Hook nails late winner
Replacement James Hook goaled a penalty in the 74th minute to give the Lions a scrappy 26-23 win over WP.
The rain abated from kickoff to climax, but the heavy showers around lunchtime certainly left their mark on the Newlands turf. The greasy ball was even harder to field given the turbulent wind, as WP fullback Joe Pietersen indicated on more than one occasion.
The Lions employed the high-ball tactic to good effect as Pietersen and company dropped several bombs to hand the visitors both territory and possession. The first quarter was characterised by garryowens, probes for touch and low-trajectory grubbers, and for the most part it was the Lions who executed these kicks better.
Willem de Waal kicked two penalties and a drop goal in the first half while Pietersen sunk a drop goal of his own, but unfortunately for the home fans, WP just never looked like scoring a try. The Newlands’ faithful screamed whenever the hosts drew close, but as the move broke down a more prominent cry of ‘Lions, Lions’ could be heard from the travelling contingent.
Wales No 8 Andy Powell stood out for the tourists, beating the first tackler with his dangerous combo of quick feet and powerful upper-body strength. It was a Powell break that sparked the first try as the Lions’ backs and forwards combined to expose some poor WP defence.
Powell offloaded to Martyn Williams who in turn popped a smart pass to Stephen Jones. Rob Kearney took it wide, throwing a great floating pass in spite of conditions. Tommy Bowe received the ball on WP’s 22, spun out of one tackle, stepped inside another and bust through two more to dot down.
Bowe’s direct running set up the visitors’ second try in the 35th minute, and again credit must go to the shocking WP defence. Bowe slid through the first line effortlessly and was eventually hauled in by Tonderai Chavhanga after repelling the hapless Pietersen. He also found the time to deliver a basketball-pass to fellow winger Ugo Monye, who showed great anticipation and pace to finish.
De Waal goaled a penalty right on half-time to reduce the deficit to 18-12, but WP were struggling to stay in the match.
The scrums were a mess with both teams falling foul to a slippery pitch while the Lions’ lineout were solid on their own ball and competitive on WP’s. The breakdowns were also a mess with no team obtaining a clear advantage.
De Waal’s penalty attempt just after the break dropped under the bar, but several moments later he was on target to further narrow the gap. Province began to believe, and this was exemplified by lock Anton van Zyl’s scuffle with opposite number Donncha O’Callaghan.WP were outclassed but were determined to go down fighting.
But there was never enough accuracy in their fight for it to amount to any real threat. They bounced off too many first-time tackles and dropped too many passes. There were several turnovers that the Cape crowd cheered, but these were very minor and insignificant victories.
The Lions piled on the pressure and eventually the WP resistance crumbled again in the 57th minute. They built through the phases never shifting out from the first-receiver, and eventually Williams flopped over in the corner.
Stephen Jones’s goal-kicking radar was off in this fixture and he’ll surely be keen to get back up to the highveld. Newlands is notorious for its difficult goal-kicking conditions but that hardly seem to affect De Waal, who kicked an important penalty in the 61st minute to keep the hosts in the game at 23-18.
Province drew level three minutes later when a sustained period of pressure paid dividends. They looked to have butchered an opportunity but remained patient, and when the overlap was created De Waal threw a good overhead pass to Pietersen who showcased his finishing ability. De Waal, couldn’t convert from the touchline, but at 23-23 with 16 minutes remaining, the stage was set for a dramatic finish.
Hook didn’t fare any better than Jones with his first penalty attempt, and so the Lions failed to take the lead. Brimming with confidence, the hosts fought their way into Lions territory but were undone by a handling error again. This time it was De Waal who dropped the ball cold.
Hook goaled a difficult penalty from 50m out to regain the lead and from here the Lions fought to hang on. Again they were helped by WP’s errors, an attacking movement in Lions territory coming to nought due to a forward pass. On the hooter, Pietersen also grubbered the ball away to hand the visitors victory.
It was a far from polished performance from the men in red, but the bottom line is the Lions have won their fifth match in succession and gained further match preparation ahead of next Saturday’s Test in Durban.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Newlands

June 13th, 2009 at 4:57 pm
WP is now officially the most boring team in SA.
#295 Veltie: Pity, ne? Ek het regtig gedink hy gaan uitblink
#217 goyougoodthing2: seconds team my A*& and I was unaware that it was mandatory to play the All Blacks to win the world cup?When was that rule introduced? Get over it dude.
Boring team with a kuk captain.
June 13th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
#297 Loserer: stuart barnes is n drol
#300 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts: Dit kan jy weer sê.
lol, very good interview with anton van zyl, had a great game too.
#297 Loserer: don’t listen to Barnes, everyone hates him up here
#290 Langenhoven:
bru did you even watch the game de waal kept province in it…
Gesien hoe hardloop Duane vir Bobo weg, Bobo kon nie by hou nie, miskien moet hy weer gaan flank speel ?
#301 Loserer: het ook gedink hy gaan goed doen; maar was erg stil. Brussouw het duidelik die verskil in klas en “hot air” gewys.
#291 grootblousmile: Thats because you don’t watch much rugby…there are more than two players on teh field….you miss a lot when you are blinkered
June 13th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
#293 Loserer: I have noticed some superbly dodgy tackles and generally nefarious play from the Lions on this tour. Not particularly in the spirit of the tour one would have thought.
But it seems to be okay, as is rucking, something pur S14 guys would be sent to jail for, even standing near someone in boots was enough to get the bin on occassion.
I think rucking is part of the game… but rules are rules… or not
#292 grootblousmile:
This Newman boy, Bagel says he is kuk… they went to Bishops together in their final, he was a ‘post-matric’ student last year, whatever that may be….passing school at age 20 or so?
Lyk my kopskoot is darem terug na die sokker blog toe. Nou moet lange en namakwa hom volg, dan is alles lekker.
#303 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts:
#305 Ed_the_Lion:
Dit wassie julle Lions wat gewen hettie… dit was die flokken BI Lions…
Hehehe
Shaun,goyougoodthinggo.
June 13th, 2009 at 5:00 pm
#313 Pietman: Of hy het sommer sy matriek deur die pos gedoen.
June 13th, 2009 at 5:00 pm
#297 Loserer:
you would swear they never play rugby in the rain in the UK…
June 13th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
#298 ldn_bokkie: Ne? The Lions are not impressing me.
Imagine a combined team, say the Great White (as in Shark)that consist out of SA, All Blacks and some Wallabies (
)Ganging up on the Home Nations and play them individually, playing a warm up against Saracens and only win by 3 or 2 points?
#308 gunther: He could have made them win…I don’t aim low mate… Luke kept them in the game…It took massive leadership to make them believe though all their inadequacies
#312 goyougoodthing2: I think it’s been a pretty clean tour overall. Especially compared to the mess in 2005 and the Waratahs game in 2001. SA teams have played hard but fair, good on them.
#315 grootblousmile: Hehehehe, meeste na mekaar Lions wenne wat ek in ‘n laaaaang tyd gesien het.
#304 K9 the Lion: King of Beasts:
Your ex-Lions boy was motm, imo…Anton van Zyl.
Luke and Newman were just plain ‘poppie kuk’….again….
#302 ldn_bokkie: Dude you are completely missing the point and you have no idea what I am talking about. If it’s not directed at you then leave it alone.
Skop rambles on about us not being WC champs cos we didn’t play the ABs and then relishes this close loss to a C Lions team.
If you want to throw insults, throw them at people who are not talking rugby and stirring *****, otherwise stay out of my way.
#313 Pietman: Newman is maar super kuk Pieta…. end vannie prent.
Eddieleeu,slaan jy Skerms op? As jy nie weet wat om te antwoord nie,gaan roep jou oom daar innie pampoenland.
June 13th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
#312 goyougoodthing2: yeah and I think it is atrocious that the Lions have not picked up much injuries….
June 13th, 2009 at 5:03 pm
#316 namakwaland: LOL
#323 Pietman: Newman is not great. It seems no one in the WP backline can tackle…
#325 grootblousmile: Lekker dag vir rugby!! We just managed to scrape home there!! Phew!!
Skoppie could have played number 8 or 12 for WP today and made more of an impact in this game than his beloved Watson and Grant.
As for his other wonder boy Pieterson, well enough said.
June 13th, 2009 at 5:04 pm
#326 natkakcant: http://www.africasoccer.com
Nou kan jy lekker gaan chat.
Groot plesier, hoop jy geniet dit.
June 13th, 2009 at 5:05 pm
#313 Pietman: Bagel is sore ****…if he did say that…You heard wrong…He played for Maties last year… but he did get a post matric scholarship at Bishops where he did all his schooling ( High school)
#321 Langenhoven:
Hey Langkop…
Your UCT graduation papers, I am waiting old son.
And I am NOT talking pamphlets with hammers and sickels, I am talking degrees, as in MBA?
Show them up, or shut up…
#327 Loserer: LOL. Did you hear Naas and John Robbie talking about the tour they were involved in. Naas said the main point of the warm up games was to hurt the Lions and soften them up
I think this tour is a bit of a sham so far. I will be voting with my feet next time a tour is played under strength…
June 13th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
Well done Lions they have 2 good packs but only ONE good backline Bowe and Monye must be in there now for the test team!
#323 Pietman: Ja….toe hulle opdraf toe dog ek wie is daardie dik no13……… en Luke….koddigste loosie wat ek nog gesien het.
#318 gunther: A bit rich coming from them, claiming that you get 4 seasons in one day in CT. Well bloody hell, in CT you can at least say lets have a braai in 3 hours time and you won’t get rained out!
#329 carol: Hellooooooo
The Lions scraped past a very disjointed WP Team…. I bet you’re glad that you’re a Bulls supporter now !!
Congrats on the Lions though…
#320 Langenhoven:
Luke had a VERY quiet game and de waal floated a beaut for joes try give credit where its due and people might take you more seriously…
#333 Pietman: Hi Piet, nice to have you back here….Sorry we just about managed to scrape a win there, we should have been more convincing!!
June 13th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
#334 goyougoodthing2: Yup, the score is 1-0 for the Lions with Ludik’s broken leg
#333 Langenhoven:
Dan is hy maar bleddie dom, as hy eers matriek slaag op 22-jarige ouderdom….
En wat soek hy op Maties, wat swot hy daar?
Just wandering if any of our bloggers are backing the Windies cos they are ‘more african’ today…
June 13th, 2009 at 5:08 pm
#341 carol:
You should have won this one easily, poor refereeing cost you….but a win is a win!
#341 Loserer: Yep, and I heard a rumor he was heading for the Sharks too… he is a great player and I hope he comes back from injury… those kinds of injury can ruin your head game
#338 grootblousmile: Seems I made the move at the right time, the Bulls are pretty cool!!
Wore my Springbok jersey to Nigel’s house to watch the rugger, the lads gave me some stick, epecially when they saw 15 Montgomery on the back!! Heheheh
June 13th, 2009 at 5:09 pm
#324 goyougoodthing2: Yip, This was a poor Lions team. Think it was thier B or maybe C team. Still WP only lost by 3 points. Think Burger, Bekker and Ricky had dreadful S14. Never watched a lot of this game so not sure if WP even missed them. If they never then why do we have them in the Bok team?
Our Proteas are doing damn well though should beat WI. Great game going on there. Watched the cricket today mostly.
June 13th, 2009 at 5:09 pm
#344 Pietman: Got to admit WP’s kicking kept us in our place!
That was a geat try though wasn’t it!
June 13th, 2009 at 5:10 pm
#325 grootblousmile: I believe that you son is good rugby player… lets wait and see.. It will be sad one day when he has to distance himself from you to get into a representative team…