Lions down disjointed Sharks

The Lions were good value for their 39-3 victory over the Sharks, but the Springboks won’t be shaking in their boots.

This match was always going to gauge where the Lions stood just 10 days from the first Test, more so than it would be about assessing where the Sharks were in their preparation for the Currie Cup, and in that regard the Springboks won’t be too concerned.

The Lions were hardly awful, in fact, their patience through the phases was impressive, while there were solid performances by individuals, most notably centre Jamie Roberts who carried powerfully all night, and scrumhalf Mike Phillips who has now surely cemented his place in the Test line-up. But for most of the match they sorely lacked a killer edge and the creativity that needs to be there if they hope to upset the Springboks.

They improved as the game wore on, but their improvement has to be viewed in context. This was a severely depleted Sharks side lacking quality players in key backline positions. The 36-point deficit will be labelled emphatic by some, but you are naive if you believe you can equate this match to the standard the Lions will face in the Tests.

The Lions attempted to blend the measured with the expansive, and ended up with an ugly hybrid of the two for most of the contest. Their backline attacks were generally far too lateral to trouble the Sharks, and the fact that flyhalf Ronan O’Gara resorted to speculative cross-kicks and grubbers underlined the lack of creativity and incisiveness in the back division.

The Lions signalled their intention to boss the set phases and driving mauls when they opted for a lineout instead of a goal attempt early in the match. They set up three powerful drives until they eventually turned over possession. The Springboks, watching from the stands, would have noted the tactic, as it is sure to be a primary avenue of attack during the Test series.

The next 40 minutes would be characterised by much of the same, as the Lions camped in the Sharks’ red zone, only to be repelled by some determined defence and a spirited breakdown contest. The routine became predictable – they would cough up possession, jog back to the lineout after the clearing kick had found touch, relaunch their attack, only to be turned over once more when a try seemed a certainty.

Much was made of Saturday’s poor showing at the breakdown, and tonight’s performance won’t do anything to dispel a perception that it is a facet of play they are vulnerable in. What amplified their woes is that on Saturday they were devoid of a specialist opensider, whereas tonight they fielded skilled scrapper David Wallace. The Irishman failed to impose himself, and his cause wasn’t helped by the limp performance of his teammates at the tackle point and breakdown.

Skipper Paul O’Connell promised improved physicality in this facet of play. On the evidence of tonight’s performance he won’t be pleased.

Given their absolute domination of possession, and the sheer number of times they got onto the Sharks’ 5m line, they should have led by at least 25 points at the break. Instead, the deficit was just four points – Rory Kockott taking the only scoring opportunity they had – and their ineptitude, particularly at the breakdown, must alarm the Lions’ coaching staff.

Their problems didn’t end there. The scrums, an area of the game the Lions pride themselves on, wasn’t as efficient as they would have hoped either, with Sharks tighthead Jannie du Plessis pressuring Gethin Jenkins throughout their duel.

The black and white wall offered plenty of resistance, but the pressure was incessant, and they were finally breached when the Lions played off the top of a lineout on the 5m line and punched through two phases before hooker Lee Mears powered over from close range. Ronan O’Gara added the extras.

There was a bittersweet moment halfway through the first half which would have further jolted the tourists.

O’Driscoll has been spoken up as a master, and that he might be, but it’s indisputable that he is an ageing master, evident by the fact that his speed eluded him when he most needed it. He intercepted a pass on his 22m and sprinted clear. In his prime, the Lions faithful would have been celebrating the moment O’Driscoll laid hands on the pill, but as he shifted through the gears it became obvious that the once mighty stallion no longer had the speed that was a key feature of his play at the height of his powers.

Sharks youngster Lwazi Mvovo will one day boast to his grandchildren that he hauled in the great O’Driscoll, but it will be a shallow boast.

The half ended as it had started, with the Lions surrendering possession on the Sharks’ tryline, and the tourists trudged down the tunnel looking bewildered.

They did, however, start the second half more purposefully, and scored soon after the restart when Mike Phillips jinked his way through some diabolical defence to score in the corner. O’Gara missed the conversion, but extended the lead to 12 points (15-3) shortly thereafter with a penalty.

The Lions seemed to click into gear thereafter, troubling the Sharks’ defensive line with every foray. A period of sustained pressure yielded another three points to O’Gara.

The Lions were always going to have the upper hand in the back division given the experience they boasted in comparison to the Sharks’ rookies, and it was through here that they scored their third try.

The ball was shifted wide to O’Driscoll, who drew the last defender and offloaded to Luke Fitzgerald, who was left with a clear run in on goal.

Their fourth was the pick of the bunch, Lee Byrne scything through the defence after an overlap had been created by some smart work by his inside backs. O’Gara kicked his fifth goal to take the Lions 32-3 ahead before Jamie Heaslip touched down after the siren to end the contest.

‘Must do better’ should be the assessment in the Lions’ report card. The Springboks won’t be shuddering in fear.

By Ryan Vrede, at King’s Park.

573 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All

• 501.grant10: Reply to this comment

#496 sharks_lover: agree

• 502.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#498 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: one hundred percent agreed have a look at this posting i made where in i also said we didnt need bekker with russouw there

I have no doubt in what the Bok team should be now that i have seen the Lions main test team

There is no doubt , Nokwe , Rose and bekker should not have been there

Their places should have been taken by ,Kirchner , BJ and Brussouw
    But unfortunately our selectors are one track minded and this is probably going to hurt us bad in the series

15 F Steyn
    14 JP Pietersen
    13 J Fourie
    12 JD Villiers
    11 B Habana
    10 M Steyn / Ruan
    09 F Dup
    08 P Spies
    07 J Smith
    06 S Burger
    05 V Matfield
    04 B Botha
    03 J Smit
    02 B Dup
    01 T mtawarira

16 G Steenkamp
    17 D Carstens
    18 D Russouw
    19 R kankowski
    20 A Jacobs
    21 W olivier
    22 R Pienaar / M Steyn

I believe Ruan should cover 9 as well and J Smit should cover Hooker as well as TH

• 503.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#492 cris:

On the contrary, its about you venturing the opinion that probably the most talented Bok pack in history is for the most part either “overrated”, “playing on reputation”, “a bunch of hasbeens” or just not good enough when the going gets tough.

Sure, you’re entitled to your opinion, but then you should be ready to take some criticism when others think said opinion is daft.

• 504.grant10: Reply to this comment

#497 cab: we will have to agree to disagree….Schalk is finished imo….has been for a long time…juan still digs deep…but a head blow away from retirement…..the near future is brussow, dewalt potgieter ,spies and steggman….and Luke should be in the mix….we 1 test away from seeing the light

• 505.cab: Reply to this comment

#481 skopskiet:
    agree Brussouw should be on bench, his form is phenomenal and you are right he provides the backrow with more balance by bringing something different – but Burger always plays full-out for Boks.

If boks lose, am sure Brusouw will replace him such will be the outcry, imo Burger’s going to play the game of his life.

• 506.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#502 sharks_lover:

We need a fetcher in that squad. If not in the starting 15, then at least on the bench.

I read on Beeld’s site that Burger and Kankowski are carrying injuries at the moment, and were not able to participate in the first full on physical training session involving the entire team.

So what is Snor’s plan if one of them has to withdraw from the squad? Is he then just gonna put Rossouw in? My fervent hope is that Brussouw or Stegman is brought in to terrorize the Lions at the breakdown.

• 507.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#500 poppa69: thats cuzz fools dont see what a hooker actually has to do , and thats play hooker first , dont get me wrong i like bismark , but smit is the best hooker in SA by a mile

and a front row of beast smit and bj would not stand back for any other

add to that the worlds best 2nd row in bakkies and matfield

thats an awesome tight 5

our loosies is ok to and with a good tight 5 wouldnt stand back for anyone

i know some are crying about burger but i tell ya im yet to see him have a bad game in a bok jersey

he as usual mate will give his all

• 508.grant10: Reply to this comment

#505 cab: burger is then very disrespectful of the stormers and wp jersey….and that pisses me off…

• 509.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#506 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: agreed
    whats you thoughts on the team i posted and also as you can see i said we need kirchner , brussouw and bj

• 510.grant10: Reply to this comment

#506 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: yes….yes….yes….yes……

• 511.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#506 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: and to be honest i agree stegmann is getting better but brussouw should be the man as he has been great for 2 years now and just being overlooked

• 512.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#508 grant10:

Mate, there are a hell of a lot of disgruntled people who are rather disrespectful of the WP jersey at this particular point in history, I can guarantee you that.

After all, disrespecting jerseys isn’t exactly unheard of among some of your most high profile players. Your new captain, to start with…

• 513.grant10: Reply to this comment

#509 sharks_lover: those 3 and its a 55 …45……now its a 60….40….in favor of lions….and they like durbs

• 514.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#506 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: kanko by the way had a slight lower back strain but is said to be fine

so he will be fine

they could have left out bekker for brussouw
    nokwe for kirchner and rose for bj

• 515.grant10: Reply to this comment

#512 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: at least luke has given his all to the stormers and wp jersey….unlike the glory boy….i am sick and tired if schalk just walking into the bok set up after pathetic year in and year out performances for wp and stormers…gatvol i am

• 516.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#509 sharks_lover:

Just about the perfect team, given the squad that was picked. One thing though. I would not have Kankowski on the bench. I’d replace him with a flank, as Rossouw is a lock replacement who can also cover eigthman in a pinch.

I just don’t see what Kankowski adds to that particular line up.

• 517.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#513 grant10: nope bro trust me that team i put up there if coached right can beat these lions

you saw a very waek and watered down sharks team tonight , do not go by that

• 518.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#516 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: no problem with that as i said there just add brussouw and it could have been so much better

also i dont think kanko is in the same form as last year

• 519.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Burger is no No.6, never has been and never will be, and therein lies all the imbalanced melodrama that is still going to unfold, either he plays 7 or sits on bench, but 6 is alien to Burgers disposition, all Jake Whites fault for reading the script all wrong and passing it on down the line, exactly same as Tacitus is saying about Roussouw playing flank,

we go down this road trying to match brawn for brawn in every position we going to get done, simple as pie.

Roussouw is a lock klaar, and Schalk Burger is a No.7 or at a push a No.8 but no No.6

• 520.grant10: Reply to this comment

i tell you guys now….we play jpp at 15….nokwe at 14….ruan at 10 [half fit and no game time ] it is all over rover….we go to altitude 1 nil down…mark this post!!!!

• 521.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#516 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: problem is there is no other flank in the squad

• 522.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#516 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: did you notice tonight maybe how many times deysel was doing the fetcher role for the sharks and won quite a few balls, even though he is not a 6 flank

• 523.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#507 sharks_lover: yeah, beggars belief to me… especially against an experienced Lions pack…

Im not so sure about Burger, as Ive said on here previously, I think he is in the same boat as Jerry Collins, physically exhausted… the mental challenge of playing the Lions will see him lift (if fit), beat the Lions and in all seriousness I think he may exit the stage of international rugby… even though hes only 26, I think his body is telling him its time to prepare for life after rugby… (he has lacked hunger all season, but I know he lifts for the SA jersey)…

• 524.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#518 sharks_lover:

Its not about his form, though. If Spies was injured, I’d have Kankowski in the starting line up. Its just that Kankowski doesn’t add anything different to the mix if Spies is already there. I’d rather have a versatile loose forward who gives us multiple replacement options, than a specialist no.8 on the bench.

And it’s not as if Spies needs to be tactically replaced after 60 minutes. If anything, he is at his most devastating when the game loosens up in the last 20 minutes.

• 525.grant10: Reply to this comment

#517 sharks_lover</ lets see….j smit at 3 crazy….no fetcher…half the side hasnt played in 2 months….we gonna get some players way out position…no boet….we in it deep !!!!

• 526.cab: Reply to this comment

#508 grant10:
    well by that reasoning the entire stormers tight 5 have been disrespectful of that jersey for the last 5 years or so, hopeless.

• 527.cris: Reply to this comment

#503 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season:

Of course I must accept critisism – especially if it is backed up with some analysis (as done by Cab)_
    You did not do that – You just dismissed my opinion.

Are you serious in your assesment that this is the most talkented bok pack ever?

Smit as prop?
    Bismarc as hooker?
    The over the hill Schalk as no 6?
    Pierre who has never consistently excelled at test level against strong opposition?

Bakkies and Victor are exceptional and has proven it.
    Schalk was exceptional but after all the injuries there is serious doubt about him.

The others????

• 528.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#521 sharks_lover:

You know what that tells us: It means that Rossouw was picked as FLANK, not as a lock. Meaning that Bekker is the chosen one to replace Bakkies in the 2nd half. So we’re replacing a hard man with a fairy who plays most of the game on Habana’s outside.

But of course, how else will you be able to play the basketball style rugby that Snor dreams about?

• 529.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#524 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: as i said mate i agree , i would have had brussouw on the bench atleast

our coaching has lost the plot
    if he ever had it

• 530.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#528 Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain “experts” look silly this season: my point exactly and i believe bekker should not be there

if anything in history we should have learnt by now is the lions come with all the hard men and play hard

softies wont stop them

thats a fact

• 531.grant10: Reply to this comment

#519 skopskiet: that is the biggest sin Jake shoved down SA Rugby throat …schalk has never and will never be a 6…we just cant and dont win the scraps at the breakdown …i cannot understand the thinking….then pdv says this morning he feels the loose trio unbalanced…his solution…d rossow at 7….FFS man!!! Juan is fine ….it is Schalk that cant fetch …his build is all wrong….brussow says in an interview it is his body type that makes him effective…but we will learn the hard way.

• 532.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#525 grant10: KAK :lol:

• 533.poppa69: Reply to this comment

guys, all you need to do to beat the Lions is spear tackle BOD… works like a charm

lmfao !

• 534.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#527 cris:

From 4-8 this is the best Bok pack since readmission, yes. And let’s be honest, if Spies was let loose on the 1974 Lions in his current shape, he would run them ragged, so one can comfortably say then that the modern guys are in a different league to the guys of 30 years ago. Therefore, by extension, the best Bok pack since readmission is also most likely the best Bok pack ever.

From 1-3, no, but they can hold their own against these Lions, apart from the odd scrum that might be a bit shaky.

• 535.peterg123: Reply to this comment

Was Ryan watching a different game than me? Where did he get this stuff from? The Lion’s dominated the lot, hook line and sinker. Deysel ended up looking useless, ditto Daniel, Kockett showed why PdV is right, the lineout was shaky, the scrum a mess, the backs a joke. The best player was an unknown 22 year old black kid and occasionally a 33 year old has been at No 15.

The Sharks lost endless turnovers in the 2nd half. I hear the Keo writers like to party…what were they on when they wrote this? The Lions were good and will get better. Overconfidence is a SA fault.

• 536.grant10: Reply to this comment

#526 cab: we know the tight 5 are ****….the schalk is supposed to be better….but i dont want to sound like a schalk basher…just gatvol we always gotta swim against the tide.

• 537.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#520 grant10:

Looks like its gonna happen Grant make your funeral pyre ready now, that way you won’t need counseling when sh’t hits the fan

• 538.cab: Reply to this comment

#533 poppa69:

• 539.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#530 sharks_lover:

Biggest softie in that setup is Kanko, not Bekker, any day of the week Bekker will stand his man, and Kanko will make like hay and run the other way.

• 540.grant10: Reply to this comment

#537 skopskiet: yeah….tough 1 st test ….anyway …till later…sleep time…cheers all…

• 541.peterg123: Reply to this comment

#530. sharks_lover I agree, the Lions always come with plenty of mongrel in them. I think tonight they have shown their tactics to play a hard forward game, and I think they have the personnel to do it or certainly to have a good go. I would warn the Boks against over confidence, on this site it ooozes from every pore.

• 542.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i am out too

take care tac , grant , peter , poppa , cab

catch you guys tomorrow have a good one

• 543.cab: Reply to this comment

#536 grant10:
    look i think u and skopskiet have a very strong point on brussouw and PdV will recognise this. i dunno why he has not chosen him and opted instead for an extra back like ndungane in the squad, but i should imagine their are political issues at play, which he or any other bok coach simply have to live with.

Likewise the lack of a specialist TH is a valid issue imo, but is it really going to make that much diff? Today the sharks had a helluva tight 5 with our supposed best technical scrummagers and they got pomped.

Fact of the matter is this is a very strong Lions pack, we always knew it, now we just have to have faith in the guys chosen who have given us so much pride before. Burger is a bok legend imo and has more than earned the right to pull on the G&G jersey in his prime at 26 years old.

• 544.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

#535 peterg123: Deysel was far from useless, he was killing out there. Great defensive performance.

• 545.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#523 poppa69:

You are correct, Burger is done, and next time he gets a big blow it could be serious, people have no idea what attrition someone who has scant regard for physical rehabilitation undergoes on an international rugby field for 7 or 8 years on the trot, the young guns will take their turn but the veterans, and Burger and Smith are there already, have to start protecting their ailing muscles and sinews and blood vessels from taking much more punishment.

One thing thinking the body is unrelenting and superhuman, quite another thing when it cries out in silent anguish every time it takes one of those enormous hits.

Spies or Kankowski are not superhuman either, (Spies more superhuman than Kankowski will ever be) and won’t go into trench warfare when its required for the very reason that deep down they know it only too well.

• 546.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#544 Big Hit: agreed BH deysel was doing the fetcher role for the sharks too

not usual for a 7 flank

infact the people are trashing the sharks rather then give the lions some credit here

also as you know this is not the real sharks team with 10 in the bok squad

• 547.Tacitus thinks the Bulls made certain "experts" look silly this season: Reply to this comment

#545 skopskiet:

Yeah well somehow I think the “ageing” Bakkies Botha – 29, and Danie Rossouw – 31, still have plenty of appetite left for the so called “trench warfare” you’re referring to.

And both of them are quite a few years older than either Schalk or Juan. I also seem to recall that the likes of Dallaglio and Martin Johnson were rather adept at “trench warfare” well into their thirties.

So maybe thins quite aren’t as dire as you try to make out.

• 548.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#545 skopskiet: Im not willing to write Burger off completely Skop, I think his star is definitely waning, and will happily be proven wrong if he poroduces the goods… I do believe he deserves first crack, having been a loyal servant to the Bok jersey in the past… but another ordinary (on the levels he has previously set) performance and the question will need to be asked…

• 549.poppa69: Reply to this comment

#542 sharks_lover: catch ya later…

• 550.lightie: Reply to this comment

Since a lot of people are raving about this “fetcher” role I’d like to ask who the Lions have used and the damage he has done in the tests so far? Don’t get me wrong though, Brussouw is a player I try to emulate.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.