Lions edge courageous Cheetahs

A Heinrich Brüssow-inspired Cheetahs team went down 26-24 to a second-rate Lions side in Bloemfontein.

This game was one of two halves with the sin-binning of flanker Stephen Ferris the watershed. The tourists were 20-0 up after 24 minutes before Ferris paid the price for the umpteenth breakdown transgression. The Cheetahs scored 14 points in the blindside’s absence to trail 23-14 at the break.

The option-taking and defence wasn’t always great from the home team. Their line defence repelled many a Lions surge, but a soft try by Ferris allowed the visitors to shoot to a 10-0 lead after 12 minutes. A subsequent chip by James Hook was gathered by centre Keith Earls who swerved past a couple of defenders en route to the tryline.

During this period, referee Wayne Barnes allowed the Lions to spoil on defence and seal the breakdown ball off on attack. Brüssow made a couple of turnovers but the Lions were still getting away with illegal play.

It took 23 minutes for Barnes to brandish yellow, and from here the Cheetahs began to gather some momentum. Danwel Demas rounded off a good move that exploited the Lions’ one-man disadvantage, and prop Wian du Preez reduced the deficit further when he steamrolled a defender from close range.

Back to their full compliment, the Lions sought to keep it tighter. They had the better of the Cheetahs’ scrum, Andrew Sheridan applying unsustainable pressure on the outclassed Kobus Calldo. The Lions’ set-piece even held its own when Ferris was off, and the Springbok management should take note, the Lions’ scrum is going to be a massive factor in the Test series. Hook goaled three penalties accrued from the Cheetahs’ scrum transgressions, and it kept the hosts at arm’s length.

The breakdown, however, was a different story. On defence, the visitors did everything they could to spoil the Cheetahs’ ball. Brüssow had another industrious outing in the tackle-department, but it was his ground-zero scavenging that proved the biggest boost to the hosts. Because of his proficiency, the visitors battled to get go-forward after the initial set-piece.

Jacques-Louis Potgieter kicked well initially but missed a great opportunity in the 52nd minute when he pushed a penalty-attempt wide. The three points would’ve reduced the deficit to 26-20 at a critical stage of the game.

The Cheetahs tried their hearts out, and it’s just a pity there weren’t more people at the stadium to witness their brave efforts. Vodacom Park saw 23 000 patrons through the gates, a shocking number considering the stadium now holds 48 000.

The Lions were shaky and it’s only through little errors that the Cheetahs didn’t put them away. Yet another Lions breakdown infringement gifted the hosts a penalty, but Potgieter proceeded to kick it dead. The Cheetahs’ inferiority at scrum time also continued to cost them possession and territory from ensuing penalties.

And yet, it was their strength at the tackle point that kept them afloat. Brüssow never relented in his quest for dominance and his team-mates never dropped their intensity. The Lions have a long way to go if they’re going to compete with the Bok breakdown in the coming Tests.

Both sides were exhausted by the hour mark and it was here that the Cheetahs were always going to be tested. They made another crucial turnover after the Lions launched a multi-phase assault on their tryline. It was clear the Lions would not be coasting to victory in the final minutes.

Replacement flyhalf Louis Strydom missed a difficult penalty attempt in the 70th minute to allow the Lions to keep their nine-point cushion. However, a brilliant reading of a flat Shane Williams pass allowed Corne Uys to sprint 80m for a seven-pointer. With six minutes to go, the Cheetahs had a chance of a massive upset.

The Lions were running out of puff as the clock wound down and the local supporters began to find their voice. After Meyer Bosman crashed it up into the suspect Irish midfield, Strydom slipped into the pocket for the drop-goal. Unfortunately, the kick drifted cruelly wide.

The Cheetahs looked to have another opportunity to win it when Lions fullback Lee Byrne dropped a high ball and his retreating team-mates played it from an offside position, but it was a transgression that the fallible Barnes missed.

The Lions eventually won a penalty in the final play and hacked it into touch. The win takes them to a three-from-three tour record, but there will be more concerns than positives for Ian McGeechan as he prepares his charges for the Tests.

By Jon Cardinelli, at Vodacom Park

718 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1315 » Show All

• 351.Veltie: Reply to this comment

En…..baie belangrik, vandag het ook gewys die Lions hou nie van pressure nie. Hulle het baie gemiddeld gelyk teen n S14 span sonder sy Bokke. Nee wat, ek is nie bekommerd nie.

• 352.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#340 Bagel: yes Worsley was done, not his best game. Credit to Brussouw good game.

#343 mellowyellow: how did they win? the breakdown law has been changed in May thanks to the Aussies/Kiwis. That was a penalty for holding on.

• 353.Puma: Reply to this comment

#343 mellowyellow: WEll we must know now how the All Blacks felt in that 1/4 final when he allowed that forward pass. Barnes not that good a ref.

Really we should always have neutral refs. Why a Brit ref reffing this game and last Sat a Saffa ref? Should not be allowed.

• 354.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#352 Big Hit: I bet Worsley NOW know who Brussouw is…hahahahah.

• 355.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#337 goyougoodthing2: Seem to have captained the stormers with that attitude and changed their fortunes…winning captain??

• 356.BDB: Reply to this comment

Wat die Cheetahs self betref, was dit amper, maar nie goed genoeg nie.

1. hulle agterlyn en ‘runners’ is heeltemal te ver agter die voordeellyn (Leeus het hul meestemale agter die voordeellyn vasgevat)
    2. Cheetahs moet maar hoop vir hul CB drome, dat Snorre nie vir Brussow kies vir die 3N nie, anders gaan hul sukkel, die ander losvoorspelers het nie opgedaag nie, dit was Brussow orals en alles.
    3. daardie skepskop poging het misluk omdat hul te oorhaastig was, moes nog ‘n paar fases probeer het, dan was hy dalk daar.
    4. JL Potgieter het ‘n af wedstryd gehad, jammer want hy skop gewoonlik goed.
    5. Lynstane en skrums was ook nie te waffers nie, alhoewel Wian goed gelyk het, asook Adriaan.

• 357.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

One shouldn’t forget that was the Lions midweek team. They gave everyone a run out that didn’t get a start previously.

• 358.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#350 poppa69: Barnes is one of the worst refs around!

• 359.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#339 Langenhoven: You say Brussouw was brilliant and then go on about how Luke should have been picked?? Luke is not Brussouw and he doesnt have the ball ripping and tackling work rate of Brussouw. Apart form that he wont build team spirit with the Boks. I mean really – ok Luke played damn well this Super 14 but honestly -give credit where its due. If anyone should be picked it should be Brussouw. Botes is also a great player but I cant say he´s in the same league as Brussouw.

I do agree with you about Juries… they could have done with replacing one of the centres with him far earlier in the game or simply played him on wing and put JW Jonker who´s a natural centre at centre.

• 360.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#354 Veltie: Worsley’s team won ;)

• 361.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#357 Big Hit: One shouldn’t forget that even though it is their midweek team they are ALL TEST PLAYERS. Same can not be said for the Cheetahs. We saw some chinks in the B&I Lions today. Big ones. Breakdown being one of them.

• 362.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#350 poppa69: Barnes was fine. Most penalties came at scrum time where the Lions were well on top. He gave the Cheetahs many penalties too but they couldn’t kick them.

• 363.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#360 Big Hit: and? he lost his battle on the ground and he knows it. Were it not for 3 pentalty misses his teams would have gone down.

• 364.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Please don’t try to convince Langenhoven with rugby reasoning. He knows nothing about the sport (he is a soccer man). He only likes Luke because of his shared hatred for the ‘Dutchies’.

• 365.poppa69: Reply to this comment

For all those saffas moaning about barnes. Perhaps now you’ll understand some of the frustrations us kiwis have

• 366.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#357 Big Hit: That was 22 International players against a Team with only 2… with Brussouw having had 1 cap only….

Worry my dear fella…. worry

• 367.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#355 Langenhoven: Not quite sure he changed their fortunes? Stormers are at best a team that plays for the individual and not the team. Luke plays like that and so does JDV, Bekker and the like.

Luke may have had a good season but remember outside of WP people want to kill him. Hell Schall senior wanted to lynch him…

He’s a bad seed unfortunately, and I wouldn’t want to play with him.

• 368.Puma: Reply to this comment

#349 Langenhoven: Yes you would say that. So not surprise. Give your self a little tap on the shoulder.

#350 poppa69: Good game. Pity about the missed kicks. Barnes is useless. Neutral refs should always be used.

• 369.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#365 poppa69: Barnes was fine. Not too sh*t this way or that. Poor kicking lost us this game, not Barnes

• 370.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#357 Big Hit: Excuses boet, excuses, they’re all experienced internationals unlike the Cheetahs – Sheridan, Byrne, Hook, Earls, Williams, Worsley, POC. They’re experienced the pressure of test rugby. Brussouw has played a quarter of an international and he showed up a supposedly seasoned professional!

• 371.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#366 grootblousmile: Bleddie amper die game gewen, ou maat. Staat het n wen verdien… as hulle net bleddie beter kon skop!!!!!!!!

• 372.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Jeez, witn L here, I’m a sure gonner, …….again!

• 373.cris: Reply to this comment

Peter de Villiers has never said that he does not rate brussouw as a player
    It is just that he does not believe in diminutive fetchers at test level.
    The same as Jake White before him.

• 374.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#365 poppa69: Barnes isn’t that bad, he’s just a northern hemisphere pedantic Tintin lookalike. For real **** refs we have to look to Australians… ;-)

• 375.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#359 Slumtown: Stats says that Luke has done more in the S14 than brussouw with respect to fetching… and luke can cover 8.. But brussouw proved a point that small terriers can be more effective than big intimidating dumbos

• 376.Puma: Reply to this comment

#366 grootblousmile: hehehe. Wish Brussouw was selected though. We do need gametime. Are we going to play against the Emerging Boks or what? Think I read that somewhere here. No gametime we are going to be under-cooked. They now play a under strength Sharks on Wed then think its the Stormers next. Not sure.

Just wish our Boks could play for the Sharks. Would have loved to have seen a full strength Sharks side play against them. That would have been interesting. Also a full Bulls side. Why are the Bulls not playing the Lions? All other unions are?

• 377.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#371 Veltie: As dit nie vir Potgieter was nie en dat Wian te lank aan daai bal gehang het instede van vir Demas gee nie sou hulle dit gevat het. Hulle moes gewen het.

• 378.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Stats don’t count for sh* t if you are not a team player.

• 379.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#370 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: no excuses, we won! :)

I’m off to watch the England/Argentina game

peace ;)

• 380.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#371 Veltie: Aaaaaammmmppppoooorrrrrrrr !

• 381.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

#323 Transformation: Why blame the cach??? The Cheetah’s started with some new combo’s in the s14, and with a terrible itinery, and with the same coach beat the Sharks, Crusaders, ran the BIL’s, the S14 Champs the Bulls close, and even did well against the Chiefs !!

So I fail to see logic, only your own dislike of the coach !

• 382.BDB: Reply to this comment

#365 poppa69: Barnes had a great game, best ref in die world. :-)

• 383.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#373 cris: I think the point people are making here is that PDV is particularly, acutely, out of his depth in this job. His ‘wisdom’ flies in the face of 99% of rugby people but sits favourably with politicians and people who can’t see beyond the ‘colour’ issues.

He’s really really useless, be honest.

• 384.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#377 Slumtown: Staat was die beter span en die Leeus weet dit. Dit is vir my die lekker ding. Op die grond het hulle hulle gat gesien. sonder n spieel. Hulle is toe nie so grend soos hulle gedink het nie….Staat het my baie trots gemaak vandag.

• 385.Veltie: Reply to this comment

#378 wooden spoon: HEAR HEAR!!!!

• 386.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#367 goyougoodthing2: People who want to kill him are mostly racist scum…which the country and SA rugby can do without…

• 387.poppa69: Reply to this comment

GBS. In full agreement. Aussies are the worst. Still no internet at work. Keo you need to work on your phone software. It’s ridiculous. Have to refresh then download again each time.

• 388.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#373 cris: Well then they must be right? Hahaha he almost won the game for Cheetahs today so what does that say about Jake White and Snor? Dumb. With 7 massive players whats the difference having one smaller player. Obviously flawed thinking because you cant prove it really. The worry is not playing big guys, its playing an off form Burger.

• 389.Puma: Reply to this comment

#373 cris: The game has changed since, so we do need those guys getting stuck in there. Just look how good Brussouw was today?

• 390.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#376 Puma: Bulls would have burried this Lions team by 50 points…

They were gifted their 2 tries…. facts

Maak die Bulle ALMAL Bokke !

Hehehe

Now I hope the Sharks Vodacom squad has a good hard game against these tossers….

• 391.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#381 Cheetah 4 Eva: Trrransie’s hatred for Naka Dropkick is well documented here. Trrransie thinks he’s a “quota white coach” who is inherently racist.

• 392.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#383 goyougoodthing2: I’ve got my issues with PDV… but if you are calling PDV out of his depth…then damn…who of the S14 coaches are better…

• 393.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#386 Langenhoven: WTF is wrong with you? You are either stirring for a laugh or fell off the idiot tree.

Racists? You sound like someone with a chip on your shoulder mate, and people with chips on their shoulders are the ones ruining rugby, not the rugby people.

Wake up.

• 394.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#386 Langenhoven: Oh so theyre racist scum but he is not after making disparaging remarks about the Afrikaners? Love the way racism always only seems to work in one direction. Lets face facts here – your race on the whole are very far from not being racist toward the black population and you can NOT tell me otherwise. The coloured community have always felt marginalised – during apartheid and now. And fair enough I say.. they have gotten the raw end of the stick quite often.

• 395.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

#346 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Bosman is a good player, so I don’t know why you picking on him??

• 396.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#375 Langenhoven: Rubbish. I checked the stats out and they dont have any stats with regards to fetching which I thought was a huge oversight.
    Ball carries, tackles etc are mentioned but turnovers won not. Also lets compare their tackle rates. hmmmm

• 397.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#350 poppa69: wayne barnes is a **** referee, remember the last game of the six nations this year? ****, he gave wales so many penalties!

#331 gunther: it was a question gunther?…

• 398.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

#393 goyougoodthing2: Of course you know that Langenhoven is stirring. His first post today on the Cheetahs preview thread declared his intention to brawl today. He did just that with Pietman. Pietman got banned yet Roy didn’t have the moral conviction to do the same with this racist scumbag stirrer.

• 399.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

#392 Langenhoven: Yes, I am officially calling Snor out of his depth. Who would I suggest in his place? Well Krusty the Clown is out of work I believe. At least when people laugh at him he does it intentionally.

The guy could be a school’s coach perhaps, not much more. He got a very lucky break in Dunedin which kept him looking respectable but the guy is a joke.

• 400.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Well Done Lions. 3rd team came through under presure. Centres too light weight but wait until BOD and Roberts faces off aginst Div and Adi (with no rugby and suspect shoulder)? The Lions have 1 backline and 3 packs on this tour!

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1315 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.