Kirchner set for Bok debut
2 Jul 2009
Zane Kirchner will start at fullback in a Springbok team that sees mass change, especially in the backs.
Only five of the run-on 15 that started the second Test are retained, as coach Peter de Villiers opted to give his fringe players a hit out, and preserved the majority of his first choice crew with an eye on the Tri-Nations.
The back division sees a massive overhaul with last week’s hero Morne Steyn getting a start at flyhalf, while Wynand Olivier and Jaque Fourie front in midfield. There’s also an all new back three, with Kirchner, Odwa Ndungane and Jongi Nokwe deployed.
Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start ahead of Pierre Spies, while Heinrich Brussow starts the first of what must be a series of Tests in the absence of Schalk Burger.
Johann Muller, who was unlucky to miss out on the Springbok squad for the series initially, will partner Victor Matfield at lock, while his Sharks teammate Steven Sykes is likely to earn his first cap off the wood.
‘I felt it best to beef up the forwards by including Steven, especially with Bakkies’ suspension upheld,’ De Villiers told keo.co.za.
‘We can never replace Bakkies, but Steven does give us that beef we need, especially since we expect the Lions are going to try and employ some drives against us. We also want to give good ball to our backline and to secure that we need a strong tight five.’
Chiliboy Ralepelle earns his fourth Test cap at the expense of Bismarck du Plessis. Despite limited game time in the Super 14 for the Bulls, De Villiers believes he will hit the ground running.
‘Chiliboy is an outstanding rugby player from a technical and positional perspective,’ he explained.
‘If he didn’t have that injury a year ago I think he would have been the No 1 hooker in South Africa now. It will be interesting to see how he goes, particularly from a psychological perspective.’
De Villiers explained the changes saying, ‘Seeing that the Lions are only here once every 12 years I thought it would be fair to give everyone a run. If they missed this game it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity gone.
‘I believe they are as good as the players they are replacing and I’m looking forward to them doing a good job.’
Kirchner’s superb form for the Bulls earned him a spot in the Emerging Boks team, and with De Villiers deciding to rest key players, he has the opportunity to Test himself against some of the northern hemisphere’s elite players.
He was training with the Bulls on Monday morning when the call came from the Springbok management, and three hours later was running plays with the national side.
‘It is unbelievable really, I’m still overwhelmed,’ Kirchner, whose confident posturing belied the butterflies he felt in his stomach, told keo.co.za.
‘No, no, I’m definitely nervous,’ he laughed, ‘it’s my first Test after all, and I’m feeling the nerves as we speak.’
Kirchner said he wouldn’t change his game at all, stressing that it’s the approach that got him to this point. ‘I think that was probably the best I’ve played in my career, but the best is yet to come,’ he said.
He added that he was prepared for the Lions to target him, but insisted that he was prepared for whatever avenue of attack they chose to exploit.
Asked how big a step up from Super Rugby this match would be, Kirchner said, ‘I think the last couple of games in the Super 14 resembled Test rugby. The difference will be less errors, and less time and space to operate in. Other than that I think I’m pretty well prepared.’
Reflecting on the controversy of the last week De Villiers said too much had been made of his comments, and preferred not to revisit that episode.
He also refused to comment on the Lions’ statement that, contrary to his assertion, Lions coach Ian McGeechan did in fact congratulate him twice after the second Test.
‘It’s our word against theirs. The South African media have already made me out to be a liar,’ he lamented.
‘Lets see who wins the third Test, and if they do I’ll go into their changeroom and give Ian McGeechan my congratulations.’
Asked if he had learnt any lessons about his conduct in the past week, and if he’d do anything differently, De Villiers said, ‘I won’t change my style. If I did I would be changing Peter de Villiers, then I would have to go back to God and say “You’ve done a bad job”.
‘I allowed the negative British press to affect me. It was the same in ’74,v’80 and now in ’09. What a stupid bugger I am.
‘If they can’t beat you on the field they try to assert their superiority in other ways. It’s nothing new, it’s been happening for ages. But I allowed it to affect me.’
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Johann Muller, 3 John Smit, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 Deon Carstens, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Pierre Spies, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Frans Steyn.
By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

444 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All
2 Jul 2009, 17:23 pm
Don’t have the inclination to read through the general consensus amongst the bloggers on here, but personally I reckon PdV has done the right thing by playing the fringe players.
The only players who do not really look likely to play any role in the Tri-Nations are Muller and Sykes. Botha, Rossouw and Bekker all being unavailable in the same week is quite freak(ish) luck.
Hopefully this test match will prove without doubt that we have two quality players in every position. The only worrisome position is tighthead prop, since both Steenkamp and Carstens are looseheads (although I did see Steenkamp scrum at tighthead in the first test).
2 Jul 2009, 17:26 pm
#399 Transformation: You said there was A PARK AND RIDE FOR THIS WEEKS RUGBY GAME. READ SLOW AND LET IT SINK IN.
NOW YOU KNOW THERE IS NOT. DID YOU PHONE LIKE I SAID?
Crikey this is stupid. I really don’t give a bloody damn what they do for the wc next year. Just thought how the hell can there be no Park and Ride for the Lions game. Its a huge rugby game and nothing is put on for it. Thats why I mentioned the wc for next year. Hardly watch soccer.
See though that you said they had it for the Fedcup but nothing for the rugby? WHY? I think it could be because there is no space left for buses as the Lions supporters all come in buses.
Anyhow this will be my last time I go to that stadium. Its in such a dreadful place. If I cant find parking near to the stadium I will just drive straight home to watch the game here. Not a safe place to be parking your car outside the stadium. I have done it plenty times before and felt not very safe when going back to my car.
2 Jul 2009, 17:37 pm
Can any London – based Bok fans find a copy of the Daily Mirror, Saturday 27 June, p.66?
According to a blogger on Shane William’s column in the Telegraph, it shows a photo of O’Driscoll gouging Bismark.
If someone can get hold of it let’s see it.
2 Jul 2009, 17:41 pm
#403 rich1: Well now that would be something if there is a photo of that?
2 Jul 2009, 18:15 pm
#62 tsiko: How about being gracious in victory or at least magnanimous?
Never seen such an outpouring of venom & vitriol in the last few days & to think you won !! Good lord what would have been said if you had lost.
Apart from the Burger incident there was little but “hand bagging in the test” which is what you would expect in a tough close contest. Bakkies should not have been cited let alone suspended.
I don’t blame the ref for not issuing a red card for Burger, the fault lay with Lawrence. Now a red card would have ruined the contest being so early. Maybe that’s what clouded Lawrence’s judgement? Too bad your coach had to put his foot in his mouth again later on. But then we are getting used to that.
I hope we have another good close game on Saturday to round off an entertaining test series. Pity though that the Boks have been hidden once again in cotton wool. Wonder if that will make a difference in the Tri-Nations?
2 Jul 2009, 18:24 pm
3RD TEST TICKETS AVAILABLE
083 754 6170 GARY
2 Jul 2009, 18:26 pm
#89 mshiniwami: How can you claim that Beast is the best loosehead prop in the world? Until Jones was injured Beast was being “beasted” by Jones. I’ve played both sides of the scrum. While it’s not unusual for a loose head to lift a tight head in a scrum, for a tight head to lift a loosehead (in a test match) as Jones did on Saturday is uncommon. I think the Beast has a lot to learn about scrummaging yet. Would not rate him on solely on his performance against an aging/handicapped prop in the 1st test. I say handicapped because Vickery has suffered from severe neck injuries over the past 3-4 years. His selection was suspect in the 1st place & a mistake by Geech.
2 Jul 2009, 18:38 pm
#109 Irish not British: Well said. Yes for those of us who are more open minded an entertaining series so far. A little disappointed not to have won one of the matches, which would have led to a great climax on Saturday. Now we seem to be faced with two ‘B’ XVs playing against each other.
Congratulations to the Boks for winning a close series. Pity about their supporters though, with notable exceptions (you know who you are), they appear to have a warped viewpoint.
Better be prepared to backup those viewpoints in the Tri-Nations
2 Jul 2009, 18:39 pm
Just a brief comment regarding all the wing talk in this thread (and in general).
Please remember, people, that 70+% of a wing’s work is done off the ball. Yes, a wing needs great speed and acceleration. Yes, a wing needs to be a consistent man-on-man tackler.
More important, though, is a wing’s positional sense. Does he rotate with his back three? Does he have an eye for depth? Can he read the opposing flyhalf? Does he play the angles well relative to the men inside him to close down passing lanes and break down movements?
Also important is his work rate. Does he go looking for the ball? How often is he a support runner? Does he ruck effectively out in the open?
This off the ball stuff is what separates great wings from good wings.
2 Jul 2009, 18:48 pm
#174 Thameside Bok fan: The question is open for debate. They were both close games unlike the 30-50 pt forecasts I’ve seen earlier on this forum. Let’s face it either team could have been 2-0 up on the series. The Boks got the rub of the green. Good luck to them.
2 Jul 2009, 18:57 pm
#410 JimT: Bokke never looked like losing either game. That is all that matters.
2 Jul 2009, 18:57 pm
#211 Morne Steyn is under-rated: In the USA there is State called Missouri. It’s nickname is the “show me” state. I say show me, back it up with a decent Tri-Nations performance & I might agree with you. I think the Wallabies will be tough to beat this year. The ABs? An open question right now, not very impressive so far this year.
2 Jul 2009, 19:00 pm
#238 Yetirat: I for one, heh, heh
2 Jul 2009, 19:05 pm
#411 Bul-a-Bhloo: Please let’s not exaggerate. You lose credibility when you say things like that. Accept the good fortune that the Boks were blessed with on Saturday (Lions missing two props & two centres). Let’s face it you won a close one that was in doubt until the 80th minute.
2 Jul 2009, 19:16 pm
#304 Dawn: LOL. Well said Dawn. If it happens it will at least be entertaining & good for a few laughs
2 Jul 2009, 19:19 pm
The last time there were no WP players in the Bok team was the 36-0 drubbing in the WC wasn’t it?
So, maybe a good omen….or maybe it just means what us Bulls fans always knew
2 Jul 2009, 19:21 pm
Great team! Im glad the other guys are getting a start and a run!
Well done to Kirchner and Morne, Odwa and Nokwe on the starts – run those “Lions” ragged
2 Jul 2009, 19:21 pm
#331 grant10: Why not book a rental car? Or maybe the rental company will not rent to that area?
2 Jul 2009, 19:22 pm
#414 JimT: Credibility is a term used to illustrate the the difference between between a wet dream and the real McCoy.
Bokke had enough to beat the BL’s, even though we were on the edge of our seats.
The if and buts matter none………
2 Jul 2009, 19:24 pm
#345 Shakes: I thought that was Bekker? n:-)
2 Jul 2009, 19:27 pm
Enough on the bench to rake the coals out of the fire if things go pear-shaped.
I’m nervous about Chilli, Muller, Kanko starting, Morne starting, both wings and Zane starting.
To many novices running on. Test rugby is a bliksem and skill is not everything.
2 Jul 2009, 19:27 pm
If I had paid to see this game, I’d ask for my money back. What a Crock of the proverbial.
Div shows his true colour(erd)s. Nice one. A chance to do a 3 zip and he unleashes the ANC brigade.
Arrogance in spades
2 Jul 2009, 19:28 pm
#368 grant10: Tut, tut, pride come’th before a fall
2 Jul 2009, 19:36 pm
#419 Bul-a-Bhloo: Ah yes, but you do admit you were on the edge of your seats? And biting your nails too no doubt
2 Jul 2009, 19:37 pm
#410 JimT:
Nah not really.
The score, excluding the 10 minutes Schalk Burger was off the field and the final 20 minutes in Durban, has been 54 – 22. Factor in fairly easy missed points from kicks (amounting to 11 points), and suddenly the Springboks are about 30-40 points better over a 130 minute duration.
2 Jul 2009, 19:44 pm
#424 JimT: Hi Jim
Been a fascinating series so far….so glad we embracing the opensider fully now…..very good performances by the Lions and the comeback by Boks in 2 nd test truly will always be remembered by me as one of the great 2 nd halves of all time…..
Both sides were very good and evenly matched…
The bad blood is sadly detracting from 2 very good games…
2 Jul 2009, 20:47 pm
The whole business of Pdv claiming Geech never shook his hand is a bit much. Seriously after the whole affair earlier in the week why does he have to say sh*t like that?
2 Jul 2009, 20:52 pm
#422 goyougoodthing2:
What a sickening comment. 2 wings previously capped by Jake and you pull the race card.
2 Jul 2009, 20:57 pm
#421 Bul-a-Bhloo:
Boet Muller has skippered the Boks, Kankow is arguably the unluckiest player not to have made the Boks starting XV for the first two Tests and Morne showed last week that he was born to play rugby. Chili….well yes there’s a bit to be nervous about there granted. I personally feel he should be comin on as a sub but then im not in charge of the Boks
2 Jul 2009, 21:11 pm
Emphasis is on the word starting, so many new combinations to blood.
But hey what do I know.
This I do know; I really don’t know how to call this one.
My heart says Bokke but my head says…..
2 Jul 2009, 21:15 pm
Yeah my head says we going to get done
far too flippant a selection, and Muller and Kanko – BIG Eish!!
2 Jul 2009, 21:42 pm
COLLECTION OF FUNNY PIETER DE VILLIERS QUOTES HERE AT http://WWW.DEVILLISMS.WEBS.COM
ENJOY!
GOOD LUCK BOKKE!
2 Jul 2009, 21:57 pm
#422 goyougoodthing2: Nice one GYGT2, showing YOUR true colours again.
2 Jul 2009, 23:14 pm
I seriously, SEEEERIOUSLY like the look fo this team. It has some good balance and all the specialist qualities where they need to be. The only possible stumbling block is the props – Sheridan in combo with Vickery could be a handful. Not sure who their hooker is, but he wont be as much of a puchover (no pun intended) as Lee Mears. So the Boks could be disrupted from front foot ball off set pieces.
But if they are, they have Brussouw at the rucks, and huge counter attack potential. We also have M Steyn at flyhalf, that gets teh forwards going forwards with his boot, regardless of whether we get bad ball or not.
If they can get decent ball from lineouts or parity at scrums, they will be able to cut holes in the Lions midfield to make space for that most awesome of finishers- Nokwe.
I am LICKING MY CHOPS ABOUT THIS ONE!!
3 Jul 2009, 01:46 am
PDV I know that soem of your selections have been contraversial but the lack of praise you got from the West has upset me. You are the winning coach and you deserve some accolades.. Particularly as a Black man. Bloody Brits..
3 Jul 2009, 02:06 am
The emphasis ont he black man is because we are not believed to be able to manage a rugby team.. That Jones for the |Times just added to the former aparthied..
3 Jul 2009, 04:21 am
Well done Zaney!!! You have earned it boet. Now make us Bulls and Boks supporters proud. You have already faced this quality opposition in the Emerging Boks. And you handled well (though you learnt a few lessons). Just keep those lessons in mind.
3 Jul 2009, 04:29 am
#421 Bul-a-Bhloo: So when would be a better time to blood new players and get some newer -layers some test experience? In the 3N?
Actaully, he has no named any players that significantly weakened the team (except Johan Muller, but my view on him are well known.). Chilli gives nothing away to Bismark and will not let the team down, Oivier and Fourie in midfield are stronger if anything, and Nokwe should be a force to be reckoned with out wide if the first two can make any space at all.
The only place we are weak is prop- and we were weak there before anyway. Snor must look at introducing Wian du Preez and Werner Kruger at some stage. And get Mujati on a power building course.
If anything, this is stronger than the past team (except for Bakkies).
This is going to be a feast of rugby and many tries scored. Expect the boks to hold the ball and attack left right and centre. And maybe we can bring this style of rugby against the Aussies.
3 Jul 2009, 04:31 am
The more I think of it, the more I like this team. Is well balanced between defense and attack. Enough there to stop rolling mauls and phased play as well as kicking. I know the midfield will fire, just hope they link well with the wingers. Ndungane will be fine and I expect him to score at least once, Nokwe can be a winner if he link up well with Jacques, because Jacques tend to run away from other wingers. I just hope we have enough on defense, WO will help so will Kirchner and Morne. The problem will be kicks, up and unders. Luckily Fourie help to cover at the back, but Kirchner’s, Morne’s and the winger’s positional play will be of utmmost importance!! Smith is luckily still there to assist the tackling efford. Scrums might be an issues with Bizmarck off. John Smith will have his true test this weekend!!
3 Jul 2009, 07:30 am
i hope ryan plays hard because spies has been poor and terblanche is unlucky not to be there,
3 Jul 2009, 09:58 am
#433 Clanerk: gotta love them don’t you mate. When my colours don’t match yours. Suck it up buddy.
3 Jul 2009, 10:00 am
#428 David: Go hang with Oprah and Obama then.
3 Jul 2009, 13:16 pm
#440 Dunx:
Spies has definatly not been poor…
I wouldnt say hes been amazing but hes done everything asked of him in the two test matches, and always gains meters when he carries it up.
though I agree that terblanche is unlucky to feature in the squad at all, but in the end Zanes form during the S14 was marginally better, and he showed he can play in big games during the semi and final.
4 Jul 2009, 04:06 am
kanko show them that you are better than Spies..
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All