Rose to start against Lions

Earl Rose will start at flyhalf in the Emerging Springbok team to face the Lions at Newlands on Tuesday.

Peter de Villiers withdrew Rose from the Golden Lions’ side to play the tourists, but he will now get the chance to start alongside provincial team-mate Jano Vermaak. Coach of the Emerging Boks, Dick Muir, said it wasn’t too late for Rose - who will take the goal-kicks - to win his Test debut in this series.

‘It is an opportunity,’ Muir told keo.co.za. ‘The Bok side for Saturday hasn’t been selected yet. It’s been great to see Earl in a different environment, where he’s been a senior player, and he’s flourished.’

‘That halfback combination excites me, they’ve played together at the Lions,’ said Muir. ’There is no problem with Earl being on the bench during the Super 14, you are still part of the side and you grow. It’s a 22-man game, not a 15-man game, and Earl has grown in stature. Now the time is right for him to start.’

Muir also added fullback Zane Kirchner was unfortunate not to be in the 28-man senior squad.

‘One of the exercises of this team has been for me to get to know the players better. Zane has stood out for me, he’s an impressive individual who is unlucky not to be in the Bok squad. There is also a chance there for him.’

Muir said the Emerging XV could do their senior counterparts a favour by inflicting a crucial psychological blow on the visitors.

‘The Lions won’t be vulnerable – guys will be playing for Test spots, while for others it could be their last outing of the tour. But there is an opportunity there for us to strike a blow,’ said the Bok assistant coach.

‘We are all working towards a common goal: to win the series. It would be an added bonus for South Africa to win two in a row after the Lions had six victories under their belt.’

Cape Town has been hit with a cold front that is expected to continue throughout the match, but Muir said ideally they would like to play an expansive game.

‘You have to be sure of the conditions before you can try anything, but we certainly want to move the ball around. With this team we would have liked to play on a dry, hard surface instead of slippery and wet one, but it is a challenge for us as coaches.

‘This side also has the ability to play expansively and tight.’

The Boks used their substitutions poorly in the first Test, but Muir said the entire Emerging squad will get a game at Newlands.

‘It’s a 22-man game. Sometimes you get it right and sometimes you get it wrong. But we will use our full quota on Tuesday.

‘As a team we only had three days in Durban and got together again on Sunday, but I must give credit to captain Dewald Potgieter and the way he’s got the guys to gel. We can only see if we had enough preparation after the game and then we can judge our time together.’

Emerging Boks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Morgan Newman, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Earl Rose, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Bandisa Maku, 1 Wian du Preez.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Heini Adams, 21 Willem de Waal, 22 Danwel Demas.

By Grant Ball, in Cape Town

62 Comments

• 1.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

That is one wicked loosie combo!

And as for Rose – good luck to the guy, now let’s see what he does.

• 2.DieBarry: Reply to this comment

It’s going to helluva wet and cold game. Perfect conditions for a good flyhalf to dominate. So finally we’ll see if Earl is as good as Snor thinks.

• 3.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

I am watching the game at newlands – lucky I am not paying for them.

Come on Rose prove your an merited favour!

That is if you can?

• 4.DieBarry: Reply to this comment

And watch out for Wilhelm Steenkamp. You read it here first: he’s the next Matfield.

• 5.DieBarry: Reply to this comment

I wonder how fair the average Bok supporter on here will be. Most people here will say “I told you so” if he has a bad game. But will they be willing to admit he’s good if he has a blinder? Or does judging on one performance only apply to a bad performance?

• 6.Limerick-Bok: Reply to this comment

That is a monster pack, with firepower on the bench… I see 60m rolling malls with a cockey Rose providing punishment from the back… Vermeulen and Deysel will get us across the advantage line!

• 7.Leeu tot die dood : Reply to this comment

Fluck, there goes Superbru points.

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

So how does Derick Kuun not make that team?

• 9.Limerick-Bok: Reply to this comment

#8 Tacitus: Kuun should be in the Snr Bok squad!

• 10.rich1: Reply to this comment

#5 DieBarry:
    Rose has had more than one bad performance.

I’d like to see Heini Adams get some decent game time, think he’s a better option than Januarie to have on the Bok bench. If du Preez gets injured early and Januarie has to replace him in a test the Boks will be in kak.

• 11.Limerick-Bok: Reply to this comment

Flutey will teach Newman the art of midfield play… He’ll run Newman and Pose appart!

It is essential that stick it to them in the forwards!

Lions by 12 on my Superbru…

• 12.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

#5 DieBarry: It will be interesting to see. I am betting against the blinder idea as I have yet to see a reason why Rose is playing professional rugby at all and not club rugby in Kraaifontein.

• 13.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

#8 Tacitus: I have to agree, Kuun should be there!

• 14.rich1: Reply to this comment

#12 Breakdown Boy:
    Maybe Kraaifontein already has a decent flyhalf

• 15.katman: Reply to this comment

Backline is a bit light in the pants.

• 16.DieBarry: Reply to this comment

#12 Breakdown Boy: I agree, I’m not an Earl fan at all. I’m just wondering about the fairness though (even from myself). I’m at least willing to admit it when I’m wrong. But I don’t think we’re wrong about Earl.

• 17.Twig: Reply to this comment

I thought the Emerging team was strictly for uncapped players??

Did Tiaan Liebenberg not get game-time in the ’07 Tri-Nations tour to NZ?

• 18.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Wow!
    What a team!
    Rain expected in CT, so that heavy pack is just what the doctor ordered.
    Jano and Rose a good combo.
    I think they might just edge the Lions.
    Go Bokkies, moer hulle nog n slag, en Saterdag weer!

• 19.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#17 Twig:
    No, that was Richardt Strauss I think.
    Nobody in that team has ever been capped, not even Rose.

• 20.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

backline looks soft.

too bad

I thought the emerging boks stood a real chance.

who knows?

the Lions can’t pick test players for Tuesdays game surely.

If they do the Lions have no chance of lasting 80 minutes at altitude.

But then, even a lions B side is full of internationals.

I guess the best we can hope for,is for the emerging boks to run them close.

Remember, both scrap sides the Lions have come up against…they have struggled with.

the Royals and the Spears.

• 21.Cyborg: Reply to this comment

Looks like a very useful team this (though I don’t know much about the center combination).

• 22.superbowljoel: Reply to this comment

#15 katman: Yeah, i think jano and zane will be doing alot of cleaning up for nos 10-14

• 23.theOracle: Reply to this comment

#8 Tacitus: not good enuf?

• 24.Twig: Reply to this comment

#19 Pietman: Are you sure? I seem to recall there being some hoop-lah as a result of Deon Fourie leapfrogging Shimmo to starting hooker at WP as a result of Liebenberg getting called up.

• 25.theOracle: Reply to this comment

#17 Twig: no.. that was strauss I think..

• 26.BALLER canREADY: Reply to this comment

HOLY SH**!!! when i read the headline i thought he was going to start for the test on Saturday!!!

was just about pack up for panama and join our scrum coach!!

• 27.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#24 Twig:
    Yes, I won’t bet my house on it, but I am pretty certain Lieb has never been capped.

• 28.Shark_Logie: Reply to this comment

They stand a chance here…..

I hope Rose will shut up his detractors and deliver a very good performance or if not be given the boot. He can try and prove himself again in the Curie Cup.

• 29.gunther: Reply to this comment

maybe rose can come on as a sub on saturday say in the 65 th minute…..

• 30.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Not a bad team at all – I think they can beat the Lions, if not by much.

• 31.byoboy: Reply to this comment

“‘It is an opportunity,’ Muir told keo.co.za. ‘The Bok side for Saturday hasn’t been selected yet. ”

don’t be a ****, ****

• 32.sparticus - www.capetownrugby.co.za: Reply to this comment

#23 theOracle: Sorry to say but Kuhn is for me about the 6th best Hooker in teh country. Even that Deon Fourie boytjie at WP is better. Before him is Smit , Bismark , both FS hookers , Liebenberg and Fourie. I just dont see the hype of Dereck Kuhn ,

Will go as far as say as I believe he is the week point in that Bulls frontrow.

• 33.sparticus - www.capetownrugby.co.za: Reply to this comment

Oops week = weak

• 34.samoashark: Reply to this comment

#8 Tacitus: Agree with Sparticus. Derick Kuun is around the 8th or 9th best hooker in SA. Behind at least Bismarck, Smit, Schalk Brits, Deon Fourie, Strauss cousins, Tiaan Liebenberg, Chiliboy.

• 35.Shaka: Reply to this comment

Kuun should be there! And finally we get to realize the magic of Jacques Botes, that man has been ignored for too long!!

• 36.katman: Reply to this comment

#22 superbowljoel: I see that too – lots of kicking to relieve pressure and not much possession.

And even a midweek Lions team has plenty of firepower in the backline – Flutey, Williams, Fitzgerald can all be pretty destructive.

• 37.bok1906: Reply to this comment

#8 Tacitus: Do you really want to know? Its called democracy i think, well thats what they tell us anyway.

I really hope Rose can perform, they guy has had a lot of unnecessary pressure put on him, mainly by old PvD by making such a big scene about him. Ive seen him play so well for lions, I would go out on a limb and say that from an attacking point of view Rose is more likely to open up defences than Pienaar, Ruaan has the whole package though…

• 38.Earl_Rose_k@kkest_Bok_EVER: Reply to this comment

Earl is soos die Afridi van rugby. Speel 2 games great uit 1000, maar as hy die dag goed is, is hy magic.

• 39.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

I almost had a heart attack

sheesh, don’t do that!

• 40.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

#39 SpringbokSarah: :lol: You obviously thought the same as I did when I read the headline, I am still trying to recover.

• 41.Larch Strober: Reply to this comment

Rose will be taken off 50 min into the game, De Waal will come on for the rest of the game…

• 42.bestyearever: Reply to this comment

Paul o’ Connel = POC

POC = Player of Colour

Colour = Ginger!

• 43.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

A sigh of relief! I was scared PdV would give Rose the no 10 jersey this Saturday.

• 44.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

AAAAH. I thought Rose was starting the next TEST!! BLOODY HEADLINES!!!!

• 45.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

I’m worried about the EB’s backline. Looks about as kak as the Sharks one that took on the Lions.

• 46.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

Why the hell is Dewaal there????

He’s not not quite an emerging player is he.

• 47.BMM: Reply to this comment

#26 BALLER canREADY: Me too – I actually got a lump on my head where I fell off the chair when I read the headline!

Phew – while I think rose is helluva talented I just don’t think he is quite test material – too erratic. S-14 and 7′s suits his style of play a bit better. He can get away with a couple of things not coming off but in test rugby there is no place to hide!

good luck to him tomorrow and I hope he has a good game – he does not deserve the stick he gets from the supporters as he did not select himself.

• 48.sparticus - www.capetownrugby.co.za: Reply to this comment

#46 CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Agree , might as well picked AJ Venter as well , also is Demas really the next best thing in SA ? I would pick the whole SA 7s squad ahead of him !!

• 49.Cereal Killa: Reply to this comment

What the hell is willem de waal doing there????? and damwell demaas WTF??

• 50.KAYBEE: Reply to this comment

32. sparticus – Just a couple of things:

1. It is Kuun, not Kuhn
    2. Smit is now a prop, not a hooker anymore
    3. Apart from Bismarck, and MAYBE Adriaan Strauss (only because of his scrummaging), Kuun is by far better than any of the other names you mentioned! You obviously did not see the Kings game against the B&I Lions where Kuun was brilliant……

• 51.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#5 DieBarry:

If Rose has a cracker I will be the first to say so.

But I seriously doubt he will.

• 52.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Who are 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Deon van Rensburg?

• 53.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Willen De Waal an emerging Bok? He is about Percy’s age. Fark, have we no 10′s in SA?

• 54.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

Rose sucks, end of story, but let’s see what he does tomorow!

• 55.bdsb: Ben die Springbok: Reply to this comment

Tussen nr.10 tot 14 gaan daar niks aan nie, verder lyk die span goed.

• 56.sparticus - www.capetownrugby.co.za: Reply to this comment

#50 KAYBEE: Kaybee ,

1 – Sorry Kuun then , happy ?
    2 – Smit might be a prop now but he is still a better hooker , says more of Kuun’s ability than Smits. If you had the choice of Smit vs Kuun playing hooker in your team who would you pick ? I know who I would and probably 99.9999 % of the country as well , The other 0.0001% would be you and Tacticus
    3 – One game for the Kings does not make him better , U saying he is better than Liebenberg and the other Strauss ? You obviously did not watch the S14 this year…..and even Last year and the year before that etc etc etc etc.

Sorry never said Kuun is bad , just not in the top 6 Hookers in this country. Said the same for Twinkle toes Britz of WP , He might have shined for the barbarians game but would you pick him ahead of any of the others in a final ? The fact Rassie did though was strange and in the later stages came to his senses.

• 57.sparticus - www.capetownrugby.co.za: Reply to this comment

#52 Loosehead: Yeah who are they ? Why could they not pick some of teh Sevens players ? That FS boytjie for instance ? Erbenson ? Common we must have some flyers out there ? I am not saying these guys are not good , just that these are suppose to be the next best thing and I have not heard of them before.

• 58.cab: Reply to this comment

Nice pack, what a shame about the backs, with all the talent in SA at the moment.

• 59.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

A bridge to far I believe.
    BL must be favorites.
    Rose is going to be interesting. May his natural ball skills make me eat my words.

• 60.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

#14 rich1: That, my friend, is sheer gold. You win one Internet.

• 61.Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Reply to this comment

#58 cab: Out of pure interest who would’ve you selected for the backs?

• 62.sparticus - www.capetownrugby.co.za: Reply to this comment

I would include Ludik and erbenson in there somewhere , also maybe Stik ??

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.