Emerging Boks sneak late draw

Willem de Waal sank a touchline conversion after the hooter had sounded to hand the hosts a 13-all draw against the Lions.

The match was played in atrocious weather at Newlands, and as the rain came pouring down once more, De Waal converted Danwel Demas’s try from the right hand corner. De Waal also produced the floating skip pass which put the winger in.

It was yet again another match where the Lions couldn’t close it out as they led 10-0 after quarter of an hour, but failed to score again until 60 minutes later.

Early on the Lions enjoyed territorial dominance but Ronan O’Gara missed a fifth minute penalty straight in front of the poles after hands in the ruck. The Emerging Boks continued to be pinged at the breakdown and were spoken to by ref Alain Rolland after eight minutes for repeated infringements. On this occasion O’Gara couldn’t miss from 10m out to put his side into the lead.

While the Lions were being awarded penalties from most of the breakdowns, the Boks’ ball was slowed down whenever they went into contact.  Martyn Williams was a menace at the breakdowns and the Boks had difficulty troubling the defence with slow ball.

From a South African perspective, a couple of players were in line to push for places into the senior squad. Zane Kirchner was one but he started badly as his low kick handed Keith Earls the first try of the match after Martyn Williams was gifted the ball from the Bulls fullback’s kick.

The Lions were 10-0 after 15 minutes without having done anything special.

Peter de Villiers has spoken much about Earl Rose’s ability, but he too found the pace up a level to anything he’s experienced before and was eventually moved to No 15 for De Waal. Rose wasted two turnovers when he held on too long  – one which one sold Morgan Newman as he received man and ball – while he had two early kicks charged down, the first from behind his own goal-line.

Jano Vermaak’s bombs from the base also didn’t give his chasers a chance to compete, which gave the Lions plenty of possession as Andy Powell enjoyed the opportunities to run it back.

The Boks did manage to get on the scoreboard five minutes before the break and went in 10-3 down, very much in with a chance of a victory.

Rose slotted another from straight in front as the Emerging XV trailed 10-6 with half an hour remaining.

De Waal then made his appearance in a bid to win the territorial game as the game turned into a kick fest in windy conditions. As a result, the sides went into the final 10 minutes  locked at four points difference.

With just four minutes to go, the Emerging Boks were penalised at scrum-time and replacement James Hook ensured they couldn’t lose the contest.

However, the Boks produced their best attack of the match from a lineout. The forwards set it up, and Demas and De Waal did the rest.

The visitors were visibly unhappy after the match as a number of them again didn’t stake claims for Test spots. Hook, on for O’Gara after 44 minutes, may be the one individual who forces his way on to the bench.

By Grant Ball, at Newlands

618 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 1.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Lions to win

• 2.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Go The Future,
    Go Saffa,
    Viva rugby Viva….!!!!

• 3.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Go Kirshner…show Helium how well you can swim like Michael Phelps.

Wet, wet, wet Newlands.

Can Earl the girl swim? That is the question.

• 4.chch: Reply to this comment

Is the Emerging Boks side made up entirely of players who have just admitted that they are ***?

• 5.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Damn it looks terrible there.
    Low score for sure.
    Anything can happen.

• 6.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Swirling winds and sheets of torrential rain at times.

Kickers will do well to get 50% of their kicks over tonight…

• 7.chch: Reply to this comment

#6 WP Till I Die:

Sounds like New Zealand rugby

• 8.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I hope nobody drowns.

• 9.chch: Reply to this comment

Can someone please give me an online site for the game?

• 10.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#9 chch: Paying? Legal? Or Pirate?

• 11.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#7 chch: Hahaahaha

• 12.chch: Reply to this comment

#10 bokfan1:

I have no problems with free as the coverage here has been sold to Foxtel and Foxtel won’t let me watch unless I sign a 7 year contract and agree to give them my first borne.

I refuse to let our game be sold off to be watched by an elite few (with one less child)

• 13.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

#12 chch: Amen bro – I agree about that – a 7 year contract?! bl00dy hell.

Ive heard justin . tv shows them – not sure if its good, if it works or if its legal…

Not sure of any others – but there must be

• 14.chch: Reply to this comment

#13 bokfan1:

Yep, these channels are mostly on the Justin TV network. The thing is that most sports sites on Justin have been shut down because Sky have been actively threatening them.

• 15.bdb: Beast die Bul: Reply to this comment

Campo oor laas Saterdag, by rugbyzone.com:

What’s that old joke about South Africa handing out gold watches and Kruger Rands for favours? All I can say is the Springboks owe Ugo Monye something nice and glittering.
    If it hadn’t been for Monye the Boks would have lost the first Test against the Lions in Durban. It’s as simple as that.

Monye should have scored two tries and didn’t get either because he made mistakes that even 10-year-olds don’t do by not changing hands to protect the ball as he went for the tries – one in the first half and the other when the Lions were looking as though they might shock the Springboks with a come-from-behind win.

It’s just basic stuff – switching the ball to the other side so that it can’t be knocked out of your hands. Yet here’s an England and British Lions wing who doesn’t know how to do it! Just goes to show how robotic modern rugby has become that guys can get to this level without the basic skills.

And if that goes for the players what about South Africa’s coach? Peter de Villiers certainly can’t take credit for the win. If he didn’t have the World Cup players – Smit, Matfield and Du Preez – the Boks wouldn’t have won. That they did is because the players wanted it.

Take the way Morné Steyn was sent on to make his international debut. Never mind the fact that Ruan Pienaar was going well how can you send a guy on for his first test with his side pinned on their own line and having to receive his first pass with his feet up against his own dead-ball line? That’s just blind.

The Boks escaped with the first test but I now can’t see them losing the series. I just can’t see the Lions beating South Africa at altitude, provided the coaches have learnt their lessons which is to shore up their defence and deny the Lions front-foot ball.

The Lions looked dangerous when they got ball with centres Brian O’Driscoll and Jamie Roberts shifting well and running good lines but the Springbok defence was all over the place. Jean de Villiers and Adi Jacobs looked vulnerable while Bryan Habana’s propensity to in-tackle disrupts the defensive screen.

The referee, Bryce Lawrence, also seemed to have it in for the Lions at scrum time with the penalties he awarded in this phase providing the Boks with a string of crucial penalties that Ruan Pienaar goaled to give them a cushion of points.

It will be interesting to see whether a Northern Hemisphere referee (Christophe Berdos of France) has a different influence on this aspect of play in the second test at Loftus.

In the end the Boks surprised me because I thought they’d struggle more having not been together for a while. Ruan Pienaar went well at flyhalf and Percy Montgomery’s influence was plain for all to see with their excellent kicking game.

The fact is the Boks could have lost it, but didn’t, and now the Lions have it all to do.

Looking at the other two internationals over the weekend – the Wallabies against Italy and the All Blacks against France – I wasn’t too impressed.

The All Blacks were lucky to square the series and the Wallabies are still searching for the spark. Going on these games South Africa should win the Tri-Nations – it’s theirs to lose. The Wallabies could be a threat but I don’t think much of the All Blacks.

• 16.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Go Emmertjie !!

…but I think the Lions will win becaue the Emmertjie Backline is just tooo ordinary !

• 17.bdb: Beast die Bul: Reply to this comment

Wonder wie gaan vanaand se gala wen ?

• 18.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

GO BOKKE!!!!!!!!

it’s very cold tonight

• 19.Puma: Reply to this comment

#9 chch: Hello chch, Good to see you back.

Congrats to the AB’s win on Saturday.

• 20.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Duane’s playing! Go DUANE!

And General De Waal and Tiaan… well I’m not sure what his nickname is

• 21.Johan: Reply to this comment

#17 bdb: Beast die Bul: Verskoon as ek miskien bietjie stadig is, maar hoekom die naam “Beast die Bul”?

• 22.Johan: Reply to this comment

#20 SpringbokSarah: It’s the Emerging Boks playing, not WP.

• 23.Puma: Reply to this comment

Go E. Boks.

#18 SpringbokSarah: Here we sitting with t-shirts on….hehehe. Durbs weather in winter is brilliant.

• 24.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#22 Johan: But WP players are playing and being I am a WP supporter, they have my full support

• 25.Blou Baard Pastei: Reply to this comment

Go Bokkkeee!!!! Mo3r die souties….

• 26.Puma: Reply to this comment

#21 Johan: I think he is supporting Beast because Boks going to play at Loftus this week :D

• 27.The-Pill: Reply to this comment

Dis Leeu koud vanaand.

Net kop en hare!

• 28.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#23 Puma: CT still better

excuse me while I go find a blanket, my calming pills and the remote

• 29.Johan: Reply to this comment

#26 Puma: Oh! Just thought maybe the Bulls signed him for next year. :-)

• 30.Johan: Reply to this comment

#24 SpringbokSarah: I’m color blind tonight, no blue, black or red, just GREEN!

• 31.Puma: Reply to this comment

#15 bdb: Beast die Bul: Whats Campo on about? If it was not for Monye the Boks would have lost? We almost lost because half the team came off just after 55 min. If the 15 that played in the first half stayed on we would have thrashed the Lions.

Ag, who cares what Campo says.

• 32.Puma: Reply to this comment

#29 Johan: NO, He is staying put at the Sharks :lol:

• 33.Puma: Reply to this comment

Go E. Boks. Think the weather will be in favour of the Lions.

• 34.Johan: Reply to this comment

#32 Puma: I’ll go buy 10 Bulls jerseys just to finance his transfer to Pretoria. What a player!

• 35.Johan: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke!

• 36.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#29 Johan: He begged us……..wanted to add a trophy behind his name on his business card.

• 37.Puma: Reply to this comment

#28 SpringbokSarah: Beauty yes, but weather this time of year its horrible there. Durbs feels like more of a warm summer :D

• 38.Rugbystud: Reply to this comment

Come on Zain – plat yourself in to the Bokk eteam and Steyn out…

• 39.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#36 Bul-a-Bhloo: …..before he retires in ten years time……

• 40.The-Pill: Reply to this comment

Government wants to abolish SA provinces.

Wonder why? They say service delivery?

Think something more sinister.

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#15 bdb: Beast die Bul: who is the doos who picked him over shane williams, yes mcgeechan! the genius we’ve been told about for months now!

• 42.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#38 Rugbystud: Zain needs another season at S14(15) level. He is not quite there yet.

Lets see tonight?

• 43.Puma: Reply to this comment

#34 Johan: He is brilliant. Such a humble a superb person too. We are proud of our Beast. He bought his parents a house here in Durban too. Also heard his brother is in the Sharks academy. So we could have two Beasts :D More the better.

• 44.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Dit lyk 6-duim koud op Boolands !

• 45.Puma: Reply to this comment

Off to watch the rugga now. Back later.

• 46.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#44 grootblousmile: Eish Grote, sekerlik 2″……

• 47.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

earl rose charged down again – what does pdv see in him?

• 48.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Rose bfart no.1.

• 49.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Rose 1st touch almost gives a try away

• 50.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#47 fish out of water: and misses a tackle….

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.