Player 23: Burger’s brain explosion

Should Schalk Burger have been red carded in the opening minute of the Loftus Test?

p235The British media certainly thinks so, including The Independent‘s highly respected sports writer James Lawton who, in an article titled ‘Authorities must blow away the stench of Schalk Burger’ laid into the Bok flank.

‘Schalk Burger happens to be an outstanding flanker, the winner of 50 caps and, no, perhaps he isn’t Hannibal Lecter, but if seeking out and gouging the eye of an opponent not much more than half your size who is lying on his back at the time is not evidence of psychopathic behaviour, not stripped of all conscience or awareness of consequences, it is hard to know what is,’ wrote Lawton.

‘The world saw Burger do this and so did a touch judge, who behaved admirably in all but the uttering of a sentence, which should haunt him and the rest of the game until another such outrage comes along, but of course won’t. The offending words of advice to the referee were: “At least a yellow card.”

‘What do you have to do to stitch on a red card? It is maybe just a little too easy to heap all the blame on the perceived moral cowardice of French referee Christophe Berdos, who settled for that least possible punishment for reasons he alone knows but at which we can only speculate, because surely there is nothing logical, or moral, to support his decision.

‘No doubt he was aware that to reduce the Springboks to 14 men so early in the Boer temple of Loftus Versfeld would have made him the least popular man on the highveld – and bring serious imbalance to a much anticipated Test match. Whatever the reason, Berdos failed both the game and himself, but then how seriously did he let down a rugby world which, like it or not, sees some degree of institutionalised violence as an integral part of the game’s appeal?’

Do you think Burger should have been red carded and was his eight-week ban sufficient punishment?

Have your say, as Vodacom’s Player 23, below.

86 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Dragon YES!!!!!!!

• 2.Staal: Reply to this comment

As is said previously… should gave been banned for 6 months….where is his brain? (and i am a Schalla supporter)

• 3.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

This reporters can go screw himself for taking the holier than though attitude.

But yes, it deserved a red.

No place for it in rugby.

As is punching a guy in the nuts btw.

• 4.ashley: Reply to this comment

#3 PissAnt:
    exactly
    was amazed that sheridan wasnt even cited!!

• 5.jaimie: Reply to this comment

Deserved a red/yellow, deserves a ban. Im a HUGE Schalk fan, but he clearly had a brain explosion and I just hope he comes back a wiser player after his ban.
    He is too good a talent to throw to the dogs, and I think a lot of you guys who are calling for his head and attempting to disown him should take a long took at yourselves – the majority of you were singing his praises not long ago (and for good reason).
    Its funny how quickly fickle supporters can turn. Bakkies on the other hand is very hard done by.

• 6.chappy: Reply to this comment

Absolutely agree he deserved a MUCH longer ban, but this idiotic Pommies article about Burger attacking a “much smaller man” doesn’t seem to translate to Sheridan’s blatant dirty play throughout the game, like punching players in the family jewels at scrum time.

I think we must give him the nickname of “Sqirrel” since he clearly likes nuts….

• 7.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Should he have been red carded? Of course he should, that’s the law. He’s been let off extremely lightly with 8 weeks – I expected 12.

• 8.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Problem here for most bloggers is they do not realise the tone of the game was set in the first 60 seconds.

Burger was yellow carded when it was a red, by not red carding Burger the stage was set for a very nasty encounter. The end result was a no-brainer.

I said in an earlier post yesterday… Take the win but don’t expect congratulations for it. The series is tarnished and I would not be the least bit surprised if the BILs never toured south again. NZ, OZ & now SA have done nothing to endear the goodwill of advancing Rugby or assisting the SH nations in fund raising to aid their respective unions. We in the SH are idiots if we think bashing the daylights out of a charity drive is to be commended.

We deserve the NH backlash.

• 9.jaimie: Reply to this comment

#8 RugbyRulz: Is it the Southern Hemisphere’s fault that the UK can dish up nothing but complete kak? Must we let them win the odd game to drum up some support? If they choose to latch onto this 1 eye gouge incident to hide the fact that they have been nothing but ordinary all tour then more power to them…

• 10.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

A red would have turned the series into a shambles, ref read the situation, to red card a player after less than a minute into the 2nd test of a do or die series would effectively kill the series off right there and then, stone dead.

• 11.GP: Reply to this comment

Schalk made a mistake and he will pay for it in the next 8 weeks. He will lose out finacially on the test he will miss, but more inportantly, he has given the no 6 jersey to Brussow and it will be a hard battle to get it back.

To all the morons out there saying Schalk must retire, wake up and smell the coffee, if I remember correctly, Bakkies was also pinned for gouging and biting!!!!

• 12.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#9 jaimie: You can spin all the tripe you like but nothing can condone the poor sportsmanship on display in the first 60 seconds. If you don’t see this for what it is you are a lost cause. The entire tone of the game was set when Burger raked a player on the deck, the Assistant Ref recommended action and the Referee in the middle ONLY yellow carded.

If you know anything about Rugby and control of the game you would know that the game was lost here. Rugby suffered when a players foul was first committed and then not acted upon correctly by the official (Referee) at the time.

End of story mate, nothing can condone the tone of the game from that moment forward. It was destined to become and became a free for all.

No point bringing into discussion who did what from then on, it was downhill from there.

• 13.katman: Reply to this comment

Burger is such a fckn tool and deserved red. Almost cost us the game with the late penalty too. If not red, then at least his ban should have been longer.

Don’t agree about Botha’s ban though. Only reason he got cited is because of Jones’s injury. Otherwise everyone would have been calling that a great ruck clean. No worse than both teams have been doing all tour.

Sheridan should have been cited for the most cowardly of punches that one man can inflict on another. Deliberately punching someone in the nuts is disgusting. I wonder if any of these sanctimonious English journos mentioned this at all.

• 14.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#10 skopskiet: FFS Who’s fault is that? If the players can’t be disciplined they deserve to be punished appropriately. Players must take responsibility for their actions – by chickening out the referee and TJ sent the message that it is OK to eye-gouge because you only get yellow. Hell I’ve seen guys get yellow for killing the ball in the red zone, it’s hardly as bad an offence as eye-gouging! Punching, gouging, etc should be punished by red.

• 15.GP: Reply to this comment

#12 RugbyRulz: Do you say BOD 2 head high tackles was acceptable?

• 16.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

#8 RugbyRulz:

dont forget the BILs also overreacted when Umaga and Mealamu accidentally drove BOD head first into the ground, breaking his collarbone and nearly killing him too remember. That was supposedly an organised hit designed to take the captain out of the series….

spin. its all spin.

• 17.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#12 RugbyRulz: Stem saam. Doesn’t excuse some of the stuff, esp. Sheridan who is lucky not to be cited himself, but the tone of the game was set in the opening minute.

• 18.AB Bullsbok: Reply to this comment

#9 jaimie: My thoughts exactly! Lions are a bunch of hyped up club level imposters!

• 19.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#16 munkiboi: You’re kidding. Right?

• 20.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#15 GP: Suggest you RE-READ my two posts # 8 & # 12. You will gain clarity and will not need to ask the question.

• 21.GP: Reply to this comment

So 1 man does something wrong, then it means it is a free for all.

• 22.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Fellow bloggers… the $hit fight that we watched may have indeed been tough and uncompromising, all we enjoy and more. But I have to say we saw far too much as a result of the first minute’ poor play and refereeing.

I love a hard fought game as much as the next guy, but gouging, nut punching, missile launch (no arm) clean outs, clothes line shots, etc., are all unnecessary. Tempers were way beyond the norm on Saturday and hopefully we shall not see another disgraceful display again.

• 23.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

he deserved a red because hands should not be in another players face. he has been a reckless player but i have never seen him do something to directly hurt an opponent in that way and i really have to question the intent because his head was turned the other way the whole time.

as piss ant said, sheridan punched bekker in the nuts and was not even cited.

jaques fourie complained his eye had been gouged but obviously that wasn’t seen on tv.

bod made an illegal tackle from an offside position and knocked out danie roussow and was not cited either.

5 lions had to go to hospital and suddenly the boks are dirty thugs.

rog did what schalk did in the world cup – competing for the ball and was not cited. granted he cost his team the game and the series in the end.

the media is annoying by calling the boks dirty thugs, i wonder what tune they would be singing if the game was drawn and there was a chance of a drawn series?

• 24.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Schalk Burger surely had the all time worst 50th test played in World Rugby…BTW, the yellow that should have been a red, that late off side penalty that nearly cost the Boks the test, not even have to go further, rather enjoy the Boks series victory… :mrgreen:

• 25.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#16 munkiboi: BOD was illegally injured in NZ as was O’Gara by McRae in OZ… now we’ve got Burger icing the cake. Not good lads and we are all to blame. Down south we’re all definitely hard enough we just need to wake up. Rugby is a great game and doesn’t need these 3 incidents.

• 26.chappy: Reply to this comment

#12 RugbyRulz: Totally agree that the ref’s inaction caused the game to turn into a bit of a brawl. Burger should have been red-carded, but I also hope that the review of the game results in this ref being demoted. Poor refereeing does no good for rugby.

The reality is that SA always play better when they have doscipline. When they overdo the aggression, they struggle. We’re our own worst enemy sometimes…

• 27.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#14 jonnymain:

So you would have preferred to have won that test playing 14 men like you did at Twickenham in 2002 – a non contest, would have set the entire tour into a no contest nobody wins situation.

They still going to have the hearing, not sure just yet how premeditated his actions were, if he set out to gouge from first play then it is despicable and a lengthy ban is required, if not, well then lets see what the commissioner comes up with.

• 28.chappy: Reply to this comment

Anyway let’s all take a deep breath. In 12 years for the next series, all anoyne will remember is the result.

• 29.Larch Strober: Reply to this comment

Yes – should have been a red card…

• 30.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Bakkies got done in AGAIN. Schalk should go touch up his wine-making skills at their farm. Enter Daniesorous Pakslae Rossouw – hopefully.

• 31.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

This is what should’ve happened if the IRB were consistent

Schalk Burger – Red card and to be cited
    Bakkies Botha – NOTHING – not even a penalty – the biggest injustice to date!!
    Sheridan on Bekker – Red Card and to be cited
    BOD on Rossouw – Yellow card and to be cited
    Paul O Connell on Juan Smith (strangeling) – Yellow to be cited
    Was it croft that pushed JP after he touched down? Penalty
    Who fell on habana after he touched down? Penalty
    Shaw offside the whole time – penalty
    BOD constantly off the ball stuff – penalty and to be spoken to. Should’ve received a yellow for continuing to start off the ball stuff. Then this would’ve been his 2nd yellow which means it turned into a RED!
    O Gara on Du preez – Yellow
    Mike Phillips – to be fined for his comments after the game about the ref. Hell, if Eddie Jones got nailed, who does this no name brand pommie trash thinks he is to get away with such words against the ref????
    McGeecan – to be fired for being a sore looser!!!!

• 32.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

A Lions player gouged J. Fourie’s in the ruck before his try…

Sheridan punched Bekker in the nuts..

BOD knocked Danie out with a off side high tackle without arms..

The Lion’s #8 slid into Habana’s head after Hanbana scored.

JPP was pushed into the advertising boards after he scored..

The Lions made numerous shoulder charges on the Boks @ ruck time..

THAT IS RUGBY – As a Bok supporter I don’t care about it. It is only ***** Brits who ***** and moan about these things…

But me thinks it is a clear case of the pot calling the kettle black.

GET A LIFE you BRIT faggots. LOOK AT THE SCORE BOARD.

• 33.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#31 mellowyellow: We shall leave you to dear old Tackles.

We all know for what.

• 34.Slappes: Reply to this comment

I got a feeling this next test will be one long Brawl! Payback, revenge, for queen and country stuff – Cant wait.

• 35.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

No defending what Schalk did.

Bakkies very unlucky imo.

But why Shaw not carded for numerous high tackles?

Why was O’Driscoll not carded?

And also one of the Lions backs for running in from miles away to get involved in pushing and shoving.

Why was Sheridan not carde for punching Bekker in the balls?

Why was O’Gara not carded for taking out a player in the air with a shoulder charge?

• 36.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

And whilst on the subject of Burger, surely they could have made a better effort with his jersey. That ’50th test match’ accross the chest is a bit over the top. Surely they could have done something much more discreet.

• 37.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

As bad as what Schalk did, the Lions player did not have to go off the field and could play the whole game. The ref was consistent I thought. Bekker and Shaw got similar ‘high tackle’ penalties, no one was allowed to tackle the player in the air.

Inexcusable what Schalk did, but Lions did not suffer on the field because of it!

• 38.haaibok: Reply to this comment

SAFFA Guys ,
    remember something. We will for ever be the scum of the rugby world. Dont worry about it, as long as Afrikaners dominate Rugby and will for ever to eternity I HOPE ,rule the enforcer roll on the International playing field we will be gunned by journos around the world, no sorry only British, Ozzies and Kiwi journos.
    Schalk need to be banned for at leats 12 mths.Yes it was a red card offence.
    I read the threads on different web pages , STUPID ********, THE DUMB BOERS.
    Let me tell you something if its not for the Afrikaner playing sport in this country we will not feature in Rugby or Cricket, o JA pse remember Afrikaners in those sport are not all white!!!!!
    Ons boere raak gatvol vir sulke kak statements!!!!!!!!
    Ons gaan en sal niemand onverskoning vra omdat ons Afrikaanses is nie!!!!!

Stop this absolute rubbish especially by Tackler, about anglo boer war and concentration camps. I have family that died of hunger in those camps in the Karoo. So tackler keep your mouth shut you are a racist and a Afrikaner basher!!!!!.

My point is , we must win even with 14 men or with refs against us , to show the world we are the world champs no matter what.
    GO BOKKE!!!!!!!
    PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN!!!!!!

• 39.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#35 Dantalian: Irony in your comment no?

• 40.ashley: Reply to this comment

#37 RugbyRulz:

• 41.williambd: Reply to this comment

I think yellow was sufficient since it was not clearly seen and aledged. Also the 8 wk ban in contrast shows that he did not gouge. Gouging is a strong word – he didn’t scoop or dig out at Fitzgeralds eye. He got the ban because his hand was over his eye and not his shoulder or nuts. Even Fitzgerald stopped short of saying his eye was gouged and instead complimented Schalk as a brilliant player. Quinal got 3 wks because his hand (fist) rolled “near” the eye area.

All these articles about Schalk are only to create stories, sell news. There is nothing else the Lions can put there finger on for loosing the test. It did not set the tone either, as it was always going to be a tough test – McBride going on about bossing the boks and Gatland continuously talking on the physical challenge. While the boks pretty much said nothing except a playfull Bakkies saying nobody bosses us. Instead we complimented the lions (both boks and coaches) for them being a really good team. And still nothing from them. Very ungracious I say.

It was a tough test, the best team won, and pity Schalks incident is unfairly and unnecessarily ruining it.

• 42.Londonbokshark: Reply to this comment

The Nazi’s PR Machine has nothing on the complete BS puke they are dishing up over here in the media. Every injured Kitten (Lions they are NOT)listed , but not how they got their injury. I am not excusing Schalk, far from it, but to whine like babies with with a nappy full is just pathetic. If I recall correctly they whined all the way through the last Lions tour. They like to dish it out but when it comes back twice as hard, they resort to holier than though pontificating.

If this is how they are going to be every Lions tour, lets end this farce.

• 43.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#40 Londonbokshark: Real smart thinking. Economically challenged SA could really do with your pearls of wisdom.

• 44.Londonbokshark: Reply to this comment

#25 RugbyRulz:
    The big flaw in your “argument” is that Fitzgerald was not injured to any serious extent and continued to play with a problem. Yes gouging is one of the worst kinds of transgression but seriously don’t compare it to the accidental upending of BOD. You are way too negative.

• 45.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

The Lions tours are purely to raise the profile of Rugby and to assist the home nation to raise their coffers. The visiting hordes of BIL tourists does wonders for an economy and to scoff at that is ridiculous.

But you living in good old London would know how good you have it… bugger the folk back home huh.

• 46.Londonbokshark: Reply to this comment

#43 RugbyRulz:

There is no doubt the economies of the host cities were hugely boosted by the Tourists. Who’s scoffing at that? If the Lions are going to tour they A: need to stop spoiling for a fight onfield and in the build and B: When they get the fight they wanted and it doesn’t go their way, just shut the hell up and move on. It’s just embarrassing. I have yet to read anything about the South africans complaining about the dirty play the Lions were dishing out.

• 47.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Of course Burger ought to have been red-carded after 30 seconds for that deliberate, despicable eye-gouge.

Of course he earned a red card. No doubt about it.

• 48.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Schalla has played crapply for 2 seasons. His head is somewhere else. Brussow, Stegmann and Dewald Potgieter are light years ahead of him. This whole saga is a blessing in disguise. We are going to see without a doubt that Schalla is not and never will be an opensider. He can compete for 7 but never for 6. He’s a carthorse at 6.

• 49.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

#44 Londonbokshark: I shall quote you … If this is how they are going to be every Lions tour, lets end this farce. <<< your words in post 40.

Enough wasted on you… oblivious of the real word and sucking it up in the old dart. Hypocritical and of no value.

• 50.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

It feels like just a couple years ago that we were making jokes about S Fitzpatrick’s ear being bit off…..

That said, it does suck and puts a big damper on the win, but the lions tend to grab the moral high ground when they lose. Look at the NZ tour, they stuck to the sour note of BOD being taken out with a speer tackle. They could not recover their thoughts and lost the series 3-0.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.