Lions edge courageous Cheetahs
6 Jun 2009
A Heinrich Brüssow-inspired Cheetahs team went down 26-24 to a second-rate Lions side in Bloemfontein.
This game was one of two halves with the sin-binning of flanker Stephen Ferris the watershed. The tourists were 20-0 up after 24 minutes before Ferris paid the price for the umpteenth breakdown transgression. The Cheetahs scored 14 points in the blindside’s absence to trail 23-14 at the break.
The option-taking and defence wasn’t always great from the home team. Their line defence repelled many a Lions surge, but a soft try by Ferris allowed the visitors to shoot to a 10-0 lead after 12 minutes. A subsequent chip by James Hook was gathered by centre Keith Earls who swerved past a couple of defenders en route to the tryline.
During this period, referee Wayne Barnes allowed the Lions to spoil on defence and seal the breakdown ball off on attack. Brüssow made a couple of turnovers but the Lions were still getting away with illegal play.
It took 23 minutes for Barnes to brandish yellow, and from here the Cheetahs began to gather some momentum. Danwel Demas rounded off a good move that exploited the Lions’ one-man disadvantage, and prop Wian du Preez reduced the deficit further when he steamrolled a defender from close range.
Back to their full compliment, the Lions sought to keep it tighter. They had the better of the Cheetahs’ scrum, Andrew Sheridan applying unsustainable pressure on the outclassed Kobus Calldo. The Lions’ set-piece even held its own when Ferris was off, and the Springbok management should take note, the Lions’ scrum is going to be a massive factor in the Test series. Hook goaled three penalties accrued from the Cheetahs’ scrum transgressions, and it kept the hosts at arm’s length.
The breakdown, however, was a different story. On defence, the visitors did everything they could to spoil the Cheetahs’ ball. Brüssow had another industrious outing in the tackle-department, but it was his ground-zero scavenging that proved the biggest boost to the hosts. Because of his proficiency, the visitors battled to get go-forward after the initial set-piece.
Jacques-Louis Potgieter kicked well initially but missed a great opportunity in the 52nd minute when he pushed a penalty-attempt wide. The three points would’ve reduced the deficit to 26-20 at a critical stage of the game.
The Cheetahs tried their hearts out, and it’s just a pity there weren’t more people at the stadium to witness their brave efforts. Vodacom Park saw 23 000 patrons through the gates, a shocking number considering the stadium now holds 48 000.
The Lions were shaky and it’s only through little errors that the Cheetahs didn’t put them away. Yet another Lions breakdown infringement gifted the hosts a penalty, but Potgieter proceeded to kick it dead. The Cheetahs’ inferiority at scrum time also continued to cost them possession and territory from ensuing penalties.
And yet, it was their strength at the tackle point that kept them afloat. Brüssow never relented in his quest for dominance and his team-mates never dropped their intensity. The Lions have a long way to go if they’re going to compete with the Bok breakdown in the coming Tests.
Both sides were exhausted by the hour mark and it was here that the Cheetahs were always going to be tested. They made another crucial turnover after the Lions launched a multi-phase assault on their tryline. It was clear the Lions would not be coasting to victory in the final minutes.
Replacement flyhalf Louis Strydom missed a difficult penalty attempt in the 70th minute to allow the Lions to keep their nine-point cushion. However, a brilliant reading of a flat Shane Williams pass allowed Corne Uys to sprint 80m for a seven-pointer. With six minutes to go, the Cheetahs had a chance of a massive upset.
The Lions were running out of puff as the clock wound down and the local supporters began to find their voice. After Meyer Bosman crashed it up into the suspect Irish midfield, Strydom slipped into the pocket for the drop-goal. Unfortunately, the kick drifted cruelly wide.
The Cheetahs looked to have another opportunity to win it when Lions fullback Lee Byrne dropped a high ball and his retreating team-mates played it from an offside position, but it was a transgression that the fallible Barnes missed.
The Lions eventually won a penalty in the final play and hacked it into touch. The win takes them to a three-from-three tour record, but there will be more concerns than positives for Ian McGeechan as he prepares his charges for the Tests.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Vodacom Park

718 Comments
6 Jun 2009, 13:57 pm
Eerte, soos die Bulls !
6 Jun 2009, 13:58 pm
Eerte = eerste
6 Jun 2009, 14:19 pm
Iwatched the wallabies earlier on, they were quite impressive, although this barbarians team was admittedly quite average. But you can see they are a very well coached side. South Africa on the other hand is completely the opposite, our head coach pdv is a quota who has no clue of what he’s doing.. I’m worried.
It’s a pity that such a brilliant generation of players won’t furfil it’s potential because of a donkey like PDV.
6 Jun 2009, 14:22 pm
#2 BDB: Sien Rose het Steyn verby gesteek as Bok heelagter contender op poll. Wonder steeds wie’t 61 keer vir Rose gestem.
6 Jun 2009, 14:31 pm
#4 Isigidi: Dink dit was Snorre homself !
6 Jun 2009, 14:40 pm
Rose het Morne Steyn verby gesteek as heelagter. Wat verstommend is dat sommige mense dink Morne is ‘n heelagter. Net so verstommend is dat daar mense is wat dink dat Rose in ‘n nasionale span opgeneem kan word
6 Jun 2009, 14:46 pm
Rose hoort nie naby die Bokspan nie. Wasdit nie dat Rose se pa en Asterix saam perlemoen gesmokkel het nie so Rose nie eers naby aan die Bok groep gekom het nie!!
6 Jun 2009, 14:49 pm
Goooooooo Staat !!
Knoop die Bleekbene se bene en laat hulle SA gras vreet vir mirragete !
6 Jun 2009, 14:51 pm
Go Cheetahs……..
Go Saffa…..
Good Luck Cheetahs.
Kom julle blikore. Laat hierdie poms kak vandag.
6 Jun 2009, 14:53 pm
#8 grootblousmile: Dankie tog, weg van daai anner threat!
Wat seg jy pelle? Cheeters ga moeilik trek? Ek dink so. Lions se sterte regop. Hoop cheaters knoop hulle agter hulle se ore.
6 Jun 2009, 14:55 pm
#8 grootblousmile: Hello my lovely all good with you?
Am I the only Lions Supporter here this afternoon?
Ian gives a good interview.
Doesn’t put his foot in his mouth.
#12 Isigidi: Die Pommeranians sal wen…. maar ek hoop die Staat hanteer die game soos die game teen die Tjarks… of die game teen die Saders….. dodelike vedediging !!
6 Jun 2009, 14:56 pm
#13 carol: I thought you’re a Bull and an Honorary Saffa now…. get that ugly red shirt off your back !!
Hehehe
6 Jun 2009, 14:58 pm
#15 grootblousmile: Oi, manne lyk gefokus, dis nou die Lions!
6 Jun 2009, 15:00 pm
#17 Isigidi: Ek hoop dit verander van “gefokus” na “gefokk is”
Hehehe
Cheetahs are the giant slayers.
Wouldn’t it be nice today. (Sorry Carol, but allegiances and all)
#13 carol: Hello Carol, Enjoy the game. Off now to go and watch.
6 Jun 2009, 15:01 pm
#16 grootblousmile: It is very fetching actually….
I can’t get a Justin TV feed!! Very annoying!!
6 Jun 2009, 15:02 pm
#19 Bul-a-Bhloo: It’s OK I understand!!
6 Jun 2009, 15:02 pm
#20 Puma: Hi Puma, enjoy…. looks like I am going to have to rely on the commentary here at this rate!
6 Jun 2009, 15:03 pm
Stadium not that full. Not good. Think the prices of tickets have put some people off from going to the games.
Think the Tank is sold out though for Wed.
6 Jun 2009, 15:04 pm
#23 carol: Why is it not on TV there Carol? Its a Lions tour. Or is it on SKY?
We will keep you updated.
6 Jun 2009, 15:05 pm
I like that advantage line that they show on TV now. Hope they do it today.
99!
I’m still too scared to drink much after last Saturday…. bangbabbelas.
So I’m drinking an innocent White Cow…. till halftime, when I will switch.
6 Jun 2009, 15:06 pm
Is this the 99 call again? Hope not.
6 Jun 2009, 15:06 pm
Hello Hello Hello
Looks like the blikore won the first fight.
6 Jun 2009, 15:07 pm
Good defence so far from Staat
6 Jun 2009, 15:07 pm
I hope the Cheetahs put up a robust challenge.
It will good for the Lions, and the Tour.
6 Jun 2009, 15:09 pm
@32 Cant be worse than the challenge the Golden Lions put up.
6 Jun 2009, 15:09 pm
Funny, how defending team can retreat 10 meters, if attacker runs at the very next second? That should be an easy way to score points – quickly run, defenders cannot touch you and have to run back or, if they touch, you get another penalty etc. etc.
6 Jun 2009, 15:10 pm
Yeahhhhhh, clearly falling over the ruck by the Bleekbene…
Pale toe !!
6 Jun 2009, 15:10 pm
Short-arm penalties are better than long-arms for minor infringements
6 Jun 2009, 15:11 pm
#25 Puma: I don’t have sky, trying Justin TV but have now got it on Radio 5! Better than nothing!
6 Jun 2009, 15:11 pm
Just missed…
Still Poms 3 / 0
6 Jun 2009, 15:12 pm
10-0
when did SA rugby get so sloppy
Oi, gifted try to Poms
Pasties 10 / 0
6 Jun 2009, 15:13 pm
eish…soft…scrum radar broken
6 Jun 2009, 15:14 pm
#41 grootblousmile: Just stick with that milk…..
Pastie Poms….Grrrrr
Radio just saying how small the crowd is again!
6 Jun 2009, 15:14 pm
Lions lucky to get away with fighting earlier. Prop and No.8 were the aggressors. Disappointing that our commentators are too polite not to call things as they really are.
6 Jun 2009, 15:15 pm
Wayne Barnes…….wat’s daai woord nou weer…. iets soos plonker….
6 Jun 2009, 15:16 pm
Lions moering us in the scrum
6 Jun 2009, 15:16 pm
#40 SodaJoe: Hi Soda, I am listening to the dulcet tones of Garreth Chilcott here. Very broad west country accent, he is our Tour Host. (Ugly b*gger)!!
6 Jun 2009, 15:18 pm
#46 SodaJoe: We doing ok at the breakdown though?
6 Jun 2009, 15:18 pm
17-0, another massacre looming
6 Jun 2009, 15:19 pm
another soft try…Cheetahs dropping lipstick & handbags all over the field
Earls scores another one
Pasty Post Toasties 17 / 0
It’s on Veetle
http://www.veetle.com/viewChannel.php?cid=4a0d017b77088
Penalty missed by Barnes – interference with the scrumhalf’s ball
Shane Williams tackles like Nokwe
Although the Cheaters all tackle like Nokwe – another try.
Bosman is really poor..
6 Jun 2009, 15:21 pm
Cobus Caldo getting hammered in the scrums, not surprising…
6 Jun 2009, 15:21 pm
Wayne Barnes is blind…..for god sake
6 Jun 2009, 15:23 pm
#55 Pirlet BEL:
Yeah the Cheetahs is the worst paying union in Super14
Another wrong call from Barnes – pedantic
Cheetahs really battling.
Defending all the way and not doing that well at that either.
6 Jun 2009, 15:24 pm
Uglies 20 / 0
20-0
The local teams are really playing ****.
Point a minute.
I really hope that Piet Snor sees that if you pick lightweight namby pamby backs they will run all over you, through you and pass to someone else who will do the same thing.
We are looking rubbish
#57 Shaggy:
Tell me about it Shagga……..tell me about it…..May he rot in Hades.
6 Jun 2009, 15:25 pm
Wrong call again – still pedantic
A point a minute…another pathetic performance by a South African team! Jassus poep pants Cheetahs kakking themselves at the sight of more buitlanders!
Help ‘n bietjie, help ‘n bietjie daar …
Mmmmm, yellow card for Ferris, the Ferrit !
6 Jun 2009, 15:26 pm
Awful call by Barnes!
6 Jun 2009, 15:26 pm
ag Barnes, come on. Really. Great tackle.
The way Cheaters are playing they will win with 11 guys.
6 Jun 2009, 15:27 pm
Bring back the short-arm penalties
6 Jun 2009, 15:28 pm
Why are the SA Provincial Teams not playing their Boks.
The 1st Test is weeks away….surely a game here and there would be good for the likes of Juan Smith?
6 Jun 2009, 15:29 pm
#61 grootblousmile: Uglies !!!!!
Actually have to agree except for Hook!!
20-7
Demas you delight
Try!!!! Hope that ignites the fire….
Mooi manne.
Nice try boys. Heads up. Go like hell.
Tryyyyyyyyy Staat !!
That’s how you play this mob…. in their freegin faces !
#69 BDB: Mooi, dit het gehelp.
6 Jun 2009, 15:30 pm
Ohh no, Grant will be a nervous wreck!!
Uglies 20 / Boere 7
Well Damwell Demas scores a try! Somehow don’t see them getting another one though.
6 Jun 2009, 15:31 pm
Try demas!
#75 carol: Yip Karlien…. they are freegin UUUUUGGGGLLLYYYYYY !
well I was thinking we going to have another rugby lesson here today but perhaps Cheetahs get back in the game now that Ferris is off
#80 grootblousmile: We have horse racing and cricket at the moment so missed that!
KEEP UP THE PRESSURE LIONS… 20 – 7
#66 cane: LOL
High tackle!
6 Jun 2009, 15:32 pm
#80 grootblousmile: Boks need to get up in their faces!
6 Jun 2009, 15:32 pm
When does Brussow play 6 these days? Mostly at 8.
6 Jun 2009, 15:33 pm
Barnes you are seriously rubbish.
6 Jun 2009, 15:33 pm
Lekka ou Helgard !
6 Jun 2009, 15:34 pm
Strange how a try can fire up the soul of a team. Cheetahs playing better now. May it continue.
6 Jun 2009, 15:36 pm
circus act
Farkkkkkk Dumbass…. why the kick you scared ??
Oh my word Damwell Dumbass has to be the worst winger I’ve ever seen!!!
Just over cooked, kick was right, unlucky.
6 Jun 2009, 15:37 pm
but maybe he was right after all, just execution failed, as he would not made to the line.
BACK YOURSELF DEMAS YOUD HAVE MADE IT!!!
Brussow for President
Demas that was just stupid. Why the heck kick it when all he needed to do was run and just dot down!!! A 10 year old would have known better.
Brussouw makes a try.
Egg on someones face…..
Brussouw is exceptional
6 Jun 2009, 15:38 pm
Daardie drie kom van Brussow af !
Hoop Snorre en die keurders kyk en voel sleg !
Tryyyyyyy Staat !!
Wian du Preez…
In their faces again !
JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good, at least they do not lie down meekly like Joburg boys did.
#103 Puma: true! what was he thinking…for god sake
We need Brussouw for the Tri-Nations!!!
Now Snorre will see what he will be missing. Brussow is playing like superbly
Brussow simply brilliant. Made that try. Snorretjie you better be watching.
6 Jun 2009, 15:39 pm
Fuglies 20 / Boere 14
Dit lyk beter !!
6 Jun 2009, 15:39 pm
Jammer Wian is ‘n loskop, hoekom is daar so min goeie vaskoppe ?
6 Jun 2009, 15:40 pm
#110 Shaggy: Should have just run and he would have been there. Still mistake.
#107 grootblousmile: Missed that just came quick to post.
6 Jun 2009, 15:40 pm
#116 Puma: Still = Silly
6 Jun 2009, 15:41 pm
Murray collapsed it.
No wonder the Bulls got rid of Demas. He is blerrie useless.
VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!
brussouw is just excellent, what a disgrace for him not to be in the bok squad
barnes you doos. It’s obvious.
Props eating dirt again
Cobus Caldo penalised again at the scrum…. jelly baby of note !
Burger is nowhere near this guy. Different level altogether
6 Jun 2009, 15:42 pm
Brussssssssssouwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!! PDV you f&$&/ idiot for leaving him out the squad. He´s a match winner and pairing him with Smith would have meant an all Cheetahs Flank pairing.
And is it my imagination or is Demas starting to come into his own? He´s been pretty decent this match so far. unlucky bounce to lose that try there.
#113 SodaJoe:
snor will be watching antiques roadshow…
23-14
nice kick.
6 Jun 2009, 15:43 pm
Fuglies 23 / Boere 14
I can honestly see why the kiwis hate Barnes.
#123 grootblousmile: He should play for the Stormers.
Wayne Barnes – English ref…biased. End of.
6 Jun 2009, 15:44 pm
And BTW Demas would have been taken out before he got to the line there. Made the right decision. If Wian du Preez hadnt hung on so long he would have had it.
The Free Staters claw their way back.
Game on!
#123 grootblousmile: Read your mail at half time…
6 Jun 2009, 15:45 pm
Lemoenetyd !
Wat drink ons ??
6 Jun 2009, 15:45 pm
Ok Cheaters don’t embarrass us like the “Golden” Lions.
6 Jun 2009, 15:46 pm
Brussouw is putting his hand up, again!
#133 Slumtown: aye.
Good to see the Bloemfontein Celtic Football team there supporting the Cheetahs rugby team.
Same strip as Glasgow Celtic. That will confuse those Brits that are at the game..hehe
Calldo is really struggling.
He is costing the Cheetahs plenty of front foot.
2nd string for the BL not looking like world beaters at the moment.
How’s Brussouw. Magnificent young player.
6 Jun 2009, 15:47 pm
SNORRIE, WHY IS BRUSSOUW NOT IN THE BOK SQUAD YOU MAMPARA!
6 Jun 2009, 15:48 pm
That yellow was harsh on the Lions. Significant negative impact on the game.
#136 grootblousmile: Grolsch die kant. Budwieser was sold out at Tops, again!!!!
#138 allamapstieks: YES HE IS. HE SHOULD HAVE BEEN SELECTED. What was PdV thining leaving him out. The B. Lions are very good at the breakdown we really needed a out and out fetcher. Brussouw is our very best at the moment.
6 Jun 2009, 15:49 pm
#145 Puma: thining = thinking.
Cheetahs to take this game by 3, you saw it here first
Rugbyheaven (Australian media) ranked Brussouw as the best No. 6 in the Super 14
Brussouw will be instrumental in the Tri Nations to counter McCaw, Smith and Quasimodo. It will be foolish not to play a fetcher (especially against Aus).
MAMPARA? WE NEED TO LEAVE HIM OUT TO SOFTEN THE TOURIST FOR JAUN, SCHALK, KANKO AND SPIES
#142 wooden spoon: AGREE.
6 Jun 2009, 15:50 pm
#144 Bul-a-Bhloo: Hehehe
I’m having a healthy drink…. Vodka and fresh Orange Juice….
#148 sglazer: He has been outstanding.
#138 allamapstieks: when has he not? heheh Hes amazing, just shows what a chop De Villiers is. We have enough big guys in the forwards to afford one smaller guy. Games are not only won in scrums but also in the loose and he´s our man. Basically what PDV is saying he doesnt have faith in our tight five to gain the upper hand on theirs so he´s going for having 8 massive blokes to counter act it. Big mistake. Brussouw is as tough as a ratel and the Lions are going to be very happy they dont have to play him.
Also no backup for flanks except for Rossouw who is far better as lock or eight man. Flank he´s too cumbersome. Another big mistake. PDV has made mistakes in a number of key positions. He will also probably not play Morne Steyn at 10 in the runon team which with his current form is also dumb. Especially seeing as your 8/9/10 axis would have been all Bulls and would have given us another advantage in terms of synergy. Aiii jaaiii jaiii. I can se Morne Steyn playing fullback – what a joke.
6 Jun 2009, 15:51 pm
Who do u suggest we leave out for Brussouw?
#155 Wezwp: Easy. Burger.
#150 Wezwp: It’s debatable whether any of those are fetchers. Schalk was earlier in his career.
#148 sglazer: He was and PdV said he would reward players that play well in the S14. He just lied. Why he never selected Brussouw who was outstanding was a huge, huge mistake.
6 Jun 2009, 15:52 pm
#155 Wezwp: Spies.
6 Jun 2009, 15:53 pm
#152 grootblousmile: I am having soup hehehe. Have flu so no wine for me today.
The fact is that Schalk will be the Bok no 6 as long as Peter de Villiers is the coach.
Easy peasy to make space for Brussouw….. Danie Rossou already covers lock, so leave Langbek out…. plain and simple
We have enough centres anyway !
Hehehe
6 Jun 2009, 15:54 pm
#157 sglazer: I think after Burger hurt his neck he sort of now favours that neck when playing. Maybe why he was before the neck injury and not so much now.
6 Jun 2009, 15:54 pm
Magistraat, maar die Sheridan is ‘n yster in die skrum. Die gevolg hiervan is dat Hendro Scholtz moes omruil met Brussouw om Caldo te help. Met Brussouw op 8 nou maak dit dat sy spel om die skrum wegval, maar nieteenstaande dit het hy nog steeds ‘n puik wedstryd.
Die Bokke benodig CJ dringend. Sheridan gaan vir John Smit opdonner.
6 Jun 2009, 15:55 pm
#162 grootblousmile: Bekker will be found wanting against the Lions.
Pietman
Hoop jy geniet die rugby so ver……
Cheetahs veg moedig terug.
#155 Wezwp: Why should we leave anyone out? Why did they not simply pick 30 players instead of 28? Who makes these daft decisions? we left both backups for flank out. I dont get it. Why 28????
Burger is not half the player Brussouw is. DISGRACEFUL….
#162 grootblousmile: Agree Bekker could have been left out and Brussouw should have been selected. WE have Danie he can cover from 4 to 8 if he has too.
Yes, leave one of the locks out.
6 Jun 2009, 15:56 pm
#165 Loosehead: Hopefully he won’t be selected.
#165 Loosehead: Youre gonna eat your words mate – Becker is world class and he´s going to score some tries – mark my words.
I wouldn’t leave Schalk out
6 Jun 2009, 15:57 pm
#169 Puma: Maybe not 6 but he can cover all the other positions I think.
6 Jun 2009, 15:57 pm
Becker is excellent, but we need a true, strong fetcher
6 Jun 2009, 15:58 pm
#166 Bul-a-Bhloo:
Jy laat my dink aan die tyd by die SAUK toe die mammas nog boodskappe vir die seuntjies op die grens gestuur het.
” Boetie, geniet die grens, hou moed, min dae”
#172 Slumtown: Yes, he can jump. But he plays to loose. A locks job is not to play on the wing, it is to play up front.
But lets talk after the Lions tests.
Im sure the Lions now know who Heinrich Brussow is. Worsley didn’t really know. Now he will have nightmares about him.
6 Jun 2009, 16:00 pm
#173 sglazer: Nor would I. Bring HB on after 50 minutes to cover him.
6 Jun 2009, 16:01 pm
Brussouw brings down Joe Worsely and right up on his feet gain. Excellent.
6 Jun 2009, 16:02 pm
On a side, Danie Gerber would put Jacques Fourie at 12 and Jean de Villiers at 13, backed up by Olivier and Jacobs respectively
#176 cris: Hehe. Wie was dit nou weer? Tannie Esme of so iets….
#177 Loosehead: Yeah I hear you – they should stay out the damn backline but he´s damn mobile which is useful. Anyways big shout out to all of you guys for some very entertaining and lively debate. Its great having a platform like this to air views and trade ideas.
Bokkke!!!!
6 Jun 2009, 16:03 pm
Can any of you honestly see Spies tackling Powell?
Brussouw brings down Andy Powel and steals the ball
Scrums are very scrappy.
6 Jun 2009, 16:04 pm
#183 Slumtown: If Snor plays Spies then he can’t play Bekker. Niether play tight enough.
Bokke Indeed!
6 Jun 2009, 16:05 pm
#184 Loosehead: Not while he is running 60 meters to score behind the Lions poles…..
Het die BIL die Walliesers se rooi trou oorgeneem, of andersom ?
#186 A_Poc: ‘States are being monstered. Snor and Gold should be on the phone to BJ or CJ or Jannie DuP.
6 Jun 2009, 16:06 pm
#172 Slumtown:
He was rubbish in the S14. Hope he proves us all wrong. I think he is surplus we have Danie. Brussouw should have been selected.
6 Jun 2009, 16:06 pm
#155 Wezwp: Kankowski
6 Jun 2009, 16:07 pm
Another pedantic call by Barnes
#185 allamapstieks: Yip Brussouw showing why he should have been selected.
#187 Loosehead: Yeah and Kanko neither… but again it leads me to the point that PDV doesnt 100% back our tight five probably based on the questions about tighthead. Rossouw at eightman then hehe.
6 Jun 2009, 16:08 pm
Geluk aan Barnes vir daardie 3 punte !
6 Jun 2009, 16:08 pm
#195 Slumtown: Frightening!
6 Jun 2009, 16:09 pm
#185 allamapstieks: He has brought him down every single time.
He´s amazing to watch in action. Really a pleasure seeing a loosey playing so well. Who reckons Luke should be there but Brussouw not? Pleaassse! Luke has been good this season but he´s not a Brussouw.
6 Jun 2009, 16:09 pm
#192 SodaJoe: Don’t agree Joe, Bekker should never have been selected only if you wanted a extra wing
6 Jun 2009, 16:10 pm
Worsley is cheating continously by smothering the ball. useless twat.
6 Jun 2009, 16:10 pm
waste. That would have been important.
6 Jun 2009, 16:11 pm
#184 Loosehead: Ja, maklik.
6 Jun 2009, 16:12 pm
I hope Snor is watching to see what playing with kak scrum ball is like.
6 Jun 2009, 16:12 pm
#198 Slumtown: No comparison. HB is a top class player, 46 is CC at best.
6 Jun 2009, 16:13 pm
kick for poles.
6 Jun 2009, 16:14 pm
We need to get rid of Snor! He’s going to run the Boks into ground! I reckon that’s his mission. Its gonna take 5 – 10 years for South African rugby to recover!
Potgieter het ‘n slegte wedstryd, jammer.
I think Brussouw was off his feet that time
Hahaha the Lions are suffering here. They certainly dont have the ascendancy in this match like they did against the **** Lions. If Cheetahs had a better flyhalf they would have done better thus far.
All i see is BRUSSOW
BRUSSOW
BRUSSOW
Lions do not know what’s hitting them.
I am sorry. Brussow is the best 6 in the world. Although he plays at 8 really. Bloody fantastic.
6 Jun 2009, 16:16 pm
I hope Snorrie is listening to the British commentary on Sky… They are saying that Brussouw is winning the battle against the British Lions loose trio singlehandedly.
Is Snorrie blind, or stubborn?
Now bloody hit touch. JLP playing kak today.
#211 SodaJoe:
Why are you sorry? Snorre should be sorry!!!
Correction: he was on his feet. Good work.
6 Jun 2009, 16:17 pm
Brussow playing well. is that muppert Snor watching this?
6 Jun 2009, 16:17 pm
#210 A_Poc: I can guarrantee you Worsley knows who Brussouw is now!
6 Jun 2009, 16:18 pm
#212 wooden spoon: Who bloody knows. Totally dof decision.
good on the kid to show Snor how bad a decision it was.
Staat only 9 points behind with 20 min to play !!
Gooooooo Staat !
#212 wooden spoon: Both – he´s a doos. And no recognised fullback and he´ll persist with a recovering from injury Pienaar isntead of playing an on fire Morne Steyn. The mans a ******. He should be a lay preacher. Seems to like the religious quotes with a twist.
BTW – I have always rated JW Jonker and he´s been great again. Awesome player. But he´s really a centre.
See that ***** linesman Joubert putting his nose in again today… and why is Barnes reffing here? Pedantic little Tintin lookalike
6 Jun 2009, 16:19 pm
Wel, al wen die BIL hierdie wedstryd, is die belangrikste vanuit SA se oogpunt: Brussow is die beste nr.6. Snorre, word wakker !
Langkop – what’s it like to watch a proper fetcher play rugby? Not like that boy you’ve likened to Che Guevara.
#219 grootblousmile: Welcome back….Long half time!
6 Jun 2009, 16:20 pm
#220 Slumtown: Snor? Not only a Doos but an ignorant arrogant one at that, with his 2 jock sniffing sidekicks couldn’t be any worse. Muir ffs he is at best Mark Andrews’ Jockstrap
6 Jun 2009, 16:20 pm
Ferris blitzed HB there. Oi vey.
6 Jun 2009, 16:21 pm
#224 carol: Hehehe yeah…
but it was a good Halftime, that I can assure you !
6 Jun 2009, 16:22 pm
Cheetahs speel heeltemal te ver agter die voordeellyn.
6 Jun 2009, 16:22 pm
#225 goyougoodthing2: Hahahah well said mate.
6 Jun 2009, 16:23 pm
schalk better pitch up, puma has been telling us that plumtree can convert schalk into a brussouw type fetcher in 3 weeks…we’re waiting….
6 Jun 2009, 16:23 pm
#228 BDB: Thats what happens when you get kak 1st phase ball.
6 Jun 2009, 16:24 pm
#229 Slumtown: ha ha at least I amuse myself
6 Jun 2009, 16:24 pm
Cheetahs can win this. Just need to get in their 22. GO BIYS. Holding thumbs here.
6 Jun 2009, 16:25 pm
How was that steal on their line. Damn fantastic. Thought they should have got a try there..hehe
6 Jun 2009, 16:26 pm
#230 Transformation: I doubt even Plumtree can do that. You either play that way or not. Besides, why convert someone from their natural game when there is aleady one or 2 (don’t forget Puke) who play that way naturally…
Dumb, like picking his nephew my name is Earl Rose
#227 grootblousmile: Oh good, so was mine actually!!
Our Uglies still holding on there……
Is there a hooker who can throw in in SA
Penalty Staat !!
Go for posts !!
Take the 3
take the points
6 Jun 2009, 16:27 pm
Must say it’s great watching driving mauls again… was shocking to do away with them for so long… a great part of rugby
Pommie line-outs are very bloody strong…
Damn penalty missed
Schalk and Bekker WTF is Snor thinking…
6 Jun 2009, 16:28 pm
Poor kicking cost Cheaters the game maybe. Again I hope Snor is watching.
Powell has been totally nullified in this game.
The Lions front row havent really been that great against the Cheetahs. Theyve had the upperhand but not hugely convincingly seeing as the Bok front row is going to be a far tougher option.
They are eating some humble pie here today after that shite Lions match.
#237 SodaJoe: His name is John Smit. Currently being played at tighthead.
#236 carol: Barely… hehehe
#230 Transformation: Transie I never said that Plum could do that. I SAID I READ THAT PLUM SAID THAT IF BURGER PLAYED DIFFERENTLY HE WOULD BE DEVASTATING. Now read it slow and let it sink in before you speak. Go read it was on supersport. Plum said it not me. He never said he would change him in 3 weeks ever. I never said that.
6 Jun 2009, 16:29 pm
Lions like teh Gary Own too. Better choose a 15 that can catch and kick and tackle.
6 Jun 2009, 16:29 pm
#246 Loosehead: the only 1.
6 Jun 2009, 16:30 pm
Ohh Nooooo
YOU BEAUTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#242 grootblousmile: We will have Victor, Bakkies, Spies and Burger. Our line outs will be fine. Its the breakdowns. Hope that Plum is working hard on that with them.
Tryyyyyyyy Staat, under the posts !!
Game on !!
Fuglies 26 / 24
And now how important are those missed kicks.
Morne Steyn better play 10.
6 Jun 2009, 16:31 pm
#248 Puma: Must say, kinda dumb thing for Plumtree to say…
Geez if Rose had more talent, weighed 30 kgs more and was a foot taller and had the nouse of Carter he’d ‘be devastating’ too
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
#247 grootblousmile: 26 -24 Shiver shake!!
#254 grootblousmile: YES GO ORANGE KILLER MACHINE………..HEHEHEHEHE.
Nice try!!!!!!
#245 Slumtown: Slum I think they are murdering the Cheetahs front row.
Anyone else sensing the BL backs are ever so slightly hesitant going into the tackle ball in hand, if so the Bokke gonna hurt them.
Listening the BBC, there presenters are gobsmacked.
6 Jun 2009, 16:32 pm
Ag nee Floors man !
6 Jun 2009, 16:33 pm
#256 goyougoodthing2: I know but he did say it not me. I was just quoting what Plum had said. Read it on Supersport but Transie just turns it around to suit himself as usual.
En jy sien net leeus orals lê …
#263 Puma: No worries, I hear you…
6 Jun 2009, 16:34 pm
Vrystaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat
6 Jun 2009, 16:34 pm
#259 Puma: Steady on Puma…..!!
6 Jun 2009, 16:35 pm
Lions MURDERING Cheaters scrum.
Put Juries on man!! Let the boy have a go. The Cheetahs tails are up!!
9 points missed…
#265 goyougoodthing2: Thanks mate.
PdV better have a kicker in the Bok side. Ruan has not played for a long time at FH only had a few games this season. I would start with F. Steyn. Those kicks at post are vital.
6 Jun 2009, 16:36 pm
#267 carol: Don’t worry Carol. I have my cricket bat with me today…….hehehehe.
6 Jun 2009, 16:36 pm
All the Staat needs is a droppie….
6 Jun 2009, 16:37 pm
droppie
1 min and 50 seconds to go arghhhhhhh
#267 carol: Also have the flu and only drinking soup.
6 Jun 2009, 16:38 pm
Phweew…. droppie just missed….
very bloody close
eish
#272 Puma: I will be very careful!!
#271 Puma: IMO Ruan would NOT be my first choice kicker because he is such a confidence player. When he kicks he kicks but when he misses… woah it can be a shameful day at the office. And when he kicks IMO he loses the rest of his game at flyhalf…
But then, you know I think Snor is about as wise as a very dumb thing pickled in a jar of stupid juice.
6 Jun 2009, 16:39 pm
#276 Puma: Sure it is not just a cold, I know what men are like? Heheheh
YEAH LIONS, JUST…….PHEW !!!!
6 Jun 2009, 16:39 pm
Big lesson being delivered to the Lions here hahahahahah
6 Jun 2009, 16:40 pm
Barnes is sucj a *** sukker
6 Jun 2009, 16:40 pm
#276 Puma: Your Sharks will be a different proposition next week!!!
6 Jun 2009, 16:41 pm
Mooi Cheetahs.
Dankie vir ‘n lekker middag.
6 maklike punte weggegooi.
#248 Puma: you confidently told everyone that questioned schalk’s efficacy @ the breakdown that plum said what you said in caps & that you were happy about that development…
Fuglies won by the skin of their teeth… only by 2 points.
Cheetahs should have gotten a penalty right at the end… one could see the disgust on Helgaart’s face !!
Show us a replay of the last penalty
Vertel hulle, Helgard, vertel hulle …
Cudos to the Cheetahs. Good workout.
6 Jun 2009, 16:42 pm
Gutted for the Cheetahs. They should’ve never tried the drop goal but gone for the try instead.
Good game Cheetahs. Could have won that. Those missed kicks at posts.
PdV hope you watching. M. Steyn for FH. We need a kicker. Ruan is pure class but has not had enough game time at FH this year. Also never took the kicks for the Sharks. M. Steyn’s kicking has been spot on.
So close…………………………………….Boks had better pick a goal kicker. M Steyn at 10!
Kicking lost the Cheetahs the game today – Morne Steyn for 10 or we will regret it.
Three frigging cheers for the Cheetahs for flying the flag after the capitulation by the Golden Lions… These boys are having a tough tour. Yeah!
cheetahs were the better team, well played guys
well done Cheaters.
If you don’t kick your points you will lose close matches.
Many salutary lessons
Kick your points
Make sure you have a competitive scrum
Make sure you have players who tackle
win the break down
The Lions like the high ball kick and chase – your 15, 14 & 11 – need to be able to catch, kick and tackle.
Omission of Zane & Brussow still the dumbest decisions made in a long long time
6 Jun 2009, 16:43 pm
I really cannot understand why people are so upset about Barnes now. Is he any different from Cardiff game?
#271 Puma: Uhm have you ever heard fo bloody Morne Steyn? Frans Steyn at flyhalf instead of Ruaan? You must be joking surely?
Cheetahs were better, it’s just the missed kicks that cost them.. Lions were beaten when you also consider how they scored their 1st lucky try
6 Jun 2009, 16:44 pm
#291 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: I thought they would have tried the drop too. Pity. For me I thought they deserved to win it. Came back at them in the 2nd half.
Well done again Cheetahs. That was a good game. Just the missed kicks.
Uhum … replay of the defining penalty of the game please
3 Tries to 2.
Says something.
Then again this was the BL 2nd string.
Wayne Barnes strikes again.
Everyone in the Lions team know that they lost today.
6 Jun 2009, 16:45 pm
I’VE NEVER HAD SO MUCH RESPECT FOR THE CHEETAHS UNTIL TODAY!!!!
WELL DONE FREE STATE
Well played Cheetahs.
Brussouw was brilliant…played like Luke…PDV made a huge mistake leaving Luke out.. With Luke we have all of that and brains and leadership..Bokke will have to make do with three big dumb loosies
#287 grootblousmile: Have to go, off to an Art Exhibition now, see you soon ***
6 Jun 2009, 16:46 pm
#298 Slumtown: Sorry that was a typing mistake. I meant M. Steyn. All these Steyns….hehehe.
Well, the lowest placed SA Super 14 Team (without their Bokke) ran the BI Lions close.
Lots of heart and solid tackling by the Staat.
#307 carol: Enjoy Carol.
6 Jun 2009, 16:47 pm
Brussouw is in a different league to Luke. No comparison.
#306 Langenhoven: all thtose brains and all that leadership wont matter if the boys dont want to play will it??
thats what luke watson brings to the team,,hate !!!
How could Brussouw not be the MOTM?
#309 grootblousmile: Just missed out. Proud of that team. They give 100%. Just those missed kicks. Hope PdV selects M. Steyn.
Lions tour of South Africa
Played 3 Won 3
6 Jun 2009, 16:48 pm
#307 carol: Cheers Karlien… enjoy !
#306 Langenhoven: Brussouw played like Luke? Rubbish. Brussouw is way, way better. Brussouw is world class not S14 class.
#253 Puma: How do fancy our chances on Wednesday boet? Who do we have in reserve for our backs? Its a pity Vulindlu was picked for the Emerging Boks, we could’ve done with him against the Lions. Reckon Snor was too hasty there he needs more experience, talent for the future I reckon.
6 Jun 2009, 16:49 pm
#315 Big Hit: Just played the weaker teams so far Big Hit and almost got beat by the Giant Killer Orange Machine…hehe. Only 2 points in it. Missed kicks can cost huge.
6 Jun 2009, 16:49 pm
15 F Steyn
14 JP Pietersen
13 Fourie
12 De Villiers
11 Habana
10 M Steyn
9 Du Preez
8 Spies
7 Smith
6 Brussouw
5 Matfield
4 Botha
3 Van der Linde
2 Smit
1 Beast
This team will clean up the Lions 3 ZIP.
But no, we are making it as tough as possible for ourselves.
6 Jun 2009, 16:50 pm
#296 SodaJoe: All the crucial places we have dubious selection choices.
Kick points – we could well se e Pienaar at 10 instead of M Steyn
Competitve scrum – lack of proper tighthead is worrysome
Make sure you have players who tackle – Earl Rose a worry
win breakdown – Burger instead of Brussouw big worry
High ball kick n chase – no accepted fullback worrying. Kirchner or Terblanche should have been picked.
We have flaws in all the above areas. I´m a bit worried but we should handle. If we made the right selection choices we would murder them on this tour.
6 Jun 2009, 16:50 pm
#315 Big Hit: Played 3 understrengh sides, narrowly beating 2, comprehensively beating a thouroughly despirited team…
Be worried… be very worried !
6 Jun 2009, 16:51 pm
well done cheetahs, you okes shouldn’t be@ the bottom of the s14 log! Is it the coach that’s bringing you down?!
What was that last penalty for?
#318 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Well when we lost 3 players to injury our bench in the S14 was very thin. So losing 10 players is huge. I think the Emerging Boks can play. Well hope so otherwise cant call that a Sharks team. Well not their first team.
don’t forget bafana bafana beat poland today. The soccer stadiums are beggining to look better than the prehistoric rugby stadiums.Please would someone upgrade ellis park.
6 Jun 2009, 16:52 pm
#306 Langenhoven: Ahh shutup Shaun. You always have say something dumb.
#308 Puma: Phew was worried there heheh.
haha two tries when the Lions were down to 14 and an intercept when Lions on the attack
I knew Cheetahs would be the biggest test though and they didn’t let me down. Great game, credit to both teams.
Will i mean.
#323 Transformation:
should you then blame the coach for their performance today?
6 Jun 2009, 16:53 pm
Wednesday’s match against the Tjarks 3rd Team should be easier for the BI Lions….
My God Brussouw was awesome! That boy is so talented and using his brain! Something I’m not used to seeing from our players. PdV can’t ignore him any longer I think.
Hows it that the cheetahs had Juries on the bench and never saw the need to use him…one of the best finishers in world rugby is left to rot on the bench.. Imagine teh cheethas today with one more finisher or game breaker…Stupidity ruins and reigns…
Dink nie die BIL gaan weer so harde wedstryd kry voor hul die Opkomende Bokke en die Bokspan speel nie.
Sharks en WP is lekker by die see, waar lugdruk nie ‘n probleem is nie. Sharks kort 10 bokke, en die WP, wel, die arme WP is net nie meer wat hul was nie, lank laaaaaaank gelede !
6 Jun 2009, 16:54 pm
Langkop – what’s it like to watch a proper fetcher play rugby? Not like that boy you’ve foolishly likened to Che Guevara.
#318 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Vulindlu had a good game 1st up, disappeared after that. He was crowd favourite but has not shown anything else… not enough game time to get picked…
Sharks will be a great game, but no rugby for close to a month won’t make it easy for the Sharks… I hear only 20 000 tickets have been sold too…
#306 Langenhoven: Dude I do agree Puke played well this S14 but his attitude and the kind of divide he would bring to the squad means I wouldn’t pick him 99%of the time. He is a bit of a tw@t if you really want to be honest. He walks around like someone blew air up his bottom…
Hard but true, even if it’s not a reflection on what has been probably his best performing year…
Clearly Brussouw was Man of the Match.
#327 Slumtown: What’s so dumb about it…substantiate
6 Jun 2009, 16:55 pm
#329 Big Hit: Well Big Hit I would say Worsley was completely outplayed today by Brussouw but agree with you, Lions dominated today I think the score wasn’t entirely fair and Barnes was abit harsh on his own countrymen…
#329 Big Hit: and you were hyping up Worsley big time…where’s Joe now? Was made to look invisible by Brussouw.
#320 wooden spoon: Interestingly Danie Gerber would put Jacques Fourie at 12 and Jean de Villiers at 13, backed up by Olivier and Jacobs respectively
I am sick an tired of useless refs!!!!
How can that last move be a penalty to the Lions???
Useless Barnes!!
Cheetahs won today! Fair and square
6 Jun 2009, 16:56 pm
#327 Slumtown:
dumb is all he knows..
#328 Slumtown: Me too. I thought WHAT!! Not Frans then checked and I typed the F. instead of the M. I mentioned M. Steyn in other posts not only today but during the week too. He is in great form and his kicking is spot on. MUST start. Ruan is pure class but not enough gametime in the S14. PdV would be daft not to start with M. Steyn and FH.
Kicking at posts cost the Cheetahs today. Thats what cost us the series in 1997. Only our kicking at posts.
If the Cheetahs had a slightly stronger scrum, better goal kickers and someone better than Bosman they’d be quite a decent team going by this performance.
Brussouw was awesome. Het lekker twee vingers gewys vir Snorre. Thought that Denwal also gave 100%; very unlucky not to have scored 2 tries. Die Staat was vandag baie ongelukkig om te verloor….and the Lions know it. Trust me. How many turnovers did they create? I can remember maybe 1 or two?
Die Bokke gaan hulle verkrag. Drie keer.
Vamos Pumas!
#317 Puma: Stats says that you are wrong…. and I am right
Well played game. Good Intensity. Is it just me or Is Barnes just inept. Didntunderstand half his rulings
6 Jun 2009, 16:58 pm
En…..baie belangrik, vandag het ook gewys die Lions hou nie van pressure nie. Hulle het baie gemiddeld gelyk teen n S14 span sonder sy Bokke. Nee wat, ek is nie bekommerd nie.
#340 Bagel: yes Worsley was done, not his best game. Credit to Brussouw good game.
#343 mellowyellow: how did they win? the breakdown law has been changed in May thanks to the Aussies/Kiwis. That was a penalty for holding on.
#343 mellowyellow: WEll we must know now how the All Blacks felt in that 1/4 final when he allowed that forward pass. Barnes not that good a ref.
Really we should always have neutral refs. Why a Brit ref reffing this game and last Sat a Saffa ref? Should not be allowed.
#352 Big Hit: I bet Worsley NOW know who Brussouw is…hahahahah.
6 Jun 2009, 16:59 pm
#337 goyougoodthing2: Seem to have captained the stormers with that attitude and changed their fortunes…winning captain??
Wat die Cheetahs self betref, was dit amper, maar nie goed genoeg nie.
1. hulle agterlyn en ‘runners’ is heeltemal te ver agter die voordeellyn (Leeus het hul meestemale agter die voordeellyn vasgevat)
2. Cheetahs moet maar hoop vir hul CB drome, dat Snorre nie vir Brussow kies vir die 3N nie, anders gaan hul sukkel, die ander losvoorspelers het nie opgedaag nie, dit was Brussow orals en alles.
3. daardie skepskop poging het misluk omdat hul te oorhaastig was, moes nog ‘n paar fases probeer het, dan was hy dalk daar.
4. JL Potgieter het ‘n af wedstryd gehad, jammer want hy skop gewoonlik goed.
5. Lynstane en skrums was ook nie te waffers nie, alhoewel Wian goed gelyk het, asook Adriaan.
One shouldn’t forget that was the Lions midweek team. They gave everyone a run out that didn’t get a start previously.
#350 poppa69: Barnes is one of the worst refs around!
#339 Langenhoven: You say Brussouw was brilliant and then go on about how Luke should have been picked?? Luke is not Brussouw and he doesnt have the ball ripping and tackling work rate of Brussouw. Apart form that he wont build team spirit with the Boks. I mean really – ok Luke played damn well this Super 14 but honestly -give credit where its due. If anyone should be picked it should be Brussouw. Botes is also a great player but I cant say he´s in the same league as Brussouw.
I do agree with you about Juries… they could have done with replacing one of the centres with him far earlier in the game or simply played him on wing and put JW Jonker who´s a natural centre at centre.
#354 Veltie: Worsley’s team won
6 Jun 2009, 17:00 pm
#357 Big Hit: One shouldn’t forget that even though it is their midweek team they are ALL TEST PLAYERS. Same can not be said for the Cheetahs. We saw some chinks in the B&I Lions today. Big ones. Breakdown being one of them.
6 Jun 2009, 17:01 pm
#350 poppa69: Barnes was fine. Most penalties came at scrum time where the Lions were well on top. He gave the Cheetahs many penalties too but they couldn’t kick them.
6 Jun 2009, 17:01 pm
#360 Big Hit: and? he lost his battle on the ground and he knows it. Were it not for 3 pentalty misses his teams would have gone down.
6 Jun 2009, 17:02 pm
Please don’t try to convince Langenhoven with rugby reasoning. He knows nothing about the sport (he is a soccer man). He only likes Luke because of his shared hatred for the ‘Dutchies’.
For all those saffas moaning about barnes. Perhaps now you’ll understand some of the frustrations us kiwis have
#357 Big Hit: That was 22 International players against a Team with only 2… with Brussouw having had 1 cap only….
Worry my dear fella…. worry
#355 Langenhoven: Not quite sure he changed their fortunes? Stormers are at best a team that plays for the individual and not the team. Luke plays like that and so does JDV, Bekker and the like.
Luke may have had a good season but remember outside of WP people want to kill him. Hell Schall senior wanted to lynch him…
He’s a bad seed unfortunately, and I wouldn’t want to play with him.
#349 Langenhoven: Yes you would say that. So not surprise. Give your self a little tap on the shoulder.
#350 poppa69: Good game. Pity about the missed kicks. Barnes is useless. Neutral refs should always be used.
#365 poppa69: Barnes was fine. Not too sh*t this way or that. Poor kicking lost us this game, not Barnes
6 Jun 2009, 17:03 pm
#357 Big Hit: Excuses boet, excuses, they’re all experienced internationals unlike the Cheetahs – Sheridan, Byrne, Hook, Earls, Williams, Worsley, POC. They’re experienced the pressure of test rugby. Brussouw has played a quarter of an international and he showed up a supposedly seasoned professional!
6 Jun 2009, 17:03 pm
#366 grootblousmile: Bleddie amper die game gewen, ou maat. Staat het n wen verdien… as hulle net bleddie beter kon skop!!!!!!!!
6 Jun 2009, 17:04 pm
Jeez, witn L here, I’m a sure gonner, …….again!
6 Jun 2009, 17:04 pm
Peter de Villiers has never said that he does not rate brussouw as a player
It is just that he does not believe in diminutive fetchers at test level.
The same as Jake White before him.
6 Jun 2009, 17:05 pm
#365 poppa69: Barnes isn’t that bad, he’s just a northern hemisphere pedantic Tintin lookalike. For real **** refs we have to look to Australians…
6 Jun 2009, 17:05 pm
#359 Slumtown: Stats says that Luke has done more in the S14 than brussouw with respect to fetching… and luke can cover 8.. But brussouw proved a point that small terriers can be more effective than big intimidating dumbos
6 Jun 2009, 17:06 pm
#366 grootblousmile: hehehe. Wish Brussouw was selected though. We do need gametime. Are we going to play against the Emerging Boks or what? Think I read that somewhere here. No gametime we are going to be under-cooked. They now play a under strength Sharks on Wed then think its the Stormers next. Not sure.
Just wish our Boks could play for the Sharks. Would have loved to have seen a full strength Sharks side play against them. That would have been interesting. Also a full Bulls side. Why are the Bulls not playing the Lions? All other unions are?
#371 Veltie: As dit nie vir Potgieter was nie en dat Wian te lank aan daai bal gehang het instede van vir Demas gee nie sou hulle dit gevat het. Hulle moes gewen het.
Stats don’t count for sh* t if you are not a team player.
#370 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: no excuses, we won!
I’m off to watch the England/Argentina game
peace
#371 Veltie: Aaaaaammmmppppoooorrrrrrrr !
6 Jun 2009, 17:07 pm
#323 Transformation: Why blame the cach??? The Cheetah’s started with some new combo’s in the s14, and with a terrible itinery, and with the same coach beat the Sharks, Crusaders, ran the BIL’s, the S14 Champs the Bulls close, and even did well against the Chiefs !!
So I fail to see logic, only your own dislike of the coach !
#365 poppa69: Barnes had a great game, best ref in die world.
#373 cris: I think the point people are making here is that PDV is particularly, acutely, out of his depth in this job. His ‘wisdom’ flies in the face of 99% of rugby people but sits favourably with politicians and people who can’t see beyond the ‘colour’ issues.
He’s really really useless, be honest.
#377 Slumtown: Staat was die beter span en die Leeus weet dit. Dit is vir my die lekker ding. Op die grond het hulle hulle gat gesien. sonder n spieel. Hulle is toe nie so grend soos hulle gedink het nie….Staat het my baie trots gemaak vandag.
6 Jun 2009, 17:08 pm
#378 wooden spoon: HEAR HEAR!!!!
#367 goyougoodthing2: People who want to kill him are mostly racist scum…which the country and SA rugby can do without…
GBS. In full agreement. Aussies are the worst. Still no internet at work. Keo you need to work on your phone software. It’s ridiculous. Have to refresh then download again each time.
6 Jun 2009, 17:09 pm
#373 cris: Well then they must be right? Hahaha he almost won the game for Cheetahs today so what does that say about Jake White and Snor? Dumb. With 7 massive players whats the difference having one smaller player. Obviously flawed thinking because you cant prove it really. The worry is not playing big guys, its playing an off form Burger.
#373 cris: The game has changed since, so we do need those guys getting stuck in there. Just look how good Brussouw was today?
#376 Puma: Bulls would have burried this Lions team by 50 points…
They were gifted their 2 tries…. facts
Maak die Bulle ALMAL Bokke !
Hehehe
Now I hope the Sharks Vodacom squad has a good hard game against these tossers….
6 Jun 2009, 17:10 pm
#381 Cheetah 4 Eva: Trrransie’s hatred for Naka Dropkick is well documented here. Trrransie thinks he’s a “quota white coach” who is inherently racist.
6 Jun 2009, 17:11 pm
#383 goyougoodthing2: I’ve got my issues with PDV… but if you are calling PDV out of his depth…then damn…who of the S14 coaches are better…
#386 Langenhoven: WTF is wrong with you? You are either stirring for a laugh or fell off the idiot tree.
Racists? You sound like someone with a chip on your shoulder mate, and people with chips on their shoulders are the ones ruining rugby, not the rugby people.
Wake up.
#386 Langenhoven: Oh so theyre racist scum but he is not after making disparaging remarks about the Afrikaners? Love the way racism always only seems to work in one direction. Lets face facts here – your race on the whole are very far from not being racist toward the black population and you can NOT tell me otherwise. The coloured community have always felt marginalised – during apartheid and now. And fair enough I say.. they have gotten the raw end of the stick quite often.
6 Jun 2009, 17:12 pm
#346 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Bosman is a good player, so I don’t know why you picking on him??
6 Jun 2009, 17:12 pm
#375 Langenhoven: Rubbish. I checked the stats out and they dont have any stats with regards to fetching which I thought was a huge oversight.
Ball carries, tackles etc are mentioned but turnovers won not. Also lets compare their tackle rates. hmmmm
6 Jun 2009, 17:13 pm
#350 poppa69: wayne barnes is a **** referee, remember the last game of the six nations this year? ****, he gave wales so many penalties!
#331 gunther: it was a question gunther?…
6 Jun 2009, 17:13 pm
#393 goyougoodthing2: Of course you know that Langenhoven is stirring. His first post today on the Cheetahs preview thread declared his intention to brawl today. He did just that with Pietman. Pietman got banned yet Roy didn’t have the moral conviction to do the same with this racist scumbag stirrer.
6 Jun 2009, 17:14 pm
#392 Langenhoven: Yes, I am officially calling Snor out of his depth. Who would I suggest in his place? Well Krusty the Clown is out of work I believe. At least when people laugh at him he does it intentionally.
The guy could be a school’s coach perhaps, not much more. He got a very lucky break in Dunedin which kept him looking respectable but the guy is a joke.
Well Done Lions. 3rd team came through under presure. Centres too light weight but wait until BOD and Roberts faces off aginst Div and Adi (with no rugby and suspect shoulder)? The Lions have 1 backline and 3 packs on this tour!
#365 poppa69: I understand mate. Mentioned it my post 353.
Also should be neutral refs all the time. Just that we would probably have to have the Aussie refs.
#384 Veltie: Ek stem saam. Hulle het ons almal trots gemaak vandag want hulle het hulle so bietjie korter gekap vandag na daai dof wedstryd teen die Leeus.
6 Jun 2009, 17:16 pm
All good Puma. No matter who refs, someone will always feel wronged. Shame, because the players try their guts out.
Gooooooooo Argies……………. fark the Poms up well and solid… please !
And actually I thought the refs today and on wednesday were both great! Well Done Craig and Wayne!
#393 goyougoodthing2: Let it go mate…this is a rugby site…Lmao… #394 Slumtown: you have chosed to categorise me…not a good idea mate…SPEAK TO THE INDIVIDUAL NOT THE SOCIAL CATEGORY…
Its a bit difficult, isn’t it…. especially if you have racist mindset
6 Jun 2009, 17:17 pm
#398 wooden spoon: Sad days then. I’ll ignore him then, no use arguing with that type.
Must say, would be great if Argentina could beat England
6 Jun 2009, 17:17 pm
eish giys when ar you gonna learn to ignore the likes of lilith , kakkenhoven, skopgat,************* dawn etc??
their rugby knowledge is zero…
they come in here and give a few stabs to get you argueing with them
let them babble away and just dont respont to trailor traish its that simple
6 Jun 2009, 17:18 pm
the irb player of the year was brilliant today wasnt he? threw a beautiful intercept got munched multiple times .
u gotta love him shane williams hahah
6 Jun 2009, 17:19 pm
Potgieter’s first game back from injury, and the rust showed, but the Cheetah’s looked much beter with him running the lines rather than Strydom, who I don’t ate at all!!!!!
6 Jun 2009, 17:20 pm
as for todays game brilliant fight back by the cheetahs
brussouw you have put pdv to shame today with that performance
sheridan again got away with murder in the srums as he either pulls down or pushes before the balls in and gains parrity
in that respect the ref was poor
other then that one of the better games i seen barbes handle
#390 grootblousmile: Jeez a full strength Bulls team would have walked it easy. I think a full strength Sharks team too. Our under strength Shark team I am not sure of. Are the Emerging Boks allowed to play for their franchise? If Rose was on the bench for Lions (I know he was taken off by PdV for reasons) but if he was there cant Deysel, Sykes and Botes play for Sharks? Just not sure.
#408 sharks_lover: Amen, they don’t exist anymore…
#405 Nightwalker: Craig Joubert needs to be strung up by his clitoris (i doubt he has balls). He likes the limelight and has lost the plot. Not today, but generally.
6 Jun 2009, 17:21 pm
#410 Cheetah 4 Eva: your team played damn well today congrats
6 Jun 2009, 17:21 pm
#408 sharks_lover: Or you could just talk about them and not to them. They hate that, can’t take it because they aren’t getting the direct confrontation they crave.
The only solution (and I’ve said this for months now) is for Langenhoven to be permanently banned. How many chances does he get to normalise himself? His aliases – Luke_is_king, DaOne, Cuito Carnivale, Shaun, and others have all been banned before. Why should we put up with depraved serial offenders like Langkop and Hater?
6 Jun 2009, 17:22 pm
#412 Puma: who knows lol guess we should know by monday as we play wednesday
#399 goyougoodthing2: His record is still better than JW’s…and yes he did win in Dunedin…and the EYOT… but his non selection of Luke raises issues about teh size of his balls…in that respect I do think that he is dumbing down to fit in…
#411 sharks_lover: Brussouw was superb. Should have been selected. Actually its a bloody shame that he was left out. Could have left out Bekker. Danie is there to cover. Brussouw should have got selected ahead of him I think.
Must say, after watching these 3 Lions games, they do appear to be playing it dirty. Not really in the spirit of it one would think but then I guess one can’t expect much more from the NH yobbos.
6 Jun 2009, 17:23 pm
#392 Langenhoven: All of them, and all of their assistants. PdV thinks that losing and winning are the same thing. A great team can carry a passenger coach for a while, but I think young Pieter is becoming rather heavy and its going to be difficult for the Boks. You could even argue that the provincial games are the harder ones for the Lions as they’re playing established teams with professional coaches, not a rag tag group selected by an idiot
#416 wooden spoon: stop acting like a girl…
sounds like this game was more exciting than the one sided Barbarians game.
6 Jun 2009, 17:24 pm
#407 goyougoodthing2: Doesn’t help talking to him.
Previous page he is comparing 46′s stats with Brussouw and stating the previous ones are much better.
Someone should mention to him that in rugby you don’t compare a No.6′s stats with a No’8.
#419 Puma: Bekker should NEVER have been picked. Mark my words he’s a one show pony.
Looking ahead for the Sharks… I can smell some fresh blood coming in the form of some Lions players… any guesses.
#416 wooden spoon: i told roy in the week he should check out pogo games or yahoo games and chat rooms
they have a mute / ignore system, and you click on the *** you want muted and on the ignore button
once you have done that he cant speak to you or vice versa
you cant even see what the idiot types
in that way its easier for you to solve the problem yourself instead of having to complain to keo all the time
6 Jun 2009, 17:25 pm
#417 sharks_lover: I hope that Deysel, Sykes and Botes can play. Otherwise it wont be that great a game to watch. We still have Muller, Rory, Keegan but who else?
I would have really enjoyed to see a full strength Sharks playing on Wednesday. That would have been very interesting game to see.
6 Jun 2009, 17:25 pm
Amazing how Brussouw in one season has reduced Watson to obscurity. At last, we have a world class fetcher to match McCaw, Smith and Waugh.
6 Jun 2009, 17:26 pm
#425 goyougoodthing2: Gauteng Lions I mean…
First off i must acknowledge those that have been promoting Brussow were quite right.
Absolutely brilliant, and after that performance if the selectors have not decided to have him on the bench for the first test, they are not only failing to give themselves a fallback option, but are ignorning an outstanding player in form.
As for the B&IL, they played a very stupid game.
The first 20 mins they never let the cheetahs or Brusow get a hand on it, they did this by keeping it tight, much like the Boks v Fiji.
However, as soon as Ferris went off, they loosened up and Brussow fed off the scraps quite brilliantly.
If the Lions had better ball control and discipline, it would have been a rout imo.
Finally, the ref. Mr Barnes that penalty at the end was blown so quickly and with so much certainty that i think gert bezuidenhout would have been proud of that one preventing the winning dropgoal effort from the homeside.
yeah puma boet brussouw showed today what a huge mistake the selectors have made in not calling him up
6 Jun 2009, 17:27 pm
#415 sharks_lover: Cheers ! I am happy, got a bit agitated with the last play, but considering Pottie’s 1st game back they did well. Good luck for Wed!
#391 wooden spoon:you’re talking k@k & you know it,”well documented” where? I’ll let you slide for this one
#367 goyougoodthing2: **** schalk burger snr who give’s hoot what he thinks?
#426 sharks_lover: Sounds like a great system. If you take away the soapbox they will stop coming here to preach their racism.
oh and very well done to the Cheetahs, a hugely gutsy effort.
i thought sheridan gave calldo and his replacement a torid time, but wiam du preez looked very good against murray.
6 Jun 2009, 17:28 pm
#421 Porto: You are obviously out of your depth here mate… come back later when I log off…The IQ level might subside… Loffie is a better coach??? LMAO
6 Jun 2009, 17:28 pm
#411 sharks_lover: Your comment on Sheridan’s scrum tactics is very pertinent. He has to do this to overcome his height, he gets called up North. But barnes is **** – for both sides.
6 Jun 2009, 17:29 pm
#433 Transformation: Trrransie, are you now saying you are a paid up member of Naka Dropkick’s fan club? If you don’t like him (which you clearly don’t) be a man and tell us all the REAL reason.
6 Jun 2009, 17:29 pm
#428 wooden spoon: I totally agree, but whats the point when the national selector ignores him?
6 Jun 2009, 17:30 pm
#433 Transformation: People who know rugby and not racism do…
You guys with your chips, it’s tired, really tired. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
6 Jun 2009, 17:31 pm
#438 wooden spoon: I wonder if the BNP have got to Langenhoven yet?
6 Jun 2009, 17:31 pm
#433 Transformation: WP rugby. He is very influential in business circles, you know the guys who actually sponsor rugby. Rupert is a personal friend (as in buddy).
6 Jun 2009, 17:32 pm
#438 wooden spoon: Not sure about Naka myself. Haven’t really seen much from him but he certainly has a passion for the team. But I also don’t really care
#432 Cheetah 4 Eva: thanks mate tc and have a great weekend
#439 Porto: It has no affect on me – but it must truly bite those that perhaps liken Watson to Che Guevara, their hero and matyr being reduced to insignificance… hehehehe.
6 Jun 2009, 17:33 pm
#442 Bul-a-Bhloo: And he makes a very good Pinotage
#427 Puma: Yes I think a full strength Sharks team would give the Lions a full go, as would the Bulls. Pity we couldn’t pick one of them with their coach to be the Bok team
#411 sharks_lover:
#437 SodaJoe:
I dont believe that is at all correct.
The lions are very wary of the fact that opposition THs in SA are either slipping their bind or not taking it at to prevent sheridan from getting any leverage.
This is the law and they’ve identified the refs to it.
Unless the SA tightheads learn how to bind properly they are going to get pinged.
When the did bind, sheridan was attacking the hell out of them.
#441 Porto: The BNP are a bunch of inbred morons. Their racism is no different to Langkop’s.
6 Jun 2009, 17:34 pm
#428 wooden spoon:
“Amazing how Brussouw in one season has reduced Watson to obscurity”
Obscurity is a strong word …. Are we not getting ahead of ourself?
If I remember correctly Watson outplayed Brussouw during their last head to head contest 3 weeks ago.
The debate will however only be theoretical as long as Snor is in charge as he will never drop Schalk .
1. Beast
2. Smit
3. CJ
4. Bakkies
5. Matfield
6. Brussouw
7. Smith
8. Spies
9. Du Preez
10. M.Steyn
11. Habana
12. Fourie
13. De Villiers
14. JP Pietersen
15. F.Steyn
16. Bismarck
17. Carstens
18. Pienaar
19. Roussouw
20. Olivier
21. Jacobs
22. Burger
In truth the score was a little flattering wih some narrow escapes on the goal line and opportunistic tries.
Cheaters scrum was murdered. Smit, Biz and Beast better front up.
The hookers job is to throw the ball in steaight to the line out – Bismark I hope you are working on it.
We’ve made a terrible mistake not having Brussow, but let’s not compound it with not choosing our best kicker, best (in squad) fullback.
The Lions make you tackle plenty, this is not a nice to have skill, we HAVE to make first time tackles, and make them hurt.
Fullback, wings, have to be able to catch, kick and tackle – the Lions play high ball rugby a lot.
6 Jun 2009, 17:35 pm
#445 wooden spoon: I missed that. Che Guava and Lucky Legs… ha ha ha ha ha ha ha… do these people know what a murderer Che was? Not exactly the kind of guy you want as a best mate. He’d eat your liver…
And Idi Amin would have made an awesome Nursery School Teacher
6 Jun 2009, 17:35 pm
#437 SodaJoe: thanks but seriously it was very clear sheridon got away with murder
i watched some games in the heiniken cup etc and bj gave sheridan carrots
he got under sheridan and gave him hell
so i have no doubt BJ should have been chosen with smitty at hooker
boks would have whipped the lions scrum
6 Jun 2009, 17:36 pm
#425 goyougoodthing2: Agree about Bekker. Just wish it was a full strength Sharks team.
#431 sharks_lover: Also in our Emerging Boks is Vulindlu. So it would be Sykes, Botes, Deysel and Vulindlu back if they are allowed to play. Then we still have Rory and Muller. Just have to see how we do with out the other 10.
6 Jun 2009, 17:37 pm
#449 wooden spoon: Thats my point
Kuun should be in the Emerging Boks. He is a live-wire player who had an outstanding season. Always dangerous and on the ball.
#451 sglazer: good team , i would only have preferred bj to cj . comes first in the alphabet anyhows
but bj stronger in the scrums
other then that solid team , oh and jean is a 12 and fourie a 13
6 Jun 2009, 17:38 pm
The boks have never whipped any of the British Isles scrum in a decade, since when are they going to start beating Sheidan and Murray, get serious.
#451 sglazer: Bud. You know as well as anyone that CJ & Brussow are not in the squad.
1. Beast
2. Biz
3. Smit
4. Bakkies
5. Matfield
6. Burger
7. Smith
8. Spies
9. Du Preez
10. M.Steyn
11. Habana
13. Fourie
12. De Villiers
14. JP Pietersen
15. F.Steyn
16. Guthro
17. Carstens
18. Roussouw
19. Bekker
20. Pienaar
22. Olivier
23. Jacobs
#440 goyougoodthing2: I ama Luke Watson fan…so therefore I got a chip on my shoulder??? How’d you get there… Luke and myself Share Values…not skin colour or any other categorisation you may wish to come up with….
#446 goyougoodthing2: What label? I will support him.
#455 Puma: Vulindlu should not have been picked yet. He had one okay game where the crown gave him MOM award that was not deserved… pushing kids before they are ready is such a common thread in SA rugby…
And to be honest… after all the things I have said about Frans Steyn… I now feel for the kid. He is going to be messed around AGAIN i can see it.
#450 cris: As a number 6 Watson is good, no doubt about it. Excels at S14 level. But Brussouw is better. Today he has shown he can outplay international players.
[PS that post was largely to rev up a certain blogger in our current company who has a crush on Watson]
#455 Puma: we dont know that boet as the emerging players were allowed to play for the lions last wednesday
so i reckon they allowed to play
6 Jun 2009, 17:39 pm
#458 sharks_lover: i alway prefer a BJ…..
6 Jun 2009, 17:39 pm
#458 sharks_lover: I’m with you. It’s a toss-up for me between BJ and CJ.
Danie Gerber makes a good point (as one would expect): he says that Fourie should be 12 because he’s stronger on his feet and can get the 13 away off the tackle. He feels someone like De Villiers would cause havoc at 13 with the extra space. I think he’s right.
6 Jun 2009, 17:40 pm
#440 goyougoodthing2:no chips over here mate’ i’ve never suffered my whole life, don’t know what you’re on about…
#438 wooden spoon: just don’t say things i’ve never said, i know how the value of propaganda on this site…it’s like credit in a recession – valuable commodity…keep it clean…
#459 cab: Boet with the guys in the squad I have to agree.
#460 SodaJoe: I like your spacing
6 Jun 2009, 17:41 pm
#403 poppa69:
Agree.
#447 Porto: Agree there. Yip, pity about our national coach. Lets hope he does not mess up. Should have selected Brussouw. Just pleased we still have senior players there. Think they will play their own game if it all goes wrong.
6 Jun 2009, 17:42 pm
#455 Puma:
Puma, Bekker is a future superstar and will never be left out of a Springbok 22.
Can you remember him ever letting the team down either when coming on as a reserve or when starting?
6 Jun 2009, 17:42 pm
#467 sglazer: I’m not so sure. But it’s conjecture anyway.
Adi & Jacque are both excellent in space, bot also crate space – albeit in different ways, power vs guile.
6 Jun 2009, 17:43 pm
#465 sharks_lover: Well then our team wont be too bad. Just those 10 players out would have been awesome.
#470 sglazer: I am a cut an paste genius.
#453 goyougoodthing2: No they don’t…. but if your ignorance takes you that conclusion…you going to be siting in a lonely corner for much of teh rest of your life… I think you frequent the Neo Nazi websites to often
6 Jun 2009, 17:44 pm
#472 cris: I’d rather have Daniesaurus Rossouw as back up lock than Bekker. He offers more grunt.
#466 Veltie:
#472 cris: Not sure if he will be A SUPERSTAR
We was awful for the Stormers this year. Lucky to get selected.
#461 Langenhoven: Share values? sounds like you know him well. I’m not that keen on Watson but from what I’ve seen of your writing under your various disguises, I’d be surprised if he shared your values
#466 Veltie: I prefer BJ… my wife prefers CJ
Hahaha
#471 Puma: We have 22 players who can win.
My total anxiety is relative to piking those 22.
Piet Snor can make himself a legend with the players at his command.
6 Jun 2009, 17:45 pm
#477 wooden spoon: Agree 100% Danie never lets the team down ever.
6 Jun 2009, 17:45 pm
#481 grootblousmile: Both are good.
6 Jun 2009, 17:46 pm
#481 grootblousmile: HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA! goeie een! Hierdie leeus IS toe so nie so grend soos hulle dink nie.
#477 wooden spoon: Oom Danie is better than Bekker in every single aspect of the game, including line out work.
he is significantly better scrummager, loose forward and my bet is he would be a better flyhalf than Groot Bek too.
#462 Bul-a-Bhloo: Welbedacht (sp?) Fine wines…
6 Jun 2009, 17:47 pm
#483 Puma: trust me sykes is the new superstar lock
that kid is making a name for himself bigtime
6 Jun 2009, 17:47 pm
15 JP Pietersen
14 Nokwe
13 Jacobs
12 De Villiers
11 Habana
10 Rose
9 Januarie
8 Spies
7 Smith
6 Burger
5 Matfield
4 Botha
3 Smit
2 Chilliboy
1 Beast
What are the odds?
6 Jun 2009, 17:48 pm
#449 wooden spoon: If I make you look like a fool…its not because I am a racist..its because I have insight
#485 Veltie: Nee hulle issie so goed nie… Snorrie moet nou net mooi raakvat met sy keuses.
#477 wooden spoon:
I agree he offers more grunt but during the last 20 minutes athletic ability could even be more important.
I would have both on the bench.
#471 Puma: Yes they’ve done that before, against Scotland if I remember correctly. But that was my earlier point, a great team can ignore the coach for a period of time, but eventually it starts to go awry. On the one hand I hope they can do well despite the coach, but on the other hand, in the long run, it might not be a bad thing if they get beaten, if that resulted in this national embarrassment getting fired!
#472 cris: Well there are a lot of coaches in South Africa who think Bekker is a one show pony.
And by coaches I mean real coaches not pretend political moon pointers
#489 wooden spoon: jy sal my nagmerries gee met daai losskakel van jou.
6 Jun 2009, 17:49 pm
#482 SodaJoe: Joe, With these players Boks should have been dominating since last year but have not. Its his selections and gameplan. Hope he learns from his mistakes last year.
Then where is Brussouw? Not even selected.
Lets see who is in the starting 22. Rose wont be as he is playing for the Emerging Boks on the 23rd. Probably will play for the Boks after that.
Who will play FB? Still think its going to be JPP and Nokwe or Odwa on the wing. WE NEED JPP to mark SW. DAMN hope that PdV can see that. Nokwe has huge speed but he does not tackle. I would just play F. Steyn there now. Or even M. Steyn if Ruan plays FH. We need a kicker and that is a definite.
#467 sglazer:BJ struggled this morning against the aussies…he is not the yster some make him out to be…he’s technically good though…
#480 Porto: Like I said…come back later when the blog dumbs down a bit
6 Jun 2009, 17:50 pm
#475 SodaJoe: I see that. Very impressive [s].
#490 Langenhoven: weet jy shaun, ek sal genuine geniet om n koffie/bier/whiskey saam met jou the nuttig. Net om te sien of jy regtig insig het of net vol k*k is. Ek is volgende week in London; laat weet of jy sou belangstel…
#489 wooden spoon: Unfortunately a lot better than your more sane first team post.
6 Jun 2009, 17:51 pm
#479 Puma:
It is not correct to say he was bad in the Super 14.
He missed more than half of the competition due to injury.
Do you remember his comeback game against the Highlanders?
Dominated the lineouts and even saved the match with a try saving tackle.
Future superstar indeed
6 Jun 2009, 17:52 pm
#487 goyougoodthing2: Thanks. Will check at tops and crack one tomorrow with the rump.
#497 Transformation: CJ is more agile as well
#493 Porto: Well I hope that they don’t lose the series. Remember Juan saying after that game against the Scots last year that the Senior players just decided to play their own game. So just think if they are there and it starts to go wrong they may do it again.
Think no matter what we are stuck with PdV until 2011. He needs to get it right. Selections will cost us and if he has a game plan like last year then we are done. Smitty and Victor just have to take over on the field.
#480 Porto: BTW…my many disguises????…LMAO..and I am the only one blogging under my real name… damn..How doff are you???
6 Jun 2009, 17:53 pm
#498 Langenhoven: Running out of anything logical to say?
#486 SodaJoe:
No ways.
Bekker is a much better lineout jumper than Oom Danny
And a better centre…..
I’d say as South African’s and most probably most rugby lovers, that we are seeing the end days of national teams being the best and the time of the Super Clubs.
Bulls, Sharks etc are better to watch than what looks like a political Protea Rugby Team.
Same up north. I’d rather pay to watch a franchise team picked on merit and run like a business than a bunch of players picked for reasons other than merit.
Any day of the week I would support that more. Sad days for the purist but in a way good days for great rugby.
6 Jun 2009, 17:54 pm
#506 Langenhoven: I like it when the insults start coming! ooooooooohhhhhh!
#502 cris: Just hope he does not drift off and play on the wing your superstar
Danie is way better and dependable.
Fark! If only we had kicked our penalties over……….
#496 Puma: Bud. Seriously there is nothing wrong with Piet’s gameplan.
I believe that our one-dimensional style won us very little bar a RWC – which is pretty much 2 years ago.
I am just shocked that PdV could not see that a solid scrum platform, a great fetcher and safe hands and feet at the back would not enable him to declare himself the most successful coach in recent Springbok history.
Not only does he have foot in mouth disease, he also has shoot yourself in the foot disease.
Here is the team i feel should be chosen for first test
I for one have no problem if the flyhalf is ruan or morne , neither will let the team down
15 F steyn
14 JPP
13 J Fourie/adi
12 JDV / WO
11 habana
10 ruan / morne
09 fourie
08 spies
07 juan
06 burger
05 matfield
04 bakkies
03 smit
02 bismark
01 beast
16 guthro and not chilli purely as i thik smit can cover hooker if bismark got injured etc thus we can have an extra prop on the bench in carstens
17 carstens as he is the only other TH in the squad
18 russouw
19 kanko
20 morne / ruan if ruan starts and fourie gets injured ruan can still cover scrummy and if ruan is on bench same thing , cover 09 and 10
21 adi/ fourie depends on pdv plans who he starts with
22 wo / jean same thing depends on pdv
adi can cover wing as can jean and jpp cann cover FB if steyn got injured with for example adi moving to wing or jean
6 Jun 2009, 17:55 pm
I have difficulty putting together a really strong team without Brussouw in it
6 Jun 2009, 17:56 pm
#511 Puma:
We will talk later during the season again.
You will become a fan, it might just take a bit of time
#497 Transformation: Actually I agree with you. CJ is better imo – the Bok 3 of CJ, Biz and Beast was very solid. I have seen our 3 with BJ shunted.
#505 Puma: Problem is: we can;t ever fire Snor, no matter what. He could pick a team made up of Zuma’s concubines and we would have to keep him because firing the first ‘black’ coach for underperformance would say the very thing that they don’t want.
Unfortunately it’s not about the colour of his skin, it’s about the fact he isn’t up to the job. If it really has to be a person of colour, it should have been Chester.
6 Jun 2009, 17:57 pm
#508 cris: I will agree that Bekker is a better center.
#514 sharks_lover: Thanks. Gurthro ahead of Carstens. I forgot about him. I would put him ahead of Beast in the starting lineop. He’s technically better from greater experience.
#500 Veltie: Listen here mate…People pay to be in my company…Companies pay top dollar for my services…and you think that you can just walk in and demand my time… I will give you a discount price…£600 plus vat per day or any part thereof…
6 Jun 2009, 17:58 pm
#515 sglazer:
Maybe they can select him as a ball boy.
He is short enough
#515 sglazer: You’d have a problem putting a World 15 togther without Brussouw in it.
#517 SodaJoe: and i have seen cj fold way more and give away a shitload of penalties
i agree with most mate but cj is a penalty freak lol
6 Jun 2009, 17:59 pm
#518 goyougoodthing2: But Chester was a huge failure at the Cats – didn’t even last a full season…
6 Jun 2009, 17:59 pm
#518 goyougoodthing2: Some of Zoomers concubines look like they could do a good job at 3 and we are a bit light there.
Actually maybe not. If Fatty Januarie is on the bench he covers 9, and 3.
6 Jun 2009, 18:00 pm
#513 SodaJoe: Game plan? I haven’t seen it yet
#520 sglazer: hell no glazer
beast is far better in scrums
**** go watch bulls games again and see guthro get his head shoved into his own *** lol
highlanders , tahs john smit whipped guthro
no mate sorry
#521 Langenhoven: gedink jy is vol k*k. Kan dit na ure ook maak as jy wil. Jy is mos lief vir debateer? Hier gee ek jou nou die gulde geleentheid buite die anonimiteit van n blog. Gesig to gesig. Op n ernstige noot, ek dink mens kan n baie meer ordentelike gesprek he met die mens ipv die ideologie. Bal in jou baan. Use it, don;t use it…
#522 cris: At least he would be on the field
#510 Porto: You do enough damage to yourself mate…but if you choose to lower yourself expect to be trodden on
#521 Langenhoven: Aren’t you just a quantity surveyor?
6 Jun 2009, 18:01 pm
#524 sharks_lover: What I would give for the second coming of Hempies Du Toit.
#521 Langenhoven: …and by the way…never demanded. I extended an invitation. Learn the difference.
#521 Langenhoven: Hee hee hee
Veltie, mooi man. You called his bluff.
to me the only stronger loosehead in SA then beast is heinke van der merwe i think
well used to be stronger , i know though that beast has made huge strides
6 Jun 2009, 18:02 pm
#533 SodaJoe: eish boet lol a stronger fugger he was
#513 SodaJoe: Well then his selections will cost us Joe. No out and out fetcher. We need that with the game he wants to play. Also no proper FB. Why not Zane or even Stefan for the Lions tour? He has also shifted John to TH? Thats all crazy.
Though watching John against the Landers sort of made me relax a bit. Think with Bakkies at his back we could be fine there. Hoping. I would have left John at hooker. For me he is our best hooker. I prefer him to Bissie and also his throw-ins are way better. Well no use going on of who should be there. They are selected now hope he just selects the correct 22 on Monday.
Needs someone to teach him to talk in public. Most big business do that. Would never allow someone like that to talk to the public. He does embarrass us a lot.
#525 wooden spoon: What difference would it make… that’s my point.
Seriously, if you were offered the job as Bok coach, would you pick Garry Glitter and **** ‘Media Man’ Muir as your number 2s?
That shows some very very weird thought patterns
#528 sharks_lover: I hear you. I think you’re right in the scrums. But I think Beast is more an individualist in general field play at present. Gurthro is always there, on the ball.
6 Jun 2009, 18:03 pm
#532 wooden spoon: #532 wooden spoon: Commercial management consultant specialising in FM contracts…. Might as well sell myself properly…
#527 Porto: Did you watch the last England game? Last Aussie game. Come on bud, be fair.
And we have to be honest – we lose a ton more than we win against those that count.
And looking at my Francois Pienaar Madiba poster doesn’t make it better.
Winning and losing are about today not yesterday.
#531 Langenhoven: #531 Langenhoven: Yeh your probably right. Bye for now
6 Jun 2009, 18:04 pm
#526 SodaJoe: Don’t mention that little fatty can’t pas right quota selection
6 Jun 2009, 18:05 pm
#528 sharks_lover: Agree. Beast is our best loosehaed, and his scrumming this year is exceptional.
Guthro is not a great scrummager. But simply brilliant in the tight loose. Second highest tackle count in the Bulls apparently. Great impact player.
#406 Langenhoven: I was trying to illustrate a point. And categorisation is a fact of life. A car is a car and a motorbike is a motorbike. Its a way of communicating. If things didnt have names it would make it very difficult talking about them wouldnt it. So you can see the “categorisation” in a negative light or as a simple matter of fact. I´m white/ European whatever you call it and thats a simple fact. We are talking about ideas here. And no I dont have a racist mindset. It does however seem obvious you do.
#542 Langenhoven: our businesses not too different either. I think we might have lots to talk about…
6 Jun 2009, 18:06 pm
#532 wooden spoon: Don’t be a doos. It keeps coming back. Let it go away now. It makes me scroll too much.
6 Jun 2009, 18:06 pm
#546 SodaJoe: Beast is far better than Gurthro. He also has the added advantage of being “ethnic” which is ironic seeing as he is Zibabwean.
6 Jun 2009, 18:07 pm
…………….so close………..
Well done Cheetahs!!
6 Jun 2009, 18:08 pm
#541 sglazer: both good in the loose mate but a prop must scrum first before the flair
#549 SodaJoe: Apologies, I was starting to fall back into the trap. If you don’t leave food out in the kitchen you won’t have any annoying flies.
Commercial management consultant facilities management?
What is that, same as the old caretaker / handyman?
The oke who got a rent free flat for his efforts in taking stains out the aunties toilet bowls.
6 Jun 2009, 18:09 pm
#539 Puma: I really rate Mackintosh the Landers loosie (with Heyman & Big Mac the AB’s gonna be formidable in 2011) but Smitty handled him big time. If not moered him, close.
6 Jun 2009, 18:09 pm
#550 wooden spoon: He needs to develop his passing
6 Jun 2009, 18:10 pm
Smit is actually quite decent at tighthead. Think he will surprise his constant detractors.
6 Jun 2009, 18:10 pm
#534 Veltie: Still getting it wrong mate…you request an audience..not extend an invitation and I will decide if I want too…My website tells you all you need to know…I don’t share my time with a nobody…Lets find out who you are…real name please
6 Jun 2009, 18:11 pm
Interestingly the people that hold the majority of ‘Administration’ posts in SA rugby don’t look like they’ve ever touched a rugby ball. They do, however, look like Januarie… they are fat too.
Possibly that is one of the problems with rugby here
#554 Bul-a-Bhloo: ag not you as well Baloo.
#518 goyougoodthing2: Agree, PdV really is not up to it. Also like P. Treu with the 7′s. I know the game is different but even he would be 100% better than PdV. P. Treu speaks well too.
I know we will be stuck with PdV until 2011 and even maybe longer. Maybe with Plum there working with them on the breakdowns it will help a bit. Hoping.
I just think if they play brilliant and win its the senior players. Once they are gone thats it we will be down to 6th or even worse again and we have brilliant talent coming out from everywhere at the moment. We should be dominating.
Anyway lets see how it goes. We could win 3/0 or 2/1 or lose 0/3 or 1/2.
Anyway cant wait for the Tests. Should be great. Think a lot more Brits will arrive this weekend. Will probably see a lot down in Durban this week. The weather now is awesome except for today it was overcast.
#556 sglazer: But it is a rare beast that an cover 9 & 3.
Or should I have said “his annual early season detractors” because Smit keeps proving them wrong year after year.
Heinrich Brussow take a bow!
What a performance!
O’Connell says they went to sleep, but in reality Brussow caused havoc!
6 Jun 2009, 18:12 pm
#558 Langenhoven: It does not surprise me that no one shares time with you.
6 Jun 2009, 18:12 pm
#560 SodaJoe: Oeps sorry. Zip, nada, done.
6 Jun 2009, 18:13 pm
#555 SodaJoe: We smashed them in the scrum that day. After seeing that I felt a lot better believe me. So have a feeling we will be fine there. Just hope no injuries.
6 Jun 2009, 18:13 pm
OK. Brussow made a point.
Zane up to you.
I have to go and buy some dop.
Raining here, so no good reason to do any chores.
Have a great weekend guys. See you through the window.
6 Jun 2009, 18:14 pm
#564 Sheriff: Hello Sheriff. Agree with you 100%.
#561 Puma: Think you are right. Can’t wait for the Sharks game this Wednesday.
As for the tests, could be fun if we play Rose, after all, what’s better than beating the POms? Having your sister beat them LOL.
#558 Langenhoven: rvdhorst1@hotmail.com Klap my n epos sou jy belangstel. Requesting an audience/extending an invitation to share a beverage..all teh same my man. Playing with words not going to get you anywhere. Vir duidelikheid onthalwe, sou jy wou debateer/gesels/net n dop n deel, laat my weet as jou kalender dit toelaat. ek noem dit n uitnodiging. Aanvaar dit, of los dit. Jou keuse.
6 Jun 2009, 18:15 pm
#565 SodaJoe: SODA! Obey your own rules. Don’t feed the m* nkey unless you want it to keep coming back for bananas!
#521 Langenhoven: Man youre full of yourself. Who cares what job you do and how much you earn? Its who you are as a person that counts.
#568 SodaJoe: Cheers Joe, Enjoy your weekend. Hope you get some good red wine there.
Guys, enjoy your evening… outta here
6 Jun 2009, 18:16 pm
#513 SodaJoe:
PDVs vision of rugby is insane. Jakes approach only needed some tweaking. Like Eddie Jones said, nobody plays rugby like what PDV talks. He doesnt have a clue. Last year he had the best team in the world with the most depth South Africa has ever had and he blew it. There is a lot wrong with our rugby under PDV, and the panic appointment of Plumptree (a good idea I must say) shows he’s feeling the heat. Our back play under PDV has (with two exceptions) been pathetic under real pressure. Aimless and ineffective. It was Jeans miracle breaks that kept us sort of afloat. I’d rather have had Jakes “one domensional” rugby that PDVs purple haze style rugby, the one that has the whole world laughing at us.
2 final points.
I am a hypocrite. Sorry about 565. Door too wide open. I apologize.
Bekker, Kanko, Rose, Nokwe need to do the honorable thing and turn their ankles and pull their hamstrings during practise.
#570 goyougoodthing2: Yip, Cant wait for Wed too. Just really wish it was a full strength team but it wont be. Still should be great.
Ag, we have Rose so just have to live with it. He may surprise us
6 Jun 2009, 18:17 pm
#547 Slumtown: You called me coloured… it was category created by fearful men… I have written on racism and presented sound arguments about definition and practice… Go to my website and present your arguments there…Please don’t trivialise racism…I hate that. To many people have died and suffered under it…
6 Jun 2009, 18:17 pm
I’m also outta here. Later.
6 Jun 2009, 18:18 pm
#569 Puma:
He changed the momentum of the game single-handedly and gave a clue to the Bok management how they should approach the Lions.
The sad part of course is that, he himself is the man who should be doing it for the Boks. But he is not there, not now anyway.
It was also interesting that whenever the Cheetahs upped the pace it caused problems.
The one thing we have not seen is a team who can put in the big hits. Perhaps the Sharks can.
#573 Slumtown: They asked… and I am not going to sell myself short
#576 Alucard: Well said. Final comment from me tonight…
Bringing in Plumtree shows another thing too… that **** Muir didn’t have a clue what he was doing as Sharks coach… PLUMTREE did…
I hope this becomes clear to any of you who think **** knows anything about being a coach…
He is, like his big bossman Snor, a muppet. But one who loves being in the limelight.
6 Jun 2009, 18:19 pm
#577 SodaJoe: Add to your list who should get injured Januarie, but take Kanko off the list.
I would not bat ane eyelid if Rose & Langbek were injured in practice…
6 Jun 2009, 18:20 pm
#583 goyougoodthing2: It’s clear you have an issue with Muir. Something personal?
6 Jun 2009, 18:21 pm
#579 Langenhoven:
The only thing I wonder is this: what trauma or bad experience caused this obsession with self?
I detect a deficit in affirmation hence the constant self-promotion.
Shaun, the key to your personal freedom is to accept yourself.
Once you’ve done that, you will look at your post and VOMIT.
#571 Veltie: wrong attitude mate…los dit… I choose my company not you..
On a blog you just switch off.
In a pub you could get moered.
I understand the reluctance.
6 Jun 2009, 18:22 pm
#585 wooden spoon: Put it this way I know him and I know his mates.
Rugby is a means to an end for them, it’s about the glory of being a Legend if you get my drift. Can’t stand them. Not many people at the Sharks shed a tear when he left either.
6 Jun 2009, 18:23 pm
#589 goyougoodthing2: Hmmm. Very interesting.
6 Jun 2009, 18:23 pm
#587 Langenhoven: wrong attitude? I extended an invitation quite a few times. you chose not to accept it. Maar nou ja, if you can;t back up your opinions here in person, I am forced to doubt your conviction in the first place. You have my contact details should you choose to use it.
6 Jun 2009, 18:24 pm
#590 wooden spoon: Why is that?
6 Jun 2009, 18:26 pm
#579 Langenhoven: I´m not trivialising racism. I´m saying that naming a thing is not necessarily a racist act. And if youre not coloured or of colour then what are you? Of no specific ethnic origin? Is it not part and parcel of being human to have pride in your roots? Saying I called you coloured sounds like I intentionally tried to insult you which I did not. Many people in the cape are proud to call themselves coloured – are they simply racially indoctrinated to accept the fact or is there something beyond your negative view of the term? Its all a matter of the way you look at the thing. Therein lies the power of true racism – that people become ashamed of what they are. Not naming things is simply too complicated – I have said before – its a means of defining things to communicate. In an idealist world things would never be categorsied but as with everything categorisation has pros and cons. Its never a simple argument.
6 Jun 2009, 18:26 pm
#592 goyougoodthing2: I’m a Sharks fan from 1000 miles away. It’s interesting hearing people’s opinions from Durban. You pick up none of this otherwise.
6 Jun 2009, 18:27 pm
#593 Slumtown: How about Beige? Is that acceptable?
6 Jun 2009, 18:28 pm
#594 wooden spoon: cool!
cheers all
6 Jun 2009, 18:29 pm
#582 Langenhoven: In fact if you read back at that stage Veltie had not asked what you do. You were the one who was throwing figures per hour around and crowing about how important you are and how people pay to be in your company. Youre a sad human being my friend. And you cant handle an intelligent answer to your bickering.
6 Jun 2009, 18:30 pm
#586 Sheriff: Let me Help you sheriff… I want to help….what is your real name first.. so that we can talk man to man…
6 Jun 2009, 18:32 pm
#388 Slumtown: SA’s obsession with size continues…the size of players are inconsequential to me – its about their strength and skills – Brussouw put some big tackles in and was terrorised the breakdown. He’s a flanker much in the same mould as McCaw, in fact he could be SA’s answer to King Ritchie! He made seasoned internationals look ordinary and he only has one cap and what 14 mins game time against England? Pretty impressive, just imagine how much better he would be after numerous 3N campaigns!
6 Jun 2009, 18:33 pm
#595 goyougoodthing2: Well now if I said off white I could understand offence being taken. Once you have to start trodding around certain words and being careful of offending people it becomes a joke. In america a black person is either offended unless theyre called african american or chooses to call himself (and thus trivialise the racist term) ****** as in the slang my ******. So who knows – people of the same race differ in what they prefer to be called. Its a no win argument on these topics because everyone always has a different spin on it.
Cream might be seen as a rather classy term.
6 Jun 2009, 18:35 pm
#599 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Couldnt agree more. This thinking that you have to have huge forwards is maybe sound when it comes to scrumtime but apart from scrums of what service is it if theyre lumbering around? Spies is a definite exception to the rule.
6 Jun 2009, 18:36 pm
okay i see we’re diverting to the zumas of this world, so much for a rugby blog…
6 Jun 2009, 18:37 pm
#601 Transformation: indeed…refusing to engage in debate…lol
6 Jun 2009, 18:38 pm
#597 Slumtown:
It is an unhealthy relationship with the self.
He is by no means alone. Many many people in the world journey through life trying to compensate for deep feelings of inadequacy, call it the victim mentality if you like.
The easiest way to identify it is to see when someone tell you: I am a proud this or that. It is an attempt to remind the self ” I’m ok, I make the grade ”
Therefore it is primitive or a definite sign of underdevelopment (emotionally at least) to be obsessed with race or physical appearance.
The healthy person will always give the other person the benefit of the doubt and allow the person the space to be him/herself (within reason!)
“Himself/herself” I’ll define as that part which manifest the uncontaminated/natural personality
6 Jun 2009, 18:38 pm
#597 Slumtown: Lets chat…The blogger talks down to me…Fk him…he needs to know that that is not the way its going work…Nobody talks down to me… .I need him to know that I am top of the food chain and unless he has a better record of fighting racism he will need to wait his turn to sit in my company… If Fidel Castro or Barack Obama gave me an invitation to meet with them then I will jump…now if he is not in that category then he can fkoff
6 Jun 2009, 18:39 pm
#598 Langenhoven:
My name is John Johnson.
6 Jun 2009, 18:40 pm
And hopw is this british press take on the game? Hows this for bias?
Yet the penalties that should have come from there didn’t. Instead, the Cheetahs spoiled and screwed and popped and lay at every ruck and breakdown, bringing the game down to a undistinguished dogfight.
LAY AT EVERY RUCK???? ahaha surely theyre talkign about Joe Worsley?
Title of the article is the Lions make it 3 from 3. Very flattering title when it was really a hanging on by the skin of the teeth to take the win.
#581 Sheriff: Agree there. I hope the Sharks can Sheriff, only its a 2nd Sharks team. 10 of the Boks that wont be playing. So its a under strength team. Just hope that the Emerging Boks from the Sharks can play.
#604 Langenhoven: to avoid confusion..you referring to me in that post?
6 Jun 2009, 18:41 pm
Fidel Castro????? What a bad apple.
6 Jun 2009, 18:43 pm
#608 Veltie: The ******* are back in the Watermelon garden, ignore!
6 Jun 2009, 18:44 pm
#588 Bul-a-Bhloo: Are you threatening me with violence or is Veltie doing so…I don’t know your name is mate…talk for yourself…Do you honestly believe that you can beat me up or get somebody to do it for you…You hide behind a keyboard mate not me…what are you scared of…
Gents, really just wanted to recognise Brussow’s performance tonight.
Enjoy the rest of the evening fellas!
I am off gents. Shuan, i extend the invitation again to share a beverage as and when your schedule allows. you have my contact details, should you choose to use it.
freestate unlucky today, maar nou ja. so loop hy maar.
goed gaan kerels.
6 Jun 2009, 18:45 pm
#610 AB Bullsbok: The B aboons are back in the Watermelon garden, ignore!
6 Jun 2009, 18:45 pm
#608 Veltie: You read well mate… so how do you measure up to Barack or Fidel
6 Jun 2009, 18:46 pm
#610 Langenhoven: no threats from my side at all. merely an invitation to debate on a different forum to this blog. anyway, keep well.
6 Jun 2009, 18:46 pm
#606 Slumtown: Now just wished that one of the Cheetahs kicks went over. They just cant take it that a team that was bottom of the S14 log out played them today and should have won. 9 points missed from kicks. Their press as bad as the Aussies.
Anyway Holland beat them in the open of the 20/20 world cup on their home turf last night..hehehe. HOLLAND!!!!!!! The bookies had Holland at 500 to 1 to win. They got the 162 that England put on. And little Holland got it. Big total to chase down but they made it on the last ball.
6 Jun 2009, 18:47 pm
#600 Slumtown: Yep, this is where the ABs really excel – their forwards are powerful but also mobile and skilled.
Brussouw also showed himself to be a decision-maker, kicking the ball out at half time was probably the right thing to do.
Earning 600 pounds a day for your company is no-where near the top of the food chain. A car salesman could do that for his company at any popular make or brand in South Africa.
Tying himself up in knots……
#605 Langenhoven: Hahaha well said Shaun. The more you open your mouth the more ridiculous you sound. So youre of such high quality that you would only deign to meet Barack Obama or Fidel Castro? Who says they would want to meet with you? Heheh maybe youre the insignificant nobody to them. No my friend its a vicious circle categorising yourself above other people. You should be content with speaking to the humblest beggar becaus none of us know why the hell we´re here. The startting point of true greatness is humility and being able to look up at the stars and seeing yourself within the big picture… an insignificant speck. Dont kid yourself Shaun.
#614 Langenhoven: do not know Fidel well at all and would not measure up to Barack very well, lol. Very good politician, which I am not. Very sad that you choose to hide behind your website and this blog as opposed to engaging with a fellow human beign in debate…which you yourself promote so much…what a joke.
6 Jun 2009, 18:48 pm
#611 Sheriff: Cheers Sheriff.
6 Jun 2009, 18:48 pm
#605 Sheriff: I will check that out…If you are in the police services.. I will know… I am connected
6 Jun 2009, 18:50 pm
#618 Bul-a-Bhloo: Its actually not big money in Britian. Thats 65 pounds a hour!!!!! Not that much I can tell you. Thousands here on contract make far, far more than that. He lives in a dream world.
6 Jun 2009, 18:52 pm
#622 Langenhoven: Then why can’t you name me Mr. Well Connected. Told you where I worked and that there were less than five of us in the last 15 years……
6 Jun 2009, 18:53 pm
#624 Puma: Once you allow these ******* in the garden, all is lost!!
6 Jun 2009, 18:53 pm
#622 Langenhoven: Shaun is your brain connected to your skull? You are making a fool of yourself here again. I think off you go to your own political blog. Where only you blog
6 Jun 2009, 18:54 pm
#627 Puma: Once you allow these b aboons in the garden, all is lost!!
6 Jun 2009, 18:54 pm
#598 Langenhoven: sheriff will not tell you his real name because you will find out that he works for the SAPS…
#586 Sheriff: when will you stop trying to act like a shrink on this blog, the day i registered on this blog i didn’t know you even exist, why bother yourself about other people’s apparent neuroses, just blog about rugby and be happy if you have people responding to your rugby post…capiche!
6 Jun 2009, 18:55 pm
#620 Veltie: Lets chat here then..I’ve got some time… I have written lots and presented many arguments . You may have read some …I have views on many contentious issues including glabal warming and poverty. Most politicians read my stuff and I am a favourite with many Editors of SA newspapers..I abhorr racism because it limits the ability of any organisation to proper…It also prevented many bloggers on this site from recognising talent beacuse they have categorised players by skin colour and social class… Some say that they are not racist…but they seemingly dismiss talent for one reason only…that is sad.
6 Jun 2009, 18:57 pm
#623 Puma: I thought as much. Overheads must be horrendous in Britain. You can’t be giving employees much of the 65 pounds if you want to survive as a company.
6 Jun 2009, 18:58 pm
Cheers all going to watch some of the 20/20 world cup.
#624 Bul-a-Bhloo: I can’t name you because you are a nobody…
Haha this person’s narcissism gets even more entertaining to read!
6 Jun 2009, 19:00 pm
#629 Langenhoven: Yes exactly why I rate JP Pietersen and Bryan Habana and players like Beast yet dont want Earl Rose to “bloom” in the Boks. I´m obviously very racist. That must also why i was a big fan of Ricky Januarie´s last year and dont want to see him in the team this year. Clearly racist. Everything I do must be racially motivated. Isnt it nice finding a racist under every rock? Excuse the pun. If you see things only from your perspective then thats all you´ll see.
Just because your name was outed on here against your choosing doesn’t now mean that you’re a “somebody”. You’re very much an isignificant nobody with an over inflated opinion of yourself.
#632 wooden spoon: Remember he has is ‘challenged’ in many departments, we must make allowances!!!!
Bwahahahahaha
6 Jun 2009, 19:01 pm
#629 Bul-a-Bhloo: 600 pounds a day in Britian and in SA is not that great. Thousands earn more right here.
Anyway why come here and tell everyone what the heck he earns who gives a bloody toss really.
Cheers Bhloo. Going to watch some of the cricket now.
6 Jun 2009, 19:01 pm
#627 Transformation: I know he works for teh SAPS…he threatened Lilith didn’t he…Thats is intimidation…she can lay charges…
Got change laptops quickly… be back in a sec
Forgot my password
6 Jun 2009, 19:03 pm
Quick someone, pull the plug on him…….
6 Jun 2009, 19:05 pm
#626 AB Bullsbok: Yip, Once the racist political nonsense starts here I just log off. Not worth blogging with people like that. They are somewhere else in the own little world. We have moved on here in SA its now what 15 years a new SA!! Then to carry on like that. Damn he is a sad man.
Anyways out of here now. Cheers BullsBok. Pity your team are not playing the Lions. Would have enjoyed to see the Bulls play them.
6 Jun 2009, 19:07 pm
#640 carol: Its pathetic that we have to be exposed to these half wits all the time here on Keo.
6 Jun 2009, 19:07 pm
#638 carol: Carol, employee earning 600 pounds a day for his company. Is that impressive in the UK? Sounds very little to me.
6 Jun 2009, 19:08 pm
#641 Puma: Cheers matey, enjoy the T20!
6 Jun 2009, 19:11 pm
#640 AB Bullsbok: Don’t worry I do not see him as your ‘typical’ Saffa….actually the company here is generally very articulate and erudite!!
It is the incredible self obsession I find so wearing!!
6 Jun 2009, 19:13 pm
#641 Bul-a-Bhloo: All I can say is “Ahh, bless him”. If he moved in the circles I move in, that would not be considered impressive!!!
Enough said!!
6 Jun 2009, 19:14 pm
#633 Slumtown: So lets consider your points…I presume that you were always a bok fan…since you were born…and that was.. lets say 30 years ago??
6 Jun 2009, 19:15 pm
#639 Puma: If the Lions played the Bulls I would quake in my boots!! See you.
6 Jun 2009, 19:18 pm
#644 carol: I don’t know of any BNP members doing much for themselves…But my clients are FTSE100 companies…and I do engage with many company MD’s primarily because I am a procurement specialist…and they obvioulsy queue to dine with me..
6 Jun 2009, 19:19 pm
#640 Puma: My fault entirely as I took offence to his “Brussouw was brilliant I cant understand why Luke Watson wasnt picked statement”.
But also I have to say I´m sick of people like this making an issue out of everything in SA. And on a blog like this its entirely unnecessary. So once in a while someone has to tell it like it is. Once you start arguing intelligently with the man he becomes incoherent. I pity his family. Closet superhero.
Does he really think his petty comments on here would ever change a real racist´s mind on a blog like this? I mean if you want to speak about delusional then thats a very strong case.
He doesnt have time to meet Veltie (who made a very decent offer to meet up and chat) because he sees himself far superior to the nobody he perceives Veltie to be, but yet goes on to say >>> #620 Veltie: Lets chat here then..I’ve got some time
Thus he cant meet the oke because he earns 600 an hour and is in a higher class than him yet he is willing to engage him here and waste his precious 600 pound an hour time with the same nobody he doesnt value enough to waste his time on in a real meeting…… Well that makes some sense at least. hehehe
6 Jun 2009, 19:19 pm
HALF WIT ALERT –
I’m off………..
6 Jun 2009, 19:20 pm
#634 wooden spoon: Me Insignificant…says the wooden spoon??? LMAO
6 Jun 2009, 19:25 pm
#651 Langenhoven: I´ll tell you what Shaun… unlike other distinguished members here I AM an insignificant little nobody with a little daughter. I´m quite happy to be an insignificant nobody as long as I can maintain a life lived in dignity. It is not what defines me. The objects and money and fame or success´i´ve achieved. Its how I treat myself and other people around me.
And yes I have been a Bok fan for plus 30 years. I was born into an Afrikaans family in an Afrikaans environment and being a Bok fan is part and parcel of the whole thing. I guess i should be ashamed now admitting I was and being Afrikaans?
#647 Langenhoven: Not many FTSE 100 company MD’s who would bother to meet with a 600 pound a day or part of it procurement consultant.
In fact not many FTSE 100 MD’s would have anything to do with procurement.
Their focus is at another level.
#648 Slumtown: I started a conversation with you..you chose to ignore.. Come on now stop complaining to others I am here
6 Jun 2009, 19:27 pm
He really doesn’t understand.
Bye.
6 Jun 2009, 19:28 pm
Is it show your Bling time on Keo?
6 Jun 2009, 19:28 pm
#652 Bul-a-Bhloo: You know squat mate…don’t embarras yourself… I will be meeting with a SA delegation at the end of the month to advice about best practise in managing stadiums..
6 Jun 2009, 19:30 pm
#654 Langenhoven: My answer was posted above.
6 Jun 2009, 19:33 pm
#651 Slumtown: Jaques.. we have chatted before and by and large you seem to be a good person…You have demonstrated some of your prejudice on this site…but you admit to that and the fact your nurturing may not have been the best in that regard..I accept your honesty…The issue about the money was purely reactive if you read all the post…I have stopped chasing the money too and choose to live a simple life…The amazing thing is that same attitude is seemingly attractive to money…I am doing well and that has not always been the case..
6 Jun 2009, 19:34 pm
#655 namakwaland: They wanted to know…I reacted
6 Jun 2009, 19:34 pm
#656 Langenhoven: Your post confuses me.
Advice is what you receive.
Advise is what you give out.
Do you know anything about consulting????
Now it’s really bye.
6 Jun 2009, 19:35 pm
lol, wtf is a procurement consultant?
I dont believe the brits actual fall for that ****, they cant stand that grandstanding bullshit baffles brain nonsense.
What are the hardskills brought to the table?
A footsoldier and being in exile (from the ANC) dont cut it.
lol, the old saffa chancer, great self-publicists and opportunists, but its all just bullshit.
6 Jun 2009, 19:35 pm
Are South Africans going to actually go to watch these games. Are you embarrassed by the attendances? Just wondering….
6 Jun 2009, 19:37 pm
#659 Langenhoven: Its a funny thing that. It seems sometimes when we stop chasing things we want they come naturally. So perhaps thats a point you would want to apply here too? Most of the people on this blog are decent enough people. I´m merely commenting on the fact that I´m tired of everything being made into race issues.
We all have prejudices of some kind or another but I can with a clear conscience say I have never been out and out racist to anyone. To the contrary I have gone the opposite direction.
Apologies for the baiting from my side as well.
I wish you and the family a very good night sir.
6 Jun 2009, 19:41 pm
659.Langenhoven you are obviously a public figure so you do not mind giving out personal info.Maybe it is not a problem.
Maybe you are the Catalyst.
Just remember it is Never about the Self allways the Otherself.
6 Jun 2009, 19:41 pm
#661 cab: It means I negotiate service contracts with service providers…I had to do this for the estate of two government department…Over 700hundred sites…no small task… over 400 services providers/subcontractors
#660 Bul-a-Bhloo: I noticed the mistake…I don’t mind you proof reading
6 Jun 2009, 19:42 pm
#663 Slumtown: Cheers mate and go well..
6 Jun 2009, 19:44 pm
Heart breaking for the Cheetahs. They came so close to showing everybody (including myself) that they are not just some log place holders and can actually pull moments of magic together
6 Jun 2009, 19:45 pm
#661 cab:
Hey fella, hope you dont mind my asking
Are you an academic
Get the feeling you’re involved in tertiary education somehow
Could be far off the mark
6 Jun 2009, 19:46 pm
#665 Langenhoven:
but good god man, you were writing articles for the economist the other day, not so? the only cutting edge stuff to come out of that publication was alistar sparks reporting on SA about 30 years ago.
6 Jun 2009, 19:46 pm
#667 SpringbokSarah:
True huh
Wonderfully spirited performance
Outscored the Lions 24-6 in the second half
Would have been a victory looong remembered
6 Jun 2009, 19:47 pm
#664 namakwaland: I was “outed” on this blog so it is not worthwhile trying to play anonymous… I am an Activist for change and see value in having big goals…it builds character when you stand up…Some time we have to kick the door down because nobody wants listen to gentle knocks of persuasion…ask WPTID
6 Jun 2009, 19:48 pm
#669 cab:
So you saying me subscription is actually a waste of pennies
Ph*ck it, i’m changing over to The Sun
6 Jun 2009, 19:49 pm
#670 saffa_guy: would’ve, could’ve, should’ve
the Cheetahs have come a number of times so close, just to fall short. It’s heart breaking for not only the fans but for the players too. But how do you fix this problem?
6 Jun 2009, 19:50 pm
#669 cab: I never wrote for the economist…but my articles have appeared in a few othe business publications..they may have quoted me…wow
6 Jun 2009, 19:51 pm
#668 saffa_guy:
nope, but i lived with alot of them in london for a while in halls, terribly upthemselves, used to play tennis with one of the editors of the new statesman, whom old shaun might know.
they all put on these big talks and speeches but the brightest guy i met was an australian who propped like franz erasmus and smashed a cricket ball like david boon, was far more interested in sport, had his priorities right.
6 Jun 2009, 19:51 pm
#671 Langenhoven: kicking the door down SWAT style
6 Jun 2009, 19:53 pm
#672 saffa_guy:
lol, its all ****, at least the sun has some eye candy.
6 Jun 2009, 19:54 pm
671.Langenhoven how were you OUTED?
6 Jun 2009, 19:54 pm
#676 SpringbokSarah: You know me so well…lol
6 Jun 2009, 19:56 pm
#678 namakwaland: Spooner was very resourceful he followed up on a few of my clues about my writing… but I think it was lovely Sarah…lol..she is a FB friend
6 Jun 2009, 19:56 pm
Btw Luke is Stormers player of the year.
Just to annoy you people
6 Jun 2009, 19:58 pm
This is wonderful…only nice people on the blog..I must be nice then lol
6 Jun 2009, 19:58 pm
680.So Langenhoven you gave yourself away? Is that correct?
6 Jun 2009, 19:59 pm
#681 SpringbokSarah: Started that much earlier on…got rid of all the dkhds
#679 Langenhoven: lol
#680 Langenhoven: Nope. You and Slappes are the only people I talk to away from keo… knowingly
Do share Cab’s sentiments on this one
Notion of a non-white being in exile from the ANC boggles the mind
Eccentricity is the beauty of this blog
6 Jun 2009, 20:00 pm
#682 Langenhoven: ?
#684 Langenhoven: What’s the bet they’re hiding out?
6 Jun 2009, 20:01 pm
#686 saffa_guy:
but you read the bio and you think f’ck me, here’s the genuine article a bloke who went into exile in the old days, you only hear those stories, i was picturing some MK vet or something.
Then Shaun tells me oh no he was exiled in 2001…f’cking cracker.
i mean just what is he in exile from??!
LMAO. madness.
6 Jun 2009, 20:01 pm
#683 namakwaland: I mentioned an article I wrote…Spooner followed up…He was quite good…because I did not mention the newspaper…google is a wonderful search engine… and the theory of 6 degrees of separation
6 Jun 2009, 20:04 pm
#687 SpringbokSarah: Probably lol…I need to logg off shortly…boys night…again..My missus is so accomodating…but she has the family credit card
6 Jun 2009, 20:05 pm
689.Langenhoven the point is you gave your identity away and i believe that was a conscious move.
Dont your voice alone feel strong enough?
6 Jun 2009, 20:07 pm
#690 Langenhoven: rofl
6 Jun 2009, 20:08 pm
#686 saffa_guy: ecentricity…love it…..lol.. Gonna wear sunglasses in the club tonight
#688 cab: Exile…self imposed and it was in 2006… a bit poetic licence to decsribe my disappointment
6 Jun 2009, 20:10 pm
#691 namakwaland: I hate being anonymous…it makes me feel insignificant…and I have a huge ego…lol .. but you must know that already
6 Jun 2009, 20:12 pm
#693 Langenhoven:
yes shaun, alot of poetic license.
i take it your online persona is contrived to create a certain response for kicks and is not actually you.
6 Jun 2009, 20:12 pm
#694 Langenhoven: at least your honest
6 Jun 2009, 20:13 pm
#691 namakwaland: BTW you sound familiar and I kind of worked out who SAFFA GUY is..Did you ever work in poverty relief?
6 Jun 2009, 20:13 pm
694.Langenhoven.Yeah ive noticed.Is their anything good on your website?
6 Jun 2009, 20:14 pm
#693 Langenhoven: YOUR GOING CLUBBING????
… aren’t you too… hmmm how do I put this???? mature?
6 Jun 2009, 20:15 pm
697.Nonever worked in that field but if it is a cryptic note,be carefull please.
6 Jun 2009, 20:15 pm
#695 cab: I am lots of fun…mainly because I can be very eccentric.. and because I can say WTF lets do it
6 Jun 2009, 20:18 pm
#698 namakwaland: No porn…if that is what you are asking.. BTW the photo is a bit old..There is a more curent one on facebook if you google
6 Jun 2009, 20:19 pm
#701 Langenhoven:
fair enough, take it easy.
6 Jun 2009, 20:21 pm
702.I think my question is What is the most impressive on your site.So that i know what to look for.
6 Jun 2009, 20:22 pm
#699 SpringbokSarah: Lol… more pubbing than clubbing…but all my age group..no teens#700 namakwaland: I worked for DEAT for a while and new a few implementers in the northern cape…I presume that that is wear you reside…or has it something to do with the box of wine..
6 Jun 2009, 20:24 pm
705.Langenhoven.Dont have a clue what you are talking about.
6 Jun 2009, 20:24 pm
#705 Langenhoven: I should certainly hope your not taking teens clubbing or pubbing
6 Jun 2009, 20:26 pm
#704 namakwaland: I try to write a weekly journal which are my thoughts in real time…I also have a few of my published letters and one or two essays…It must be good…some big ***** that read my stuff.. and I have been quoted
6 Jun 2009, 20:28 pm
#707 SpringbokSarah: When I was single…I made it a point of not dating woman under 28… just in case they turn out to be 15…and there were many offers
6 Jun 2009, 20:29 pm
708.Langenhoven,i will check it out.
Who is the Big ***** if i may ask.
6 Jun 2009, 20:30 pm
Got to go …have fun all..#707 SpringbokSarah: kick *** young gun…they will be back… They gather
6 Jun 2009, 20:32 pm
#709 Langenhoven: waaaaaaaaaay too much information
ciao, enjoy your clubbing
6 Jun 2009, 20:33 pm
#710 namakwaland: A Mr Khumalo…and a …no name dropping…but feel to free to read..you can judge for yourself if there is any value
6 Jun 2009, 20:36 pm
713.Thanks.
7 Jun 2009, 11:33 am
This is the problem with the Cheetahs, they do not know how to finish a game off. The Sharks and the Bulls know how.. They should have won this..