Hook nails late winner
Replacement James Hook goaled a penalty in the 74th minute to give the Lions a scrappy 26-23 win over WP.
The rain abated from kickoff to climax, but the heavy showers around lunchtime certainly left their mark on the Newlands turf. The greasy ball was even harder to field given the turbulent wind, as WP fullback Joe Pietersen indicated on more than one occasion.
The Lions employed the high-ball tactic to good effect as Pietersen and company dropped several bombs to hand the visitors both territory and possession. The first quarter was characterised by garryowens, probes for touch and low-trajectory grubbers, and for the most part it was the Lions who executed these kicks better.
Willem de Waal kicked two penalties and a drop goal in the first half while Pietersen sunk a drop goal of his own, but unfortunately for the home fans, WP just never looked like scoring a try. The Newlands’ faithful screamed whenever the hosts drew close, but as the move broke down a more prominent cry of ‘Lions, Lions’ could be heard from the travelling contingent.
Wales No 8 Andy Powell stood out for the tourists, beating the first tackler with his dangerous combo of quick feet and powerful upper-body strength. It was a Powell break that sparked the first try as the Lions’ backs and forwards combined to expose some poor WP defence.
Powell offloaded to Martyn Williams who in turn popped a smart pass to Stephen Jones. Rob Kearney took it wide, throwing a great floating pass in spite of conditions. Tommy Bowe received the ball on WP’s 22, spun out of one tackle, stepped inside another and bust through two more to dot down.
Bowe’s direct running set up the visitors’ second try in the 35th minute, and again credit must go to the shocking WP defence. Bowe slid through the first line effortlessly and was eventually hauled in by Tonderai Chavhanga after repelling the hapless Pietersen. He also found the time to deliver a basketball-pass to fellow winger Ugo Monye, who showed great anticipation and pace to finish.
De Waal goaled a penalty right on half-time to reduce the deficit to 18-12, but WP were struggling to stay in the match.
The scrums were a mess with both teams falling foul to a slippery pitch while the Lions’ lineout were solid on their own ball and competitive on WP’s. The breakdowns were also a mess with no team obtaining a clear advantage.
De Waal’s penalty attempt just after the break dropped under the bar, but several moments later he was on target to further narrow the gap. Province began to believe, and this was exemplified by lock Anton van Zyl’s scuffle with opposite number Donncha O’Callaghan.WP were outclassed but were determined to go down fighting.
But there was never enough accuracy in their fight for it to amount to any real threat. They bounced off too many first-time tackles and dropped too many passes. There were several turnovers that the Cape crowd cheered, but these were very minor and insignificant victories.
The Lions piled on the pressure and eventually the WP resistance crumbled again in the 57th minute. They built through the phases never shifting out from the first-receiver, and eventually Williams flopped over in the corner.
Stephen Jones’s goal-kicking radar was off in this fixture and he’ll surely be keen to get back up to the highveld. Newlands is notorious for its difficult goal-kicking conditions but that hardly seem to affect De Waal, who kicked an important penalty in the 61st minute to keep the hosts in the game at 23-18.
Province drew level three minutes later when a sustained period of pressure paid dividends. They looked to have butchered an opportunity but remained patient, and when the overlap was created De Waal threw a good overhead pass to Pietersen who showcased his finishing ability. De Waal, couldn’t convert from the touchline, but at 23-23 with 16 minutes remaining, the stage was set for a dramatic finish.
Hook didn’t fare any better than Jones with his first penalty attempt, and so the Lions failed to take the lead. Brimming with confidence, the hosts fought their way into Lions territory but were undone by a handling error again. This time it was De Waal who dropped the ball cold.
Hook goaled a difficult penalty from 50m out to regain the lead and from here the Lions fought to hang on. Again they were helped by WP’s errors, an attacking movement in Lions territory coming to nought due to a forward pass. On the hooter, Pietersen also grubbered the ball away to hand the visitors victory.
It was a far from polished performance from the men in red, but the bottom line is the Lions have won their fifth match in succession and gained further match preparation ahead of next Saturday’s Test in Durban.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Newlands

June 13th, 2009 at 4:40 pm
Mollig gives away another penalty…. 2 scrums in a row
#240 goyougoodthing2:
yes and we get to vote a player off every 5 minutes…
#247 gunther: It looked suspect to me boet.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:41 pm
You second grade frauds can go stuff yourselves cause as much as it pains you to acknowledge it you punks can’t stomach the fact that this lowly province captained by the bane of your ideologically deluded deficiency has taken this Lions team closer than all your highly devolved doos teams can muster.
Especially the punk *** Nazi twat pricks in the midst with the Germanic style intelligence of note
God help the Emerging Boks with De Waal at 10.
I can count at least 10 calls that Lawrence has made today that have been wrong and directly benefited WP. I know he is an awful orange coloured ref, but ffs
June 13th, 2009 at 4:42 pm
come on province, here we go…
Terrible decision making from Joe… kicking the ball away on the hooter????????????
#253 skopskiet:
don’t be foolish …
Lions win 26 / 23
June 13th, 2009 at 4:43 pm
lol, not a bad effort at all.
#253 skopskiet: ‘This Lions 2nd team is like winning the world cup without playing the kiwis”… does that sound familiar chumper wumper?
well played province good effort..
a miss is as good as a mile
Well done Province.
Nice try.
Congrats to the BL and their supporters.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:44 pm
So the Lions C team beat a full strength WP side. If only WP had a captain.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:44 pm
#254 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: De Waal is about as good a 10 as Monty Dumond. The only place they would be safe on a rugby field is… off it.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:45 pm
#251 gunther: Nice, rugby idols
#253 skopskiet:
it must kill you that de waal was the guy that kept them in it…also provonce came no closer than the cheetahsd did..
#253 skopskiet: Keep smoking that crazy dagga oupa! WP only got through penalties while the Lions have crossed the line 3 times. At least the Cheetahs outscored the Lions just let down by their goal kicking. WP showed heart but by no means did they outplay the Lions. If De Waal had got that kick WP might have one. Goal kicking is a major weakness in SA. Not particularly optimistic about the Boks winning this series anymore.
Well done Western Province, did yourselves proud, I knew you would, knew it would be a tight game. Just pleased to get out of that by the skin of our teeth. Again well done.
Wonder wanneer gaan kopskoot weer hier blog, lanklaas van hom gehoor ?
Hoop Snorre het mooi na hierdie wedstryd gekyk: jy kan nie sonder ‘n fetcher in jou span speel nie. Punt
Bring Brussow of Stegmann in !
I am a bit disappointed with you guys. That was a SA team playing.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
#231 Ed_the_Lion:
Jis, ek se jou!
Hy het sy bes probeer, kyk net daai tekkel van Powell byvoorbeeld….amper gee hy hom n kaart…niks fout gewees daar nie.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
Fark, De Waal kicked away ALL WP’s quality possession…
The Lions won the ground ball battle, no doubt !
… but well done WP, for running the Lions close, although ably assisted by the Ref.
Congrats Lions… still unbeaten…
June 13th, 2009 at 4:47 pm
#253 skopskiet: Are you by any chance calling white South Africans Nazis?
#271 BDB: Kopskoot blog nou op die afrika Sokker blog. Hy het agtergekom rugby is nie vir hom nie.
#234 cab: awful decisions, in fairness only one of them was by Lawrence, the other one was by the TJ
June 13th, 2009 at 4:48 pm
#273 Pietman: Kyk Pietman, as dit nie vir Lawrence was nie, het WP erg pak gekry.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:48 pm
#272 Loserer:
I agree completely where were you sa fans were cheering the teams playing the Bulls in the semi and the finals…
June 13th, 2009 at 4:49 pm
#272 Loserer: ? Of course it was, and it’s another sad day when we can’t beat a C team. Point is some people just like causing nonsense so you have to be real and point out a few things to them.
I’m not going to let some blindsided ideological fool rant about me and get away with it
Willem De Waal was excellent, almost his finest hour.
#271 Big Hit:
The referee screwed you boys big time.
Sorry.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:51 pm
#279 gunther: I shouted for the Bulls, even some of their real think fans who happen to be friends of mine couldn’t put me off cheering on a SAFFA team. And some of the fans make it HARD to embrace them LOL
#275 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
no I think he was calling me a nazi which is ironic since I’m not german and I can’t even speak afrikaans…slightly inconvenient for him…maybe I will take him to Europe to see the graves of my antecedents who died so crunts like him could be free…
#279 Ed_the_Lion:
Daai ingooi van die vleuel, heeltemal ligit, 5 meter, daai tekkel van Andy met sy arm om,…en dan JD wat nie bind nie, drie keer na mekaar?
June 13th, 2009 at 4:52 pm
#279 gunther: I actually cheered myself hoarse…please don’t tell my Dad though
Looks like the Proteas are on top too!
Ek het deur die hele week gesê die WP kan verras, dit was amper.
Kort net ‘n goeie kaptein, agsteman en fetcher dan behoort dit goed te gaan in die CB.
Vier van die vyf top CB unies het nou teen die BIL opwarmingswedstryde gespeel, en na my objektiewe mening lyk dit so:
1. Cheetahs
2. WP
3. Sharks
4. GL
Die buiteperdvir die CB is die BB, wat nog te dronk is om te dink aan die CB …
June 13th, 2009 at 4:53 pm
#286 Loserer:
your secret is safe with me…
I am proud of my boy…he showed his quality…pity WP had no 12 on the field…Damn…Well done Morgie…You made the best of what was given to you..Should have been you or bobo at 12…Fkit Luke had to lead a totally depleted team and still got close enough even though half of teh team played kak…Joe had a nightmare but still managed though.. Dewaal kicked OK but the rest of the game was Kak…no defence at 10 and 12… Aplon tackled better than 10 and 12
The kuk players for WP was Luke Watson, Joe Petersen, J D Moller, Bobo, Newman, and the No 6 flank… whatshisname… and De Waal, although kicking well to posts, kicked far too much…
The outstanding players for the Lions was Tommy Bowe, Kearney, Williams, Ellis
June 13th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
#278 Ed_the_Lion:
LOL, you okes can only talk ****, there was buggeral pak there.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
Have you guys picked up the fact that apparently it is legit now to tackle around the neck? All the games that was played so far had some hair raising tackles innit.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:55 pm
290.Shaun,You have to Celebrate.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:56 pm
ek moet se, hier is n paar ouens wat lekker stront praaat. Wp het goed gedoen; wille willem ook. ref was ok, een of twee dodgy calls maar niks ernstig nie. WP mooi baklei. pietersen het n nagmerrie gehad en WP die game gekos. Luke was doodfo*kkenstil.
#285 Pietman: Ja Pietman. Sal nie verbaas wees as Cheeky hom gebribe het nie.
Sjoe, maar Luke het weer ‘n kak game gehad.
Stuart Barnes was complaining about the weather and the fact that it was raining… i mean come on, really.
Good game, shame about having to listen to the British commentary. Had to mute the stuff they’re so full of **** can’t wait to watch the Boks kick their a*^
That fool has found his way to this thread now.