Lions edge courageous Cheetahs

A Heinrich Brüssow-inspired Cheetahs team went down 26-24 to a second-rate Lions side in Bloemfontein.

This game was one of two halves with the sin-binning of flanker Stephen Ferris the watershed. The tourists were 20-0 up after 24 minutes before Ferris paid the price for the umpteenth breakdown transgression. The Cheetahs scored 14 points in the blindside’s absence to trail 23-14 at the break.

The option-taking and defence wasn’t always great from the home team. Their line defence repelled many a Lions surge, but a soft try by Ferris allowed the visitors to shoot to a 10-0 lead after 12 minutes. A subsequent chip by James Hook was gathered by centre Keith Earls who swerved past a couple of defenders en route to the tryline.

During this period, referee Wayne Barnes allowed the Lions to spoil on defence and seal the breakdown ball off on attack. Brüssow made a couple of turnovers but the Lions were still getting away with illegal play.

It took 23 minutes for Barnes to brandish yellow, and from here the Cheetahs began to gather some momentum. Danwel Demas rounded off a good move that exploited the Lions’ one-man disadvantage, and prop Wian du Preez reduced the deficit further when he steamrolled a defender from close range.

Back to their full compliment, the Lions sought to keep it tighter. They had the better of the Cheetahs’ scrum, Andrew Sheridan applying unsustainable pressure on the outclassed Kobus Calldo. The Lions’ set-piece even held its own when Ferris was off, and the Springbok management should take note, the Lions’ scrum is going to be a massive factor in the Test series. Hook goaled three penalties accrued from the Cheetahs’ scrum transgressions, and it kept the hosts at arm’s length.

The breakdown, however, was a different story. On defence, the visitors did everything they could to spoil the Cheetahs’ ball. Brüssow had another industrious outing in the tackle-department, but it was his ground-zero scavenging that proved the biggest boost to the hosts. Because of his proficiency, the visitors battled to get go-forward after the initial set-piece.

Jacques-Louis Potgieter kicked well initially but missed a great opportunity in the 52nd minute when he pushed a penalty-attempt wide. The three points would’ve reduced the deficit to 26-20 at a critical stage of the game.

The Cheetahs tried their hearts out, and it’s just a pity there weren’t more people at the stadium to witness their brave efforts. Vodacom Park saw 23 000 patrons through the gates, a shocking number considering the stadium now holds 48 000.

The Lions were shaky and it’s only through little errors that the Cheetahs didn’t put them away. Yet another Lions breakdown infringement gifted the hosts a penalty, but Potgieter proceeded to kick it dead. The Cheetahs’ inferiority at scrum time also continued to cost them possession and territory from ensuing penalties.

And yet, it was their strength at the tackle point that kept them afloat. Brüssow never relented in his quest for dominance and his team-mates never dropped their intensity. The Lions have a long way to go if they’re going to compete with the Bok breakdown in the coming Tests.

Both sides were exhausted by the hour mark and it was here that the Cheetahs were always going to be tested. They made another crucial turnover after the Lions launched a multi-phase assault on their tryline. It was clear the Lions would not be coasting to victory in the final minutes.

Replacement flyhalf Louis Strydom missed a difficult penalty attempt in the 70th minute to allow the Lions to keep their nine-point cushion. However, a brilliant reading of a flat Shane Williams pass allowed Corne Uys to sprint 80m for a seven-pointer. With six minutes to go, the Cheetahs had a chance of a massive upset.

The Lions were running out of puff as the clock wound down and the local supporters began to find their voice. After Meyer Bosman crashed it up into the suspect Irish midfield, Strydom slipped into the pocket for the drop-goal. Unfortunately, the kick drifted cruelly wide.

The Cheetahs looked to have another opportunity to win it when Lions fullback Lee Byrne dropped a high ball and his retreating team-mates played it from an offside position, but it was a transgression that the fallible Barnes missed.

The Lions eventually won a penalty in the final play and hacked it into touch. The win takes them to a three-from-three tour record, but there will be more concerns than positives for Ian McGeechan as he prepares his charges for the Tests.

By Jon Cardinelli, at Vodacom Park

718 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 » Show All

• 551.scar: Reply to this comment

…………….so close………..
    Well done Cheetahs!!

• 552.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#541 sglazer: both good in the loose mate but a prop must scrum first before the flair

• 553.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#549 SodaJoe: Apologies, I was starting to fall back into the trap. If you don’t leave food out in the kitchen you won’t have any annoying flies.

• 554.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Commercial management consultant facilities management?

What is that, same as the old caretaker / handyman?

The oke who got a rent free flat for his efforts in taking stains out the aunties toilet bowls.

• 555.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#539 Puma: I really rate Mackintosh the Landers loosie (with Heyman & Big Mac the AB’s gonna be formidable in 2011) but Smitty handled him big time. If not moered him, close.

• 556.sglazer: Reply to this comment

#550 wooden spoon: He needs to develop his passing

• 557.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Smit is actually quite decent at tighthead. Think he will surprise his constant detractors.

• 558.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#534 Veltie: Still getting it wrong mate…you request an audience..not extend an invitation and I will decide if I want too…My website tells you all you need to know…I don’t share my time with a nobody…Lets find out who you are…real name please

• 559.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Interestingly the people that hold the majority of ‘Administration’ posts in SA rugby don’t look like they’ve ever touched a rugby ball. They do, however, look like Januarie… they are fat too.

Possibly that is one of the problems with rugby here

• 560.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#554 Bul-a-Bhloo: ag not you as well Baloo.

• 561.Puma: Reply to this comment

#518 goyougoodthing2: Agree, PdV really is not up to it. Also like P. Treu with the 7′s. I know the game is different but even he would be 100% better than PdV. P. Treu speaks well too.

I know we will be stuck with PdV until 2011 and even maybe longer. Maybe with Plum there working with them on the breakdowns it will help a bit. Hoping.

I just think if they play brilliant and win its the senior players. Once they are gone thats it we will be down to 6th or even worse again and we have brilliant talent coming out from everywhere at the moment. We should be dominating.

Anyway lets see how it goes. We could win 3/0 or 2/1 or lose 0/3 or 1/2.

Anyway cant wait for the Tests. Should be great. Think a lot more Brits will arrive this weekend. Will probably see a lot down in Durban this week. The weather now is awesome except for today it was overcast.

• 562.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#556 sglazer: But it is a rare beast that an cover 9 & 3.

• 563.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Or should I have said “his annual early season detractors” because Smit keeps proving them wrong year after year.

• 564.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Heinrich Brussow take a bow!

What a performance!

O’Connell says they went to sleep, but in reality Brussow caused havoc!

• 565.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#558 Langenhoven: It does not surprise me that no one shares time with you.

• 566.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#560 SodaJoe: Oeps sorry. Zip, nada, done.

• 567.Puma: Reply to this comment

#555 SodaJoe: We smashed them in the scrum that day. After seeing that I felt a lot better believe me. So have a feeling we will be fine there. Just hope no injuries.

• 568.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

OK. Brussow made a point.

Zane up to you.

I have to go and buy some dop.

Raining here, so no good reason to do any chores.

Have a great weekend guys. See you through the window.

• 569.Puma: Reply to this comment

#564 Sheriff: Hello Sheriff. Agree with you 100%.

• 570.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#561 Puma: Think you are right. Can’t wait for the Sharks game this Wednesday.

As for the tests, could be fun if we play Rose, after all, what’s better than beating the POms? Having your sister beat them LOL.

• 571.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#558 Langenhoven: rvdhorst1@hotmail.com Klap my n epos sou jy belangstel. Requesting an audience/extending an invitation to share a beverage..all teh same my man. Playing with words not going to get you anywhere. Vir duidelikheid onthalwe, sou jy wou debateer/gesels/net n dop n deel, laat my weet as jou kalender dit toelaat. ek noem dit n uitnodiging. Aanvaar dit, of los dit. Jou keuse.

• 572.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#565 SodaJoe: SODA! Obey your own rules. Don’t feed the m* nkey unless you want it to keep coming back for bananas!

• 573.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#521 Langenhoven: Man youre full of yourself. Who cares what job you do and how much you earn? Its who you are as a person that counts.

• 574.Puma: Reply to this comment

#568 SodaJoe: Cheers Joe, Enjoy your weekend. Hope you get some good red wine there.

• 575.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Guys, enjoy your evening… outta here

• 576.Alucard: Reply to this comment

#513 SodaJoe:

PDVs vision of rugby is insane. Jakes approach only needed some tweaking. Like Eddie Jones said, nobody plays rugby like what PDV talks. He doesnt have a clue. Last year he had the best team in the world with the most depth South Africa has ever had and he blew it. There is a lot wrong with our rugby under PDV, and the panic appointment of Plumptree (a good idea I must say) shows he’s feeling the heat. Our back play under PDV has (with two exceptions) been pathetic under real pressure. Aimless and ineffective. It was Jeans miracle breaks that kept us sort of afloat. I’d rather have had Jakes “one domensional” rugby that PDVs purple haze style rugby, the one that has the whole world laughing at us.

• 577.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

2 final points.

I am a hypocrite. Sorry about 565. Door too wide open. I apologize.

Bekker, Kanko, Rose, Nokwe need to do the honorable thing and turn their ankles and pull their hamstrings during practise.

• 578.Puma: Reply to this comment

#570 goyougoodthing2: Yip, Cant wait for Wed too. Just really wish it was a full strength team but it wont be. Still should be great.

Ag, we have Rose so just have to live with it. He may surprise us :D

• 579.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#547 Slumtown: You called me coloured… it was category created by fearful men… I have written on racism and presented sound arguments about definition and practice… Go to my website and present your arguments there…Please don’t trivialise racism…I hate that. To many people have died and suffered under it…

• 580.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I’m also outta here. Later.

• 581.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#569 Puma:

He changed the momentum of the game single-handedly and gave a clue to the Bok management how they should approach the Lions.

The sad part of course is that, he himself is the man who should be doing it for the Boks. But he is not there, not now anyway.

It was also interesting that whenever the Cheetahs upped the pace it caused problems.

The one thing we have not seen is a team who can put in the big hits. Perhaps the Sharks can.

• 582.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#573 Slumtown: They asked… and I am not going to sell myself short

• 583.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#576 Alucard: Well said. Final comment from me tonight…

Bringing in Plumtree shows another thing too… that **** Muir didn’t have a clue what he was doing as Sharks coach… PLUMTREE did…

I hope this becomes clear to any of you who think **** knows anything about being a coach…

He is, like his big bossman Snor, a muppet. But one who loves being in the limelight.

• 584.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#577 SodaJoe: Add to your list who should get injured Januarie, but take Kanko off the list.

I would not bat ane eyelid if Rose & Langbek were injured in practice…

• 585.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#583 goyougoodthing2: It’s clear you have an issue with Muir. Something personal?

• 586.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#579 Langenhoven:

The only thing I wonder is this: what trauma or bad experience caused this obsession with self?

I detect a deficit in affirmation hence the constant self-promotion.

Shaun, the key to your personal freedom is to accept yourself.
    Once you’ve done that, you will look at your post and VOMIT.

• 587.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#571 Veltie: wrong attitude mate…los dit… I choose my company not you..

• 588.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

On a blog you just switch off.
    In a pub you could get moered.
    I understand the reluctance.

• 589.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#585 wooden spoon: Put it this way I know him and I know his mates.

Rugby is a means to an end for them, it’s about the glory of being a Legend if you get my drift. Can’t stand them. Not many people at the Sharks shed a tear when he left either.

• 590.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#589 goyougoodthing2: Hmmm. Very interesting.

• 591.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#587 Langenhoven: wrong attitude? I extended an invitation quite a few times. you chose not to accept it. Maar nou ja, if you can;t back up your opinions here in person, I am forced to doubt your conviction in the first place. You have my contact details should you choose to use it.

• 592.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#590 wooden spoon: Why is that?

• 593.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#579 Langenhoven: I´m not trivialising racism. I´m saying that naming a thing is not necessarily a racist act. And if youre not coloured or of colour then what are you? Of no specific ethnic origin? Is it not part and parcel of being human to have pride in your roots? Saying I called you coloured sounds like I intentionally tried to insult you which I did not. Many people in the cape are proud to call themselves coloured – are they simply racially indoctrinated to accept the fact or is there something beyond your negative view of the term? Its all a matter of the way you look at the thing. Therein lies the power of true racism – that people become ashamed of what they are. Not naming things is simply too complicated – I have said before – its a means of defining things to communicate. In an idealist world things would never be categorsied but as with everything categorisation has pros and cons. Its never a simple argument.

• 594.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#592 goyougoodthing2: I’m a Sharks fan from 1000 miles away. It’s interesting hearing people’s opinions from Durban. You pick up none of this otherwise.

• 595.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#593 Slumtown: How about Beige? Is that acceptable? ;-)

• 596.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#594 wooden spoon: cool!

cheers all

• 597.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#582 Langenhoven: In fact if you read back at that stage Veltie had not asked what you do. You were the one who was throwing figures per hour around and crowing about how important you are and how people pay to be in your company. Youre a sad human being my friend. And you cant handle an intelligent answer to your bickering.

• 598.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#586 Sheriff: Let me Help you sheriff… I want to help….what is your real name first.. so that we can talk man to man…

• 599.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#388 Slumtown: SA’s obsession with size continues…the size of players are inconsequential to me – its about their strength and skills – Brussouw put some big tackles in and was terrorised the breakdown. He’s a flanker much in the same mould as McCaw, in fact he could be SA’s answer to King Ritchie! He made seasoned internationals look ordinary and he only has one cap and what 14 mins game time against England? Pretty impressive, just imagine how much better he would be after numerous 3N campaigns!

• 600.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#595 goyougoodthing2: Well now if I said off white I could understand offence being taken. Once you have to start trodding around certain words and being careful of offending people it becomes a joke. In america a black person is either offended unless theyre called african american or chooses to call himself (and thus trivialise the racist term) ****** as in the slang my ******. So who knows – people of the same race differ in what they prefer to be called. Its a no win argument on these topics because everyone always has a different spin on it.
    Cream might be seen as a rather classy term. ;)

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.