid since coming on. The boy has merit. Just a pity about his Frans Steyn streak haha.
#148 goyougoodthing: I wonder why that is ? you guys can churn out quality players, surely their must be coaches of equal calibre ?
what is Mr White setting up ?? coaching clinics and such ?
as for using Eddie, a smart man uses the best resources available, so no probs there at all…
Final score 36 / 12
Congrats Blues…. it was a game of total domination and control
10 Apr 2009, 11:21 am
Blues by 24.
10 Apr 2009, 11:21 am
#152 goyougoodthing: she was a slapper ? lol from what I heard she had the worst table manners
10 Apr 2009, 11:22 am
#158 poppa69:
Congats cuz!!!
I am buying again…
10 Apr 2009, 11:22 am
Great game any ways. Super 14 rules. There have been some crackers this year. Some really poor but I still think its far more exciting rugby than you see in the Heineken cup or Magners league.
10 Apr 2009, 11:23 am
Susie slapper? haha Nice name. Sounds like a wet fish. How about Susie Scuffer.
10 Apr 2009, 11:24 am
#158 poppa69: It’s the system or lack of one we have here. The player issues have been sorted with things like the Sharks Academy and others subsequently being set up. The Sharks Academy has seen 36 Boks since inception 8 years ago. That’s amazing.
In terms of coaches, nothing of that sort has been set up. Jake is setting up some sort of Academy/clinics where school coaches can go, learn, develop and be earmarked for promotion through the ranks. Damn fine idea, remember jake himself was a school teacher.
It’s been traditionally the place where SA has had strength, in certain schools who churn them out. The Sharks feeder school, Grey College in Bloem for example (that bites a lot of folks here ha ha).
10 Apr 2009, 11:25 am
Sorry to my Lions friends , maybe when Loffie had his uitkak sesion you guys misunderstood, he did not say you must only play the last 20 minutes he said you better F@kk@n plat the last 20 minutes only.
Well you had a 80 minute period from last week until the last 20 minutes where you conceded 50 unanswered points, glad you started playing in the last 20 min today
10 Apr 2009, 11:26 am
What a crock of **** the Lions dished up….
K9 en Ed kou seker nou polse af !
10 Apr 2009, 11:27 am
*** that was pathetic! To think I even gave the little pussies a chance!! Bring back the S12, lose the Lions and Cheetahs………….
10 Apr 2009, 11:28 am
#162 Pietman: make it a double bro lol
Lions are not good enough clearly. Change the coach, throw the baby out with the bathwater. Combine the Lions and the Stormers. Replace all SA teams with the Falke and EP the Mighty Elephants. Make Cheeky President.
Buy PDV new teeth (oh he has those already).
#166 superBul:e said you better F@kk@n play the last 20 minutes also.
10 Apr 2009, 11:30 am
#165 goyougoodthing: well I hope Jake can get it up and running… something similar to Mike Cron (ABs scrum guru).. hes travelled the entire country passing on his knowledge… therefore the youngsters learn earlier and learn good habits become automatic…
10 Apr 2009, 11:34 am
#172 poppa69: Yeah me too. I hope it does the job as I said and does not become a pony show for the hangers on in SA. We have a lot of them, not sure what they think they are doing.
For example the ‘Legends (who calls themselves a Legend?)… set up a rugby Academy in Durban North… and tried to steal the players from the 38 Bok producing Sharks Academy. They have even approached the Sharks feeder schools in England… now what benefit is there in that other than self promotion and money. If they really cared about rugby, they would have set it up in the Eastern Cape…
There are plans for one there sure, but it smells of fish, and they are all fishermen.
10 Apr 2009, 11:36 am
#173 goyougoodthing: sorry 36
10 Apr 2009, 11:38 am
#173 goyougoodthing: yep, seems SA rugby has a habit of destroying itself from within… whereas in NZ its all geared towards the ABs, that is the marquee product and it is all driven towards that… not it seems in SA (which is a real pity).
hopeless
Hierdie S14 is maar net nie SA se speelmaat nie. Ja, elke jaar het ons so een span (partykeer 2 spanne) wat ten minste onder die eerste 7 eindig, maar oor die algemeen is dit maar net pakslae kry links en regs.
Ons het almal gehoop hierdie is die jaar wat ons ten minste 4 spanne in die boonste 7 sou hê, maar op hierdie stadium lyk dit net asof die Sharks ons naam hoog hou.
Die Bulls is nog daar, maar soos hul nou speel, en nog sonder ‘n fetcher ook, hoop ek maar net met my hart, nie my verstand nie.
Miskien moet ons 3 spanne in die S14 stoot:
Sharks
Bulls
Stormers
Goeie spelers van Cheetahs kan Stormers toe, en die goeie spelers van Lions kan Bulls toe.
At least that last try by Jano kept the Bulls in fourth place for now.
10 Apr 2009, 12:16 pm
#5 jondood:
Either harden up man or get a sense of humour.
10 Apr 2009, 14:40 pm
177. alf
‘Goeie spelers van Cheetahs kan Stormers toe, en die goeie spelers van Lions kan Bulls toe.’
Moenie gulsig raak nie Alf,want dit is juis die probleem met die Cheetahs en Lions, die goeie spelers loop al voor die tyd.
Al wat die uitslag bewys , is dat die Lions en Cheetahs en
tot ‘n mate die Stormers nie diepte het nie.Torring jy
aan hul A-span en sluit ‘n klomp B-span spelers in die
die beginspan in dan het jy probleme.
Dit is nie om dowe neute dat die Bulls en Sharks hul spense
so volmaak nie. Die Administrateurs van die bonde weet
sonder diepte kom jy nie die mas in die Super 14 op nie.
Onthou die Sharks kan as alles goed gaan amper ‘n Springbok
span in die veld stoot,maar tog hardloop hul nie weg met die
kompetisie nie.Dus gaan die Lions,Cheetahs en tot ‘n mate
die Stormers maar altyd in die Super 14 sukkel.
Om 13 mini-toetse te speel moet ‘n span goed wees en teminste
‘n bank he wat ‘n impak gaan maak as jy hulle op die veld stuur.
Jy kan ook nie 13 weke na mekaar dieselfde span op die veld
stoot nie,die ouens is gaar na week ses en begin beserings
almeer opduik.Die Blues het duur vir hul oorwinning betaal.
Om na amper 16 jaar met net twee Superrugbybekers te kan
spog wys dat Suid Afrika se rugby se waarde te hoog
geskat word.Selfs in die Tri-nations het Suid Afrika
die kompetisie net tweekeer gewen,wat gegewe die aantal
geregistreerde rugbyspelers mi maar nie ‘n goeie vertoning
is nie.
10 Apr 2009, 14:42 pm
No matter how poor the Lions were, they don’t deserve a piece as poorly written as this one. Sies man, Grant. I hope your English teacher doesn’t read this forum.
10 Apr 2009, 14:48 pm
Lions MOM….Earl Rose.
I think this Guy could be a Springbok by the end of the year.
Something is just not right with the Lions.
They have the players.
The backs in particular looked very good, when they moved the ball wide.
The scoreline could have been a lot worse than 36-12. Try 52-5. Blues handling errors in the first half cost them plenty.
As for the Blues. Well ……..they are not going to win this thing either.
10 Apr 2009, 14:51 pm
#181 katman:
Hello Katmandu,
Long time, no see.
10 Apr 2009, 16:25 pm
Congrats to the Bulls
10 Apr 2009, 16:25 pm
hehe woops …. congrats to the Blues
10 Apr 2009, 16:56 pm
Well Grant I can help you on the bit about Vermaak. Loffie, earlier in the week, said Vermaak was tired.
I’m think you may be being a bit harsh on Elof, I agree the results haven’t been good and he has to take accuont for that, but look at the player base and budget he has to work with??
10 Apr 2009, 17:11 pm
There is just one way to sort out the **** with the Lions…Eloff go back to your players that supported you 2 years ago and stop your BUDDY BUDDY nonsense in your team selection. There are more than enough players back in SA that CAN play and WILL make a difference. Loffie stop victimising some players in SA and select them on their abbility and not because you carry some or other grudge against them!!
10 Apr 2009, 21:00 pm
“The Lions had literally no ball in the first half-time, but when they did it was seriously embarrassing as they didn’t know what to do with it.”
This is garbage. Change “literally” to “virtually” and it makes sense.
If you LITERALLY had no ball in the first half (not “first half-time” as there’s only one half-time in any match, when no play takes place) then you didn’t have ANY ball EVER.
So, you can’t then add “but when they did (have the ball) it was seriously embarrassing…”
This is embarrassingly poor professional journalism.
11 Apr 2009, 00:13 am
#154 Slumtown: Yes its called a bunch of soft pricks!!! They are being pampered by Lam and Howarth.
11 Apr 2009, 04:39 am
#188 TheTackler:
Agree but watch Fox news for half an hour and see how many inconsistencies and untruths you get …..and they actually call that news.
11 Apr 2009, 05:32 am
Well, rather than pitch your journalistic standard on FoxNews, wouldn’t you be better off pitching it at BBC standards?
Or, at least, pitching it at a standard above a point where you aren’t savagely taken to task by your own unpaid amateur readers?
11 Apr 2009, 06:01 am
#191 TheTackler:
“where you aren’t savagely taken to task by your own unpaid amateur readers?”
??
11 Apr 2009, 07:43 am
#187 Battleaxe: Well Battleaxe, Loffie’s BUDDIES let him down big time this time. If there is a BUDDY BUDDY selection issue the it exploded in his face. The poor performance against the Blues must be attributed to the players (who tackled like they had better things to do).
What is it with the Lions (and other SA teams) that when they lose their regular captain they lose the plot? The Lions looked like completely lost and rudderless from the start without Baywatch. The fact that other leaders like Ernst and Todd were on the field meant nothing. The same has happened before when the Stormers lost Jean DeV and the Bulls played without Matfield. Without the regular captain the players capitulate before kick-off.
11 Apr 2009, 10:38 am
#192 chch: Cite the whole sentence and you’ll find it is all 100% correct and grammatically-perfect.
Let me help you.
“Or, at least, pitching it at a standard above a point where you aren’t savagely taken to task by your own unpaid amateur readers?”
See?
Perfect. Nothing at all wrong with it.