Shaw cited

British & Irish Lions lock Simon Shaw was cited for dangerous play after he kneed Springbok scrumhalf Fourie du Preez in the back.

The offence earned the England second rower a yellow card during the game, but in the aftermath citing officer Steve Hinds has confirmed Shaw will appear before a judiciary on Sunday.

Du Preez did not return after the first half and it was confirmed he had sustained an injury to his back and quad. The extent of these injuries will be confirmed in the next 48 hours.

70 Comments

• 1.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Two week ban? He can spend it soaking up some sun in Spain.

• 2.kevhar: Reply to this comment

if you look at the intent to do harm, Shaws kneeing incident was far more cynical than Burgers eye gouging charge. I hope Shaw gets a proper ban for it.

• 3.smallies72: Reply to this comment

Justice!!! ban him for life the thug!

• 4.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

What about heaslips shoulder charge in from the side???

Much worse than Bakkies!

If Heaslip is not cited then we know that the IRB has unfairly targeted the SA team and if I were Bakkies I would take civil action against the IRB for loss of income and defamation.

• 5.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Boo hoo… did Snor or the Boks latest managerial bozo actually lodge a citing against Heaslip or will the citing period lapse again?

And EVERYBODY is like so totally biased against the South Africans, dude! It’s like totally unfair, hey?

• 6.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#4 mellowyellow: Here you go again displaying a total lack of rugby knowledge!#2 kevhar: And you’re another one! Shaw will cop 2 weeks for dangerous play just like Bakkies did. To compare that with eye gouging is just plain stupid.

• 7.smallies72: Reply to this comment

Tackler what nation do you reprisent?

• 8.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

What’s “reprisent”?

• 9.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

Been saying it for a long time now. If you are a South African you cop it constantly. It’s not just at rugby it’s quite indiscriminate (sic). …….Did offer THETACKLER (Boo Hoo) a snot rag but probably uses his sleeve or arm.

• 10.smallies72: Reply to this comment

represent or is it to hard to make the connection because of a tipo

• 11.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Fiat Tipo?

What nation do YOU represent? Who elected you to represent them?

• 12.smallies72: Reply to this comment

ou boet ek is 100 persent boer en f@kken trots op dit

• 13.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

So, were you elected as their inarticulate representative and spokesperson or did you just elect yourself?

(BTW, it’s “trots daarop”, not “trots op dit”…)

• 14.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#12 smallies72:

Ek hoop jy besef met watter belangrike man jy nou gesels?

Tackler = voorsitter van die Nasionale Draadtrek Forum in NZ

Nou al vir jare…

• 15.smallies72: Reply to this comment

nou ja dan het ek my antwoord iemand wat afr verstaan en die bokke so kan afkraak is n wannabee. i do not wannabee deur die k@k maar ek is.

• 16.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

It’s a nation of farmers and everyone has to know how to fence a paddock. Good, hard, honest physical work getting those wires just right.

• 17.smallies72: Reply to this comment

ek reken hy is ok verlief op sy skape

• 18.smallies72: Reply to this comment

sherrif hy klink vir my nogal baie soos n hanskakie

• 19.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

#17 smallies72:

Eina!

Ek dink daar het jy nou die uitklophou geplant.

Ek moet nou gaan, maar sal met belangstelling more hier kyk of hy daai een kon oorkom

“Hello my skapie” neem dus ‘n hele nuwe dimensie aan,hhahahahahaha

• 20.smallies72: Reply to this comment

cheers sherrif ek waai ok nou

• 21.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The “hanskakies” backed the winners in that war, remember? The bittereinders lost.

• 22.smallies72: Reply to this comment

Ja my ou ma die hanskakies van vandag is die pissies wat landuit vlug because of the crime.jy moet b@llas he on hier te bly.dit lyk my jy short dit

• 23.sideline: Reply to this comment

takler who won the last rwc despiste you saying they wouldn’t? let me remind you – die BOKKE

sorry you chose to transfer your loyalty to another team but now you’ve gone we don’t want you back!

• 24.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#22 smallies72: You’ll get much further with brains. #23 sideline: Who won the last 4 Tri-Nations titles?

• 25.sideline: Reply to this comment

tackler – lol, let me remind you of something, who won the last rwc despiste YOU saying they wouldn’t? let me remind you – die BOKKE

ha ha ha – hier kom die bokKE !

• 26.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#25 sideline:
    Who said 2008 tri nations would go to the Boks,you all did.
    Some things just dont work out the way you would like,no need to point out individuals

• 27.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The ABs won the last FOUR Tri-Nations and who must you beat to win the 3N? The other two members of the top three ranked sides in the world. Not a mere lucky-dip selection of lucky one-off minnows.

Rom, rom, rom… die All Blacks kom! Be afraid. Be VERY afraid! Another 19-0 win on SA soil looms — just like last time.

Nine out of thirteen 3N titles versus two.

Tilt. Game over.

• 28.The Bill: Reply to this comment

#24 TheTackler: and yet people only talk about the world cup.

• 29.The Bill: Reply to this comment

#27 TheTackler: Blacks look lost at the moment. It will be staying at 9 this year. The wheels have turned, AB’s join the rest of the world in producing average rugby players.

The golden black age has passed – or moved up North…

• 30.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#28 The Bill:
    no only South Africans do.
    #29 The Bill:
    Will good luck to SA in the TRi nations.
    As long as the Refs,travel and sunspots are all in your favour this should be a walk in the park for SA right?

• 31.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Hey guys
    Just wondering is this the same Shaw that got red carded against NZ when he put a knee into an AB player in a ruck?
    And Tana laughed at him when the card came out?

• 32.Dubliner: Reply to this comment

#2 kevhar:

Objectivity is not the name of typical in bred Dutchm@n village. It is a word. I suggest you look it up in a dictionary.

• 33.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

#6 jonnymain:

Ek sal vir jou moer jou engelse bliksem. Jy weet niks van rugby af nie en jy is n regte slegte soutie. As nakkies gecite was moes heaslip definitief gecite gewees het. klaar.

• 34.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#29 The Bill: Blacks “look lost”? Well, with 4 titles in a row, they’re soon to be found again. And they haven’t lost a test by a 19 point margin to SA — not ever.

• 35.JB_BOK: Reply to this comment

#4 mellowyellow: I agree 100%

heaslip from the side with no arms, leading with the shoulder and he gets nothing…..its ****

the lions have played the game in a dirty fashion the whole tour, and also in unsportsman like fashion, constantly complaining about the teams they played the schedule, the ref… and not being gracious in defeat……

• 36.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Big Hit i know you are trolling around the posts.Can you answer my post # 31 please.I think you would know

• 37.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

#36 Hurricane:
    Hmmm BH is answering all my other posts on other threads but this one.
    So going on that and why Big Hit is keeping out of this thread is that this is the same Shaw that kneed someone a few years ago.Thanks for your input BH

• 38.rex: Reply to this comment

I’m curious about this fellow who calls himself “Tackler”.

So the ABs have wone the most 3N titles and are probably a more consistent team than the Boks. How does this enhance the “Tackler” anyway?

It should be said that the Boks do quite well considering all the political issues surrounding the selections of players and coaches. If they had a coach of the calbre of Mitchell, Henry or Deans, they would probably be better and more consistent. So?

The debate here seems to get very personal and has little to do with the tactics and strategies of the great game of rugby itself.

• 39.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

The Tackler
    was molested as a child and requires insults to make him feel better thats why he comes here and insults everybody.
    You must be an expat like the Bryce Courtenay who also whinges.
    It is not the Tackles fault he got touched up and apparently he got moered once but a Yaapie as well.
    Ag Shame man get some help some where else.

Great series, great rugby.
    The Lions deserved the victory though that cheating c@nt of Dicko could have stopped a lot of niggle and bad sportmanship. **** jou ma se…
    11-3 to Dicko…not a co-incidence anymore you cheating racist idiot…

• 40.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#38 rex: I don’t get personal.I play the ball, not the man and I stick to the issues and the facts. Some yarpies have big problems coping with these awkward truths. That’s their worry, not mine. I’ll not do any comically-amateur psychology about them or invent any imaginary tall tales about these unworthies. Why should I? Water off a duck’s back, really.

• 41.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#38 rex: And they hate it when I correct their grammar and spelling — especially when it’s an error in their usage of Afrikaans! Heh, heh!

• 42.money_man: Reply to this comment

#38 rex: #39 KevinRack:

You guys sound obsessed?

• 43.cambok: Reply to this comment

#31 Hurricane: I think you’re right and seem to remember he was playing for England. Wasn’t it when England toured NZ in their preparations for the 2003 World Cup? With regard to a penalty for Shaw, Tackler makes a good point that a ban won’t do much good. Indeed, Shaw is close to retirement age and could well be poised to announce that he’s quitting rugby. Why not hit him with a 5,000 pounds fine then?

• 44.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#33 mellowyellow: Nope, you’re still a doos. You can’t insult me in Afr and hope I can’t read it because I can, and I’m not English either so get it right. If Heaslip is cited then Vic should also be cited for his dangerous charge into the very first ruck of the game. Go watch it again with both eyes open you dooooooooooooooos!

• 45.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#44 jonnymain: I said insult, I should’ve said threaten. Another cyber-hardman LOL!

• 46.husky: Reply to this comment

tickles,

a correction as I understand it. Teams don’t cite; there is an “independent” citing officer. Inverted comma’s are for if he’s from NZ.

• 47.superBul: Reply to this comment

#38 rex: rex i wish we can return to that, the time when we could discuss the GAME the TACTICS and weigh our players up with stats and not personal vendettas and political issues/correctness. Discuss a game , and do not blame this or that coach.

Yesterdays game was lost the moment the team was picked. No ways can you start with so many players that are not match hardened. I was like a teams first match of a season. When last did Nokwe, Odwa, Wynand, Chillie, Kanko… play a full game of rugby?

The motivational factor was heavily loaded in the Lions favor, they had all the reasons to play for and they did just that. The white armbands in support of Bakkies did 2 things , it took our eyes of the goal and motivated and reminded the Lions what we are trying to do. Things like that sometimes take the focus of the game, i feel it did for the Boks.

The 2nd try by the Lions was brilliant, WO was the guy that was fast asleep, he thought that the wing will catch the ball and will be tackled, he never thought that the ball will be taped back to another player, that was brilliant and if one of our players did something like that he would be a national hero today.

The intercept try , well that happens. If Habana was there we might have scored 2 of them the way the Lions flung the ball around. That intercept try swung the game with 14 points. That would have made it a more exciting finish.

Then again the discipline of the Boks , Bismark must be fined by the team he WILL get involved in stupid of the ball stuff in every game , why i dont know because he does not look like a player who can fight his own battle.

• 48.cambok: Reply to this comment

#31 Hurricane: I’ve just checked the web and the incident you referred to occurred in NZ in 2004. But there’s an interesting twist, as this extract from The Independent (UK newspaper) shows:

“The lock forward’s dismissal for dropping a knee on an opponent at a ruck in the 11th minute was ironic in the extreme, for his victim was the ultra-aggressive Keith Robinson. Needless to say, nobody in the tourists’ camp saw the funny side.

“Quite the opposite, in fact. Both Clive Woodward, the England coach, and Lawrence Dallaglio, the captain, made their feelings known – Woodward was particularly critical of the decision, made by the Welsh referee, Nigel Williams, on a recommendation from Stuart Dickinson.”

So Dickinson recommended a red card against Shaw in 2004 but gave a yellow yesterday. Maybe he realised that he had ruined a Test match in 2004 with such an over-the-top call, though some of his decisons yesterday were just as abysmal. But that’s another matter.

• 49.rich1: Reply to this comment

It was a cynical challenge designed to injure a player, so deserves a long ban. Hope du Preez is okay, we need him for 3N. I think the whole of South Africa will be watching this one closely to see if there is any attempt at consistency from the IRB.

• 50.rich1: Reply to this comment

#47 superBul:
    Agree with Bok discipline, all the good work Jake did to improve the Boks discipline has been lost. I don’t care about their image abroad, but if we keep on giving away stupid penalties and getting involved in off the ball stuff it’s going to cost the Boks games

• 51.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#49 rich1: So what length should the ban be to satisfy you?

I’m betting on 2 weeks myself.

• 52.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

I”m surprised half the Bok team weren’t cited for clearing a ruck, and the other half for hand-ball…

• 53.cambok: Reply to this comment

Earlier today I suggested that because Shaw is getting close to retirement age, he should be finsed 5,000 pounds rather than suspended. I still stand by that but as it’s since emerged that he received a red card for dropping a knee onto a NZ forward in 2004, Shaw clearly has “form” in terms of this offence. I’d therefore give him a fine of 10,000 pounds

• 54.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

They’ll all be cited for “bringing the game into disrepute” for wearing those dumb armbands and cop a 4 week ban. That should put an even bigger self-inflicted hole in the leaky SA 3N canoe…

• 55.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#54 TheTackler: More Tackler
    Wat is jou g@t weer so suur vanoggend? Verlang jy weer vandag teveel terug na jou moederland? Moenie worrie nie, ons weet dis k@k in “sk@pst3kerl@nd” en dat jy eitlik nie kan wag om terug te wees tussen jou eie mense nie!

• 56.Puma: Reply to this comment

Hope he gets a 6 week ban. He went straight in to the back of Fourie in the Kidney area.

• 57.grant10: Reply to this comment

Havent read no posts but heres my bit for what its worth

1…The refusal of boks to put arm over protea when singing anthem……

2….The armband yesterday

3 ….the schalk and many other incidents of foul play

4…the poor public relations enjoyed with the overseas and local press….

4 …the absolute stupidity in trying to convert J Smit into a test 3 …..

5….the refusal to entertain the credentials of boks playing overseas….

All of above leaves me to belieeve that the B Lions series has been rather unsuccessful ,except for the 2 to 1 victory.

I said before that the discipline remains the PDV accountability. The team is just doing its own thing….PDV has to come down hard on these transgressors, including H Brussow who unneccessarily got involved with off the ball scuffles.

Certainly some players reputations took a major knock yesterday. PDV will now know that J Smit must revert to hooker. The stupid experiment must stop now.

CJ or BJ must be brought into the set up.

A real heart to heart with Matfield, J Smit nad a few others needs to be done. Are they totally committed to 2011 ? If so then retain them….if not….start the search for able replacements today….give us a couple of years to blood them prior to 2011.

The overall series was a regression….we were fortunate to win….no doubts about that ….the 7 to 5 test count a clear indicator.

A lot of hard work awaits PDV,MUIR AND GOLD…..

The Aussies and All Blacks loom large…..forward planning from today very nb……those talks to old hands like juan,matfield,j smit need to be done…..

Congrats Lions, a superb display and a reality check for all saffas.

• 58.carol: Reply to this comment

#57 grant10: Hi Grant, a huge thank you for your texts during the match…..There we were in a tiny little Cotswold Church waiting for the bride with blokes whispering “wass the score now”….thanks for keeping us in the loop!! Heheheh

THEN WE WON……YEE HAAAA…

• 59.grant10: Reply to this comment

#58 carol: and deservedly so….had a cool day with tassies and the Durban folk….went for fish n chips at meariner wharf after game…really stunning….next time you down i will take you there….hope wedding was great….and tell mark and richard congrats….an immense performannce by Lions …

• 60.carol: Reply to this comment

#59 grant10: Sounds fun, great wedding too, but highlight of today will be going to Carl and Gillies to watch our boys actually WIN!!!

Despite the ups and downs I have really enjoyed the whole Lions experience..

• 61.grant10: Reply to this comment

#60 carol: yes….sad that a lot of foul play and controversy surrounded the tour really…at least the fans had a great time and hopefully enjoyed the saffas….at least off the field!

• 62.carol: Reply to this comment

#61 grant10: Yip, the fans have had a GREAT time, and I have not heard of anyone who did not have a wonderful tour and of course ours was made extra special by meeting you Cape Town Saffas and the Pretoria Saffas…

Missing you all by the way….

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

#62 carol: ditto…..till later

• 64.boktoinfinityandbeyond: Reply to this comment

#57 grant10:
    Jannie du Plessis

• 65.carol: Reply to this comment

#63 grant10: I’m out now too…cheers have a great day down in Clifton, love to the blonde!!

• 66.kevhar: Reply to this comment

#32 Dubliner: Next time wait till you’re sober before you post, you chop. Too many firken Guinnesses I assume. What the hell do inbred dutchment have to do with anything anyway. You’re a loser….

• 67.smallies72: Reply to this comment

wonder waars my chomma tackletjies vandag sit seker sy woordeboek en deurlees.al wat ek vir hom wil se is ek het vandag gebraai met k@k hout wat uit k@k sa kom en het k@k vleis van k@k sa geeet met k@k wors en k@k aartappels met k@k mielies
    en dit was k@k lekker want ek is ‘n boerseun en ek kan.want die son skyn hier.en dis 20 gr celcius in die winter.

• 68.norman: Reply to this comment

the tackler;i agree with you on the arm bands but critisising
    the boere is not on and telling people how to spel is also not on.
    you are a laugh a minute and for that i thank you

• 69.BlackPanther: Reply to this comment

#57 grant10:

Can you hear me clapping ?

sorry, I’ll do it louder.

Must say, the JUSTICE armbands were appallingly inappropriate at the end of a week accusing the Lions of whinging and the Burger eye-gouging. Really poor. And any neutral here who has made this same point has been ritually abused. WTF ?!

So once more I applaud you.

• 70.Bul-a-Bhloo: Reply to this comment

#69 BlackPanther: Everything G10 says has one common thread….Coaching.

The players only take over when a coach can run the show.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.