digimag-banner

Lions down disjointed Sharks

The Lions were good value for their 39-3 victory over the Sharks, but the Springboks won’t be shaking in their boots.

This match was always going to gauge where the Lions stood just 10 days from the first Test, more so than it would be about assessing where the Sharks were in their preparation for the Currie Cup, and in that regard the Springboks won’t be too concerned.

The Lions were hardly awful, in fact, their patience through the phases was impressive, while there were solid performances by individuals, most notably centre Jamie Roberts who carried powerfully all night, and scrumhalf Mike Phillips who has now surely cemented his place in the Test line-up. But for most of the match they sorely lacked a killer edge and the creativity that needs to be there if they hope to upset the Springboks.

They improved as the game wore on, but their improvement has to be viewed in context. This was a severely depleted Sharks side lacking quality players in key backline positions. The 36-point deficit will be labelled emphatic by some, but you are naive if you believe you can equate this match to the standard the Lions will face in the Tests.

The Lions attempted to blend the measured with the expansive, and ended up with an ugly hybrid of the two for most of the contest. Their backline attacks were generally far too lateral to trouble the Sharks, and the fact that flyhalf Ronan O’Gara resorted to speculative cross-kicks and grubbers underlined the lack of creativity and incisiveness in the back division.

The Lions signalled their intention to boss the set phases and driving mauls when they opted for a lineout instead of a goal attempt early in the match. They set up three powerful drives until they eventually turned over possession. The Springboks, watching from the stands, would have noted the tactic, as it is sure to be a primary avenue of attack during the Test series.

The next 40 minutes would be characterised by much of the same, as the Lions camped in the Sharks’ red zone, only to be repelled by some determined defence and a spirited breakdown contest. The routine became predictable – they would cough up possession, jog back to the lineout after the clearing kick had found touch, relaunch their attack, only to be turned over once more when a try seemed a certainty.

Much was made of Saturday’s poor showing at the breakdown, and tonight’s performance won’t do anything to dispel a perception that it is a facet of play they are vulnerable in. What amplified their woes is that on Saturday they were devoid of a specialist opensider, whereas tonight they fielded skilled scrapper David Wallace. The Irishman failed to impose himself, and his cause wasn’t helped by the limp performance of his teammates at the tackle point and breakdown.

Skipper Paul O’Connell promised improved physicality in this facet of play. On the evidence of tonight’s performance he won’t be pleased.

Given their absolute domination of possession, and the sheer number of times they got onto the Sharks’ 5m line, they should have led by at least 25 points at the break. Instead, the deficit was just four points – Rory Kockott taking the only scoring opportunity they had – and their ineptitude, particularly at the breakdown, must alarm the Lions’ coaching staff.

Their problems didn’t end there. The scrums, an area of the game the Lions pride themselves on, wasn’t as efficient as they would have hoped either, with Sharks tighthead Jannie du Plessis pressuring Gethin Jenkins throughout their duel.

The black and white wall offered plenty of resistance, but the pressure was incessant, and they were finally breached when the Lions played off the top of a lineout on the 5m line and punched through two phases before hooker Lee Mears powered over from close range. Ronan O’Gara added the extras.

There was a bittersweet moment halfway through the first half which would have further jolted the tourists.

O’Driscoll has been spoken up as a master, and that he might be, but it’s indisputable that he is an ageing master, evident by the fact that his speed eluded him when he most needed it. He intercepted a pass on his 22m and sprinted clear. In his prime, the Lions faithful would have been celebrating the moment O’Driscoll laid hands on the pill, but as he shifted through the gears it became obvious that the once mighty stallion no longer had the speed that was a key feature of his play at the height of his powers.

Sharks youngster Lwazi Mvovo will one day boast to his grandchildren that he hauled in the great O’Driscoll, but it will be a shallow boast.

The half ended as it had started, with the Lions surrendering possession on the Sharks’ tryline, and the tourists trudged down the tunnel looking bewildered.

They did, however, start the second half more purposefully, and scored soon after the restart when Mike Phillips jinked his way through some diabolical defence to score in the corner. O’Gara missed the conversion, but extended the lead to 12 points (15-3) shortly thereafter with a penalty.

The Lions seemed to click into gear thereafter, troubling the Sharks’ defensive line with every foray. A period of sustained pressure yielded another three points to O’Gara.

The Lions were always going to have the upper hand in the back division given the experience they boasted in comparison to the Sharks’ rookies, and it was through here that they scored their third try.

The ball was shifted wide to O’Driscoll, who drew the last defender and offloaded to Luke Fitzgerald, who was left with a clear run in on goal.

Their fourth was the pick of the bunch, Lee Byrne scything through the defence after an overlap had been created by some smart work by his inside backs. O’Gara kicked his fifth goal to take the Lions 32-3 ahead before Jamie Heaslip touched down after the siren to end the contest.

‘Must do better’ should be the assessment in the Lions’ report card. The Springboks won’t be shuddering in fear.

By Ryan Vrede, at King’s Park.

573 Responses to “Lions down disjointed Sharks”

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

• 551. skopskietReply to this comment :

#547 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season:

Their metabolism is different, ask someone like Tim Noakes about the attrition rate that the flanks and No.8’s have to endure, it is more pronounced when guys of their size are asked to perform at such optimum levels so often, big locks like Bakkies and Danie or Shaw and Johnson are different kettles of fish and get through ‘less work’ than the likes of Burger and Juan in 80 minutes, beside they invariably play 60 or less out of 80 most times and are first to get subbed.

Even Richie McCaw is on the wane and will need to protect his place against some the new up and coming AB youngsters hitting their straps now, Jerry Collins is yesterdays hero, Palu too.

Burger has another 12 months and so too Juan if that against the likes of Brussow, Potgieter and some others challenging their supremacy, I doubt they see out WC 2011.

• 552. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

#543 cab: I really wasn’t all that impressed with what I saw today with the Lions! They made hard work of what should’ve been easy tries. They were slow and disorganised! They took ages to ramp up and beat an extremely kak Sharks team…there’s nothing in that performance that should worry the Boks.

Am disappointed with Terblanche and Kockott, perhaps it was right to leave them out, though Rory is still young and has huge potential. I’m not at all convinced by Vermaak so I at least think Kockott should’ve been in E Boks ahead of him.

I can’t see Burger, Smith and Spies being bullied around by the Lions, I’m still of the opinion that they’re being overhyped somewhat. If that was a Bok team performance instead of the Lions I would be very concerned.

• 553. Big HitReply to this comment :

#154 TBG: it’s Stuart Barnes, not Stephen Jones.

• 554. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

#551 skopskiet: Insufferable as you are Skop I actually agree with you for once! We need to get rid of this pathetic excuse for a coach…Boks need to be invested in future talent as well as maintaining the status quo and that means including players like Potgieter, Brussouw and Steggman who are the future.

• 555. SjamBokReply to this comment :

#261 carol: Not bad!! but remember that you dont get any c’s in Afrikaans. Only K’s.

#448 cab: Agree cab – very worrying.

• 556. Big HitReply to this comment :

I’ve just read the whole thread. A whole lot of Shark and Plumtree bashing where it is not warranted. They were missing 10 Springboks and were up against the most of the Lions test team representing the best of 4 test nations. They were also very unfortunate with injuries in the S14.

A few players impressed me. Jean Deysel was immense although few seemed to have picked up on it, he destroyed the Lions captain O’Connell in one particular tackle and made many more besides. Stefan Terblanche also had a tidy game.

• 557. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

#457 saffa_guy: Dude one mediocre Lions performance and suddenly we’re screwed! These so-called Bok supporters have no confidence in our players!

• 558. AB BullsbokReply to this comment :

#557 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: These imposters have not played any proper opposition yet! They are going to get hammered!!!!

• 559. Rugby_PrincessReply to this comment :

More all :-D

Biggles ! You worried about the tests ?

AB … is that you ?

• 560. AB BullsbokReply to this comment :

#559 Rugby_Princess: Morning your highness! Yip its me, and guessed right, its exam time and I am the coffee maker!!

• 561. Rugby_PrincessReply to this comment :

#560 AB Bullsbok:

Ola … wish you were here I could do with a coffee boy :eek: .

• 563. YojimboReply to this comment :

315. ant :
    June 10th, 2009 at 9:44 pm

I think you talk a lot of sense here.
    As an Irishman who naturally wants the Lions to win, I want to know that the team we may beat is playing at the top of its game and I don’t believe they will be, being wrapped in cotton wool for so long, and being denied genuine competitive game time.
    On the other hand the Lions may not be said to be pushed to the pin of their collar as at the very best these provincial teams could only be considered at best Springbok ‘A’ team standards, but, against that, for most of those players this is the equivalent of a Cup Final for them: the opportunity for them to be able to tell their grandchildren in years to come

• 564. jonnymainReply to this comment :

#556 Big Hit: Really? I thought he was way short of his best, although to be fair he didn’t get much of a chance to show what he can do on the run.

My Lions 15 after tonight looks something like this:

15 Byrne
    14 Bowe
    13 BOD
    12 Roberts
    11 Williams
    10 Jones
    9 Phillips
    8 Heaslip
    7 Williams
    6 Croft
    5 O’Connell
    4 Wyn-Jones
    3 Murray (token Jock)
    2 Mears
    1 Sheridan

• 565. goyougoodthing2Reply to this comment :

Ouch that hurt. Sharks were missing a bunch of players and also the ones that got on the field mostly looked like they never pitched up. Having not played rugby in a month it was always going to be hard but it also sends out a message as to why the Bok players are also being rested going into this series.

Surely some game time would be helpful as the Lions are gellign together better and better. The lackluster performance last night however gives no indication as the the strength of the Lions. Admittedly I am cross about forking out good money to see that pulp last night but it’s not the end of the world.

It does seem though that the breakdown and ball retention part of the game is lacking with the Sharks at present from senior down to 3rd team. What is going on? Not sure how a team can play worse and worse throughout a season unless the tactics are questionable.

I just don’t see any sense of cohesion and purpose and I hope it was a once off thing but the signs have been lurking since mid-rounds of the S14.

Up your game guys.

• 566. goyougoodthing2Reply to this comment :

Sorry I do have one very negative thing to add… Monty Dumond is particularly useless. Very very average player. Was apparent last night he hasn’t a clue.

• 567. capebullReply to this comment :

Sies man as I read Ryans report , I thought the Sharkies won. 39-3 is a huge hiding.

Whats wrong with the Sharkies ?

This team has 9 players thats part of the S14 team, ag nee Sharkies

• 568. GabiReply to this comment :

The Lions have not encountered a single GOOD SA No 10 yet.
    A Pretorius was pathetic, Cheetahs Jaques Louis Pots was average and then subbed by a worse option who couldn’t kick a tin can off the pavement on the night.

The moment they face a thinking 10 like Morne or Ruan, they will be forced on the back foot with decent tactical kicking over the top and putting our loosies and backs on the font foot. Different ball game…Bring on our REAL Players!

• 569. TbozknowsReply to this comment :

The Sharks second string back line was poor. Terblanche was the only bit of clas their.. I was happy with the forwards as they defended well and kept the Lionsa out over the first 20mins.

• 570. TbozknowsReply to this comment :

If the Lions continue to kick for touch in try scoring situations then they will be defeated. O Gara kept kicking for territory in game clinching situations. Luck the Sharks did not have the class playing out wide they usually have..

• 571. TbozknowsReply to this comment :

#10 Puma: I agree. I do not believe the Sharks would have one but it would have offered a bit more on attack. Jean Deysel had a good game. I see the emerging boks getting a win against the Lions.

The Sharks were poor on attack, where as in the pack they were not bad.

• 572. Hier kom groot k..Reply to this comment :

How we would love to see the Bulls team that played in the Super 14 final (with maybe JP Nel added) against this Lions outfit. The full strength Bulls team will probably nail Piet Helium’s envisioned Bok team – all hypothetical though.

• 573. Blou Baard PasteiReply to this comment :

This is no shock really. All this “hype” about the Sharks having “Great” player depth, and how they will dominate rugby in South Africa was utter nonsense and was proven last night!

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

Sharks 3 (3)

Penalties

• Rory Kockott

Lions 39 (7)

Tries

• Lee Mears
  • Mike Phillips
  • Luke Fitzgerald
  • Lee Byrne
  • Jamie Heaslip

Conversions

• Ronan O'Gara (3)
  • James Hook

Penalties

• O'Gara (2)

About the author

Ryan has written 2932 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator