Lions blast Bumble-Boks
The British & Irish Lions earned a deserved consolation when they thumped the Springboks 28-9 on Saturday.
The Boks went into this game having already secured the series, but the opportunity was there to affect a whitewash. The new-look side failed to gel and you have to wonder how much the Bok management considered this an opportunity to experiment rather than an opportunity to go 3-0 up. It was a disappointment on all counts.
The way both teams went at it in the first 10 minutes, you wouldn’t think there were any concerns over the perceived niggle and bad blood. Wearing white armbands to express their disappointment for Bakkies Botha’s suspension, the Boks flew into tackles as if there was still a series at stake, while the visitors responded in kind.
One-on-one tackling was never a problem. The Boks’ synergy let them down on attack and defence, and although this was to be expected considering the majority of the combinations hadn’t spent much time together, it was hardly excusable.
The hosts seemed to be lacking patience as well as precision as a number of early opportunities were missed due to a determined Lions’ spoil. Although they affected some important turnovers of their own, the Boks will lament their inability to control possession to the point where they couldn’t build or profit from a mulit-phase attack.
The defensive synergy was sorely lacking, and time and again, the drift defence was penetrated by one of the big Lions backs. Rob Kearney had another solid day at the back for the visitors, but it was on the wings that the Lions caused all the trouble.
In the 25th minute, Lions No 8 Jamie Heaslip found space on the left wing and palmed off some shocking tackle attempts. Meanwhile, Shane Williams had timed his support run to perfection and accepted the pass before jetting in under the posts.
Another turnover sparked the Lions’ second try as Riki Flutey put in a smart chip that was collected and touched onto Williams yet again. The Wales winger didn’t have to do much but dot down under the posts, and with Jones’s conversion, the Lions had shot to a commanding 15-3 lead.
Referee Stuart Dickinson said he would punish indiscipline and nailed the Boks at scrum time. Beast Mtawarira’s contribution around the park was typically outstanding, but the Bok loosehead was penalised on numerous occasions as the Lions’ tight five applied massive pressure at the set-piece.
Dickinson also nailed the Lions for their lack of discipline in the 37th minute. Fourie du Preez went down to retrieve a rolling ball and received Simon Shaw’s knee in his back. After consulting the touch judge, Dickinson sent Shaw to the sin bin.
The Boks bumbled a try-scoring opportunity but a late shot at goal by Morne Steyn took the half-time score to 15-6. Unfortunately for the Boks, three points were all they were going to gain from their one-man advantage.
The Lions continued to pressure the Boks early in the second half and only some last-ditch tackling and important ball-stealing by Heinrich Brussow stopped them from extending their lead. Du Preez also failed to return after the break meaning Ruan Pienaar had to come off the bench and play scrumhalf.
The Boks blew a try-scoring opportunity when the otherwise impressive Zane Kirchner dropped the ball in the act of offloading in the tackle. Wynand Olivier had thrown a beautiful floating pass to free up Kirchner, and attempted to replicate this pass in a subsequent move. Unfortunately, Ugo Monye read the play beautifully, intercepted the pass, and ran 80m to score.
At 22-6 with 25 minutes to play, there was no way back for the Boks. They continued to struggle for synergy, and the error count began to escalate in accordance with their desperation. They already had the series, but it was disappointing to see them flailing in this fashion.
As the calls of ‘Lions, Lions’ and ‘Swing Low, Sweet Chariot’ grew more prominent around a buzzing Ellis Park, the touring team defied recent form by maintaining the pressure.
The hosts battled to get into try-scoring positions as the clock wound down and John Smit eventually turned to Steyn when presented with a penalty from 40m out. The Bulls’ sharpshooter kicked a difficult goal to narrow the deficit, but the 22-9 scoreline still left the Boks with too much to do in too little time to do it.
The poor discipline that has afflicted the Boks throughout the series then cost the hosts in the final minutes, as Heinrich Brussow was penalised for retaliation. Jones made no mistake in restoring the 16-point cushion, and goaled another penalty soon after when Bismarck du Plessis was penalised for hitting him late.
The Boks were also denied a consolation try at the death when the TMO ruled Odwa Ndungane stepped into touch at the moment of grounding a try.
The result takes no shine off an overall series victory for the Boks, but highlights a few problem areas ahead of the Tri-Nations. The first-choice line-up will be back for that tournament, but it must concern the Bok management to see the second string fare so badly.
By Jon Cardinelli, at Ellis Park

July 4th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
#94 Sheriff: Agree Sheriff !
July 4th, 2009 at 6:38 pm
My team (like it or lump it)
Beast
Bissy
Smit
Matfield
Brussow
Spies
Kanko
FdP
Pienaar
Habs
JF
Adi
JPP
FS
Bench
Well if this lot can’t win it in 60 minutes the becnh isn’t going to be much help. I’d have MS for sure in case it comes down to a kicking ’shoot-out’.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:38 pm
Lets vote on the man of the series. Heaslip must come to mind. (unfortunately! including the late dive on Habana when he score the try last week)
July 4th, 2009 at 6:39 pm
To all the bitching British,
Just remember old chaps, you lost the series to a 3rd world country.
How does that feel?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:39 pm
#99 Supa 14 Kampioene!:
Fair enough. Gloatings not much fun in any event. It is not in the Irish blood, and in my experience in the English, Scottish or Welch blood.
Which begs the question why do Saffas love to gloat so much?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:42 pm
poppa 69 i hear that the aussies love their sheep but the kiwis are in love with their,s is that the truth?
#100 The-Pill:
I guess it’s in order then not to congratulate the Lions for today’s game.
They did LOSE the series after all, last week already.
Supersprt guys tried hard to talk up the series and traditions but the bitching and moaning and arrogance actually a bit much.
Saffas will be disappointed with the lost – we hate losing – but let’s see if they can talk up their defeat in the UK. They have started already!
Glad to see these losers go now …
#97 poppa69:
Poppa, if this was the first or second time I saw you arguing than NZL are better than some country, it wouldve been fine. But everyday mate?? Really, do you think for one second you are gonna change anyone’s opinion about NZL if you attack them daily? You are LOSING respect for NZL that way, not gaining.
I understand you are proud, and NZL are the best rugbynation if you take all the tests in account over the years. But some other teams have also won Wcups etc which they are proud of.
The point Im trying to make is its a bit tiring if you come here everyday trying to talk up NZL, but its seems Im wasting my time.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:43 pm
#102 Osama – bin OCO: Looking good, but…
7. Vermuelen
8. Spies
12. JdV
13. Fourie/Adi
Okay, okay, I’m a Province man but Brussow, Vermuelen, Spies has a great dynamic about it.
#98 JockBok:
I believe the Jock was the difference today!
#67 poppa69: Guess who designed Mclaren cars?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:44 pm
#104 The-Pill:
It feels to this Irishman like charity – which (from the first 2 test refs) it was.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:45 pm
Ellis park = Coca Cola park
July 4th, 2009 at 6:45 pm
#107 Sheriff: Ja good riddance! Let the 3N roll on!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:46 pm
#107 Sheriff: Harsh. If you cut through the bullsh!t and watch the rugby, it’s been a fantastic contest and one worthy of the World Champions. Do you really want to see the back of that?
ellis park, as bok stronghold, died today.
close up shop and move it to midrand
1. beast – nowhere in open play and battled without bismark
2. chilliboy – tackled like a machine. **** scrums. **** lineouts. wtf can’t smit through?
3. smit – did have a grip on things. scrummed ok
4. muller – who? did he even play?
5. victor – lineouts were scrappy. missed fourie. knocked on. didn’t really pitch up.
6. brussouw – tackled well and was the pick of the forwards
7. juan – hmmmm. tackled well and carried a few balls. not really earning his place at the moment.
8. kanko – forwards didn’t do a good enough job in the tight to create the space needed for kanko – he tried, but in vain. average.
9. fourie – kicking was off today. hope that shmuck gets cited for that knee.
10. morne – yawn. offered nothing to the backline.
11. nokwe – shocker. mare. not bok material. couldn’t catch a cold and didn’t have the confidence to run from the back – kept passing the buck
12. wynand – wish i could say he was the worst. he did try, but it didn’t come together
13. fourie – the cheast didn’t get going today. he and wynand did not gel at all. defense sucked between the two
14. akona – good game. always trying hard, making tackles and fielding kicks.
15. kirchner – bit of a nightmare. lacked the frans steyn factor that i’m starting to enjoy.
#108 Supa 14 Kampioene!: understand your point, and if you have a look at the match day thread you will see I was talking about the game and the series… not about NZ and SA…
so what am I supposed to do when I see posts like number 106 ??
July 4th, 2009 at 6:47 pm
#105 Dubliner:
Its not Saffas, or Irish or Welsh that gloats…its certain supporters of those teams.
Maybe, the English have just more than them…:lol:
Seriously, well done. The BIL outplayed us by far today. Your defence was awesome.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:47 pm
I knew Bryce Lawrence would get it wrong!
That was try, no doubt!
I sincerely hope this is not a taste of what we can expect in the 3N.
Dickenson again successful in being the 16th opponent. The problem he is among if not the best Aus has to offer.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:48 pm
Aah we got our fat f’ng portogoose prick spewing his racist ****** **** all over the place again, and he uses half the f’ng page to spew his garbage too,
was the useless Bulls that f’d up todays game, Matfield, Chili, FdP, WO, M.Steyn
Between the overrated Bulls and the overrated Sharks thats about what you get, overrated mediocrity at the end of it all.
Time to get some proper players in the team
Matfield and Smit can go home and rest up, times up, move along now, you had your time in the sun now off to pasture.
Muller and Kanko, never even arrived yet so just pack up and piss off the both of you, waste of f’ng space overrated sharkie poeftas
Only players did any playing today were Juan Smith, Heinrich Brussow, Ruan Pienaar, Beast on one or two occasions though he was mauled in the tight, and F.Steyn
The rest didn’t pitch.
Time to read the writing on the wall, get rid of the has beens and start again, NOW, before it gets any later.
Clean sweep start again right NOW, even if you lose a few, get rid of the dead wood.
Matfield, Smit, cheers, congrats, you got your WC medals, and some other trinkets, now move along, let the real deal new kids come shining through. Muller and Kanko totsiens back to Currie cup rugby.
Bring in Potgieter, Vermeulen, Kuun, W. Kruger, H.Adams, Kirchner can hang around,
Pienaar back to 10 where he belongs, and F.Steyn at 15.
Better find some new locks and props fast or else its history right around the corner, no where up from here with this lot, its fresh talent or down, thats about the full catastrophe sum of the situation, better read it loud and clear or get ready for many more disappointments around the corner.
#111 The-Pill: who?
#112 Dubliner: Ah, thats why you`ve been bitching so much?
Guess the 2 WC was also charity?
Get a grip man. I like the Irish, i am half , but some of you are worse than the English.
Sies Man!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:49 pm
#110 Supa 14 Kampioene!: Haha, me too. 100% record for test sides with Scots in them
But in all honesty, it was a real shame to see Euan Murray go home early. I think he’d have given Beast a hard day at the office.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:50 pm
Mike Philips:
Has there ever been a bigger **** on a rugby field?
Probably not. But he’s our ‘****’ and you guys are just so easy to wind up. When you guys learn not to rise to the bait quite so easily, and be a little more intelligent, you’ll nullify the effect of players like him.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:51 pm
could EVERYONE who is bitching at each other like cowards behind their keyboards about being south african, welsh, irish, scottish or english… f@ck off. seriously.
talk rugby chaps. it’s only a game.
lions won game fair and square and bokke won series fair and square.
well-done to both.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:52 pm
The Brits will turn this into s series victory in their minds. However they played well and did so in all the tests. It was a superb series and the Lions are not as bad as some of us are calling them. The Boks however played better by taking their chances in the first two tests………..
#118 Supa 14 Kampioene!:
Have to agree. We scored no tries and it was part our own fault and part the fantastic defence of the lions.
well done Lions.
After this series. I already got my tickets for ‘Crock Park’ Bring it on Paddies. Be there or be square. The last game there then it moves back to Landsdown.
#117 poppa69:
Try and ignore it. Remember you are probably outnumbered 10 – 1. The more you respond the more will respond to you! I ignore the posts of half the people here!
But if you choose to respond, then do it. Im just saying, arguing everyday over this are not gaining you or NZL respect.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:53 pm
#115 JockBok:
I am in favour of the Lions tour in principle, but they have given the term “sore loser” a whole new meaning and dimension.
Geech is self-absorbed and must have thought he will repeat 1997.
Gatland, Rowntree and all those blokes can talk all they want!
But PdV whipped their ar$es once again.
And still they think they’re better!
They’re behaviour so unlike Henry and Deans. Those guys hate losing too, but are always quick to congratulate the opponent!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:53 pm
#121 poppa69: Gordon Murray. A Saffa.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:54 pm
#123 JockBok:
haha… so the Scots are the real winners!
Yeah, Murray is good. Vickery got some respect back today.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:55 pm
#128 Supa 14 Kampioene!: alright mate, point noted… will take it on board…
#130 The-Pill: cool, learn something new everyday, didnt know that…
July 4th, 2009 at 6:56 pm
#125 bobbyboyshey:
Ive been trying to get that point accross the past half an hour…agree.
July 4th, 2009 at 6:57 pm
#132 poppa69:
Thanx – I just saw a post above about the cr@p Bulls and Sharks players which I also gonna ignore!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:59 pm
#134 Supa 14 Kampioene!: well if you see me do it again, just whack me over the head and remind me not to, ok ?
July 4th, 2009 at 6:59 pm
#119 Sheriff: You can’t be serious? Are you blaming the ref for defeat today? I actually thought he did well, he binned Shaw deservedly for his knee in the back on FdP and could’ve sent Brussouw off also but decided not to. I thought he was Saffa-friendly today.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
SA missed the impetus bakkies gives them, and I think Bowe had a really good game for the Lions today, one of their best IMO…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
#129 Sheriff: It’s dissapointing for me too. I’m a sore loser but like to think I can rise above it when 80 minutes is over. But I’m surprised at a few of the comments and attitudes on here. Are you guys really expecting the BIL to roll into town and play it all your way?
This goes back to before 1974 when the Lions would come and play rugby, only to be slapped about and lose gracefully. You thin you see dodgy refereeing now??? Then in 1974 it was no more. The Lions come here to win and that means a siege mentality, whatever it takes. It makes for a fantastic contest guys and the attitudes are necessary. It’s all part of the game. But post match bitching is another thing though. It just makes us look like bad losers, which I know we are not.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:02 pm
#126 peterg123: No we won’t! The series was won last weekend by the better team, but the Lions aren’t half as bad as some of you think they are. I like to think they won some respect today, although the Boks made 10 changes to their lineup today you must also remember the Lions made 7.
#135 poppa69:
With pleasure! Hope you are not a big oke that likes to retaliate!?
Anyway, Im out.
Congrats BIL on today. Congrats Boks on the series.
Go Federer.
#132 poppa69: We can also boast about our Championship Ferrari winning designer Rory Byrne.
Pity South Africa loses its best talent to other countries.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:03 pm
#137 poppa69:
Agree. I said it during the game. We missed the hard men like Bakkies, Bismarck and to and extent Schalk in the first half.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:05 pm
#140 Supa 14 Kampioene!: You’re lucky Murray the Jock is out too
July 4th, 2009 at 7:06 pm
#141 The-Pill:
And if we push it real far we can claim that Federer’s mom is South African! hehe
But…Boks lost today, looking forward to a great Tri-nations.
July 4th, 2009 at 7:07 pm
boks 2011.1coenie oosthuisen 2 bismark 3 kruger 4 w steenkamp 5 d de villiers 6brussow,stegman 7potgieter 8 vermeulen,spies 9 vermaak 10 s eberson 11 habs 12 r eberson 13 m neewman 14 jp 15 pienaar
July 4th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
#143 JockBok:
Sorry mate, but thats one oke that I cant stand. He acts like a real spoiled brat…but he is big in Britian. Dont understand why the english support him though. He said last year that he supports any team that plays England!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:09 pm
Some great people born and bred in good old SA.
Yes bring on the 3N!
July 4th, 2009 at 7:09 pm
Really gotto go now…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
#140 Supa 14 Kampioene!: cheers Supa… Im a big oke, but not a malicious bone in my body… thanx
#141 The-Pill: was a case of them having too for a while…was the only way they would see international competition… one only has to look at people like Zola Bud (hope thats correct), the cricketer who played with Hadlee in the english championship (name escapes me, and he never got the opportunity to play test match cricket), and even Pietersen to an extent (though think his was more not being able to make the national squad)…
July 4th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
#146 Supa 14 Kampioene!: Ag, he’s alright, just a typical Jock. As dry as a Nun’s chuff.
But it’s typical English. If he wins he’s British, if he loses he’s Scottish