White aware of detractors
7 Jul 2009
Jake White realises his involvement with the Lions will mean detractors relish any opportunity to discredit the team, starting with the Currie Cup opener against the Bulls.
White’s Winning Way company began the audit in late May and after the Golden Lions’ loss to their British & Irish namesakes on 3 June, there were already mutters from the press box. ‘Is that all Jake can do?’ said some of the cynics.
White – who is the consulting director of rugby with coach Hans Coetzee answering to him – is aware there is no such thing as an easy fix at the union, where a vastly more professional set-up is needed compared to the previous regime. Most of the the players were grossly overweight at fitness tests done in early June and much hard work is necessary for the rest of the year.
‘I know journalists and supporters will be watching against the Bulls at Loftus on Saturday and say “they’ve fixed nothing” if we lose,’ White told keo.co.za. ‘We’re going there to help the Lions, but it’s not a simple thing and we have to do the best we can with what we have, while many things have to change going forward.’
Fitness of the players is one aspect, while White hopes to ensure every person working at the union is worthy of their salary at the end of the month.
‘The most important thing is that everyone there is supposed to be doing a job and they must be accountable. So if there is a technical analyst for example, we have to see how we can measure if he’s actually doing proper technical analysis – we mustn’t just talk the talk. If everyone is accountable, then we can improve,’ says White.
‘To show how bad it was, there was a guy on contract for two years and the coach saw him for the first time the other day. That sums it up, he’s been on a salary for two years and no one knows where he’s been.’
White has appointed Allan Miles – U15 A coach at Selborne College in East London – in a new role as the rugby co-ordinator to ensure no aspect of the Lions’ game is neglected.
‘He’s basically there to put everything on paper and to co-ordinate all the things that are necessary to make a rugby team successful. He will make sure there is enough time available for every component of the game and will plan the way they are approached. He will also concentrate on and be in charge of the breakdown.’
White says the Lions will adopt a game plan that is unique and suited to the province.
‘We have to find a playing style that suits the people in Johannesburg. The Brumbies have a certain style, the Crusaders and Bulls have a certain styles and the reality is we have to find that style we can play and that everyone buys into.’
White, whose company has signed a contract until the end of the Currie Cup, is aware short-term results are crucial and the World Cup-winning coach hopes his influence will prepare the Lions for next year’s Super 14.
‘The bottom line is the Lions need help and the mere fact they asked us to come in proves how desperate they are. It’s not a quick fix, but obviously the sooner we do it the better.
‘What is non-negotiable is there must have be improvement in the way we play and there must be improvement in the set-up as a group. If we are not successful in Currie Cup but it means everyone is happy and the playing style is coming together, while importantly the players feel they are looked after professionally – which wasn’t the case – then it’s a massive step forwards.’
By Grant Ball

339 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All
7 Jul 2009, 19:34 pm
Thus far all we’ve heard about are the fitness test and body fat percentages
V*k, pay me the Ronds
And i’ll post out the fat burners
7 Jul 2009, 19:41 pm
The Gladiator returns…..
Not all is lost.
7 Jul 2009, 19:47 pm
#22 katman:
This remark of yours is so typically South African and also typical afrikaner. In afrikaans the saying goes : “Gun niemand niks nie.” How often do we see this type of negativity amongst ppl. Sitting behind their pc’s ready to attack and provide negative comment and consider themselfs hugely important. Which I could do a real life argument or realtime online argument with this type of narrowmindness.
Like a previous poster have indicated : Someone with JW credentials are surely in a position to assist with such cases as project Lions. Interesting how these negative posters also never offer a solution to any problem.
There certainly is a niche for such companies in today’s professional area.
And typical of my country folk to alos be so short on the memory. Only 2 years ago JW took us to World Champions and that in Europe, NOT at Ellis Park, yet we are so ready to hammer him in the build-up to his task at the Lions.
No, Jake is not my uncle nor does he pay me. I just like to keep levelheaded about this and try to be positive amidst all the nonsense we have to endear in this land of ours.
7 Jul 2009, 19:49 pm
#302 Bul-a-Bhloo: Hear hear!!
Now the Boks could also do with a bit of organizational, strategic and personal class in the coaching department
7 Jul 2009, 19:51 pm
#40 WilladieLeeu:
Vra daai vraag ou maat -vra hom
7 Jul 2009, 21:57 pm
#257 ray-bulls_fan: wait … 15 players (i count the ndunganes as one (complete) player lol) , one whose name escapes you spanning the years:
&
2007?
in a sport that fields 15 players in a team?
How many caps? How many minutes of play? Type of opposition? Actually, now that I look at it in that way, this doesn’t look like “transformation” whatever the heck that supposed to mean, ****, that looks like business as usual to me lol
That should read like a takeaway meal
5 wings
2 centres with a side of wings
2 fullbacks (downsized to wings for the kiddies meal)
2 scrummies
and a flanker
with a liberal front row sauce (when in season)
That will be 4 years, thanks, and keep the change.
7 Jul 2009, 23:11 pm
#215 katman: If you are squeamish, stick to whatever, leave surgery to the surgeons.
7 Jul 2009, 23:41 pm
#223 Pietman:
Nice one! What position did you play?
8 Jul 2009, 04:24 am
Jake’s “credentials”?
* 49-0 vs Australia in Brisbane.
* Defeat vs Scotland.
* Defeat vs Ireland two years running (after bragging that no Paddy was good enough to earn a place in his Bok side)
* Consecutive 3N wooden spoons.
Some “credentials” !
8 Jul 2009, 04:34 am
Tackles jou poepol, you forgot to add, twice IRB Coach of the Year and a World Cup winning coach. But then, that does not fit your agenda…
8 Jul 2009, 04:46 am
#309 TheTackler: Jake didn’t lose to Scotland. Your ‘facts’ have been found wanting recently Tackler, step yo’ game up.
8 Jul 2009, 05:05 am
#311 Big Hit: Neither 3 wooden spoons under JW either, but let him play, makes him happy.
8 Jul 2009, 05:42 am
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAG, ffs.
Look, when Jake left and PDV became coach, articles about this country losing coaches popped up left right and center.
Bringing Jake actively back into the fold is only a good thing. And mind you, Im a WP fan, but I have NO worries with it if the Lions pick up their game. I REALLY REALLY REALLY hope they do, because in that sense hopefullt the WP will also lift their game, and it could only be a good thing for SA if the Lions perform in the S14 as well.
Please Jake, do something (and then maybe head down to CT while you are at it…)
8 Jul 2009, 05:47 am
#312 Koos: “Consecutive” means two in a row, pilgrim. Not 3. Did you take English lessons with Snor, perhaps?
8 Jul 2009, 05:59 am
#314 TheTackler: And Scotland Tackles?
8 Jul 2009, 06:40 am
I’ll let him off the hook re: Scotland. But the rest of the sad litany is enough to mark poor Jake as a poor coach overall.
Especially that 49-0 versus the Wallabies …shooo-wee!
8 Jul 2009, 07:31 am
#316 TheTackler: Jake White was the right coach, in the right place at the right time.
He did select the players he thought appropriate to play the game the way he thought capable of delivering SA the World Cup. He sacrificed a Tri Nations (TN not 3N as you call it) along the way to his goal.
You do not have to like Jake White, his statistics or methods, but you have to admit he delivered on his goal… The 2007 World Cup.
Jake also never re-applied for Springbok Coach… Job done – goal achieved.
8 Jul 2009, 07:37 am
#317 RugbyRulz: Wasting your time, anything anti Saffa just to have a go! According to Tackles a 49 zip loss counts more than winning the WC.
8 Jul 2009, 07:44 am
#316 TheTackler: What did the 53-8 annihilation at Ellis Park do to Dean’s reputation? A massive blip like that rarely defines a coach’s entire career, infidel.
8 Jul 2009, 07:48 am
#309 TheTackler: What about taking the springboks from number 6 on the IRB rankings when he took over to number 1??? I suppose only a kak coach could do that?
8 Jul 2009, 07:51 am
#318 Koos: tackler is just being a typical south african without even realising it, a lions series win counts less than media savvy & proper elocution.
8 Jul 2009, 07:56 am
#287 Transformation: Im still waiting on your response,
You said
“form high school to coaching jaque fourie & emerging boks like jano vermaak & louis ludik? **** no, now i’ve heard it all, skip the varsity cup, skip club rugby, skip the vodacom cup, straight into the currie cup!! Ja nee”
With this logic PvD should have coached super 14 before taking on the boks?? How now?
8 Jul 2009, 08:09 am
#322 bok1906: the point i’m making is that people use the fact that he never coached currie cup or s14 as a crutch to prop their arguments against his appointment (as if jake had any s14 experience)!…they wail all the time that pdv’s appointment wasn’t on merit! Now i’m asking them to be consistent in their moaning because as it see it, this “merit” in selective cases…or they can explain to me how 2 high school coaches – one an u15 coach nogal – taking over a currie cup team with boks like fourie, emerging boks like jano, ludik can be viewed as “merit” appointments!
8 Jul 2009, 08:21 am
#318 Koos: The Wallabies got flogged too and I’m not rabbiting on about it… $hit happens.
8 Jul 2009, 08:49 am
#323 Transformation: I think there is a difference in taking over the Sprinboks as world champions and then the lions as a failing franchise, but you have a point.
But just remember that it was categorically stated that the appointment of De Villiers wasn’t done on merit. But again this can be argued to say that De Villers was successful with the U21′s – as was Jake White, so to claim Jakes credentials are **** is a bit redundant as they are pretty similar in terms of high level experience.
8 Jul 2009, 09:05 am
#303 Gerhardt: Pipe down with the “typical” comments, little guy. You know nothing about me.
You can defend White all you like (and I’m not contesting his achievements as Bok coach), but the fact remains that he was brought in as an independent third-party consultant to audit the place, gave the coach his assurance that his neck wasn’t on the line, then recommended to management that the coach be fired and is now employed by them in a coaching capacity.
And that doesn’t strike you as just a little bit wrong?
8 Jul 2009, 09:20 am
#297 Gerhardt:
Yes, I am a Lions supporter, and a very concerned one at that.
I don’t trust JW .. he has placed himself in a win / win situation, maybe at the expence of my Lions. If the Lions perform well, it’s thanks to jake and his ‘winning ways’, if they lose, then we must remember that change does not happen over night, and he will be long gone.
He has recomended a coach that most of us have never heard off. He keeps saying the players were unfit .. which I dought.
It just sounds to me that a little boys club is been formed yet again at the Lions .. and it is not what we need.
H Meyer is running around, not commited to any union as far as I know. He has a proven track record of putting structures in place that pays hugh devidents after a time, for a long time.
Just sounds to me that the more things change, the more they stay the same.
Hell, JW was hired to do an audit of the union, and from the sounds of this article, it sounds like he is now in charge and running the place.
Once again, my poor Lions, It’s going to be a long CC season .. I really really hope JW has no hidden agendas, and that the Lions build up.
8 Jul 2009, 09:23 am
and i hope that this improves them i do wish them the best
8 Jul 2009, 09:29 am
#325 bok1906: pdv’ s appointment was made on merit + transformation! it wasn’t devoid of any merit whatsoever! Two candidates, similar credentials, one is black & one is white, appoint the black oke! That is enshrined in our constitution to redress past imbalances. No apologies, that is life in south africa.
8 Jul 2009, 09:30 am
#327 Paws: How often have we seen the auditors brought in, a shake up occurring, the down sizing, the improving bottom line and then the moving on.
It all depends on what the Lions are expecting.
8 Jul 2009, 09:38 am
#330 RugbyRulz:
Lets see, we hope for the best ..
Just sounds that there is more going on than an audit.
8 Jul 2009, 09:46 am
#329 Transformation:
“Two candidates, similar credentials’ … that is debatable.
If I understand, if you have two people that are EQUALLY as good, the AA chap gets the job.
“That is enshrined in our constitution to redress past imbalances. No apologies, that is life in south africa.” .. That does not make it right. Still makes it racist. Two wrongs don’t make a right.
“pdv’ s appointment was made on merit + transformation!” .. and that, in my opinion, has given us the wrong coach for the long run.
8 Jul 2009, 09:47 am
#329 Transformation: There was absolutely no similarity in credentials, Meyer has a proven track record at senior rugby (S14 winning coach), PdV has never coached at that level.
What is enshrined in the constitution is equality for all irrespective of race, gender etc. Picking a black person over a white person, who has equal credentials, based on the colour of skin is blatant racism and is not enshrined in the constitution. Get over it!
8 Jul 2009, 11:12 am
#333 ARK:are you saying that BEE, AA and all this transformation stuff is illegal? That it is not mentioned anywhere in the constitution of this country? Pdv is a Nations Cup winner with the Emerging Boks!
#332 Paws: we can debate the merits & de-merits of redressing the wrongs of the past, you come up with viable solutions to the conundrum that is our past, then maybe i will revisit my view too. Otherwise the skewed way things were and to a large extent still are in this country still needs plan to change it! It wasn’t a natural phenomenon that created it, it can’t be left to organically change itself!
8 Jul 2009, 11:46 am
I am not a Gautie but I really liked their style and passion of the Lions. They were my other team in the S14. I felt some of their guys could have made the bokke. Jake has learnt a lot(but shouldve learnt at S14 first though) and will bring something to them.
I would rather win the world cup every 4 years than win 90% then choke, choke…AB’s will loose in NZ for the next world cup.
8 Jul 2009, 13:25 pm
#334 Transformation: It is clearly not ‘illegal’ although it does contradict what is stated in the constitution. It terms of transformation this country does not understand ‘transformation’. You cannot transform anything by ‘changing’ things. BEE and affirmative action are about change not transformation.
The SA team that won last years Nations Cup excluded Currie Cup players. You could therefore safely say that it is the equivalent standard of the Vodacom Cup which is a million miles away from the standard of the Tri-Nations. No comparison I am afraid!
8 Jul 2009, 15:10 pm
#336 ARK: “BEE & affirmative action are about change and not transformation” semantics my man…what is your solution then to the intractable situation this country finds itself in?
mr pdv, was the assistant coach @ bulls in 2000 in the then S12, he has been assistant coach @ wp in the currie cup, he has level 2 – WPRU, level 3 – Wales RU (1995) & a level 3 – IRB coaching qualifications…
8 Jul 2009, 15:13 pm
In terms of transformation, ARK is right. You can’t expect people to change. They did not dream up apartheid just for fun. It’s just the way they are. You cannot change it, you can only change law, but you can’t change people. the only way you can achieve some sort of consensus in SA, is if you take away black people’s right to vote, move and speak freely, and access to basic services then you’ll have a happy bunch on your hands. I think you guys should consider it at least for the sake of your country “moving forward”.
8 Jul 2009, 16:30 pm
#338 Grape White: lmao….funny guy!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All