digimag-banner

‘Weather a great leveller’

Ian McGeechan believes the inclement weather at Newlands suited the Emerging Boks and was a vital factor in them achieving a draw.

Newlands was pelted with wind and driving rain, while it also hailed at times. Springbok assistant coach Dick Muir, who was in charge of the Emerging XV, believed the tourists were more used to these conditions, but McGeechan didn’t feel the same.

He was happy to get away with the 13-all draw after leading 13-6 heading into the final minute.

‘I’m not disappointed,’ McGeechan told keo.co.za. ‘That was a potential banana skin we got through and our attitude was superb. The conditions were a great leveller and there wasn’t much rugby played. We missed one or two scores that cost us the win, but we didn’t lose either – which was very important.

‘We got through it, but it was a million miles from where we want to be on Saturday [for the second Test].’

Although the Emerging Boks were made up of non-capped players who would have enjoyed a hard dry surface to play expansively, McGeechan said he was more disappointed his side didn’t get better conditions.

‘You don’t need Test players to produce a result in a monsoon,’ McGeechan said in light of the Boks’ performance. ‘I feel sorry for our players, who really wanted to push for Test spots. Possibly, we played too much rugby in the second half, which gave them inroads.’

Muir admitted the stalemate felt like a moral victory – not only for this side but also for the senior outfit.

‘In the end, that felt like a win,’ said Muir. ’It was a game of two halves and we got the ascendancy in the second, while they had it in the first. The pride and character shown by the boys was very important and shows they can go on to better things.

‘Especially seeing as those conditions were more suited to their players than ours.’

After the final quarter of the first Test was dominated by the Lions, Muir feels this result was crucial in breaking the momentum of the tourists.

‘From a Lions perspective, they finished the Test well and I think we turned that around. That was always an aim of ours to stop that, and we stemmed that tide to a certain extent.’

Captain on the night Ronan O’Gara was one player wanting to push for a Test spot and he was disappointed they didn’t have a dry evening to do that.

‘We wanted to express ourselves, but didn’t get the chance to do that – the conditions were difficult. They were right up there with what I’ve had to deal with in Limerick, but  not the worst.

‘I feel sorry for the guys, who wanted to push for Test spots, but we didn’t get that.’

By Grant Ball, at Newlands

78 Responses to “‘Weather a great leveller’”

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1. Supa 14 Kampioene!Reply to this comment :

Emerging DRAGONS!

• 2. brendonReply to this comment :

When will you ever just say you were outplayed?

• 3. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

as much as I love ‘ The Geech’ he must surely give credit where it is due !

All credit to DANWELL AND EARL ! My manne ! The hero’s of SA rugby !

We love you guys ! We salute you !

Earl to start this weekend !
    Danny too !

• 4. brendonReply to this comment :

Geech’s quote for the weekend…

‘I’m not disappointed, I know the Boks won but in the end it was up to the scoreboard and if we had had a different one things might not have been the same’

Asked to clarify the Lions coach went on to say that ‘… in terms of points the Springbok teams was better but that is not always the whole picture.

‘We had a NH ref this game which I thought would help us a bit more. I’m quite shocked that he also pinged our thighted in the scrums, it’s something that I’ll have to take up with the IRB.’ When asked if he was happy that the rolling maul was back in the game the great man said that ‘it would be fair if the ref let us have one too, maybe from the 22 drop out?’

It seems that all is not well in the head of this so called master of the game, but that is not unexpected as his senior players and a bundle of paid off officials had let him down.

• 5. SjamBokReply to this comment :

#3 rugbygenius: Are you Earl’s mom?

• 6. SjamBokReply to this comment :

with the weather the way that it was, the bigger heavier forwards of the Lions hould have been able to make inroads – but they could not. It was only due to a fortuitous charge down of Zanes kick that they scored. even then they nearly botched it. I dont think the Lions played well at all…

So that makes three sidew we have that are at about the same level as the second best team in the whole of the Britsh Isles?

• 7. SjamBokReply to this comment :

#3 rugbygenius: Did your mother tell you you are a rugby genius?

• 8. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

#5 SjamBok: Haha ! No mate ! I wish I was a relative of Earl though ! I’m just a fan who dreams of Earl in the green and gold !

• 9. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

#7 SjamBok: No – the voices in my head did.

• 10. Oxy moronReply to this comment :

#3 rugbygenius: ha ha, you a ripper ekse…

• 11. ShakesReply to this comment :

I sincerely hope we do not underestimate the BIL on Saturday cos the difference between their 2 sides is huge. Let’s pray we hold onto the ball and notjust kicking for the sake if it.

50-50 possession and we should win by 7.

This BIL side is not 15plus points inferior to us. Having said that I would be ecstatic with such a margin.

• 12. SlumtownReply to this comment :

Blah blah blah McGeechan is a sour puss. If its not the ref its the weather or something else. We played better than they did. Period. Theyre not the worlds greatest – even if they´d like to think so and their B team wasnt good enough.

Lions are going to get a hiding on Saturday like they should have last saturday.

• 13. YoMamaReply to this comment :

#8 rugbygenius:

If I were you I’d change my name.
    Rose is pathetically useless. He is an insult to all players of colour because everyone and his dog knows that Rose’s middle name is quota.

He is an embarrassment to all players of colour who have fought for the right to have equal rights in this game.

• 14. deansegReply to this comment :

#3 rugbygenius: Are you kidding buddy? You must have watched that game on tv, and have therefore been influenced by bob skinstands completely retarded comments. A prime example being when rose missed from in front, skinstands goes: “joel, those kicks are incredibly hard”
    I was at the game, and as much as I wanted earl rose to prove me wrong, the oke is nothing special, and unfortunately wouldn’t even be talked about or known if he was white. the 2 kicks he missed cost us the game.

• 15. dWeePerReply to this comment :

Even if the weather is a leveler, the greater experience in international rugby should have pulled the Lions through.
    An international rugby should not have an excuse for this kind of failure.

• 16. YoMamaReply to this comment :

#12 Slumtown:

Where do you think the Aussies get it from. You just have to ignore what they say in the press.

Besides, if they had any intelligence, they would realize that their arrogance fuels opposition irritation with them.

• 17. St.PetersburgbokReply to this comment :

well, I think the McGeechan coaching bubble is going to get pricked this weekend.

Boks with plenty to spare this weekend.

I have no idea how the Lions coaching staff can think they where in control of that game. They were the ones lucky to salvage a draw.

and by the comments being made, they know it but know that admitting it will be as good as throwing the towel in for Saterday.

• 18. St.PetersburgbokReply to this comment :

the Lions are going to get scrummed on the weekend as well.

and they can’t maul either.

And if Martyn Williams is the best they’ve got….just pack up and go home boys.

• 19. lieflingReply to this comment :

Rose blows hot and cold too much. Instead of being a player you want to receive the ball, as a fan you almost hope he doesnt at times. He wasn’t comfortable at 10 and lost the ball in contact when tackled. His kicking game (not for poles) was good. When Willem came on you could see how much confidence he had catching the ball and playing opposed to Rose.

Very happy with Heini Adams, Duane and Potgieter. Having been at the game and watching it on tv again, potgieter was very unlucky at a lot of the breakdowns. Adams increased the speed of our attack.

• 20. Ezee-23Reply to this comment :

Wouldn’t it be cool if the Boks clinched the series and Bafana Bafana won the Confederations this weekend?

• 21. Rugby-1Reply to this comment :

Not sure when these guys will actually give ANY of our teams some credit, I might fall off my chair! Always an excuse

Geech has been disappoitning in this regard, but Gatlands interview after the game on Sky was a joke – blamed everything & said the weather suited the E Boks. You come from the NH, it pisses all year & you are ALL internationals playing not a single capped player. Pathetic excuses. He also said the Boks were disappoitning on the weekend and played no rugby at all, it was only the B&I Lions who played & were much the better team. The guy is a prick of note – you just don’t say that and hopefully its as big a cockup as when he claimed the Welsh hated the Irish before their 6N decider.

According to o’Gara the Lions “dominated” the game today – what was he watching, they were very lucky to get a draw IMO
    I wont even get into O’Connells pisspoor interview after the game on Saturday

We need to beat them by plenty to shut this mob up!!

• 22. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

#12 Slumtown:

Thats rich!!

Arent saffas more interested in weather reports before a game?

• 23. Rugby-1Reply to this comment :

As for the game tonight:

For an uncappped, disjointed lot the E Boks played pretty well after a poor start

Rose – hasn’t produced it at S14 this year & was not impressive tonight. I have no problem with him making the Bok squad IF he is performing, but he is not. He needs to find his form in CC & S14 and prove himself. PdV’s obsession is a serious worry

The loose trio were awesome, great futures all of them

Kirchner had an average game but still has the goods, and unlike Rose has proven it this year at S14 level – he should have been in the squad at least just for some experience. Maybe come 3N time

Come on Saturday I hope our boys are focused, intense and clinical – we need to beat them convincingly!

• 24. Rugby-1Reply to this comment :

#22 wallabie.:

Would you like to give some examples?

• 25. mbaxman93Reply to this comment :

i dont think geech and ,motormouth gatland have ever accepted they well outplayed on the day..they always find and excuse it just pisses me off especially gatland

• 26. SAinNZReply to this comment :

Gatland is getting more and more predictable, but I wouldn’t get to upset about it. Afterall what does he have in his trophy cabinet at the moment?

It seems that the times where he runs his mouth the most are before or after hi steam gets beaten.

• 27. NZMaoriReply to this comment :

I dont think you Japies should be getting overconfident. The part of the 1st test you dominated in was the forwards, the Lions dominated you in the backs.

Id say that chances are the Lions are going to improve around the set peice this week but will the South African backs have fixed there defensive frailties? I just dont think PDV is that smart.

Win the battle upfront again and you win the series, but with a game up and a bit of a cushion, i expect the South African’s to sit back on their haunches and the do or die lions to want it more. I honestly thought at the start of this tour that they would be canned off the park, but the green machine has some chinks in its armour.

Dont be smart arse and point out the Chinks in the All Black armour please – that is not the topic at hand

• 28. NZMaoriReply to this comment :

Rugby1

**** yeah i remember hating the Lions over here because of all their smack talk in 2005. It makes them repulsive as a rugby side and you lose all respect for the good rugby they actualy produce.

This is the ONLY northern hemisphere side that actualy look good throwing the ball around, takes 4 countries to be able to come together and have the skill set to play an expansive game. What a pity that its only every four years we see this type of game adopted by them.

Back to the DOUR game they all play where rare moments of brilliance seem like a fluke rather than a regularity

• 29. Big HitReply to this comment :

#21 Rugby-1: remember Gatland is not from the home nations, he is a kiwi.

#28 NZMaori: kiwi cheap shots make them repulsive as a rugby side, the Lions fans were disgusted in 2005.

Also most of the NH sides throw it around, just look how a weakened France side ran rings around the ABs at home.

• 30. HurricaneReply to this comment :

#29 Big Hit:
    Weakened French side?
    I asked you before the French side came to NZ and you said only 4 players are missing from there #1 side and its a very good side.
    Now you are saying this,such a two face you are.
    NZ were missing about 8-9 players but hey i dont sit here and say thats why we struggled against a very good French team.1st game they out played us so they won,second game we started to get it going,you know the second game this year for NZ.
    I think we did will against France,lets see what happens at the end of the year when we play france again.
    As for 2005,let it go.Over 4 years ago now and as Tana said it was a complete accident,like remember Shaw running into the ruck a kneed a Kiwi in the back,you know accident,we have forgiven him,how about you

• 31. Big HitReply to this comment :

#30 Hurricane: this clown was criticising the Lions, criticising NH rugby so forgive me if while I fire a few shots back :)

• 32. HurricaneReply to this comment :

#31 Big Hit:
    Oh sorry.
    The Lions have my full respect even more after the weekend.
    They made a game they looked out of there reach and turned it into just about a win,they didnt give up like their competitors.

• 33. Big HitReply to this comment :

#32 Hurricane: yeah, they really went for it. It reminded me of Fiji v SA at the World Cup, just constantly running it at them switching the play from side to side. I’m hoping for more of the same this weekend. I wouldn’t say the Boks gave up, some of their last ditch defence was really committed, M.Steyn on Monye was a good example.

• 34. JohanReply to this comment :

#27 NZMaori: One of 2 things can happen on Saturday:

1) We can blow the Lions away and win by 20
    2) We can play like we played in the second half and loose by a few.

To be honest, we didn’t dominate up front. For certain periods yes, but in all we only had 32% or something ball. A real concern! But I do think we took it easy in the last 30, nearly costing us. I just hope we come out firing again and really finish the game off this time.

Another thing, why do you call us “Japies”?

• 35. HurricaneReply to this comment :

#33 Big Hit:
    yeah bad words for me saying SA gave up.
    Really wasnt the story,but just couple of missed penalties from the lions would have been enough.
    As i said it was disappointing for the Lions but there were a few positives that came from that game.

• 36. anylaymanReply to this comment :

I’m not sure what the debate is here. It’s accepted knowledge everywhere that inclement weather is “a great leveler” in that it makes attacking much more difficult.

• 37. kyerReply to this comment :

On Tuesday, 23rd June, SACS 1st XV hosted the visiting Irish team, King’s Hospital School at. A large number of British Lions Supporters attended and 40 busses were be parked on the campus (as the Supporters attended the Emerging Springboks vs Lions match at Newlands at 7:00 pm).

Final Score: SACS 5- Irish 5

• 38. SharksgirlReply to this comment :

Correct me if I am wrong, BH but isn’t this the type of weather you Brits are used to? More so the Irish? I have never been to the UK so its an honest question as I am going on what I hear about UK. So that being the case, the advantage should have been to the Lions as our players are more used to sunny and hot weather? Also bearing in mind that the EB only had 4 practices together!

Hurricane, the Boks did not give up, our coaches got arrogant and substituted all the players making a difference in a matter of 5 minutes. Who in their right mind takes one part of the world’s best lock combination off? especially as we all know Bakkies work rate and worth to a team. Who would take an inspirational leader like John off? or the team’s brain in FDP off, and replace him with an out of form player, its like Henry taking off Carter in WC quarter final (I know he was injured, just making comparison), and then Luke wasn’t even out of form for you guys what did it do to your team? Not to mention taking Beast off!

• 39. TbozknowsReply to this comment :

Geech is talking ****. The weather suited the northern hem boys. We dont play on mud in Africa. The soils are sandy and occasionally clay soil. The Lions had the advantage last night..

• 40. rangermanReply to this comment :

‘I’m not disappointed,’ McGeechan told keo.co.za. ‘That was a potential banana skin we got through and our attitude was superb. The conditions were a great leveler and there wasn’t much rugby played. We missed one or two scores that cost us the win, but we didn’t lose either – which was very important.

*** me that is churlish. what about the opportunities the E-Boks didnt take?

no man Geech, we always respected you but it seems you have bought a bunch of whiners out with you this year.

Paul o’Connel (you know, the invisible lock(, Ronan O’Gara (i tapped and ran whilst their backs were turned, victory is sweet), Ferris, Gatland etc etc etc.

Kom nou Bokke, steur hierdie farkers huis toe saterdag asseblief!

• 41. jonnymainReply to this comment :

I think Geech is losing it. The conditions should have suited the Lions, and to their credit they played some good stuff in the first half. For some reason, when they came out for the 2nd half the instruction was clearly to kick the leather off of the ball and consequently they played no rugby at all!

Well done E. Boks for getting a well-deserved draw.

• 42. jonnymainReply to this comment :

#40 rangerman: People also seem to forget the real driving force behind the last Lions tour to SA wasn’t McGeechan at all, it was Jim Telfer.

• 43. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#4 brendon:

“paid off officials” ?

truly, has a fair ref ever been involved in a match against the SA team that didnt win ?! ever ?

Also interesting to see the same bloggers who mocked the ABs performance vs France despite playing in worse conditions than this match and yet making excuses liberally here.

• 44. rangermanReply to this comment :

#43 WakaNathan: what are you talking about you crackhead?

runa long now and play on silverfern.

p.s. how did you vote in the “should drop goals become one pointers?” poll after the s14 semi bulls vs saders?

lmao you kiwis turn silly when you lose :lol:

• 45. jonnymainReply to this comment :

#44 rangerman: Did they really have that poll on silverfern!? What a bunch of tossers

• 46. rangermanReply to this comment :

#45 jonnymain: i am serious man. they wanted it to become a one pointer..like..SHOCK HORROR!…..league!

seems they missed the droppie that took the saders to the semis.

• 47. jonnymainReply to this comment :

#46 rangerman: I got banned from that site years ago. Bunch of precious Kiwis who can’t take any criticism of their beloved ABs :-)

• 48. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#44 rangerman:

its your countryman making allegations against the ref, not I. Its boring and pathetic this national obsession with all refs being ‘cheats’.

What ‘poll’ ? Yeah, of course DGs should be 1 pt. Its a blight on the games when the likes of F.Steyn pings a multitude of attempts – why does he do it ? because theyre easy pts. DGs being 1-pt would still have won you a RWC in ‘95 anyway, splitting a drwan game.

Or are you just taking the p*ss ? Because thats what you do when you turn silly ?

btw – did we lose ?

• 49. katmanReply to this comment :

These conditions certainly don’t suit McGeechan, and I think this is why he is a little bitter. He tried to step out onto the field before the game, and the northwester caught him square in the ears and lifted him right over the second tier of the Danie Craven stand. And explaining to the guys in the ABSA corporate suite why he was suddenly part of their party was embarrassing, to say the least. No, I’m not surprised at all that he’s unhappy.

• 50. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

#46 rangerman:

Were the Boks ‘a better team’ than England in 1999 just because Jannie de Beer kicked 5 x DGs ?

no, it means that he was a better kicker of DGs

I go to a rugby match for the physical confrontation and running it with ball-in-hand. Not some kickoff between individuals. Go and watch Aussie Rules if that gives you your thrills.

DGs should be there to split draws. a 1-pt DG would STILL have won the Boks in 1995 and the Poms a RWC in 2003.

And if that meant the Saders didnt reach the Semis, then all the better. Not my team anyway, I dont give a sh*t.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

About the author

Grant has written 1933 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator