digimag-banner

Lions blast Bumble-Boks

The British & Irish Lions earned a deserved consolation when they thumped the Springboks 28-9 on Saturday.

The Boks went into this game having already secured the series, but the opportunity was there to affect a whitewash. The new-look side failed to gel and you have to wonder how much the Bok management considered this an opportunity to experiment rather than an opportunity to go 3-0 up. It was a disappointment on all counts.

The way both teams went at it in the first 10 minutes, you wouldn’t think there were any concerns over the perceived niggle and bad blood. Wearing white armbands to express their disappointment for Bakkies Botha’s suspension, the Boks flew into tackles as if there was still a series at stake, while the visitors responded in kind.

One-on-one tackling was never a problem. The Boks’ synergy let them down on attack and defence, and although this was to be expected considering the majority of the combinations hadn’t spent much time together, it was hardly excusable.

The hosts seemed to be lacking patience as well as precision as a number of early opportunities were missed due to a determined Lions’ spoil. Although they affected some important turnovers of their own, the Boks will lament their inability to control possession to the point where they couldn’t build or profit from a mulit-phase attack.

The defensive synergy was sorely lacking, and time and again, the drift defence was penetrated by one of the big Lions backs. Rob Kearney had another solid day at the back for the visitors, but it was on the wings that the Lions caused all the trouble.

In the 25th minute, Lions No 8 Jamie Heaslip found space on the left wing and palmed off some shocking tackle attempts. Meanwhile, Shane Williams had timed his support run to perfection and accepted the pass before jetting in under the posts.

Another turnover sparked the Lions’ second try as Riki Flutey put in a smart chip that was collected and touched onto Williams yet again. The Wales winger didn’t have to do much but dot down under the posts, and with Jones’s conversion, the Lions had shot to a commanding 15-3 lead.

Referee Stuart Dickinson said he would punish indiscipline and nailed the Boks at scrum time. Beast Mtawarira’s contribution around the park was typically outstanding, but the Bok loosehead was penalised on numerous occasions as the Lions’ tight five applied massive pressure at the set-piece.

Dickinson also nailed the Lions for their lack of discipline in the 37th minute. Fourie du Preez went down to retrieve a rolling ball and received Simon Shaw’s knee in his back. After consulting the touch judge, Dickinson sent Shaw to the sin bin.

The Boks bumbled a try-scoring opportunity but a late shot at goal by Morne Steyn took the half-time score to 15-6. Unfortunately for the Boks, three points were all they were going to gain from their one-man advantage.

The Lions continued to pressure the Boks early in the second half and only some last-ditch tackling and important ball-stealing by Heinrich Brussow stopped them from extending their lead. Du Preez also failed to return after the break meaning Ruan Pienaar had to come off the bench and play scrumhalf.

The Boks blew a try-scoring opportunity when the otherwise impressive Zane Kirchner dropped the ball in the act of offloading in the tackle. Wynand Olivier had thrown a beautiful floating pass to free up Kirchner, and attempted to replicate this pass in a subsequent move. Unfortunately, Ugo Monye read the play beautifully, intercepted the pass, and ran 80m to score.

At 22-6 with 25 minutes to play, there was no way back for the Boks. They continued to struggle for synergy, and the error count began to escalate in accordance with their desperation. They already had the series, but it was disappointing to see them flailing in this fashion.

As the calls of ‘Lions, Lions’ and ‘Swing Low, Sweet Chariot’ grew more prominent around a buzzing Ellis Park, the touring team defied recent form by maintaining the pressure.

The hosts battled to get into try-scoring positions as the clock wound down and John Smit eventually turned to Steyn when presented with a penalty from 40m out. The Bulls’ sharpshooter kicked a difficult goal to narrow the deficit, but the 22-9 scoreline still left the Boks with too much to do in too little time to do it.

The poor discipline that has afflicted the Boks throughout the series then cost the hosts in the final minutes, as Heinrich Brussow was penalised for retaliation. Jones made no mistake in restoring the 16-point cushion, and goaled another penalty soon after when Bismarck du Plessis was penalised for hitting him late.

The Boks were also denied a consolation try at the death when the TMO ruled Odwa Ndungane stepped into touch at the moment of grounding a try.

The result takes no shine off an overall series victory for the Boks, but highlights a few problem areas ahead of the Tri-Nations. The first-choice line-up will be back for that tournament, but it must concern the Bok management to see the second string fare so badly.

By Jon Cardinelli, at Ellis Park

211 Responses to “Lions blast Bumble-Boks”

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1. RugbystudReply to this comment :

Bokke still got the series – go Bokke

• 2. Porra the Fat SpeedsterReply to this comment :

but the
    stupidity
    of helium
    snorre
    the ******
    has finally
    made the wheels
    come off
    for one of
    the greatest
    springbok
    teams
    ever
    voetsek
    p div
    your iq
    is lower than
    the
    springbok score
    aa appointment
    government
    stooge
    go away

• 3. Black OutReply to this comment :

World Champs thumped!

• 4. mbaxman93Reply to this comment :

FRANS STEYN SHOULD HAVE STARTED !

• 5. WakaNathanReply to this comment :

So Lions outscore Boks in tries 7-5, and in points by 12+pts. And would have won 2nd Test if Burger would have been, deservedly, sent off.

Its fair to say that Lions had more periods of domination over the 3 games as well.

Well done British & Irish Lions, you can leave the Republic with your heads held high. The Series may not be yours by pride is intact which is so impt for the future of Lions rugby. We neutrals have enjoyed your spirit and style and the Boks were worthy adversaries.

• 6. BULLETReply to this comment :

5 – WAKANATHAN,

Listen to O’Connel’s interview comments.

• 7. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#5 WakaNathan: Would’ve, could’ve … DIDN’T – same as the All Blacks world cup story.

• 8. BULLETReply to this comment :

3 – BLACKOUT,

True, world champions thumped. Still World champions though. When last you get to say that?

• 9. whateverReply to this comment :

#5 WakaNathan:
    Dead rubber. Who gives a **** who scored x number of tries!~ You Kiwi boys count how many tries the frogs scored?? Series won. The B team lost today, so fakking what……………we have a ***** of a coach………life not quite the same as with you boys…..unfortunately!

• 10. NightwalkerReply to this comment :

#5 WakaNathan: Well Said

• 11. funkyzooReply to this comment :

Well deserved win. Congratulations to the Lions.

Message to PdV: FIX THE BREAKDOWN.

• 12. BULLETReply to this comment :

MAXMAN93,

The following should have started:

Bismark
    Spies
    Pienaar
    De Villiers
    Habana
    Pietersen
    Steyn

• 13. whateverReply to this comment :

#3 Black Out:

Hehehe………….run out of excuses doooooos?? Who won the series dude??

• 14. BULLETReply to this comment :

NIGHTWALKER,

You too should listen to O’Connel’s post match interview.

• 15. RedLionReply to this comment :

Well Boks, congratulation on the series win. PdV well done on the series win.

• 16. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#8 BULLET: Wasn’t it ‘87 and then they couldn’t even say it with conviction, because the best side never played. Wow, that’s two decades of claiming to be No.1 without even winning the RWC.

• 17. BULLETReply to this comment :

REDLION,

Well done to the Lions for the way in which they played. Some great performances, and Mike Phillips was immense today.

Paul O’Connel has surprised me with his performance and attitude this week. He was a great leader and played his best game of tour.

Long may the Lions traditions continue, and I will be at the 2021 tour.

• 18. whateverReply to this comment :

#15 RedLion:

Naah mate, Pdv had nothing to do with the win. Plonker of note. So what are the Poms whinging about tonight? Beer too cold?

• 19. boktoinfinityandbeyondReply to this comment :

Mightily disappointed with the Boks’ performance today. We have arguably the best team in the world and we are lucky not to have been beaten in this series. It’s time for Peter de Villiers to go. Can’t understand the thinking behind replacing the backline like that.
    Ralepelle and Nokwe are not Test match material, nor is Olivier. He is nowhere near the class of Jean de Villiers, and although Kirchner was ok he is not nearly as good as Francois Steyn. Ndungane was useless, as was Muller. Du Preez not up to his usual fantastic standard. Solid performance by Smith and Fourie and Brussow were fantastic.
    Overall, great defence by the Lions, and great hands led to all 3 tries. Shane Williams was good but didn’t deserve the Man of the Match award. Tommy Bowe and Phillips were brilliant, and Kearney had another good performance. Congratulations on the victory today.

• 20. JB_BOKReply to this comment :

bokke played trash today and changed to many players from last week.

here is my ratings for bokke players.

1 beast 6.5/10 – dominated vikery despite what the ref said, and plyed well in the loose.

2 chilliboy – 5/10 – scrummaged badly, but was good in the loose and with his linout throwing.

3 Smit 6/10 took a bit a flak in the scrums and the jury is still out on his switch to prop.

4 muller 4/10 – was he playing?

5 matfield 6/10 – good in the lineout as per usual ok in the loose

6 brussouw 8/10 – turned over so much ball it was amazing, also at cruicial times for the boks. got penalised for throwing phillips, but phillips is a tool…..so well forgive it

7 smith – 7/10 – took the ball up all dat and tackled well

8 kanko – 5/10 – good on attack fought well, but I still feel that spies is the man for No.8

9 peinaar 7.5/10 -(as du prez was taken off so soon)
    exellent sniping always looking for gaps

10 steyn 5/10 – kciked well, but offered little on attack, hindered largely by the forward lack to dominate

11 nokwe 3/10 – didnt do much

12 olivier – 5/10 – ran laterally all day and showed that steyn or JDV are the real deals at inside centre. got shown up by flutey who is an average centre at best

13 fourie 8/10 – defended weel, turned over lots of ball, we all know he is SA’s best outside centre and would be playing if it were not for Quota

14 odwa /10 – was absoultly robbed of a try….what a joke that TMO was. was solid as usual but is to slow for international level got the break a few times but couldnt capitilise due to shortage of pace.

15 kirchner 5/10 – not the best of starts to international rugby, but clearly has talent and is always looking to attack, has a big kicking game but needs to show some accuracy in it.

• 21. Porra the Fat SpeedsterReply to this comment :

#10 Nightwalker:

“Message to PdV: FIX THE BREAKDOWN”

fix that
    stupid
    beetle
    in his head
    resign
    surrender
    carry bags
    or something
    worthy
    of his
    abilities

• 22. Brentie1Reply to this comment :

Good come back by Lions,PDV and reserve Bok power got exposed today

• 23. whateverReply to this comment :

#17 BULLET:

Mike Phillips is a doos of note. He plays like Ronaldo, a friggin soccer player woos who actualy can’t take the pace and who bleets like a stuffed pig. Love it. Cheers loosers……………

• 24. jaimieReply to this comment :

Superb. Bloody hell…

Nice to see PdV has coached the life out of Olivier and has him back as a bloody De Wet Barry type crash ball runner. If the Super 14 proved anything it is the dynamic nature of Olivier – USE HIM PROPERLY, GOD!

Another limp Bok performance, reminded me of their first 3N game last year under PdV – bereft of gameplan or structure. Nokwe is a good finisher – nothing else. Wings in the Bok side need to be able to create (due to 10 through 13 being able to do nothing).

Brussouw IS NOT A BALL RUNNER, why must the Boks use him as such?

• 25. RedLionReply to this comment :

It is now time for the Lions to be disbanded for good – I mean really who in their right mind wants to pay R1000-00 plus to see a bunch of thugs from 4 countries form a gang every 4 years just so that they can win perhaps 1 match aginst the 3N giants?

Yes folks the concept of the I&B Lions is a failed money making scheme that must come to an end … oh it is true.

• 26. BalletjiesReply to this comment :

Congrats Lions. You made this tour one to remember for a long time. The history goes on and may it go on for a very long time.

Perfect series for the Boks. We won it 2-1. lost the last game that will get us in the right mindset for the 3nations. We must now look at where we went wrong and what is our options. This team definately doesnt look coached. Not since helium took over. It was playerpower and talent.

Chilli was just **** and always will be. I watched him today – he was off his feet and walking after 30mins. We all know that the wings – well what can you say when a hooker tackles a winger twice from behind and the other winger. Okay he was more of a supporter then a player. Morne Steyns limitations was clear to see today. He will work on that and be a great backup to Ruan and no.1 flyhalf one day.

Boys we lost this game and that will get us down to earth and ready for the big games ahead.

O and did I mention we need a coach and not a nob-jock to take his team forward.

• 27. BULLETReply to this comment :

JB Bok,

Beast was good
    Chilli is not ready. The scrum improved dramatically when he went off.
    Smit is collossal and should still be the Bok hooker.
    Muller has been out the squad for 2 years for a reason
    Kanko is like Skinstad. Kak starter, and will only shine in loose games.
    Steyn is Naas Botha. Cannot blaim him. Thats what you get when you pick him. He is a kicker. Period. Not his fault, and we cannot expect to get a backline running well with him.
    Olivier got no go forward ball, would never play him ahead of JDV.
    Entire back three were badly exposed. Nowhere near test level. Good currie cup players (Ngudane & Kirchener)
    Nokwe is a finisher only. Cannot tackle, no cover defense, does not look for work.

Poor selections and a 10 man rotation policy cost us today. Nothing else.

My concern is that John Smit and Vic Matfield might get eths hits with PDV soon and announce retirement. THey have won everything they want/need to win. Watch this space.

• 28. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#19 boktoinfinityandbeyond: Yes, all the newbies were shown up to be out of their depth. Chilliboy was the worst of the bunch and would not be the first choice hooker at any of the Super14 franchises.

• 29. Porra the Fat SpeedsterReply to this comment :

#24 jaimie:

“Brussouw IS NOT A BALL RUNNER, why must the Boks use him as such?”

snorre
    is not
    a coach
    why must
    the boks
    use him
    as such

• 30. boktoinfinityandbeyondReply to this comment :

JB_Bok what was your rating for Ndungane?

• 31. Osama - bin OCOReply to this comment :

Great series and also a just result at 2:1 although it could have gone either way.
    Kanko made more tackles and gained more yards in 1 game than Spies in 2. Time he started.
    WO was too selfish, unfortunately.
    Kirshner and Nokwe should go and play in the traffic.
    M. Steyn is a great kicker but the Boks haven’t scored a try since he was on the field.
    Odwa is great for the bench but not much else.
    Chilliboy needs more time before playing at this level.
    Muller was lost in space. Not good enough.
    FdP was great but Bok MOM goes to FS who looked like he was the real thing and world class.

As for PdV, he’s still a twit. Just cringe at what he’s going to say this time round. Probably Lions didn’t congratulate him on his Ellis Park win…..

• 32. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#27 BULLET: Surely John Smit is far too young to retire – especially as a prop nowadays. He’ll be leading the Boks at the next world cup if he wants to.

• 33. surreyshark4Reply to this comment :

WAKANATHAN

Twice world champoins, you have never had a chance to say that!!!

• 34. BULLETReply to this comment :

OSAMA,

You cannot play 2 x small loose forwards. Kanko gets muscled off tackles and cannot stop his opposition dead in their tracks. This is test rugby, not superrugby.

You need a man who draws in defenders, and stops his men.

Why di dthe bok forwards keep going backwards in mauls?

A – Bismark is stronger than Chilli
    B – Botha is stronger than Muller
    C – Spies is stronger than Kanko

Kanko is good, but like Skinstad, should only be used as a super sub.

• 35. BULLETReply to this comment :

CHARLIEBROWN,

Why would you hang around if you were Smit? He is 30, a hooker, has won the RWC, Tri Nations, Lions series and is noted as one of the greatest captains of the modern era, and is now with the Boks on top of their game.

Today’s selections were a sign of things to come. Would you hang around to watch a sinking ship?

• 36. BalletjiesReply to this comment :

#29 Porra the Fat Speedster:
    Post 29 Agree fully bru

• 37. malcolmReply to this comment :

I think his was a great tour. The Lions were a hell of a lot better than our supposed experts in the press led us to believe. (Keo and co) and I think we may have been a bit lucky to win the series. That we chose a second string outfit when we had a chance to whitewash the Lions is more than puzzling I wonder if they considered giving the fans a refund on the ridiculous ticket prices seeing as they never got to see the first team play. Saru’s whole handling of the tour was a bit of an embarrassment to be honest and I feel the time has come to clean house as far as they are concerned. Also going into a series with so little match time and then once the players had the time under their belts changing most the team to players who had not played in 6 weeks or more (Kanko etc) is ludicrous and unfair to the players. On the positive side there is undoubtedly the foundations for the Boks to continue with a great side into the future.

• 38. BULLETReply to this comment :

CHARLIEBROWN,

Last thing I want is the man to go, but I think he might start to get fed up with being a player coach.

• 39. JockBokReply to this comment :

#25 RedLion: That’s a great idea. Then we can make it a Super 24, play the 3N home and away and home and away and home again, twice, and then disband the Currie Cup because it is getting in the way.

Woohoo, TV rulez

• 40. JB_BOKReply to this comment :

#24 jaimie:

oliver ran laterally all day long…… i must say he failed his litmus test, he is one dimensional perdiod

and with brussouw the bokke, dont use him as primarily as a ball carrier but all forwards take the ball up….and when he did take it up he did f*@#$K&n well

• 41. BalletjiesReply to this comment :

We have to look 4 years ahead now.

Need to work on a fullback. Been a problem after Percy goldenballs retired.
    Need to find good backup wingers and locks. P
    Props, ye we have good props just a bad coach and selectors.

• 42. poppa69Reply to this comment :

#16 CharlieBrown: yep, but two decades of beating your side with regular monotony, sort of puts your fellas claims to being the best out of kilter too doesnt it ??

• 43. The-PillReply to this comment :

Manne manne.

Lets not forget that this was basically a new team and some of the players need desperate game time.

Lets not judge them too harshly on one game.

• 44. Porra the Fat SpeedsterReply to this comment :

#43 The-Pill:

i don’t
    judge them
    i blame
    the stupid
    coach

• 45. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#38 BULLET: True, but he could also become the first captain to ever win the RWC twice – and that would be something :-) .

• 46. DublinerReply to this comment :

#5 WakaNathan:

THE LIONS ARE AGGREGATE POINTS AND MORAL VICTORS.

• 47. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#42 poppa69: The best is always a relative thing … being world champions is absolute. You are certainly are the BEST CHOKERS the world has ever seen, though!

• 48. The-PillReply to this comment :

#44 Porra the Fat Speedster: 50/50 on the coach.

Maybe a good call to give the 2nd stringers a run.

This could pan out well for the 3N if Pieter die Bokwagter is smart about it.

• 49. CharlieBrownReply to this comment :

#46 Dubliner: The Lions are, just like the English Cricket teams, good enough to win the dead rubber. That’s about it, though.

• 50. JockBokReply to this comment :

#46 Dubliner: And a post like that gives us the moral high ground? Have you been reading the BBC again? We lost 2-1. Accept it other wise you sound like a muppet. Oops, too late!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Springboks 9 (6)

Penalties

• Morne Steyn (3)

British & Irish Lions 28 (15)

Tries

• Shane Williams (2)
  • Ugo Monye

Conversions

• Stephen Jones (2)

Penalties

• Stephen Jones (3)

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator