Burger set to start
23 Jun 2009
Schalk Burger is looking strong in training and is likely to feature in the Springbok starting line-up named later today.
Burger missed the first Test with a calf strain, and on Monday the Bok medical staff were reluctant to give a definitive answer on his availability for the second. However, in Tuesday’s training session at Wits University, he has taken part in all contact drills with no sign of struggle.
Fourie du Preez and Deon Carstens are also showing no side effects of their respective shoulder ailments. The only player to miss the training session is Pierre Spies, who has the flu.
The Bok management have confirmed Spies will be back at training on Thursday, and he looks likely to retain his starting spot for Saturday’s clash with the British & Irish Lions.
Ricky Januarie is also running drills, but there has been talk that he will be axed from the Bok bench. In this event, flyhalf Ruan Pienaar will cover the scrumhalf position if Fourie du Preez has to leave the field.
The defensively-suspect Adi Jacobs is still running with the first-choice backline and looks set to keep his place as the starting No 13.
The Bok match 22 will be announced at 13:30 today.
By Ryan Vrede, at the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

144 Comments
23 Jun 2009, 11:44 am
drop a few i say
spies was quiet and is a betterutility forward than kanko, so start with a specialist 8 ie kanko…
my team would look like this:
15 francois
14 jp
13 fourie
12 jean
11 habana
10 ruan
9 fdp
8 kanko
7 juan
6 burger
5 matfield
4 bakkies
3 smittie
2 bismark
1 beeeeeeeaaaaast
16 guthro 17 carstens 18 dinasor 19 spies 20 adi 21 morne 22 wo
23 Jun 2009, 11:44 am
#45 Puma:
we dont need brussouw he did nothting on saturday. he did not play as well as the hype around him
23 Jun 2009, 11:45 am
#38 grant10:
We had less than 50% of the ball with Brussow on the park.
Playing two fetchers is nothing new, the Stormers did it too and often ended up with almost no ball.
In fact, it actually complimented their defense more than anything.
I read a very interesting analogy on Brussows play, will try and find it and post it for you.
23 Jun 2009, 11:45 am
#46 grant10:
This is what I love about the Bokke … Even though clearly rusty, our boys still put points on the board every time we got into their 22 … and most times we got into their half.
If we can get closer to 50% possession and territory this game it’ll be the 40+ win everybody is baying for …
Don’t forget how much our team thrives on ‘offensive’ defense. A few extra turnovers and some quality backline ball and we’ll rip them a new one.
23 Jun 2009, 11:46 am
#43 skunkie: Me thinks we kicked badly because we were under so much pressure. We definitely kicked too much. Often pointless up-and-unders regardless of the BIL defensive line. It gives the impression that the backs have no confidence. That’s probably why we ended up with 32% posession and 40% territory.
#32 grant10: Think it will be Burger to start. Remember PdV said his gameplan is 60% around Burger!! Just hope that Brussow is on the bench.
#33 badeesh: Well thats all we done in the 2nd half. Defend. PdV wanted to speed up the game with the guys he brought on but actaully it slowed it down and we went backwards. We just defended the whole of the 2nd half.
Look I know we need good defence we lacked it from the centre that was a huge problem. Burger is class I know just think with Brussow we do have something else.
Hey hey… don’t touch J Smith the guy’s the original hard man of the SA back row. He’s the man, when the stormers were playing the cheetahs one year they were destroying the cheetahs but on came mister Smith and they came back to almost win the game… he is a leader and history shows a team full of leaders wins more games than they lose.
23 Jun 2009, 11:47 am
I would keep most of the team the same. only change would be Adi out of the 22 Fourie 12 and WO bench. and burger for brussouw
#42 badeesh: i think you read too many superman comics….schalk was piss poor for the stormers….statistically the worst!! Out since April and now he must come back 2 monthe later and replace the best fetcher in SA….statistically!!!! Are you bloody mad young man!!!
This is from Oranje Orakel some of you might still remember, and avid Cheetah supporter.
Although BruSSow was surely missed since his substitution, the “crowding of the breakdown” @ testlevel as foreseen and played to under coachWhite was clearly demonstrated.
Test rugby is just that bit faster and does not allow BruSSow the time to get near the ball, the way he does in Super games. He then lacks the power/bulk to contest the breakdown by way of force.
I believe that he should play, as he covers more ground and will be able to slow down ball or even rip some possession if he can play as a scrounger only- but he should be the only light frame in the pack.
#56 Puma: meant = actually
23 Jun 2009, 11:48 am
#55 The Riddler:
agree
WO should start this weekend too.
Cheers all back later.
#10 Cereal Killa: juan smith is the best in the world. even the ausies and new zealand experts say he is the best. and everyone knows they favour their own players. schalk havent played upto standard for a long time. put him on the bench and drop bekker.
#53 PissAnt: Brussouw does well when the game is loose and players are attacking from all corners (Cheetahs game for example). That’s not going to happen in a BOK/BIL test match. I still think he’ll cause carnage if brought on in the second half when one or both teams play more expansive rugby.
23 Jun 2009, 11:50 am
#53 PissAnt: mate you a good oke but misguided ….schalk competes for 7 jersey or the bench…
23 Jun 2009, 11:50 am
#65 The Riddler:
Which is exactly my point on style of play.
The Aussies hardly look for a hard physical game of direct rugby, the thrive on moving the ball into space and away from contact, hence their loosies play a massive role as the fetcher type loosie.
23 Jun 2009, 11:51 am
#53 PissAnt: we had a lot more ball until brussow taken off boet
#59 grant10:
No just a massive Schalk Burger fanboy
Look, he’s had a pretty shoddy year by his standards, but the bok team just isn’t the same without him.
I prefer Brussouw off the bench regardless. And it’s great to have the option.
But against this Lions team we need to tackle them backwards … not let them off-load and gain meters in the tackle. That’s something I’ve not seen happen to a Bok team in a while.
Once Schalk has broken a few legs, get Brussouw on to steal their ball in the last quarter n break their hearts. By that stage we’ll have earned the right to spin the ball and turnovers are great attacking possession.
Burger in for Smith surely…
Check Schalla win the man of the match award on Saterday!
#60 PissAnt: Agree 100% from a fellow avid Cheetah supporter.
23 Jun 2009, 11:52 am
Fourie needs to start at 13….
23 Jun 2009, 11:52 am
#54 badeesh: dont get ahead of yourself mate…gonna be tough…especially if we go in without a true fetcher
23 Jun 2009, 11:54 am
#60 PissAnt: always play a fetcher….and bat first…
23 Jun 2009, 11:55 am
Smith was lackluster….Possibly his second worst game in a springbok jersey.
#66 grant10:
In what way am I misguided?
I simply do not buy into the fetcher theory as much as most guys do.
I try and back this up through some things I have noticed in rugby in general and state a case.
There are many fantastic players around which to my mind simply do not fit into our team’s current strengths or compliment each other in a combination.
Like I told GBS a while back, I think Brussow is a fantastic player who can add massive value in a specific setup.
In fact, he is so good he will never have a kak game even in a setup which does not suit his strengths – that just shows you how good he is.
#69 badeesh:
tackle them backwards …
the only player who did this was beast bekker and juan.
bakkies hardly makes taclkle unless no one actually noticed
23 Jun 2009, 11:56 am
#68 grant10:
I suppose Brussow was the sole reason for a great ball retention?
I have not seen the stats for Saturday on any player so honest question?
23 Jun 2009, 11:56 am
Am I the only one who is a bit concerned that the team is being selected whilst the backline coach is away in capetown? Is Muir going to have any say in what the team looks like?
23 Jun 2009, 11:57 am
#66 grant10:
this news is going to ruin your week boet…. still going to forries this afternoon?
23 Jun 2009, 11:57 am
#69 badeesh: no mate….burhger must never play fetcher again….Brussow or steggmann always in my book….smith is better then schalk at 7…schalk on the bench….
I know schalk has his fan club and i have met him and a better oke you not likely to meet…
But this is the real deal and the game has evolved…so must we…
The bulls did…and were magnificent!
23 Jun 2009, 11:58 am
#75 grant10:
hehe, what did Smith do in the 20/20 we lost?
23 Jun 2009, 11:58 am
Solank die regte 22 tal gekies word, is ek nie so baie gepla oor wie begin en wie op die bank is nie. Om te voorkom dat ons weer in die laaste 20 amper verloor, sal dit goed wees as die volgende reserwes kan opkom om die orde te bly handhaaf:
Guthro (vir Beast)
Danie (vir Bakkies)
Burger (vir Juan)
Caarstens (moet net opgaan as Smit beseer word)
MS (vir Ruan)
WO (vir Mossie)
Adi (net opgaan as daar ‘n besering is)
Daar is dit, faks dit gou vir Snorre !
23 Jun 2009, 11:59 am
why do we need to props on the bench??
23 Jun 2009, 12:00 pm
Saturdays game.
Admittedly these stats are from a fantasy scoring game, but give an indication nonetheless…
What worries me is the number of tackles our locks made.
1 turnover 1 go forward 3 tackles 2 lineouts
Victor
1 turnover 0 go forward 5 tackles 5 lineouts
brussouw
1 turnover 2 go forward 9 tackles (subbed)
smith
1 turnover 1 go forward 14 tackles 1 lineout
Spies
1 turnover 2 go forward 11 tackles 2 lineout
Victor and bakkies tackle counts were well below their norm…
You would also have expected bakkies and Juan to get over the advantage line more often. It could boil down to game plan. But that is their strengths and we need to use it to give us front foot ball and an attacking platform.
23 Jun 2009, 12:01 pm
Play the B’s:
Beast, Bismarck, Barney, Bakkies, Big Vic, Brussow, Burger, …
23 Jun 2009, 12:02 pm
15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (captain), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Schalk Burger, 19 Danie Rossouw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Morné Steyn
23 Jun 2009, 12:02 pm
#77 PissAnt: the lions gonna play m williams on the quick loftus ground…we answer by leaving out our pacy fetcher?
Aussies will rip us apart if we rely on brute force …bulls employed steggmann and dewalt potgierter to great effect…
I year time…take note of this now…our loose trio will be brussow, dewalt potgieter and Spies….with kanko and steggman covering….thats the way forward boet…not we will moer them back 2 metres, etc…
Brussow .steggman,dewalt are bloody strong as well…
This superman **** is a crock of it!!!
23 Jun 2009, 12:03 pm
The easy solution is to drop the Spies Show Pony and play Schalk at 8, with Danie and Beker on the bench.
23 Jun 2009, 12:03 pm
#80 rich1:
the team is being ANNOUNCED today.
it would have been discussed and selected provisionally already.
23 Jun 2009, 12:04 pm
#88 PissAnt: Waar is The Beast !? Kan nie glo hul het hom gedrop nie.
23 Jun 2009, 12:04 pm
#79 PissAnt: all i know is when brussow went off all hell broke loose …perhaps to do with all changes coming so quickly….our philosophy is poles apart on this issue…its cool…my best mate and i debate this furiuosly all the time
23 Jun 2009, 12:05 pm
#86 green_and_gold:
andries bekker made 10 tackles not missing any
23 Jun 2009, 12:05 pm
#81 gunther: will be there with carol, and tassies and mates fron 15 h 30 boet…pop in
23 Jun 2009, 12:06 pm
#83 PissAnt: LOL
23 Jun 2009, 12:07 pm
#89 grant10:
It is a style of rugby which revolves around strike runners in offense, and big physical defenders on defense.
We absolutely smashed the Aussies at Ellis park last with a record score year with Schalk, Juan and Spies playing…
Even with their 2 loosie policy.
#94 skunkie:
Its all relative. according to these stats he made six.
But consider that for 90% of the time he was on, the Lions had the ball……
#88 PissAnt: okay…we friends again!
#94 skunkie:
but i see your point Mr Bekker!!