Emerging Boks sneak late draw

Willem de Waal sank a touchline conversion after the hooter had sounded to hand the hosts a 13-all draw against the Lions.

The match was played in atrocious weather at Newlands, and as the rain came pouring down once more, De Waal converted Danwel Demas’s try from the right hand corner. De Waal also produced the floating skip pass which put the winger in.

It was yet again another match where the Lions couldn’t close it out as they led 10-0 after quarter of an hour, but failed to score again until 60 minutes later.

Early on the Lions enjoyed territorial dominance but Ronan O’Gara missed a fifth minute penalty straight in front of the poles after hands in the ruck. The Emerging Boks continued to be pinged at the breakdown and were spoken to by ref Alain Rolland after eight minutes for repeated infringements. On this occasion O’Gara couldn’t miss from 10m out to put his side into the lead.

While the Lions were being awarded penalties from most of the breakdowns, the Boks’ ball was slowed down whenever they went into contact.  Martyn Williams was a menace at the breakdowns and the Boks had difficulty troubling the defence with slow ball.

From a South African perspective, a couple of players were in line to push for places into the senior squad. Zane Kirchner was one but he started badly as his low kick handed Keith Earls the first try of the match after Martyn Williams was gifted the ball from the Bulls fullback’s kick.

The Lions were 10-0 after 15 minutes without having done anything special.

Peter de Villiers has spoken much about Earl Rose’s ability, but he too found the pace up a level to anything he’s experienced before and was eventually moved to No 15 for De Waal. Rose wasted two turnovers when he held on too long  – one which one sold Morgan Newman as he received man and ball – while he had two early kicks charged down, the first from behind his own goal-line.

Jano Vermaak’s bombs from the base also didn’t give his chasers a chance to compete, which gave the Lions plenty of possession as Andy Powell enjoyed the opportunities to run it back.

The Boks did manage to get on the scoreboard five minutes before the break and went in 10-3 down, very much in with a chance of a victory.

Rose slotted another from straight in front as the Emerging XV trailed 10-6 with half an hour remaining.

De Waal then made his appearance in a bid to win the territorial game as the game turned into a kick fest in windy conditions. As a result, the sides went into the final 10 minutes  locked at four points difference.

With just four minutes to go, the Emerging Boks were penalised at scrum-time and replacement James Hook ensured they couldn’t lose the contest.

However, the Boks produced their best attack of the match from a lineout. The forwards set it up, and Demas and De Waal did the rest.

The visitors were visibly unhappy after the match as a number of them again didn’t stake claims for Test spots. Hook, on for O’Gara after 44 minutes, may be the one individual who forces his way on to the bench.

By Grant Ball, at Newlands

618 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 » Show All

• 401.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Basson is a great prospect, and Kirchner, and the other wing looked eager but hardly saw the ball.

SA mindset is still firmly rooted in playing without the ball, a hangover from JW style of skop, skiet and donder dom f’k rugby, we could have produced numerous headaches for these Lions had we not booted every single ball provided into no mans land, had 2 or 3 kicks charged down and numerous attack opportunities turned around simply because our first ingrained instinct is to put boot to leather and not look what can be created out of the situation.

Until SA rugby evolves out of this limiting mindset (and this is a blatant coaching malady in this country – except for Bulls who now know how to play enterprising total rugby thanks to the input of 1 Pieter Roussouw), we will never really become world beaters that we should have been already a long long time ago.

• 402.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

#388 skopskiet:

Jean Deysel made three direct breakdown turnovers. That is very rare even for an openside flanker, let alone a blindside flanker.

• 403.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

#395 ziyaad:

I’m with you. Vermaaks kicking game was off tonight.

Great general play though in shocking scrummie conditions so overall he was good I guess.

• 404.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#395 ziyaad: #395 ziyaad: i dont think vermaak was terrible but his ability to clear quickly was definitely impeded by outstanding breakdown work from williams and co.

the conditions played a role too.

heini upped the tempo but also kicked too much ball away imo.

• 405.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Rose should have given the kicking to De Waal when he came on because he missed a relatively easy kick in the last quater and thats how tight the game was.
    Considering how well De Waal has kicked this year, why wasnt he kicker No 1?

• 406.Puma: Reply to this comment

#384 rangerman: Yip, Felt awesome for him.

• 407.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

#398 Thameside Bok fan:

His kicking game today was very poor actually. Generally made a net loss on his kicks.

• 408.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

You know who I was very, very impressed by today? James Hook. The guy has everything and his kicks were superb today is shocking conditions. He is such a creative player and he had that backline buzzing. A seriously talented footballer.

• 409.Puma: Reply to this comment

#383 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: A good leader too I think.

• 410.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

Vermaak looked busy…but Heini showed what it’s all about.. I think that Vermaak tried to play Earl out of the game… very interesting

• 411.Stawm: Reply to this comment

#401 skopskiet:
    Are you mentally capable of posting without crying about JW again – World Cup winning coach?
    Go to the corner.

• 412.whatever: Reply to this comment

Is it possible to be brilliant and kak in one word? No, it even out at average. Well that is Rose in a nutshell.

• 413.whatever: Reply to this comment

#412 whatever:

And average is NOT Bok material!!

• 414.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I find Deysel limited and one dimensional, he’s a trier and a grafter, but not in the class of Potgieter or Vermeulen or Brussow, maybe he grows and becomes more coordinated and less selfish, but most those players were looking to make impressions early on and only started gelling late in the game.

Rose had an OK game from the outset, fluffed one or two kicks but overall at FH he has some attack instinct and produced some potential possibilities, people are far too critical of him, if he had a different skin color, a whole different set of perceptions would be forthcoming, that goes without saying over here.

• 415.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

#404 rangerman:

No not terrible I guess. But he should not be listed among the stand-out performers in this game. In fact, he has been quite sub-par in both games against the B&I Lions.

Francois Hougaard, for me, is someone to watch in years to come. He was part of an all-conquering Paul Roos side of 2006 and has since moved to the Bulls. Also played for the Southern Kings before being injured around the 50th minute. Excellent player.

• 416.cab: Reply to this comment

The outside backs of the British Lions were outstanding, both wings were like greased lightning in the first half and the fullback had an exceptional game today. Hines played well when not involved off the ball and D’arcy was ulta-competitive in midfield.

• 417.whatever: Reply to this comment

#410 Langenhoven:

WTF. Conspiracy theory?? Only a doos mate!

• 418.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#407 ziyaad:

I doubt he made a net loss on his kicks. There were some clever chips that fell just short of E Boks hands and I think he read the game well. He was obviously targeting Shane Williams and managed to isolate him more than once with the Bok wings bearing down on him. I like that he is a creative player and he aims to make things happen. His kicking in the conditions was great today.

• 419.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#401 skopskiet: the up and unders were presumably to take advantage of the slippery conditions.

standard approach from scotland to new zealand though possibly overdone on one or two occasions.

hint: chargedowns are as a result of pressure. usually, a good way to relieve pressure is to kick for territory or to turn the opposition around (for example see ruan pienaar circa 1st test vs B& I Lions 2009).

so as good as your ideas sound to you when you are repeating them in the darkness, i have to question wether you ever actually played the game skop.

• 420.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well it looks like the bad weather is going to be in Cape Town for a few days still. Think the Lions must wish they went up to Joburg to train now. They will have to train in that wet weather, fields going to be soft and slippery. Not good for getting ready for a Altitude game on the hard grounds? Think we have won some advantage over them there that Boks are already in Joburg training.

• 421.Stawm: Reply to this comment

#414 skopskiet:
    “…if he had a different skin color”

Thats your opinion, as useless as anyone else’s.

• 422.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#413 whatever: Like frans Steyn…??? who needs time to settle into position???

• 423.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#410 Langenhoven:

Heine was great! What a livewire, his first kick was a beauty!

#416 cab:

Hmmm agreed. Don’t think SW did enough to get picked for the Test side, he needed to cross the whitewash and he’s been given 6 games now. With a guy that has a strike rate as high as his not to score against the opposition he’s been playing is poor. D1arcy is class but with BOD/Roberts playing like they are he won’t get a look in I reckon.

• 424.bdb: Beast die Bul: Reply to this comment

Die lostrio was uitstaande, met Deysel aan die voorpunt. Die res was tussen goed en gemiddeld. Ons het ‘n goeie paar spelers wat kan deurkom, wens net ons het in ander posisies soveel diepte gehad as wat ons het by die lostrio. Miskien moet ‘n paar van daai manne maar in die agterlyn of slot gaan speel, want daar is nie vir almal plek nie !

• 425.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

#412 whatever: Maybe he is just brilliantly kak!

• 426.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Skop and Liar come on and the whole colour bullsh*t starts again.

Better to go to bed.

Night to those who made it such a pleasant evening up to a few posts ago.

Pity otherwise……

• 427.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Heinie Adams a class act scrumhalf, whenever that little general comes on at back of scrum the go forward momentum ups itself by a whole 30% immediately, hence the end result a try in the corner. Adams if not for FdP at Bulls should be Bok scrummy off bench, 2nd best scrummy in the country about now, him and Vermaak to fight it out for FdP understudy, and he’s by far the most effective distributor of the ball from the back of the scrum, far better than FdP any day of any week.

#411 Stawm:

Whats up, you still can’t see JW dom f’k rugby degenerating our natural game, its going to take a whole generation before we lose that dom f’k mindset of defense wins games, play without the ball, skop the thing to doerengone and hope for the best style rugby.

• 428.Puma: Reply to this comment

#414 skopskiet: Skop you the only one here that thinks Deysel never had a good game. Jeez you need to take another look. Is it because he is a Sharks player? Give credit where it is due. Deysel was superb.

• 429.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#415 ziyaad: tgoo true.

when francois hougie left the field i think the southern kings lost all realistic chance of winning that game. he was running the game like a true general up to that point imo.

#414 skopskiet: unfortunately without a ball carrier like andy powel, juan smith and in this game jean deysel, all the fancy stepping and riverdancing gets you nowhere. thats right, nowhere.

there are none so blind as those who will not see.

• 430.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#417 whatever: mmmmm.. Glory seeker or anti-Earl dkhd… like the other losers on this blog??

• 431.whatever: Reply to this comment

#422 Langenhoven:

We are talking about the emerging Boks and Rose. WTF has Steyn got to do with anything? Why do you have to bring him up? Colour your motive? Yeah I thought so ya plonker!

• 432.whatever: Reply to this comment

#430 Langenhoven:

You are the only loser here doos. Care for a poll?

• 433.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

With regards to Earl Rose…

I didn’t think he was deserving of a place in the Springbok squad… I certainly felt he has a severe lack of consistency.

However, he has excellent ball handling and indeed passing skills. His kicking out of hand is also very good, whilst his goal kicking is around 65%, but this can be improved.

When he takes the ball at pace, he can be electrifying. I imagine him tearing teams to shreds behind a dominant pack…

At the same time, I see him as someone who could quite easily fold when the going gets tough. I’d also be terrified to play him at 10 with a shift defense. His defense remains suspect.

In conclusion, I see him as someone who’s weaknesses can be rectified, but whose strengths are innate and cannot be taught.

In other words, I can see the sense in putting him in the Bok set-up. He can learn and grow as a player, much like a JP Duminy did for the cricket side.

Perhaps I’m wrong. Perhaps he’ll always be prone to silly errors. But I can see the logic behind his selection.

• 434.Transformation: Reply to this comment

#382 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: go and read post #268 lmao!! Ha ha ha :D

• 435.Stawm: Reply to this comment

#427 skopskiet:

There you go again, blah, blah, blah.

I suppsoe the world cant see it as much as you cant let go of your affair with Me White.

• 436.Puma: Reply to this comment

#426 Bul-a-Bhloo: Cheers Bhloo.

• 437.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Heinie should have been in the Bok squad instead of the vleispastei! Werner Kruger, the loosies, Bjorn Basson and Morgan Newman also impressed me tonight. Kirchner and Elastoplast Rose was average.

• 438.cab: Reply to this comment

#423 Thameside Bok fan:
    they’ve got 4 very good wingers and 3 very good fullbacks on tour.

They just dont have an outstanding hooker, but i think the chap they’ll pick this saturday, Rees, is pretty good. Wallace is a very good opensider, cos he fecthes, but he’s pwerful, not unlike deysel but more compact.

• 439.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#426 Bul-a-Bhloo: I believe you manage a service station… what was your name again??…DEputy Director at Transnet..LMAO.. big Fkal more like it

• 440.peterg123: Reply to this comment

#388 skopskiet: I could not agree more, what on earth are Danie and Bekker doing on the same bench Saturday and what is Carstens doing there at all? Maybe it’s acting ability.

• 441.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#427 skopskiet: a whole generations mindset completely moulded by Jake White?

would that be the winning mindset?

• 442.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#424 bdb: Beast die Bul: hiyas BDB

2 Dinge ?? beast is nou skielik a bul?? net in jou drome broer lol , en ek dog dan net die bulle is goeie spelers?? :wink:

En het ek jou nie gese deysel is a goeie fetcher ook nie??

elk geval boet lekker om te terg

kirchner was nie vandag op sy beste nie maar hy bly n baie goeie speler

die newman center was nie so sleg nie. balle gedrop ya maar toestande was swak

maar hy verdedig goed en kompiteer vir die losbal soos a fetcher , goed om te sien

• 443.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

#438 Hier kom groot k..:

Wasn’t too impressed with Newman, he knocked on twice and lost the ball in contact too. I thought he was too weak in defence but it is obvious that he has talent and he’s got so much time to improve.

• 444.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

#415 skopskiet: Agg k@k its got nothing to do with his skin colour. I always want the guy to come out of his shell and hit his straps and everytime he seems to get flustered and start doing hairbrain things. He has potential, but god knows when he will reach it. Right now he´s more liability than advantage. I really wish I could say the opposite cos I think it would be great to have options at flyhalf. Maybe his biggest problem is a lack of confidence and perhaps some kind of fear?

• 445.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Man…….! I write one thing about Earl Rose and they MOD my post…?! :(

• 446.cab: Reply to this comment

Adams should be picked over januarie, his service is infinitely crisper and he kicks well, ou doos is quite right, there is no other SA scrumhalf that gets go-foward from the pack like Adams. Vermaak kicked too much tonight.

• 447.The-Pill: Reply to this comment

#401 skopskiet: Ai, but you know how to talk k@k hey?

WAS P Rossouw instrumental in the Bull`s S14 title in 2007?
    I do give him some credit this year, but remember he is just the backline coach. Ludeke is the coach remember?

• 448.Puma: Reply to this comment

#441 rangerman: :D

• 449.Langenhoven: Reply to this comment

#432 whatever: How can I be the loser… don’t be silly now.. I have proved my self to be more than you…I’ve got a real name.. you prefer to be a nobody… says it all..

• 450.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

#433 ziyaad: rose’s big problem is not skill but lack of mental strength

and not the brightest oke around with decision making

if he could solve that he could be far better as a player

also you summed it up nicely re deysel

i have said it over and over in here he is a 7 flank ,plays like schalk burger but he can do the fetching role too

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.