Shaw cited
British & Irish Lions lock Simon Shaw was cited for dangerous play after he kneed Springbok scrumhalf Fourie du Preez in the back.
The offence earned the England second rower a yellow card during the game, but in the aftermath citing officer Steve Hinds has confirmed Shaw will appear before a judiciary on Sunday.
Du Preez did not return after the first half and it was confirmed he had sustained an injury to his back and quad. The extent of these injuries will be confirmed in the next 48 hours.

July 4th, 2009 at 9:28 pm
Two week ban? He can spend it soaking up some sun in Spain.
July 4th, 2009 at 9:34 pm
if you look at the intent to do harm, Shaws kneeing incident was far more cynical than Burgers eye gouging charge. I hope Shaw gets a proper ban for it.
July 4th, 2009 at 9:34 pm
Justice!!! ban him for life the thug!
July 4th, 2009 at 9:39 pm
What about heaslips shoulder charge in from the side???
Much worse than Bakkies!
If Heaslip is not cited then we know that the IRB has unfairly targeted the SA team and if I were Bakkies I would take civil action against the IRB for loss of income and defamation.
July 4th, 2009 at 9:48 pm
Boo hoo… did Snor or the Boks latest managerial bozo actually lodge a citing against Heaslip or will the citing period lapse again?
And EVERYBODY is like so totally biased against the South Africans, dude! It’s like totally unfair, hey?
July 4th, 2009 at 10:00 pm
#4 mellowyellow: Here you go again displaying a total lack of rugby knowledge!#2 kevhar: And you’re another one! Shaw will cop 2 weeks for dangerous play just like Bakkies did. To compare that with eye gouging is just plain stupid.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:00 pm
Tackler what nation do you reprisent?
July 4th, 2009 at 10:02 pm
What’s “reprisent”?
July 4th, 2009 at 10:03 pm
Been saying it for a long time now. If you are a South African you cop it constantly. It’s not just at rugby it’s quite indiscriminate (sic). …….Did offer THETACKLER (Boo Hoo) a snot rag but probably uses his sleeve or arm.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:06 pm
represent or is it to hard to make the connection because of a tipo
July 4th, 2009 at 10:12 pm
Fiat Tipo?
What nation do YOU represent? Who elected you to represent them?
July 4th, 2009 at 10:19 pm
ou boet ek is 100 persent boer en f@kken trots op dit
July 4th, 2009 at 10:24 pm
So, were you elected as their inarticulate representative and spokesperson or did you just elect yourself?
(BTW, it’s “trots daarop”, not “trots op dit”…)
July 4th, 2009 at 10:28 pm
#12 smallies72:
Ek hoop jy besef met watter belangrike man jy nou gesels?
Tackler = voorsitter van die Nasionale Draadtrek Forum in NZ
Nou al vir jare…
July 4th, 2009 at 10:32 pm
nou ja dan het ek my antwoord iemand wat afr verstaan en die bokke so kan afkraak is n wannabee. i do not wannabee deur die k@k maar ek is.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:34 pm
It’s a nation of farmers and everyone has to know how to fence a paddock. Good, hard, honest physical work getting those wires just right.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:35 pm
ek reken hy is ok verlief op sy skape
July 4th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
sherrif hy klink vir my nogal baie soos n hanskakie
July 4th, 2009 at 10:39 pm
#17 smallies72:
Eina!
Ek dink daar het jy nou die uitklophou geplant.
Ek moet nou gaan, maar sal met belangstelling more hier kyk of hy daai een kon oorkom
“Hello my skapie” neem dus ‘n hele nuwe dimensie aan,hhahahahahaha
July 4th, 2009 at 10:44 pm
cheers sherrif ek waai ok nou
July 4th, 2009 at 10:44 pm
The “hanskakies” backed the winners in that war, remember? The bittereinders lost.
July 4th, 2009 at 10:50 pm
Ja my ou ma die hanskakies van vandag is die pissies wat landuit vlug because of the crime.jy moet b@llas he on hier te bly.dit lyk my jy short dit
July 4th, 2009 at 10:59 pm
takler who won the last rwc despiste you saying they wouldn’t? let me remind you – die BOKKE
sorry you chose to transfer your loyalty to another team but now you’ve gone we don’t want you back!
July 4th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
#22 smallies72: You’ll get much further with brains. #23 sideline: Who won the last 4 Tri-Nations titles?
July 4th, 2009 at 11:54 pm
tackler – lol, let me remind you of something, who won the last rwc despiste YOU saying they wouldn’t? let me remind you – die BOKKE
ha ha ha – hier kom die bokKE !
July 5th, 2009 at 12:03 am
#25 sideline:
Who said 2008 tri nations would go to the Boks,you all did.
Some things just dont work out the way you would like,no need to point out individuals
July 5th, 2009 at 12:03 am
The ABs won the last FOUR Tri-Nations and who must you beat to win the 3N? The other two members of the top three ranked sides in the world. Not a mere lucky-dip selection of lucky one-off minnows.
Rom, rom, rom… die All Blacks kom! Be afraid. Be VERY afraid! Another 19-0 win on SA soil looms — just like last time.
Nine out of thirteen 3N titles versus two.
Tilt. Game over.
July 5th, 2009 at 12:07 am
#24 TheTackler: and yet people only talk about the world cup.
July 5th, 2009 at 12:10 am
#27 TheTackler: Blacks look lost at the moment. It will be staying at 9 this year. The wheels have turned, AB’s join the rest of the world in producing average rugby players.
The golden black age has passed – or moved up North…
July 5th, 2009 at 12:30 am
#28 The Bill:
no only South Africans do.
#29 The Bill:
Will good luck to SA in the TRi nations.
As long as the Refs,travel and sunspots are all in your favour this should be a walk in the park for SA right?
July 5th, 2009 at 12:50 am
Hey guys
Just wondering is this the same Shaw that got red carded against NZ when he put a knee into an AB player in a ruck?
And Tana laughed at him when the card came out?
July 5th, 2009 at 1:04 am
#2 kevhar:
Objectivity is not the name of typical in bred Dutchm@n village. It is a word. I suggest you look it up in a dictionary.
July 5th, 2009 at 1:10 am
#6 jonnymain:
Ek sal vir jou moer jou engelse bliksem. Jy weet niks van rugby af nie en jy is n regte slegte soutie. As nakkies gecite was moes heaslip definitief gecite gewees het. klaar.
July 5th, 2009 at 2:35 am
#29 The Bill: Blacks “look lost”? Well, with 4 titles in a row, they’re soon to be found again. And they haven’t lost a test by a 19 point margin to SA — not ever.
July 5th, 2009 at 2:47 am
#4 mellowyellow: I agree 100%
heaslip from the side with no arms, leading with the shoulder and he gets nothing…..its ****
the lions have played the game in a dirty fashion the whole tour, and also in unsportsman like fashion, constantly complaining about the teams they played the schedule, the ref… and not being gracious in defeat……
July 5th, 2009 at 3:04 am
Big Hit i know you are trolling around the posts.Can you answer my post # 31 please.I think you would know
July 5th, 2009 at 3:18 am
#36 Hurricane:
Hmmm BH is answering all my other posts on other threads but this one.
So going on that and why Big Hit is keeping out of this thread is that this is the same Shaw that kneed someone a few years ago.Thanks for your input BH
July 5th, 2009 at 3:34 am
I’m curious about this fellow who calls himself “Tackler”.
So the ABs have wone the most 3N titles and are probably a more consistent team than the Boks. How does this enhance the “Tackler” anyway?
It should be said that the Boks do quite well considering all the political issues surrounding the selections of players and coaches. If they had a coach of the calbre of Mitchell, Henry or Deans, they would probably be better and more consistent. So?
The debate here seems to get very personal and has little to do with the tactics and strategies of the great game of rugby itself.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:00 am
The Tackler
was molested as a child and requires insults to make him feel better thats why he comes here and insults everybody.
You must be an expat like the Bryce Courtenay who also whinges.
It is not the Tackles fault he got touched up and apparently he got moered once but a Yaapie as well.
Ag Shame man get some help some where else.
Great series, great rugby.
The Lions deserved the victory though that cheating c@nt of Dicko could have stopped a lot of niggle and bad sportmanship. **** jou ma se…
11-3 to Dicko…not a co-incidence anymore you cheating racist idiot…
July 5th, 2009 at 5:00 am
#38 rex: I don’t get personal.I play the ball, not the man and I stick to the issues and the facts. Some yarpies have big problems coping with these awkward truths. That’s their worry, not mine. I’ll not do any comically-amateur psychology about them or invent any imaginary tall tales about these unworthies. Why should I? Water off a duck’s back, really.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:02 am
#38 rex: And they hate it when I correct their grammar and spelling — especially when it’s an error in their usage of Afrikaans! Heh, heh!
July 5th, 2009 at 5:03 am
#38 rex: #39 KevinRack:
You guys sound obsessed?
July 5th, 2009 at 5:24 am
#31 Hurricane: I think you’re right and seem to remember he was playing for England. Wasn’t it when England toured NZ in their preparations for the 2003 World Cup? With regard to a penalty for Shaw, Tackler makes a good point that a ban won’t do much good. Indeed, Shaw is close to retirement age and could well be poised to announce that he’s quitting rugby. Why not hit him with a 5,000 pounds fine then?
July 5th, 2009 at 7:02 am
#33 mellowyellow: Nope, you’re still a doos. You can’t insult me in Afr and hope I can’t read it because I can, and I’m not English either so get it right. If Heaslip is cited then Vic should also be cited for his dangerous charge into the very first ruck of the game. Go watch it again with both eyes open you dooooooooooooooos!
July 5th, 2009 at 7:06 am
#44 jonnymain: I said insult, I should’ve said threaten. Another cyber-hardman LOL!
July 5th, 2009 at 7:09 am
tickles,
a correction as I understand it. Teams don’t cite; there is an “independent” citing officer. Inverted comma’s are for if he’s from NZ.
July 5th, 2009 at 7:51 am
#38 rex: rex i wish we can return to that, the time when we could discuss the GAME the TACTICS and weigh our players up with stats and not personal vendettas and political issues/correctness. Discuss a game , and do not blame this or that coach.
Yesterdays game was lost the moment the team was picked. No ways can you start with so many players that are not match hardened. I was like a teams first match of a season. When last did Nokwe, Odwa, Wynand, Chillie, Kanko… play a full game of rugby?
The motivational factor was heavily loaded in the Lions favor, they had all the reasons to play for and they did just that. The white armbands in support of Bakkies did 2 things , it took our eyes of the goal and motivated and reminded the Lions what we are trying to do. Things like that sometimes take the focus of the game, i feel it did for the Boks.
The 2nd try by the Lions was brilliant, WO was the guy that was fast asleep, he thought that the wing will catch the ball and will be tackled, he never thought that the ball will be taped back to another player, that was brilliant and if one of our players did something like that he would be a national hero today.
The intercept try , well that happens. If Habana was there we might have scored 2 of them the way the Lions flung the ball around. That intercept try swung the game with 14 points. That would have made it a more exciting finish.
Then again the discipline of the Boks , Bismark must be fined by the team he WILL get involved in stupid of the ball stuff in every game , why i dont know because he does not look like a player who can fight his own battle.
July 5th, 2009 at 8:00 am
#31 Hurricane: I’ve just checked the web and the incident you referred to occurred in NZ in 2004. But there’s an interesting twist, as this extract from The Independent (UK newspaper) shows:
“The lock forward’s dismissal for dropping a knee on an opponent at a ruck in the 11th minute was ironic in the extreme, for his victim was the ultra-aggressive Keith Robinson. Needless to say, nobody in the tourists’ camp saw the funny side.
“Quite the opposite, in fact. Both Clive Woodward, the England coach, and Lawrence Dallaglio, the captain, made their feelings known – Woodward was particularly critical of the decision, made by the Welsh referee, Nigel Williams, on a recommendation from Stuart Dickinson.”
So Dickinson recommended a red card against Shaw in 2004 but gave a yellow yesterday. Maybe he realised that he had ruined a Test match in 2004 with such an over-the-top call, though some of his decisons yesterday were just as abysmal. But that’s another matter.
July 5th, 2009 at 8:47 am
It was a cynical challenge designed to injure a player, so deserves a long ban. Hope du Preez is okay, we need him for 3N. I think the whole of South Africa will be watching this one closely to see if there is any attempt at consistency from the IRB.
July 5th, 2009 at 8:51 am
#47 superBul:
Agree with Bok discipline, all the good work Jake did to improve the Boks discipline has been lost. I don’t care about their image abroad, but if we keep on giving away stupid penalties and getting involved in off the ball stuff it’s going to cost the Boks games