Indiscipline endemic to anarchy
The Springbok discipline has been shocking throughout the three-Test series, a fact that confirms all is not well in the South African camp.
‘That was just two minutes of the game, and we play for 80 minutes,’ head coach Peter de Villiers replied when asked about the senseless scuffle that afforded the Lions a late penalty in Saturday’s defeat.
The Lions won by more than three points, but that wasn’t the issue. De Villiers dodged the question pertaining to brain explosions that are becoming the norm rather than the exception.
Why is he dodging the question? Because the answer is a poor reflection on himself. The Boks are an aggravated lot, just as they were under Rudolf Straeuli. Does that suggest they don’t back their own coach or are unhappy under his rule?
You look at the evidence and you decide.
The senior players have had to take on greater responsibility since De Villiers came to power. A tumultuous 2008 Tri-Nations was characterised by what De Villiers called total rugby, a brand that was devoid of sense or structure, and most importantly a brand that led to a last-place finish. On the end-of-the-year tour, the game against England witnessed the reversion to a more structured approach as the senior players put their collective foot down to force De Villiers into submission.
De Villiers was hailed in the aftermath, but insiders confirmed the senior players were determined to play to a pattern akin to the one that won the World Cup.
In 2008, De Villiers’s advisors peddled the line, ‘Give us time to work with him’, implying that given a chance, he could become a half decent coach.
Together with his consistently ridiculous press conference offerings, his rugby contribution has failed to improve. That first Test in Durban was so nearly lost thanks to some mindless substitutions in the final quarter, and in the second and third Tests, the patent lack of player discipline served to highlight his lack of control.
The Boks are getting worse, not better. Maybe it’s taken Saturday’s defeat for more people to realise that.
Most of these Bok players have been together for five years and a number boast over 50 caps. When you see a player like Victor Matfield, a veteran and vice-captain of the Boks, involved in off-the-ball fighting, you have to wonder. There’s aggression and then there’s senseless pushing and shoving that ultimately ends in a penalty against your own team. The experienced players just don’t do that.
Indiscipline is not limited to foul play. It was written off as rust in the first Test, but the Bok decision-making has been shocking across all three games. The Boks were robbed of a kickable penalty in the final stages of the second Test because Bismarck du Plessis took a quick tap. Where was the common sense?
Sure, players need to be held accountable for their own poor decisions, but when they occur so frequently you have to question the coaching philosophy that continues to tolerate perpetual failure in this regard.
Some would say John Smit should shoulder some of the blame for not taking more control on the park. Smit is already under enough pressure trying to play a position that’s not his best, and play it for 80 minutes since the Bok management haven’t bothered to include another specialist tighthead on the bench. No, Smit’s done an admirable job in this series despite the coaching staff, not because of them.
The balance of the 22 has been suspect across the series, the substitutions in the first Test highlighting the point. The decision to field a team boasting 10 changes in the third Test was also flawed given the Boks were so shaky in the first two games. The results failed to hide the fact that they were off the pace.
De Villiers is now talking about building for the Tri-Nations, as if defeat to the Lions’ second-stringers in Johannesburg has afforded him some great insight. Another win for the Bok first side would not have served as a precursor to Tri-Nations glory, but it would have afforded the Boks a further opportunity to attain the synergy that was so obviously lacking in Durban and Pretoria.
The Boks head into the Tri-Nations a group of individuals when they should head into this tournament a hardened and well-drilled team. They have the Lions series win to show for their efforts, but their sub-standard performances in all three games tell a truer story.
This side is stacked with individual talent, but without the necessary management, the team is on a downward spiral. Ian McGeechan came to South Africa with a limited team and managed to record a relatively commendable 2-1 result. De Villiers went into a home series with a world champion team, scraped two wins and then proceeded to field an unbalanced group of youngsters to lose at the fortress Ellis Park. Who should be celebrated and who should be condemned?
The Boks have beaten the Lions and South Africa should celebrate the result, and after that, South Africa should move on. In moving on, South Africa should acknowledge why their world champion team is not performing to world champion standards.
The bottom line is that as a top rugby nation, we deserve more than a second-rate coach.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg
July 5th, 2009 at 4:19 pm
#295 goyougoodthing2: some of us do, but we have a puppet for a leader in the NZRU… unfortunately
#296 WilladieLeeu: we have the old north vs south politics, but granted probably no where near as intrusive as it is in SA…
think we all love it, shame the people in charge are never in touch with the grass roots of the game, us supporters…
July 5th, 2009 at 4:19 pm
should be a helluva 3n, pity about schalk he does make a difference, i dont think the strongest lions or bok side played each other, but then again i ainst The Maestro.
kiwis maybe a little weaker but will come out to SA to prove a point after their slip-up to France, and the ozzies have prob the strongest squad in years, they are looking very hot indeed, could be a moerse series. ours okes are going to be buggered after S14 final, Lions and this 3N.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:20 pm
#298 goyougoodthing2: Talking making Smith Captain… he’s not even playing very well
#299 skopskiet:
Ons het 34 – 12 gewen op Cardiff. Jy dink an die Barbarian game met Ruan.
‘weaker than usual’, but kiwis never weak against SA.
#290 WilladieLeeu:
nee jammer jy’s reg – ons het Wallis oorheers daai game en teen die Barbarians in 2008 verloor
July 5th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
#301 poppa69: So do we in Hoskins. Rugby is in a sad state it seems. Not cool
July 5th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
#295 goyougoodthing2:
That model rightly or wrongly just doesn’t work in NZ anymore S14 pays the bills so its the priority, small country not enough cash to go around – in a perfect world Eden park would be full for every NPC game.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:22 pm
#302 cab: agreed Cab, think Aussie are the real danger, said last year it would take Deans at least a year, prob 2 to get them to be an extremely competitive unit, but he is doing it quicker then I thought..
and think of next year, S15, much longer season… players are going to burn out in 5 years, instead of 8-10…
July 5th, 2009 at 4:22 pm
#287 skopskiet: Ek verstaan die jou WB redenasie nie. So wat jy probeer se is dat nz, aus en die res nie deelgeneem het nie. Het hulle dan nie verloor teen die spanne wat die bokke gewen het nie. Snaaks. Ek onthou hoe ons Wallis (6 nasie champs) behoorlik gewen het.
Jou uitlatings staaf net my punt. Pdv supporters weet net so min soos hy. Doen jou huiswerk voor jy jou mond oopmaak.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:24 pm
#307 goyougoodthing2: yep… it is sad, because it is such a great game..
July 5th, 2009 at 4:25 pm
#309 poppa69:
yeah Deans is class, but getting some decent tight 5 players cming through, Moore is up there with Bismark and Hore/MEaluma now, Benn Robinson looks a bit rolly polly but arguably the best scrummung prop in S14 and got some big young locks coming through.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:25 pm
#306 skopskiet:
I just hope we do it this year. We need to gain momentum for 2011. If we have a bad 3N then is doens’t bode well for WC.
Less than 2 years.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:29 pm
#312 cab: yep, been impressed by Robinson… aussie always produces quality backs, its there forwards that have let them down previously (obviously not in the Eales era though, probably their greatest pack of all time)… Deans will have them recycling ball and playing with the cohesion of the Crusaders, if not this year, prob next year and definitely for the WC…
#279 Bul-a-Bhloo: Ek kan Verstaan hoe jy dink Sedert jy Grootgemaak is deur die Engelse.Jy het Alles wat jy Is van hulle Ontvang,maakie saak of hulle vir jou geLieg het nie.Begin by 1910 to n paar Werfbobbejane tesame met die ingelse die Swart,Bruin en Witmense uitVerkoop het.Van toe af het Hulle beheer oor jou Stuitjie gehad.
#298 goyougoodthing2:
Smit is blowing hard at 3 Sheridan drilled him and Smit won’t cut it much longer in the front row, he’s hanging in because coaches need him as the talisman captain.
I wouldn’t hang onto Smit or Matfield for all that much longer, play best man for the position and if Matfield is best 5 then play him, if Smit is best 3 then play him, but just to hang onto either one because of captaincy doesn’t cut it for me.
J. Smith I think is a fine captain that puts his body on line every single game, and leads from the front. He could well play in the 2nd row and bring in younger loosies who are more proficient in the modern faster game, this is where Schalk and others have fallen off the wagon, they cannot compete in a game that has speeded up as much as it his done in the last 2 years.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:30 pm
#312 cab: can you imagine the lynching in NZ if Deans wins the WC with the Wallabies ??
July 5th, 2009 at 4:32 pm
#304 WilladieLeeu:
Ek dink Ruan het 10 gespeel teen Wallis in 2007, F.Steyn het 10 gespeel teen Baabaas en die hele span se pogings opgevok self alleen.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:32 pm
#317 poppa69:
lol, well the rumblings have started again with Henry and France.
Always wondered how you kiwis recycle the thing so quickly, its like an artform in nz.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:33 pm
#278 poppa69:
Likewise, I grew up believing that it is against the All Blacks that the real worth of a Springbok team is measured. I’d still rate a series win over NZ in NZ as a much bigger achievement than, say, winning a World Cup, or any other yardstick I can think of. But genuine tours seem to be a thing of the past (the Lions being an exception, which is one of the reasons why I still like the Lions concept), and every test played in between World Cups is apparently only a matter of “building” for the next World Cup, nowadays. I still think a team that can consistently beat most challengers over the long run provides a better yardstick. If the current bunch of SA players begin to whip NZ on a regular basis, I might start buying all the talk that they are exceptionally “talented”. Until then, they’re just the guys who come last in the 3N every year.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:34 pm
#318 skopskiet:
O ja, wie kan dit vergeet. Shame, die outjie het sy naam gat gemaak daai dag. Maar moet se hy lyk goed op heelagter.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:35 pm
#313 WilladieLeeu:
They have to start thinking out of the narrow minded box NOW, if they want to progress they must forget about the aging team of 2007 and bring in fresh potential right now, especially at loose forward.
We on the right track but some big decisions have to be made soon about players who play only on prestige and reputation.
If the senior players are not pulling 100% weight, like Matfield didn’t on Saturday (Muller a total diabolical disgrace, Kanko not much better) then get new blood in and fast.
#320 Thucydides:
the worst of the lot is the french nearly won 2 tests in new zealand, its frikkin unheard of…cant believe the surrender monkeys nearly pulled it off, its a disgrace, something should be done, fire henry or donald ffs!
#319 cab: yeah… its always going to be the case, think people will only ever leave GH alone if he does the unthinkable and wins the bloody thing
emphasis is always on precision and basics, take care of those and generally the rest falls into place…
July 5th, 2009 at 4:36 pm
#321 WilladieLeeu:
Heelagter lyk my is sy posiesie, hulle moet net vashou daar en hy sal seker sy naam weer groot maak net daar.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:42 pm
#308 NZINCHINA: True I know it’s a tiny place and the S14 does bring the crowds, which even then are not big. A final in South Africa is a much bigger deal than anywhere in kiwiland it seems.
But for the sake of the game, you need that NPC comp happening, otherwise you can expect to see the Bulls and Sharks compete more and more in the s14, which will make it even worse.
I hope NZRU sort out their mess and put rugby first. You don’t need full stadia to play a comp. We have s14 and at the same time the Vodacom Cup with our second teams. They don’t get much audience.
Then we have Currie Cup 1st and second division towards the end of year. Even places like Border get 3 men, an hermaphrodite and a dog to the games. But it’s not about the crowds…
July 5th, 2009 at 4:43 pm
#322 skopskiet:
The guys still has the goods. They are quality. But the big questions that needs answered is motivation.
Having won a WC, Tri-nations, Currie Cups, Super 14 and now a Lions series. What keeps you going? Are you still going to leave everything out on the field.
I dunno.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:43 pm
#320 Thucydides: I miss those days, the extended tours… I enjoyed the series this year, although it has a bit of a novelty factor now (because tours are yesterdays story)… it is one of the last true remaining traditions…
and agreed, was actually so pleased France sent a decent side down this year, we have missed having decent touring teams (Aus SA dont count, see them every year and we all know they bring their best sides – 07 exception, but proven correct)… think it has contributed to the lack of crowds in NZ…
after almost 100 years, both sides have only managed 1 series win in oppositions territory…. amazing stat really..
July 5th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
#323 cab: their first win in NZ for 15 years Cab, and only won after McAllister gifted them the final score… but, glad they won this year, and having them in our pool, we may lose to them and not be out of the cup
July 5th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
#316 skopskiet: Now I hear you. I have always wondered why Smit has been played as Captain first and then 3rd rate hooker.
Always troubled me there. I do think moving him to TH is daft. If it’s to make room for Chilli then I still think it’s too early for that anyway.
Always heard how wondeful Smit was as Captain but then heard weird stories within the Sharks camp. I mean he’s not even Sharks Captain and would not be first choice Hooker or TH.
Anyway think there’s more to worry about than that. Smith though, weird choice???
July 5th, 2009 at 4:49 pm
#327 WilladieLeeu:
Its tough to put it all out there every game, rugby is at least 50% psychological as well as physical, so if they want to bring the game up to the highest standard 100% of the time, then like you say the motivation has to be kept at a very high premium, and also the conditioning in terms of mental and physical fitness has to be kept at the sharp edge throughout.
Very difficult in such a sport from week to week to keep the motivation and the momentum going to such a high intense level all the time.
That is why I advocate fresh blood, it not only injects new energy into the team it also helps to keep the old guard on their toes.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
#329 poppa69: not at all, we’re used to beating France at World Cups and otherwise and NZ have no supersized Tongan to bail them out next time. Bring it on
July 5th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
#331 skopskiet:
Head to head
Steyn vs Pienaar
Piennar has talent in buckets, not sure he has the mind. Soft. Steyn the other way around. Solid.
Tough call but I don’t know if I’d start Steyn and bench Ruan. 4 out of 6 each week is better than 6/6 and then 0/6
July 5th, 2009 at 4:57 pm
#331 skopskiet:
Think there is gonna be a huge exodus next year.
What’s even more scary is look at Frans Steyn. 22? He has a world cup medal, Currie Cup winner and a Lions series victory medal.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
#323 cab:
Ja, but then again, the frogs have long done pretty well against NZ, haven’t they … far as I recall, they actually won a test series against NZ in NZ in ‘94, and kicked them out of two world cups. (As an aside, I reckon the frogs’ second-half comeback against NZ in the ‘99 WC is still one of the best games of rugby ever played… not least because NZ had some awesome players back then.)So I’d argue that it is not just a fluke that they nearly won the 2nd test as well, this time around … seems like the previous wins gave them a psychological edge which most other teams lack when playing against the AB’s. (Somewhat like 1980s heavyweight boxers going up against Tyson … most of them lost the fight before the first punch was thrown.) Anyway, one could argue that those “surrendering monkeys” are the main reason why the All Blacks have such a crap WC record.
PS – Apologies to Poppa for bringing up the WC despite my earlier promise to shut up about it:-)
July 5th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
This is something to get excited about, a new Africa record in long jump, this boy has talent, world class.
‘Beijing silver medallist Khotso Mokoena soared to a new African long jump record of 8.50 metres at Saturday’s 28th Madrid track and field meeting in Spain.
And he had great back-up from middle distance runners Johan Cronje and Mbulaeni Mulaudzi who won the 1,500 and 800m events respectively.
Desite having to settle for second Mokoena had a briliant series of six jumps.
Australian, Fabrice Lapierre won the event in 8.57m but Mokoena had the extra satisfaction of beating Olympic champion, Irving Saladino, of Panama and also breaking
the 12-year-old African record of 8.46m set by Cheikh Tidane Toure of Senegal .
“I am simply ecstatic,” Mokoena’s coach, Elna de Beer, told leading SA track and field statistician Gert le Roux. “I think 8.60m is now within his reach but that is not the main aim’.
July 5th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
#332 Big Hit:
didnt expect an answer so succinct… thanks BH, brought a smile…
July 5th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
#333 goyougoodthing2:
I would start with Pienaar, in fact I advocated it before the test, I somehow had a feeling M.Steyn would get bogged down behind a retreating pack. Pienaar can alsways provide some spark, even though Steyn is far more sure footed and a better BMT head, he lacks the creativity and vision and ability to break a game open if it gets stuck in one dimensional mode.
#334 WilladieLeeu:
Then we simply have to do what the AB’s have had to do, revert to the next generation and bring them through, this is the curse of professionalism, I actually don’t like it at all. I think the money game sucks, much better in the old days when they were all amateur.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:05 pm
#335 Thucydides: no dramas at all… I was at the second test in Auckland, when the french scored what to me is still one of the very best tries I have ever had the pleasure of witnessing…
thing was in 99, in the first half, we gave the ball to (using BH,s moniker) one supersized Tongan and he destroyed them… then the second half, he seemingly had the plague and no one wanted to pass the ball to him… never understood that…
July 5th, 2009 at 5:05 pm
ok see you round some other time – time out
July 5th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
We once again need a clean up of our coaching team. It’s just not working. Sadly I expect the Boks to finish last again in this years Tri-Nations, Aus to win, NZ second. Finishing 3rd will be a blessing in disguise. Personally I would like to see Alan Solomons as Bok coach, with Rossouw for the backline, McFarland defence. Forward coach not sure. We still have 2 years, changes should happen this year.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
ist thing i would do is get on the line to CJ VD LINDE….
if he says no….call bj….
If he says no…blood w Kruger
Move J smit back to 2….
Brussow must start
Steggmann into squad of 30…..
Serious chats to Matfield, bakkies ,J Smith and J Smit…..they either commit to 2011 or start the search for successors now….
DONT play j smith at 4 or 5….never ever plkay okes out of position at the highest level…it is a disease in our rugby and a cheap way of avoiding the tough calls!
Bissy off the bench last 30….J Smit can move to loosehead but never play him at 3 again….he doesent deserve to be treated in this way….even Os said he would never contemplate trying to play 3 !!!
Dewalt Potgieter ,Steggmann must be knocking at the door….and i am getting to the conclusion that a Duanne Vermeulen at 8 may be the answer with the speed of Spies used of the bench in last 30 min.
Our huge pressing issue is to 100% back a 10….3….6…and 15….
I am sure Pdv learnt a lot from yesterdays fiasco…never again should we have to see a bok front row so humiliated and our pack bullied like a girlie team….
July 5th, 2009 at 5:10 pm
#339 poppa69:
Far as I recall, another problem in the 99 game was that Cullen was played out of position, and did not adapt all that well, especially on defense. Pity, because Cullen was otherwise a genuinely great player.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:16 pm
#343 Thucydides: yep, you are correct… one of the most gifted runners I have seen, especially interjecting himself into the backline, and we put him at centre… crazy, then, we did the same with Mils (I think it was Mils) in 03 when Tana was injured… seems the learning wasnt learnt…
July 5th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
The series win hinged on one penalty kick,the result
of a brain fart by a Lions player.Poor chap .I am sure
he is going to have nightmares for the rest of his life.
The Boks won and the record books will for ever reflect
that,it wont reflect though that the Boks as
World champions nearly made a hell of a mess of it and in the end were saved,from embarrassment by a superb penalty kick.
Looking at the world rankings,it is clear that although
the Lions had a number of talented player,they were not
from countries dominating world rugby.
29 June 2009
1(1) NZL
2(2) RSA
3(3) AUS
4(4) IRE
5(5) FRA
6(6) ARG
7(7) ENG
8(8) WAL
9(9) FJI
10(10) SCO
July 5th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
Yes we won the series 2 1 but somehow it does not feel like a victory. In fact I feel quite depressed about the performance of our beloved Boks. This depression is further aggravated by the utterings of the coach. Further, the loss on Saturday has given the B&I Lions supporters a lot to say, not only here, but on other sites. And they are a negative, arrogant bunch! You would think they are the world champions.
Then there was the mis-management of the ticket sales. The really shocking prices. How SARU can allow there to be more touring team supporters than Bok supporters at the games and tests boggles the mind!
Hoskins, where are you allowing our rugby to go to? As a loyal supporter, I am dissatisfied! One small voice complaining but probably one amongst a million or two who feel the same.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:25 pm
Is it just me or is everyone else tired of the anti-PdV articles on this site?
This site is starting to bore me, okay we know you dont like the coach so get of it already.
Lest see what ‘rugby heaven’ has to offer.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:28 pm
#344 poppa69:
For some reason, South African coaches also seem to struggle to learn that particular lesson … witness the number of positions into which players like Francois Steyn have been forced. Poor bloke is probably more confused than a Sarah Palin speech, by now.
July 5th, 2009 at 5:30 pm
#345 Brentie1: was indeed a superb penalty… I somehow find it rather ironic, that the countries that most enjoy the penalty kick in the game (considering their disapproval of the short arm free kick at ruck time, and trialled in the ELV’s), were sunk by the very same sword…
July 5th, 2009 at 5:30 pm
#346 ZA1:
I agree ZA! If things continue as they are ….. our rugby is heading for the scrap heap!