Player 23: IRB takes action

Should players found guilty of eye gouging receive longer suspensions?

p231At the moment, the entry-point ban is 12 weeks (Schalk Burger and Italy captain Sergio Parisse both got eight after pleading mitigating circumstances), but this could soon change.

In a press release on Wednesday, the IRB announced that it is investigating measures to ensure that eye gouging is eradicated from the game.

‘The IRB is firmly of the view that there is no place in rugby for illegal or foul play and the act of eye gouging is particularly heinous,’ said the statement.

‘In light of recent high profile cases, the IRB is launching a review of the existing disciplinary sanction structure relating to contact with the eye/eye area in order to send out the strongest possible message that such acts of illegal/foul play will not be tolerated and have no place in a game that has at its core the pillars of fair play, respect and camaraderie.

‘The IRB has also written to the chairman of the IRB judicial panel to underscore its concerns regarding all incidents of eye gouging and a memorandum will be issued to all independent judicial officers reinforcing the IRB’s disciplinary policy.

‘Under existing IRB disciplinary regulations only the player may appeal independent judicial decisions. In light of recent cases, the IRB will review whether the scope of the appeal should in the future extend to other appropriate parties, including the IRB itself.’

Do you think players found guilty of eye gouging should be banned for more than 12 weeks? If so, how long should the ban be?

Have your say, as Vodacom’s Player 23, below.

126 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Trying to take somebody’s eye out it serious. First of all, you’ve got to be a real special stupid to do that, secondly the eyes are a no go area! Under no circumstance (Schalk) may you ever go near his eye.

Ban for a year minimum

• 102.4man: Reply to this comment

I heard/saw a comment yesterday which amused me.

The British team are in the bush at the moment (fact), probably looking for more Lions as they are running out! ;)

• 103.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

#87 KevinRack: How does one measure the severity of a testicle squeeze?

A light one could be mistaken for a stroke – hardly worth a penalty!

Perhaps the severity & penalty could be determined by measuring the distance the victims eyeballs protrude from his eye sockets? Say 3mm – 8 weeks, 5mm – 6months, 10mm – 1 year & those ******** responsible for causing players eyeballs to completely pop out should receive a minimum of a life ban.

• 104.4man: Reply to this comment

#103 Inevitable: I would rather get a punch in the balls from Sheridan, than having him stroke them…..does he do that sort of thing….wouldnt surprise me, he probably has the genetic makeup for it.

• 105.Londonbokshark: Reply to this comment

#102 4man:

They are more like Jackals that Lions ;)

• 106.vab: Reply to this comment

I have just looked at a post on Timesonline that the angel BOD was accused by Gavin Henson (his Lions team mate)of eye gouging around Oct 2005, now he is crying like a baby, what a box

• 107.4man: Reply to this comment

#105 Londonbokshark: I think not…Jackals are clever :) Now getting the Boks blood up, is like poking a black mamba with a stick, I think they might be ducking for cover come Saturday. Interesting their approach now is “we wont retaliate” in the London papers, after their build up to the series, which was “we will take them on physically”…a clear sign they have come 2nd and know it, in all departments.

• 108.Dust: Reply to this comment

#101 SpringbokSarah:
    So Sarah says a stiff sentence is suited

Eye gouging and all dirty play is cowardice. What’s wrong with the rules, guys? Is it not possible to play within the rules and still play good rugby?

I would agree with a lengthy ban, but more like a third of a year ~ 18 weeks. This takes out a lot of a season, but still give the player a chance to reform and return.

• 109.Londonbokshark: Reply to this comment

#107 4man:

Good point 4man, I have cussed jackals! maybe Hyenas? or ferrets?
    Actually, I think they should the name of an animal indigenous to the British Isles. To take the name of a noble african animal and debase it like this is criminal!

They definitely love to talk themselves up, but when it comes down to it, they come off 2nd best and then… oh god, the whining…

• 110.siener: Reply to this comment

#109 Londonbokshark: I suggest the Foxes … indigenous to the British Isles and very fitting … because their rugby is clearly going to the dogs

• 111.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

#108 Dust: Don’t do the crime if you can’t do with crime.

Sometimes high tackles are an accident but you take somebody’s eye out with that intention.

Yeah maybe I am a bit emotional with the fact Schalk did it, but 8/ 12 weeks is definitely not enough.

• 112.Londonbokshark: Reply to this comment

#110 siener:
    :) i quite like foxes though… how about the Lesser Spotted Newt? Very appropriate!

• 113.Dust: Reply to this comment

#111 SpringbokSarah:
    I hate dirty play

We had a situation with our first team at my son’s school where the other team was losing badly, playing dirty and the ref was doing zip
    Late in the game he blew his whistle for a lineout where the ball was kicked out and behind his back one of the other team tackled our lock from behind as he was walking to the lineout
    Anterior cruciate ligament torn clean through. No sanction. And this happens every weekend, to some degree.

We need the day to arrive when we can no longer call it thugby

• 114.4man: Reply to this comment

#109 Londonbokshark:No I dont think so…all animals are beautiful…perhaps a comparison to a lower form of human…like a manchester United player or something. ;)

• 115.Irish not British: Reply to this comment

#106 vab:

Henson lied about Drico and was reprimanded by the WRU.

His word is mud and deemed insignificant in most circles.

Good player though, when he’s not injured, on a sunbed, riding Charlotte Church, or being thrown out of pubs in Wales for annoying the locals. I think it was Lee Byrne that stepped in and stopped him from recieving a twatting from Welsh fans! His own fans!

He must be a lovely guy.

• 116.4man: Reply to this comment

#113 Dust: Have the injured boys parents considered suing the opposing players parents, the ref and the opposing school. This sort of action must be taken to stamp it out. Unfortunately a lot of the Dads egg on their boys and all for the wrong reasons. I remember an Athlone Boys high player had his neck broken against my school (Parktown) in the 60′s, he got tackled into the pole, fortunately he was ok and not paralysed….it was a tragedy, the game was stopped, everyone was concerned…..and if you played dirty those days, your own headmaster would bliksem you. The sport has moved on and I dont like some of the changes/trends, I put it down to myself getting older and resisting change (which I dont do and actively welcome change for the better), but the competition has got more of an ugly edge to it these days a lot of the time.

• 117.4man: Reply to this comment

I see the French player who lied about being attacked is now in a phsychiatric ward, he tried to drown himself in the Seine….only 20 years old. Schalk has been under scrutiny since he was 19 and is now 26….no wonder he is remaining quiet…the pressures must be enormous, not something the hoi polloi understand.

• 118.Dust: Reply to this comment

#116 4man:
    Agree. Our school is spineless to manage that sort of thing. The game was being taped stangely, but Im not sure if the incident got captured. The boys parents are poor and separated; we only heard about the full extent of his knee injury a week later. Its probably only 3rd parties that would do anything here…

• 119.vab: Reply to this comment

#115 Irish not British: Sorry was not aware that Henson had lied about the incident, silly bugger

• 120.Irish not British: Reply to this comment

#119 vab:

Thats cool vab, it was sensationalism to help sell his book.

• 121.vab: Reply to this comment

#120 Irish not British: One good sale then to BOD LOL

• 122.Irish not British: Reply to this comment

#121 vab:

2 actually. His Mum bought one too.

• 123.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

One year ban. Go sit and simmer and think about why the fark you were busy fiddling with someone´s eyes instead of the bloody ball. I agree. Eradicate it from the game. Its pathetic. If you really feel the need to have a go just fu&cking punch the guy man.

• 124.zoo cleaner: Reply to this comment

Hey KEO guys

What of this accusation by Jaques Fourie that he was also gouged, apparently during a tackle with O’Gara? Can any of you journo’s watch the tape and see if there is any evidence? Maybe just take the wind out of the self-righteous BIL press?

• 125.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#124 zoo cleaner:
    Yep, just before Mossie scored, and cut O’Gara’s head with his elbow in the process!
    JF said that moments before that try he couldn’t even see properly.
    Remember O’Gara tried the same against the Kings, on Wylie Human I think?

• 126.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

125. Pietman :
    Ja die 1974,Lions met hul 99 call het nogal opslae gemaak,maar dit was egter niks invergelyking met een of ander bedonderde slot (sy girl friend) het hom die moer ingemaak die vorige aand, wat se maak oop manne.Dan weet jy hier kom kak,groot kak.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.