Full circle moment for Olivier

Wynand Olivier concedes he deserved to lose his place in the Springbok side in 2008 but is overjoyed to have returned.

Olivier, who excelled in the Super 14 for the Bulls, hasn’t started a Test since the 2007 World Cup pool match against Tonga, and hasn’t played for the Springboks since the end of year Test against Wales in the same year.

His axing was preceded by an ordinary 2008 Super 14 campaign, and was subsequently overlooked for the Test season. It’s been one and a half long years in the Test wilderness, but Olivier has kicked down the selectors’ door and deservedly resumes his spot in a Springbok 22.

‘That hurt, it was a big letdown, but I understood why I was left out,’ Olivier told keo.co.za.

‘I was in a comfort zone after the World Cup. I didn’t train nearly as hard as I had the previous season. I wasn’t competitive with the Bulls at all. But now I have a totally different mindset. I’m enjoying my rugby more than ever before and I think that reflects in my form.

‘I think I’m playing the best rugby of my career, and it’s awesome to have achieved a goal of mine by getting back into the Springbok side after a year and a half.’

Olivier’s combination with the halfback pair of Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn was central to the Bulls’ success in the Super 14. The triumvirate now have an opportunity to replicate that form on the Test stage, and Olivier is excited by that prospect.

‘Morne was outstanding in the Super 14 and it’s a massive thing for him to be starting now,’ he said. ‘He’s not the type of guy to disappear on the big occasion so I expect him to do well and hopefully we can combine like we did with the Bulls.

‘But Fourie [Du Preez] is the key to our success. If he gets good ball from the pack he is so unpredictable, and we just play off whatever he does.

‘Then there’s Jaque Fourie, who is a special player, on my outside. Hopefully I can put him into a few spaces.’

Olivier and Fourie will front a changed Lions midfield of Riki Flutey and Tommy Bowe. Their inclusion was necessitated because of injuries to Jamie Roberts and Brian O’Driscoll.

‘I would have loved to face them, particularly O’Driscoll who is probably the best outside centre in the world,’ he said. ‘His combination with Roberts has worked well for them, but that said, they have some quality players in their squad, and it will still be a big challenge.’

Olivier conceded that his performance in this match would have a bearing on his selection or non-selection for the Tri-Nations squad.

‘It’s definitely at the back of your mind,’ he said. ‘I want to be involved in the Tri-Nations and obviously I have to make a statement on Saturday if I hope to do that.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

40 Comments

• 1.Martin: Reply to this comment

i am glad he is back. have always rated him

• 2.Breakdown Boy: Reply to this comment

He played well in the S14 and deserves this shot, but I doubt PDV wants these two to do great or rather Fourie to do great because then he would have to put him ahead of Jacobs.

And we all know he favours Jacobs.

• 3.BurtDigler: Reply to this comment

Welcome back WO .. you deserved it after the last super 14..
    Now show is the form is still there… Hopefully no rustyness due to the lack of game time since the Super 14 final..

• 4.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

You are a far better player than the one that became a Bok under White.

Good luck.

• 5.Puma: Reply to this comment

Should have started from the 1st test in Durban. WO deserved too. Played some brilliant rugby for the Bulls in the S14.

Good wishes to WO for the game on Saturday. Hope he has a huge game.

• 6.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

This guy deserves his recall to the team. I can’t wait to see what this midfield can do against the Lions!

• 7.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Wynand Olivier, you have proved me wrong for one the past year, and have shown yourself to be pure class.

You have been very unlucky not to be on the run-on side.

Go out there and prove your worth.

• 8.Shakes: Reply to this comment

I wish WO the best of luck to bury his Bok jersey ghosts. At the end of the day for all the unsubstantiated criticism Adi gets primarily as a result of his size (a major SA obsession) he has not let the boks down. Time to step out to the plate and show you are not just a S14 player and prove that you are deserving of a 2nd chance.

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Timotei shampoo!

• 10.cab: Reply to this comment

jy’s die mooise meisie in die hele land…
    ja i remember every oke and his dog having a go at poor meisikind, no-one listened when White and Louden said the oke has talent, and now he’s in outstanding form.

• 11.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Wynand Olivier, you slipped into a web
    Of your own confusion,
    Lost your lustre as you second guessed yourself,
    Fumbled in self doubt as you dragged
    Your spirit across a cold floor,
    You fell apart and split at the seams,
    Got lost in the shadowed land,
    We called you Meisiekind,
    Poked fun at you
    As your form waned and dimmed.

But you got off the floor,
    Ate humble pie,
    Took the lesson and showed your claws,
    You rose up bravely
    And rightly gave your detractors a toffee
    As you burned the electric blue flame once more,
    You applied what you learned,
    Sailing and dancing through any defence,
    Scoring and setting up tries,
    Hungrily nailing the gasping opposition,

Respect to you for going through the underworld
    And returning even better than ever before,
    Shine on you crazy no.12 diamond.

• 12.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Jinx – you forgot to mention his flowing, blond perm :-)

• 13.brendon: Reply to this comment

Welcome back boet. Make us proud.

BOKKE!!!

• 14.Limerick-Bok: Reply to this comment

This guy has never scored a try for the Boks. Not ONE in the 21 caps he has! Here’s hoping he can break that duck on Saturday!!!

• 15.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Best 12 in the S14 in 2009

Twice the player he was in 2006-2007

Embracing of a wider gameplan will suit him.

Well done “Mr Show & Go”

• 16.Slappes: Reply to this comment

I wonder if tacitus has a meisiekind poster too? ( probably hanging beneath his soiled, splattered pierre spies portrait )

• 17.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

“I’m selling two premium tickets to the SA v Lions test taking place on July 4th at Coca-Cola Park/ Ellis Park at 15h00 for R950 each.

Please get anyone who’s interested to contact met at 083 556 7564

Kind regards,
    Enrico”

• 18.Thameside Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Congrats to Wo his form in the S14 deserved this call up and he’s worked very hard to get back into the bok set-up. He is a different player now and will almost certain be part of the Bok side for the foreseeable future. I take my hat off to him!

• 19.byoboy: Reply to this comment

Well done to WO! he deserves it.
    The WO ,JF combo will be brilliant.

• 20.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#17 SpringbokSarah:

Does that include airfare from CT? ;-)

• 21.siener: Reply to this comment

Just shows you – sometimes getting dropped can be the best thing that happens to a player.

• 22.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Happy for him! Fantastic consistent performance in the S14; awesome in especially defence.

He will go all out!

It will feel like playing for the Bulls in the Green and Gold.

• 23.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#21 siener:

Sometimes when you lose you win in another way.

Sometimes when you win poorly you lose too.

But it’s great to win and win again with impeccability once you know about it’s opposite…that takes character.

• 24.The Riddler: Reply to this comment

#11 Jinx: Good stuff. Price Charming is back indeed!

• 25.The Riddler: Reply to this comment

#17 SpringbokSarah: Yssuuuuuuuuus, after all the BIL moaning this week I cant seem to give mine away. Good luck. These days it almost cost a pair of test!cles for a pair of test tickets.

• 26.Ned: Reply to this comment

‘That hurt, it was a big letdown, but I understood why I was left out,’ – WO

It’s great to see the oke is not blinding himself with bullshit. He knows he was bad, worked on it, improved and voila!

I hope he has a great game, he was the best SA backline player in the S14.

Can’t wait to see Nokwe use is pace also…jeez that kid can move.

Ned

• 27.Ned: Reply to this comment

#14 Limerick-Bok: He makes them boetman!

• 28.Ned: Reply to this comment

#11 Jinx: ***** ****** man, you MUST be bored.

• 29.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#28 Ned:

I was tempted to say something, but remembered that you post before you think it through.

• 30.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#28 Ned:
    Huh?
    You in a prayer meeting at the moment?

• 31.Limerick-Bok: Reply to this comment

#27 Ned: China, back then he was too damn suinig to pass so I don’t buy that comment…
    Jean De Villiers had 11 test tries after 21 tests… need I say more?

• 32.Jinx: Reply to this comment

#28 Ned:

No, are you?

• 33.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

#26 Ned: I agree- its nice to see a player face up the fact that he was not working hard enough.

I am quite excited by theis midfield combo, and I reckon between teh two of them they can put nokwe into some serious space. And in a bit of space, Nokwe can burn off ANYONE – Shane Williams included.

• 34.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

#33 SjamBok: Agree.

• 35.BALLER canREADY: Reply to this comment

#31 Limerick-Bok: #31 Limerick-Bok: boet, realistically a 1st centre isnt there to score tries, if its on and a gap opens then he must be able to read that and go for it..a 1st centre’s role is to create opportunities for those outside of him, because unless he playing against soft defence or the blind school or unless he’s built like lomu and runs over his opposite number then he isnt going to get through for an individual try too many times from first phase play..WO’s problem previously was that he tried to hang on and go for glory all the time..in the s14 recently he has changed that attitude and creates play.

So in short, ur comparison of his try total to Jdv’s really is insignificant when it comes to their ability to perform at no12.

• 36.BALLER canREADY: Reply to this comment

#33 SjamBok: absolutely…nokwe has matured too..he’s had some of the most incredible finishes ive seen this year.sometimes a player needs to lose his position to find that desire for it again and thats whats so exciting aboout this backline,WO, Fourie and Nokwe are all guys that were there, lost their place but refused to disappear, they’re fighters and we cant wait to see what they do on the day.
    I think thats what is going to happen with schalk..brussouw has 8 weeks to settle in and own the jersey.schalk is gonna have to bring some magic back with him from the gallows…

WO (cos i know u players read these articles…dont act like u don’t) I didnt rate ur style b4 this S14 season, very 1 dimensional but youve played real well to get back here and remember the job isnt done yet.this is where u step it up a level.Stake ur claim for the jersey,mate!

• 37.Ezee-23: Reply to this comment

He deserves his place, and he’s a dead certainty for the Tri-Nations.

• 38.Dunx: Reply to this comment

going to be interesting hope the centre pairing works because previous one has been bad

• 39.von Giba: Reply to this comment

Good to Olivier he thoroughly deserves his place.

I like his honesty of blaming himself (message!) rather than who was picked in his place.

Its refreshing and I hope he cuts the defence of Lions to shreds with his incisive line breaks and stepping inside whilst carrying powerfully the ball.

Wynand is a classic inside center.

• 40.bok1906: Reply to this comment

Wynie… he’s a good egg.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.