Emerging Boks sneak late draw

Willem de Waal sank a touchline conversion after the hooter had sounded to hand the hosts a 13-all draw against the Lions.

The match was played in atrocious weather at Newlands, and as the rain came pouring down once more, De Waal converted Danwel Demas’s try from the right hand corner. De Waal also produced the floating skip pass which put the winger in.

It was yet again another match where the Lions couldn’t close it out as they led 10-0 after quarter of an hour, but failed to score again until 60 minutes later.

Early on the Lions enjoyed territorial dominance but Ronan O’Gara missed a fifth minute penalty straight in front of the poles after hands in the ruck. The Emerging Boks continued to be pinged at the breakdown and were spoken to by ref Alain Rolland after eight minutes for repeated infringements. On this occasion O’Gara couldn’t miss from 10m out to put his side into the lead.

While the Lions were being awarded penalties from most of the breakdowns, the Boks’ ball was slowed down whenever they went into contact.  Martyn Williams was a menace at the breakdowns and the Boks had difficulty troubling the defence with slow ball.

From a South African perspective, a couple of players were in line to push for places into the senior squad. Zane Kirchner was one but he started badly as his low kick handed Keith Earls the first try of the match after Martyn Williams was gifted the ball from the Bulls fullback’s kick.

The Lions were 10-0 after 15 minutes without having done anything special.

Peter de Villiers has spoken much about Earl Rose’s ability, but he too found the pace up a level to anything he’s experienced before and was eventually moved to No 15 for De Waal. Rose wasted two turnovers when he held on too long  – one which one sold Morgan Newman as he received man and ball – while he had two early kicks charged down, the first from behind his own goal-line.

Jano Vermaak’s bombs from the base also didn’t give his chasers a chance to compete, which gave the Lions plenty of possession as Andy Powell enjoyed the opportunities to run it back.

The Boks did manage to get on the scoreboard five minutes before the break and went in 10-3 down, very much in with a chance of a victory.

Rose slotted another from straight in front as the Emerging XV trailed 10-6 with half an hour remaining.

De Waal then made his appearance in a bid to win the territorial game as the game turned into a kick fest in windy conditions. As a result, the sides went into the final 10 minutes  locked at four points difference.

With just four minutes to go, the Emerging Boks were penalised at scrum-time and replacement James Hook ensured they couldn’t lose the contest.

However, the Boks produced their best attack of the match from a lineout. The forwards set it up, and Demas and De Waal did the rest.

The visitors were visibly unhappy after the match as a number of them again didn’t stake claims for Test spots. Hook, on for O’Gara after 44 minutes, may be the one individual who forces his way on to the bench.

By Grant Ball, at Newlands

618 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All

• 551.Puma: Reply to this comment

#547 rangerman: :lol:

You never know…hehe.

• 552.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#541 Langenhoven: we are waiting for Burton Francis.

he is our Obama

#544 sharks_lover: lmao!

#546 skopskiet: yes yes. last year it was jaques louis potgieter as the saviour of south african flyhalf play, then it was peter grant (you seem to be over that infatuation though).

do you really think kanko is a pretty boy? :lol:

• 553.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#542 Harder-Faster: Got one…I write about it too…and as for you??

• 554.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Yeah pompous pommie boy piety only hails out of that funny little lost empirical bastion where all these pompous dickheads like this Rangerman mommy’s boy and the other twat whatsisname Gavin Richy Rich hail from, you can see these pompous prats coming a mile off with all their top hats bow ties and tails all a flutter.

• 555.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

#433 ziyaad: lukka ou.
    nooit your an idiot.
    its very difficult to learn defense, the guy just doesnt have the guts and his skills are above average at best.
    unbelievable who some people pin their hopes of transformation on.

• 556.green_and_gold: Reply to this comment

#529 Slumtown:

Lucky you are not the bok coach or selector!!

• 557.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#549 Sheriff: well summed up sheriff.

good game imo. i really enjoyed it.

jean deysel seemed so……humble……when he recieved his award.

a great representative of the wonderful Kingdom of Kwa-Zulu Natal :lol:

• 558.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#552 rangerman: Talk kuk …Obama?? lol… Burton FRancis will see less game time next year than this year.. he will be playing Vodacom cup only in 2011.. nothing to do with his talent though…ons weet mos how werk die storie

• 559.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#552 rangerman: see the roaches are out to seek attention

• 560.green_and_gold: Reply to this comment

#554 skopskiet:
    Chop

• 561.China: Reply to this comment

#554 skopskiet: You spit anger – and you talk tripe – but you have a vocab second to none – ever thought of publishing the skopskiet new world dictinorary? should amuse the universe for ages.

• 562.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

JL Potgieter is a fine prospect, totally underrated thinking running flyhalf, and Peter Grant was sold down the river by **** Muir and PDV and Jake White before them.

Peter Grant could have been our Honibal, and had they played him last year, no doubt whatsoever we would have clinched the 3N, though would have been a good idea to have FdP on the sidelines last year too, Heinie Adams would have been so much better, Ricky January, Heinie Adams and Peter Grant last year would have ensured no question about it we would have nailed the 3N and brought the bacon home. Butch and Fdp stuffed our chances abysmally between them.

• 563.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

#513 Sheriff: Thats the problem with us SA rugby fans, for instance in the 74th minute, Rose received a pass inside our 22, he ran the ball, goose stepped and got nailed but managed to place the ball for Heini to make a quick crisp pass to De Waal who had at least 5 players to his outside, instead of passing, he kicked down to the BIL fullback, who in turn booted it back nicely in space ( Rose wasn’t home, still coming back from the tackle point), we conceeded a scrum and from that scrum we conceeded a penalty, the score changed from 6-10 to 6-13. Guess what?, after that De waal received the ball 8 times and ran it 8 times, as they say the rest is history.

Lets watch the game, its important to do so

• 564.liefling: Reply to this comment

Would have liked to see Burton get a chance. Its a shame some guys like Heini just dont get game time

• 565.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#557 rangerman:

Yeah he was very humble. Loves the physical confrontation!

Dewald Potgieter without doubt a player for the future!

Just something on Willem de Waal; I do think he is past his best but I do rate him. I think if he was fitter and maybe lost a few kgs he would have a real chance to get into the Bok team.

I know many will disagree with me but he is one of the few dinkum 10′s in SA. What I’m saying is that I was not surprised when he landed that conversion. It showed his mental strength and one should also consider the conditions as referred to by Ro’G…

• 566.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#554 skopskiet: :lol:

you are clearly mad.

• 567.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#563 XhosaKid:

De Waal set up that penalty against us by booting it to no mans land in the motion before to be returned into our 22 with interest, typical saffa style nondescript boot to ball rugby.

Only when we held on to it and started probing gaps and territory did we eventually look to dominate and create chances, could have happened so much earlier,if only they’d stop booting the damn thing out of sheer SA instinctual programming.

Heinie Adams a little general in the Divan Serfontein mold.

• 568.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#563 XhosaKid:

A bit tired here mate, are you agreeing with me or not?

• 569.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#563 XhosaKid: i was so mad when willem de waal kicked that up and under with all the players outside of him xhosa.

at that point i nearly lost my cool and started ranting like a skopskiet.

#565 Sheriff: eish, i am not sure sheriff. i personally think earl rose has more talent but less mental strength than willem de waal.

cracker conversion though. made my night.

• 570.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#564 liefling: burton kicked a conversion in a s14 final! what a moment for him.

just like morne waited til liefling(bhleeugh, spit) left, heini and burtons chance will come.

• 571.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#563 XhosaKid: You are talking to sheriif…to much facts..and he is not the sharpest pencil in the box

• 572.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, i am off to bed.

skop, have a good night.

give the ticker a rest too.

BOKKE! (and Jean Deysel!!!)

• 573.liefling: Reply to this comment

#570 rangerman:

see what you saying, his kick was a beauty albeit. What union is u21 flyhalf Lionel Cronje at?

• 574.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#569 rangerman:

Earl Rose just does not have it yet and I doubt that he ever will…

He is an instinctive player, but you need to be able to vary your play at 10 between playing on gut feel and reverting to a more structured approach.

I’d rather invest in players like Heinie and Zane. Pity that Zane kicked that ball into approaching Lions player’s hands, must have affected him, but I have faith in him.

But Dewald Potgieter is the surprise package for me for 2009!
    He will get even better. Deysel must look to link up with his 9 more often, a bit isolated at times but what a player!

• 575.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

ALL YOU POMPOUS IDIOTS WHO DISAGREED WITH MY GENIUS – EAT YOUR WORDS !

EARL ROSE IS A RUGBY GOD !

DANWELL DEMAS IS A LIVING LEGEND !

PHIL VICKERY IS BACK !

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

• 576.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

Off to bed too… cheers all…May Bafana do the business against brazil…not beyond the realm of possibilities… even though it would be a black swan event

• 577.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Zane really did not do his Bok chances much good with his charge down. I suppose in **** conditions and with additional speed of defenders, he could have found himself under mroe pressure than he was accustomed to. Or maybe he was just nervous – because he is normally really good on clearing his kicks.

He also let a try opportunity go begging when he joined teh line and passed too soon without drawing his man. If he had, we could have got another try and won the game.

The ref was letting the Lions get away with murder at the breakdowns. Not one rolled awy the whole match!

• 578.China: Reply to this comment

#575 rugbygenius: Yeah and u r father Christmas

• 579.brendon: Reply to this comment

#558 skopskiet: empirical bastion? Really, what are you trying to say?

• 580.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#571 Langenhoven:

Why do you worship me?

I thought you’re an atheist?

• 581.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#575 rugbygenius: DO I HEAR A HOOAH!!!.. Drink maar lekker…its about passion…long live

• 582.liefling: Reply to this comment

Newman i think has close to no talent. I remember seeing him at Bishops and he was no way a star in that team either. Ebersohn a much better talent. As is Vulindlu, whose preffered position is centre

• 583.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#577 SjamBok:

Good points!

Zane a slow starter, he improved gradually at the Bulls but was very consistent in 2009. He was nervous no doubt.

Northern Hem refs always a pain in the as$.

For that matter NZ and Aus refs too. Pedantic and partially blind.

• 584.China: Reply to this comment

#580 Sheriff: He proclaims that, but deep inside…

• 585.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#578 China: No mate ! I’m just a realist ! HELL I LOVE THOSE 3 ! DEMAS FOR PRESIDENT ! WOOOOOOOOO !

#581 Langenhoven: LONG LIVE BROTHER ! I LOVE RUGBY ! I LOVE EARL ! RUGBY FEVER ! WOOOOOO

• 586.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#580 Sheriff: I want to help you sheriff…jy weet mos… you must make a meeting with lilith…I am sure she can help you also..moenie bang wees nie.. She just want to speak to you

• 587.China: Reply to this comment

#585 rugbygenius: Straight jacket on it’s way – calm down now

• 588.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#586 Langenhoven:

Strict code not to meet keo bloggers in person.

What makes you think I will waive for that person, whom as you know, like yourself, has no integrity

You really need to catch a wake-up kaalkop

• 589.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#587 China: Calm down ? Bro ! Didnt you watch that game ! Everyone on ere has been slagging off Demas and Rose so badly , wishing bad things upon them . Every time I try and support Earl and Danny I get abused and called an idiot ! So to see them shine means more to me than life itself !

My wife is preggers .

Sons name = Danearl !

• 590.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#582 liefling:

He epitomises for me the vibe at WP; lots of hype but delivery not quite there

He looks more like a gymnast to me, to be fair …

• 591.China: Reply to this comment

#589 rugbygenius: Congrats – reconsider the poor cild’s name though. How about mof muyburgh instead?

• 592.China: Reply to this comment

child

• 593.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#589 rugbygenius:

Damn-well Demas’ rugby career will turn around the day he decides to change hair style

Is he Rastafarian?

• 594.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Take it easy fellas!

• 595.China: Reply to this comment

#593 Sheriff: Danwell should return to 7′s – will be a hero again

• 596.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#591 China: Danearl is is mate ! The missus loves it ! It’s original ! We were gonna call him James . But Danearl is the new front runner !

#593 Sheriff: Not sure mate ! But that hair is so cool . He could be the David Beckham of SA rugby . My nephews all wanna get that hairstyle now ! Marketing should jump on this idea ! Danwell hair care ! Danwell T-Shirts ! Danwell Coffee mugs !

You would want a Danwell Demas Cap wouldnt you Sheriff ? And a Danwell Demas poster for your lounge ??

Danwell is so dreamy !

• 597.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#4 chch: No that’s the AB’s.

• 598.China: Reply to this comment

#596 rugbygenius: Danearl it will be then, case closed. A child is such a blessing and i am sure Danearl will bring you much joy – God bless!

• 599.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#597 SjamBok: Ay ay ay ay ay ! Lets leave the jokes to me mate ! The ABs are the worlds greatest ever – and ever !

• 600.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

#598 China: Thanks China ! Much appreaciated ! God Bless you too ! See you all here soon !

Sleep well people !
    Congrats E. Bokke !
    Congrats SA rugby !
    Congrats Sione Lauaki !

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.