Disgraceful De Villiers
29 Jun 2009
In a surreal press conference, Peter de Villiers continued to deny Schalk Burger was guilty of eye gouging and delivered some of his most sensational rubbish ever.
De Villiers on Monday held court with a room full of journalists, the majority of those from the foreign press, and proceeded to spit the most ridiculous nonsense, and display an incredibly pompous and dismissive attitude, particularly towards the foreign contingent. For those present it was obvious that he has a very low opinion of them.
The questioning predictably centred around Burger’s eight-week ban for eye gouging Lions wing Luke Fitzgerald, an issue that the Springbok media team tried to dodge by saying that they would only comment after they had received an official report on the incident. You didn’t need an official report to know that Burger is unbelievably lucky not to receive a longer ban.
On Saturday De Villiers left the press incredulous by saying that Burger didn’t deserve a yellow card for the incident, let alone a citing. On Monday the coach had an opportunity to retract that ludicrous statement and concede that he was wrong. Yet he remained resolute in his flawed view.
‘I stand by Schalk, I’m still convinced he didn’t do it,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘When you watch the footage closely and if you know the nature of Schalk, you’ll know that he will never go to those measures to impose himself. Schalk certainly didn’t do anything on purpose. He watched the TV footage and was taken aback himself.
‘I am against anything that is against the spirit of the game. If we want to eye gouge lions, we’ll go down to the bushveld and eye gouge them there, then see if they can haul us in.’
When one of the travelling pressmen continued the line of questioning, De Villiers snapped, ‘Some of us seem to have a hearing problem. We’re waiting for the official report and we’ll see what that says. If they find him guilty of something we’ll abide by that decision.
‘I’m not ducking the issue, I’m working within a system. I’m not like you [the media] who don’t work within a system.’
De Villiers said he doesn’t condone foul play [the likes of which Burger was clearly guilty of], yet continued to inadvertently justify the incident.
‘Rugby is a contact sport and so is dancing,’ he said. ‘If you guys [the media] were clued up you’d know that there were so many incidents that we could have complained about, like the incident where a Lions player maliciously jumped into one of ours with their shoulder.
‘But we didn’t do it because this is a contact sport. If you are going to complain about every incident we might as well go to a ballet shop and all get tutus.’
Despite the series victory, there is a widely held view that the Springboks beat the Lions despite of their coach and not because of him. De Villiers’ rebuttal, ‘Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but I don’t react to opinion, I react to fact,’ he said.
‘If I’m the weakest link then we are bloody strong. I’m a God-given talent. I am the best I can be. I know what I am and I don’t give a damn.’
He continued by saying he didn’t read the papers, and therefore didn’t know how he was perceived in the media.
‘I don’t care. I don’t take an interest in your job, but I’m glad you take an interest in mine.’
Any preceding Springbok coach would have been seriously taken to task by the administration, but De Villiers gives one the impression, through his attitude and unbridled hogwash that he delivered on Monday, that he believes he is a law unto himself.
The reality is that he was an embarrassment to South African rugby, as he was when he offered his racially loaded views relating to Ricky Januarie, for which he will have to answer to the president’s council.
The same president’s council who appointed him based on his skin colour and not his rugby credentials (they confirmed this themselves when announcing his appointment), are now pointing the finger at him when they should be held partly accountable for the perception he is creating of himself, and by association, the Springboks, and South Africans in general.
De Villiers considers himself to be an ambassador for South Africa. He has said so on numerous occasions. But he is doing anything but creating a favourable impression of this country.
He needs to be reined in immediately. Word from inside the Springbok camp is that he just refuses to listen to any advice offered by his media managers, and as a result he is destroying any credibility he might have left.
Today he was a disgrace and he’s single-handedly detracted from the wonderful achievement of winning a Lions series. Hopefully it’s the last time we’ll have to endure a senseless rant like this from De Villiers. Don’t hold your breath though.
By Ryan Vrede, Johannesburg

859 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 » Show All
29 Jun 2009, 22:23 pm
#645 Sir_Charles_Napier: Instigating what though? nothing actually happened (Burger’s madness aside)
29 Jun 2009, 22:23 pm
Jondood –
29 Jun 2009, 22:25 pm
#649 BULLET: He is like a sperm donor, dash in, deposit, run without sticking around for the consequences…
29 Jun 2009, 22:28 pm
#646 Loserer: the host nation usually want the Lions to come, it creates much tourist interest and generates profit. Argentina for example are desperate to play the Lions.
#638 Loserer: too humid
29 Jun 2009, 22:30 pm
this thread is for me one of the best examples of gutter reporting – can’t call it journalism, i’ve got lots of friends who are journalists & i can’t degrade their profession by likening this k@k to their endeavours -i’ve witnessed in a long time, my goodness ryan!
After reading other news sources that carried the verbatim transcript of pdv’s media breifing, i’m digusted by the thought that i contribute to the money that mark keohane & his @rseholes makes through the hits on this blog!
Forget the british hacks, i can understand they’re their vitriol. But for these mercenaries that always call saffas traitors for supporting the All Blacks, to orchestrate a character assassination campaign on our own coach is just base, very low.
Pdv pisses me off sometimes but he doesn’t deserve this!
Ryan, expect a call from a producer @ a national radio station tomorrow or wednesday, they’re doing a feature on the series win & i’ve forwarded them all the threads you guys have posted since saturday, should be interesting
Rha! Iyandicaphukisa ke le-thread!
29 Jun 2009, 22:30 pm
#645 Sir_Charles_Napier: ..have a look at your tosser journos on this link
I mean what was the journo thinking to give Shaw a hug
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9-WejPDRyY
29 Jun 2009, 22:33 pm
#655 JL1: that interviewer is a twat, he’s the same guy who gave MJ the grilling last year.
29 Jun 2009, 22:36 pm
#656 Big Hit: they should get rid of him, he stands in the tunnel hiding from the action and then wants to get reaction and hand out hugs to rugby players, I felt sorry and cringed when I saw that
29 Jun 2009, 22:36 pm
#656 Big Hit: I remember, he shows no respect
29 Jun 2009, 22:38 pm
#657 JL1: yeah he’s a fake, football style bandwagoner.
29 Jun 2009, 22:41 pm
#659 Big Hit: Graham Simmonds and Miles Harrison-what makes them knowledgeable on the game? They are one eyed sensationalists
29 Jun 2009, 22:42 pm
AS a proud Saffer i proudly say this … Vrede and Keo have really lost the plot for all objectivity. They are so enraged that Div (with all his madness and “uniqueness”) is still there when they thought that their little vendettas would gather mass and support from millions of South Africans, and ultimately overthrow the coach.
I know Div can say stupid things, but if you read what he ACTUALLy said … he supports his player in that he knows who he really is – but does NOT condone the act!! Burger deserves to be out of action for 1 year minimum – but this doesn’t differ to anyone supporting a family member who breaks the law (stealing, fighting, drunk driving etc), gets caught and does time. It’s a stupid mistake but do we not still love them?!
Burger is part of the Bok family and Div has known him for years – get some perspective Vrede the Vrot Vark!!
Your overt hatred for our coach is seriously clouding your journalistic integrity! Grow up!!
29 Jun 2009, 22:46 pm
#660 JL1: agree, Barnes has played the game but he isn’t much better. Another twat.
29 Jun 2009, 22:51 pm
#660 JL1: it’s painful listening to Miles Harison…
29 Jun 2009, 22:51 pm
#546 byoboy:
A case in point.
29 Jun 2009, 22:52 pm
#654 Transformation:
I must agree (and I am a fierce critic of Pieter) that this is a manipulation that reflects badly on the journo involved.
I have read other reports on the interview and I have also watched Pieter’s interview with SuperRugby afterwards and he was NOT condoning gouging – he was commenting on ‘how he knows Schalk’ and what he would normally expect of him, which is quite something else. In that interview he also commented on Bakkie’s citing and punishment and I agree fully with his sentiments on that matter.
I’m sorry Ryan, but in future I will have a nagging doubt about anything second-hand I hear from you!
I do not know whether an apology will work here, but I think you should give it a shot!
29 Jun 2009, 22:53 pm
#663 Loserer: There must be better ones here, Miles cannot be the best that they have
29 Jun 2009, 22:56 pm
what kind of nonsense is this of journalists offering players hugs? Wtf is going on people? I remember thami mazwai, who owns a publishing house himself, saying in an interview, that “objectivity is a fallacy”. He was berated by journalists & media people all around south africa…rafa benitez & mourinho have always treated english journos with disdain, now i know why…
They’re bloody hugging players in interviews!
29 Jun 2009, 22:57 pm
#666 JL1: The first test was the worst! I swear, the first 60 min, it sounded like he was commenting on a State Funeral and when he gets exited it’s hard to hear what he’s saying, voice goes higher the more excited he gets.
Must say, Stuart Barnes try to be objective though, does not always work, but at least he tries
29 Jun 2009, 22:58 pm
Ryan just admit it, you’ll be so much happier if the bok coach was white. I mean the guy just won the lions series but a few days later ryan calls him disgraceful.
29 Jun 2009, 22:59 pm
#667 Transformation: As hard as I try, I just cannot envisage Kobus Wiese giving Bakkies a hug…lol
29 Jun 2009, 23:01 pm
Pdv’s mother tongue is afrikaans. Rudolph straeli didnt do a great job himself when it came to being interviewed in english. Just judge the man for performances on the field, not off it.
29 Jun 2009, 23:01 pm
#611 byoboy:
you have to be kidding me!
So my 50 inch plasma with HD signal coming from sky sport was wrong then.Did the rest of the world intercept the signal and computerized Schalks finger from the guys cheek and pasted it into his eye?
Some of you guys need to get over it,waste of time trying to see something when you cant accept that he did have his fingers in someones eyes.He has been banned end off story.
29 Jun 2009, 23:02 pm
#668 Loserer: I reckon Stuart Barnes is in love with FDP, he just cannot shut up about him
Anyhow, outta here
29 Jun 2009, 23:03 pm
Ryan just Do what comes Natural to the *************.He cannot help himSelf.
29 Jun 2009, 23:03 pm
Keo
Lest you think that Ryan’s stirring of the hornets’ nest and the resulting 700-ish posts, is an example of ‘job well done’ … pause to think ‘at what cost’ …
1 – Cost to Ryan’s credibility/journalistic integrity (it is now zip)
2 – Cost to keo.co.za’s standing in journalism
3 – Cost to Pieter De Villiers – albeit that he can often shoot himself in the foot – let him do it … not you!
This was no good …
29 Jun 2009, 23:05 pm
#595 rangerman:
Certainly am Dutchie
29 Jun 2009, 23:08 pm
lol i just loved the pdv interview on espn. how can he be the weak link if hes nt even on the field of play.
29 Jun 2009, 23:09 pm
Ryan Vrede
You are disgraceful. Where is your support?I hope you dont call yourself a bok supporter. Peter de Villiers doesn’t deserve this **** from you and the other journalist who are against him. Yes, he doest say the right things at times but from the start of his bok coaching career, the journalist have been out to get him because he is different. He just won the British Lions series win for god sake. He has a better under 21 record then Jake White and he won at the House of pain, which Jake could never achieve. He is actually doing will. He backs his players 100%, even if they are not doing will. We won the game and the series. What more do you want?
Why don’t you right how sour the lions coach was about the lost. Peter de Villiers is doing a great job. He obviously got the players trust and confidence, as they are still winning games. Basically, Peter de Villiers is better than some of the coaches we had, aka Rudolf Straulie, Harry Viljoen, Carel du plessis(who lost the previous lions series in 1997) and others. I am sorry but winning is winning.
I dont care how you he does it, but if the bokke, have more points on the board then the other team, at the end of the game, then I am happy.
We just beat the British & Lions team. Lets not forget that this team has been beating everyone in SA(except the draw against the emerging boks) and we didn’t even have as many warm up games as they did. That is something special:-)
29 Jun 2009, 23:10 pm
#672 Hurricane: hey why you have a 50″ and I must make do with a 32″??
29 Jun 2009, 23:14 pm
Ryan Vrede
You are disgraceful. Where is your support?I hope you dont call yourself a bok supporter. Peter de Villiers doesn’t deserve this **** from you and the other journalist who are against him. Yes, he doest say the right things at times but from the start of his bok coaching career, the journalist have been out to get him because he is different. He just won the British Lions series win for god sake. He has a better under 21 record then Jake White and he won at the House of pain, which Jake could never achieve. He is actually doing well. He backs his players 100%, even if they are not doing well. We won the game and the series. What more do you want?
Why don’t you write how sour the lions coach was about the lost. Peter de Villiers is doing a great job. He obviously got the players trust and confidence, as they are still winning games. Basically, Peter de Villiers is better than some of the coaches we had, aka Rudolf Straulie, Harry Viljoen, Carel du plessis(who lost the previous lions series in 1997) and others. I am sorry but winning is winning.
I dont care how he does it, but if the bokke, have more points on the board then the other team, at the end of the game, then I am happy.
We just beat the British & Lions team. Lets not forget that this team has been beating everyone in SA(except the draw against the emerging boks) and we didn’t even have as many warm up games as they did. That is something special:-)
29 Jun 2009, 23:15 pm
To sum this all up, here are the facts:
1.) It was an eye gouge and Burger was lucky to only get 8 weeks. I would prefer not to see him in a Springbok jersey again.
2.) PdV is not nearly as bad as some on this blog, journalists included, try to make him out to be.
3.) Jones was unlucky that he was in such a position that his shoulder got dislocated when Bakkies hit him. I have seen many, many similar clearouts around the ruck during the S14.
4.) The Lions are not so innocent when it comes to niggles off the ball, even though they try their best to come off as little angels.
5.) I hope McGeechan accepts the offer to coach a SA S14 side next season. I think he is a great coach.
6.) **** Muir is overrated and PdV can get better assistance from other coaches in the country.
Disclaimer: When I say these are facts, that of course means they are, but only to me
#604 rangerman:
Yes, thousands. I have lots of family in Zim and S.A. too.
They all support S.A. but they don’t advocate testical biting, eye-gouging and other win at all cost thuggery.
Who do you guy’s think will be irb coach of the year if the boks win the world cup? I bet you keo ******* wil stil b talking kak, i dnt even know why i bother coming here.
29 Jun 2009, 23:17 pm
#626 BULLET:
Yes.
29 Jun 2009, 23:19 pm
i advocate winning matches. back in the old days this sort of tough rugby was the norm. pdv is just a old school rugby brain.
29 Jun 2009, 23:22 pm
the gouge was bad, Burger was stupid, i dont know what he was thinking, 8 weeks is deserved, and i can only hope it was not intentional. he needs to evlauate in his time off, he is a great player and does not need to do that.
29 Jun 2009, 23:26 pm
#669 Wezwp: “disgraceful” for what? For standing up for schalk’s character?!!! He of the “auras” & “presence”!
In what part of the fabled ANC manual is it written that PdV must face-off with british journalists & vouch for schalk burger’s character?
When it was ricky, he was called a racist & the president’s council wants an inquisition, when it is schalk he is a disgrace…pdv must just hammer & k@k on his players & call them all sorts of things, yet when Beast annihilates Vickery, mcgeechan is not expected to call him ****, it’s supposedly okay for o’connell, mcgeechan & the rest of the lions coaching staff to blame bryce lawrence instead!
These lions must **** off home & take keo & his boot lickers with them! We can do without their nonsense in this country…
29 Jun 2009, 23:28 pm
#650 Big Hit:
Big Hit, i will ask the same questions again, did you not watch the game or read/see the interviews with the Lions players in which they detailed the litany of Bokke underhand thuggery?
Mate, I am worried about you, you are clearing developing ‘Dutchm@n myopia’. It will be Dutchm@n paranoia and uncontrolled fits of violance next.
29 Jun 2009, 23:30 pm
#631 Loserer:
He clearly didn’t think at the time that he would get caught.
29 Jun 2009, 23:32 pm
#688 Sir_Charles_Napier:
he did watch the game and correctly pointed out the gouge was not acceptable.
but he aint a bitcher like the rest of you.
29 Jun 2009, 23:32 pm
Fact is PdV stood up for his players. Based on what Schalk told him he defended him in the media. If Schalk lied to his coach who is to blame ?
I can’t stand Ryan Vrede. He is a piss poor journalist that quotes selectively in his shameless vendetta against our national coach. Here is a slightly different version of what PdV said that can be found at http://www.iol.co.za/index.php?click_id=4&art_id=nw20090629140820112C742874&set_id=
“We haven’t seen the full report yet, and until we do, we will not comment on it,” said De Villiers, before immediately commenting on it.
“I watched the TV footage, I’m still convinced that there was nothing he did on purpose. When he saw the footage himself he was shocked at how bad it looked.
“We will never, ever encourage anyone to be negative or bring the game into disrepute. If you know Schalk’s nature as a player and a man, to go to those sort of measures to prove he is the boss in a game, well, I don’t think he did it.
“We don’t believe in anything that is against the spirit of the game – headbutting, biting, spear tackling. We want this game to be the biggest nation-building tool.”
Pushed on his denial of what appears to be quite clear-cut evidence against Burger, De Villiers bit back at the large press contingent.
“Some of us have a hearing problem. We have systems, even if you don’t. I said we stand as a group and are waiting for the report. Let me tell you, if you look at the footage properly, and you know the man then you will know why I said what I said.”
29 Jun 2009, 23:34 pm
DISGRACEFUL RYAN “doos” Vrede. I think he probably wants a job in the uk, thats why hes siding with them.
29 Jun 2009, 23:34 pm
Pay your taxes PdV
Pay your taxes
29 Jun 2009, 23:35 pm
#659 Big Hit:
Agreed.
29 Jun 2009, 23:37 pm
He payed his taxes by doing what carel couldnt do.
29 Jun 2009, 23:38 pm
If anything,
The appointment of PdV has provided great insight into the psyche of the current South African rugby supporter
It has surely brought to the fore the best and worst of many
29 Jun 2009, 23:38 pm
#687 Transformation:
“These lions must **** off home & take keo & his boot lickers with them! We can do without their nonsense in this country…”
I’m not someone that often agrees with you often but in this case I feel the same. Keo and his national coach bashing company makes me want to puke. Had PdV lost this series they would have blamed him, now that we have won they attribute it to the players. It is f@cking disgraceful hypocrisy to say the least.
29 Jun 2009, 23:42 pm
i agree it pissess me off. its blatant racism. 99% of sa rugby supporters didnt go to bishops, grey etc like you guys. You not better than player 23 keo and company.
29 Jun 2009, 23:44 pm
Karma can be a biiitch ryan. Remember what happened to the guy that said there was a pdv *** tape.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 » Show All