Lions blast Bumble-Boks
The British & Irish Lions earned a deserved consolation when they thumped the Springboks 28-9 on Saturday.
The Boks went into this game having already secured the series, but the opportunity was there to affect a whitewash. The new-look side failed to gel and you have to wonder how much the Bok management considered this an opportunity to experiment rather than an opportunity to go 3-0 up. It was a disappointment on all counts.
The way both teams went at it in the first 10 minutes, you wouldn’t think there were any concerns over the perceived niggle and bad blood. Wearing white armbands to express their disappointment for Bakkies Botha’s suspension, the Boks flew into tackles as if there was still a series at stake, while the visitors responded in kind.
One-on-one tackling was never a problem. The Boks’ synergy let them down on attack and defence, and although this was to be expected considering the majority of the combinations hadn’t spent much time together, it was hardly excusable.
The hosts seemed to be lacking patience as well as precision as a number of early opportunities were missed due to a determined Lions’ spoil. Although they affected some important turnovers of their own, the Boks will lament their inability to control possession to the point where they couldn’t build or profit from a mulit-phase attack.
The defensive synergy was sorely lacking, and time and again, the drift defence was penetrated by one of the big Lions backs. Rob Kearney had another solid day at the back for the visitors, but it was on the wings that the Lions caused all the trouble.
In the 25th minute, Lions No 8 Jamie Heaslip found space on the left wing and palmed off some shocking tackle attempts. Meanwhile, Shane Williams had timed his support run to perfection and accepted the pass before jetting in under the posts.
Another turnover sparked the Lions’ second try as Riki Flutey put in a smart chip that was collected and touched onto Williams yet again. The Wales winger didn’t have to do much but dot down under the posts, and with Jones’s conversion, the Lions had shot to a commanding 15-3 lead.
Referee Stuart Dickinson said he would punish indiscipline and nailed the Boks at scrum time. Beast Mtawarira’s contribution around the park was typically outstanding, but the Bok loosehead was penalised on numerous occasions as the Lions’ tight five applied massive pressure at the set-piece.
Dickinson also nailed the Lions for their lack of discipline in the 37th minute. Fourie du Preez went down to retrieve a rolling ball and received Simon Shaw’s knee in his back. After consulting the touch judge, Dickinson sent Shaw to the sin bin.
The Boks bumbled a try-scoring opportunity but a late shot at goal by Morne Steyn took the half-time score to 15-6. Unfortunately for the Boks, three points were all they were going to gain from their one-man advantage.
The Lions continued to pressure the Boks early in the second half and only some last-ditch tackling and important ball-stealing by Heinrich Brussow stopped them from extending their lead. Du Preez also failed to return after the break meaning Ruan Pienaar had to come off the bench and play scrumhalf.
The Boks blew a try-scoring opportunity when the otherwise impressive Zane Kirchner dropped the ball in the act of offloading in the tackle. Wynand Olivier had thrown a beautiful floating pass to free up Kirchner, and attempted to replicate this pass in a subsequent move. Unfortunately, Ugo Monye read the play beautifully, intercepted the pass, and ran 80m to score.
At 22-6 with 25 minutes to play, there was no way back for the Boks. They continued to struggle for synergy, and the error count began to escalate in accordance with their desperation. They already had the series, but it was disappointing to see them flailing in this fashion.
As the calls of ‘Lions, Lions’ and ‘Swing Low, Sweet Chariot’ grew more prominent around a buzzing Ellis Park, the touring team defied recent form by maintaining the pressure.
The hosts battled to get into try-scoring positions as the clock wound down and John Smit eventually turned to Steyn when presented with a penalty from 40m out. The Bulls’ sharpshooter kicked a difficult goal to narrow the deficit, but the 22-9 scoreline still left the Boks with too much to do in too little time to do it.
The poor discipline that has afflicted the Boks throughout the series then cost the hosts in the final minutes, as Heinrich Brussow was penalised for retaliation. Jones made no mistake in restoring the 16-point cushion, and goaled another penalty soon after when Bismarck du Plessis was penalised for hitting him late.
The Boks were also denied a consolation try at the death when the TMO ruled Odwa Ndungane stepped into touch at the moment of grounding a try.
The result takes no shine off an overall series victory for the Boks, but highlights a few problem areas ahead of the Tri-Nations. The first-choice line-up will be back for that tournament, but it must concern the Bok management to see the second string fare so badly.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Ellis Park

July 4th, 2009 at 5:05 pm
Bokke still got the series – go Bokke
July 4th, 2009 at 5:09 pm
but the
stupidity
of helium
snorre
the ******
has finally
made the wheels
come off
for one of
the greatest
springbok
teams
ever
voetsek
p div
your iq
is lower than
the
springbok score
aa appointment
government
stooge
go away
World Champs thumped!
FRANS STEYN SHOULD HAVE STARTED !
July 4th, 2009 at 5:15 pm
So Lions outscore Boks in tries 7-5, and in points by 12+pts. And would have won 2nd Test if Burger would have been, deservedly, sent off.
Its fair to say that Lions had more periods of domination over the 3 games as well.
Well done British & Irish Lions, you can leave the Republic with your heads held high. The Series may not be yours by pride is intact which is so impt for the future of Lions rugby. We neutrals have enjoyed your spirit and style and the Boks were worthy adversaries.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:20 pm
5 – WAKANATHAN,
Listen to O’Connel’s interview comments.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:21 pm
#5 WakaNathan: Would’ve, could’ve … DIDN’T – same as the All Blacks world cup story.
3 – BLACKOUT,
True, world champions thumped. Still World champions though. When last you get to say that?
#5 WakaNathan:
Dead rubber. Who gives a **** who scored x number of tries!~ You Kiwi boys count how many tries the frogs scored?? Series won. The B team lost today, so fakking what……………we have a ***** of a coach………life not quite the same as with you boys…..unfortunately!
July 4th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
#5 WakaNathan: Well Said
Well deserved win. Congratulations to the Lions.
Message to PdV: FIX THE BREAKDOWN.
MAXMAN93,
The following should have started:
Bismark
Spies
Pienaar
De Villiers
Habana
Pietersen
Steyn
July 4th, 2009 at 5:24 pm
#3 Black Out:
Hehehe………….run out of excuses doooooos?? Who won the series dude??
July 4th, 2009 at 5:25 pm
NIGHTWALKER,
You too should listen to O’Connel’s post match interview.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:25 pm
Well Boks, congratulation on the series win. PdV well done on the series win.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:26 pm
#8 BULLET: Wasn’t it ‘87 and then they couldn’t even say it with conviction, because the best side never played. Wow, that’s two decades of claiming to be No.1 without even winning the RWC.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:27 pm
REDLION,
Well done to the Lions for the way in which they played. Some great performances, and Mike Phillips was immense today.
Paul O’Connel has surprised me with his performance and attitude this week. He was a great leader and played his best game of tour.
Long may the Lions traditions continue, and I will be at the 2021 tour.
#15 RedLion:
Naah mate, Pdv had nothing to do with the win. Plonker of note. So what are the Poms whinging about tonight? Beer too cold?
Mightily disappointed with the Boks’ performance today. We have arguably the best team in the world and we are lucky not to have been beaten in this series. It’s time for Peter de Villiers to go. Can’t understand the thinking behind replacing the backline like that.
Ralepelle and Nokwe are not Test match material, nor is Olivier. He is nowhere near the class of Jean de Villiers, and although Kirchner was ok he is not nearly as good as Francois Steyn. Ndungane was useless, as was Muller. Du Preez not up to his usual fantastic standard. Solid performance by Smith and Fourie and Brussow were fantastic.
Overall, great defence by the Lions, and great hands led to all 3 tries. Shane Williams was good but didn’t deserve the Man of the Match award. Tommy Bowe and Phillips were brilliant, and Kearney had another good performance. Congratulations on the victory today.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:29 pm
bokke played trash today and changed to many players from last week.
here is my ratings for bokke players.
1 beast 6.5/10 – dominated vikery despite what the ref said, and plyed well in the loose.
2 chilliboy – 5/10 – scrummaged badly, but was good in the loose and with his linout throwing.
3 Smit 6/10 took a bit a flak in the scrums and the jury is still out on his switch to prop.
4 muller 4/10 – was he playing?
5 matfield 6/10 – good in the lineout as per usual ok in the loose
6 brussouw 8/10 – turned over so much ball it was amazing, also at cruicial times for the boks. got penalised for throwing phillips, but phillips is a tool…..so well forgive it
7 smith – 7/10 – took the ball up all dat and tackled well
8 kanko – 5/10 – good on attack fought well, but I still feel that spies is the man for No.8
9 peinaar 7.5/10 -(as du prez was taken off so soon)
exellent sniping always looking for gaps
10 steyn 5/10 – kciked well, but offered little on attack, hindered largely by the forward lack to dominate
11 nokwe 3/10 – didnt do much
12 olivier – 5/10 – ran laterally all day and showed that steyn or JDV are the real deals at inside centre. got shown up by flutey who is an average centre at best
13 fourie 8/10 – defended weel, turned over lots of ball, we all know he is SA’s best outside centre and would be playing if it were not for Quota
14 odwa /10 – was absoultly robbed of a try….what a joke that TMO was. was solid as usual but is to slow for international level got the break a few times but couldnt capitilise due to shortage of pace.
15 kirchner 5/10 – not the best of starts to international rugby, but clearly has talent and is always looking to attack, has a big kicking game but needs to show some accuracy in it.
#10 Nightwalker:
“Message to PdV: FIX THE BREAKDOWN”
fix that
stupid
beetle
in his head
resign
surrender
carry bags
or something
worthy
of his
abilities
Good come back by Lions,PDV and reserve Bok power got exposed today
July 4th, 2009 at 5:31 pm
#17 BULLET:
Mike Phillips is a doos of note. He plays like Ronaldo, a friggin soccer player woos who actualy can’t take the pace and who bleets like a stuffed pig. Love it. Cheers loosers……………
Superb. Bloody hell…
Nice to see PdV has coached the life out of Olivier and has him back as a bloody De Wet Barry type crash ball runner. If the Super 14 proved anything it is the dynamic nature of Olivier – USE HIM PROPERLY, GOD!
Another limp Bok performance, reminded me of their first 3N game last year under PdV – bereft of gameplan or structure. Nokwe is a good finisher – nothing else. Wings in the Bok side need to be able to create (due to 10 through 13 being able to do nothing).
Brussouw IS NOT A BALL RUNNER, why must the Boks use him as such?
It is now time for the Lions to be disbanded for good – I mean really who in their right mind wants to pay R1000-00 plus to see a bunch of thugs from 4 countries form a gang every 4 years just so that they can win perhaps 1 match aginst the 3N giants?
Yes folks the concept of the I&B Lions is a failed money making scheme that must come to an end … oh it is true.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:32 pm
Congrats Lions. You made this tour one to remember for a long time. The history goes on and may it go on for a very long time.
Perfect series for the Boks. We won it 2-1. lost the last game that will get us in the right mindset for the 3nations. We must now look at where we went wrong and what is our options. This team definately doesnt look coached. Not since helium took over. It was playerpower and talent.
Chilli was just **** and always will be. I watched him today – he was off his feet and walking after 30mins. We all know that the wings – well what can you say when a hooker tackles a winger twice from behind and the other winger. Okay he was more of a supporter then a player. Morne Steyns limitations was clear to see today. He will work on that and be a great backup to Ruan and no.1 flyhalf one day.
Boys we lost this game and that will get us down to earth and ready for the big games ahead.
O and did I mention we need a coach and not a nob-jock to take his team forward.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:33 pm
JB Bok,
Beast was good
Chilli is not ready. The scrum improved dramatically when he went off.
Smit is collossal and should still be the Bok hooker.
Muller has been out the squad for 2 years for a reason
Kanko is like Skinstad. Kak starter, and will only shine in loose games.
Steyn is Naas Botha. Cannot blaim him. Thats what you get when you pick him. He is a kicker. Period. Not his fault, and we cannot expect to get a backline running well with him.
Olivier got no go forward ball, would never play him ahead of JDV.
Entire back three were badly exposed. Nowhere near test level. Good currie cup players (Ngudane & Kirchener)
Nokwe is a finisher only. Cannot tackle, no cover defense, does not look for work.
Poor selections and a 10 man rotation policy cost us today. Nothing else.
My concern is that John Smit and Vic Matfield might get eths hits with PDV soon and announce retirement. THey have won everything they want/need to win. Watch this space.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:33 pm
#19 boktoinfinityandbeyond: Yes, all the newbies were shown up to be out of their depth. Chilliboy was the worst of the bunch and would not be the first choice hooker at any of the Super14 franchises.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:34 pm
#24 jaimie:
“Brussouw IS NOT A BALL RUNNER, why must the Boks use him as such?”
snorre
is not
a coach
why must
the boks
use him
as such
JB_Bok what was your rating for Ndungane?
Great series and also a just result at 2:1 although it could have gone either way.
Kanko made more tackles and gained more yards in 1 game than Spies in 2. Time he started.
WO was too selfish, unfortunately.
Kirshner and Nokwe should go and play in the traffic.
M. Steyn is a great kicker but the Boks haven’t scored a try since he was on the field.
Odwa is great for the bench but not much else.
Chilliboy needs more time before playing at this level.
Muller was lost in space. Not good enough.
FdP was great but Bok MOM goes to FS who looked like he was the real thing and world class.
As for PdV, he’s still a twit. Just cringe at what he’s going to say this time round. Probably Lions didn’t congratulate him on his Ellis Park win…..
July 4th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
#27 BULLET: Surely John Smit is far too young to retire – especially as a prop nowadays. He’ll be leading the Boks at the next world cup if he wants to.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
WAKANATHAN
Twice world champoins, you have never had a chance to say that!!!
July 4th, 2009 at 5:37 pm
OSAMA,
You cannot play 2 x small loose forwards. Kanko gets muscled off tackles and cannot stop his opposition dead in their tracks. This is test rugby, not superrugby.
You need a man who draws in defenders, and stops his men.
Why di dthe bok forwards keep going backwards in mauls?
A – Bismark is stronger than Chilli
B – Botha is stronger than Muller
C – Spies is stronger than Kanko
Kanko is good, but like Skinstad, should only be used as a super sub.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:39 pm
CHARLIEBROWN,
Why would you hang around if you were Smit? He is 30, a hooker, has won the RWC, Tri Nations, Lions series and is noted as one of the greatest captains of the modern era, and is now with the Boks on top of their game.
Today’s selections were a sign of things to come. Would you hang around to watch a sinking ship?
July 4th, 2009 at 5:39 pm
#29 Porra the Fat Speedster:
Post 29 Agree fully bru
July 4th, 2009 at 5:40 pm
I think his was a great tour. The Lions were a hell of a lot better than our supposed experts in the press led us to believe. (Keo and co) and I think we may have been a bit lucky to win the series. That we chose a second string outfit when we had a chance to whitewash the Lions is more than puzzling I wonder if they considered giving the fans a refund on the ridiculous ticket prices seeing as they never got to see the first team play. Saru’s whole handling of the tour was a bit of an embarrassment to be honest and I feel the time has come to clean house as far as they are concerned. Also going into a series with so little match time and then once the players had the time under their belts changing most the team to players who had not played in 6 weeks or more (Kanko etc) is ludicrous and unfair to the players. On the positive side there is undoubtedly the foundations for the Boks to continue with a great side into the future.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:40 pm
CHARLIEBROWN,
Last thing I want is the man to go, but I think he might start to get fed up with being a player coach.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:41 pm
#25 RedLion: That’s a great idea. Then we can make it a Super 24, play the 3N home and away and home and away and home again, twice, and then disband the Currie Cup because it is getting in the way.
Woohoo, TV rulez
July 4th, 2009 at 5:42 pm
#24 jaimie:
oliver ran laterally all day long…… i must say he failed his litmus test, he is one dimensional perdiod
and with brussouw the bokke, dont use him as primarily as a ball carrier but all forwards take the ball up….and when he did take it up he did f*@#$K&n well
July 4th, 2009 at 5:44 pm
We have to look 4 years ahead now.
Need to work on a fullback. Been a problem after Percy goldenballs retired.
Need to find good backup wingers and locks. P
Props, ye we have good props just a bad coach and selectors.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:45 pm
#16 CharlieBrown: yep, but two decades of beating your side with regular monotony, sort of puts your fellas claims to being the best out of kilter too doesnt it ??
July 4th, 2009 at 5:49 pm
Manne manne.
Lets not forget that this was basically a new team and some of the players need desperate game time.
Lets not judge them too harshly on one game.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:51 pm
#43 The-Pill:
i don’t
judge them
i blame
the stupid
coach
July 4th, 2009 at 5:51 pm
#38 BULLET: True, but he could also become the first captain to ever win the RWC twice – and that would be something
July 4th, 2009 at 5:52 pm
#5 WakaNathan:
THE LIONS ARE AGGREGATE POINTS AND MORAL VICTORS.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:54 pm
#42 poppa69: The best is always a relative thing … being world champions is absolute. You are certainly are the BEST CHOKERS the world has ever seen, though!
July 4th, 2009 at 5:54 pm
#44 Porra the Fat Speedster: 50/50 on the coach.
Maybe a good call to give the 2nd stringers a run.
This could pan out well for the 3N if Pieter die Bokwagter is smart about it.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:55 pm
#46 Dubliner: The Lions are, just like the English Cricket teams, good enough to win the dead rubber. That’s about it, though.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:56 pm
#46 Dubliner: And a post like that gives us the moral high ground? Have you been reading the BBC again? We lost 2-1. Accept it other wise you sound like a muppet. Oops, too late!
July 4th, 2009 at 5:56 pm
Now the Lions can go home to a hero’s welcome. The poor poms….
July 4th, 2009 at 5:57 pm
#49 CharlieBrown: They are claiming a Moral Victory?
Let them tell that to themselves. We don`t care, we will claim a series victory!
July 4th, 2009 at 5:58 pm
#34 BULLET:
If you watched the first two games you would have noticed that Spies had maybe one or two runs but zip else.
He’s big and fast – when he gets a head start – and that’s the problem. He’s too cumbersome for a #8.
As they say, it’s a matter of Physics and can’t be denied.
With the rush defense Spies was going nowhere – slowly.
Kanako didn’t go backwards once that I saw and he made multiple runs and drew in defenders to bring him down. As I mentioned Spies made 1 per game.
Kanko, more meters gained and more tackles than Spies. It’s that simple.
#48 The-Pill:
when he
brought on
spies
on the wing
with us losing
i gave up
on him
having a
functional
brain
the man is
retarted
i bet
he won’t
score 80
in an
iq test
#51 Hop Hop Spinnekop: Jeez … i was surprised they didn’t do a lap of honour after the second test, like the English did at Twickers after losing one game.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:59 pm
#47 CharlieBrown: nah, thought that belonged to the Protea cricket team… they are just as bad arent they ??/ Gibbs dropping the World cup, Allan Donald not completing a single, dropping the bat FFS…. its all relative, but I understand, you usually only have one thing to celebrate every 12 years or so (95 and 07) least thats a better record then your record against the lions, before this series, when was the last time you beat them ?? 1980 was it , oh my…
#52 The-Pill: Good point. Ok, will leave them to themselves and their morals.
#53 Osama – bin OCO: First test. Spies made a telling run that let directly to Smit`s try.
But you didn`t see that right?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:01 pm
#53 Osama – bin OCO:
bin poco
you’re
like my
brother-in-law
he only
watches
rugby
to see
how bad the
bulls
can be
he lost
all grip
on reality
so have
you
July 4th, 2009 at 6:02 pm
#56 poppa69: Yes, the Proteas chocked once … but the AB’s are bigger chockers because they have chocked repeatedly every 4 years for the last two decades. Watching them choke in that little corner of France was the epitome of THE GREAT CHOKE.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:02 pm
#54 Porra the Fat Speedster: Hey, you can`t say that. IQ tests are racist.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:04 pm
#56 poppa69: But, Poppa, i understand your sensitivity, after all, rugby is the only thing New Zealanders do well and they even have to buy half their team from the islands to accomplish this.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:05 pm
#60 CharlieBrown: really… well for them to have choked every time, means then that you believed they were the best side at every tournament… ag man, and you call yourself a Saffa… and just for yuor info, the last “choke” as you call it wasnt in France, it was Cardiff…losing credibility fast man, at least get the facts right…
sure your not from the Cape ???
July 4th, 2009 at 6:09 pm
#63 poppa69: Who said i was a Saffa? And the definition of choking is when the favorite contrives to throw victory away. Weren’t the AB’s the favorites? The best side at the tournament is the one that wins it, not necessarily the favourite, something the AB’s seem to miss over and over and over again, whether France or Cardiff – anywhere really.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:09 pm
I’ll tell you what guys. Spies is our best back up winger. Gives us a lot of options and fire power.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:10 pm
The question needs to be asked, why have we not seen any sophistication in our backline moves, and why do we kick all of our ball away?
This has been true for all three tests.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
#62 CharlieBrown: seems to me we do exceptionally well at the Olympics ??? sure we got some medals in China, did you guys ??
numerous world titles in plenty of other sports too… league for example, world champs… one of the greatest formula one teams was started by a kiwi, still carries his name… heard of McLaren ??
we have had a man win two consecutive gold medals in the 1500m (peter Snell) also, Arthur Lydiard was a kiwi… whose he you ask ?? only the man that invented base training….
but like I said earlier, it helps the Saffa psyche to call us chokers, just like all the gloating from Saffas on here when we lost to the French this year… guess, like the English, if you cant beat us, you’ll celebrate anyone else doing it…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
#62 CharlieBrown:
fact is
since 1987
kiwis
never
won
not
good enough
July 4th, 2009 at 6:13 pm
I hate saying it but well done Lions….congrats Carol….I am sure Mark and Richard have a huge smile on their faces !!!
Still no congratulations to the Boks from Mageesh…only about how his side deserved this victory…dissapointing !!!!
In reality, job done by Boks last week…series won, YIPPPEEE
July 4th, 2009 at 6:13 pm
#65 Balletjies:
blah
i mean
duh
July 4th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
#64 CharlieBrown: but the ABs havent been favourites at every world cup… so the holes in your “theory” are obvious…
91 Aust was the favourites..
03 was England…
so, keep stirring… your inane attacks carry as much weight as Big Hits…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
Its was good to see FS runing with anger 2day. It must be difficult for him. He kicks beautifull but when he runs it gives everydody in the team a appetite for running.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:15 pm
#64 CharlieBrown: so who do you support ?? and when was the last time they beat the AB’s ??
July 4th, 2009 at 6:16 pm
#58 The-Pill: #59 Porra the Fat Speedster:
Pill, that was all of what, 2 meters?
Porra, at least I can construct sentences. Assume your BIL can too.
You might notice that I was not too pleased with other players, not just Bulls.
Point is, if the ‘first choice’ team stays as is in the 3N then we can kiss the trophy goodbye. Simple as that.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:17 pm
#70 Porra the Fat Speedster:
So what other option do you have except bla dhu aa and hu
July 4th, 2009 at 6:18 pm
Guys based purely on our performances, we were very lucky to win this series. The only time we played decently was in the first 40 of the first game.
I think we played pathetic rugby overall, and we made the lions look kinda of decent. If we played to our potential we would have put 20 points on them in every game. I’m not being negative, just honest.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:19 pm
#67 poppa69: That’s it – great and well done to all the Kiwi sportsman, even if 1/3 of the names mentioned just owns a team.
I am not sure if it helps the Saffa psyche to call you chokers – you just are chokers and the more you choke the more you will choke, so good luck for your next RWC disappointment.
As for gloating and celebrating at your losses to France, I am not sure about that, it’s the choking and crying and handbagging that i find amusing.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:20 pm
#74 Osama – bin OCO: We were shown up badly today, because of the forwards.
Kanko is a lightweight. Spies is not the best in the world, but he is better than Kanko. Argue as much as you want.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:20 pm
Lots of fixing to do before the Tri-Nations.with
FDP of the boil the team went nowhere.It really concerns
me to see the reserves struggle to make their mark.
I hope FDP makes it through the Tri-Nations,with him out
the Boks chances take a nose dive.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:21 pm
Maybee we needed some wp poofters.My bull players let me down today.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:24 pm
I think the bitching and moaning will now be over.
Chilli put us under pressure in the scrums. Muller was his average self, Brussow brilliant but got very frustrated in the 2nd half. Kanko so-so.
Morne was his steady self, but perhaps not quite ready to be the No 1 10. Meisiekind played a good game, but very predictable in midfield.
11, 14 and 15 did not come off today. Nokwe prob the biggest disappointment. Zane deserves more chances and we all know Ndungane scored that try.
Bryce Lawrence and Stu Dickenson = recipe for disaster. They proved it again today. Bryce saw that 15 times but still got it wrong; not that it would have changed the result. Stu started off the game penalising Matfield for correct entry and that set the tone for the game.
I am reluctant to congratulate the Lions; 2nd choice players were just k*k; they were not that great.
#80 hakhak: Nah, that was not the problem.
Our forwards weren`t up to scratch today, too many lightweights.
For any NH team you play the biggest forwards to grind it out.
#77 CharlieBrown: still didnt tell me who you support ?? why is that ???
losing the argument big time, at least have the kahunas to tell me who you support ??
cmon, tell me who you support ???????????
gutless…at least we have the balls to stand up for ourselves, and pride in our team regardless…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:26 pm
#80 hakhak: Good call, Liebenberg and Vermuelen at the very least.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:26 pm
#73 poppa69:
Poppa, you are really getting boring..turning every thread into a dck measuring contest between NZL and the Boks…jeez man, we are playing the lions.
Congrats Lions, you were by far the better team today. Must say, overall the Lions did a lot better on tour than I expected. All the whining made it a bit sour though…
Congrats Bokke for a series win.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:27 pm
#77 CharlieBrown:
World Champs thumped in own back yard, if a make shift lions team can do it im sure a make shift all blacks team can do it
July 4th, 2009 at 6:28 pm
#83 poppa69: Scotland. And we would have beaten you last November if you didn’t cheat at scrum time….
…I’ll get my coat….
July 4th, 2009 at 6:28 pm
Mike Philips:
Has there ever been a bigger **** on a rugby field?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:30 pm
#86 Black Out Brain ****: I don`t know if you know this, but this Bok team was mostly 2nd stringers and also an almost brand new MAKESHIFT team, not?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
#77 CharlieBrown:
Just leave him, you are wasting your time arguing with him. He does this every day. Border can play EP and he will turn it into a “NZL is better than the Boks” issue.
Dont the Kiwis have their own blog?? Please Poppa or Tackler or someone – start one! I used to have a lot of resect for NZL and their supporters.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
#76 Cambridge:
Agreed, but for some dodgy reffing you would have lost the series 3 nil.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:32 pm
Look at the silverlining. If these boys didnt play 2day it would be 8 weeks since they last played if they are needed in the 3nations. Yes we dont like losing and I would not throw a game for that reason. But I realy though we can win 2day with this team. Forget about 2, 11, 14 and 15. This team could and should have won. But the were so rusty on defence and attack. So, unfortunately we lost but as they say we won this war and lost 2days battle but we are better prepared for the next war.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:33 pm
With 10 changes this was always going to be a disjointed effort….it was important for coach Pete to give the other squad members a run, it gives him huge insight as to where we are going into the 3N……for the Boks, todays game was about that and I believe we got mileage from the game…even though it is a bitter pill to swallow !!
The Lions desire for victory was greater on the day !!
Geech must be the biggest sore loser in the world.
Right or wrong, the Boks management saw it as as opportunity to do some experimenting for the 3N.
PdV said afterwards that there is more clarity now and I think he is right.
#87 JockBok:
Congrats on today.
#91 Dubliner: Ah, but if my Uncle had t!ts he’d be my Auntie…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:34 pm
#85 Supa 14 Kampioene!: ok supa… understand… when anyone says anythign about my country or team, I have to shut the fark up and take it…
but as soon as I defend my team, you all jump down my throat… whats with that ? why not afford me the same courtesy you afford peiople like CharlieBrown… ok for him to bag my team, dont see you bringing him to task for his comments…
why arent you all over him for not talking about the Lions series ??
July 4th, 2009 at 6:35 pm
#95 Supa 14 Kampioene!: Cheers. But I’m just chuffed we had a Jock on for more than 40 minutes
July 4th, 2009 at 6:35 pm
#91 Dubliner:
We won. Accept it and stop moaning about the ref. The refs made silly decisions both ways. Congrats on today, you guys were far better. Kearney is great.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
#94 Sheriff: Yep. This is no disaster.
I am actually glad on some level that we lost. Not really, but there will be less whining on this site from British supporters.
At this stage it`s better to have lost this test than to continue hearing all the bitching and moaning.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
#94 Sheriff: Agree Sheriff !
July 4th, 2009 at 6:38 pm
My team (like it or lump it)
Beast
Bissy
Smit
Matfield
Brussow
Spies
Kanko
FdP
Pienaar
Habs
JF
Adi
JPP
FS
Bench
Well if this lot can’t win it in 60 minutes the becnh isn’t going to be much help. I’d have MS for sure in case it comes down to a kicking ’shoot-out’.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:38 pm
Lets vote on the man of the series. Heaslip must come to mind. (unfortunately! including the late dive on Habana when he score the try last week)
July 4th, 2009 at 6:39 pm
To all the bitching British,
Just remember old chaps, you lost the series to a 3rd world country.
How does that feel?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:39 pm
#99 Supa 14 Kampioene!:
Fair enough. Gloatings not much fun in any event. It is not in the Irish blood, and in my experience in the English, Scottish or Welch blood.
Which begs the question why do Saffas love to gloat so much?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:42 pm
poppa 69 i hear that the aussies love their sheep but the kiwis are in love with their,s is that the truth?
#100 The-Pill:
I guess it’s in order then not to congratulate the Lions for today’s game.
They did LOSE the series after all, last week already.
Supersprt guys tried hard to talk up the series and traditions but the bitching and moaning and arrogance actually a bit much.
Saffas will be disappointed with the lost – we hate losing – but let’s see if they can talk up their defeat in the UK. They have started already!
Glad to see these losers go now …
#97 poppa69:
Poppa, if this was the first or second time I saw you arguing than NZL are better than some country, it wouldve been fine. But everyday mate?? Really, do you think for one second you are gonna change anyone’s opinion about NZL if you attack them daily? You are LOSING respect for NZL that way, not gaining.
I understand you are proud, and NZL are the best rugbynation if you take all the tests in account over the years. But some other teams have also won Wcups etc which they are proud of.
The point Im trying to make is its a bit tiring if you come here everyday trying to talk up NZL, but its seems Im wasting my time.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:43 pm
#102 Osama – bin OCO: Looking good, but…
7. Vermuelen
8. Spies
12. JdV
13. Fourie/Adi
Okay, okay, I’m a Province man but Brussow, Vermuelen, Spies has a great dynamic about it.
#98 JockBok:
I believe the Jock was the difference today!
#67 poppa69: Guess who designed Mclaren cars?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:44 pm
#104 The-Pill:
It feels to this Irishman like charity – which (from the first 2 test refs) it was.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:45 pm
Ellis park = Coca Cola park
July 4th, 2009 at 6:45 pm
#107 Sheriff: Ja good riddance! Let the 3N roll on!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:46 pm
#107 Sheriff: Harsh. If you cut through the bullsh!t and watch the rugby, it’s been a fantastic contest and one worthy of the World Champions. Do you really want to see the back of that?
ellis park, as bok stronghold, died today.
close up shop and move it to midrand
1. beast – nowhere in open play and battled without bismark
2. chilliboy – tackled like a machine. **** scrums. **** lineouts. wtf can’t smit through?
3. smit – did have a grip on things. scrummed ok
4. muller – who? did he even play?
5. victor – lineouts were scrappy. missed fourie. knocked on. didn’t really pitch up.
6. brussouw – tackled well and was the pick of the forwards
7. juan – hmmmm. tackled well and carried a few balls. not really earning his place at the moment.
8. kanko – forwards didn’t do a good enough job in the tight to create the space needed for kanko – he tried, but in vain. average.
9. fourie – kicking was off today. hope that shmuck gets cited for that knee.
10. morne – yawn. offered nothing to the backline.
11. nokwe – shocker. mare. not bok material. couldn’t catch a cold and didn’t have the confidence to run from the back – kept passing the buck
12. wynand – wish i could say he was the worst. he did try, but it didn’t come together
13. fourie – the cheast didn’t get going today. he and wynand did not gel at all. defense sucked between the two
14. akona – good game. always trying hard, making tackles and fielding kicks.
15. kirchner – bit of a nightmare. lacked the frans steyn factor that i’m starting to enjoy.
#108 Supa 14 Kampioene!: understand your point, and if you have a look at the match day thread you will see I was talking about the game and the series… not about NZ and SA…
so what am I supposed to do when I see posts like number 106 ??
July 4th, 2009 at 6:47 pm
#105 Dubliner:
Its not Saffas, or Irish or Welsh that gloats…its certain supporters of those teams.
Maybe, the English have just more than them…:lol:
Seriously, well done. The BIL outplayed us by far today. Your defence was awesome.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:47 pm
I knew Bryce Lawrence would get it wrong!
That was try, no doubt!
I sincerely hope this is not a taste of what we can expect in the 3N.
Dickenson again successful in being the 16th opponent. The problem he is among if not the best Aus has to offer.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:48 pm
Aah we got our fat f’ng portogoose prick spewing his racist ****** **** all over the place again, and he uses half the f’ng page to spew his garbage too,
was the useless Bulls that f’d up todays game, Matfield, Chili, FdP, WO, M.Steyn
Between the overrated Bulls and the overrated Sharks thats about what you get, overrated mediocrity at the end of it all.
Time to get some proper players in the team
Matfield and Smit can go home and rest up, times up, move along now, you had your time in the sun now off to pasture.
Muller and Kanko, never even arrived yet so just pack up and piss off the both of you, waste of f’ng space overrated sharkie poeftas
Only players did any playing today were Juan Smith, Heinrich Brussow, Ruan Pienaar, Beast on one or two occasions though he was mauled in the tight, and F.Steyn
The rest didn’t pitch.
Time to read the writing on the wall, get rid of the has beens and start again, NOW, before it gets any later.
Clean sweep start again right NOW, even if you lose a few, get rid of the dead wood.
Matfield, Smit, cheers, congrats, you got your WC medals, and some other trinkets, now move along, let the real deal new kids come shining through. Muller and Kanko totsiens back to Currie cup rugby.
Bring in Potgieter, Vermeulen, Kuun, W. Kruger, H.Adams, Kirchner can hang around,
Pienaar back to 10 where he belongs, and F.Steyn at 15.
Better find some new locks and props fast or else its history right around the corner, no where up from here with this lot, its fresh talent or down, thats about the full catastrophe sum of the situation, better read it loud and clear or get ready for many more disappointments around the corner.
#111 The-Pill: who?
#112 Dubliner: Ah, thats why you`ve been bitching so much?
Guess the 2 WC was also charity?
Get a grip man. I like the Irish, i am half , but some of you are worse than the English.
Sies Man!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:49 pm
#110 Supa 14 Kampioene!: Haha, me too. 100% record for test sides with Scots in them
But in all honesty, it was a real shame to see Euan Murray go home early. I think he’d have given Beast a hard day at the office.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:50 pm
Mike Philips:
Has there ever been a bigger **** on a rugby field?
Probably not. But he’s our ‘****’ and you guys are just so easy to wind up. When you guys learn not to rise to the bait quite so easily, and be a little more intelligent, you’ll nullify the effect of players like him.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:51 pm
could EVERYONE who is bitching at each other like cowards behind their keyboards about being south african, welsh, irish, scottish or english… f@ck off. seriously.
talk rugby chaps. it’s only a game.
lions won game fair and square and bokke won series fair and square.
well-done to both.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:52 pm
The Brits will turn this into s series victory in their minds. However they played well and did so in all the tests. It was a superb series and the Lions are not as bad as some of us are calling them. The Boks however played better by taking their chances in the first two tests………..
#118 Supa 14 Kampioene!:
Have to agree. We scored no tries and it was part our own fault and part the fantastic defence of the lions.
well done Lions.
After this series. I already got my tickets for ‘Crock Park’ Bring it on Paddies. Be there or be square. The last game there then it moves back to Landsdown.
#117 poppa69:
Try and ignore it. Remember you are probably outnumbered 10 – 1. The more you respond the more will respond to you! I ignore the posts of half the people here!
But if you choose to respond, then do it. Im just saying, arguing everyday over this are not gaining you or NZL respect.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:53 pm
#115 JockBok:
I am in favour of the Lions tour in principle, but they have given the term “sore loser” a whole new meaning and dimension.
Geech is self-absorbed and must have thought he will repeat 1997.
Gatland, Rowntree and all those blokes can talk all they want!
But PdV whipped their ar$es once again.
And still they think they’re better!
They’re behaviour so unlike Henry and Deans. Those guys hate losing too, but are always quick to congratulate the opponent!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:53 pm
#121 poppa69: Gordon Murray. A Saffa.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:54 pm
#123 JockBok:
haha… so the Scots are the real winners!
Yeah, Murray is good. Vickery got some respect back today.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:55 pm
#128 Supa 14 Kampioene!: alright mate, point noted… will take it on board…
#130 The-Pill: cool, learn something new everyday, didnt know that…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:56 pm
#125 bobbyboyshey:
Ive been trying to get that point accross the past half an hour…agree.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:57 pm
#132 poppa69:
Thanx – I just saw a post above about the cr@p Bulls and Sharks players which I also gonna ignore!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:59 pm
#134 Supa 14 Kampioene!: well if you see me do it again, just whack me over the head and remind me not to, ok ?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:59 pm
#119 Sheriff: You can’t be serious? Are you blaming the ref for defeat today? I actually thought he did well, he binned Shaw deservedly for his knee in the back on FdP and could’ve sent Brussouw off also but decided not to. I thought he was Saffa-friendly today.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
SA missed the impetus bakkies gives them, and I think Bowe had a really good game for the Lions today, one of their best IMO…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
#129 Sheriff: It’s dissapointing for me too. I’m a sore loser but like to think I can rise above it when 80 minutes is over. But I’m surprised at a few of the comments and attitudes on here. Are you guys really expecting the BIL to roll into town and play it all your way?
This goes back to before 1974 when the Lions would come and play rugby, only to be slapped about and lose gracefully. You thin you see dodgy refereeing now??? Then in 1974 it was no more. The Lions come here to win and that means a siege mentality, whatever it takes. It makes for a fantastic contest guys and the attitudes are necessary. It’s all part of the game. But post match bitching is another thing though. It just makes us look like bad losers, which I know we are not.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:02 pm
#126 peterg123: No we won’t! The series was won last weekend by the better team, but the Lions aren’t half as bad as some of you think they are. I like to think they won some respect today, although the Boks made 10 changes to their lineup today you must also remember the Lions made 7.
#135 poppa69:
With pleasure! Hope you are not a big oke that likes to retaliate!?
Anyway, Im out.
Congrats BIL on today. Congrats Boks on the series.
Go Federer.
#132 poppa69: We can also boast about our Championship Ferrari winning designer Rory Byrne.
Pity South Africa loses its best talent to other countries.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:03 pm
#137 poppa69:
Agree. I said it during the game. We missed the hard men like Bakkies, Bismarck and to and extent Schalk in the first half.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:05 pm
#140 Supa 14 Kampioene!: You’re lucky Murray the Jock is out too
July 4th, 2009 at 7:06 pm
#141 The-Pill:
And if we push it real far we can claim that Federer’s mom is South African! hehe
But…Boks lost today, looking forward to a great Tri-nations.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:07 pm
boks 2011.1coenie oosthuisen 2 bismark 3 kruger 4 w steenkamp 5 d de villiers 6brussow,stegman 7potgieter 8 vermeulen,spies 9 vermaak 10 s eberson 11 habs 12 r eberson 13 m neewman 14 jp 15 pienaar
July 4th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
#143 JockBok:
Sorry mate, but thats one oke that I cant stand. He acts like a real spoiled brat…but he is big in Britian. Dont understand why the english support him though. He said last year that he supports any team that plays England!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:09 pm
Some great people born and bred in good old SA.
Yes bring on the 3N!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:09 pm
Really gotto go now…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
#140 Supa 14 Kampioene!: cheers Supa… Im a big oke, but not a malicious bone in my body… thanx
#141 The-Pill: was a case of them having too for a while…was the only way they would see international competition… one only has to look at people like Zola Bud (hope thats correct), the cricketer who played with Hadlee in the english championship (name escapes me, and he never got the opportunity to play test match cricket), and even Pietersen to an extent (though think his was more not being able to make the national squad)…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
#146 Supa 14 Kampioene!: Ag, he’s alright, just a typical Jock. As dry as a Nun’s chuff.
But it’s typical English. If he wins he’s British, if he loses he’s Scottish
July 4th, 2009 at 7:14 pm
#124 Jessp:
His only effect in the entire series was the three points he got his team by diving like football-playing poofter….when the game was already lost
I was going to come on here and congratulate the Lions but with ***** like philips, williams (x2), sheridan, i-could-have-doid, etc in their team…not gonna happen.
Just go home
July 4th, 2009 at 7:14 pm
#136 jonnymain:
Just dont like his pedantic style of reffing!
Always warning “green” most of the time.
He could have overruled Bryce’s mistake; when Bryce said “checking try or no try” I could hear his anxiety levels were too high
Not blaming him but Stu just doesnt do it for me!
Boks have won 3 out of 11 with him officiating.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:16 pm
#138 JockBok:
I want to show Lions fans how pathetic it is not to congratulate the winner!
The Bok B-team was k*k today, no doubt!
Shame Williams will prob write another book now, to celebrate this defeat…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:17 pm
#149 poppa69: Correct. Many very talented people never really reached their full potential, because of the state of politics back then.
Always thinking of how people like Naas Botha could`ve made a bigger impact on the world stage.
Sad, but it`s a new world now.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:19 pm
#153 Sheriff: Congratulations on a series win. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:20 pm
#155 JockBok:
Thanks and well done!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:23 pm
#154 The-Pill: yeah, shame for them that it eventuated that way… I know of Naas Botha, he with the prodigious boot, sure I seen him play…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:24 pm
#156 Sheriff: No probs mate. We’ll get yo back in 2021
July 4th, 2009 at 7:25 pm
#152 Sheriff: I think he’s getting better with age myself. He was warning “green” most of the time because the Lions had most of the possession
July 4th, 2009 at 7:29 pm
#158 JockBok:
Can’t wait.
Enough time to reflect on what-ifs tho
July 4th, 2009 at 7:31 pm
#159 jonnymain:
I think he developed that habit over the years.
His problem is complacency. Aus really not producing any refs; the game is increasingly attracting these an*lly retentive types as refs.
Not good.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:33 pm
By the way. I found the ‘justice’ bands a brave thing to wear. It’s not many sides that would publically demand a longer ban for Schalk Burger – that shows great moral courage.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:39 pm
#161 Sheriff: its because they dont have the step up from club rugby to a national comp… they come from club rugby straight to international, so dont really learn their craft properly…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:40 pm
Quite simply the worst Bok performance I’ve ever seen. Its time to show PdV the door before he destroy SA rugby for good!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:42 pm
#116 bobbyboyshey: Everyone was crying for WO and Fourie at centre but they got shown up today – 1st choice centres are JdV and Adi – klaar! Also we have no depth in the wings which is very worrying if Habana or Pietersen get injured!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:53 pm
Of all 3 tests, this was the only true snotting. And the Lions made 7 changes to the Boks 10, so both sides fielded B teams.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:02 pm
#60 CharlieBrown: Since when was Cardiff a little corner of France?
July 4th, 2009 at 8:04 pm
pathetic boks
July 4th, 2009 at 8:19 pm
Seriously. Although I’m a Brit, I’ll be watching the Tri Nations with interest and I have to say – careful guys.
Congratulations on a well won series, but don’t let the win blind you. I’ve been watching SA teams on and off for many many years, and this is one of the most limited Bok back lines I have ever seen. The wingers are great, but there is no cover if anybody gets injured. You could make a good argument that all 4 lions centres on show were better than their Bok counterparts, and at full-back, no contest.
Basically, you’re going to be limited to a forward-based kicking game and I’m not sure that is going to be enough.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:21 pm
#166 TheTackler:
Thanks Tackler.
You have your critics here on keo, but they are all wrong.
You’re not bad. You’re just s*xually frustrated.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:23 pm
#163 poppa69:
And what is the problem in NZ?
July 4th, 2009 at 8:25 pm
I wonder – did our forwards hold back at clearing rucks and the other collision points in fear of getting a ban for actually playing rugby correctly??
Or were the instructions to revert to the loose, individualistic play of some of last years more catastrophic games?
July 4th, 2009 at 8:28 pm
#165 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Bulldust!!! First choice should always be JdV and JF. THAT is world class, for those that dont have to strain to see over chips.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:33 pm
#33 surreyshark4:
But more recently than ‘we whitewashed the Lions’.
#46 Dubliner:
hang on there fella. You still lost.
Lions were certainly dominant for longer periods over the 3 Tests tho. Boks awesome for 1st 50mins of 1st Test, Lions last 20mins. Then all Lions for first 65min of 2nd Test, Boks unstoppable for final 15mins. And a RC would have changed that result, without doubt. Then 3rd Test is all Lions 3 tries to zip.
I thought the Lions were cr*p when they left UK. So I doff my cap, well done those Men.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:37 pm
#171 Sheriff: not sure I can explain that one lol
July 4th, 2009 at 8:37 pm
#169 Jessp:
Yip smack dat on the head
We got to start again from scratch
Thats what I would do about now.
Front row find some props, get W. Kruger up to speed and fast
2nd Row bring in some fresh blood from somewhere, Matfield getting stale and cannot provide incentive anymore, Bakkies just a brute enforcer, and those armbands today absolute stupidity, took their eye off the ball and put it on their arms instead, idiots.
Back row, time to blood the youngsters and get rid of dead wood, Kanko, – gone, in with Vermeulen to start at 8 and Potgieter on bench at 7 and utility, play Spies off bench.
9 H.Adams in now, and another backup like Hougaard.
10 Pienaar to start every game, M.Steyn off bench
12, 13 – JdV & Jacobs still the better option, the 2 today only bench options not starters, limitations were hugely exposed.
11, 14 Habana and JPP, and Basson as cover, better start scouting around the juniors for another. Maybe look at some 7’s players as options.
15, Steyn start, Kirchner bench.
Matfield, Smit, time to start preparing for your swan songs, these guys are on the wane, time for fresh blood and fast, the only ’senior’ boks I’d retain for now are Botha, Smith, JdV, Habana, and FdP at a push, but he’s not the god most people here think he is, not by a very long shot, a better effective distributing scrummy like Adams far better in my book. Bakkies also would be needing backup soon (Sykes or Wentzel or Steenkamp or one these new kids get up to scrath, but not Muller and/or Roussouw, – time for fresh blood – very important right NOW)
July 4th, 2009 at 8:41 pm
#175 poppa69:
We should escalate that to Tackler perhaps.
The loser prob went to bed already.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:48 pm
#177 Sheriff: lol perhaps its because we cant see the wool over our eyes
July 4th, 2009 at 8:51 pm
#172 Mistral: yea mistral for sure. was looking for that and think they did. think they sometime looked like they were confused(like many of us) as to what the rules are.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:53 pm
#9 whatever: Nobody ever wins a two-test series with one win apiece. The series is always shared.
Different matter regarding the silverware though. In a shared series, the silverware can still find a clear home with one of the two teams if it is decided on a points-differential.
July 4th, 2009 at 8:56 pm
if habs and jp gets broken we are in the shite.we need a real badass 4lock.start looking bakkies is not a youngster.vic is goeing backwards steadely sykes needs to get games.kanko was not on the pitch time for vermeulen to step up
July 4th, 2009 at 8:56 pm
#178 poppa69:
The reason the Kiwis come here is because Saffas very seldom have something bad to say about Kiwis
It’s just not in our nature to criticise that which we dont quite understand, unlike Kiwis and Aussies.
We play the game, occassionally raise concerns but we dont look for excuses. Not in our genes.
We congratulate the winner and go back to fix. Perhaps, that’s why we win just about every RWC…
July 4th, 2009 at 9:44 pm
#177 Sheriff:
Who went to bed, today ?
Oh, you went to bed today !
Good night.
July 4th, 2009 at 9:50 pm
124 jessp – Calm down! Comments such as ‘just go home’ are extraordinary. Fans of rugby have just witnessed a sensational game, series and tour. If SA come to the UK, they would be welcomed and shown due respect as the current world champions by any ‘proper’ fan of rugby (with the exception of the scumbag Burger, of course), which makes me think you are a soccer fan, or a short-arse who was bullied at school.
Surely you derived some pleasure from the tour? You scraped 2 wins and were well and truly spanked in the third. For a squad put together 3 weeks before they flew out, at the end of a nine month season, surely, as a group of players, The Lions deserve some credit. Were you at the game? Did you leave with the rest of the SA ‘fans’ before ‘captain moan’ lifted the cup for what must seem a shallow victory?
Having read your ‘contribution’, I decided not to lower myself to your level, but then it occurred to me that to communicate with you, I would have to.
As we ‘all go home’ as requested, I will cherish the thought that 25000 Lions fans have crapped all over The Rainbow Nation, at least once a day, over the last 2 months. Actually, it would have been better if all the **** were dumped in your bedroom,(I assume you still live at home?) as I have no problem with any of your fellow countrymen.
PS: K*n*s starts with a C not K…
July 4th, 2009 at 9:55 pm
#183 WakaNathan:
Nathan
The next item on the agend is 3N.
We will talk then.
Note – you left out the 3rd letter of your nick; the “n”
Pls amend.
July 4th, 2009 at 9:57 pm
Oh, and the ‘justice bands’ were gayer than any Tutu. Surprised PDV didnt spot that one. Another soccer type move! I always belived that the refs (or IRB) decision was final. Did Bakkies sew them for you? Grow up…
July 4th, 2009 at 10:03 pm
#185 Sheriff:
classic boet
wankanathan…. no doubts
July 4th, 2009 at 10:05 pm
#185 Sheriff:
why are you still up – you mentioned going to bed ?!
Youre only as good as your last game and your next one.
Tonight you go to bed a loser, Loser.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
#188 WakaNathan:
How can a loser like yourself call another person a loser?
Btw – I have just spotted the missing “N”
Move that “N” the 5th letter to 3rd. You from the outback?
July 4th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
bigtim – Did you read my post? Or did you reply to the wrong one. I never wrote the words ‘just go home’ at any point, and anyway, seeing as I’m a Brit, Welsh to be precise, that’s not something I would say. Sorry but I’m a little mystified. Though I agree with you – as have written before – that was one of the best series of games I have ever seen in my 40 years of watching rugby.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:42 pm
#189 Sheriff:
My team won last time out.
Against any opposition.
And yours.
Yours lost their last match. Any way you look at it.
Good night. Loser.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:47 pm
#191 WakaNathan:
Cheers plonker.
2-1; reflect on that…
July 4th, 2009 at 10:57 pm
#192 Sheriff:
Not against my team, loser.
But, yes, between our teams it was in fact 2-1.
And my team whitewashed em, stuck a hunner on them, and traumatised them with an inferiority complex forever. Until you came along.
And thats the thanks we get.
July 4th, 2009 at 11:02 pm
This last dozen or so post looks like a bunch of kiddies in the sandpit squabbling over the Tonka Toys. Most people, including me, come to Keo for some intelligent debate, but right now, this **** is looking like an offshoot of Planet Rugby.
FFS grow up guys!!
July 4th, 2009 at 11:10 pm
10 changes. Nice job Snor. Mugwab. Who you going to blame now? YOu can’t change that many people, now matter how talented, and expect them to gel
Corksucker
July 4th, 2009 at 11:55 pm
#194 cooky:
Actually, I call childish using a Test match to air some ‘Justice’ campaign which, incidentally isnt for a tsunami or an earthquake or a nation of persecuted native peoples, but a fellow player getting a long overdue wakeup on his flying-headbutts.
Justice.
FFS
The singe most arrogant thing Ive seen ON a rugby pitch bar none. Shameful.
July 5th, 2009 at 12:03 am
#164 Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
One can only conclude you’re probably around 3 rugby years old
July 5th, 2009 at 12:49 am
196. WakaNathan
The memo to referees and National Unions from the iRB, which I posted earlier in another thread, shows clearly that time has been called on players who think they are going to be allowed to charge into rucks that way in the future. This does NOT just apply to Bakkies. There are a number of other players who are going to be in for a rude awakening. Brad Thorn, Adam Thomson, Rocky Elsom, Jamie Heaslip and Paul O’Connel have all been guilty in the past of using this illegal and dangerous practice. Bakkies is just unlucky in that he has been made an example of. While some might argue that the “physicality” would be taken out of the game, I think that’s just BS. There is plenty of physicality in the game without players have to resort to using their heads and shoulders as the business end of a battering ram. Encroachers can be just as effectively “cleaned out” by binding and driving as they can by being hit with a flying head-butt, and with a far lower chance of sustaining a match, tour, season or career ending injury. Two players tried the “Bakkies” approach in this test, Kankowski and O’Connell, and both were penalised for it.
Dickinson will have included a reference to this in his pre-match briefing. The message has gone out, and the players (that mean ALL players in ALL countries) need to get that message, or they will spend a considerable amount of time warming a seat in the grandstand.
As for the “Justice” campaign, well, thats up to them. Personally, as coach, I would not have allowed it. They appeared so concerned about the feeling of “injustice” that they forgot they had a game to win. It distracted them from the task at hand. Those players didn’t look focused on beating the Lions. IMO it hindered their effort rather than helped it.
These types of campaigns rarely work, and can often backfire badly. In 2005, the Lions made a similar mistake over the BOD affair with Mealamu and Umaga. SCW and Alistair Campbell gave the media their “smoke and mirrors” show, and together with the British Media tried to run a smear campaign against Tana. Meanwhile, the Nation rallied around their skipper, and the AB’s concentrated on caning the Lions arses. 48-18 and 38-19 explained it to SCW far better than any reply in the media could have.
July 5th, 2009 at 12:57 am
#198 cooky:
Have you read Umagas book?
He goes it to a bit of detail about the incidednt with BOD.
It makes good reading especially the way BOD reacted to Umaga when Tana was trying to get a hold of him to apologise,but BOD wouldnt answer his calls or anything.
July 5th, 2009 at 1:23 am
#198 cooky:
Absolutely, those armbands were most stupid idiotic gimmicks I’ve seen any rugby player wear anywhere, and it detracted from their focus, all the stupid hullabaloo about Bakkies all week long from J.Smit because he knew without Bakkies propping him from the rear, Sheridan was going to own him, and so he did.
They had a rugby game to win not some ridiculous holy high ground war of sentiment with their ridiculous armbands, didn’t prove stuff all to anyone let alone themselves. Lunacy.
July 5th, 2009 at 1:53 am
#200 skopskiet:
they
were playing
under a
lunatic
aa appointed
political
coach
July 5th, 2009 at 2:06 am
#199 Hurricane: Umaga should’ve apologised then and there. The fact is, he didn’t care at all and it took media pressure to get him to act.
July 5th, 2009 at 2:46 am
#202 Big Hit:
Media pressure??
Which Media are you talking about?
Is it the English media or was it the Sir CW media of complains and whinging?
Thing is it didnt matter when the apolgy came,it did happen and even after years he was still anal about it. BOD is one of those guys that can give it but cant take it.
Have you read Umagas book BH?
July 5th, 2009 at 3:04 am
#203 Hurricane: yes media pressure, Umaga apologised because he felt he had to, to try to take the sting out of the media criticism not because he wanted to. I’ve read the parts in his book where he calls the victim he speared neck first into the ground a ’sook’, guess that apology was really heartfelt…
July 5th, 2009 at 3:09 am
#204 Big Hit:
So it was English media,cos that fact is no Kiwi player even give a **** what the NH media says and that is a fact.
HOw about read before that part he called BOD a sook.Or are you one of these guys that will only read the part you want to know about?
And he went it saying how the spear tackle happened,you didnt read that i suppose,or dont care.So really you should read about it before commenting
July 5th, 2009 at 3:56 am
#204 Big Hit: Umaga was agent – he could not know that Keven had also picked up Bod. He probably thought Keven was going for the ball. He could not know that a small amount of effort by both of them would result in a big lift. We are talking fractions of a second there. BOD is a chick in disguise. FFS the Lions are bunch of pansies. And the Irish Lions especially.
They are like those little boys that take their ball home when they get tackled hard.
July 5th, 2009 at 11:02 am
SOUTH AFRICA TRY ROTATION > FAIL< Some thoughts.
It was the forwards in the end.
The Backs didn’t exactly shower themselves with glory but it all stemmed from the lack of momentum up front and over the ball.
he mihi miharo ki a koe ; He uri o Porourangi. Tai Rawhiti Te Aute, Go the Canes, Harrd…
Ricky Flutey. Go Bro! Chur nui
July 5th, 2009 at 11:04 am
#200 skopskiet:
This man is the one Safa here who talks the truth and has my respect.
Im not asking for his, but he definitely has mine.
July 5th, 2009 at 11:20 am
#69 justrugby: Cheers Justrugby, will tell R & M of your congratulations on Keo!!
See ya..
July 5th, 2009 at 12:43 pm
LETS BOYCOTT THE 3 HOME TRI-NATIONS TESTS
OWING TO THE EXTREME GREAD OF SARFU(IN SETTING LIONS TEST TICKETS AT R1 140) LETS ALL NOT ATTEND THE 3 TRI NATIONS GAMES….THEY DESERVE TO GET WHAT THEY GIVE!!
July 5th, 2009 at 2:14 pm
R1140 for Lions tickets? Whats wrong with that? It exchanges to about NZ$230, approx. half what we paid for Lions tickets in 2005.
The price for Jade Stadium Lions Test tickets was about NZ$270 (R1350) for the open stand and over NZ$400 (R2000) for the Paul Kelly Stand, if you were lucky enough to win the ballot for them!!!
I think you have little to complain about there.