Lions blast Bumble-Boks
The British & Irish Lions earned a deserved consolation when they thumped the Springboks 28-9 on Saturday.
The Boks went into this game having already secured the series, but the opportunity was there to affect a whitewash. The new-look side failed to gel and you have to wonder how much the Bok management considered this an opportunity to experiment rather than an opportunity to go 3-0 up. It was a disappointment on all counts.
The way both teams went at it in the first 10 minutes, you wouldn’t think there were any concerns over the perceived niggle and bad blood. Wearing white armbands to express their disappointment for Bakkies Botha’s suspension, the Boks flew into tackles as if there was still a series at stake, while the visitors responded in kind.
One-on-one tackling was never a problem. The Boks’ synergy let them down on attack and defence, and although this was to be expected considering the majority of the combinations hadn’t spent much time together, it was hardly excusable.
The hosts seemed to be lacking patience as well as precision as a number of early opportunities were missed due to a determined Lions’ spoil. Although they affected some important turnovers of their own, the Boks will lament their inability to control possession to the point where they couldn’t build or profit from a mulit-phase attack.
The defensive synergy was sorely lacking, and time and again, the drift defence was penetrated by one of the big Lions backs. Rob Kearney had another solid day at the back for the visitors, but it was on the wings that the Lions caused all the trouble.
In the 25th minute, Lions No 8 Jamie Heaslip found space on the left wing and palmed off some shocking tackle attempts. Meanwhile, Shane Williams had timed his support run to perfection and accepted the pass before jetting in under the posts.
Another turnover sparked the Lions’ second try as Riki Flutey put in a smart chip that was collected and touched onto Williams yet again. The Wales winger didn’t have to do much but dot down under the posts, and with Jones’s conversion, the Lions had shot to a commanding 15-3 lead.
Referee Stuart Dickinson said he would punish indiscipline and nailed the Boks at scrum time. Beast Mtawarira’s contribution around the park was typically outstanding, but the Bok loosehead was penalised on numerous occasions as the Lions’ tight five applied massive pressure at the set-piece.
Dickinson also nailed the Lions for their lack of discipline in the 37th minute. Fourie du Preez went down to retrieve a rolling ball and received Simon Shaw’s knee in his back. After consulting the touch judge, Dickinson sent Shaw to the sin bin.
The Boks bumbled a try-scoring opportunity but a late shot at goal by Morne Steyn took the half-time score to 15-6. Unfortunately for the Boks, three points were all they were going to gain from their one-man advantage.
The Lions continued to pressure the Boks early in the second half and only some last-ditch tackling and important ball-stealing by Heinrich Brussow stopped them from extending their lead. Du Preez also failed to return after the break meaning Ruan Pienaar had to come off the bench and play scrumhalf.
The Boks blew a try-scoring opportunity when the otherwise impressive Zane Kirchner dropped the ball in the act of offloading in the tackle. Wynand Olivier had thrown a beautiful floating pass to free up Kirchner, and attempted to replicate this pass in a subsequent move. Unfortunately, Ugo Monye read the play beautifully, intercepted the pass, and ran 80m to score.
At 22-6 with 25 minutes to play, there was no way back for the Boks. They continued to struggle for synergy, and the error count began to escalate in accordance with their desperation. They already had the series, but it was disappointing to see them flailing in this fashion.
As the calls of ‘Lions, Lions’ and ‘Swing Low, Sweet Chariot’ grew more prominent around a buzzing Ellis Park, the touring team defied recent form by maintaining the pressure.
The hosts battled to get into try-scoring positions as the clock wound down and John Smit eventually turned to Steyn when presented with a penalty from 40m out. The Bulls’ sharpshooter kicked a difficult goal to narrow the deficit, but the 22-9 scoreline still left the Boks with too much to do in too little time to do it.
The poor discipline that has afflicted the Boks throughout the series then cost the hosts in the final minutes, as Heinrich Brussow was penalised for retaliation. Jones made no mistake in restoring the 16-point cushion, and goaled another penalty soon after when Bismarck du Plessis was penalised for hitting him late.
The Boks were also denied a consolation try at the death when the TMO ruled Odwa Ndungane stepped into touch at the moment of grounding a try.
The result takes no shine off an overall series victory for the Boks, but highlights a few problem areas ahead of the Tri-Nations. The first-choice line-up will be back for that tournament, but it must concern the Bok management to see the second string fare so badly.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Ellis Park

July 4th, 2009 at 5:56 pm
Now the Lions can go home to a hero’s welcome. The poor poms….
July 4th, 2009 at 5:57 pm
#49 CharlieBrown: They are claiming a Moral Victory?
Let them tell that to themselves. We don`t care, we will claim a series victory!
July 4th, 2009 at 5:58 pm
#34 BULLET:
If you watched the first two games you would have noticed that Spies had maybe one or two runs but zip else.
He’s big and fast – when he gets a head start – and that’s the problem. He’s too cumbersome for a #8.
As they say, it’s a matter of Physics and can’t be denied.
With the rush defense Spies was going nowhere – slowly.
Kanako didn’t go backwards once that I saw and he made multiple runs and drew in defenders to bring him down. As I mentioned Spies made 1 per game.
Kanko, more meters gained and more tackles than Spies. It’s that simple.
#48 The-Pill:
when he
brought on
spies
on the wing
with us losing
i gave up
on him
having a
functional
brain
the man is
retarted
i bet
he won’t
score 80
in an
iq test
#51 Hop Hop Spinnekop: Jeez … i was surprised they didn’t do a lap of honour after the second test, like the English did at Twickers after losing one game.
July 4th, 2009 at 5:59 pm
#47 CharlieBrown: nah, thought that belonged to the Protea cricket team… they are just as bad arent they ??/ Gibbs dropping the World cup, Allan Donald not completing a single, dropping the bat FFS…. its all relative, but I understand, you usually only have one thing to celebrate every 12 years or so (95 and 07) least thats a better record then your record against the lions, before this series, when was the last time you beat them ?? 1980 was it , oh my…
#52 The-Pill: Good point. Ok, will leave them to themselves and their morals.
#53 Osama – bin OCO: First test. Spies made a telling run that let directly to Smit`s try.
But you didn`t see that right?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:01 pm
#53 Osama – bin OCO:
bin poco
you’re
like my
brother-in-law
he only
watches
rugby
to see
how bad the
bulls
can be
he lost
all grip
on reality
so have
you
July 4th, 2009 at 6:02 pm
#56 poppa69: Yes, the Proteas chocked once … but the AB’s are bigger chockers because they have chocked repeatedly every 4 years for the last two decades. Watching them choke in that little corner of France was the epitome of THE GREAT CHOKE.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:02 pm
#54 Porra the Fat Speedster: Hey, you can`t say that. IQ tests are racist.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:04 pm
#56 poppa69: But, Poppa, i understand your sensitivity, after all, rugby is the only thing New Zealanders do well and they even have to buy half their team from the islands to accomplish this.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:05 pm
#60 CharlieBrown: really… well for them to have choked every time, means then that you believed they were the best side at every tournament… ag man, and you call yourself a Saffa… and just for yuor info, the last “choke” as you call it wasnt in France, it was Cardiff…losing credibility fast man, at least get the facts right…
sure your not from the Cape ???
July 4th, 2009 at 6:09 pm
#63 poppa69: Who said i was a Saffa? And the definition of choking is when the favorite contrives to throw victory away. Weren’t the AB’s the favorites? The best side at the tournament is the one that wins it, not necessarily the favourite, something the AB’s seem to miss over and over and over again, whether France or Cardiff – anywhere really.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:09 pm
I’ll tell you what guys. Spies is our best back up winger. Gives us a lot of options and fire power.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:10 pm
The question needs to be asked, why have we not seen any sophistication in our backline moves, and why do we kick all of our ball away?
This has been true for all three tests.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
#62 CharlieBrown: seems to me we do exceptionally well at the Olympics ??? sure we got some medals in China, did you guys ??
numerous world titles in plenty of other sports too… league for example, world champs… one of the greatest formula one teams was started by a kiwi, still carries his name… heard of McLaren ??
we have had a man win two consecutive gold medals in the 1500m (peter Snell) also, Arthur Lydiard was a kiwi… whose he you ask ?? only the man that invented base training….
but like I said earlier, it helps the Saffa psyche to call us chokers, just like all the gloating from Saffas on here when we lost to the French this year… guess, like the English, if you cant beat us, you’ll celebrate anyone else doing it…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
#62 CharlieBrown:
fact is
since 1987
kiwis
never
won
not
good enough
July 4th, 2009 at 6:13 pm
I hate saying it but well done Lions….congrats Carol….I am sure Mark and Richard have a huge smile on their faces !!!
Still no congratulations to the Boks from Mageesh…only about how his side deserved this victory…dissapointing !!!!
In reality, job done by Boks last week…series won, YIPPPEEE
July 4th, 2009 at 6:13 pm
#65 Balletjies:
blah
i mean
duh
July 4th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
#64 CharlieBrown: but the ABs havent been favourites at every world cup… so the holes in your “theory” are obvious…
91 Aust was the favourites..
03 was England…
so, keep stirring… your inane attacks carry as much weight as Big Hits…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
Its was good to see FS runing with anger 2day. It must be difficult for him. He kicks beautifull but when he runs it gives everydody in the team a appetite for running.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:15 pm
#64 CharlieBrown: so who do you support ?? and when was the last time they beat the AB’s ??
July 4th, 2009 at 6:16 pm
#58 The-Pill: #59 Porra the Fat Speedster:
Pill, that was all of what, 2 meters?
Porra, at least I can construct sentences. Assume your BIL can too.
You might notice that I was not too pleased with other players, not just Bulls.
Point is, if the ‘first choice’ team stays as is in the 3N then we can kiss the trophy goodbye. Simple as that.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:17 pm
#70 Porra the Fat Speedster:
So what other option do you have except bla dhu aa and hu
July 4th, 2009 at 6:18 pm
Guys based purely on our performances, we were very lucky to win this series. The only time we played decently was in the first 40 of the first game.
I think we played pathetic rugby overall, and we made the lions look kinda of decent. If we played to our potential we would have put 20 points on them in every game. I’m not being negative, just honest.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:19 pm
#67 poppa69: That’s it – great and well done to all the Kiwi sportsman, even if 1/3 of the names mentioned just owns a team.
I am not sure if it helps the Saffa psyche to call you chokers – you just are chokers and the more you choke the more you will choke, so good luck for your next RWC disappointment.
As for gloating and celebrating at your losses to France, I am not sure about that, it’s the choking and crying and handbagging that i find amusing.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:20 pm
#74 Osama – bin OCO: We were shown up badly today, because of the forwards.
Kanko is a lightweight. Spies is not the best in the world, but he is better than Kanko. Argue as much as you want.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:20 pm
Lots of fixing to do before the Tri-Nations.with
FDP of the boil the team went nowhere.It really concerns
me to see the reserves struggle to make their mark.
I hope FDP makes it through the Tri-Nations,with him out
the Boks chances take a nose dive.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:21 pm
Maybee we needed some wp poofters.My bull players let me down today.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:24 pm
I think the bitching and moaning will now be over.
Chilli put us under pressure in the scrums. Muller was his average self, Brussow brilliant but got very frustrated in the 2nd half. Kanko so-so.
Morne was his steady self, but perhaps not quite ready to be the No 1 10. Meisiekind played a good game, but very predictable in midfield.
11, 14 and 15 did not come off today. Nokwe prob the biggest disappointment. Zane deserves more chances and we all know Ndungane scored that try.
Bryce Lawrence and Stu Dickenson = recipe for disaster. They proved it again today. Bryce saw that 15 times but still got it wrong; not that it would have changed the result. Stu started off the game penalising Matfield for correct entry and that set the tone for the game.
I am reluctant to congratulate the Lions; 2nd choice players were just k*k; they were not that great.
#80 hakhak: Nah, that was not the problem.
Our forwards weren`t up to scratch today, too many lightweights.
For any NH team you play the biggest forwards to grind it out.
#77 CharlieBrown: still didnt tell me who you support ?? why is that ???
losing the argument big time, at least have the kahunas to tell me who you support ??
cmon, tell me who you support ???????????
gutless…at least we have the balls to stand up for ourselves, and pride in our team regardless…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:26 pm
#80 hakhak: Good call, Liebenberg and Vermuelen at the very least.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:26 pm
#73 poppa69:
Poppa, you are really getting boring..turning every thread into a dck measuring contest between NZL and the Boks…jeez man, we are playing the lions.
Congrats Lions, you were by far the better team today. Must say, overall the Lions did a lot better on tour than I expected. All the whining made it a bit sour though…
Congrats Bokke for a series win.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:27 pm
#77 CharlieBrown:
World Champs thumped in own back yard, if a make shift lions team can do it im sure a make shift all blacks team can do it
July 4th, 2009 at 6:28 pm
#83 poppa69: Scotland. And we would have beaten you last November if you didn’t cheat at scrum time….
…I’ll get my coat….
July 4th, 2009 at 6:28 pm
Mike Philips:
Has there ever been a bigger **** on a rugby field?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:30 pm
#86 Black Out Brain ****: I don`t know if you know this, but this Bok team was mostly 2nd stringers and also an almost brand new MAKESHIFT team, not?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
#77 CharlieBrown:
Just leave him, you are wasting your time arguing with him. He does this every day. Border can play EP and he will turn it into a “NZL is better than the Boks” issue.
Dont the Kiwis have their own blog?? Please Poppa or Tackler or someone – start one! I used to have a lot of resect for NZL and their supporters.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
#76 Cambridge:
Agreed, but for some dodgy reffing you would have lost the series 3 nil.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:32 pm
Look at the silverlining. If these boys didnt play 2day it would be 8 weeks since they last played if they are needed in the 3nations. Yes we dont like losing and I would not throw a game for that reason. But I realy though we can win 2day with this team. Forget about 2, 11, 14 and 15. This team could and should have won. But the were so rusty on defence and attack. So, unfortunately we lost but as they say we won this war and lost 2days battle but we are better prepared for the next war.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:33 pm
With 10 changes this was always going to be a disjointed effort….it was important for coach Pete to give the other squad members a run, it gives him huge insight as to where we are going into the 3N……for the Boks, todays game was about that and I believe we got mileage from the game…even though it is a bitter pill to swallow !!
The Lions desire for victory was greater on the day !!
Geech must be the biggest sore loser in the world.
Right or wrong, the Boks management saw it as as opportunity to do some experimenting for the 3N.
PdV said afterwards that there is more clarity now and I think he is right.
#87 JockBok:
Congrats on today.
#91 Dubliner: Ah, but if my Uncle had t!ts he’d be my Auntie…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:34 pm
#85 Supa 14 Kampioene!: ok supa… understand… when anyone says anythign about my country or team, I have to shut the fark up and take it…
but as soon as I defend my team, you all jump down my throat… whats with that ? why not afford me the same courtesy you afford peiople like CharlieBrown… ok for him to bag my team, dont see you bringing him to task for his comments…
why arent you all over him for not talking about the Lions series ??
July 4th, 2009 at 6:35 pm
#95 Supa 14 Kampioene!: Cheers. But I’m just chuffed we had a Jock on for more than 40 minutes
July 4th, 2009 at 6:35 pm
#91 Dubliner:
We won. Accept it and stop moaning about the ref. The refs made silly decisions both ways. Congrats on today, you guys were far better. Kearney is great.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
#94 Sheriff: Yep. This is no disaster.
I am actually glad on some level that we lost. Not really, but there will be less whining on this site from British supporters.
At this stage it`s better to have lost this test than to continue hearing all the bitching and moaning.