Lions down disjointed Sharks

The Lions were good value for their 39-3 victory over the Sharks, but the Springboks won’t be shaking in their boots.

This match was always going to gauge where the Lions stood just 10 days from the first Test, more so than it would be about assessing where the Sharks were in their preparation for the Currie Cup, and in that regard the Springboks won’t be too concerned.

The Lions were hardly awful, in fact, their patience through the phases was impressive, while there were solid performances by individuals, most notably centre Jamie Roberts who carried powerfully all night, and scrumhalf Mike Phillips who has now surely cemented his place in the Test line-up. But for most of the match they sorely lacked a killer edge and the creativity that needs to be there if they hope to upset the Springboks.

They improved as the game wore on, but their improvement has to be viewed in context. This was a severely depleted Sharks side lacking quality players in key backline positions. The 36-point deficit will be labelled emphatic by some, but you are naive if you believe you can equate this match to the standard the Lions will face in the Tests.

The Lions attempted to blend the measured with the expansive, and ended up with an ugly hybrid of the two for most of the contest. Their backline attacks were generally far too lateral to trouble the Sharks, and the fact that flyhalf Ronan O’Gara resorted to speculative cross-kicks and grubbers underlined the lack of creativity and incisiveness in the back division.

The Lions signalled their intention to boss the set phases and driving mauls when they opted for a lineout instead of a goal attempt early in the match. They set up three powerful drives until they eventually turned over possession. The Springboks, watching from the stands, would have noted the tactic, as it is sure to be a primary avenue of attack during the Test series.

The next 40 minutes would be characterised by much of the same, as the Lions camped in the Sharks’ red zone, only to be repelled by some determined defence and a spirited breakdown contest. The routine became predictable – they would cough up possession, jog back to the lineout after the clearing kick had found touch, relaunch their attack, only to be turned over once more when a try seemed a certainty.

Much was made of Saturday’s poor showing at the breakdown, and tonight’s performance won’t do anything to dispel a perception that it is a facet of play they are vulnerable in. What amplified their woes is that on Saturday they were devoid of a specialist opensider, whereas tonight they fielded skilled scrapper David Wallace. The Irishman failed to impose himself, and his cause wasn’t helped by the limp performance of his teammates at the tackle point and breakdown.

Skipper Paul O’Connell promised improved physicality in this facet of play. On the evidence of tonight’s performance he won’t be pleased.

Given their absolute domination of possession, and the sheer number of times they got onto the Sharks’ 5m line, they should have led by at least 25 points at the break. Instead, the deficit was just four points – Rory Kockott taking the only scoring opportunity they had – and their ineptitude, particularly at the breakdown, must alarm the Lions’ coaching staff.

Their problems didn’t end there. The scrums, an area of the game the Lions pride themselves on, wasn’t as efficient as they would have hoped either, with Sharks tighthead Jannie du Plessis pressuring Gethin Jenkins throughout their duel.

The black and white wall offered plenty of resistance, but the pressure was incessant, and they were finally breached when the Lions played off the top of a lineout on the 5m line and punched through two phases before hooker Lee Mears powered over from close range. Ronan O’Gara added the extras.

There was a bittersweet moment halfway through the first half which would have further jolted the tourists.

O’Driscoll has been spoken up as a master, and that he might be, but it’s indisputable that he is an ageing master, evident by the fact that his speed eluded him when he most needed it. He intercepted a pass on his 22m and sprinted clear. In his prime, the Lions faithful would have been celebrating the moment O’Driscoll laid hands on the pill, but as he shifted through the gears it became obvious that the once mighty stallion no longer had the speed that was a key feature of his play at the height of his powers.

Sharks youngster Lwazi Mvovo will one day boast to his grandchildren that he hauled in the great O’Driscoll, but it will be a shallow boast.

The half ended as it had started, with the Lions surrendering possession on the Sharks’ tryline, and the tourists trudged down the tunnel looking bewildered.

They did, however, start the second half more purposefully, and scored soon after the restart when Mike Phillips jinked his way through some diabolical defence to score in the corner. O’Gara missed the conversion, but extended the lead to 12 points (15-3) shortly thereafter with a penalty.

The Lions seemed to click into gear thereafter, troubling the Sharks’ defensive line with every foray. A period of sustained pressure yielded another three points to O’Gara.

The Lions were always going to have the upper hand in the back division given the experience they boasted in comparison to the Sharks’ rookies, and it was through here that they scored their third try.

The ball was shifted wide to O’Driscoll, who drew the last defender and offloaded to Luke Fitzgerald, who was left with a clear run in on goal.

Their fourth was the pick of the bunch, Lee Byrne scything through the defence after an overlap had been created by some smart work by his inside backs. O’Gara kicked his fifth goal to take the Lions 32-3 ahead before Jamie Heaslip touched down after the siren to end the contest.

‘Must do better’ should be the assessment in the Lions’ report card. The Springboks won’t be shuddering in fear.

By Ryan Vrede, at King’s Park.

573 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 301.carol: Reply to this comment

#283 JimT: Hahahahaha…

• 302.Puma: Reply to this comment

#253 sharks_lover: Howzit boet. I agree 100%. WE all knew without our 10 Boks it would be like that. Thats why only about 15 000 in the stadium tonight. Why not release our best for this tour which only comes around 12 years. I think the Boks could be under cooked. Hope note. No warm up games and the Lions have 4 now. Although it took them a long, long time to get ahead of a very understrength shark team. They wont get away with this against our best Boks. Never unless we are not match fit.

• 303.JimT: Reply to this comment

#299 Viscount Crouchback: It could be. They maybe wanted to muscle things in for a while. But for professional teams you always take the points on offer IMO.

• 304.carol: Reply to this comment

#299 Viscount Crouchback: You don’t appear to be in ‘Who’s who!! ;-)

• 305.Puma: Reply to this comment

#302 Puma: note = not

• 306.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Kokkorot can go crock his crotch somewhere else looking to be a prima donna hero when it don’t count

If somebody don’t start kakking in his pants and soon these underdone bokkie boys could get taught a rugby lesson they don’t want to have to remember the rest of their glory boy days

I hope somebody in that dressing room and management team knows whats coming, somehow I got a nasty little hunch they don’t.

• 307.carol: Reply to this comment

#302 Puma: PUMA, come here for a big hug……

Does that feel better??

• 308.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#302 Puma: Sorry Puma!!

• 309.JimT: Reply to this comment

#301 carol: Girl in the gym today (a college prop of all things) had a T shirt with this slogan on the back:

“trample the weak.
    hurdle the dead”

I thought it was pretty good but suggested an improvement:

“trample the weak,
    hurdle the fallen.
    eat the dead”

• 310.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#306 skopskiet: The afterbirth bucket you crawled out of trailor trash is calling you

• 311.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

#289 skopskiet: Our brave boks are not shaking just like Liewe Lulu is nie bang nie. Their coach knows what he is doing (no TH against Sheridan, no FB, no fetcher) and have a plan! Anyway, it is the Lions shaking seeing the tremendous physique of a certain Mr Rose, just like Jonah Lomu scared the living daylights out of the Poms in ’95!

• 312.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

#294 cab: You can’t be serious !! I don’t say it will be a walkover for the Boks, but I will be very surprised if the Boks lose, the BIL’s haven’t played with any intensity yet !!!

• 313.cab: Reply to this comment

i hope someone is getting these bokke mentally and physically conditioned for this contest. if they lose it, bye bye to coaching careers and a few others, forget 3n.

• 314.Viscount Crouchback: Reply to this comment

#303 JimT:

I disagree. They need to play with the Tests in mind. There’s nothing to be gained from exploiting an obvious deficiency in the warm-up opposition that won’t be there come Test time. It gives a false sense of security.

The Lions will have looked at the relative strength of the Sharks pack compared to their backs and decided to take them on at their point of strength so as to maximise their workout before the Tests.

It’s a sensible strategy.

• 315.ant: Reply to this comment

The Lions play as well as they are allowed to play. I feel Pieter de Villiers has made a huge mistake not allowing the bok squad to play for their franchises. Firstly it devalues the Lions tour. Secondly it gives them the opportunity to play themselves into form, build confidence and build combinations against effectively our franchise B teams. Why are we making it so easy for them? We as a SA rugby public hate seeing our teams lose and when de Villiers condemns us to losses every game by wrapping his players in cotton wool, we lose in every respect and the Lions win. This strategy can backfire badly.Weeks of inactivity by our top players could mean an unnecessary test loss. I feel SA Rugby should have a stronger hand in the decisions about the strength of the teams that play against the Lions. It means smaller crowds and takes the gloss off their victories. If I was part of Lions management I would serious question whether to go on such devalued tours. It is disrespecting the Lions brand.

• 316.Puma: Reply to this comment

#307 carol: Carol thanks for the hug but I always knew without our 10 best it would never be the same. Same if the Lions never played their 10 best against this very young Sharks side.

I actually have huge, huge feeling this Lions team could be beat 3/0 against our best Boks. This very under strength and young Sharks team kept them out for more than I thought they would.

Bokke may just be far to strong for this Lions Carol. I think they may be not match fit but a far, far stronger team sat above and just watched and smiled. Lets see the Boks against this team. Our provincial teams are not playing their best players. Sad.

• 317.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#305 Puma: boet i am struggling to respond to anything as my connection keeps kicking off when i post anything

Keo is playing up i think

• 318.carol: Reply to this comment

#309 JimT: Did she call security?

• 319.cab: Reply to this comment

#312 Cheetah 4 Eva:
    lol, hello cheetah4eva, i am deadly serious to the extent that if the boks are not fully committed to win the collisions for 80mins * 2, they will lose this series.

• 320.JimT: Reply to this comment

#302 Puma: Was the crowd as low as 15,000? It looked fuller to me. If true that’s disappointing especially since the Lions supporters are starting to show up.

• 321.Puma: Reply to this comment

#315 ant: Brilliant post. Well said mate. I agree 100%.

• 322.JimT: Reply to this comment

#304 carol: You must have looked in an old edition :-) He’s a newbie !

• 323.BDB: Reply to this comment

#298 lightie: Bakkies het gesê as Smit sy rug reguit kan hou, sal die skrum vorentoe gaan.

• 324.carol: Reply to this comment

#316 Puma: Even after our last few wins I am inclined to agree with you!! However PLEASE let me see the Lions win at least one test LIVE !!

Your Shark Tank looked quite smart!! I will give you my impressions on my return!

• 325.ant: Reply to this comment

Thanks buddy. I am a frustrated SA rugby supporter right now.

• 326.carol: Reply to this comment

#322 JimT: Ahh, the Crouchbacks of Crouch End!! :-)

• 327.JimT: Reply to this comment

#314 Viscount Crouchback: THat makes sense I suppose. Clearly it was a deliberate tactic.

• 328.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#316 Puma: What saddens me is the lack of insight by most on here and in a stupid kid like manner only have it in them to trash the sharks , even when they know the sharks are playing without 10 boks

what makes it worse instead of seeing the strength of the lions and what is awaiting the boks

I been saying it all week the sharks firstly are facing the lions test team

the lions are choosing big backline players fast and strong
    they do everything at pace and the support play is brilliant

yes i know tonight they got away with murder at being offside most of the game , but the same kind of reffing could take place when the boks play

• 329.Puma: Reply to this comment

#320 JimT: That stadium goes very steep very high up and holds more than 52 000. I think no more than 15 to the most 20 000 and thats a mixed bag of Brits and Saffas. Not good enough for a franchise that really always has a full stadium in the S14. If we don’t play our best we will never ever go to watch at the stadium. Why keep back 9 of our Sharks players. Why? Its daft. No contest if that what happens. The same would happen if 9 of the best of the Lions were kept back. PdV has lost the plot. No game time with the Boks and never even released the Boks for their franchise. Huge, huge mistake. WE are going to be under cooked. Or just maybe pull it off.

• 330.JimT: Reply to this comment

#318 carol: Nah, she took me out with one punch :-(

• 331.carol: Reply to this comment

#329 Puma: I think Grant is going to be a bit more nervous after tonight!!

• 332.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Conversely should the Boks have played for their provinces
    And got injured, PdV would be similiarly damned
    The season is long and strenuous
    PdV has a Lions Series, 3N and EOYT which to win and set more records
    Prefer the prudent approach of wrapping the Boks in cotton wool
    Bokketeass 3 – BIL 0 with a record score to boot
    Blow that damn test whistle already

• 333.JimT: Reply to this comment

#326 carol: LOL I knew them well, on the mother’s side :-)

• 334.JimT: Reply to this comment

#328 sharks_lover: Not sure that’s the Lions test team. Will be at least 3-4 changes IMO.

• 335.gunther: Reply to this comment

Pink poms paste piss-poor sharks…

• 336.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

The Bokketeas will dominate the breakdowns and collisions
    The sheer strength and pace at(to) the breakdowns and collisions will be far to intense
    This is where we shall win the series

• 337.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#329 Puma: Are you OK Puma? Carol was very worried about you!!

• 338.carol: Reply to this comment

#330 JimT: Girl Power!!
    #333 JimT: Tee Hee…Must go now, keep the Lions Flag flying for a bit longer!!

Night Gentlemen – Puma and Sharks Lover thank you for your comments, difficult night for you, will get better…promise!

• 339.lightie: Reply to this comment

#323 BDB:

Ja but they will be up against Sheridan with O’Connell pushing him. It will go backwards.

• 340.Puma: Reply to this comment

#331 carol: He might be but that was a very under strength Shark side Carol. 10 Boks missing you cant really count or even compare that to what the Boks may do. We are without a warm up game. Thats the only thing that worries me.

• 341.JimT: Reply to this comment

#329 Puma: But for a country who used to be known for treating rugby like a religion it’s surprising to me. In Wales (another “religious tribe”) you would always get a full crowd for a touring side.

• 342.carol: Reply to this comment

#335 gunther: ‘Black and White you were hopeless tonight’

Only joking……just came to me!! ;-)

• 343.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Scrums will be parity
    Lineouts with slight advantage to the Bokketeas
    Bokketea loosies will dominate
    The dominating Bokketea loosies will give advantage to the Bokketea backs

• 344.JimT: Reply to this comment

#331 carol: The men in the white suits took him away tonight :-)

• 345.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

#341 JimT:

The cost of the tickets are to great for the local market
    At close to R300 its pretty steep

• 346.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#338 carol: Cheers Carol. Have a good one!!

• 347.carol: Reply to this comment

#340 Puma: Yeah, but you know how he worries!!

Must go now, I am as bad as you for saying goodbye and stopping!!

• 348.JimT: Reply to this comment

#332 saffa_guy: Yeah but the Lions have had a longer season at this point.

• 349.cab: Reply to this comment

#332 saffa_guy:
    deadright, blow that bugger already.

• 350.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

#309 JimT: I suspect it more accurately looked like

TRAMPLE the WEAK if it was a girl.

sounds kinda scary.

Well done Lions.

Looks like Sheridan might have booked his place in the Test team.

Lions looking good. Phillips very good. But Lee Byrne is proving to be a large handful, with a mule like kick. Almost end to end. We might need Steyn at 15.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.